Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    86
    It may be simple in presentation, but the execution is near flawless, and all the extra content shows a great level of dedication on the part of the developers. Skylanders is certainly a full and unique gaming experience.
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    85
    All told, Skylanders is responsible for hours and hours of enjoyment in my house.
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    83
    The developers did put a large amount of effort into creating an appealing world for all ages, there's a surprising amount of depth and longevity, the technical elements and control are good, and the humor is a nice touch. There are a few obvious problems but it could be a real gem for the intended audience.
  4. Enjoyable enough that adult gamers won't mind playing along. [Jan 2012, p.87]
  5. Nov 11, 2011
    80
    A fun and lighthearted action RPG for kids ages 5 and up where you control Spyro and his friends as they battle the evil Kaos. The unique toy based character system, where each game character corresponds to a unique plastic toy, makes playing at your friend's house easy, though the cost of buying all the optional figures is substantial.
  6. Nov 5, 2011
    80
    Yes, ultimately the content in the game is already on the disc and you have to pay money to unlock it, which sounds like BS. But even without the extras, Skylanders is a pretty substantial action game for kids (with a small cast). It's fun, it's challenging, the story is cute, and there is co-op.
  7. Oct 26, 2011
    80
    This one is a must buy for kids, it's the ultimate RPG for our younger gamers. Furthermore the game has a whole new element: the portal of power. For the first time one can put little characters on the portal and play with them inmediately in the game.
  8. Oct 17, 2011
    80
    Armed with a nice roster of characters, Skylanders is an engrossing experience. Outside of an odd difficulty spike at the end and a few less-than-polished moments, the game hits its target. If I were a kid, I have no doubt I'd be saving my pennies to buy more Skylanders. However, as an adult, it's hard not to feel manipulated.
  9. Oct 14, 2011
    80
    Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure uses a new peripheral, which looks and works fine, but you have to buy all the other characters, there are no in game unlocks. Still, it's fun to summon new characters by using a peripheral or play local (coop or versus) with friends. Unfortunately, the game offers little freedom, doesn't really make use of the PS3's graphics capabilities and is rather on the easy side (though that may be age-appropriate). All these quibbles aside, the game is simply fun. The story and storytelling are nice and thus you'll keep on playing, forgetting time.
  10. Activision knows how to promote a product. There are ads running on every kids channel right now trying to convince them that Skylanders is the must-have game. Admittedly, the idea of the figurines is quite neat, but the game itself is nothing to get excited about. [December 2011, p.96]
  11. Nov 16, 2011
    75
    Skylanders Spyro's Adventures is a simple game with a gimmick attached, but it's a pretty good gimmick. All things taken into consideration the whole package scores a 75%, but add 15% to that if you're eight.
  12. Nov 15, 2011
    73
    Long, unskippable cutscenes, an irritating camera and overall easiness keep an otherwise great co-op experience from reaching the top.
  13. Nov 28, 2011
    70
    As a game designed to appeal to young boys and sell more merchandise, Skylanders achieves its goals. In the annals of games as marketing tools though, it isn't as compelling as classics like Cool Spot or Chex Quest.
  14. Nov 23, 2011
    70
    Skylanders a charming game with a fascinating toy tie-in, but there isn't much here to offer to older gamers.
  15. Nov 14, 2011
    70
    For the children, Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure is like a dream, but is also far too simple.
  16. 70
    Without plastic figures, Skylanders would have been a lot less interesting. But the way the developers have managed to include them in every aspect of the game makes it a surprisingly positive experience.
  17. Nov 29, 2011
    60
    But if you want to play with your children, and they have a few friends whose parents were willing to buy them some additional figurines, then you might be able to get some decent fun out of it. For everyone else, though, Skylanders is a pass.
  18. Oct 24, 2011
    60
    The 8 to 12 years old kids can easily add 10 points to our review score, which reflects the less transgenerational qualities of Skylanders when compared to Pokémon. But the concept alone, with its little monster toys, works perfectly well, and even on a 34 years old like me... I'm going to keep playing with my kids. Their eyes simply spark when I put a toy on the portal and it materializes in the game!
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 6 out of 13
  1. Oct 16, 2011
    10
    Although geared for a younger crowd, very enjoyable. Nice idea for expanding and continuing game.. Simple and just plain fun. I wish more than 2 could play and sad you have to buy new characters but my sons and I thoroughly enjoy the game and look forward to more characters and more adventures Full Review »
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    A friend of mine but the $70 game for his kids. Within a week they were begging for more characters. Those characters (the little guys you place on the base pad) cost $15-$50 depending on which character it is are and where you get them.

    Think of this as Pokemon at $20 a card.

    Your kids are going to want to collect them so every time you go into a store, they are going to be asking for new ones. Different stores carry different versions. There are some versions that are exclusive to Target, GameStop, Toys R Us and so on.

    If you look on the gaming sights you will see most rank the gameplay around as mediocre and nothing new. So you are paying $70 for an average game that you will later pay $100s to add on to.


    This game is more expensive than most games and a lower quality product as far as the gameplay itself goes. You are paying more and getting less. If you want to add to the gameplay you have to pay more money to add more characters. Which increases the cost.

    Lets make a comparison a bit more clear.

    Skylander - $70 with an average user rating of 6.4/10 on Metacritic.

    Lego Batman - $18 with an average user rating of 8.4/10 on Metacritic.

    LEGO Star Wars III: The Clone Wars - $20 with an average user rating of 7.3/10 on Metacritic.

    LittleBigPlanet Game of the Year Edition (my son's personal favorite) - $21 with an average user rating of 8.7/10 on Metacritic

    Three games that are $50 less and have much better ratings

    All the reviews talk about buying the extra characters to make the game fun. So lets say you spend $30 on characters. You know have a game you paid $70 for and then another $30 to upgrade totalling $100 to make it almost as fun as a game you could have bought for $20 that doesn't need upgrades to be good.


    My advice, don't let your kids near this thing and don't waste your money.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    This is a really fun game. Gave it as a gift to my nephews and played for a while them. Great to see how much they liked the toys and being able to play with them both in the game and out. For me, being a fan of dungeon crawlers, I was happily surprised by how satisfying the game was and how enjoyable it was to level up my little toys. Best gift ever for kids. Full Review »