• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 14, 2006
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. 100
    Harking back to my all-time favorite FPS, "Goldeneye," the deep, solid gameplay mixed with ambience and killer multiplayer makes for a pretty great game.
  2. 100
    An exceptional example of what makes good games good, the synthesis of several well developed elements into one seamless whole that never distracts you from the action and excitement and doesn’t use up it’s bag of tricks early to just stick you with slight alteration for the remainder of playing.
  3. 100
    From graphics and sound to story and gameplay, Resistance scores on all fronts and gives the PS3 its first killer app. Can it do for the console what Halo did for the Xbox? Only time will tell.
  4. Probably the finest first-person shooter to ever grace a console, Resistance: Fall of Man is easily worth your $50, and may be considered by some to even be enough to justify the $650 investment alone.
  5. It would have been a remarkable title a year into the life of the PS3, but as it is a launch title, it is even more remarkable. With incredible graphics, an evolving story, great action and weapons, Insomniac and Sony have nailed the launch of the game and system seamlessly.
  6. The surperbly implemented online tracking and ranking services, plus the rich and varied content, makes Resistance's multiplayer one of the game’s strongest features. Graphically, the game is simply stunning, and when you tie in all the single player and mutliplayer components it is easily the PlayStation 3's premiere, must-have title.
  7. Insomniac nailed the sense of scale, and delights in alternately throwing plot twists and growing and shrinking level designs to keep things interesting throughout the experience.
  8. This is one of the better single player experiences in 2006 and the multiplayer only helps add to the replayablilty.
  9. The sound effects are great with superb weapon and vehicle effects.
  10. 95
    Resistance also is amongst the best storytelling this genre has probably ever seen. It's all told through documentary-style narration that takes itself very seriously.
  11. With the framerate locked at 30fps the chance of seeing any slowdown is almost zero. [Mar 2007, p.48]
  12. The complete package is supremely well done; the immersive atmosphere is second-to-none, the action is always either tense and intimidating or all-out madness, the diversity of the levels is a joy to experience, and the story ain’t half bad.
  13. 91
    From start to finish, Fall of Man is one hell of an outstanding roller coaster ride that every last PS3 owner needs for day one...Above all else, it's the multiplayer elements that truly ascend this one to the next level. It's a must have for sure.
  14. Between the memorable single-player mode and the silky-smooth online play, Resistance provides an experience that, while occasionally familiar, is always worthwhile.
  15. When you kill an enemy it doesn't disappear and when you blow up part of the near fully destructible environments the pieces don't go away either. The obvious power of the PS3 and the masterful coding work of the developers let everything stay on screen all the time while never taking a frame hit. This is an incredible accomplishment for a launch game on any system. [JPN Import]
  16. Frame rate is rock solid with lots of enemies and effects on screen. Vehicle based levels feel like more of an afterthought, but they fit the story perfectly. The weapons selection and abilities are one of the best in any FPS.
  17. Insomniac certainly knows how to deliver a release that caters for all players of differing abilities.
  18. Developers Insomniac takes some lessons from their blockbuster platformers, and weaves their magic into this extremely fun and visually stunning shooter.
  19. FoM ticks every FPS box and adds some panache with the story and cut-scenes. It’s a stunning start to PS3 development for Insomniac and is an essential purchase.
  20. When it comes down to it, this game is about playing against real people, online or off, and in that regard, there's little out there that's as gratifying--or impressive. [Jan. 2007, p.74]
  21. The bottom line is that Resistance is a truly excellent FPS, rich in variety, atmosphere, and sheer entertainment. [Dec. 2006, p.111]
  22. Resistance: Fall of Man possesses a quality very few games I’ve played this year do: that driving factor to play to the end, without breaks, without needing to walk away from that unsettling sense of monotony to reinvigorate the desire to jump back in for the next session.
  23. The sci-fi inspired storyline will keep players interested until the very end, the enemies you fight against are numerous and deadly, the battles are grand and will challenge you even on the default settings, and the weaponry available is friggin’ sweet. Online support for 40 players and Co-op mode are icing on the proverbial cake.
  24. 90
    While its gameplay is not incredibly groundbreaking, or its story spellbinding, it does add new and fun elements to this genre. Nice boss battles, lots of different weapons, and lots of players online will keep you busy for quite awhile. It's a complete, solid package that anyone purchasing a PS3 should pick up with the system.
  25. A fantastic game with rock solid single and multiplayer action and some of the most innovative weapons ever put into a game. It's just a shame that you need a PS3 to play it.
  26. The only real fault with Resistance is that its inspirations are sometimes too obvious. It’s a little too much like Call Of Duty here or Half-Life there, and one of the later tank-driving segments feels like it was lifted straight out of the original Halo.
  27. The multiplayer mode can handle up to four players offline via split screen and a whopping forty players online via the new PlayStation Network.
  28. 90
    The game will keep you playing for months to come with its massive online component and solid single-player experience.
  29. The game brings together a lot of elements from some of the best FPS games out there but still manages to keep an original experience with plenty of fun weapons.
  30. Too hard at times, but this beautiful vision of an alien-infested Britain makes for a great shooter. [Jan 2007, p.52]
  31. The multiplayer is the real deal, and is destined to sit on the throne of data packets for the PS3 for the foreseeable future.
  32. Even if you don't take into account the incredible multiplayer which allows for up to 40 players per match, and includes a co-op mode almost as fun as the one in Gears, Resistance is a very fun game to play.
  33. We're disappointed that Resistance isn't a 1080p wonder. But it's a wonder for totally different reasons -- how many launch games exist that are worth playing six months down the road? Resistance is definitely in that elite camp, and with the strong multiplayer element, we're betting that it will maintain a presence for a lot longer than that.
  34. 90
    This title feels like well-executed design by committee. It's got visuals that scream next-gen, and some cool weapons, but the overall lack of extensive environmental interactivity makes the title feel a bit like a "PS2.5" game more than a PS3 game.
  35. Full of creative weapons, the uneasy chaos of battle and some scary moments, this part-military, part-sci-fi shooter's single player campaign will keep discerning gamers busy with multiple difficulty levels and unlockable weaponry.
  36. 90
    It's easily the best PS3 game available on launch day, and a highly playable action game that will satisfy even the most demanding FPS junkies.
  37. The single player is robust and action packed, while the multiplayer tends to be a bit more tactical.
  38. The single player campaign along with the insane online multiplayer modes provides a rollercoaster ride you won’t soon forget.
  39. The split in styles between single and online play takes advantage of the strengths and necessities in each, and really pulls the game together.
  40. As far as console launch games go, I've seen better (Soul Calibur, Lumines, Halo, and a few Mario titles come to mind), but Resistance: Fall of Man is certainly up there with some of the best.
  41. Not only does the campaign mode offer a solid 14 hours of gameplay, there’s a reward system that will ensure replay. And let's not forget about the unlimited replayability of two-player co-op and the various multi-player modes.
  42. Resistance doesn't attempt anything wildly different than other first-person shooters out there, but by offering a strong selection of interesting weapons, plenty of ruthless foes to shoot them at, good level design, and an excellent presentation, it accomplishes what most such games fail to do. A fully featured multiplayer mode for up to 40 players rounds out an exciting campaign.
  43. The single-player is great and the multi-player is even better.
  44. For now, Resistance delivers a launch classic, but not quite the hoped-for "Halo" killer. [Jan. 2007, p.74]
  45. 85
    Resistance falls a little short of being the hoped-for "Halo-killer," but with a package that would be considered complete by any standards, it delivers a launch classic, and it lives up to its billing as the PS3's killer app.
  46. 85
    Resistance: Fall of Man impresses in practically every area. For what it lacks in originality it makes up in quality.
  47. Clever, well-designed and constantly interesting, this is verging on the great. [Apr 2007, p.56]
  48. A nice offering. As a first person shooter it come up a little short. It is, however, the best original PlayStation 3 game of the launch line-up.
  49. Sure, it is not one of the most original, nor the best looking FPS to hit the market, but it is a great looking launch title for the PS3.
  50. A great launch game for PS3, but it could have been even better with precise aiming controls and more open battlefields. [Feb 2007]
  51. 83
    A quality title that gets better the deeper you get into it. Were it not for Insomniac's reliance on the weapon load-out, thte game may have benefitted from some real innovation. [Issue 148, p.58]
  52. A solid game with great multiplayer, but nothing wholly unique in and of itself.
  53. I still hate the illogical checkpoint system that turned a 15hr game into a 22hr game, and the fact that the game can be won by running and gunning more easily than tactical gameplay.
  54. While the game really does not do a whole lot to innovate, it is a very solid FPS with an interesting story and an immense online aspect.
  55. 81
    It's a solid shooter that ticks all the right boxes and is a blast to play in places. Just don't expect it to blow you away or give you a good idea about what the PS3 can do, because it only scratches the surface.
  56. 80
    A solid FPS, elevated above the mundane by its sublime weapon set and some excellent enviroments. Whether it convinces the masses who might pick it up at UK launch is another matter entirely.
  57. It is a great game, and I am inches away from giving it a higher score than I am doing, but with the potential the Playstation 3 has, I don’t think we should set the bar too high too fast, despite my full recommendation of the game.
  58. It's got looks, it's got brains, it's got a lot of stuff to shoot. It doesn't revolutionize the genre or even introduce much new, but Resistance remains an utterly solid shooter that should keep you entertained for quite a while.
  59. It looks great, features an action packed campaign, includes some splendid online support and generally points towards a great future for action games on the system.
  60. It's a solid shooter that ticks all the boxes and is fun to play. Just don't expect it to blow you away or give you a good idea about what PS3 can do.
  61. An accomplished shooter providing many fun online modes, engaging solo missions and superb weapons.
  62. If there's one core flaw to Resistance, it's that it just doesn't look like a PlayStation 3 game. Sure, the levels are massive and sprawling, and the architecture boasts some admirable detail from a distance, it really is what we were seeing on Call of Duty 2.
  63. Resistance is very much like the PS2’s Killzone: overtly grey, rather good fun and nothing groundbreaking.
  64. The unfortunate truth about Resistance: Fall of Man is that it’s just not all it should have been. It’s probably one of the best launch titles from any console ever, but with the extra time they had before release it should feel like a solid year-one title. It doesn’t.
  65. As a launch title, Resistance proves itself to be a crisp and powerful piece of software, but not quite as robust a videogame. [Jan 2007, p.68]
  66. While the campaign is nothing to keep you entertained after a couple of play-throughs the well put together online mode will have you playing for much longer. Resistance will fit snugly in any PS3 owner’s collection.
  67. Resistance is a fine game, and easily capable of standing up to the scrutiny a big launch title attracts. But it doesn't quite do enough to make us add 'the Chimera, on Tower Bridge, with the Bullseye' to our list of classic shooter moments. [Apr 2007, p.104]
  68. In spite of rave reviews it’s a fairly pedestrian humans-versus-aliens first-person shooter that brings nothing new to the genre. The artificial intelligence of combatants is lackluster, and the semi-sepia-toned graphics are surprisingly unimpressive, no better than what you would see on the five-year-old Xbox.
  69. Put bluntly, the combat and AI is merely average, the visuals don't really wow, and the much-vaunted weaponry makes little difference to how it plays. To say we're underwhelmed is the understatement of the year.
  70. The frantic and smooth combat translates to multiplayer far better than the plodding solo campaign, and ultimately save Insomniac’s effort from irrelevance. [Jan 2007, p.96]
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 644 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 164
  1. LuizO.
    Jun 2, 2008
    8
    The game is one of the best FPS games I've played (not many as I'm not a super fan of the genre), with an engaging story telling, The game is one of the best FPS games I've played (not many as I'm not a super fan of the genre), with an engaging story telling, mixing animation and great artwork. Voice acting is also great, specially Rachel Parker, a Captain he helps rescuing from the Chimera. Rachel follows Nathan over the radio during the hole game, giving him directions and tips of what to do. Here are my scores: Graphics:8.0 The game looks gorgeous, I'd say it really shows the PS2 and the XBox are in an old generation of consoles, but it turns out that it is also far from using the full power of the PS3. The expressions on Nathan Hale's face are not really involving, for a guy who is going through some really had times, he lacks some personality in his expressions. The colors in the game are pale, giving it a gloomy feel that you would expect in a game picturing a war in England during the 50's, it really makes you feel like you are in seeing images from the past, just brilliant. The models for the weapons, the chimera, the vehicles, the buildings and the other environmental stuff are very well rendered and detailed, there is a part of the game where it is snowing, if you spin around, you will really get a very nice sense of relative movement. One thing that was really bad is that while playing, your character is not a fully rendered body, but just a gun and and a hand, you might be asking, how did I noticed that if the game is in first person, well try to find a corner than look all the way down, you will understand. Story: 9.0 This is the best part, because during the entire game they keep showing you bits and peaces of a whole, that you will still be unaware in the end of the game. This gives them a lot of ground to work on more titles that unfold the real background behind the chimera. Even though the animations of Hale look too plain and without feeling, it's Rachel who tells the story, with her very truthful British accent and emotion enough for you to forget about the rest. The story makes you want go through the game just to see how it will turn out and leaves you wanting to know the answers to a lot of questions. As this is a franchise, this is actually a good thing. Sound: 7.5 The battle field does sound like it should and the quiet areas to, what it does bad is that if you step slowly on a surface it will make the same noise as if you were jumping. While this is great to give you the scares if you are trying sneak in quiet scenarios, it detracts a lot from the realism you expect in the sound of today games. The surround sound works well, but it's just a good sounding game, not great, not superb, not perfect. Gameplay: 8.5 Fun, rewarding and fast paced. I am not super into FPS games, I'm more of a sneaking kind of guy, but in Resistance, I have to admit that I really enjoyed going berserk at the times the game forced me to. If you, on the other hand, love to go crazy shooting all that moves, you will love this game, specially because friendly fire is ON. The AI is great at times, the enemies will take cover when under fire and will attack you with grenades while you are under cover, but there are many times when you are able to shoot a chimera slowly to death without seeing any sort of reaction. Some chimera have different behavior, being more aggressive and visceral, trying to attack you no matter what, these are the best times to use your good and old shotgun. When playing coop, the game does some funny (weird) stuff, as it is check point triggered, when you hit a check point area, the game will force your buddy there by teleporting him there and as the campaign is the same as the single player, only in vertical split screen mode, the game totally ignores the other character, story wise, as if he never existed. Generally, if you are covered, you don't have to worry about enemies shooting at you, unless they guys are shooting with a weapon called Auger, which can go through anything. This really adds to the game play, forcing you take action instead of hiding when you have these kinds of enemies around. Sniping is just great, with special headshot animations and a special effect that I will not spoil here. There is also different animations when you kill them by shooting their legs, the effect is really good. One other problem I noticed, is that you cannot hold the grenade for a while to maximize the damage, but at the same time it was cool to see chimeras jumping away in order to scape my grenades. I wish Hale could do that too. There are lots of unlockables in the game which became available (you get a message on scree) when you accomplish certain things, too bad trophies are yet to come. Interactivity: 7.0 Yeah, I can play PS2 games where I go through vegetation or other things without it moving, but on the PS3... sorry guys, I want you to animate the environment, it could be a simple animation like the ones we had in Metal Gear Solid 3, but yes, I want the environment to interact with me, when I throw an RPG in a wall, it is ok with me if it doesn't collapse, but I need it to show some damage. I really hope to see a game where you can shoot a tree to make it fall over a house giving you an alternative way to access another area of the map without making the game a sandbox. Multiplayer: 7.5 The offline campaign is super fun to play with a friend, even though, as I already said, the game pretends Nathan's friend is not there, but the choice of making it Vertical splitscreen wasn't really for my taste, I know this is a compromise, either horizontal or vertical, you will end up loosing area, but I personally rather see my enemies than a little bit more of the sky. On the online part, it is a lot like Quake, you got a good variety of weapons, energy packs, ammo... and many guys to shoot but I have to tell you, I was destroyed in the matches I've participated, so it wasn't really fun for me. Full Review »
  2. JoeT.
    Mar 8, 2009
    10
    This game is perfect. A little humor, a few explosions. I can only think of one other thing it could use but thats not appropriate for all This game is perfect. A little humor, a few explosions. I can only think of one other thing it could use but thats not appropriate for all ages. Addictive would be an understatement. Full Review »
  3. Feb 26, 2012
    6
    This game was decent. Fun, but not very appealing. When it first came out it seemed pretty cool, then slowly grew boring and dull. Story justThis game was decent. Fun, but not very appealing. When it first came out it seemed pretty cool, then slowly grew boring and dull. Story just seemed disappointing. Wouldn't recommend it. Full Review »