Resistance 2 PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 4, 2008
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1906 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkY
    Nov 6, 2008
    8
    This game got me zoned in at first. I got it on day one I played it on the difficult setting. Either I'm getting way better or this game is just way easier than the first. Great game to play however a tad too easy. There is no real methods to taking care of the larger enemies and the gameplay sort of felt spoon fed in small doses especially in how to beat certain enemies. It was a This game got me zoned in at first. I got it on day one I played it on the difficult setting. Either I'm getting way better or this game is just way easier than the first. Great game to play however a tad too easy. There is no real methods to taking care of the larger enemies and the gameplay sort of felt spoon fed in small doses especially in how to beat certain enemies. It was a short wild ride. I would wait on a price drop unless you want to get ahead in multiplayer. Expand
  2. AlexC
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    This game is fantasti! it's a huge improvement from the last one and it's just shows you the strides insomniac took to make the resistance series a must buy. This game is worth every penny. And seroiusly if you can't understand the multiplayer games maybe so should try playing dora the explorer or something else. The only kids who are writing bad reveiws for this game are This game is fantasti! it's a huge improvement from the last one and it's just shows you the strides insomniac took to make the resistance series a must buy. This game is worth every penny. And seroiusly if you can't understand the multiplayer games maybe so should try playing dora the explorer or something else. The only kids who are writing bad reveiws for this game are xbox fanboys who never even played the game but can't stand that PS3 has a hit and is fastly creeping up on the 360. This game is a must buy and you would be foolish to overlook this game. Expand
  3. [Anonymous]
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    So far this game is just excellent as first if not more. Online is completely amazing. So far haven't encountered any lag, even in the sixty player matches. Co-op is extremely fun even though it is not what I expected. Most importantly though the storyline is excellent. It starts off where the first ended. After they capture you you are sedated. You wake up and they tell you whats So far this game is just excellent as first if not more. Online is completely amazing. So far haven't encountered any lag, even in the sixty player matches. Co-op is extremely fun even though it is not what I expected. Most importantly though the storyline is excellent. It starts off where the first ended. After they capture you you are sedated. You wake up and they tell you whats going on as your flying above Iceland. The chimerans shoot you down now you must battle your way through the level and take out a goliath. After this is done the screen goes black and says two years later. You are in a underground base and are waking up after having tests done to you. Chimerans attack and you must make your way out. Once you come out you see the "famous horizon" as America is fallen to pieces. Expand
  4. ThomasLanteigne
    Oct 18, 2008
    8
    tried the beta, and its quite action packed, choice of 3 classes and interesting weaponry. The Coop map I tried in the beta is pretty good too. There is the concept of leveling up your character a bit like CoD4. if you are hesitating, you should definatly give this game a try!
  5. mg
    Nov 8, 2008
    9
    The only frustration I have with the solo campaign are all the cheap ways to die, mostly trial and error stuff like the chameleon. The story isn't great, but engaging enough. My score of 9 is totally based on the multiplayer. Very addicting cooperative modes. And the different classes make it have lasting power. I like it's multiplayer better than gears 2. Seriously.
  6. MatthewJohnson
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    this game is great, dont listen to all those low user reviews, those are 360 fanboys that dont even have a ps3. i wouldn't actually ive this game a 10, but rather a 9.5, but since there is no such option it becomes a 10 because a 9 would be too low
  7. Matt
    Dec 1, 2008
    9
    An improvement upon the original in almost every way. Insomniac has finally hit their stride for FPS design. However I am not without my complaints. First off the boss fights, however grandiose were still a little underwhelming and simplistic for my tastes. Second, the story is muddled and confusing, exchanging the original's cohesive (but slightly ambiguous) narrative for fairly An improvement upon the original in almost every way. Insomniac has finally hit their stride for FPS design. However I am not without my complaints. First off the boss fights, however grandiose were still a little underwhelming and simplistic for my tastes. Second, the story is muddled and confusing, exchanging the original's cohesive (but slightly ambiguous) narrative for fairly standard military science fiction. But having been a pretty harsh critic of the first Resistance, I can safely say that Insomniac had people like me in mind when they tweaked the gameplay (no more crappy health bar, a little less enemies sent out to rape you, etc). Highly recommended for jaded PS3 owners looking for something besides Little Big Planet to play this holiday season. Expand
  8. eeganrac
    Dec 19, 2008
    7
    The reason i am giving resistance a 7 instead of a 5 (being average) is, well i did not play resistance 1. i guess you can say i am way late to the party. i am finding r2 really generic. i got my ps3 and purchased 2 games one of which was r2. the game is really slow at explaining what is going on (again i didn't play the first game). the visuals are good, but not great to other The reason i am giving resistance a 7 instead of a 5 (being average) is, well i did not play resistance 1. i guess you can say i am way late to the party. i am finding r2 really generic. i got my ps3 and purchased 2 games one of which was r2. the game is really slow at explaining what is going on (again i didn't play the first game). the visuals are good, but not great to other shooters i have played. i just found the combat boring. you can only carry 2 weapons, but weapons the designers feel you need are always there. you feel like you are beening spoon fed on how to play the game. the bosses are way too easy, and i got extremely sick of the water swimming creatures platform element. also, i have not played online yet. i am at the final level and i do not play online until i have beaten the campaign. oh, but iowa was fun, but the chamealians are a joke (appearing right before they strike), there was a lot of potential there too bad they dropped the ball. Expand
  9. EmmanuelVeras
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    In in the beta and I certify that this game is a AAA masterpiece. I've only experienced multi player aspects, such as coop and competitive modes, but those alone are enough to warrant a 10 out of 10 for this masterfully created shooter. The different modes are excellent and fulfilling.
  10. James
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    Ok seeing as many of the people rating this game haven't played it in any shape or form I am immediately more qualified to deliver an opinion. I've been playing the beta and it is serious fun! The game isn't the best looking, it improves on R1 but it isn't jaw dropping but the mechanics are perfect, the modes plenty and the combat is precisely balanced. This game willOk seeing as many of the people rating this game haven't played it in any shape or form I am immediately more qualified to deliver an opinion. I've been playing the beta and it is serious fun! The game isn't the best looking, it improves on R1 but it isn't jaw dropping but the mechanics are perfect, the modes plenty and the combat is precisely balanced. This game will keep you busy for a long time trust me.

    I'm disappointed to see this fanboy block voting for R2 hasn't received a disclaimer like the voting for LBP did but seriously guys get a life!
    Expand
  11. CliffyB
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    Don't believe the stupid Xbots. This game is superb. They merely envy our growing and improving game library while their selection weakens to the level of the Nintendo Wii. Do not be sad nor fearful Xbots. The 720 will be released next year, and the failure rate will fall to an acceptable 25%. Then you can play gears of war 3 while PS3 owners will still be receiving numerous AAADon't believe the stupid Xbots. This game is superb. They merely envy our growing and improving game library while their selection weakens to the level of the Nintendo Wii. Do not be sad nor fearful Xbots. The 720 will be released next year, and the failure rate will fall to an acceptable 25%. Then you can play gears of war 3 while PS3 owners will still be receiving numerous AAA titles years from now. Perhaps when become gainfully employed all of you xbots will be able to afford quality. Til then, suck a nut! Expand
  12. AnonymousMC
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    Enough with the retaliatory strikes with these user based scores. All gamers have been dancing this tune since the next gen console "war" broke and nothing has changed. I am a PS3 and Wii fan and own both. I do not own a 360 due to the fact that I prefer the other two consoles. However that is not to say I completely disregard the 360. If there was a game I would like to see ported to theEnough with the retaliatory strikes with these user based scores. All gamers have been dancing this tune since the next gen console "war" broke and nothing has changed. I am a PS3 and Wii fan and own both. I do not own a 360 due to the fact that I prefer the other two consoles. However that is not to say I completely disregard the 360. If there was a game I would like to see ported to the PS3 it would be Gears and I bet 360 owners wouldn't mind seeing the likes of Resistence or Killzone sent over to 360. We all have our views on our particular favourites but at the end of the day, if we didn't have the competiion out there the gaming industry would be static and in a bad way. Just look at the way (in my view) things went for a while when it was just Ninty without Sega to give it any comp. At the end of the day the majority of games appear on both or all consoles and we should just enjoy what we like and to hell with the other camp. And when we do get the exclusives (ie: Killzone, LBP, Resistence and MGS4) we should just sit back and enjoy the green faces eminating from the 360 camp. The hardcore 360 fans started this nonsence by giving LBP a low score. So what!!!? That shows the jealousy. Just ignore them and concentrate on the beautiful title that only you can play while 360 owners pine for something as brilliant and creative. Expand
  13. ClarkG
    Nov 17, 2009
    3
    What a boring pile of trash. Worse than Gears of War. I really got into the first one, but this one is four or five steps backward. There was absolutely nothing in the campaign that approached interesting. Only an uncommonly boring game will let me start falling asleep while playing it--a shameful distinction that this game has earned.
  14. PatrickP.
    Jan 15, 2009
    5
    I do not understand the 9's and 10's I'm seeing for this game on a lot of major review sites. Had I bought the game based on those reviews (instead of renting) I'd be very, very angry at the moment. If this is your first FPS, you could do a lot worse. If not, well, you've seen it done before and probably done better. A.I. is nonexistant on both sides of the I do not understand the 9's and 10's I'm seeing for this game on a lot of major review sites. Had I bought the game based on those reviews (instead of renting) I'd be very, very angry at the moment. If this is your first FPS, you could do a lot worse. If not, well, you've seen it done before and probably done better. A.I. is nonexistant on both sides of the conflict (i.e. your squad mates are useless). The game has a story, albeit a not very gripping one. The main character might as well be the one from the Doom series for all the personality he has (virtually nil for those unfamiliar with Doom). Weapon selection is decent, however, your choice of weapons is determined by the game and not your preference or proficiency. Don't get to attached to that magnum, because the ammo is going to dry up in 30 seconds. Want to try and beat the game with just the Fareye? You can try, but you'll have to melee 90% of the enemies, no matter how conservative or accurate your are with your ammunition. The game tries to create an atmosphere of fear in some areas (waves of zombie-like Chimera running at you in the dark), however, it's so telegraphed and predictable that there's no tension. Multiplayer varies. Issues aboujnd, but is quite fun when everything is working right. This game boasts 64 player matches, but good luck finding one. If you own a PS3 and you're into multiplayer FPS's, get this game, as your options are limited. If you own a PS3 and you're into great games, get something else. I would reccomend a lot of things over this one; Dead Space, COD, Fallout 3, LBP, etc., even Force Unleashed in all honesty. Expand
  15. AlanG
    Jan 18, 2009
    9
    Not the best Campaign. Didn't really like it. The best part is the Online. Co-op is very addicting with 3 classes to choose. Each with a main role in playing. All of them fun. 8 Player Co-Op online by the way. The other online is Team Deathmatch, Deathmatch, Skirmish and others I cannot remember the others. 60 player Online with NO LAG which is amazing. To me overall, this game is Not the best Campaign. Didn't really like it. The best part is the Online. Co-op is very addicting with 3 classes to choose. Each with a main role in playing. All of them fun. 8 Player Co-Op online by the way. The other online is Team Deathmatch, Deathmatch, Skirmish and others I cannot remember the others. 60 player Online with NO LAG which is amazing. To me overall, this game is worth buying to waste time. You will never get bored with online. I had it since the day it came out and still haven't gotten been bored of it. Good graphics but the only thing I don't like is the campaign which is short and not that good. Expand
  16. JonB.
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    Resistance 2 is one of my favorite games on the ps3 ever. The graphics are amazing and truely show the power of the ps3. The story is better the campain, while short, is still enjoyable with more weapons to handle and destroy the chimera. The bosses are really fun and the leviathan fight really made you feel like that part was like a movie. The teanse feel and you feel more for hale in Resistance 2 is one of my favorite games on the ps3 ever. The graphics are amazing and truely show the power of the ps3. The story is better the campain, while short, is still enjoyable with more weapons to handle and destroy the chimera. The bosses are really fun and the leviathan fight really made you feel like that part was like a movie. The teanse feel and you feel more for hale in this game. Also online really rules and is amazing. I can go on a 60 player math and with no lag. Co-op is addicting and really fun. Especially leveling up your classes. Insomniac Games amazing job can't wait for resistance 3. Expand
  17. AnonymousMC
    Feb 23, 2009
    9
    The only downfall compared to the original is that we no longer have the ability to carry all the weapons, however the game play, new weapons and overall intresting storyline more than makes up for it. Each misssion is different enough from the previous to keep the gamer entertained, and is one of the few fps that can be played threw more then once. P.S. people talk about the all theThe only downfall compared to the original is that we no longer have the ability to carry all the weapons, however the game play, new weapons and overall intresting storyline more than makes up for it. Each misssion is different enough from the previous to keep the gamer entertained, and is one of the few fps that can be played threw more then once. P.S. people talk about the all the great guns but never talk about the pistol's secondary, it's very satisfying to blow the enemy up with a pistol. Expand
  18. ColinM.
    Feb 4, 2009
    9
    While this game may not be the best of the PS3, if you do own a PS3, then GET THIS GAME. I really didn't like Resistance: Fall of Man, and so I was unsure of getting this game. But I'm so glad I did. This is the wierdest thing about though, that while all my friends are ga-ga over Resistance's online, I myself enjoyed the Campaign an insane amount of more. While some While this game may not be the best of the PS3, if you do own a PS3, then GET THIS GAME. I really didn't like Resistance: Fall of Man, and so I was unsure of getting this game. But I'm so glad I did. This is the wierdest thing about though, that while all my friends are ga-ga over Resistance's online, I myself enjoyed the Campaign an insane amount of more. While some didn't like the campaign, I loved it. The graphics are really nice and polished, background story is superb, but the in-game presentation of it is quite flawed. I myself researched Resistance's story and quite enjoyed. Overall, 9.0/10. Now, when I go back to play Resistance 1, for some reason I'm actually enjoying it. Expand
  19. JoshA
    May 17, 2009
    10
    Amazing game good improvements on the last such as the graphics and online mode and co-op amazing amazing game.
  20. NikolaiB
    May 19, 2009
    9
    Resistance 2 is probably one of the most impressive games on consoles out now. With both variety in both gameplay and story Resistance includes almost everything that made the Fall of Man great and much more. Graphics have improved and the scope in both story and the missions is widened. I do feel that Resistance 2 may have lost some of the prequels dark feeling, but the Chimera is as Resistance 2 is probably one of the most impressive games on consoles out now. With both variety in both gameplay and story Resistance includes almost everything that made the Fall of Man great and much more. Graphics have improved and the scope in both story and the missions is widened. I do feel that Resistance 2 may have lost some of the prequels dark feeling, but the Chimera is as terrefying foe as before. Multiplayer is even bigger than before and suprisingly without much chaos with 64 players at the same time. Every FPS fan and Playstation 3 owner should get this game, not because you like one console better then the other, but because Resistance 2 is an improved version of an already great game. Expand
  21. AdamM.
    Jun 14, 2009
    8
    Resistance 2 is a very enjoyable game that I would recommend to any ps3 owner, but the game is far from perfect. I have to say the biggest let down in the game is the poor single player experience, it only took me about 12 hours to complete it on the hardest difficulty. Also the actual story is amazingly boring compared to resistance , you do come across some brilliant bosses but even Resistance 2 is a very enjoyable game that I would recommend to any ps3 owner, but the game is far from perfect. I have to say the biggest let down in the game is the poor single player experience, it only took me about 12 hours to complete it on the hardest difficulty. Also the actual story is amazingly boring compared to resistance , you do come across some brilliant bosses but even they are ruined by the fact that they aer not at all challanging. The only reason you would to play through the campaign is because of brilliant and exciting gameplay. But the shining star of this game is the exceptional online play. In competive you get your standerd deathmatch, team deathmatch and capture the flag (core control), but the game type I found most enjoyable was the skirmish mode. It is basicly a Killzone 2 type match with the revolving missions scheme.Some people have said that 60 players online is just abosolute choas and to be honest it is but that what makes the game such a unique experince. Coopretive is the newest online mode to the resistance series and proberbly is the most enjoyable and rewarding mode. Basicly you have a team of eight players and you can choose to be one of three classes, soldier,special ops or a medic. This mode unlike its competitive counterpart is quite tatical because you have to get the right balance of clases in a team. One the main reasons I found this mode so enjoyable is due to the fact that you will face hunderds of chimera in one small block of a mission and that is extremely exciting. My closing comment is if you are looking for a new online experience away from the likes of call of duty buy this game, but don' t buy it if you are looking for a deep an challenging single player experince. Expand
  22. GlennC.
    Aug 25, 2009
    5
    The original Resistance was and is one of my favorite games on PS3. I was greatly disappointed when I began playing the sequel. The game has lost it's suspense/fear factor. Only two weapons at a time? What up with that? It's a video game. If it were meant to be more realistic, there'd be no aliens to fight in the first place. I liked the original's look much better The original Resistance was and is one of my favorite games on PS3. I was greatly disappointed when I began playing the sequel. The game has lost it's suspense/fear factor. Only two weapons at a time? What up with that? It's a video game. If it were meant to be more realistic, there'd be no aliens to fight in the first place. I liked the original's look much better than the over saturated color and cartoonish design of Resistance 2. As far as I'm concerned, you guy's missed the mark. Let's hope Dead Space 2 lives up to it's monumental original. Expand
  23. TobyK
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    this game suffers from severe halo 3 syndrome. whilst the campaign (purely in terms of story) is a little weak, the online multiplayer (including a revolutionary new target-based *skirmish* system) feels very together and sorted. its plays excellently, with a heavy creepy atmosphere as I came to expect from the original resistance, and although the storyline is a bit confusing and has the this game suffers from severe halo 3 syndrome. whilst the campaign (purely in terms of story) is a little weak, the online multiplayer (including a revolutionary new target-based *skirmish* system) feels very together and sorted. its plays excellently, with a heavy creepy atmosphere as I came to expect from the original resistance, and although the storyline is a bit confusing and has the worst cliffhanger ending EVER, the online multiplayer is one of the best I have ever experienced. Expand
  24. JohnL.
    Nov 11, 2008
    9
    people who give this game a low score dont know what they are getting into....its a solid shooter and thats all it tries to be, nothing more...the online play is great and being able to create your own rooms is one major flaw that cod 4 lacked...i havent even started the co-op missions yet..im still too involved in just jumping into any of the 60 player maps that pop up every night...do people who give this game a low score dont know what they are getting into....its a solid shooter and thats all it tries to be, nothing more...the online play is great and being able to create your own rooms is one major flaw that cod 4 lacked...i havent even started the co-op missions yet..im still too involved in just jumping into any of the 60 player maps that pop up every night...do not trust BEN P's review the playstation network doesnt lag at all...the fool obviously has a bad internet connection or is too far away from his router to know any better...i have been playing online in the playstation network from the beginning and ive never had connectivity or lag issues....like most people who actually know a thing or 2 about networking im hardwired in..so dont bash the network just cause your internet sux. Expand
  25. DavidH.
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    This game is so killer there are just no words to describe the intense roller coaster ride that is Resistance 2! I can't believe this bogus user voted average score thats out on this site though... 5.5? That makes me sick! I have played all the great FPS and am a huge FPS fan and I have been playing this game for a week straight and I can honestly say it is the best FPS on the market This game is so killer there are just no words to describe the intense roller coaster ride that is Resistance 2! I can't believe this bogus user voted average score thats out on this site though... 5.5? That makes me sick! I have played all the great FPS and am a huge FPS fan and I have been playing this game for a week straight and I can honestly say it is the best FPS on the market PERIOD. I just think their has been some heated tension between fanboys and 360 has a HUGE following.. I think that disgruntled 360 fanboys are voting this game bad even though they haven't played it. Everything I have read from the bad reviewers on here are FALSE with the exception of a few personal opinions. I just can't emphasize how incredibly enthralling this game really is for anyone who loves first person shooters. Play the campaign on all difficulty settings if you really want to understand how excellent and epic the battles are. This game gets WAY better as you up the skill level in carefully thought out ways that no other fps has ever executed. ThaT and the amazing 8-player squad based Co-Op and the stellar 60 player online competetive modes?!?!?! A GAMERS DREAM COME TRUE! Everyone needs to play Resistance 2 on Super Human mode before they can call themselves a true gamer! THIS IS NO JOKE. Expand
  26. EdenM.
    Nov 13, 2008
    9
    After having played the beta(and full game) I can tell you there are ZERO issues with lag on the multiplayer....My connection isn't great and the online was still perfect. Everyone saying the is a load of lag is lying or don't actually have the game. The game is fantastic, the story and multiplayer are ace. The person who said the multiplayer is confusing is not a very After having played the beta(and full game) I can tell you there are ZERO issues with lag on the multiplayer....My connection isn't great and the online was still perfect. Everyone saying the is a load of lag is lying or don't actually have the game. The game is fantastic, the story and multiplayer are ace. The person who said the multiplayer is confusing is not a very intelligent person as they are explained before you enter the game and whilst you are in the game everything is also explained. In conclusion the game is very good and worth your money! Expand
  27. XM
    Nov 13, 2008
    10
    Awesome multiplayer. Competitive mode is incredible with 60 player matches and co-op is seriously addicting. Single player campaign could have been better though. I give resistance 2 a solid 10 out of 10.
  28. AdrianG.
    Nov 14, 2008
    10
    An amazing game. The best campaign i have played in a long time. Better than Resistance 1 and CoD4 combined! The Co op is a lot of fun and adds at least 8 more hours of gameplay to the game. The other part of the online isnt as good the first games but still fun
  29. RandyW
    Nov 18, 2008
    7
    Let me first say that I have played through an extensive amount of the single player and multiplayer for this game, and also the only system I play games on is my PS3. Now that's out of the way, I think Resistance 1 is better then Resistance 2 by far. I also think that this game is too far up it's own ass to be taken seriously, and what I mean by that is the story for this game Let me first say that I have played through an extensive amount of the single player and multiplayer for this game, and also the only system I play games on is my PS3. Now that's out of the way, I think Resistance 1 is better then Resistance 2 by far. I also think that this game is too far up it's own ass to be taken seriously, and what I mean by that is the story for this game has taken a great idea and some how made it... generic Hollywood movie gone bad. When you played Resistance 1 you felt more of a connection to the character because he was not an action hero per say, he was a guy at the wrong place at the wrong time, Kind of someone that was not a super solider that you see used constantly now a days. Now granted this game does have the eye candy for those who want great graphics, but at what cost? the single player pays so much attention to looking good instead of a game that is fun. Resistance 2 single player is not fun because the developers took everything from the first game that was great, like the mix between regenerative health/having to use health packs and less linear approach, and went for a Halo type of system where it seems every FPS since then has stolen from. Also I am knocking the single player for forcing you to play the way the developers want you to, by forcing you to only have two guns at one time and having the right gun for the right part just laying around, I think that is what really killed the game for me. No longer can you have a "go to" gun because it is useless the second you run out of ammo. I am also disappointing in how often you are left with not knowing where to go, getting lost in an area that takes you 10 minutes to get out of ruins the game and takes me out of the moment. So why am I giving this a 7 then you might ask, well the co-op is what saved this game. with games like left 4 dead and team fortress 2 I'm happy to see that this game has a co-op that mixes those said games with a resistance feel to it. the competitive on the other hand is just as resistance 1 was except it looks horrible and has unoriginal game play modes that you have seen a million times before. I will give credit to them for sticking 60 players in the game without many hiccups. My thoughts on this game are if you really liked Resistance 1 rent Resistance 2 because what it does right will keep you playing for a sort while but if you want the next system selling game look else where. Expand
  30. JohnM.
    Nov 22, 2008
    9
    Disregard many of these comments on here because many come from fanboys from BOTH systems. The truth is though, that, if you can get mediocre at it, the online is immensly fun. I enjoyed a few parts in the campaign a lot, but there were many parts where it was just stupid or boring. The cooperative is fun and very unique. The competitive can get annoying especially with the frustration of Disregard many of these comments on here because many come from fanboys from BOTH systems. The truth is though, that, if you can get mediocre at it, the online is immensly fun. I enjoyed a few parts in the campaign a lot, but there were many parts where it was just stupid or boring. The cooperative is fun and very unique. The competitive can get annoying especially with the frustration of the huge advantages/disadvantages a weapon could have. For example, the Carbine has 40mm that kills in one shot easily, but its damage is really low. The bullseye can tag and shoots fast, but its accuracy is horrible. Some guns are just ty (Bellock for the most part), so it takes some time to adjust to them. The only annoying part is that once you click play and start that game, IT IS CLOSED. That means that if you are playing a game with 10-10 and one team has a lot of dropouts, the game just sucks then because either its impossible to kill someone because you have too many people on your team or you just can't fight 8 people at once. This is reallly REALLY annoying because it will happen quite often. Expand
  31. MarcB.
    Nov 22, 2008
    8
    Why 8? Got my PS3 way after i bought xbox360. and have been waiting for a good online multiplayer in the line of Gears of war. Although it makes me more think of a game like left 4 dead. One thing i don't understand: compared to xbox the PS3 should be more powerful (that is what they want us to believe...) but compared to the new Gears of war 2 : graphics are a few years behind: Why 8? Got my PS3 way after i bought xbox360. and have been waiting for a good online multiplayer in the line of Gears of war. Although it makes me more think of a game like left 4 dead. One thing i don't understand: compared to xbox the PS3 should be more powerful (that is what they want us to believe...) but compared to the new Gears of war 2 : graphics are a few years behind: could it be the graphics power of the ATI processor in de XBOX is more powerful then the NVIDIA in the PS3? yes: i stick to the 8 because this is one of the games PS3 players were waiting for: good online "save the world" fun game where some kind of teamwork is necessary. Expand
  32. KeithP.
    Nov 23, 2008
    6
    What a disappointment. R2 does away with the best elements of of the first game (muted tone/colors, a freaky enemy all the more scary because don't know where the hell they came from or what their goals are, a protagonist who was at least potentially a 3-dimensional human being) and replaces them with focus-group must-haves from 6-year olds. Add in the awful graphics (play R2 online What a disappointment. R2 does away with the best elements of of the first game (muted tone/colors, a freaky enemy all the more scary because don't know where the hell they came from or what their goals are, a protagonist who was at least potentially a 3-dimensional human being) and replaces them with focus-group must-haves from 6-year olds. Add in the awful graphics (play R2 online for 10 minutes, then jump over to COD4 online and see for yourself) and utterly derivative, pathetic explanation for it all, and we have a serious crash of expectations. Oh well...waiting for COD6 and BIOSHOCK 2. Expand
  33. DezC
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    Everything I have seen on this game screams great FPS!!! Loved the 1st, this looks to improve on that, bring it on! A lot of low scores here, funny they smell of XBOX fanboys who are jealous that their beloved Halo has died after the 1st game, they just cant handle the fact. I also have a 360, but am no sad, blinkered 360 non true gamer fag, sorry fanboy!
  34. JamesMcConnaughy
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    With the exception of the removal of the gun wheel, this game is an improvement on every level over Resistance. Even then, the dual weapon technique had me panicking during certain sequences. The co-op is unique and interesting, and the characters feel real, less macho stereotypes. There are games this year that I'd recommend over it, such as Mirror's Edge or LittleBigPlanet, butWith the exception of the removal of the gun wheel, this game is an improvement on every level over Resistance. Even then, the dual weapon technique had me panicking during certain sequences. The co-op is unique and interesting, and the characters feel real, less macho stereotypes. There are games this year that I'd recommend over it, such as Mirror's Edge or LittleBigPlanet, but if you own a PS3, you definably owe it to yourself to check this out. Expand
  35. Raj
    Nov 27, 2008
    9
    Let me lay this belief to rest; anybody that says that this game is just run and shoot OBVIOUSLY hasn't played a first person shooter because when you breakdown any first person shooter that is all you get running and shooting apart from maybe Bioshock cus that game is too good. I find it a good thing that the co-op campaign is different to the single player campaign but I detestLet me lay this belief to rest; anybody that says that this game is just run and shoot OBVIOUSLY hasn't played a first person shooter because when you breakdown any first person shooter that is all you get running and shooting apart from maybe Bioshock cus that game is too good. I find it a good thing that the co-op campaign is different to the single player campaign but I detest anyone that will compare this to COD4 these games have emphasis on different things, COD4 favours graphics and R2 favours storytelling. So get over it! The single player campaign is good but it can lack inspiration sometimes however it is onine that this game will blow you away, 60 players shooting it out with great weapons like the marksman and the wraith... enough said. Expand
  36. JoseGG
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    This game is great, i been playing a while now and its quite addictive. The story line is great so far. The battles are very intense. But yeah, the amount of enemies that'll be on screen at once chasing you will have you reminiscing zombie movies you've seen. I won't lie, the amount of "melee" Chimera (won't give out their real name to prevent any spoilers) you'll This game is great, i been playing a while now and its quite addictive. The story line is great so far. The battles are very intense. But yeah, the amount of enemies that'll be on screen at once chasing you will have you reminiscing zombie movies you've seen. I won't lie, the amount of "melee" Chimera (won't give out their real name to prevent any spoilers) you'll have coming at you at points in the game just has the game feel so damn intense. AI and character animations have really been improved, teammates will do a great job holding there own in combat, and I've yet to encounter a time when one had cost me my life. Story is still great, cinematics have been improved aswell, mo-cap always adds to the scenes, and graphics overall have been greatly improved. Motion blur when you sprint is done very well too, game in general just looks top notch. Expand
  37. UncleSkylar
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    This game is everything and more that you would expect from a FPS... The graphics are awesome, the story and multiplayer are amazing and BIGGER= better. If you like first person shooters with endless replayability thanks to online coop and 60 person competitive this is a must buy!!
  38. MichaelB.
    Nov 4, 2008
    9
    I have my doubts that the low scores come from people who've even played the final game, as it was officially released today. This game is incredibly well made, very solid, huge in scope and a lot of fun.
  39. JohnB
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    This game is fantastic. The story may only be OK, but the gameplay is great fun. Beautiful scenery surrounds you as you face dozens of enemies at a time. And that's just the solo campaign. The Online Co-op gets even better. I've only played 4 missions so far, but I didn't experience one bit of lag. And it looks just as good as the solo campaign. Which brings us to the This game is fantastic. The story may only be OK, but the gameplay is great fun. Beautiful scenery surrounds you as you face dozens of enemies at a time. And that's just the solo campaign. The Online Co-op gets even better. I've only played 4 missions so far, but I didn't experience one bit of lag. And it looks just as good as the solo campaign. Which brings us to the Competitive online multiplayer. Having played both small matches (10 players) and large matches (60 players) and all I can say is *wow*. The maps are fantastic, and, like the co-op mode, I haven't experienced even a second of lag. To sum up, every part of this game will give you a unique and intense experience. If you are a fan of the FPS genre, you NEED this game. Period. Expand
  40. JoshuaB.
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    Quite simply, this is the game that any of the games from the Halo series wish they could be. Lagless 8-man coop, and 60-man competitive multiplayer battles? Eff yes. If this game ends up with a score lower than 90, I'll definitely start believing there's an anti-PS3 bias, because there is very little to warrant taking anything away from Resistance 2. I have an itching suspicion Quite simply, this is the game that any of the games from the Halo series wish they could be. Lagless 8-man coop, and 60-man competitive multiplayer battles? Eff yes. If this game ends up with a score lower than 90, I'll definitely start believing there's an anti-PS3 bias, because there is very little to warrant taking anything away from Resistance 2. I have an itching suspicion that the users who've reviewed this game and given it a low score haven't even played it, nor own a PS3 for that matter. People who complain about the "trial by death" thing obviously are used to a lower level of difficulty, and to grade a game lower because of how hard it is... Well, it's just plain stupid. Games are meant to be difficult, and this is one of the most challenging games I've played in a large while. To reiterate, it's been a long, long time since I've played a game as encapsulating, entertaining, challenging and fantastic as this one. The minor graphical glitches (Some instances of the waterfalls being flat, and apparently some low-res textures which I myself haven't spent the time to look for) mean nothing in the bigger picture, unless you're a die-hard 360 fan and have to nitpick -something-. The visuals are stunning, simply put. Battles are on a grand scale and some of the bosses you'll face are unbelievable. The multi-player is fantastic, and I've experienced little to no problems in my time playing it. Not even a single instance of lag or framing whatsoever, despite the huge amount of action occurring on the battlefield. The system of leveling up was a great idea, and gives me all the more reason to want to play. If you are playing the Coop, you'd better be fulfilling your role to the team, otherwise death will come swiftly. To -all- of you. The campaign is a trial, and you're often forced to think on your feet during battles, which is something I enjoy very much. This is my game of the year so far, easily. I'll be playing the crap out of it for months to come. Insomniac, with this release, along with the Ratched and Clank series, have to be considered one of the top-tier developing teams. I simply can't wait to see what they'll do next. Expand
  41. KyleT.
    Nov 6, 2008
    9
    Internet problems are user error rather than game error. I haven't had any problems. Even the 60 person games that I've played have been completely lag free. The story is excellent, and even if the gameplay isn't anything too innovative, it's still fun and solid, no matter what the clueless user critics have said so far. Co-op online is great. It feels something like Internet problems are user error rather than game error. I haven't had any problems. Even the 60 person games that I've played have been completely lag free. The story is excellent, and even if the gameplay isn't anything too innovative, it's still fun and solid, no matter what the clueless user critics have said so far. Co-op online is great. It feels something like an MMO at some points because you're literally FORCED to work together. No splitting off and doing what you want. Heavies will need spec-ops for ammo supply, spec ops will need heavies for shield and major offense, and everyone needs medics. As always, don't listen to the user reviews. They're riddled with fanboy idiots who take it personally when a game on a console that they don't like does well. I have no idea what personal investment they have in it, but I suggest they shut up and game. Expand
  42. CharlyBronsyn
    Oct 16, 2008
    10
    been playing the beta. Pure awesome! Insomniac have really stepped up to the plate on this one. Metacritic really needs to stop people from adding fraudulent scores without actually lending their comments. If public beta is any indication of how the full game is going to turn out. I'm completely sold.
  43. PeterL.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    This game is something serious. The single player campaign alone is worth my $60 then you add on the 8 player co-op and 60 player online. If you have a playstation 3 buy this game, and if you don't have a playstation 3 buy one just for this game. Yeah, it's that good.
  44. DarryBoichenko
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    When I first tried Resistance: Fall of Man , I was not impressed at all. I hoped that maybe Resistance 2 would be better. After seeing it get some exceptional reviews, but still not that great, I decided to not buy this game. However, on Boxing Day, since I had wrapped my Mgs4 7 times and finished all my other games too, I decided, what they heck, ill just buy it and try it out .

    I was
    When I first tried Resistance: Fall of Man , I was not impressed at all. I hoped that maybe Resistance 2 would be better. After seeing it get some exceptional reviews, but still not that great, I decided to not buy this game. However, on Boxing Day, since I had wrapped my Mgs4 7 times and finished all my other games too, I decided, what they heck, ill just buy it and try it out .

    I was so freaking blown away by it. I didn't expect it to be so good! I don't know why people don't like the single-player campaign so much. I absolutely loved it. the cutscenes are okay, but the story is very intriguing. The multiplayer I thought was pretty good, but all my other friends are crazy about it!
    I really recommend this to anyone who has a PS3!
    Expand
  45. BootsieDrazek
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    I've never played a First Person Shooter as engaging as this one. The storyline is quite original and has the most dramatic twists ever seen in any game of this genre. Multiplayer is an amazing technological achievement for a console game, but the best feature of this game is 8-player co-op. I've never had so much fun with any game mode of any FPS until I played this one, asI've never played a First Person Shooter as engaging as this one. The storyline is quite original and has the most dramatic twists ever seen in any game of this genre. Multiplayer is an amazing technological achievement for a console game, but the best feature of this game is 8-player co-op. I've never had so much fun with any game mode of any FPS until I played this one, as it's perfectly balanced, it's enemies are very varied, the graphics are excellent and PS3 doesn't choke with them, not even a little. Considering its RPG elements, including XP borrowed from Call of Duty 4, and with a new class system that includes medics, special-ops and soldiers, the fun will never stop as you'll always fiind something new to achieve, let alone it has infinite replay value. Ten. Expand
  46. ericmolino
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Resistance 2 does what its predecessor doesnt, astonish th player. just the depth an contnet alone is supperb. the storyline is somwhat cliche but that can be forgiven considering that america is great and allot of videogames need a excuse to destroy san fransisco or chicago. the coop is out of this world. the 60plyayer multiplayer is frantic but entertaining to a point.
  47. SamNguyen
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    VERY GOOD GAME! I have a modded 360 and I got to admit the game is very long and the graphics improved but the gameplay is the same.The online is also very great! They added the Horde game where you team up with 5 players and beat the horde in waves!
  48. EricStoker
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    After the first Resistance game, I was sure that the PS3 as a FPS platform was finished. Then I played Resistance 2 Beta and I have to say I think Insomniac is on to something after all. I mean this feels a lot like a perfect mix of Halo 3 and COD4...and that equals cool in my book.
  49. MartinEdmunds
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    I actually am playing this game right now ( beta ) . Witch is more than most of these current user review.
    This game is a 100% fun Factor. Great weapong an graphic cant wait to play the campain.
    To all xbot fanboy give it a rest and play the game already . Stop rating a game thats not even out yet and that you haven't even played.
  50. AnonymousMC
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    I've been playing the Beta for a while now... so that's where I'm baseing this score.

    For the first time in my life, I played with a team and it really worked. Everyone was playing and following the same goals.
    For that only... yes.. i give Resistance 2 a perfect score
  51. TomEdwards
    Dec 8, 2008
    10
    This game improve upon R:FOM in every way. Literally bigger and better in every way, graphically, story, and single an multi-player ect. If you want a game that will give you a very satisfying single player and an even bigger and better multi-player with up to 60 players in any one game and close to no lag what so ever (I have yet to see any) then you can't go wrong with this.
  52. Griminal
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    Find it stupid how fanboys and idiots alike are rating games like this down, just because it's on a system they don't have, can't afford etc. I don't believe they genuinely don't like the system because that's just a joke.

    That'd be like me sayin, Kate Moss is ugly because i havn't n probably never will (god help me) have the chance to get jiggy
    Find it stupid how fanboys and idiots alike are rating games like this down, just because it's on a system they don't have, can't afford etc. I don't believe they genuinely don't like the system because that's just a joke.

    That'd be like me sayin, Kate Moss is ugly because i havn't n probably never will (god help me) have the chance to get jiggy with her...
    Expand
  53. jasongarnham
    Jan 13, 2009
    9
    oh dear r2s getting some bad reviews isent it?multiplayer lagging?i dont think so i think certain fanboys are are at again aint they?pretty sad.....anyhow single player good fun but not as good as multiplayer darn good game killzone 2 next thats going to cause some more fanboy backlash i reckon..
  54. JBV
    Jan 21, 2009
    9
    I can´t believe why this game had so many bad reviews from some people, the graphics are great, the scale is awesome and the enemies are smart enough to put a good fight. I think probably the reason of this scores can be either this people are get use to play things like kun fu panda or brainles sports games or there is lot of xbox360 fanboys capable of killing her parents for halo3 I can´t believe why this game had so many bad reviews from some people, the graphics are great, the scale is awesome and the enemies are smart enough to put a good fight. I think probably the reason of this scores can be either this people are get use to play things like kun fu panda or brainles sports games or there is lot of xbox360 fanboys capable of killing her parents for halo3 and they will dislike any other shooter. Expand
  55. XBOTSFUKOFF
    Feb 15, 2009
    10
    Good game. Anyone who even dares to say that Gears 2 has a better multiplayer, go burn yourself on a hot stove you stupid fanboy piece of shit. I had anticipated Gears 2 more than anything, and I was let down. Granted, Resistance 2 might not have the BEST multiplayer or story ever made, but it CERTAINLY dominated the fuck out of Gears 2. If your that much of a fanboy, at least compare itGood game. Anyone who even dares to say that Gears 2 has a better multiplayer, go burn yourself on a hot stove you stupid fanboy piece of shit. I had anticipated Gears 2 more than anything, and I was let down. Granted, Resistance 2 might not have the BEST multiplayer or story ever made, but it CERTAINLY dominated the fuck out of Gears 2. If your that much of a fanboy, at least compare it to one of the few GOOD games that the 360 has... like, uhh... well... not Gears 2 for sure. I would give R2 about an 8 or 9, but since I gotta bring the score back up from the dumbass fanboys, I gotta give it a 10. Expand
  56. anthonyH
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    this game is just amazing :)
    the campaign is excellent, dynamic gameplay, gorgoues visual graphics, and there is alot of variety of weapons and eneimes. The enviorments are highly detailed, boss battles are amazing.

    I don't see how this is a 5.7 out of 10
    you'd be crazy to rate it that low :(

    there is alot of creativy, and it sure is just pure fun
  57. PacManPolarBear
    Nov 11, 2008
    9
    A solid FPS on every level. The single player campaign is worth the effort, co-op is great fun and 60 player TDM, oh hells yes.
  58. MichaelH
    Nov 12, 2008
    6
    Story is very linear, can stray to much off the set path. The graphics are so so, was expecting some major improvements over the first one. The enemies A.I. is non existent it seems. Most will just stand there and wait for you to shoot at them, and once you start shooting them they still stand there. The impressive part of the game is the amount of enemies on the screen at once while your Story is very linear, can stray to much off the set path. The graphics are so so, was expecting some major improvements over the first one. The enemies A.I. is non existent it seems. Most will just stand there and wait for you to shoot at them, and once you start shooting them they still stand there. The impressive part of the game is the amount of enemies on the screen at once while your playing. Also the dead bodies don't disappear right away which is good. Online is pretty hectic, servers seem under control. The only grip i have with the online is that it doesn't take to much skill to get a lot of kills. Most players are just franticly running around. The controls for this game are so so. I did not like how they placed the Ducking ability and the running ability on the same button. Causes to much frustration when your trying to run but you end up crouching instead. The game has some excellent weapons and level designs, just the story is what holds it back really. I would not purchase this game for its campaign, but maybe its online if you like frantic and hectic online playing with so many players you wouldn't know who you team is. Not for the Tactical player. Expand
  59. JasonM.
    Nov 14, 2008
    10
    Given my rating, I pretty much love everything in this game.. so I'll just highlight one of my favorite things about the game: it's scale. Resistance 2 takes scale to a whole new level. Raging Godzilla-sized giants called "Leviathans" in single-player. 60-player matches in competitive multiplayer. And ridiculously frantic firefights in the 8-player co-op, with the occasional Given my rating, I pretty much love everything in this game.. so I'll just highlight one of my favorite things about the game: it's scale. Resistance 2 takes scale to a whole new level. Raging Godzilla-sized giants called "Leviathans" in single-player. 60-player matches in competitive multiplayer. And ridiculously frantic firefights in the 8-player co-op, with the occasional large monster thrown at you. The co-op is very balanced, by the way, which each class having a special ability to be able to help the rest of the team. It's one of the few co-op games that actually stresses teamwork above everything else. So trust me, going into the co-op alone is just a death wish. You'll be swarmed with a BARRAGE (and I mean huge barrage of firepower). Luckily, there's almost always some cover to make your way to. Co-op classes include: *Soldiers*: which carry large gatling guns which has a sheild for use when you press the secondary fire button. *Medics*: Carry a unique weapon that drain the health of enemies. As you drain health, it charges up shots for your secondary fire, which sends out a burst of energy that spreads a short distance and heals allies. But you have to have a full charge before you start healing. And you're limited to 10 charges. *Spec Ops*: Carry a scoped rifle with a three-shot burst and a secondary fire with something that looks like an electric bullet, but slow-moving. The Spec Ops's special ability is to restock others' ammo, though don't expect to throw one to every member of your team. It refills one ammo box if you wait a few seconds, but if you want to do it quickly, you're limited to three before you have to wait for another. The ammo boxes can give medics a free charge and can replenish soldier's sheilds. Also note that you're not restricted to those weapons. As you level up, you earn more abilities and weapons. But the weapons you start out with are almost essential to the team's survival. The co-op is where the polish and balance shines the most. The sum of its parts just show the genius. Expand
  60. ChristianD.
    Nov 16, 2008
    9
    Great Story, Great Gameplay, Great Multi player and Co-op Incredible weapons but the only flaw is that since the Games has incredible Weapons u shoud be able to carry them all around like in the first resistance but a minor flaw compared to an incredible exprience of gaming.
  61. MitchS
    Nov 18, 2008
    5
    Resistance: Fall of Man is better then Resistance 2. Simply because in co-op mode in the 1st one you could play a spilt screen campaign story mode. I would have licked to have been able to do the same in #2. But oh well, it is still entertaining, I guess???
  62. HarveyN.
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    This is a great game, but it really should be getting two separate reviews for single player and multiplayer. The single player campaign is decent, but not exceptional. Its got some fun moments and some frustrating ones, and overall ranks an 8. The multiplayer is where the game shines. Coop mode is addictive and fun. The maps are well designed, and the overall mission system is great.
  63. BarryP
    Nov 28, 2008
    9
    I really think it's a great First person shooter. I doesn't do alot of new things, but there's not much more the genre can really give. The online cooperative missions are a real let down in my eyes and feels very rushed. Had they implemented a real story mode co-op rather than a sketchy, unrelated one then i'm sure the overall Metacritic score could have been well I really think it's a great First person shooter. I doesn't do alot of new things, but there's not much more the genre can really give. The online cooperative missions are a real let down in my eyes and feels very rushed. Had they implemented a real story mode co-op rather than a sketchy, unrelated one then i'm sure the overall Metacritic score could have been well over 93. The story mode is amazing, innovative and keeps you on your feet constantly. There is also absolutely nothing that tops the competitive multiplayer mode either, seeing as you can play 1 map with an incredible 60 players and in good nick, i.e no lag etc. The gorgeous graphics are a small part of what makes this game a superb and innovative experience and i don't think there's any other FPS out there that tops it, not even the likes of CoD4 or Halo 3. Both are decent in their respective ways but this towers over both. I own a 360 (i had to sell about 6 360 games and 2 PS3 games to get this :p) and a PS3 and like both, so i'm no fanboy. Quite frankly i'm getting sick of the rivalry of 360vs PS3 fanboys and the trolling of game reviews by them. There is no way PS3 only fans made this a 5.5 with over 1000 votes and in contrast Gears of War has 6.8 with 800. It's getting to the point where the site has to crack down on trolls and do what they promised to do, required registration to vote. Oh and on another note, buy this game, you will love it! Expand
  64. JLRuiz
    Nov 29, 2008
    9
    The Campaign mode is not as good as i thought it would be but is still enjoyable and far better than halo 3. But the online mode kicks the shit out of any other shooter out there(on any console), if you enjoy online shooters this is as good as it gets.
  65. JimTodd
    Dec 27, 2008
    3
    If it worked the game would be great, but it currently has a number of joy-killing bugs, including one that corrupts all your saves, forcing you to start over. Two months after launch and still no sign that this is going to be fixed. Also, the lobby system works as designed ,but is designed horribly, forcing you to completely rebuild your game on a mission failure - no real lobby toIf it worked the game would be great, but it currently has a number of joy-killing bugs, including one that corrupts all your saves, forcing you to start over. Two months after launch and still no sign that this is going to be fixed. Also, the lobby system works as designed ,but is designed horribly, forcing you to completely rebuild your game on a mission failure - no real lobby to restart from....Much of the game is fun, and if they fixed the bugs and lobby I might give it a 7 or 8 Expand
  66. MattBecker
    Dec 28, 2008
    10
    I see lots of people complaining about Resistance 2 being "just another shooter." Here is my question to all you people: what exactly are you looking for? The single player story might not be Oscar worthy material... but neither is Gears of War, and I don't see you guys ripping that to pieces. What I look for in a game is fun, and Resistance 2 has plenty of that. It's got intenseI see lots of people complaining about Resistance 2 being "just another shooter." Here is my question to all you people: what exactly are you looking for? The single player story might not be Oscar worthy material... but neither is Gears of War, and I don't see you guys ripping that to pieces. What I look for in a game is fun, and Resistance 2 has plenty of that. It's got intense single player scenarios and great 60 person multiplayer. Don't know what else someone could ask for in a FPS (unless you're looking for something like Bioshock, which is an awesome game with an important message). Expand
  67. Scott
    Dec 29, 2008
    10
    This one is better than RFOM in every way. The graphice are so good I actually let myself die in a few areas just to view the scenery. I got in a room with 60 people in a team deathmatch and had no lag at all, I can even say that about HALO 3 with only 16 people. If you liked the first Resistance you will love this one. Hope they make a third one.
  68. Sep 27, 2010
    8
    the first game was alot of fun the second one is and has some improvements over the first but also some things that make it not as fun as the first. the biggest issue i had was the halo gun carrying BS you went from holding a arsonal to now just 2 guns??? why?! i liked it the way it was before. plus they removed some guns and grenades . no more backlash grenades ... sucks. i dont want thisthe first game was alot of fun the second one is and has some improvements over the first but also some things that make it not as fun as the first. the biggest issue i had was the halo gun carrying BS you went from holding a arsonal to now just 2 guns??? why?! i liked it the way it was before. plus they removed some guns and grenades . no more backlash grenades ... sucks. i dont want this game to be like Halo cause i **** HATE HALO! if i wanted to play that trash id play it on my 360 . the game does add some cool new features first the online is now fun the addition of 64 players in a match looks sweet and runs great ive seen very little lag . this is the first online PS3 game since the first motor storm ive enjoyed . the boss battles are just sick looking they are just freeking HUGE! the story is ok but nothing really feels like its been answered much . you get alittle new info on the chimera but not as much as i woulda hoped . this game also needs CO op srory mode . they have a co op mode but its more like the horde mode in Gears 2 it is kinda fun but id rather have the other. its a fun game but some may be more digruntled then me with the story mode but the online saved it for me. Expand
  69. Feb 19, 2011
    7
    resistance 2 has a good gameplay and the online is really good and its better than the first
    but is still not as good as COD or fallout or maybe even gears of war but still a good game
  70. Mar 3, 2011
    8
    While not perfect, it is still one of the best shooters on PS3. The online modes are phenomenal, and the campaign has an excellent storyline. While many gamers prefer the first one, I stand by my statement that the second Resistance is a definite improvement. With very few glitches and well balanced gameplay, I would not recommend passing up on Resistance 2.
  71. Mar 16, 2011
    8
    the game it self is good. the story was probably the best because the ending was good. it felt like a movie. but the story mode lacked the awesomness that the first had. they changed a lot from the first one. right now the olny reason to buy it is to continue the story. the online community is probably a fraction of what it was.
  72. Jul 28, 2011
    8
    Insomniac seems that they are starting to surpass greatness to bastardizing creativeness. While their sequel to one of the most important series in the PS3 isn't a bang, explosive thrill or amazing war, their acknowledge to make a nice shooter ( better than before) set them high. Resistance 2 doesn't change to much gameplay, graphics ( lacking) etc. Very dated details kills theInsomniac seems that they are starting to surpass greatness to bastardizing creativeness. While their sequel to one of the most important series in the PS3 isn't a bang, explosive thrill or amazing war, their acknowledge to make a nice shooter ( better than before) set them high. Resistance 2 doesn't change to much gameplay, graphics ( lacking) etc. Very dated details kills the environment , lifeless compared to other shooters, though , not very negative, sometimes graphics power force isn't necessary in some cases, although, it makes it more believable. Apart from minor flaws, is worth the trip. Expand
  73. Apr 29, 2011
    9
    I know the game is very old by now, but I was browsing the site and couldn't believe this low score. The single player game was great. Very fun, and at times rather scary. While the story wasn't perfect, I disagree that it was just "see this bad guy and kill him". I thought it was very playable and enjoyable. The multiplayer was average at best and was the real shortcoming of theI know the game is very old by now, but I was browsing the site and couldn't believe this low score. The single player game was great. Very fun, and at times rather scary. While the story wasn't perfect, I disagree that it was just "see this bad guy and kill him". I thought it was very playable and enjoyable. The multiplayer was average at best and was the real shortcoming of the game. BUT the single player made it worth the cost alone. I will be purchasing Resistance 3 simply because I liked this game so much. Expand
  74. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    This game is very intense and has an incredible "old school feel" without being dated.
    After I experienced the game I totally agree with Classic Game Room's review (check it on youtube) and I truly believe Resistance is a underrated game series. I am not a big fun of modern military FPS, but as an older gamer I enjoyed sci-fi, horror, comedy and more unique FPSs for years and because of
    This game is very intense and has an incredible "old school feel" without being dated.
    After I experienced the game I totally agree with Classic Game Room's review (check it on youtube) and I truly believe Resistance is a underrated game series. I am not a big fun of modern military FPS, but as an older gamer I enjoyed sci-fi, horror, comedy and more unique FPSs for years and because of that, Resistance and Bioshock brought back my interest and enjoyment with shooters.
    Intense shooting and interesting story, huge and expressive bosses and creatures, that "60's sci-fi movies feel", epic battles and an incredible multiplayer (it would be even better if the game had more popularity) are details that make Resistance 2 a pretty good game in my opinion.
    Expand
  75. Dec 18, 2013
    6
    Not much has changed and was has changed is not for the better. It feels like a lesser game then the first one. If you can't get enough of Resistance you could buy this though.
  76. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    I enjoyed playing this game more than the first one, mainly because the campaign was much more epic. The number of enemies and amount of action going on at any one time is tremendous and really pulls you into feeling like you are in a war. Fighting huge enemy bosses was also very cool, reminds me of old school games. The story was a nice continuation from the first game and the graphicsI enjoyed playing this game more than the first one, mainly because the campaign was much more epic. The number of enemies and amount of action going on at any one time is tremendous and really pulls you into feeling like you are in a war. Fighting huge enemy bosses was also very cool, reminds me of old school games. The story was a nice continuation from the first game and the graphics and sound are a lot better.

    There are some changes I didn't care for. I missed the gun wheel, the health packs, and the loss of vehicle play. These made resistance 2 feel more like other games. Other than that I really enjoyed everything else about the game and continue to highly recommend it.
    Expand
  77. Nov 1, 2011
    7
    A good game, not a great game. Campaign was very interesting and kept me engaged for the ages. However, multiplayer was a different story. And that is where I will rant about. The multiplayer is a stepdown from its predecessor in virtually every aspect. I was experiencing a gaming high until I played my first match. I didn't believe that it sucked that bad so I played for the whole night.A good game, not a great game. Campaign was very interesting and kept me engaged for the ages. However, multiplayer was a different story. And that is where I will rant about. The multiplayer is a stepdown from its predecessor in virtually every aspect. I was experiencing a gaming high until I played my first match. I didn't believe that it sucked that bad so I played for the whole night. Damn, that blew my night, what a dissapointment from the guys at Insomniac. I expected much more for my money. However, I can't say that this game wasn't a blast from an objective standpoint. Ups to Insomniac for a great and even more engaging plot. Expand
  78. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    What a great game... I cant believe how some people gave this game such low scores! Its an AWESOME! game.. I recommend this game to every PS3 owner gamer out there.
  79. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    great game! I cant believe how some people gave this game such low scores! Its an AWESOME! game.. I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer out there.
  80. Jun 8, 2012
    7
    7.5 - It's big, loud, exciting, and epic, but the story doesn't really go anywhere exciting. There are glorious moments of terror and intensity peppered throughout certain levels, but overall the campaign misses it's marks. The biggest moments of the campaign are either frustrating, glitchy, or incredibly underdeveloped, with certain sound elements and design flaws rearing their ugly7.5 - It's big, loud, exciting, and epic, but the story doesn't really go anywhere exciting. There are glorious moments of terror and intensity peppered throughout certain levels, but overall the campaign misses it's marks. The biggest moments of the campaign are either frustrating, glitchy, or incredibly underdeveloped, with certain sound elements and design flaws rearing their ugly heads. This is Insomniac's most unpolished game. The fact that Insomniac also dumbed down your ability to hold all of your weapons to only two at a time is a shame, because the guns of resistance are the best weapons of any current gen shooter. Multiplayer is aces with gigantic matches and fun modes. There are more negatives than positives for R2, but the campaign is much improved over its predecessor, and the entertainment value, while lacking substance, is incredible. It is overall a decent sequel, but in the end it is an empty husk of a shooter, with no characters to care for, a story that is scatterbrained, and a main character that is empty and emotionless. Expand
  81. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Very good game with a great story. Story is well written and a definite improvement over the last game in the series. Lots of fun weapons to play with, but the weapon wheel has been replace by the two weapon system found in most games. Lots of variety in levels and enemies, resulting in an unpredictable and thrilling experience. Co-op is great in this game and gives you a leveling systemVery good game with a great story. Story is well written and a definite improvement over the last game in the series. Lots of fun weapons to play with, but the weapon wheel has been replace by the two weapon system found in most games. Lots of variety in levels and enemies, resulting in an unpredictable and thrilling experience. Co-op is great in this game and gives you a leveling system which will keep you playing for a good amount of time. Multiplayer is better than ever with big team matches and lots of unlocks and upgrades to keep you entertained. Expand
  82. Jan 16, 2014
    8
    This game is truly epic! More enemies, better guns, updated game mechanics. Let's start with the core gameplay. One thing I did not like about this was the sudden change of the gun system. In Fall of Man and Resistance Retribution (PSP), once you pick up a gun, it's yours to keep forever. Here, they removed that and made it more like Call of Duty. You can now sprint (something you couldn'tThis game is truly epic! More enemies, better guns, updated game mechanics. Let's start with the core gameplay. One thing I did not like about this was the sudden change of the gun system. In Fall of Man and Resistance Retribution (PSP), once you pick up a gun, it's yours to keep forever. Here, they removed that and made it more like Call of Duty. You can now sprint (something you couldn't do in FoM and Retribution) and you can only carry two guns at a time.I guess that's not a bad thing, but I played this game the second after I completed the first, and the wacky controls surprised me.

    Storywise, the Chimera have gotten stronger, and now have giant airships capable of leveling cities. How Hale escaped London alive is a mystery (but it probably can be answered via ingame intel and the wiki).
    In my opinion, the Chimera have become almost godlike. Fall of Man showed that their survival depended on humans, or they would not be able to produce any more soldiers, but in Resistance 2, they seem to have gotten past the Conversion problem. There are also a hell of a lot more non-humanoid creatures. The damn spinners, chameleons, krakens and more. I also don't like how they removed the cutscenes which explains what is happening (and narrated by a soothing british accent). Resistance 2 and Retribution came out at almost the same time (hooking your PSP up to the PS3 with R2 gives your PSP game extra stuff), yet they are completely different.

    Regarding weapons, the Auger is far more powerful than it was before. You can see your enemies from behind walls, the bullets are much faster and deal far more damage. There are also new guns that really should have been in Retribution, but were left out.

    Regardless, a fantastic sequel!
    Expand
  83. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    I loved resistance 1 and still think it is one of the top games on the ps3. This however feels totally backwards in game play and design. I liked having a variety of weapons, and I agree that 8 seemed a bit too much, but having only 2 weapons while in combat feels very lacking at times especially when ammo is at a premium. The AI is atrocious, companions are absolutely useless, since theyI loved resistance 1 and still think it is one of the top games on the ps3. This however feels totally backwards in game play and design. I liked having a variety of weapons, and I agree that 8 seemed a bit too much, but having only 2 weapons while in combat feels very lacking at times especially when ammo is at a premium. The AI is atrocious, companions are absolutely useless, since they cannot kill an enemy without assistance. The enemies directly go to you, passing through them (I mean this quite literally). Some mechanics were horrible, for example; getting stuck in odd places, falling though small holes, and having to do too much at the same time. Overall I felt like this could have been a much better game had developers not wanted to compete with Craptivision and the Call of Duty franchise. The story is much shorter than its predecessor and feels quite lacking at times. As much as it pains me to say this, it feels like Call of Duty sometimes. Online was better but I mainly bought it for the campaign mode. I recommend renting or borrowing only Expand
  84. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    Worth playing for the cooperative multiplayer, but that's all.

    The campaign is a large disappointment from Resistance: Fall of Man. As you probably already know, the weapon wheel and cooperative campaign have both been removed. These were defining features of the original, and a couple of its largest attractions. The style has degraded from Resistance 1. The sepia look has been
    Worth playing for the cooperative multiplayer, but that's all.

    The campaign is a large disappointment from Resistance: Fall of Man. As you probably already know, the weapon wheel and cooperative campaign have both been removed. These were defining features of the original, and a couple of its largest attractions.

    The style has degraded from Resistance 1. The sepia look has been abandoned in favor of neon grass and oversaturated colors. I understand that people are trying to move away from dull gray shooters. I understand that, I really do. But if there was one series in the world that should keep a dull color palette, it should have been Resistance. Furthermore, the colors in Resistance 2 are not balanced or realistic at all. The flora practically glows it's such a bright shade of neon green.

    The campaign has become worse as well. There's no longer any mystique to the chimera. They're aliens, that's all. Just aliens. As if we need another generic shooter with invading aliens. The chimera are no longer an aggressive hive mind ruled by the Angels. Instead, they now have military ranks like humans, and the Angels have been replaced by a partially human mutation named Daedalus. The chimera have lost their ferocity. In Resistance 1, it was common to see chimera biting and ripping at human soldiers. It was clear they were enraged and bestial, and the style worked perfectly to reinvigorate the stagnant shooter market. In Resistance 2, the chimera act so human they even listen to orders from overseers. It's simply a terrible way to portray the chimera.

    Graphics have only arguably improved from Resistance 1. Water is now dynamic, and that's the best thing I have to say about it. It resembles blue jello at this point, and while it's amusing to watch, it can't be taken seriously. The rest of the graphics have seemingly just been painted in brighter colors.

    There's less of a selection of guns in Resistance 2, and there are fewer enemy types.

    In general, the single player is just bad.
    Multiplayer, however is much better. The 8 player cooperative multiplayer is immeasurably fun to play. Each of the 3 classes supports the others, and it creates a real sense of companionship with your team. In a good team, it's possible to overwhelm even full battalions of chimera (of which there are several dozen on screen at once). Ravagers and the hybrids that follow them add back much of the sense of ferocity that the chimera lost in the single player, and the 60 player competitive matches are chaotic and fun. The traditionally insane weapons of Resistance are fully featured in both competitive and cooperative multiplayer, and they create dynamic gameplay you just don't see in other shooters.

    I paid $60 for Resistance 2, and I've never regretted it simply because the multiplayer is so fully developed and so much fun. If you want to focus on the single player campaign, prepare to be disappointed.
    Expand
  85. Dec 27, 2011
    8
    I don't know what all the complaining is about with this game. I guess people were just a little spoilt with the first one. Let me just comment on each of the complaints:

    (1) "The AI is weak". Well to be honest I have not found a shooter yet with particularly strong AI - HALO 1-3 included (shock horror) (2) "It looks poor and jerky". What on EARTH are you lot on about?? It looks
    I don't know what all the complaining is about with this game. I guess people were just a little spoilt with the first one. Let me just comment on each of the complaints:

    (1) "The AI is weak". Well to be honest I have not found a shooter yet with particularly strong AI - HALO 1-3 included (shock horror)

    (2) "It looks poor and jerky". What on EARTH are you lot on about?? It looks impressive to me, and I see no slow down even in massive battles - just like the first.

    (3) "The story is weak". Well I am sorry to say that 95% of the games I have played the story is a bit weak. In fact most FPS games the story is week, and is just a mechanism to introduce action set peices. Sorry but it's true.

    (4) "Can only carry 2 weapons". GOOD I say. There was too much choice in the first one. Makes the whole thing tighter and feels better for it. Lets face it you generally have two favoured guns you always use in just about every shooter.

    So after all that, I think it is a good solid FPS game. Pinches bits from other games and films, but then show my a game that doesn't. It can feel a bit run of the mill at times, but come on!! At least ten hours of gameplay and you want show stopper every minute - get real. There are plenty of scenes where you just have to stop and marvel as the scale and artwork are quite breathtaking. A great game to while away a dark night, with a few shocks and "WOW" moments on the way. Deffinately worth a go, and a must if you have played the first and inted to play the third!!
    Expand
  86. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    This game is much better then the second one. I disagree with all the negative reviews here. Gears of war is too stupid for me to get into. This however is much better.
  87. Feb 16, 2012
    7
    This game is fun it has awesome online multiplayer with a bunch of different game modes that are actually fun to play the control set up is alittle weird but once you get the hang of it its really fun where this game fails is its story the story is decent at first horribly boring in the middle and very good at the end the levels are so long its rediculious its one of those games where youThis game is fun it has awesome online multiplayer with a bunch of different game modes that are actually fun to play the control set up is alittle weird but once you get the hang of it its really fun where this game fails is its story the story is decent at first horribly boring in the middle and very good at the end the levels are so long its rediculious its one of those games where you are like "omg how many more levels do i have to beat to get done with this game ugh" the story gets very tedious after awhile but the ending is good ill give it that all in all this game is a pretty decent shooter Expand
  88. Jun 30, 2014
    6
    The game it's ok, but it doesn't have the same force to attract the typical FPS players, i tried with the first levels and it's doesn't catch my attention, the history in this moment is not attractive, i feel that the options to play (weapons, etc) are too basic, but the scenes and the places are very good worked.
  89. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    A pretty good single player game which i play little by little whenever im bored .The multiplayer is much better than the campaign with so many modes .Overall an good game
  90. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    i discovered resistance 3 by accident, so i decided to play resistance 1 and resistance 2 as well. there is no way this game sucks. it was more fun than the other 2, and i liked them as well. but this game had so much fun stuff in it with the monsters and the vehicles. maybe i am naive, but i definitely see some haters and trolls knocking this game beyond a reasonable complaint. ifi discovered resistance 3 by accident, so i decided to play resistance 1 and resistance 2 as well. there is no way this game sucks. it was more fun than the other 2, and i liked them as well. but this game had so much fun stuff in it with the monsters and the vehicles. maybe i am naive, but i definitely see some haters and trolls knocking this game beyond a reasonable complaint. if you are like me and are searching for a new game that you haven't played that doesn't suck, this is one fun game. Expand
  91. Mar 25, 2013
    9
    8-Presentation; The story is not as good as the first game, but the menu's are well laid out and easy to navigate.
    9.5-Graphics; Beautiful art style, amazing models and textures, and amazing scope.
    10-Sound; The music, sfx, and voice acting is excellent. 9-Game play; The AI is much better this time around, but no vehicle segments sadly. However, the mechanics are so well done.
    8-Presentation; The story is not as good as the first game, but the menu's are well laid out and easy to navigate.
    9.5-Graphics; Beautiful art style, amazing models and textures, and amazing scope.
    10-Sound; The music, sfx, and voice acting is excellent.
    9-Game play; The AI is much better this time around, but no vehicle segments sadly. However, the mechanics are so well done.
    9-Lasting appeal; Single player, co-op, and multiplayer will take forever to unlock everything you can.
    Overall-9/10
    Expand
  92. Feb 13, 2013
    6
    Resistance 2 is a good game with solid gameplay but with a forgetable story. Not that different from the average shooter. Fun while playing but easily forgeted as you end it.
  93. Apr 12, 2013
    9
    Dont be fooled by the poor user rating this game is a solid 8.5 to 9.0. Great frame rate, very nice graphics and good control. I was pleasantly supprised by this game. I would have rated in higher with maybe more weapon upgrades. More open level design, this is a very linear game it's main downfall in my opinion. I will say the single play is a lot of fun, you will most likely want toDont be fooled by the poor user rating this game is a solid 8.5 to 9.0. Great frame rate, very nice graphics and good control. I was pleasantly supprised by this game. I would have rated in higher with maybe more weapon upgrades. More open level design, this is a very linear game it's main downfall in my opinion. I will say the single play is a lot of fun, you will most likely want to finish this game. I have spent a small amount of time on the multiplayer so far it's above average. I have not played it enough to form a solid opion. You can pick this game up cheap at gamestop used well worth it. Expand
  94. Nov 19, 2012
    5
    I bought this videogame for 22
  95. Nov 13, 2012
    1
    This game is utter trash and incredibly overrated. It took queues from the COD franchise but executed them in an extremely awkward manner, resulting in a overall awkward and unpleasant experience. You move extremely slow, as if your ability to run present in the first game, somehow vanished, and got instead replaced by an annoying sprint option. Hale also lost his ability to aim alsoThis game is utter trash and incredibly overrated. It took queues from the COD franchise but executed them in an extremely awkward manner, resulting in a overall awkward and unpleasant experience. You move extremely slow, as if your ability to run present in the first game, somehow vanished, and got instead replaced by an annoying sprint option. Hale also lost his ability to aim also present in the first game, now if you want to kill any enemy, you will have to press the aim button, because that would be more fun they thought? The graphics are also a complete mess, one minute you're looking at decent looking and interesting environments, the next, you're looking at low res textures and ugly characters.
    Extremely disappointed in this considering Resistance 1 wasn't the best FPS ever but it was at least enjoyable, this is utter trash.
    Expand
  96. May 21, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The single player is epic in scope and in story, which is practically worth the price of admission by itself. Then you throw in the extremely engaging co-op and competitive play, which expands on replayability in just about every way possible. Toss in a generous number of unlockables, trophies and community support, and you've got a phenomenal experience. Expand
  97. Apr 6, 2014
    9
    The best console shooter i've played. Neat setting, cool guns, nice story, giant bosses. Enjoying multiplayer (too bad it's pulled off on 8th of april, but you can sstil try to play splitscreen co-op).

    It has some strange nods to CoD with 2 weapon slots, but there are always few guns lying under your feet. And health regen, well, no big deal. If you haven't played Resistance games,
    The best console shooter i've played. Neat setting, cool guns, nice story, giant bosses. Enjoying multiplayer (too bad it's pulled off on 8th of april, but you can sstil try to play splitscreen co-op).

    It has some strange nods to CoD with 2 weapon slots, but there are always few guns lying under your feet. And health regen, well, no big deal.

    If you haven't played Resistance games, it's probably best to start with the 1st to keep up with the story.
    Expand
  98. May 15, 2013
    8
    This game is an improvement on the first one. Its more epic with some new Chimera enemy types that are awesome. The story is more interesting as well adding a few new plot twists to the original first game that are pretty interesting. The gameplay is good to and the great weapon design is back with a new and improved Auger, possibly one of my favourite guns in gaming. There is somethingThis game is an improvement on the first one. Its more epic with some new Chimera enemy types that are awesome. The story is more interesting as well adding a few new plot twists to the original first game that are pretty interesting. The gameplay is good to and the great weapon design is back with a new and improved Auger, possibly one of my favourite guns in gaming. There is something wrong though, where the original seperated itself more from the norm this feels more generic. You can now only carry two guns at a time and your health regenerates more like a conventional FPS. Also to enjoy this you have to be patient, even on the normal setting this game can be difficult in places, especially the last level. Overall than a great game that is a bit better than the first Expand
  99. May 28, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Resistance 2 is a good sequel and are seriously underrated. Yes they made some mistakes like taking away coop. But they still made a lot of things right. They now putted some boss fights in the game and they are awesome and extremely fun. They removed some of the enemies but they also putted even more new good ones in. They have now removed the old multiplayer mode and made a new one (you can play split screen in the multiplayer mode) where you and your alliaces have to fight your way through aliens and complete the missions. There is 3 different classes that you can choose between. It is really cool. But i didn't like that there is even less scary moments in this one then the first one. Of course there where a bit of them but not enough. The first one didn't have that much of scary moments neither. But it at least kept the creepy atmosphere (which was amazing). They made this one more of an action shooter. But i can't complain to much because they did the action part pretty well. And it does fit the game. Expand
  100. Feb 25, 2015
    7
    The game was fun to play, with cool enemies to fight, and many guns to experiment with. The graphics were quite good, with sometimes the framerate taking huge hits when many things are happening on the screen at once. The sound was good at most parts, but overall it was forgettable. Overall the single player experience was enjoyable.

    I did run into several glitches and bugs, and also
    The game was fun to play, with cool enemies to fight, and many guns to experiment with. The graphics were quite good, with sometimes the framerate taking huge hits when many things are happening on the screen at once. The sound was good at most parts, but overall it was forgettable. Overall the single player experience was enjoyable.

    I did run into several glitches and bugs, and also the character and screen would lock up during key important battles.

    Now I never had a chance to play multiplayer or coop, as the online community was pretty dead when I got the game several months after release. So my experience with multiplayer was not pleasant.

    Overall it’s a fun game to play, with challenging bits when played on the highest difficulty setting.

    I give it a 7.25/10
    Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. 95
    The single player is epic in scope and in story, which is practically worth the price of admission by itself. Then you throw in the extremely engaging co-op and competitive play, which expands on replayability in just about every way possible. Toss in a generous number of unlockables, trophies and community support, and you've got a phenomenal experience.
  2. It succeeds because it doesn’t just try to throw more humans into the same old environments and gameplay. It offers a smart three class system that encourages savvy team-work, an experience meter that builds to enable special attacks and uses levels designed specifically for the mode to maximise the resulting gameplay. It also dynamically shifts the action to take into account the number and skill of players in each game, making for near endless replayability. It’s a hit, pure and simple.
  3. 92
    Resistance 2 is gutsier, it’s gorier, and it’s much, much bigger.