User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 105
  2. Negative: 11 out of 105
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnonymousMC
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    Excellent game, love the fact you can play any of the 4 instruments and you aren't stuck with a single instrument. The execution is almost flawless, I feel as if I'm really playing the song where as in GH I was just klunking on the strum button.

    Anonymous (0): Read the game box. It states very clearly that a microphone, guitar, or drum set is necessary to play the game.
    Excellent game, love the fact you can play any of the 4 instruments and you aren't stuck with a single instrument. The execution is almost flawless, I feel as if I'm really playing the song where as in GH I was just klunking on the strum button.

    Anonymous (0): Read the game box. It states very clearly that a microphone, guitar, or drum set is necessary to play the game. Any USB mic will work most likely on the PS3. The one bundled with the game is made my Logitech so it isn't anything "special".
    Expand
  2. Rokrr
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Exhilarating! Even the wife loves it, and she's no gamer. Would've given it a 9.5 because of lag issues with the mic and drum solos, but it's just too good to round down to 9. Best $170 I've ever spent. When the console's powered off, you know it's just a game. But when you power it up, it you are on stage with your closest friends! Watch moms who don't Exhilarating! Even the wife loves it, and she's no gamer. Would've given it a 9.5 because of lag issues with the mic and drum solos, but it's just too good to round down to 9. Best $170 I've ever spent. When the console's powered off, you know it's just a game. But when you power it up, it you are on stage with your closest friends! Watch moms who don't even like hard rock start getting into the groove and strutting like a rock star. Online is as seamless as it gets-- and XMB is accessible from in the game. They really got it right. Expand
  3. MorganM.
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    This game is incredible...I can play it by myself for hours and when friends come over we just have a blast. It's my first experience with any of the Guitar Hero genre and has opened my eyes to a whole new kind of gaming.
  4. StevenC.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    Fantastic for all ages! The whole family loves this game. I only wish I had one more guitar for the bass. Otherwise it's the most fun I've had on the PS3 yet.
  5. BryanS
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    It takes the fun of Guitar Hero and raises it exponentially. Not only does it offer awesome fun for your whole group (and even to an individual), but Harmonix has done a great job of making sure new, RELEVANT songs are released every week that keep people entertained!
  6. MikeC.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    This is the best game I've played in a long time! Have a party, invite some friends over, and get ready to rock all night long!!!
  7. BrianO.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This game is the best multi player game around. The addition of the drums and mic to a guitar hero format has added so much fun.
  8. AnonymousMC
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    The only problems with this game are that the PS3 Guitar Hero 3 controller doesn't work with this, not yet anyway, the Rock Band guitars themselves are kind of iffy, and the game is a little on the light side if you're not buying DLC. The best part is that each song has 4 ways you can play it if you're by yourself, or you can have a full band of your friends.
  9. Lucindo
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    Rockband is the best interactive music game ever. Even better than Guitar Hero. Has more songs and better instruments. Put this game on your Christmas list.
  10. ShaonW.
    Jan 27, 2008
    10
    WOW what a great game. The only negative thing about this game is that there is no bass for the system. Other than that it is great. To the reviewer that talks about not having SIXAXIS capabilities. You can play the game just only the singing parts. The rest require the additional controllers.
  11. DannA
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    Most addictive game I've ever played. It takes everything that was great about "Guitar Hero" and ups it a notch, and everything that wasn't great about "Guitar Hero" and fixes it. The downloadable content sends the replay value through the roof. After four months of owning it and the PS3, I've bought only two other games because I don't have free time for anything BUT Most addictive game I've ever played. It takes everything that was great about "Guitar Hero" and ups it a notch, and everything that wasn't great about "Guitar Hero" and fixes it. The downloadable content sends the replay value through the roof. After four months of owning it and the PS3, I've bought only two other games because I don't have free time for anything BUT "Rock Band." Expand
  12. AndrewL
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    I can't believe how well this game is updated with DLC Content, I find myself buying awesome new songs atleast once a month. While I check the store, i compare the songs available on Rock Band to those on Guitar Hero, and laugh at the no-name bands they throw out there, expecting people to buy them. Rock Band itself is great, except the last few songs feel like they are 15 minutes I can't believe how well this game is updated with DLC Content, I find myself buying awesome new songs atleast once a month. While I check the store, i compare the songs available on Rock Band to those on Guitar Hero, and laugh at the no-name bands they throw out there, expecting people to buy them. Rock Band itself is great, except the last few songs feel like they are 15 minutes long each, and the last song set of the game is a concert, consisting of maybe 7 of these songs, all of which are EXTREMELY LONG. Luckily though, Quick Play allows the game to exceed expectations and be the greatest peripheral instrument game on the market. Expand
  13. DerekR.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    Rock Band is with no doubt the best music game ever made. It's definately the most fun when you're playing together with your friends. If you can spare the money, then get this over Guitar Hero.
  14. JohnB.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    One of the most fulfilling games I've ever played. I've only owned it since yesterday and probably have a good 10 + hours of gameplay under me...and that's pretty much only on the drums! I tried out the guitar/mic just to make sure they're working, and look forward to completely playing through them as well. Well worth the money.
  15. KingJMY
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    This game CRUSHES Guitar Hero in every aspect. Though the guitar parts are easy for a guitar hero veteran, the drums and vocals can keep you challenged. For those talking about graphics, I don't think they should be a big deal in a game like this -- but that being said, the graphics are very good. If you watch closely, the drummers actually hit the right drums, the guitar players This game CRUSHES Guitar Hero in every aspect. Though the guitar parts are easy for a guitar hero veteran, the drums and vocals can keep you challenged. For those talking about graphics, I don't think they should be a big deal in a game like this -- but that being said, the graphics are very good. If you watch closely, the drummers actually hit the right drums, the guitar players play the right strings, and most amazingly of all, the singer's lips are in synch with the words. The downloadable songs are awesome, and come at a decent price tag (about $2.00 each song). Most importantly, the mutliplayer in this game is incredible. You and your friends can create a band and tour the world -- a very fun experience. My girlfriend, her brother and I played this game for two days straight and we could not get enough. Well worth the price tag. Expand
  16. TO
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played in...well 20 years. I've been gaming for 20 years now (Atari, Intellivision, Nintendo...PC) that's hard to believe. Finally, I will become a drummer a childhood dream that never came to light until now!
  17. BryanB.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Awesome game. Very fun and addictive. It's too bad the GH3 guitar can't be used with this game, but that does not affect my score.
  18. ToddPorter
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Best. Game. Ever.
  19. BenH.
    Jan 7, 2008
    9
    This is an awesome party game. There's nothing than hearing a non singer belting out one of the songs on the mic. It makes for an awesome time. Downloadable content is strong too.
  20. NatalieP
    Mar 2, 2008
    9
    This game is excellent for family and friend entertainment. I hope in the near future they add kid songs like Jonas Brothers, Hannah Montana etc. So the kids can get in on the singing as well.
  21. TomTom
    Dec 24, 2008
    9
    "Tsk, tsk. So I'm going to pay ~$170 bucks, just so that I can *pretend* to be a band, along with four other geeks? Yeah, right. That game should be called 'Geek Band', not 'Rock Band'." -- Those were pretty much my thoughts when I first heard about Rock Band, and I consequently kept far away from the geek wave that was celebrating Rock Band. In fact, I stayed "Tsk, tsk. So I'm going to pay ~$170 bucks, just so that I can *pretend* to be a band, along with four other geeks? Yeah, right. That game should be called 'Geek Band', not 'Rock Band'." -- Those were pretty much my thoughts when I first heard about Rock Band, and I consequently kept far away from the geek wave that was celebrating Rock Band. In fact, I stayed away from the game for over a year, until curiosity finally got the best of me. The result: holy crap, was I wrong!! It did not take long, and I had a few buddies who were anxiously rocking away with me. This game is a blast! My only gripe is the fact that you have to assign a leader within the band. Sometimes this can lead to confusion regarding the controller assignment, but this is minor and does not take away from the experience. Expand
  22. TedE.
    Nov 23, 2007
    9
    Absolutely a blast to play - Great in almost every respect, but missing perfection due to some minor but undeniable flaws: No voice chat, squishy strum bar, and a limited song list (by Guitar Heroes standards anyways). Downloadable content available the day after launch could have and SHOULD have been included in the game. And of course, the GH guitars for the PS3 ARE NOT COMPATIBLE with Absolutely a blast to play - Great in almost every respect, but missing perfection due to some minor but undeniable flaws: No voice chat, squishy strum bar, and a limited song list (by Guitar Heroes standards anyways). Downloadable content available the day after launch could have and SHOULD have been included in the game. And of course, the GH guitars for the PS3 ARE NOT COMPATIBLE with this PS3 game. The XB360 games and peripherals, on the other hand, are not facing this problem. Despite a myriad of inaccurate, incomplete, and conflicting information on the subject of guitar compatibility for the PS3, neither Red Octane nor Harmonix deemed it necessary to clarify this issue for the public. Both have their own motivations ($$) for forcing customers to buy separate guitars for each game... It's just too bad they decided to leave us all in the dark and point accusatory fingers at each other now that customers are beginning to realize the problem. Expand
  23. PuntorF.
    Jan 17, 2008
    9
    I got this as a birthday gift, and i have never have had experiense witha a guitar hero or anything, thought it wasnt my thing...but oh boy, let me tell you , those 170 bucks paid off...the game graphics i got to say coulda been better, but the gameplay...i normally have my sister and me and my cousin after school and we always play a song before studiyng @ tiime of writing i haven't I got this as a birthday gift, and i have never have had experiense witha a guitar hero or anything, thought it wasnt my thing...but oh boy, let me tell you , those 170 bucks paid off...the game graphics i got to say coulda been better, but the gameplay...i normally have my sister and me and my cousin after school and we always play a song before studiyng @ tiime of writing i haven't used online, i have only used solo tour solo quick and offline multiplayer w/ guitar,microphone and drums the game is FuN! Expand
  24. RobertoR
    Jun 11, 2008
    9
    Utterly engaging, great party game. Makes you want to keep getting better and better. And it was the only game that got my anti-game girlfriend playing. That says a lot.
  25. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    Graphics, sound, and polish are great. MIssion structure, controls, content, etc. are all equally good as well. If you like music games, give it a shot.
  26. Nov 6, 2014
    9
    This game is very fun to play with friends. And this game has a great setlist! I like the graphics too. This game made many good memories to me. Guitar Hero is better for more challenge, while Rock Band is better for band-playing.
  27. AnonymousMC
    Dec 19, 2007
    8
    Excellent gameplay is matched only with "pretty good" graphics. Local multiplayer is by far the most satisfying game play mode. My guitar controller's strummer broke after about ten hours of play (registering only upward strums). However, I was very impressed by the warranty replacement speed. A new guitar was in-hand within three days. Besides the hefty price for the bundled package,Excellent gameplay is matched only with "pretty good" graphics. Local multiplayer is by far the most satisfying game play mode. My guitar controller's strummer broke after about ten hours of play (registering only upward strums). However, I was very impressed by the warranty replacement speed. A new guitar was in-hand within three days. Besides the hefty price for the bundled package, also worth considering is the "cost" of storing the musical instrument-shaped components. If you live in an apartment or dorm with limited storage space (my situation involves pushing things to the side of the room), you will be living with Rock Band even on the days you are not playing it. Also, the drums in particular can be quite loud. Again, if you live in an apartment, expect your neighbors to complain as you play late into the night. Last, my 40GB PS3 only has two USB ports, so I had to buy a hub so drums, guitar, and vocals can be played at the same time.

    Pros- Lots of fun, particularly when playing locally with friends. Rapid warranty replacement was great.

    Cons- Graphics are somewhat weak. Jury is still out on whether the hardware will stand up to prolonged use. Should come with a USB hub. Costly.

    Bottom Line: Whether it's worth the money will vary from person to person. I am particularly frugal, so I was uncomfortable paying so much for a video game. However, it's easy to see what you are paying for--hardware and excellent gameplay.
    Expand
  28. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    Songs: 8 out of 10, Graphics: 7 out of 10, Fun: 8 out of 10, Controls: 8 out of 10, Difficulty: 7 out of 10, Length: 8 out of 10, Re-play: 8 out of 10, Value: 8 out of 10
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. 94
    Rock Band is a great game. The presentation elements are top-notch and take music games to a new level; consider the bar raised.
  2. Rock Band has one thing going for it: the necessity to having friends to play and the willingness to work together. It may not be enough for everyone to drop 170 bucks on the game and equipment, but I can say if you even remotely have thought about this game, it is worth it.
  3. It’s a tool set that will be revitalized every time a new song pack is released, and with all the improvements over the Guitar Hero formula, one that will eventually become the de facto standard in music and rhythm games. For those who can foot the bill, Rock Band delivers a gaming experience that’s simply like no other.