Resident Evil: Revelations PlayStation 3


Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
Buy On
  1. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Sep 4, 2013
    Resident Evil: Revelations' Story is split up into episodes. Alan Wake has already taught us that this is a very effective way of making sure your game has breakneck pace. Maybe we watched too much Lost, but you have to be one cold dude not wanting to now what is going to happen next in this game. [June 2013, p.72]
  2. Jun 7, 2013
    Portions of the game may deliver high-octane thrills, but its paramount moments are frightening because they're understated.
  3. CD-Action
    Jun 4, 2013
    After RE6 I was convinced that there’s no hope for the series. Luckily there are still people in Capcom who try to preserve Resident Evil’s unique personality as a survival horror where every bullet and every dodge count. Revelations is the best Resident Evil in years. [CD-Action 07/2013, p.58]
  4. Jun 1, 2013
    It isn't the great port that it should have been, but the entertaining single player and the at least as much fun Raid-mode do make up for this partly. The budget and scale of the game is quite obviously smaller, but it gives you an old-fashioned exciting Resident Evil-game in return that plays it safe, which actually makes it quite refreshing.
  5. May 30, 2013
    The HD edition is well optimized on the technical side, and looks good on the console hardware. Yet, despite the commitment, the selling price should be lower.
  6. May 27, 2013
    Resident Evil: Revelations is just as memorable as it was on 3DS.
  7. May 24, 2013
    For the first time ever a game is ported from the Nintendo 3DS to the PlayStation 3. We're happy to report that this strange enterprise has turned out to be successful. The classical RE gameplay is back; claustrophobic and exciting! There's hardly any extra's and the price is a bit steep, but fans of Resident Evil shouldn't hesitate about buying this.
  8. May 22, 2013
    Something was lost in the transition from the 3DS to the couch: despite a very (and a little too much) faithful conversion, Resident Evil Revelations shows drawbacks and missteps that were absent in the stellar, original release.
  9. May 22, 2013
    Revelations is one of the most interesting episodes of the saga on the home consoles and PC as it was on 3DS.
  10. May 22, 2013
    In the end, Resident Evil Revelations is one of the best Resident Evil releases for the home console that offers players around 10 hours of addictive and adrenaline pumping moments in the campaign mode.
  11. May 21, 2013
    If you’ve played Revelations before, you’ll find few differences here with only a few new characters in raid mode and an infernal difficulty that remixes enemies and item locations for those seeking an extreme challenge. If you’ve yet to play it, this is a viable hybrid of old-evil sensibilities and new-evil action. All things considered, not a bad mutation.
  12. May 20, 2013
    Resident Evil: Revelations is engrossing and legitimately frightening. The important control option, coupled with the drastically upgraded graphics and excellent atmosphere, makes this a very playable experience.
  13. May 20, 2013
    With its welcome return to classic-style horror action, Resident Evil: Revelations is very much worth playing in its HD form for its atmosphere and scares alone. However, if you’ve got the choice between the remake and the original, stick with the one you can carry in your pocket.
  14. May 20, 2013
    Does it push the graphical prowess of the PS3? Not even close. Does it have a coherent story? No, but it’s better than most of the Resident Evil stories in the franchise.
  15. 75
    Resident Evil: Revelations is a superb return to form for the franchise, sadly let down by sluggish character movement and awkward combat.
  16. May 20, 2013
    This former 3DS game doesn’t stand toe-to-toe with the best console shooters, but it’s a faithful port. Revelations has a lot to offer fans of the series and players looking for a more evenly paced, thoughtful shooter.
  17. May 20, 2013
    One of the most interesting games of the Resident Evil series in this generation. The respect for the origins of the franchise is total, but that does not stop the game from innovating in the interactions. In addition, the atmosphere achieved seduces all lovers of terror, except for enemies who are not charismatic and spoil an overall finish that would have been outstanding. Their adaptation to consoles is remarkable, and the technical aspects are good, despite coming from Nintendo 3DS.
  18. May 20, 2013
    While it doesn’t completely escape the shortcomings of its original outing, Capcom’s HD-ified version of Resident Evil: Revelations is still as fun and enthralling as it was on the 3DS—while now also benefiting from the improvements in controls, visuals, and audio that other gaming platforms can offer. If you previously missed this chapter of the legendary Resident Evil saga, this is the best way to rectify that.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 181 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 41
  2. Negative: 6 out of 41
  1. May 24, 2013
    This game is great definitely should buy it Revelations goes back to the exploration based, puzzle-solving nature of previous installmentsThis game is great definitely should buy it Revelations goes back to the exploration based, puzzle-solving nature of previous installments in the Resident Evil series witch is very good Full Review »
  2. May 23, 2013
    a step in the right direction, but not quite as good as it could be. i would recommend buying this just to show capcom that we the playersa step in the right direction, but not quite as good as it could be. i would recommend buying this just to show capcom that we the players want survival horror, not half assed action like RE6. Full Review »
  3. May 27, 2014
    Revelations was a game I had fairly good expectations for. After hearing that the game is considered a return to Resident Evil's horror roots,Revelations was a game I had fairly good expectations for. After hearing that the game is considered a return to Resident Evil's horror roots, I was expecting another true installment, similar to the lines of Resident Evil 4. Even though this game is fairly good, I can't help but feel the game is not quite as great as I was hoping it would be, and ultimately leaves me with mixed feelings.

    One of the changes to this game is the gameplay. In RE4, 5, and even 6, the gameplay had a strategic tone to it. Shoot a weak spot on the enemy, usually the legs or head, and then perform a devastating melee attack. This strategy and gameplay always felt satisfying, and helped you conserve ammo, which makes me disappointed that it's almost completely gone in Revelations. The option to stun an enemy and perform an melee attack is here, but it's not the same as it was. Unlike past games, the new enemies don't really have any defined weakspot, meaning you'll be shooting your enemy randomly and hopefully get lucky enough to stun the enemy and then close in. However, because you can't adequately plan this out, it's not a strategy you can rely on, and the mindless shooting honestly makes the gameplay less fun. Some enemies - like the sub-bosses - do have that option to do enough damage and close in for a melee attack, but it's ultimately not enough, and feels tacked on in this game.

    The game also ditched the laser sight and went with a cross hair, and I don't mean the one in RE6 (considering that one was terrible). This cross hair is standard and works fine, but I do miss the laser sight being here, but with the strategy gone, I'm questioning whether or not it would make any difference to play the game that way.

    Another annoyance is your inventory. Unlike past games, the amount of ammo you can carry is limited. Instead of taking up more slots, the game straight up limits how much ammo and herbs you can carry. If the limit was fairly reasonable, it'd probably be a good mechanic, but the amount you can carry is limited so severely it's frustrating, especially when you run into those sequences where you find so much ammo, and you can't carry even a third of it. Couple this with the fact that you drain your ammo so quickly when fighting even standard enemies, and you'll think to yourself, "if I could've picked up that ammo earlier this wouldn't be such a big deal." There are items you can pick up later in the story to upgrade your capacity, but without a way to do it by yourself, it ultimately becomes one huge waiting game, and even with the upgrades, the amount you can hold is still relatively small. This game would've benefited so much from the storage system in RE5, which was a great mechanic that we haven't seen since for some odd reason.

    Another thing I have mixed feelings about is the story. The story primarily follows Jill Valentine, but you take control of several other protagonists as well, which would've been a fantastic way to give the story more depth. As we've seen in games like Dead Space: Extraction, multiple view points can really help a story and make it more interesting, but Revelations fails to capture this. Out of all 4 characters, Parker is the only interesting one, with a likable personality. Jill and Chris are only memorable because they're returning characters, and the fourth guy is so boring and insignificant I can't even tell you his name right now, because I don't remember it. This was made worse by the game switching you back to Jill just as you were getting used to the new protagonist.

    Also, a weak point of the story is how this game holds any relevance to the Resident Evil's overall story. The story in this game could've never happened, and it wouldn't have made any real difference to the series as a whole. All major plot points in the story are sealed by the game's end, and the story isn't big enough to make an impact on you, or hold any significance.

    The graphics are definitely one of the better things about this game. The game is a port from the 3DS, but the graphics do hold up as looking pretty nice. It doesn't compare to the PS3's current standards, but it does easily outshine what we saw in the first two years of this console's life cycle in terms of visuals. Animations aren't smooth. Trying to walk in this game will lead to your character constantly jerking, which takes you out of the immersion, especially in the game's more creepy parts, and yes, the game does return to the horror elements that hardcore fans have been begging for, even if it's still not that scary overall.

    The bottom line with this game is that it's an overall good title, but it has some major design decisions that I just don't understand. The lack of strategy in combat makes the overall game less engaging and fun, and the inventory space is frustrating. Hardcore fans should appreciate the return to a more horror based atmosphere, but in the end, it doesn't make up for the flaws this game has.
    Full Review »