Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    90
    Silent Hill Downpour may not be the most technically advanced game, nor boast the best polished gameplay, but it succeeds in what we were expecting from it : to be able to restore this icy, sweaty fear the series was known for.
  2. Apr 17, 2012
    81
    It'll infuriate as many as it pleases, but Vatra Games has succeeded in crafting a true horror experience. [Issue#217, p.68]
  3. 75
    Despite clunky combat and various frame rate issues, Silent Hill: Downpour is still a solid survival horror romp that any fan of the genre should take a punt on.
  4. Apr 8, 2012
    75
    Underneath all sorts of technical oddities, lies a strong Silent Hill game. Great use of many creative ideas, the excellent pacing and an atmosphere that always keeps you on your toes makes Silent Hill: Downpour the first Silent Hill game that shows that this franchise has the potential to return to greatness.
  5. Apr 3, 2012
    75
    It is not the Silent Hill you have been expecting for a decade, but it is not as bad as the most pessimist predicted. If you liked Homecoming you should give Downpour a chance, and although part of the story is predictable and the horror aspect has plenty of room to improve, the game is an interesting one and ultimately delivers, although far from the best times of the series.
  6. Mar 28, 2012
    75
    The surprisingly high share of puzzles and the appeal of exploring the open city and unlocking its' secrets gives you 20+ hours of entertaining horror. And even though the combat system is superficial and the engine shows some frustrating framerate issues this playable nightmare shows a lot of facets between creepy moments and pure terror.
  7. Mar 22, 2012
    75
    It's a decent stab at resurrecting the atmosphere and sense of foreboding that the series was once known for, and if it wasn't for those frequent technical hitches, it could well have been one of the best in the series. As it stands, it's a very, very good survival horror title.
  8. Mar 12, 2012
    75
    From side quests to sound design, Silent Hill: Downpour isn't afraid of change. The restult is a captivating game more expansive than the series has ever seen.
  9. Apr 5, 2012
    72
    Another disappointment for fans of the first four Silent Hill games. The controls during battle are unfair and dumb and the fact that you can only carry one weapon at a time is simply annoying. One of the few positive things is the rain-dynamic. The more it rains the more creatures prey upon you. The graphics are muddy and fall apart under technical issues like sudden freezing. The game looks less scary overall and reminds of Alan Wake. All things considered it is not Silent Hill anymore. There is no oppressive and dark atmosphere left.
  10. Apr 16, 2012
    70
    A game that is great for most parts, complete with the series signature atmosphere and old school puzzles. Sadly, there's some really lousy game mechanics, and a clear misuse of the Unreal engine. Thumbs up for the introduction of side missions though.
  11. Apr 9, 2012
    70
    Sometimes superb to look at but always unremarkable to play, Downpour lacks the nerve to be either great or terrible. It need reinventing - fast. [May 2012, p.104]
  12. 70
    Fans of Silent Hill will enjoy it more, because they'll find many allusions to the games of old that'll influence the experience in a positive way. Anyone new to the franchise, but interested in this brand of horror should, give it a look, too. (…) This game definitely restored my belief in the series, and that's perhaps the biggest compliment I can give this game.
  13. Mar 22, 2012
    70
    Chief amongst the offenders is a combat system so outdated I wouldn't be surprised if Vetra games had it shipped it in especially from 1999. Fighting monsters, which is done by mashing your attacks and occasionally blocking, feels clunky and detached, with weapons that all feel like they've got the wrong weight.
  14. Mar 13, 2012
    70
    While the journey in Downpour is one of the most interesting in the series, some of its most significant beats fall flat.
  15. Mar 6, 2012
    70
    I don't regret my time with Silent Hill: Downpour, but mediocrity hung over most of my playthrough like a fog. [Apr 2012, p.82]
  16. Shines where it ought to, but much too soggy around the edges. [March 2012, p76]
  17. The more you explore Silent Hill, the more it becomes clear that Vatra, despite its good intentions, simply lacks the necessary talent. The fighting system, for example, sucks monkey balls. In previous games you could opt to run, but Downpour forces you to a confrontation. [April 2012, p.99]
  18. Apr 3, 2012
    68
    Downpour is a pretty solid horror game, if not an exceptionally original or nuanced one. If it weren't for the crappy combat and frustrating exploration it would be a bit easier to recommend, but Vatra has captured the Silent Hill aesthetic well.
  19. Mar 26, 2012
    68
    A decent game with missed opportunities due to technical and mechanical drawbacks. On the plus side, I really think the hardcore followers should be able to deal with the fighting eccentricities, because they're so…well, familiar.
  20. Apr 10, 2012
    67
    If you can look past the often abominable framerate, the essentially broken combat system and the long list of graphical errors, you will find that this is the first Silent Hill since Silent Hill 3 that is actually worth mentioning, even though it is not a very good game overall.
  21. Mar 19, 2012
    67
    Downpour isn't quite an evolutionary leap, but it demonstrates that Konami's thinking isn't entirely constrained by the past.
  22. Mar 27, 2012
    65
    Downpour is an almost obligatory purchase for fans of the saga, but they must be aware of the technical and conceptual limitations of the product.
  23. Mar 22, 2012
    65
    Silent Hill falls under its hype. More a thriller than an horror experience it has a good plot with too many problems and glitches in the gameplay experience.
  24. Mar 12, 2012
    65
    Offers an adequately suspenseful adventure and expands the series' lore, just barely making it worthy of the Silent Hill name.
  25. Mar 19, 2012
    64
    While having no shortness of flaws, Downpour still manages to get enough right to warrant further investigation by series and genre fans.
  26. Mar 16, 2012
    62
    I enjoyed Silent Hill: Downpour, but with one nagging thought always tugging at my brain - it just didn't feel like a Silent Hill game.
  27. May 14, 2012
    60
    A remarkably ugly game. [June 2012, p.60]
  28. 60
    Silent Hill Downpourit's a good game, despite all of its flaws, but desperately needs new mechanics.
  29. Apr 29, 2012
    60
    It may be a visually sound package that throws a few unique spins on the Silent Hill template, though the sometimes awkward puzzles and irredeemably abysmal combat are enough to drag Downpour down the gutter and towards mediocrity.
  30. Apr 13, 2012
    60
    Silent Hill: Downpour is a game full of extremes. A good story, great hallucinations and interesting puzzles make you want to play. Weak graphics, no tension gradation and a terrible fighting mechanic make you want to stop.
  31. Apr 4, 2012
    60
    Vatra Games made decent efforts to deliver a unique experience that would be faithful to the Silent Hill games of old. The Chechs failed, but that doesn't mean their game is not capable of delivering some enjoyable survival horror gaming hours.
  32. Thought not a terrible tribute to the series, Downpour seems to tone down everything we loved about the earlier games, leaving only an average shell. [May 2012, p.78]
  33. Mar 29, 2012
    60
    Downpour could have been good, but any shot at greatness gets bogged down by a laundry list of problems. A shame, because there are times when the games gets tense and unnerving, a big plus for this genre.
  34. Mar 22, 2012
    60
    It may not shock you, but it can at least build a thick, oppressive atmosphere as the relatively clever plot keeps twisting and the grot and grime pile up and threaten to choke you. It can't handle fear - but it does a neat line in mild intrigue. Silent Hill: Downpour won't freeze you to your seat, but it will probably keep you playing to the end.
  35. Silent Hill fans will appreciate the atmosphere, but it's bogged down in old-fashioned gameplay that just doesn't cut it. Sadly, we grew up. Equally sadly, Silent Hill never did.
  36. Apr 17, 2012
    55
    Silent Hill: Downpour takes a jump to bring the series back the its roots. Despite good intentions, the game has a lot of flaws. Let's hope the next Silent Hill takes a better jump and actually scares us to death.
  37. Apr 12, 2012
    50
    Silent Hill: Downpour is yet another half-decent survival horror game in a series that, just like many other horror series, is waiting for something to happen. This eight episode of Silent Hill is acceptable and interesting enough to take you all the way through, but on the whole as a game - not much more.
  38. Mar 27, 2012
    50
    With every low rent sequel it becomes that much harder to remember why Silent Hill was so successful in the first place, as the series continues its descent into franchise hell.
  39. Mar 13, 2012
    50
    An engaging story and creepy locales simply aren't enough to overcome terribly clunky combat and technical flaws in the latest entry in Konami's venerable survival horror series. Silent Hill: Downpour's developers may have taken the series in a new direction, but that doesn't mean they should have.
  40. Mar 12, 2012
    45
    The most frustrating thing about Silent Hill Downpour isn't the lousy combat, dull exploration, or even the technical gaffes. It's the fact that every now and then while playing through the game's story, you'll see signs of brilliance; sunlight hinted from behind the overcast sky.
  41. Mar 27, 2012
    40
    Silent Hill: Downpour upsets me not because it's a bad game (it is), but becaue there's the kernel of a good game in it, with some excellent set pieces that are undone by its muddy, bloated open world, technical glitches, and last-gen presentation. It's a game that I desperately want to like for what it does well, but I can't responsibly overlook its failings, which makes it all the more frustrating.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 220 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 84
  2. Negative: 16 out of 84
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    Silent Hill has been one of my favorite game series since I was young, and I can honestly say that this is true to the games original routes.Silent Hill has been one of my favorite game series since I was young, and I can honestly say that this is true to the games original routes. With the occasional fixed camera angles, the revealing yet un-revealing story and the characters are so original and great, just as the originals were. I love Murphy, as it is hard to tell if he is good or evil at this point, a neutral hero that you craft with the choices you make in the game. The graphics and color scheme, in my opinion, are also very good. Though it does not look as good as games like Dead Space, it is still a very high caliber game in the graphics department. The color scheme is also very dark and horrifying, I think that its easy on the eyes but not only that, the dark tones make moving into new areas a harrowing experience. When I move into a new area thats dark in tones I don't feel happy or energetic I know that its dark and it helps me to set my tone appropriately. The combat system is great in my opinion. It moves back to the old Silent Hill combat systems. Its wonky, but its survival horror so what do you expect? It's supposed to be difficult. The blocking and swinging and the breaking of weapons makes the combat feel frantic, hurried and horrified. I've also heard complaints that there isn't enough ammo for guns.... REALLY? In a survival horror game, not enough ammo?! OOHHHH **** PLEASE! Anyway, the game is great. There aren't many enemies but the current enemies are horrifying and scary looking, the originals didn't have much variety either, they usually reskinned enemies later with similar AI. All in all, besides some technical glitches and framerate issues, this is one of the best Silent Hill games i've played. Full Review »
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    From the impressions and reviews I've read so far (aside from ign's farcical attempt) it's almost unanimous that this is the best Silent HillFrom the impressions and reviews I've read so far (aside from ign's farcical attempt) it's almost unanimous that this is the best Silent Hill game in years. Incredible atmosphere, heavy focus on original and creative puzzles, unique and interesting otherworld environments and a captivating and original story. Combat and monster designs have been noted as mediocre for the most part but overall this is a game for Silent Hill fans, but the average gamer who needs everything spoon fed to them might not get that into it. It's been getting good to average reviews so far with the exception of one overtly negative review that failed to provide any info on anything in the game other than technical issues like freezing when autosaving etc. so I would advise people to try and think for themselves where this game is concerned as nothing is more pathetic than blindly following what a review on a site like ign (which has become something of a laughingstock over the past decade) has to say. Having a mind of your own is like totez cool. Honest rating: 8.5/10, rating it higher to counter the little kids giving it a much lower score than it deserves. People who like the old Silent Hill games and psychological horror should love this! Full Review »
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    5
    Its official. The days of Silent Hill are numbered. What was once brilliant, and I truly stress the word brilliant, is now in the hands of aIts official. The days of Silent Hill are numbered. What was once brilliant, and I truly stress the word brilliant, is now in the hands of a developer that just doesn't know what to do with the slice of genius it was handed. Too much focus on the combat and not enough emphasis on what the genre was built on; fear. Fear of everything, not just your enemies. If you give us control of someone more fearsome than those we should be cowering from then how do you expect us to fear them? Homecoming showed the potential for learning, an indication that with practice there would be greatness. Downpour tarnishes the moniker on its title, and is not fit to sit alongside its brethren. Fans of the series will be disappointed, and I hope the audience for which this intended for, the Americans, are pleased in knowing they played a part in the destruction of what was once one of the most prominent and brilliant videogame series ever created. Full Review »