Silent Hill: Downpour PlayStation 3

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 251 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 251
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    Silent Hill has been one of my favorite game series since I was young, and I can honestly say that this is true to the games original routes. With the occasional fixed camera angles, the revealing yet un-revealing story and the characters are so original and great, just as the originals were. I love Murphy, as it is hard to tell if he is good or evil at this point, a neutral hero that youSilent Hill has been one of my favorite game series since I was young, and I can honestly say that this is true to the games original routes. With the occasional fixed camera angles, the revealing yet un-revealing story and the characters are so original and great, just as the originals were. I love Murphy, as it is hard to tell if he is good or evil at this point, a neutral hero that you craft with the choices you make in the game. The graphics and color scheme, in my opinion, are also very good. Though it does not look as good as games like Dead Space, it is still a very high caliber game in the graphics department. The color scheme is also very dark and horrifying, I think that its easy on the eyes but not only that, the dark tones make moving into new areas a harrowing experience. When I move into a new area thats dark in tones I don't feel happy or energetic I know that its dark and it helps me to set my tone appropriately. The combat system is great in my opinion. It moves back to the old Silent Hill combat systems. Its wonky, but its survival horror so what do you expect? It's supposed to be difficult. The blocking and swinging and the breaking of weapons makes the combat feel frantic, hurried and horrified. I've also heard complaints that there isn't enough ammo for guns.... REALLY? In a survival horror game, not enough ammo?! OOHHHH **** PLEASE! Anyway, the game is great. There aren't many enemies but the current enemies are horrifying and scary looking, the originals didn't have much variety either, they usually reskinned enemies later with similar AI. All in all, besides some technical glitches and framerate issues, this is one of the best Silent Hill games i've played. Expand
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    From the impressions and reviews I've read so far (aside from ign's farcical attempt) it's almost unanimous that this is the best Silent Hill game in years. Incredible atmosphere, heavy focus on original and creative puzzles, unique and interesting otherworld environments and a captivating and original story. Combat and monster designs have been noted as mediocre for the most part butFrom the impressions and reviews I've read so far (aside from ign's farcical attempt) it's almost unanimous that this is the best Silent Hill game in years. Incredible atmosphere, heavy focus on original and creative puzzles, unique and interesting otherworld environments and a captivating and original story. Combat and monster designs have been noted as mediocre for the most part but overall this is a game for Silent Hill fans, but the average gamer who needs everything spoon fed to them might not get that into it. It's been getting good to average reviews so far with the exception of one overtly negative review that failed to provide any info on anything in the game other than technical issues like freezing when autosaving etc. so I would advise people to try and think for themselves where this game is concerned as nothing is more pathetic than blindly following what a review on a site like ign (which has become something of a laughingstock over the past decade) has to say. Having a mind of your own is like totez cool. Honest rating: 8.5/10, rating it higher to counter the little kids giving it a much lower score than it deserves. People who like the old Silent Hill games and psychological horror should love this! Expand
  3. Apr 13, 2016
    8
    Ok, I know that this game has serious problems with the framerate and it does that it plays uncomfortable, but... It´s the best Silent Hill from Silent Hill 1 and 2. The best ambiance, story and art direction. If you can forgive the horrible down of framerate you will play a the third great Silent Hill.
  4. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    As a huge fan of early Silent Hill games, I was definitely hesitant to buy Downpour as it looked like a serious departure from the classics. Bad reviews from trusted sites made me even more hesitant but I went with my heart and dropped the $60 and I am glad I did. Although at times Downpour doesn't feel like a Silent Hill game, at its core Konami threw in enough references to delightAs a huge fan of early Silent Hill games, I was definitely hesitant to buy Downpour as it looked like a serious departure from the classics. Bad reviews from trusted sites made me even more hesitant but I went with my heart and dropped the $60 and I am glad I did. Although at times Downpour doesn't feel like a Silent Hill game, at its core Konami threw in enough references to delight Silent Hill fans of the past. That said, this is not a perfect game by any means. There is noticeable frame rate drops at times and the combat is clunky at best. At times, the game looks gorgeous and we see parts of Silent Hill we never knew existed, then at other times we wish certain areas stayed hidden. At times during the story, you are given a choice that really comes down to, 'Are you good, or are you bad' but these decisions really hold no weight at all which is a real disappointment. With those downfalls, I still could not pry myself away from Downpour and had a great time searching every nook and cranny. Please do yourself a favor and at least try the game. For every bad thing you've heard about the game, there are two good things about it. This is a game that will keep you on the edge of your seat and I know I will come back to it again and again. Expand
  5. Mar 14, 2012
    8
    Game is good, it has a lot of easter eggs to find from games of the past which adds to the idea of being in the same town of Silent Hill which is great. Combat isn't horrible, melee works fairly well and ammo is scarce which allows it to play out more like a "survival horror" game than Resident Evil or Dead Space (Not to say they are bad games - they are great but have definitely becomeGame is good, it has a lot of easter eggs to find from games of the past which adds to the idea of being in the same town of Silent Hill which is great. Combat isn't horrible, melee works fairly well and ammo is scarce which allows it to play out more like a "survival horror" game than Resident Evil or Dead Space (Not to say they are bad games - they are great but have definitely become more action oriented vs survival horror nowadays which is something Downpour is definitely not and feel it deserves credit in that respect because games like this are scarce nowadays). Personally...Korn??...really..smh... I know they have a fan base but WRONG DIRECTION for this game for the intro song, I absolutely hate that they are associated with this title but thats more personal preference and won't let it affect the score because it doesn't affect gameplay however it still doesn't set a good mood. Most enemies are downright horrible looking and don't even seem to look right in the world, almost as if they pop out because of how stupid they look. But there is a few here and there that are okay at best and the game is more focused on exploration so run away if you don't feel like dealing with them. Aspects of it feel like Alan Wake with the radio sequences even the beginning part feels like Bright Falls which isn't necessarily bad but feels like its trying to borrow too much from other titles than making its own mark in the world. Because it borrows a lot from good games of the past, it does to some things right, but its not entirely original and at times feels more like fun house scares vs true horror. I would love to see more Silent Hill games so I hope the developers read consumer criticism and work with it. Its a good attempt and don't regret it but leaves some to be desired. It would be nice if you can change the control scheme but not a deal breaker. These devs have a lot of potential and should be given input so they can bring this franchise back, bashing them doesn't help anyone. Overall I am ENJOYING this game quite a bit. It nice to get away from current trends and like how it doesn't hold your hand which veteran Silent Hill fans will appreciate it more than newcomers. It sits between a 7/8 for me but went with an 8 to help with the 0's some people gave. Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2012
    8
    If the town of Silent Hill has done one thing since its glory days, its pay the water bill. This is the continuation of the Downpour review you have been looking for and is spoiler free. I cannot fit all I want to say, so this is just the main focus. I wrote an early review in the first stages of the game to clear some questions floating around so feel free to find it and take a look, andIf the town of Silent Hill has done one thing since its glory days, its pay the water bill. This is the continuation of the Downpour review you have been looking for and is spoiler free. I cannot fit all I want to say, so this is just the main focus. I wrote an early review in the first stages of the game to clear some questions floating around so feel free to find it and take a look, and compare. In that review I discuss my love for Silent Hill and explain why my opinion can be highly respected for the series as well as my honesty towards it. So, onto Downpour. First off, having now beaten the game, I can safely say this is the best Silent Hill since The Room. Many have purchased this game now I am sure, as I played the game extremely slow and could probably platinum it with one more playthrough, but nonetheless, I said I would review it good or bad, so here goes. Vatra worked hard on this game and it shows. This is the closest Silent Hill has come to returning to its golden age. The game is atmospheric, it is scary, it is creative, and it is intriguing. The game is careful to remain true to its roots but not at all afraid to venture into new territory, and this is perhaps what the game is best at. It is impressive how it can feel like part 2 at times, please fans of the first four, borrow from the entire series, including the comics, ignore the movie and most of Homecoming, and also feel like something completely new to the series. I spent much of my time during Downpour smiling away, remembering the good old days, and getting a warm fuzzy feeling even in the games dampest of scenes. Though the game is not at all perfect I truly enjoyed it, especially the first two acts. The third act, aside form technical things I will mention below, is the games only complete flaw. Story wise the third act is not horrible but not at all great, but what truly bugged me about it was the lack of creative steam, and the emphases on typical combat and linear style action. This game is not an action game, it has less combat than Homecoming but more than any other Silent Hill, give or take Origins, but the final stage of the game is a bit of rage quitter and really dampens the games reputation. Very easily forgotten are the great moments that just proceeded, but honestly for a true fan of the series, all can be forgiven, as long as you dont hate the final outcome. There are multiple endings and I found mine to be...above average. Downpour is also flawed technically a bit. My last review stated the graphic issues, the lag, and hiccups. Its not awful though, just a slight annoyance, most of the time I saw right past it. The combat is odd and stiff but as mentioned as well in my previous review, it was intentional and worked. The combat, when not being smothered, feels legit in that Murphy is human and not a space marine or swordsmaster. Some will find it irritating but many will find it familiar as it is inspired by the Ps1 and Ps2 era of Survival Horror, and that is exactly what this game is, a true Survival Horror. Flight will always win over fight throughout your entire stay in Silent Hill this time around. And when it begins to rain rather hard you may just want to step in doors and dry off for a few minutes. The creatures in this game are not the best in the series, there are only a handful of enemies and they are far less imaginative or symbolic as previous games give or take Homecoming. Though they can frighten you if they attack in the right setting at the right time. I didnt not like the enemies but I wish there could have been more, or that they could have been tweaked a little more on the psychological side. My only other issue would be the alternate worlds, they arent quite as imaginative or scary as past installments but they work in the world of Downpour. I believe this takes care of any negatives, as for positives they far out weigh the bad. This is Silent Hill as we love it, you will be thinking, screaming, and then thinking again. The town feels as if it can hear you and see you, dark hallways still suck to walk through, and even away from combat you dont feel safe. I screamed out loud a few times which is impressive. I was constantly nervous and seldom was allowed to rest easy. I was intrigued throughout the story, and kept trying to guess the outcome and can gladly say I was mostly incorrect, mostly. The addition of side quests is great and honestly at times can be the scariest parts in the game, and some are extremely creative. Silent Hill has not felt this good in a very long time. I still have to place the first four in front of it, but I could see some ranking it above The Room, though I think you would be crazy to place it any higher. From awesome easter eggs to the old school vibe this is a game that true Survival Horror fans and Silent Hill die hards alike can enjoy, so prepare for a wet weekend and experience a long awaited successful trip to the town that takes all. Silent Hill. 7.5 - 8.0 out of 10. Expand
  7. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Thanks konami for making this awesome game!!!!!!!!!! One of the best game ever!! Konami is the best publisher ever, i love japan and i love konami and i love konami game like silent hill, pes
  8. Mar 16, 2012
    8
    If you're here looking for a review of this game by a member of the Silent Hill fan-base that you can count on, please bear with the length of this review and I'll make it worth your time. Ignore the fake tens, ignore the forever vengeful - I know what you're here for, to find out the answer to the question, "Is it safe to go back to Silent Hill?" and I'm here to tell you, that while IIf you're here looking for a review of this game by a member of the Silent Hill fan-base that you can count on, please bear with the length of this review and I'll make it worth your time. Ignore the fake tens, ignore the forever vengeful - I know what you're here for, to find out the answer to the question, "Is it safe to go back to Silent Hill?" and I'm here to tell you, that while I will pull NO punches in my critique, the answer is a fairly solid "Yes!" Seeing as how the franchise has been sliding downhill for years longer than it stood proud, I'm not even sure how to handle praising it anymore - every flaw in Downpour makes me want to tear it down but one must keep in mind, the originals had their flaws as well. But let's start with the good, shall we? GRAPHICAL QUALITY won't win any awards, but it's up with the times. The worst aspect is the shadow effects of light on water or through trees, but if you can forgive that, the visuals will do just fine for your stay. THE SOUNDTRACK is phenomenal. Licht deviates from Yamaoka only in two ways - first, he takes Yamaoka's style and bends it to the will of music composition. The industrial sounds are here, the mandolin is here, the guitar is here - but you could lay it out as sheet music if you needed to, and it's masterfully done to the degree that this formulaic approach does not detract from even the chase scenes. Also, a bit of realism is mixed in as, throughout the entire game, radios within Silent Hill will play you real world music spanning from modern indie performers all the way back to Louis Armstrong and Frank Sinatra. Cast your doubts aside, Licht deserves praise for this job. PERFORMANCE is iffy (-1 point). The game tries to load in real time, but can't keep up - this will often cause the game to stutter and jump. There's no way around it - this is a problem you will either come to terms with or not. GAMEPLAY stays about 90% true to the Silent Hill formula. The interaction options have been expanded to make use of the Dualshock 3, so that's nice, but the two main differences are as follows: (1) The long-winded puzzles and sidequests that make the old Silent Hill games are now completely optional. I think this is GREAT. The game may feel more shallow when speed running it, but I'm thankful for the option. (2) The Otherworld doesn't make you repeat the same area with different skin; and it's not slow terror. The Otherworld makes you run - makes you keep up. It's linear suspense in a dissolving landscape. I can't say whether this is good or bad, it's just a total departure from the series roots. Hey, if that's how Murphy sees it, that's how he sees it. I just hope this isn't all it has to offer from here on - I'd like to see some variety in the future. COMBAT is clumsy but responsive and fast paced. It's not going to win any programming awards, but it keeps that "average Joe" feel to it that feels right at home in Silent Hill. Finally, what you're probably here for. MONSTER DESIGN is my main area of complaint; I'm docking a whole point for it. It completely does away with SH's "vaguely human / disturbing" forms and goes straight for "mutilated human / badass" forms, starting with basic enemies right out of The Suffering and all comes down to THE BIG BAD basically being the Tyrant-103 (Mr. X) from Resident Evil in a gas mask. This game could gain 10% of my love back with a mob-mod. (Sorry, creature guy. You just missed the point. They're good, they're just not Silent Hill.) THE STORYLINE is a welcome addition to the canon (Is it snowing on the hills of hell? I never thought I'd say that about Silent Hill again.) Cast aside your expectations to find out WHAT the protagonist has done - this time we're here to explore HOW AND WHY they did what we already know has been done - and the journey is satisfying; it's not "I'm going to cry, that was wonderful" levels of amazing, but it's worth your time n' dime. Also, and this is a HUGE bonus, there's a book hidden in the library that satisfyingly explains why THE ORDER of SH1 ~ 3 was only one chapter of Silent Hill, only one incarnation of it's power, only one group of people involved in a rotating door of the terrors of the realm. REPLAY VALUE is average, it'll take 3 playthroughs to see all endings, but with speed run being an option, just picking it up to blow through the story would be satisfying any time! ALL IN ALL, Downpour is a damn solid release - don't let anyone tell you it's perfect, but don't let anyone tell you it's terrible, either. All that remains is to see if KONAMI has finally pulled their head out of their ass and given Silent Hill a new beginning (and Downpour is a GREAT Chapter 1 of a new Saga), or of VATRA just got lucky. For now, Downpour is a solid 8/10 - here's hoping for a bright future. Expand
  9. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Silent hill Downpour still a good game. Not the best in the series, but still a game to pick up and play all the way through. story is good, get a few scares here and there. the Voice acting is really good and prob the best in the series, it don't seem cheesy and everyone's voice seems to match up just right, Monsters are on the lame side a little bit, but i am happy they didn't Reuse allSilent hill Downpour still a good game. Not the best in the series, but still a game to pick up and play all the way through. story is good, get a few scares here and there. the Voice acting is really good and prob the best in the series, it don't seem cheesy and everyone's voice seems to match up just right, Monsters are on the lame side a little bit, but i am happy they didn't Reuse all the monsters from Silent hill 2 and 3 got tired of seeing EVERY monster in the same game. Story is good and i liked this one better then Homecoming. Controls suck BUT its silent hill ALL silent hill games controls suck. Combat is the same way but this is not a Combat game, i see your suppose to RUN from the monsters not stand there and take on 3 at a time. dont come into this game thinking your guy is a MMA fighter or was in the marines or something that is what i see all the bad reviews are for is the bad combat your guy is not a fighter as in all silent hills your just a avg joe reason why i gave it a 8 is because of the monsters (could of been cooler buy hey this is vatra first game so i cut them some slack) Expand
  10. Aug 23, 2012
    8
    SH Downpour is a fun,creepy and sometimes scary game. The story, voice acting and soundtrack are great.
    I noticed that most reviewers were complaining about the combat controls, I personally found nothing wrong with them they are primitive but they work. The game adopts a open world kind of feel with side quests and secrets and it feels fresh. I also like the rain mechanic like if it
    SH Downpour is a fun,creepy and sometimes scary game. The story, voice acting and soundtrack are great.
    I noticed that most reviewers were complaining about the combat controls, I personally found nothing wrong with them they are primitive but they work. The game adopts a open world kind of feel with side quests and secrets and it feels fresh. I also like the rain mechanic like if it rains their are more monsters on the streets so it's a good idea to find shelter in a nearby building. It's not a perfect game it suffers from technical difficulties and some poor textures however if you like Silent Hill or survival horror games you have to check it out.
    Expand
  11. Apr 1, 2012
    8
    I'll been a fan of Silent Hill since the first game came out and I found this rather enjoyable. The game take the series back to the classic roots, creepy atmosphere, fixed camera angles and a trilling storyline. Although I did felt the there were some issues with bugs, dull animation and combat. I felt that Vatra Games should have improve these things in the final release of the game. II'll been a fan of Silent Hill since the first game came out and I found this rather enjoyable. The game take the series back to the classic roots, creepy atmosphere, fixed camera angles and a trilling storyline. Although I did felt the there were some issues with bugs, dull animation and combat. I felt that Vatra Games should have improve these things in the final release of the game. I did like how Murphy will give hints by talking to himself, I felt that it was a good way to help people. I also liked the music by Daniel Licht, I think he does a great job after taking over from Akira Yamaoka. I wouldn't say this is the best Silent Hill ever yet a good one, I hope that the next Silent Hill will be an improvement from Downpour. Expand
  12. Apr 15, 2012
    8
    Don't listen to game reviews who are stuck in the past. They hold this game to a ridicoulously higgh standard that almost no game now can achieve (Silent Hill 2). this game is good in its own right with a great story and interesting enviroments to explore. Quit crying and saying the series sucks now cause it dosn't by far. It just changed slightly
  13. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    "Silent Hill is back with Downpour. All those things that we missed in previous games are here again. The characters, the fog, the story, the gore, everything is back. This is what all SH fans have been waiting for."
    Yes! This is the best Silent Hill since SH2!!! Can't wait next Silent Hill game from VATRA!
  14. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    silent hill downpour is an incredible game thats capture the old school spirit of the silent hill series good grafics creepy atmosphere and really scare moments. ignore ign score , the game is exellent
  15. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Silent hill downpour is the best SH game in a long time
    The game meets all my expectations of a true silent hill game with a modern day approach.
    The story and atmosphere are suburb. voice acting is also really strong. I haven't been scared of a silent hill game since part 4,and I was worried Downpour was gonna be tame, and not scary, but I'm constantly on the edge of my seat, and is a lot
    Silent hill downpour is the best SH game in a long time
    The game meets all my expectations of a true silent hill game with a modern day approach.
    The story and atmosphere are suburb. voice acting is also really strong.
    I haven't been scared of a silent hill game since part 4,and I was worried Downpour was gonna be tame, and not scary, but I'm constantly on the edge of my seat, and is a lot scarier than I thought it would be.
    The controls are easy to get a hang of, and the puzzles are original, and fun
    The only complaints I have are some of the character designs are a little bland, and rough looking, and the games frame-rate lags, but these issues are small, and don't take away from the great experience.

    if your a true silent hill fan you'll love this game
    Expand
  16. Apr 6, 2012
    8
    This game is... Really fun, critics have been really harsh most of the time but do not make the mistake of trusting the negative nellies! The whole "focus on combat" is not true at all, sure there are fighting, but as far as I know combat can be avoided completely. That being said, first time doing a puzzle might not be easier if a monster is eating your ass... Overall, the combat isThis game is... Really fun, critics have been really harsh most of the time but do not make the mistake of trusting the negative nellies! The whole "focus on combat" is not true at all, sure there are fighting, but as far as I know combat can be avoided completely. That being said, first time doing a puzzle might not be easier if a monster is eating your ass... Overall, the combat is clunky, but I'd still say it works fine but it'll be tricky in tight spaces. I played the game on normal and there were no shortage of those medkits so as long as you'll keep using them in a smart manner you wont exactly die soon. I also stacked up alot of bullets, looking back I really could have used my items alot more. Gameplay in this game is generally balanced, it works for this game quite well, as for graphics and sound those two things also worked well, you will see pop-in textures but honestly it was nothing that will ruin the expeirence. The music is also really awesome, Daniel Licht has really done a great job. Ok, to my complaints, the story, while pretty good took a bit too long to get started, and once it did it felt like it just let go... I can't describe it really, however it was still fine, nothing really bad about it. I played the game on the Ps3 and it does have a few technical problems, I encountered framerate stuttering and several glitches, one where monsters would simply not attack me. I hope they fix the game because the atmosphere was great and I do plan on replaying the game again one day, this game is recommended! Although it's worth noting that for a horror game, it's not really THAT scary, it's more disturbing, sure you will problably jump a few times but those hoping to **** your pants will be disappointed. Still, overall a good game, 8/10. Expand
  17. Mar 15, 2012
    9
    I have never fet foot in Silent Hill. But this game. I am really loving it! Only for fans who aren't ashamed to be freaky, geeky and creepy! :P
    ps: Combat is not that bad on easy settings.
  18. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    People who bash this game are idiots and only do it cause they claim to be OG Silent Hill fans. We don't need SH 1, 2, 3, or 4. We need a game that doesn't stutter every time you walk in new room. Downpour is great aside from the tech. problems. The combat is good comparing it to the older games. The shooting is great if you aren't autistic. The soundtrack and story are all good. Get overPeople who bash this game are idiots and only do it cause they claim to be OG Silent Hill fans. We don't need SH 1, 2, 3, or 4. We need a game that doesn't stutter every time you walk in new room. Downpour is great aside from the tech. problems. The combat is good comparing it to the older games. The shooting is great if you aren't autistic. The soundtrack and story are all good. Get over yourselves people, minus the bugs in this game, it could be the greatest thing to touch this series since SH: 3. Expand
  19. Mar 17, 2012
    8
    My introduction to the Silent Hill mythos was Homecoming which I had completely enjoyed I feel Downpour is a great addition to the survival horror genre. I won't mention the main technical flaws that have been covered immensely, but those flaws did not sway my reasoning for liking this game. The main reason why I am liking this game (I'm not all the way through) are the little thingsMy introduction to the Silent Hill mythos was Homecoming which I had completely enjoyed I feel Downpour is a great addition to the survival horror genre. I won't mention the main technical flaws that have been covered immensely, but those flaws did not sway my reasoning for liking this game. The main reason why I am liking this game (I'm not all the way through) are the little things that are used to convey fright and fear. The sound of children's ghostly laughter, crying, and talking added an element which gave the game the atmosphere which I crave in these types of games. I've read about how some players aren't enjoying the lack of weapon carrying and breakage of weapon. The game designer has said in interviews that he wanted to bring back a more realistic feel when it comes to weapon inventory. I agree in this case and that is what is needed in the horror survival game. The element of rain was amazing in Downpour that gave the game a horror film feel allowing the player the choice of seeking shelter to avoid enemies or pushing forward and taking their chances with said enemies. Downpour is a rare game in that it's freaking me out more than with other games. It has a Jacob's Ladder feel to me. The combat is a bit loose, but I accepted that because our main character, Murphy, is not a combat leaning character. SH: Homecoming's combat was more tighter because its main character, Alex, is trained in combat. Downpour is a nice addition to the horror survival genre and I'm hoping more people give this game a chance before condemning it. Expand
  20. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Why all the negative reviews? I don't see what they are talking about. This game is fantastic. It's atmosphere is great. It's like an alternate version of Alan Wake. It is not perfect with its frame rate dips every now and then, and the fog can't seem to make up its mind weather it wants to fade closer or farther away, but this is a good game. The graphics are great! They are far fromWhy all the negative reviews? I don't see what they are talking about. This game is fantastic. It's atmosphere is great. It's like an alternate version of Alan Wake. It is not perfect with its frame rate dips every now and then, and the fog can't seem to make up its mind weather it wants to fade closer or farther away, but this is a good game. The graphics are great! They are far from lousy. It looks like any other recent console game. It is very scenic! Calming and creepy at the same time. There are fixed camera areas which I don't like, but its fine. My only complaint is you can't save whenever you want. Only at checkpoints. The game deserves a higher score from all the well known review sites. The combat is fine. Quit nit picking. How is it dull or boring? I love walking around and exploring. It's got a lot more going for it than most games lately. 10/10 Expand
  21. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    I don't know why everyone is bashing this game it's amazing and the best silent hill since the room. Visuals are outstanding and the creepy silent hill atmosphere is finally revived and the game play is amazing although the combat system is a bit clunky but the silent hill series has always been bad in this regard since the first entry in the series. As for the story it's reallyI don't know why everyone is bashing this game it's amazing and the best silent hill since the room. Visuals are outstanding and the creepy silent hill atmosphere is finally revived and the game play is amazing although the combat system is a bit clunky but the silent hill series has always been bad in this regard since the first entry in the series. As for the story it's really interesting and i love the decision making system where your action decides the outcome if the story. Finally the replay value of this game is also great as there many side quests you can find in this game so you can play 2-3 times easily to try different decisions and find new side quests you might have missed. Silent hill fans please buy this game or rent it at least it deserves it. Expand
  22. Apr 7, 2012
    8
    Okay! I just finished the game yesterday. First of all, the critics have their heads so far up their behinds that they can't see in front of them much less seeing a good game to know it. This is the best Silent Hill, in my humble opinion, since Silent Hill 3. However, the PS3 version has some serious performance issues, lag being the worst of all. Another issue were glitchy saveOkay! I just finished the game yesterday. First of all, the critics have their heads so far up their behinds that they can't see in front of them much less seeing a good game to know it. This is the best Silent Hill, in my humble opinion, since Silent Hill 3. However, the PS3 version has some serious performance issues, lag being the worst of all. Another issue were glitchy save checkpoints. For example, I ran into one area, and the game had to load, then when I took a few steps, it had to load AGAIN just to put me at the same place it had just started me. On a good note, this game has plenty of references to previous games and plays in the same spirit as the previous games. Die-hard fans will be upset that the music for this game was composed by a different person. But in all fairness, I like this guys musical score just as much or maybe even a little bit better than the previous guy. The game offers plenty of puzzles, chases through maze-like maps, freaky moments, and just about everything all the other best Silent Hill games have offered. My advice to the critics: If you like the first game that much, just keep playing the first game if you cannot give a more accurate review to the later games. Expand
  23. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Silent Hill is back with Downpour.
    All those things that we missed in previous games are here again.
    The characters, the fog, the story, the gore, everything is back. This is what all SH fans have been waiting for. It may have some bug or a bit of lag, but it can be repared witch an update of the game. Silent Hill is not about gameplay...is about story and ambience. And this one has
    Silent Hill is back with Downpour.
    All those things that we missed in previous games are here again.
    The characters, the fog, the story, the gore, everything is back.
    This is what all SH fans have been waiting for.
    It may have some bug or a bit of lag, but it can be repared witch an update of the game.
    Silent Hill is not about gameplay...is about story and ambience.
    And this one has everything it needs to become the best Silent Hill since the first games of the saga (because SH2 or SH1 are so good that any other SH will be better than them).
    Expand
  24. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Great game.. I think its the best one in the series since Silent hill 2,3 , the graphics are kinda good, combat is OK , and the game is scaries than Dead Space. and while the game have some technial issues/bug, i still think its an amazing game.

    PS: i had to give this game a perfect 10 to counter all those trolls one the forums that said they will rate this game 0 , my real score is 8/10
  25. Mar 22, 2012
    8
    Havent played a Silent Hill since The Room. I never cared for the Room but this was highly enjoyable.

    Tons of secrets and sidequests, interesting version of hell and new combat system make this highly enjoyable. Some crap: Graphics are deffinately getting dated for this gen, little to no direction for sidequests, enemies are kinda boring, seemed sort of easy Positive: New combat
    Havent played a Silent Hill since The Room. I never cared for the Room but this was highly enjoyable.

    Tons of secrets and sidequests, interesting version of hell and new combat system make this highly enjoyable. Some crap: Graphics are deffinately getting dated for this gen, little to no direction for sidequests, enemies are kinda boring, seemed sort of easy

    Positive: New combat system/inventory system, intuitive controls, water/elemental motif is a welcome change, new sidequests all through out town, cool secrets making references to past games
    Collapse
  26. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    Grabbing your attention from the start we find Murphy Pendleton, a prisoner, to be morally ambiguous. Is Murphy a good guy in a bad situation...a good guy who got off track or a bad guy from the start? These are the questions that follow you throughout the game as even the loading screen seems to taunt you with accusations of "Why are you lying?" and "Was it worth it?".

    What and who
    Grabbing your attention from the start we find Murphy Pendleton, a prisoner, to be morally ambiguous. Is Murphy a good guy in a bad situation...a good guy who got off track or a bad guy from the start? These are the questions that follow you throughout the game as even the loading screen seems to taunt you with accusations of "Why are you lying?" and "Was it worth it?".

    What and who Murphy is will be determined by you...by the choices you make and in how you play the game. With quite a few sidequests in a free roam environment and several different endings the game warrants more than one playthrough. While the puzzles and chase scenes can sometimes seem daunting, completing these challenges (which sometimes takes patience) will leave you with a feeling of great accomplishment. Nothing less than a pleasant surprise and a pure pleasure.
    Expand
  27. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Silent hill is my favorite video game series.I consider most of the games excellent with the best being 1,2,3 and Homecoming.So i am not new to the series,since I have been playing these games since the release of the original Silent Hill and have not missed a game since.Now let's start with Downpour.I have been playing like crazy since the release and I can say I am hooked.It is theSilent hill is my favorite video game series.I consider most of the games excellent with the best being 1,2,3 and Homecoming.So i am not new to the series,since I have been playing these games since the release of the original Silent Hill and have not missed a game since.Now let's start with Downpour.I have been playing like crazy since the release and I can say I am hooked.It is the scariest,creepiest and most 'deep' SH since SH2-3.The environments are really well-designed and evoke feelings of fear and anxiety.If you play the game by yourself in total darkness you will know what I mean.The immersion is really great here.Some jump scares really made me jump too!The music and overall sound is excellent (and that comes from someone who LOVES Yamaoka's work). No one will be disappointed. The game provides the best plot and main character since SH2.Murphy is maybe the most interesting main character of the series and is by far the most expressive.The monsters are not THAT great but are decent and quite scary/disturbing and provide some nasty surprises.Combat is a bit 'weak' at times but not as bad as they say.Fans of real survival horror will not have any problem,it just isn't like a modern action game's combat.The other-world is really well designed and creepy/confusing and will play with your mind a lot.The chase sequences are much better than Shattered memories and are a nice touch to the experience rather than a pain in the butt.The bad thing with the game is the frame rate drop but I hope they will fix it soon ( it is not TOO bad btw,just annoying).The city itself is carefully designed and really atmospheric and creepy (as most places you will explore).The side quests are a nice surprise too,with some of them being quite puzzling or frightening.The game also has a lot of cool moments to spare ( like the 'train' sequence and many more).In conclusion if you want a game with great story,excellent main character ( and character development),creepy atmosphere,cool soundtrack and nice exploration and don't mind some technical issues you will love Downpour.In my opinion it is the best SH since SH2.Just have some patience and don't dwell in the past and you will have a really great experience. Expand
  28. Apr 20, 2012
    9
    O jogo está bom justamente porque manteve-se fiel às raízes da série. O problema é que muitas vezes os jogadores esperam que a evolução do jogo traga uma mudança drástica na mecânica do jogo. Silent Hill é isso aí queO jogo está bom justamente porque manteve-se fiel às raízes da série. O problema é que muitas vezes os jogadores esperam que a evolução do jogo traga uma mudança drástica na mecânica do jogo. Silent Hill é isso aí que vocês estão vendo, simples desse jeito. Graças a Deus que não se transformou em um jogo cheio de pancadaria ou tiros. Na boa quem estiver procurando mais combate, mais tiro e pancadaria, melhor procurar por Resident Evil, porque aqui o que temos é o bom e velho estilo Silent Hill de fazer terror, e que bom!
    --------------------------------------------
    Google translate:
    --------------------------------------------
    The game is good precisely because they stayed true to the roots of the series. The problem is that often the players expect the evolution of the game bring a drastic change in game mechanics. Silent Hill that's it you are seeing, simple like that. Thank God that did not turn into a game full of beatings or gunfire. In the good who are looking for more fighting, more shooting and beating, look for best Resident Evil, because here we have is the good old style of Silent Hill to terror, and that good!
    Expand
  29. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    Despite some technical problems, Silent Hill Downpour is one of my favorite western developed Silent Hill games. Memorable characters, beautiful music, eerie atmosphere and thought provoking symbolism. If you are looking for a true survival horror game then get this.
  30. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    It's safe to go back silent hill! Downpour feels very similar to the original silent hill games in that the creepy atmosphere is very terrifying, the puzzles are actually challenging, exploration is more prominent, etc. This game is so good I'm actually going to go so far as to say it rivals the third game in my opinion. Get it now!
  31. Mar 22, 2012
    0
    Havent played a Silent Hill since The Room. I never cared for the Room but this was highly enjoyable.

    Tons of secrets and sidequests, interesting version of hell and new combat system make this highly enjoyable. Some crap: Graphics are deffinately getting dated for this gen, little to no direction for sidequests, enemies are kinda boring, seemed sort of easy Positive: New combat
    Havent played a Silent Hill since The Room. I never cared for the Room but this was highly enjoyable.

    Tons of secrets and sidequests, interesting version of hell and new combat system make this highly enjoyable. Some crap: Graphics are deffinately getting dated for this gen, little to no direction for sidequests, enemies are kinda boring, seemed sort of easy

    Positive: New combat system/inventory system, intuitive controls, water/elemental motif is a welcome change, new sidequests all through out town, cool secrets making references to past games
    Collapse
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. Hyper Magazine
    May 14, 2012
    60
    A remarkably ugly game. [June 2012, p.60]
  2. 60
    Silent Hill Downpourit's a good game, despite all of its flaws, but desperately needs new mechanics.
  3. Apr 29, 2012
    60
    It may be a visually sound package that throws a few unique spins on the Silent Hill template, though the sometimes awkward puzzles and irredeemably abysmal combat are enough to drag Downpour down the gutter and towards mediocrity.