Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: On a clandestine mission deep into Russian territory, an American black ops team crash lands on an island research base that was mysteriously abandoned in the 1950’s. Cut off from the outside and under attack by an army of nightmarish creatures, Captain Nathaniel Renko is forced to battleOn a clandestine mission deep into Russian territory, an American black ops team crash lands on an island research base that was mysteriously abandoned in the 1950’s. Cut off from the outside and under attack by an army of nightmarish creatures, Captain Nathaniel Renko is forced to battle his way through the hostile territory armed with the TMD (Time Manipulation Device) – a time altering weapon created over 50 years ago. Who created the TMD and why is just one of the many Cold War secrets Renko must uncover as he is thrown back and forth across time, making choices that will alter the course of world history. [Raven Software] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Innovative time-altering mechanics and a great story make Singularity a refreshing action experience that will stand the test of time - unlike those poor Russians we slaughter.
  2. 87
    Singularity is a solid FPS with a working gimmick and a solid narrative.
  3. Singularity is a pleasant surprise. It could have been an average first person shooter game, but it has turned out to be a great game, with gameplay and visuals that deserve praise.
  4. Singularity is a solid SP-Shooter with some technical issues and many good ideas that haven't been pushed to their limits. It's still worth your time if you're in search for a decent story and some nice new gameplay-elements, but definitely not something anyone HAS to own.
  5. It looks good, plays great, has an above average story, but never manages to be better than the game(s) that inspired it.
  6. With a bit more ingenuity in the puzzles, more made of the time travel and a little more graphical "oomph", Raven and Activision could have had a real gem on their hands. It's still well worth a look though.
  7. Even if it won't go down in history, Singularity will delight horrific shooter fans, especially those who are now fed up with Rapture and Black Mesa.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have always been a huge fan of time travel in sci-fi, and when I heard about this game I had to get it. I spent days playing this game while eating cookie dough ice cream, and I have to say it was well worth it.

    For starters the graphics are outstanding, when I play the game I feel like I am inside a messed up world, and the graphics alone will drag you in.

    The time travel mechanics work well here, and the game forces you to think about fighting in two different time lines, and it's a very enjoyable feature, and it keeps the game from becoming boring. For example you could be walking though an abandoned warehouse, when suddenly your transported to the 1950's warehouse full of enemy soliders. I also like the idea of what happens in the past effects the future, so when you are teleported to the 50's you can destroy something and then you can go back to the future and you'll find it open. You can also use time travel mechanics to repair things such as stairs and doors. The game also gives you a choice, and the ending is epic.

    It shocked me that the player character was responsible for the entire singularity event.


    Overall the game is amazing, if you liked bioshock and timespltters this game is a must.
    Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2012
    9
    Bought this game for £5 & thoroughly enjoyed it! It is similar to Bioshock, Wolfenstein & FEAR, & is a lot of fun. On the multiplayerBought this game for £5 & thoroughly enjoyed it! It is similar to Bioshock, Wolfenstein & FEAR, & is a lot of fun. On the multiplayer side, there are better shooters, but If you enjoy single player story mode then it's definitely worth a shot. Considering the price you can get it for now, it is a must buy in my opinion Collapse
  3. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    It was awhile ago I played this game, but remember it being surprisingly good as I wasn't expecting much from the mediocre reviews. ItIt was awhile ago I played this game, but remember it being surprisingly good as I wasn't expecting much from the mediocre reviews. It definitely took some notes from the Bioshock playbook especially with the audio logs randomly strewn out. It is basically a time-traveling Bioshock and it is definitely good enough to be in the same discussion as Bioshock. The biggest thing I remember is the story. It was one of the better ones this gen. You would enjoy this as well if you liked the Dead Space series. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2010
    8
    Singularity, is a title that if you have exhausted many FPS' you may want to get. It is not very original, but it does give some solid shooterSingularity, is a title that if you have exhausted many FPS' you may want to get. It is not very original, but it does give some solid shooter action. I know the game is advertised for having the TMD and that it is riveting to use. I don't see it as a very different and new thing. It is practically the only element of this game that makes it different from Bioshock. (which I loved) It actually does somewhat remind me of a perk. So don't get me wrong I very much did like playing the campaign. The only thing is the factor of originality. Which is becoming a struggle in many games. But if you want a good solid first person shooter and don't care about originality, this is a decent game. Also, the online is a replica of Left 4 Dead, but it is somewhat bland. Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    this game was kind of one of thoose suprise games . i saw activision and FPS and figured oh great another POS COD clone , just what i dontthis game was kind of one of thoose suprise games . i saw activision and FPS and figured oh great another POS COD clone , just what i dont want or need. saw it was down to only $15 new and read some reviews and decided to give it a try and you know it s pretty good game. the graphics arn't to bad nothing steller the gun play is about the same but where the game kicks it up in its game play is the use of the powers you get and it makes the game feel abit differnt . the story is not half bad it was just intresting enough to make me want to know what was going to happen next. the gun selection is nothing special and its all pretty much the same stuff we've seen before . some of the creatures are pretty cool and the game is about 8 hours long and for $15 i thought it was worth it. it's atleast worth that or a rental. Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2011
    8
    Singularity is atmospheric and cool, while is not a big FPS breakdown , its decent. The control layout is similar to other FPS. The graphicsSingularity is atmospheric and cool, while is not a big FPS breakdown , its decent. The control layout is similar to other FPS. The graphics are passable, but very crude. Still , Raven needed to work more harder if they wanted to stay ( not in top) but in the level of renown franchise if they wanted to triumph more. Expand
  7. Oct 16, 2011
    4
    This game has a lot of stuff, but is still basic FPS shooter. The enemies aren't interesting, weapons aren't anything special or feel neitherThis game has a lot of stuff, but is still basic FPS shooter. The enemies aren't interesting, weapons aren't anything special or feel neither powerful or weak. The game is also short. I recommend this game only for rent, because it has no replay value, if not counting three different endings. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews