Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City PlayStation 3

Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 217 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It is September 1998 and the action centres on the ill-fated Raccoon City and the horrific consequences of the deadly T-virus outbreak, developed at the Umbrella facility. With a cover up required, Umbrella orders an elite team into Raccoon City to destroy all evidence of the outbreak andIt is September 1998 and the action centres on the ill-fated Raccoon City and the horrific consequences of the deadly T-virus outbreak, developed at the Umbrella facility. With a cover up required, Umbrella orders an elite team into Raccoon City to destroy all evidence of the outbreak and eliminate any survivors. Meanwhile, the US Government has quarantined the city and dispatched its own team of elite soldiers to determine the source of the mysterious outbreak. You are an Umbrella Security Services soldier (U.S.S.), competing alone or in up to four player co-op in a battle against all the competing forces at play in Raccoon City. Expect the return of original Resident Evil enemies, iconic landmarks such as the Raccoon City Police Department and fan favourite characters, including Leon S. Kennedy, who, as a rookie police officer in Raccoon City, is on your hit list to eliminate. Three Corner Conflict: Bio-Organic Weapons (B.O.W) and zombies create an unpredictable third force and additional challenge on the battlefield, adding chaos to the shooter game play. Campaign Mode - both single player and up to 4 player co-op: You are part of the Umbrella Security Service. Protect the truth behind the T-Virus outbreak by any means necessary. Fight Online: Robust and fully featured online multiplayer modes. Define your Play Style: Gain new abilities and skills unique to your playable character as your experience level increases. International Team Development: a high quality, fully loaded, third person co-op / multiplayer shooter developed in collaboration between Capcom Japan development studios and an experienced Western multiplayer specialist studio. [Capcom] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 36
  2. Negative: 17 out of 36
  1. Mar 21, 2012
    80
    Raccoon City isn't the sort of game that will win awards – it's too rough around the edges in certain respects – and it's important to bear in mind that it's best experienced multiplayer rather than solo. But it's great fun and adds a fresh spin to a key time and place in the Resident Evil universe. It will bring a smile, in particular, to those who remember Resident Evils 2 and 3 with fondness.
  2. For the large part, whether offline or on, Operation RC manages to successfully inject old skool Resi charm into an enjoyably frenetic shooter. If the idea of battling rooms full of stretchy-tongued monstrosities with athletic controls in iconic surroundings has your Umbrella sense tingling, this is well worth a look.
  3. Mar 23, 2012
    65
    This game is a decent TPS if played online. It lacks quality though, and the terrible AI makes the singleplayer campaign a real torture. Play it with friends, it's really the only way to enjoy it.
  4. Mar 20, 2012
    50
    Unless you're going to play with others, Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City isn't worth your time. Single player is infected with poor artificial intelligence, lack of useful feedback and abusive enemies. Rope in a couple of friends - or open your game up for anybody to join - and ORC improves, still beholden to many of its problems but better for the replacement of its inadequate AI with human players to help deal with its viruses.
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    45
    A frighteningly flawed action-heavy spin-off that withers in the shadow of its superior alternatives.
  6. 40
    The chance to see the city from a new perspective is ruined by terrible AI, a wonky cover-system, a distinct lack of memorable moments, and a very short story.
  7. Mar 21, 2012
    30
    Occasional flashes of mediocrity are as good as this lacklustre shooter gets, in a tedious jamboree of technical ineptitude and bland co-op action.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 87
  2. Negative: 35 out of 87
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I was very worried about picking up this game, spending 60 dollars on a title that has been hammered hard by IGN, given mediocre review byI was very worried about picking up this game, spending 60 dollars on a title that has been hammered hard by IGN, given mediocre review by Game Informer, a good review from The Inquirer and given a glowing review from NG4/IRB Gamer. So much inconsistency. I think it has more to do with personal preference and less with poor game design. This game, in my opinion, is one of the best incarnations of the RE franchise since RE 4. The controlls are tight and fluid, the graphics are top notch, the sound is creepy. Everything reminds me of the joys I had playing RE 2 for the first time. Scary and exciting. Do yourself a favor and give this game a try on your own accord...you won't regret it. Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    There's a problem with these kids that write reviews, they are always one sided. 1's and 10's are all I ever see. This game is great fun withThere's a problem with these kids that write reviews, they are always one sided. 1's and 10's are all I ever see. This game is great fun with friends online. Me and my buddy play it and we mostly stick to survivor, mainly because it's great fun to try to blast people and make your way to the helicopter, much like on L4D. The AI is awful though I must say and I care very little for the characters they introduced, but aside from that, I would say rent it. It offers the old RE feel into its atmosphere and combines it with a frantic third person shooter. You guys are like SH fans, too stubborn to really enjoy anything new. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2012
    8
    It is likely that you will take the advice of a professional video game critic over that of a gamer. My best advice is to look at what theyIt is likely that you will take the advice of a professional video game critic over that of a gamer. My best advice is to look at what they are saying. Resident Evil Operation Raccoon City is a truly rewarding experience that has a few rough edges that i believe are very easy to overcome. lets look at the issues in a list of dot points vs the highlights

    1. bad AI............................. Now lets just think for a second..... THIS GAME IS A MULTI-PLAYER GAME. Why should the developers waste there time perfecting the AI when it is more then likely that there will be 4 humans playing. POINTLESS?!?
    2. The Story? once again it is a multi-player game. Why would u want a heavy storyline with long cutscenes in a game that would most likely have 4 people sitting there pressing the skip button as quick as they can? 3.The difficulty- i would say the difficulty is equal to that of resident evil 5 times 2. There are just more enemys with guns and it is easy to get overwhelmed , but your not alone anymore. The difficulty is beautiful, there is nothing more rewarding then having 3 friends with you having swarms of zombies running at you, your ammo running out. some one getting infected and having to turn on your team mates and as the number of zombies reach a lower number you start brutally melee killing them all one by one. This is very very satisfying, trust me.
    4.No charter development- if they brought six new charters in with bright personality's it would become stupidly confusing and rather annoying quite fast. These charters suit there roles. They are the best of the best, the elites that work by code names and everything is strictly business . I have come to see personality's in the charters depending on who i'm playing with. I have a wise cracking snipper and a sassy medic . This lack of charter development has allowed me to see the people im actually playing with rather then some cliche' personality.

    i assume i'm coming cross as rather a fan boy, and let me assure you that is not true. i only joined the resident evil bandwagon at number 4 and i thought number 5 was pretty tacky. there are a few problems wrong with the game but no more then a lot of games that receive great reviews. I am amazed that this game isn't getting fair 8's all round as it is a great game that is really fun and i haven't even mentioned the addicting leveling system. i would ignore the reviews you read from critics and just think about what bothers you. will bad story line bother you while 3 of you are talking over the top of it ? will bad AI effect your gaming when u have 3 humans playing with you, not coms. will the difficulty get too much for you or do u have some balls hahahha.

    Enjoy
    Collapse
  4. Apr 2, 2012
    7
    It's not a classic resident evil series.But it still a "not bad "game. although the story is too short.but you still can get more detail inIt's not a classic resident evil series.But it still a "not bad "game. although the story is too short.but you still can get more detail in the game.what a promote is the coop-up mode.It's really fun when you play with ur squad.ok!The control system ,the camera,the feeling of shooting...are not good enough.even the price.I 'll say: If you are a resident evil fans or you have three more friends to join this game together.you could enjoy this game with no doubt. Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    4
    What happen Crapcom?, half of the disc are just DLC waiting to be released and people buy this to activate the locked content, the game sizeWhat happen Crapcom?, half of the disc are just DLC waiting to be released and people buy this to activate the locked content, the game size is 7,3gb and 3,3gb are only DLCs the rest is the game and filler data, i remember the old days of Crapcom when they released full games like, RE1 to RE3 (4 and 5 are the beginning of the death of the series), and some others games, that is the reason of my score of 4 half of the disc only DLCs and of course the crap gameplay of this, a L4D with a Gears of Wars Game? LOLOLOLOL, I hope with this game Crapcom only leave RE stay on his grave Expand
  6. Apr 22, 2012
    2
    I never thought I'd find a RE game worse than RE5 but it seems I finally have.
  7. May 21, 2012
    0
    First of all, I am a lifelong Resident Evil fan, with that said, I strongly advise against buying this game. It is not good enough to rank asFirst of all, I am a lifelong Resident Evil fan, with that said, I strongly advise against buying this game. It is not good enough to rank as garbage. Here are a few of its many, many problems: 1) the controls, they dont work. 2) your AI squad mates are useless, they do absolutely nothing but run around in circles. 3) The enemy AI is either brain dead easy or kills you in one shot. 4) the graphics are glitchy and framerate stutters constantly 5) your character "sticks" to the wall constantly, which sucks when your in a gunfight. I am 42 years old and have been playing FPS for over 20 years and I honestly cant remember ever playing a game as bad as this. It is broken and the minor 160 MB update Capcom released did nothing to help. This is just horrible, awful, junk. Dont buy it. Expand

See all 87 User Reviews