Sideway: New York PlayStation 3

Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Controls are awkwardly mapped and the music is unbearably repetitive, but exploration is rewarded and the mechanic is neat enough to keep you playing. [Christmas 2011, p.104]
  2. Nov 29, 2011
    70
    With its distinctive and unique approach to gender, Sideway: New York is a nice side-scrolling platformer with a new interesting 3D concept. Even though the combat may not be the best and the checkpoint system makes the longevity of the game not memorable.
  3. Nov 7, 2011
    70
    Sideway: New York could have been something really cool, with some fresh ideas and a cool setting. But the developers didn't tap the potential of the game. The controls are tricky to handle, the co-op mode is a no-go and the story is pretty weird. On the other hand, there are some pretty cool things like the bossfights, the different points of view and the cool spray and grafitti setting.
  4. Oct 27, 2011
    70
    I may sound a little harsh on the game, but Sideway: New York is not bad by any stretch. It does have some annoying parts, but the art style and constantly changing perspective is something you don't see every day. For the most part, the game is enjoyable.
  5. Oct 19, 2011
    70
    Sideways: New York separates itself with it gravity tricks and keen aesthetics, but comes charging back to the pack with its mediocre gameplay and slightly repetitive content. There's a lot of nice glitz here but not much substance.
  6. Anyone remember Marc Ecko's Getting Up or the ridiculous dance game B-Boy? Sideway: New York shares the same urban lifestyle-roots, and combines it with fairly original platforming action. [Nov 2011, p.98]
  7. Oct 18, 2011
    67
    Sadly, once the conceptual veneer peels away, you'll be left only with hollow rattle of an empty aerosol can.
  8. Oct 17, 2011
    60
    The cel-shaded graphical style and kid-friendly characters keep the game from delving into morbidity and the message, overall, is one of positivity and joy. Nox and his friends aren't hoodlums, they're just young artists caught up in a dangerous situation. It's just a shame the game's frustrating design makes it so hard for you to help them.
  9. Oct 20, 2011
    58
    Sideway comes across feeling more like one of the me-too Mario clones of the NES era despite its unique, singular look and perspective-shifting style. The platforming is nowhere near as tight or as taxing as in Super Meat Boy and it lacks the dynamism and genre synthesis of Outland. It's not even as compelling or innovative as IOS examples such as Mos Speedrun or League of Evil
  10. Oct 19, 2011
    55
    The setting, urban art theme, and gravity-shifting mechanics give Sideway: New York plenty of opportunities to stand out, but it squanders all of them. Instead, Nox navigates bland levels and takes out repetitive bosses with a set of generic powers. With so much potential, it's remarkable that Sideway ended up being so ordinary. Unfortunately, that's the only remarkable thing about it.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    I first played this game at Gamescon and really appreciated it. Sideway is a new genre of 2D platformer.
    I bought it recently and went
    I first played this game at Gamescon and really appreciated it. Sideway is a new genre of 2D platformer.
    I bought it recently and went through the game in about 4 to 6 hours. Worth the 10 bucks I spent on.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 20, 2011
    9
    Wrapping a sidescrolling game around the edges of buildings and rooftops is really original and stays fresh for the whole game. The look ofWrapping a sidescrolling game around the edges of buildings and rooftops is really original and stays fresh for the whole game. The look of the game is really stylish and the music fits well. There's lots of upgrades that make your dude really strong as you progress through the game and the levels challenge you to use what you've learned at a good pace. Every level also has 5 secrets which are often hidden behind much tougher puzzles than you find in the first playthrough. A great exclusive for the PS3 platform. Full Review »
  3. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    Awesome game! Moving around in the levels is absolutely mesmerizing. I'm about half-way through, but once I finish I'm sure I'm gonna beAwesome game! Moving around in the levels is absolutely mesmerizing. I'm about half-way through, but once I finish I'm sure I'm gonna be retracing all the levels to collect everything (yes, I'm a trophy-whore :) ) Full Review »