Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. Oct 21, 2011
    90
    Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is a blast to play. A title with a silly premise, satisfying action, plenty of content (15 solo chapters and 10 co-op) and a first rate game presentation is hard not to cluck about.
  2. Oct 17, 2011
    85
    The game is incredibly polished, and all of the components fit very well together, but they are all components that other games have introduced with a slightly different twist. They have clearly mastered the action platformer, now I would like to see them take it further and try something new.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Jan 10, 2012
    84
    An entertaining and hilariously violent 2D platformer slash action adventure. Gameplay-wise it doesn't do anything new, but what is does, it does it well. [Jan 2012]
  4. Oct 19, 2011
    84
    Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is a pretty cool PSN game. After Rochard, this is the next PlayStation exclusive game that offers satisfying and cool arcade action. It's damn fun and cheap so if you like action-arcade, you schould try Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken.
  5. Games Master UK
    Dec 17, 2011
    82
    It works pretty well. [Jan 2012, p.91]
  6. Play UK
    Dec 1, 2011
    82
    Instantly likeable. [Issue#212, p.103]
  7. Nov 4, 2011
    80
    This is just the kind of game to remind you what smaller, imaginative developers can do while others are focused on big explosions and less personality.
  8. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    Ratloop Asia offers us a nice conversion of their web title. The differences aren't legion, but anyway, the game was good. The blend of puzzle, action, dark humor and good music is spot on. A very nice little game to boost up your mood.
  9. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Oct 29, 2011
    80
    Touchy controls made for a few frustrating segments, but clever level design, interesting gameplay mechanics, and two-player co-op missions make it easy to forgive the game's issues. [Dec 2011, p.69]
  10. Oct 26, 2011
    80
    While its Flash origins are noticeable, the work with the conversion to PS3 game is remarkable. Rocketbirds is a solid 2D action full of good touches, which offers good audiovisual quality, great variety, cool story and plenty of content between the main and the cooperative campaigns.
  11. Oct 24, 2011
    80
    With a stunning graphics, an amazing sound, an exciting storyline and a gameplay very successful, Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is a title highly recommended to all lovers of the genre.
  12. Oct 18, 2011
    80
    Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is probably one of the most interesting, addictive and funny platformer available on the PSN, with a stunning art direction and an elegant voiceover. But in an Autumn like this one, full of triple-A IPs with oceanic fandoms, Hardboiled will probably doomed to be the right chicken at the wrong time.
  13. Oct 28, 2011
    78
    A good game that evolves the original's formula to improve. The only problem we find is its excessive simplicity, combining only shooting sections with simple puzzles. It is a fun game, with a very retro gameplay, but won't make history.
  14. Nov 29, 2011
    75
    All in all, Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is a good game, but a great art direction, narrative, and fantastic soundtrack can only go so far to counterbalance a short campaign with average gameplay.
  15. Oct 21, 2011
    75
    Artistically interesting and eclectic, this update of Rocketbirds knows how to tell a story, too bad its gameplay lacks a bit in depth.
  16. Oct 18, 2011
    75
    Rocketbirds is a rare PSN game in that it has a Platinum Trophy. I know that caught some of you Trophy Hunters' attention out there.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    6
    Run forward, push a box, jump, shoot a guy. Been there, done that. Good graphics and sound. A block of man-chicken isn't the most gracefulRun forward, push a box, jump, shoot a guy. Been there, done that. Good graphics and sound. A block of man-chicken isn't the most graceful character for this type of game. Its perfectly playable and graphically sound, but something in the back of your mind wants you to stop playing. Heed the call, its a little boring. Full Review »
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    6
    Really fun, but the controls are very limited. Games like shank took this up a notch. But this game is funnier. The worst part to me was thatReally fun, but the controls are very limited. Games like shank took this up a notch. But this game is funnier. The worst part to me was that the game was really easy, but the end boss was so difficult I couldn't defeat him. Full Review »
  3. Jan 20, 2012
    8
    Wow, what a surprise! At first, I thought this was just an average air fighting game (per the PSN preview). But I decided to look into it andWow, what a surprise! At first, I thought this was just an average air fighting game (per the PSN preview). But I decided to look into it and discovered that Rocketbirds HBC is a 2D adventure game. It reminds me of Flashback, which blew my mind back in the day, but with a simpler approach. Yes, there's actually the air fighting part, but this is just to fill in some gaps. The main heart of the game let us control a chicken-soldier in a very traditional 2D platforming way (like the old Prince of Persia, as well). This is currently under discount at the PSN and it turned out to be a great surprise. Nice graphics, easy to pick gameplay and even a couple of surprises in the way. Great indie game. Full Review »