Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City PlayStation 3

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 224 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 224
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    7
    Overall I've got to say I've been liking the game. It's not particularly amazing, but it is fun. My only complaint is having trouble getting into matches with other people and in versus modes I tend to glitch pretty often. Even with these issues though, I find it enjoyable to play. I do wish we could learn more about all the characters in it though, it feels like they received moreOverall I've got to say I've been liking the game. It's not particularly amazing, but it is fun. My only complaint is having trouble getting into matches with other people and in versus modes I tend to glitch pretty often. Even with these issues though, I find it enjoyable to play. I do wish we could learn more about all the characters in it though, it feels like they received more fleshing out in the commercials than they did in the game itself. We learned nothing about the Spec Ops team in game. Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2012
    5
    I was really looking forward to a more action-oriented Resident Evil game. The previous games' survival horror wasn't my cup of tea. Sadly this game is no respectable shooter. Enemy AI is seriously messed up, and the characters are bland, stereotypical get-stuff-done mercenaries. I feel like I'm playing COD, which shouldn't be the case for a Resident Evil Game. And the DLC that isI was really looking forward to a more action-oriented Resident Evil game. The previous games' survival horror wasn't my cup of tea. Sadly this game is no respectable shooter. Enemy AI is seriously messed up, and the characters are bland, stereotypical get-stuff-done mercenaries. I feel like I'm playing COD, which shouldn't be the case for a Resident Evil Game. And the DLC that is supposedly unlocked at a later point is useless too, because who will take any notice of it in a few months time when its such an average game? Disappointing. Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    5
    Resident Evil :ORC is a decent game is not a bad game, just that some people believed it was a continuation of the saga, and it is not, but returned to the original in some respects
  4. Mar 20, 2012
    6
    By NO MEANS is this a bad game!!! After spending a few hours playing by myself, and then with other people; I can firmly say that this game is very solid and fun to play! It does have its problems such as buggy cover, hit detection, and problematic button mapping. But all in all it is a good game that will occupy your free time!
  5. Mar 25, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed this game greatly sure its not amazing but it is in no way as bad as most reviews have been giving raccoon city. I love the co-op campaign and the multiplayer is very fun sure there are a few little annoying things i have run into, but i can say my friends and I have had a blast with this game and its a keeper!
  6. Apr 30, 2013
    7
    I would score this a 7 with base game, 8.5 with the 2 expansions....

    Now I say that having played RE 1-5 on PlayStation 1,2 & 3. I was very surprised at the amount of zombie killing in this game and the overall pace. It is very much shoot and gun, not so much resource management or puzzle solving. The game goes right towards shooting out zombie brains right from the get-go. The
    I would score this a 7 with base game, 8.5 with the 2 expansions....

    Now I say that having played RE 1-5 on PlayStation 1,2 & 3. I was very surprised at the amount of zombie killing in this game and the overall pace. It is very much shoot and gun, not so much resource management or puzzle solving. The game goes right towards shooting out zombie brains right from the get-go. The gun-play and action is very fluid, in my opinion a step above RE4 and 5. Controls seem more natural and less confusing. Graphics were sufficient for PS3 standards, with the environments being particularly dark and convincing. Gory dismemberment due to shooting is improved... drastically. The weapon selection is good with semi-auto rifles, sub-machine guns, heavy machine guns, shotguns, and sniper rifles. Pistols are secondary weapons that fill a niche when ammo becomes scarce or if your main weapon has some weakness the pistol doesn't have. There are also several grenade types that can be carried and thrown, including flash, flame, and the traditional grenade. In summary, there are many ways to kill zombies and many different ways to have fun doing it.

    The biggest negative I identified is the lame Friendly AI. Many times, they won't pick up and use healing items even if they are in the process of dying and a first-aid spray is lying right in front of them. The AI classes don't do their job effectively if at all, or if they do it is a random event in the midst of shooting.

    The plot is passable... with the expansions it is better. Overall it is a story that is derived from RE 2 and 3. This game revisits old places from the previous games, which is fan-service. The plot bends some facts here and there from the previous games but I feel they did a good job at weaving this story into the RE lore.

    My overall score? The base game is probably a 7 due to lame AI and a confusing and unrealistic last level which affected the realism and plot. But don't get me wrong- the shooting fun felt like a 10. The game plus the 2 expansions, puts the overall game score at an 8.5 for me due to game length, overall killing mayhem, re-playability, and an epic final boss fight in the expansion. The ending in the expansion more or less makes up for the ending in the base game. Keep this in mind if you're thinking about buying.
    Expand
  7. Apr 20, 2012
    7
    Despite all the mediocre-to-bad reviews, I decided to rent this game and see if it was really as terrible as they said. I was pleasantly surprised, though, to find that this game was not only better than the negative reviews would suggest, but actually a really fun TPS set in the Resident Evil universe. The story is that you play as one of Umbrellas cleanup crews during the Raccoon CityDespite all the mediocre-to-bad reviews, I decided to rent this game and see if it was really as terrible as they said. I was pleasantly surprised, though, to find that this game was not only better than the negative reviews would suggest, but actually a really fun TPS set in the Resident Evil universe. The story is that you play as one of Umbrellas cleanup crews during the Raccoon City outbreak, tasked with eliminating any evidence of the companies involvement with the incident, including any survivors. While fairly simple, the story fits this Delta Team into the events of Resi 2 and 3 quite nicely, taking you to many locations from those games and putting you into many scenarios that directly tie in to those games' stories, making for some cool fanboy moments. The gameplay is what surprised me the most. After reading so many negative reviews I went into this game expecting a broken mess. Instead I found a very fun shooter with good controls, plenty of characters and weapons, a cover system that works a lot better than it should and a pretty exciting campaign overall. There are two elements of the game that the reviewers were right about, however: The squadmate AI, which is pretty dumb, as they sometimes don't take cover, or even run right into a grenade or your line of fire, and the length of the story mode, which, on veteran difficulty (between normal and professional) took me 4 and a half hours to complete. But if you enjoyed the story mode it is worth replaying to unlock other weapons and there are some pretty good multiplayer modes to extend the value of the game. As far as graphics and sound the game gets the job done, with good environments and character models coupled with the signature Resident Evil sound effects like that of using a green herb or the hiss of the Lickers. Overall, this is a game very worth renting for a fun, exciting shooter experience, and worth buying if you are a fan of Resident Evil and, like me, you don't mind the series' new action-oriented approach. Expand
  8. Apr 19, 2012
    7
    I confess I had a lot of expectations towards this title and, yes, I was disappointed with the final product like most of the people here (both critics and users). But I really don't understand all the hate. This not the best game ever made and definitely not the worst. It's a different approach to the Resident Evil franchise and a very creative one, I must say. I hear people complainingI confess I had a lot of expectations towards this title and, yes, I was disappointed with the final product like most of the people here (both critics and users). But I really don't understand all the hate. This not the best game ever made and definitely not the worst. It's a different approach to the Resident Evil franchise and a very creative one, I must say. I hear people complaining all the time that the series got stuck in time and a revamp was a must. I really think Capcom tried its best with REORC. It could have been a much better game, no doubt about it. But it's fun, well made, nice graphics, nice gameplay, challenging sometimes and very atmospheric - in my opinion of course. I really had a great time with it and recommend it to anyone slightly interested. Expand
  9. Apr 2, 2012
    7
    It's not a classic resident evil series.But it still a "not bad "game. although the story is too short.but you still can get more detail in the game.what a promote is the coop-up mode.It's really fun when you play with ur squad.ok!The control system ,the camera,the feeling of shooting...are not good enough.even the price.I 'll say: If you are a resident evil fans or you have three moreIt's not a classic resident evil series.But it still a "not bad "game. although the story is too short.but you still can get more detail in the game.what a promote is the coop-up mode.It's really fun when you play with ur squad.ok!The control system ,the camera,the feeling of shooting...are not good enough.even the price.I 'll say: If you are a resident evil fans or you have three more friends to join this game together.you could enjoy this game with no doubt. Expand
  10. Mar 25, 2012
    7
    I'm an avid RE fan. When I got word that Capcom was making a CO-OP based game, I was somewhat excited. Going back to the PS2 days, does anyone remember "RE: Outbreak and RE: Outbreak Files 2?" Yeah. That was groundbreaking but when you aren't able to converse with your teammates but only through select commands, it was doomed from the start. Don't get me wrong, It was interesting to playI'm an avid RE fan. When I got word that Capcom was making a CO-OP based game, I was somewhat excited. Going back to the PS2 days, does anyone remember "RE: Outbreak and RE: Outbreak Files 2?" Yeah. That was groundbreaking but when you aren't able to converse with your teammates but only through select commands, it was doomed from the start. Don't get me wrong, It was interesting to play as different characters rather than the usual ones we know.

    Operation Raccoon City is okay.

    Controls are good. However, the A.I. is garbage. For example, I dropped down below with one of the NPC's but the other two were down. There was no way for me to go back up and revive them. THUS, I had to start over and make sure they come down with me. The A.I. gets on my nerves. They tend to bunch up in the hallway and for them to protect me isn't as concise. It's glitchy here and there. Sadly, if a enemy knocks me down, I stay down. It just keeps attacking me without giving me a chance to get back up. If your a fan of the series, this game will appeal to you because of its surroundings from the previous RE titles. To this day, I still play RE2. Hands down one of the best in its class. They should remake that game!
    Expand
  11. Mar 30, 2012
    7
    If the game wasn't titled Resident Evil i beleive the game wouldn't be reviewed as harshly. When I picked it up I knew the game wasn't going to be great or amazing. The gameplay has some flaws such as the cover system and the amount of bullets it takes to kill someone. Some of the included features such as the perks per character are a nice change of pace that will really help when playingIf the game wasn't titled Resident Evil i beleive the game wouldn't be reviewed as harshly. When I picked it up I knew the game wasn't going to be great or amazing. The gameplay has some flaws such as the cover system and the amount of bullets it takes to kill someone. Some of the included features such as the perks per character are a nice change of pace that will really help when playing with other people. Expand
  12. Apr 2, 2012
    7
    After reading several reviews and doing my homework about this particular game, I'm kinda glad I didn't listen to them. I'm here to give a clear and unbiased review of this game.

    Resident Evil, by all means, might as well be called Call of Duty: Raccoon City. This is not necessarily a bad thing. I have enjoyed playing both the campaign and multiplayer modes, even though the game
    After reading several reviews and doing my homework about this particular game, I'm kinda glad I didn't listen to them. I'm here to give a clear and unbiased review of this game.

    Resident Evil, by all means, might as well be called Call of Duty: Raccoon City. This is not necessarily a bad thing. I have enjoyed playing both the campaign and multiplayer modes, even though the game admittedly has several flaws.

    The campaign mode, while not the most in-depth thing I've ever played, is solidly enjoyable. Squad-based combat that you can either do solo, with random players or specific friends. Of note, the latter two options have not been traditionally available in the campaigns of other famous FPS's. There are only a handful of missions, but with the extensive combat and searching of items and extras, each mission, on first run, can take about an hour apiece, giving you about a full 7 to 8 hour experience. The plot is threadbare, yes, but it excusable given the scope of the game. You are playing an elite "cleaner" team for the Umbrella corporation destroying all evidence of their involvement. This isn't that far-fetched given the conspiracy theories we believe about our own government. Some of the iconic characters of RE fame do make an appearance, but not in a significant way, so people expecting to play as their favorite RE icons will be disappointed. Gameplay is fluid and no less complicated than your average FPS, with the inclusion of a very fluid close combat system that is better than any other one I've played. There are many complaints abundant about your partner AI, and I have to say most of them are unfounded. Your partner AI's may be a little aggressive at times, but don't typically die until later missions or boss fights. In fact, these AI's are better than some other FPS partner AI's in that your partners in this game will actively pursue combat and actually kill enemies rather than just lay down a bunch of cover fire and make you do all the real work (ala Modern Warfare 3). While they may not always do what you'd want them to do, they're not really any dumber than the faceless partners of other FPS's I've played. The HUD is clean and allows you access to specific abilities and your recovery sprays and ordinances. Weaponry is abundant and varied almost ensuring that whatever you're used to using, you'll have. Each class has it's own unique passive and active abilities giving each character a unique flavor and allowing you to experiment to find a play style that suits you. Movement is rather restrictive sometimes since you can't jump or vault over obstacles, leaving you sometimes to wander through a winding path to proceed, but this is traditional RE style. If you've played RE titles, this is nothing new to you.

    The multiplayer mode is enjoyable, but with flaws. Biggest flaw of the game is that the multiplayer only offers you four different games modes, which I find unacceptable. Maps amount to eight so that's not so bad, but since you vote on any map you want every game, you can often find yourself on the same map for hours on end. The idea that every mode pits you against zombies and enemy opponents adds an extra element of action and planning to it, but some players may find frustrating. I do like the fact that melee attacks and headshots do not result in instant death, meaning lesser experienced players won't end up frequently respawning. The ability to kill zombies for experience also helps weaker players feel productive, even if other players are doing most of the work. It doesn't quite have the polished feel that other FPS's have and also suffers from not having a local split-screen option available. Although the multiplayer is unrefined and incomplete, it still doesn't mean you won't find yourself enjoying it on occassion.

    The overall problem with RE: Operation Raccon City is it's hybrid form. True FPS fans may not find it the most enjoyable game they've played and true RE fans expecting another RE game will certainly not be getting what they want (until RE6). If you're one of those fans in the middle who appreciated both the RE franchise and FPS's, this is something you may want to at least take a serious look at.
    Expand
  13. Sep 26, 2012
    5
    Better than I thought it was going to be and it can be fun but is a very average game.
  14. Oct 18, 2012
    7
    DON'T TRUST THE REVIEWS, try it for yourself. That's the bottom line. Here is my opinion: This game is great if you are a fan of Resi 2/3, you like shooting zombies and like playing as a CO OP squad with your mates! Positives: Multi-player co op is great/ runs really well/ joining games is easy/ unlocks are great/ sounds are spot on/ revisiting old RE2/3 locations is cool/ guns react well.DON'T TRUST THE REVIEWS, try it for yourself. That's the bottom line. Here is my opinion: This game is great if you are a fan of Resi 2/3, you like shooting zombies and like playing as a CO OP squad with your mates! Positives: Multi-player co op is great/ runs really well/ joining games is easy/ unlocks are great/ sounds are spot on/ revisiting old RE2/3 locations is cool/ guns react well. Negatives: button selection is off sometimes/ a little repetitive at times/ enemies take a fair few bullets. Overall i think the reviews are off (or the game has been patched correctly now) as this seems like a real solid shooter to me. Ideal for fans of the original resi's. I will certainly be playing this for some time! Expand
  15. Mar 11, 2013
    6
    This game is really fun, and it allows you to explore the untold story of Resident Evil in a totally different way. That being said, it would've been so much better if there weren't so many glitches and it offered local co-op.
  16. Jun 4, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I would never have guessed that Operation Raccoon City could be better than Resident Evil 6, but it actually it is far better. Storyline is great. There is 4-player coop and at last you can murder that wimp Leon. For me short campaign is main disadvantage. I recon they chopped half of it to sell soldier missions as a DLC. Nevertheless this game is worth your time, especially if you can play with your friends. Expand
  17. Nov 20, 2013
    7
    Bueno, al principio el juego puede llegar a ser un verdadero espanto, pero conforme vas avanzando te das cuenta de que aquí si salen zombis reales y verdaderos, no como en Resident Evil 4 y Resident Evil 5, eso es lo que salva este juego, también los Licker y los Hunter, el enfrentarte a Némesis, a Birkin, enfrentarte a león...etc. Su modo campaña es muy pobre, pero es entretenida, losBueno, al principio el juego puede llegar a ser un verdadero espanto, pero conforme vas avanzando te das cuenta de que aquí si salen zombis reales y verdaderos, no como en Resident Evil 4 y Resident Evil 5, eso es lo que salva este juego, también los Licker y los Hunter, el enfrentarte a Némesis, a Birkin, enfrentarte a león...etc. Su modo campaña es muy pobre, pero es entretenida, los personajes los puedes mejorar y comprar armas, puedes disparar mientras te mueves, una gran novedad, en si esta muy bien, pero si es para jugar solo, no lo recomiendo, es para jugar con amigos y pasar el rato, el juego engancha bastante, matar zombis es divertido xD Juego recomendable. Expand
  18. Feb 27, 2014
    5
    Despite my apologetic approach to all Resident Evil games, this games was just very disappointing, the controls were very stiff and the game had more glitches than I could count, the story is also very, very short. Despite that, the game still has a nostalgic factor in it's favour and essentially, stops the game from being absolutely terrible.
  19. Aug 18, 2015
    7
    I played through the single player campaign and have followed RE from the inception.

    I think this title is underrated. It is a squad based shooter with resident evil branding all over during the events of Resident Evil 2. Mechanics are certainly not as polished as other shooters but functions such as run and slide and dodging work well enough. Very little has happened in the Resident
    I played through the single player campaign and have followed RE from the inception.

    I think this title is underrated. It is a squad based shooter with resident evil branding all over during the events of Resident Evil 2. Mechanics are certainly not as polished as other shooters but functions such as run and slide and dodging work well enough.

    Very little has happened in the Resident Evil 2 setting and if you have fond memories of Leon and Claire then the setting alone gives you a reason to smile here and there at the familiar areas and enemies.

    Currently preowned price makes this really good value and really enjoyed the play through (ave. 8 hrs)
    Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 36
  2. Negative: 17 out of 36
  1. May 8, 2012
    50
    A team based Resident Evil that works alright when playing with other humans. But as a whole it's just not a very good game.
  2. May 8, 2012
    40
    It's not enough to save Operation Raccoon City though, which ultimately is a title that feels too rushed to warrant any great investment on the part of the player. That it's sold in such high numbers (at time of writing it's number one in Japan) says a lot about the strength of the Resident Evil brand which, if ORC is anything to go by, is in danger of being fatally diluted.
  3. Play UK
    Apr 17, 2012
    33
    Cynical, franchise-exploiting pump that Resi devotees should collectively ignore. [Issue#217, p.73]