User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 250 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 250

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    9
    This is Gabe N

    Welcome to Sly Cooper Thieves In Time

    After years in development, hopefully it was worth the wait.

    And my favorites class is the Sly

    Thanks, and have fun!
  2. Feb 23, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I previously gave this game a 7/10 and here are my reasons for lowering it. I said I liked the mechanics of the game and it does have fun gameplay, but this game has some really annoying flaws, first off this game is too easy. I don't even have to sneak around due to the dumb AI who forget you existed after being out of their reach for 5 seconds. the enemies don't even alert other guards. so the roaming around isn't as fun as it could be. but the bottles and treasures are very fun to hunt for I enjoyed that. However here is another flaw that made the game worse than it could be. the textures and buildings are repeated so often it seems they just copied and pasted them, for example the Arabia level, please go play that and see what i mean. the levels don't have many landmarks so i often end up lost (the exception is the prehistoric level) basically the levels are dry and repetitive. here's another good thing. the missions are very well done, although very easy (the exception the archery challenge in medieval England). i find most of the missions fun but it can be repetitive. the black knight boss battle (Penelope)is very fun and had to retry it once. and that is another con the boss battles are a breeze the final boss battle is just hitting triangle square circle and X, the worst part of the final boss battle is you have too much time to hit the buttons, plus if you accidentally hit a wrong button it still lets you try to hit the correct one. just really disappointing how lame the combat is the enemies and bosses totally blow. this game is not all bad but it seemed lazy. i want a sequel that is not as easy please make another one and make it good. final verdict is a 4/10 but that does not mean you can't enjoy some of the fun missions, and cool cooper ancestors. so go ahead and get this game and make your own opinion. enjoy. Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    Been playing this game with my kids, there are very few products that I can play with my children and we can both enjoy and feel challenged and have genuine fun playing. There are very few high quality products on the market like this. If you have kids and want something you can play and enjoy together, this might be one of the best games on the market.
  4. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    Its great, Its another sly game and it takes me back to a simpler, more fun time in gaming. but ultimately this game is even better on the vita. You see, i found that the ps3 game, while great, i would only spend a couple hours in it and then forget about it for weeks... but the vita version i play every day and cannot stop playing. the vita version runs at half the fps and has some milling effects but i just find it so much more engaging... so for ps3 8/10 for vita 10/10 Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    As a huge fan of the series' previous instalments I have been eagerly awaiting this game's release. Its justified too, because Sly's PS3 debut is as beautifully designed and giddyingly fun to play as the PS2 games, now sporting brilliant life-like textures and some seriously fun game play. This game won't be to all tastes but yet I am out of this game' target audience and I LOVE it regardless. Every ancestor and villain has a solid personality and is well designed. The only thing I can say I HATED was the boss battles, and its the only obstacle in the way of this scoring a perfect 10. They are annoyingly repetitive, and are a great shame as on PS2 the boss fights were one of the best bits. But Thieves in Time is enough to convince me that Sanzaru can do now wrong with the license, and if Sucker Punch doesn't want to return to this series (really looking unlikely) then, with a few tweaks to the gaming mechanics, this game is a great reason why we need even more Sly, possibly next-gen. Roll on Sly 5. Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    This is positively one of the top two Sly Cooper games EVER made. Though there are some things that may be bothersome at the beginning, you quickly get over them. The ancestors are all individual personalities, the story is, though slightly cliche, very well presented, and the writing makes you laugh (in a positive way) at every turn.

    This game is definitely a worthy successor of the
    original Sly Cooper series. Expand
  7. Mar 3, 2013
    9
    Let me say this game is terribly underrated. The mechanics are great, voice acting is superb, the story is well done, and the characters and humor are some of the most likeable, ever. The visuals are also gorgeous: while the art style and colors are unbeatable, I was expecting maybe slightly more detailed and advanced visuals from a ps3 Sly (ie fur physics, etc).
    So, everyone, go buy this
    game. IT'S ONLY FORTY EFFING DOLLARS FOR PS3 AND VITA COMBINED! Do you need any excuse not to buy this?
    One of the only ps2 style games left in this gen and onward. Please support games like this.
    Expand
  8. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Sly series is one of my faves, and probably the most underrated Playstation franchise. The characters are as charming as ever, with numerous hilarious lines and moments. But now there are ancestors to change up the gameplay even more. Don't worry; these aren't just reskins of Sly, they all play differently with unique moves and awesome special moves/stealth takedowns. The game boasts the best soundtrack of the 4 entries, the hub world themes are particularly good this time. The graphics are beautiful, sporting great particle effects and a cel-shaded style that'll look amazing for years and years.Unfortunately, they may be too beautiful, as drops in framerate happen way too often, and the loading times are ridiculous. In addition, the story could've been a lot stronger, especially the main villain. He isn't a terrible villain, but we know little about him 'til the end, and his final fight sucks in comparison to the rest in the game. Lastly, Carmelita doesn't look the way I think she should and Penelope's storyline is disappointing for many reasons. However, like I've shown with my score, the game's goodness far outweighs the flaws and is an incredible deal at $40. Expand
  9. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    The raccoon is back! New developer but the game is faithful to the original Sly games. Sly thieves in time is a safe buy if you liked the old sly games. The biggest flaw is the load times. Sly's load times are very very very long. But overall Thieves in Time has proved that Sly is still one of the best plat former games.
  10. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    Beautifully Crafted, with attention to all the small details. Multiple worlds to explore and collect in and a fantastic story line! Definitely my Game Of The Year!
  11. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Classic Sly. The gameplay, the characters, the charm-- nothing has changed. It's nice to see that Sony is keeping up with their best platformer franchise in a time when Crash, Jak, and Ratchet have been somewhat forgone. If you loved Sly 2 and 3 as I did, then this game is for you. Highly recommended for fans of platformer, stealth, and open-world gameplay.
  12. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    It's Sly Cooper, right to the heart, and it's perfect in that way! Those who have already played the serie will find all that make these games great and a little more, it's full of new and incredible characters, with each one with it's own personality and moves, new places to explore (and believe me they are beautiful) and some of the most incredible cutscene to come to life in this generation, beautiful and fun to watch. This is an incredible platform game, for those who love the genre wait no longer! Expand
  13. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    Sly is back and better then ever. The best one yet and the vita version is nearly identical to the ps3 version. Reviewers hating on this game saying its not innovative.You don't need to change what is fun, because most of the time you when you try to change a game you screw it up. I applaud you Sanzaru you definitely know how to make a good game.
  14. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    If you liked the old games, you will love the game. The game is true to the series in all aspects. The charm of the characters carry this game. The gameplay is fun and really brings back old-school sly. The ancestors and costumes bring some new things and its great.
  15. Feb 20, 2013
    4
    What is with this installment of Sly Cooper? It's as if it's been made for a six year old child. I admit I'm only barely into it but I'm already considering trading it in because I can't see me spending too many more hours being held by the hand through a series of absurdly simplistic and boring missions only to end in a crazy, monotonous, suddenly completely difficult boss battle. It really shows that Sucker Punch was not involved this time around. There are way too many cut scenes and all the enemies are completely stupid with no AI whatsoever. If you aren't standing directly in the yellow circle caused by the lamp they are holding they don't know you're there even if you're jumping up and down smashing things making all sorts of noise. I hope this gets better and I can come back here and edit this review with some more favorable comments, but having played the previous three installments with much enjoyment, I'm really sensing a dud here. Expand
  16. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    The game play is really old fashion and that's really nice, just being young again and play sly cooper again but then in HD. I liked it very much that you travel back in time to see your ancestors and at the exact same point where Sucker Punch left. Also if you think they make a new Sly Cooper game I tought they will ruin the series but I think they did a pretty good job. If you go on thiefnet it's nice to that you can see what you have bought and now what you can do.It's a great story and I hope there wel be a second Sly Cooper game for the ps3. What I didn't like is the fact that you have to wait like 30 seconds to go just in the hideout, for example if you're Bentley and you want next to play with Sly you lose 1 minute and for a gamer that is a lot of time. Also you'll see that you can step trough plants and for working so long on a game that isn't excatly that long I would like to see more perfection. The levels aren't that long as well if you say I'll just do all the mission and I won't gether any coins or bottles you can complete one episode in a little 2 hours and the boss fights aren't as fun like in Sly Cooper 1,2 and 3. But generaly they did a great job and I'll play it really a lot times if I got the chance. Expand
  17. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    The wonderful thieving raccoon is finally back after seven and a half years, and I think that it's almost as good as the originals despite it being developed by a different developer. If you're a fan of the previous games like me, you'll have no problems with any of the gameplay mechanics, everything is the same as Sly 2 and 3 with the exception of the abilities purchased from thiefnet. However, I didn't like a few of the small changes like the very small amount of hooks to swing from and not being able to map abilities to the L1, L2 and R2 buttons. Sly's gameplay is a little better because of the addition of the costumes that he gets in each era though. All minor flaws aside, the platforming gameplay is as great and fun as it was and still is. I liked pretty much everything else in the game too, especially the story. It's just a simple story that obviously continues from Sly 3. The only big problems I had with game at all were the load times and occasional framerate drops. The loading times are just ridiculous, sometimes I've had to wait thirty seconds or more for the game to load. The framerate drops are annoying as well, the framerate is usually fantastic, but every now and then it will just drop for a few seconds and it's just something that I found to be a little bit annoying. Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is a truly fantastic game and a game that's worthy of being in the Sly Cooper franchise. A few minor annoyances can't slow it down, it's still a great game, and any Sly Cooper fan must have it and any gamer would find it to be a great experience. Expand
  18. Feb 19, 2013
    8
    When i first heard that sanzaru games was developing this game and not suker punch i was a little worried that it wouldnt be that great, but i was proved wrong this is a great game but there is a few things that arent so great like how they walk around talking to them and the things that they say just doesnt sound like somthing they would say in the first 3 but that is somthing that can be ignored. but all in all sanzaru games did an asome job with this game. Expand
  19. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    It's almost unnatural to have so much fun from a kids game. Reminds me so much about good old Playstation 1 days with Crash collecting apples and Spyro collecting diamonds)))
    The main goal of the game is to make you feel fun while playing it. You may criticize it for having a strange plot, not brilliant voice acting, but the gameplay is solid and, frankly, that's the only thing you'll
    want from a cartoonish stealth game) Expand
  20. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    This game sucks. I missed old sly games. They were better. This one so childish. Waist of money. Hope I did not get it. It is so over rated. Old school Sly was the best. I prefer Sly Cooper 2 over this.
  21. Jun 14, 2013
    6
    Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is the return of Sly and his gang, as they take on another adventure this time through time. The story in Thieves in Time is not all that important but stills has great character and some funny jokes. The new cast of characters are interesting but the main villain is a bit one-dimensional. The gameplay in Thieves in Time is the game's strong suit. The platforming is better than ever, throwing new and inventive ways of getting from point A to point B. The game does feel a bit to easy at some points, but then the game throws a difficulty spike out of nowhere just to make the game more challenging. The boss fights seem to be the most balanced, as you have to learn their strategies to beat them. Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time feels like a throw back to the old Sly Cooper games, it doesn't do anything new to change the series, but still maintains all the fun of the original trilogy. Expand
  22. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    At its core, the Sly Cooper games are platformers, but the last few installments have strayed towards action-adventure. And Sky Cooper: Thieves in Time captures that perfectly. Developer Sanzaru Games didn't develop the original three PS2 Sly games, but they definitely know what they are doing. From the beautiful cel shaded graphics to the fluid animations, Sly Cooper is a PS3/Vita title that deserves more credit than it receives. Along with Jak and Ratchet, Sly was part of Sony's "Big 3" of gaming during the PS2 days. Of those three, Sly was probably the most deservent of a sequel, and now after his eight year absence from the gaming scene, he is getting one that is worthy of Sucker Punch's originals. And with a cliffhanging ending, this may not be the last time we see Sly Cooper, the master thief, in action. Expand
  23. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. It was worth waiting for sure. This game is a masterpiece. It was worth waiting for sure. This game is a masterpiece. It was worth waiting for sure.
  24. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    Honestly i never understood why critics always gave the sly games low scores like 7s or low 8s compare to jak or ratchet and clank the same thing goes with the new entry thieves in time. Its honestly a outstanding game with tons of stuff to do and really brings me back to the old sly 2 days.
  25. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Story has some issues, but with overwhelming characters, awesome gameplay and top notch voice acting, Makes the game awesome. Not online it has a lot of content but is a pretty lengthy campaign.
  26. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    First off, I made this account purely to review this amazing game. Now before I actually start the review I'd like to get this off my chest. Many "game journalists" have been complaining about the game stating that it's not innovative enough and it doesn't progress the franchise forward. That is complete bull. There hasn't been ANY games in the Sly Cooper Franchise for 8 years. When there hasn't been a new game for so long, all fans want is just another entry in the series. If this were a yearly or bi-yearly such as Call of Duty or Assassin's Creed then I would completely understand the criticism. A new developer gets the reins and crafts a game that completely captures the soul and essence of the original three. Literally everything that made the originals so great has returned. And I couldn't be happier as a long-time fan. It has the same core concepts, charming humor, tight controls, wonderful artstyle and fantastic stealth platforming you can expect. The combat is not very good, but this is a stealth game so you aren't supposed to be fighting anybody anyways. You're able to get out of alert very quickly and easily. The fact that this game cost 40$ is just the cherry on top. So many collectibles allows for hours upon hours of fun and enjoyment. Cartoonish animations and graphics will make this game age like fine wine. The long loading times and minor ticks prevent this game from being a 10 out of 10, though. I suggest this game to anyone that enjoys platformers, stealth games, or adventure games. Don't be put-off by this seemingly childish game. I haven't had this much fun with any videogame since Super Mario Galaxy. Expand
  27. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Sly and the gang is back! This has filled a hole in the genre left for over 5 years. It brings back the classic stealth game play and humor much loved by fans and absolutely blew the doors off the visuals. Sly has never looked or played so good. I hope that this is just the beginning of the franchise coming back to us gamers.
  28. Feb 10, 2013
    6
    The game is well made, perfect blend of all the great Cooper games, but it does get boring after a couple of hours and the childish tone doesn't allow me to take the game too seriously.
  29. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    This is an outstanding game! I really thought this game was going to be a horrible game because of Sanzaru taking charge ,but once I played the game it reassured me this was going to be a fun ride. The boss fights are fun and are different in many ways. The 3 hacking mini games will give some variety to the game and don't over welcome their stay. There is a lot of replay value with tons of collectables if that's what you're looking for. The cell-shaded graphics make the locations look absolutely beautiful. I highly recommend getting this game as it is a bang for your buck for $40.00 cash! Expand
  30. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    7 years after Sly Cooper 3, the master thief is back again. This game is so awesome, just like the 3 others. Sanzaru Games has done a great job. Buy this game, and hopefully we'll have another Sly game
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    60
    Sly is back and we applaud that, kind of. The game is outdated, too simple and too childish. It’s a good deal that you can buy the PS3 and Vita version for the same price, so that offers twice the amount of fun.
  2. The return of Sly Cooper not only signals the return of a classic franchise, but also the return of a classic, almost forgotten genre: the 3D-platformer. Fans can rejoice, because it feels like Sly never truly left the building. [April 2013, p.71]
  3. Apr 13, 2013
    81
    Sly hits the current generation with charm, variety and humour in spades. An excellent return. [May 2013, p.80]