Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Oct 8, 2012
    70
    A briefly mesmerizing trip backwards through sonic space that never quite coalesces into an essential purchase. [Nov 2012, p.64]
  2. Sep 10, 2012
    65
    Only problem is that novelty doesn't make the game concept really workable, and thus you get a jumble of mechanics that partially invalidate themselves.
  3. Sep 10, 2012
    60
    Lovingly assembled and enjoyable while it lasts, Retro/Grade is ultimately too meagre a package to be fully recommended. Rhythm game fans will get some mileage out of its solid gameplay and its unique wrapper helps the basic rhythm gameplay feel new, but unless you really fall in love with the presentation, it's tough to see anyone playing it more than a couple hours and essentially playing (and hearing) everything it truly has to offer long before the challenges end.
  4. Aug 22, 2012
    70
    If you're sick of the same old formulas and you're open to some indie eccentricity, Retro/Grade is just the trippy time-sink you've been looking for – and it'll finally give your dusty plastic guitars a use past Rock Band and Guitar Hero.
  5. Aug 21, 2012
    74
    The problem is that I didn't play it for that long. Ten tracks just isn't enough to carry a rhythm game, even an eight-dollar one. The replay value is just so depressingly low.
  6. Aug 21, 2012
    60
    Retro/Grade is built on a unique idea that simply isn't explored in an exciting enough way or to a sufficient depth to keep you interested for long.
  7. Aug 20, 2012
    70
    Retro/Grade succeeds at bringing a fresh take to the rhythm genre and filling it with sensory pleasures, but a lack of music means it outstays its welcome sooner rather than later.
  8. Aug 16, 2012
    70
    The core gameplay is smart and the music is catchy, but Retro/Grade feels spread thin everywhere else.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Retro Grade’s unique take on the Ryhtm game genre will leave you suprised and satisfied. On a higher difficulty it can be quite challengingRetro Grade’s unique take on the Ryhtm game genre will leave you suprised and satisfied. On a higher difficulty it can be quite challenging and though trophy hunters will be dissapointed with the lack of Platinum and extreme difficulty of attaining all the bronzes, the sheer addictiveness will have most players looking to unlock 100% of this games content. Quirky, addictive, fun and unique it’s everything an indie game should be.
    Trophy Difficulty Very Hard

    Story 7/10
    Gameplay 9/10
    Graphics 9.5/10
    Sound 8/10
    Lasting Appeal 9/10

    Read my full review here: http://playstationgamereview.wordpress.com/2012/10/07/retrograde-review/
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    I didn't know what to expect from this game. I haven't played a good shmup (shoot 'em up) in awhile, so I was hoping this would scratch theI didn't know what to expect from this game. I haven't played a good shmup (shoot 'em up) in awhile, so I was hoping this would scratch the itch. I knew going in that it was rythm-based, but I thought maybe there would some shooter action. I was wrong in thinking this, but very pleasantly surprised by this unique take on the rythm-music genre. An excellent soundtrack filled with a variety of electronica, several difficulties that cater to all skillsets, a high level of replayability (despite its' initially disappointing length), great sense of self-aware and irreverent humor, the ability to use your dust-gathering guitar periphreals, and, most importantly, fast, fun and rewarding gameplay. The graphics and models (with the exception of the stellar background detail) are forgettable and disappointing, and the lack of co-operative play is a letdown; but, the game shines in every other category. Oh, and stay for the credits. Full Review »
  3. Aug 23, 2012
    7
    You have to be careful with this game. Find and download the demo first on the PSN or watch videos of gameplay with the sound on. You mayYou have to be careful with this game. Find and download the demo first on the PSN or watch videos of gameplay with the sound on. You may actually hate the music. I do not think it is for everyone.

    Retro/Grade is pure eye candy if you like colorful things flying in space with lots of special effects exploding and doing crazy particle stuff. So in the visual department the game is excellent and should probably get an 8 or 9. Not 10 because you do not get many options to edit the visuals like in other games. Another thing that the game does well is providing fun rhythm based gameplay. The lights keep coming from both sides. you catch some and avoid the others. Very unique.

    The problem is the soundtrack, which is the main basis of Retro/Grade, is not perfect. By "not perfect" I mean in a a reflex based game with space theme I'd expect something with faster beats, more panic sounding, It does not have to be a masterpiece. But here many of the tracks sounds slow. Not sure how to describe this in layman terms, but it may sound like a tree sloth trying to run and being slow, a turtle slowly moving each of its legs to get to the finish line, maybe a funeral march. They have loud beats but as slow as some European waltz. In guitar hero or rock band games when a level needed to be easier you did not have to pick a slow song, you just got fewer notes. Thankfully you can try this in the demo. You may just like this kind of stuff.
    Full Review »