Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure PlayStation 3

Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The small purple dragon returns, bringing with him new friends in this peripheral-based adventure.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
E3 2011: Skylanders: Spyro's Adventure - Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 18, 2011
    86
    It may be simple in presentation, but the execution is near flawless, and all the extra content shows a great level of dedication on the part of the developers. Skylanders is certainly a full and unique gaming experience.
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    83
    The developers did put a large amount of effort into creating an appealing world for all ages, there's a surprising amount of depth and longevity, the technical elements and control are good, and the humor is a nice touch. There are a few obvious problems but it could be a real gem for the intended audience.
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    80
    A fun and lighthearted action RPG for kids ages 5 and up where you control Spyro and his friends as they battle the evil Kaos. The unique toy based character system, where each game character corresponds to a unique plastic toy, makes playing at your friend's house easy, though the cost of buying all the optional figures is substantial.
  4. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jan 2, 2012
    76
    Activision knows how to promote a product. There are ads running on every kids channel right now trying to convince them that Skylanders is the must-have game. Admittedly, the idea of the figurines is quite neat, but the game itself is nothing to get excited about. [December 2011, p.96]
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    73
    Long, unskippable cutscenes, an irritating camera and overall easiness keep an otherwise great co-op experience from reaching the top.
  6. Nov 23, 2011
    70
    Skylanders a charming game with a fascinating toy tie-in, but there isn't much here to offer to older gamers.
  7. Oct 24, 2011
    60
    The 8 to 12 years old kids can easily add 10 points to our review score, which reflects the less transgenerational qualities of Skylanders when compared to Pokémon. But the concept alone, with its little monster toys, works perfectly well, and even on a 34 years old like me... I'm going to keep playing with my kids. Their eyes simply spark when I put a toy on the portal and it materializes in the game!

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 18
  2. Negative: 8 out of 18
  1. Oct 16, 2011
    10
    Although geared for a younger crowd, very enjoyable. Nice idea for expanding and continuing game.. Simple and just plain fun. I wish more thanAlthough geared for a younger crowd, very enjoyable. Nice idea for expanding and continuing game.. Simple and just plain fun. I wish more than 2 could play and sad you have to buy new characters but my sons and I thoroughly enjoy the game and look forward to more characters and more adventures Collapse
  2. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    10 quick points on this game.
    1) This game is enjoyable.
    2) The character designs are excellent. 3) Got this game for my kids and I ended up
    10 quick points on this game.
    1) This game is enjoyable.
    2) The character designs are excellent.
    3) Got this game for my kids and I ended up playing this game with them and enjoyed it equally as much.
    4) I've never played a Spyro game. I typically play games like Borderlands or Final Fantasy. I really enjoyed the mixture of action and RPG.
    5) It's easy enough for a 5 or 7 year old to play, yet the trophy challenges make it fun for Dad to 100% the game.
    6) I actually thought while playing this that it would be cool if Final Fantasy did something similar with figures. They are well made and not cheap at all. The platform reacts immediately to one or two player adjustments.
    7) I saw a 1 rating on this game and thats just ridiculous. I'm not sure what game they played but its not this one. 8) You don't have to buy all the characters, the ones it comes with are sufficient to finish the game. To 100% the game you'll need 1 of each element, but still not "all" of them like mentioned by ccrogers15. Still great game with only the characters it comes with.
    9) The music, the scenery and controls are all great, no complaints.
    10) If you are buying this game as a Spyro game, then just use Spyro. You can beat this game with him alone. If you use the other characters, it becomes less of a Spyro game and more of a great action RPG. Its more like Skylanders with Spyro as a playable character. Extra Credit: A little deeper next time and longer and you'll have a Skylanders franchise. I want to give this game a 8.5 or 9 but the 1's are so unfair I'm giving it a 10 to assist the overall score of a very solid and worth while game.
    Expand
  3. Jul 12, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Okay, before I start review I want to give 2 things:
    1. Don't review this game if you haven't played it
    2. If you read the negative review of this game, read it carefully, as some people tend to dislike a game based on trailers.
    Okay we cool on that.
    Like Call Of Duty, this game's presentation is not very good, but only if we talk about Graphics. Music is pretty nicely done, so Presentation deservs an 8.
    Gameplay gets 9. If I am to describe Gameplay shortly, I would say It is a very very very simpified Diablo (Although I never played Diablo :-)). You must defeat enemies with skills that you learnt from a specific skill tree. For each of 32 characters, there is 1 skill tree with 2 branches, having a total of 64 diffrent characters with diffrent abilities. This game also feautres good multiplayer modes.
    now, if you are to play this game, I strongly recommend you to have at least 5 diffrent figures for player like I did with my friend, because final boss of the game is pretty hard, but very good one to test what you have learnt through out the game (even though this game features my least favorite villain of all time).
    Expand
  4. Dec 30, 2011
    6
    The game is really up in the air. To a gamer who fits in the target audience (pre-teenage), they will love it, and want to clear the storeThe game is really up in the air. To a gamer who fits in the target audience (pre-teenage), they will love it, and want to clear the store shelves of the characters (which on a side note, seems to be working as all the local stores around me are sold out). However, anyone older than that, or even a younger gamer who is experienced in platformers won't be blown away at all by this game. Each character has a limited set of attacks, which are mapped to multiple buttons. This is fine for younger gamers possibly making their first steps into gaming, but experienced gamers will cruise through this in seconds. To it's credit, the starter pack is enough to beat the game and nail every trophy that comes along with it, but you may be left wanting because of the extra sections that are scattered about. (Although, I might want to add that those sections are in all honesty, really small). Some may be turned down by the easiness of it, but again, this is a game for kids. One complaint I have is the animations. Some of the animations are downright awful (for example, look at your Skylander as he exits a cannon). Also, the lipsyncing is shoddy at best. In terms of it's credit as a "Spyro" game... I want to discredit it. This game is a game that just HAS Spyro in it. Sure, you can level him up and upgrade him to have some of his previous abilties, but for a long time Spyro fan since 1998, I left this game wanting... not more of the figures, but more of that classic Spyro platforming, which has all been chopped into bite sized pieces and strewn about the 8 elemental characters. No go if you want that classic Spyro feel, a go if you have a kid who has possibly never gotten into gaming ever before. They will love it, but they and their friends and parents who can play co-op with them, may be the only group of people that will adore this game. Expand
  5. May 8, 2014
    1
    I bought this game because I used to love Spyro in the 90's and yeah, it was my biggest regret yet; £60 in a puddle of Spyro's p***. I canI bought this game because I used to love Spyro in the 90's and yeah, it was my biggest regret yet; £60 in a puddle of Spyro's p***. I can understand this game is for children and for that reason I won't be so harsh on it.
    The developers (activision) want everyone's money and sell these tacky magnetic figurines for £15 a unit. The characters you purchase have moves and abilities which are quite cool but you will not need to use these; the first skill you acquire solves all your problems. when you have successfully completed the boring levels through out where ever the F*** you are, you will encounter the last boss which is a big step up from p*** easy. At this point your child will consider buying 10+ figurines so he can have extra lives on the boss, bare in mind it's £15 per figure.. give your child away and demand a refund for your game.
    I wouldn't even recommend this to a child I hated, it's a 1/10 from me. PS activision should keep off good game series and let them RIP. That is all.
    Expand
  6. Jan 27, 2012
    1
    This game is the worst game ive ever played. This 1, is not spyro. They only used the name spyro for it to sell. They should of left spyroThis game is the worst game ive ever played. This 1, is not spyro. They only used the name spyro for it to sell. They should of left spyro alone and started a new IP. But no, they yet again gotta ruin the spyro name. Why dont they learn and go back to the original spyro that always got good reviews. (not enter the dragonfly tho). Expand
  7. Aug 31, 2015
    0
    NO NO NO!!!! Why do they put "Spyro's adventure is" in the title when it has nothing to do with our beloved purple Dragon. I mean the legendNO NO NO!!!! Why do they put "Spyro's adventure is" in the title when it has nothing to do with our beloved purple Dragon. I mean the legend of Spyro three left a cliffhanger ending and the official guidebook that HINTED a fourth installment on page 163 the very last box said "in a final sacrifice, Spyro unleashes the fury within him, reversing Malefor's distraction. All is once more well in the world, what of our hero? Will he ever return? "Yes in a crappy game what's the name of a very loved character just slap on it for a cash grab." WHY did they use the name Spyro in the title!!?!?!? that is very misleading! I have seen the game play trailer but it didn't offer much information on how the game is played. I thought what the name "Spyro's adventures" it will be a game ABOUT Spyro, like Spyro was the default playable character animal statues you put on the portal unlock characters you can play as in unlock extra areas. The extra areas part was right but for characters of different elements and with figures be in $20 $30 a pack it's a money trap for parents to HAVE to buy another statue so their kid can get in the other area. It was amusing to have a voice actor for Invader Zim to voice the bad guy, but I feel like that's getting the A quick buck from the nostalgia of invader Zim fans. ( if you want your the storage of four invader Zim then get the comic books). why I feel that way? If you had clips of both invader Zim and Kaos talking but the screen be black and swap The dialogue where they refer to themselves in first person (when they call themselves by their own name) you really can't tell the difference between the characters.

    The story gets off chosen one syndrome the biggest cliché and children's entertainment. The gameplay was AGONIZING. The power ups not worth collecting. Combat system was just.......no...

    Spyro deserves better than to be a PLAYABLE CAMEO and what I mean is sky landers Spyro's adventures is to Spyro as sonic spin ball was to sonic. as in sonic spin ball was the game with sonic in it but it wasn't a sonic game just like This game is merely a game with Spyro in it.... but it is not a Spyro game like the title miss lead you to believe.
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews