User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 250 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 250

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 23, 2014
    9
    sly cooper thieves in time is worthy of the sly name despite it not being from sucker punch this game is really true to the original 3 games. in this game Bentley discovers that the thevious racoonis pages are dissapearing. so he tells sly and then sly and the gang use Bentley's time machine to go back in time and fix the past. the game is really fun nice call backs to the previous games and a little nostalgia here and there but not overboard. the real "gimmick" to this game is the chance to play as sly's ancestors, each have there own ability that can help you progress the game. even though this game is pretty good it does have its flaws. one is the load times can be pretty long and there is quite a number of them. second the last area of the game and final boss is anti-climatic. but in spite those flaws the game is a pretty good game and if you are a fan of the sly games you should get it and even if your not get it anyway it will be worth it. Expand
  2. PMG
    Jan 25, 2014
    9
    This game may not be as good as the first Sly games, but i don't care. After 8 years of waiting, i was satisfied. The ability to play as Sly's ancestors was a great addition, especially Rioichi. The combat was tight as ever, the charactars are joyfull and the artstyle reminds me of nothing but good memories. My only problem is that the game is really short, and even that is made of for with good missions and colletables. A great way to make Sly even better! Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2014
    0
    What do you get when Duke Nukum Forever and Banjo Kazooie Nuts and Bolts have a baby together? You get Sly 4: Thieves in Time (A.K.A) THE WORST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED IN MY LIFE!! I was a fool for ever thinking that this was going to be a great game from the start, I absolutely hate it! This abomination of a game has horrible loading screens, horrible writing, completely out of characters that CONSTANTLY told jokes to no end, had relentless hacking missions, the game was too easy, the game felt rushed, the plot twist was like a middle finger to the face, the final boss was a joke, and it overall completely ruined the entire Sly Cooper franchise for me! Sure the graphics were nicely detailed, it was fun playing as Sly's ancestors, and the costumes were okay...but that still does not save the game from its obvious flaws because in order to have a great game you need BOTH good gameplay and writing!!! How could you Sanzaru??? You single handedly ruined my favorite series of all time and my life!! I hate this game soooo much!!! If I must....I recommend this game to little kids who have no idea what Sly Cooper is about and as for anyone who has grown up with the series...... stay away as far as possible from this game and anyone who has this game should immediately burn it so it will never see the light of day!!!!! Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2014
    9
    I've enjoyed the Sly franchise since a was a kid. But this game blew my mind! It's awesome! The story is good but short. I've had a lot of fun with Sly´s ancestors. It's expensive for a game like this.
  5. Jan 14, 2014
    9
    Alright, it doesn't do anything wrong, in fact it does almost everything right. But it was played much too safe for my liking, nothing really spectacular was added since the third game, but it's still fun.
    The very second I beat Sly 3, I knew that I would be playing as his ancestors in the next game, but the settings, while interesting and nice to look at, seem to be missing the charm
    you'd find from the more modern ones in previous installments. Most of them look like they're made of the same material. It's an overall good game, it does everything the other games did, but does play it a bit safe. The powers you can purchase should be avoided, you become nearly unable to be detected, able to kill everything in one hit, and turn you into some sort of turbo-ultra-super-mega-HD-power person that can do everything, eliminating all challenge from the game.
    The character's new looks all were ported very nicely to the current gen and look pretty nice (Besides Carmelita, ew.)
    The graphics are nice looking.
    The controls are the same, so if you were worrying that they'd be more stiff like I was, don't worry, they aren't.
    Any way, overall, it's good.
    If you're a fan of sly cooper, I suggest trying it.
    Expand
  6. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    Sly Cooper: Thieves is a great sequel to a Playstation 2 classic. It has it's usual fun gameplay and story, as well as having a great cast if characters. The only issue is it's excruciatingly long load times, so be prepared to wait a while.
  7. Nov 26, 2013
    6
    The designs are mediocre I will not attempt to buy another watered down game I played one watered down Jak game and the designs suck. I played 2 watered down ratchet games and the designs are worse Sucker punch just why this is your franchise and why did you decide to make Infamous just why like Naughty Dog you abandoned your creativity and go for a less innovative franchise.
  8. Nov 24, 2013
    4
    The return of Sly Cooper was much anticipated by all fans, however, I feel that this game lack the liveliness of the previous games, Even though Thieves in Time presents some new concepts, such as the new costumes and playable ancestors, the cons outweigh the pros. The story is bland and repetitive, the graphics are too fancy, the hacking is strange and unlike the classic, the worlds have too many levels, the mission order is too straightforward, unlike the previous games, when you could choose what order you wanted to do the missions in; the binocucom controls are different, the game doesn't retain the comic book feel that Sly games are known for, the music is annoying, the menu themes are too uniform, and the game is overall too quirky rather than stealthlike and mysterious. Thieves in Time has lost the culture of Cooper thievery that was refined in Band of Thieves and instead left us with an empty shell of what used to be our favorite raccoon. Expand
  9. Nov 14, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's kinda lame as hell compared to the 2 previous games. The way you control your characters feels weird and different, and not in a good way. Guards now became a pain in the ass, and engaging in combat with them is useless. Sly is supposed to be swift, now you can't even do the stealth move properly and they kinda focused too much on Sly's costumes, you don't even feel like a thief anymore. The game was supposed to be comic styled, not cartoonish, yet another thing ruined. I only bought this game because it's Sly, the story isn't bad at all but I don't expect a new Sly game to be any better than this one. Expand
  10. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time brings back the old and great feeling of the series. This game is really fun and it still feels like you are playing in a cartoon. The only problems I have with this game are the sixaxis controls and the long loading times. Other than that, this is my favorite Sly Cooper game other than Sly 2.
  11. Aug 26, 2013
    9
    Sly cooper thieves in time is a very funny game.The developers have changed everything.The game has big maps, great story, new moves and new characters to play.One thing i like the most in sly thieves in time is that apart from searching bottles you can search for treasures in the vast map.One thing the developers could do was to make a multiplayer with character customization and choose your weapons.Anyway Sly thieves in time is the best game i've ever played this year.I suggest you to buy it. Expand
  12. Jul 6, 2013
    8
    Sly Cooper games have always been masterpiece. And this one is good, but not that as others. There are new fresh things, like playing ancestors and that's awesome but game's main issue is it's difficult been so easy. All boss fights are easy and missions weren't that hard neither, compared to Sly Trilogy. It's story wasn't that long neither, compared to others.

    But that's only issue.
    Ancestors, time-travelling, new costumes, unlockables, and bottles being back and new treasures, this game has lot to give. Buy it, if you're Sly Cooper fan or new to the series, since you will get your money's worth but it will be easy, if you've played Sly trilogy. Expand
  13. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    The raccoon is back! New developer but the game is faithful to the original Sly games. Sly thieves in time is a safe buy if you liked the old sly games. The biggest flaw is the load times. Sly's load times are very very very long. But overall Thieves in Time has proved that Sly is still one of the best plat former games.
  14. Jun 20, 2013
    8
    When I was a kid, I played all of the Sly games on my PS2. They were and still are some of my favorite games. Does this game hold up for a fan who experienced the older ones? Yes, yes it does. Not only does it have the nostalgia going for it, but the overall gameplay is superb, and the voice acting is pretty well done too, since Bentley, Sly, and Murray have the same voice actors that they used to. The graphics are beautiful for a game like that, and there are few glitches throughout. My main quarrel with this game is that it was to short for me. I finished it in about 7-9 hours, which is good, but Sly 2 took me around 12. I would've liked if this game had a few more 'episodes'. All in all, though, Sanzaru Games did a great job. I'm glad to have bought this game. I hope to see more Slys in the future, because Sanzaru is more than capable. Expand
  15. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    Its great, Its another sly game and it takes me back to a simpler, more fun time in gaming. but ultimately this game is even better on the vita. You see, i found that the ps3 game, while great, i would only spend a couple hours in it and then forget about it for weeks... but the vita version i play every day and cannot stop playing. the vita version runs at half the fps and has some milling effects but i just find it so much more engaging... so for ps3 8/10 for vita 10/10 Expand
  16. Jun 14, 2013
    6
    Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is the return of Sly and his gang, as they take on another adventure this time through time. The story in Thieves in Time is not all that important but stills has great character and some funny jokes. The new cast of characters are interesting but the main villain is a bit one-dimensional. The gameplay in Thieves in Time is the game's strong suit. The platforming is better than ever, throwing new and inventive ways of getting from point A to point B. The game does feel a bit to easy at some points, but then the game throws a difficulty spike out of nowhere just to make the game more challenging. The boss fights seem to be the most balanced, as you have to learn their strategies to beat them. Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time feels like a throw back to the old Sly Cooper games, it doesn't do anything new to change the series, but still maintains all the fun of the original trilogy. Expand
  17. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Story has some issues, but with overwhelming characters, awesome gameplay and top notch voice acting, Makes the game awesome. Not online it has a lot of content but is a pretty lengthy campaign.
  18. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i have waited half my life for this game to come out, and i'm not disappointed. at first, the idea of Sanzaru doing the game instead of Sucker Punch was terrifying, since that's the formula for a ruined series (handing off amazing game series to new developer to fugg it up that is). this game it quite different from the past 3, there's no gadget grid, you use costumes much more and thiefnet provides you with power ups instead of gadgets. you get to play free roam with Carmelita whenever you'd like (which is amazing). my only gripe is are the loading screens, they're annoying on Vita and PS3, however the game is still a priceless work of art. Expand
  19. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    As a Sly Cooper lover and "Fan-boy", i was filled with bliss when i saw a forth installment was in the work. So, i was generally satisfied with the whole game and Sanzaru did a wonderful job recreating the Sly Cooper feel in this installment. Yet, due to long load time and easy Final Boss Fight it feeling like what it is a Video Game. I felt like it was a step shy from transferring you in to a alternate dimension of our world. These were Genuinely the only flaws and love this game. Expand
  20. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    Sly Cooper has been given another solid piece to add to the already beloved franchise, but players looking for innovation will be disappointed. The strengths still lie in the platform gameplay, quirky characters and fun story. The cross buy and save features at a $40 price tag leaves no excuse for fans of the series.
  21. Apr 4, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sly and the Gang is back for more adventures! And this time, they have a time machine! The Sly hit trilogy, developed by Sucker Punch, and published by Sony is back once again, but this time, Sanzaru games have taken over development. In Sly Cooper thieves in time, you once again play as Sly, Bentley, Murray, Carmelita and a Bunch of sly’s ancestors. You will be traveling to the Ice Age, Medieval england, and so many more! All of the ages look different, and have different enemies.

    Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is a very easy game, which means that people who were young when the series was released, are too old to get any form of challenge in this game, except for the bosses. So this is more a blast to the past, than a challenging game. The boss battles feels very generic, and is the same thing, just with a little more difficulty each time you get a shot at them. And you can only attack them, when the game wants you to.

    While the game has its good sides, there is certainly also some bad ones, for example the AI, the AI of the enemies are terrible, you can only get seen by them if you are inside of their very little beam of light, if you are outside of this, you can jump around and do all sorts of stuff, without them noticing.

    There is a spoiler now, so if you want to skip it, simply just skip the next section.
    In every single age, it feels like the story is the same. You get there, one of your ancestors are captured in some kind of way, you help them escape, and their cooper cane get’s taken by the villain of that age, all of the villains are from your age, and works together with Le paradox. So it feels very repetitive.

    Another thing that we do not like is the mini games, the game has quite a lot of them, all from dancing so you have to press the correct button at the correct time, to you throwing pints over a table to some bar customers. When you are playing as bentley, and you need to hack something, it is also a mini-game, there is 3 different kinds of hacking mini-games, the first is a top down tank shooter, the second is one where you have to use the gyroscope in the PS3 controller, and last of all there is a side scrolling one where you are “super” Bentley with a gun.

    Thieves in Time, is also one of the games that have cross-saves, which is great! You can play on your PS3 at home, then save the game, and continue on the PS-Vita, this feature is great, and we hope to see this in many more games to come!

    So if you are here for the sheer nostalgia, we do recommend Thieves in Time, if you are newcomer to the series, we do not recommend it as it has way too many flaws, and is not difficult at all. We give Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time, a 6.5/10. For more gaming news and reviews, head over to BetaLoot.com
    Expand
  22. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    The game play is really old fashion and that's really nice, just being young again and play sly cooper again but then in HD. I liked it very much that you travel back in time to see your ancestors and at the exact same point where Sucker Punch left. Also if you think they make a new Sly Cooper game I tought they will ruin the series but I think they did a pretty good job. If you go on thiefnet it's nice to that you can see what you have bought and now what you can do.It's a great story and I hope there wel be a second Sly Cooper game for the ps3. What I didn't like is the fact that you have to wait like 30 seconds to go just in the hideout, for example if you're Bentley and you want next to play with Sly you lose 1 minute and for a gamer that is a lot of time. Also you'll see that you can step trough plants and for working so long on a game that isn't excatly that long I would like to see more perfection. The levels aren't that long as well if you say I'll just do all the mission and I won't gether any coins or bottles you can complete one episode in a little 2 hours and the boss fights aren't as fun like in Sly Cooper 1,2 and 3. But generaly they did a great job and I'll play it really a lot times if I got the chance. Expand
  23. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    The wonderful thieving raccoon is finally back after seven and a half years, and I think that it's almost as good as the originals despite it being developed by a different developer. If you're a fan of the previous games like me, you'll have no problems with any of the gameplay mechanics, everything is the same as Sly 2 and 3 with the exception of the abilities purchased from thiefnet. However, I didn't like a few of the small changes like the very small amount of hooks to swing from and not being able to map abilities to the L1, L2 and R2 buttons. Sly's gameplay is a little better because of the addition of the costumes that he gets in each era though. All minor flaws aside, the platforming gameplay is as great and fun as it was and still is. I liked pretty much everything else in the game too, especially the story. It's just a simple story that obviously continues from Sly 3. The only big problems I had with game at all were the load times and occasional framerate drops. The loading times are just ridiculous, sometimes I've had to wait thirty seconds or more for the game to load. The framerate drops are annoying as well, the framerate is usually fantastic, but every now and then it will just drop for a few seconds and it's just something that I found to be a little bit annoying. Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is a truly fantastic game and a game that's worthy of being in the Sly Cooper franchise. A few minor annoyances can't slow it down, it's still a great game, and any Sly Cooper fan must have it and any gamer would find it to be a great experience. Expand
  24. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    Sanzaru games did a really great job. The environment is very well made and a lot of things got an upgrade to the next level. Just what I was hoping for!
    Even if you haven't played any earlier Sly games, you should still buy this game.
  25. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    This game sucks. I missed old sly games. They were better. This one so childish. Waist of money. Hope I did not get it. It is so over rated. Old school Sly was the best. I prefer Sly Cooper 2 over this.
  26. Mar 23, 2013
    8
    Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is a solid entry in the franchise. At first, I was concerned with a new company taking over for Sucker Punch, but Sanzaru Games did a great job of staying faithful to the series and the characters. Hopefully this game does well enough to keep the franchise going.
  27. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Sly series is one of my faves, and probably the most underrated Playstation franchise. The characters are as charming as ever, with numerous hilarious lines and moments. But now there are ancestors to change up the gameplay even more. Don't worry; these aren't just reskins of Sly, they all play differently with unique moves and awesome special moves/stealth takedowns. The game boasts the best soundtrack of the 4 entries, the hub world themes are particularly good this time. The graphics are beautiful, sporting great particle effects and a cel-shaded style that'll look amazing for years and years.Unfortunately, they may be too beautiful, as drops in framerate happen way too often, and the loading times are ridiculous. In addition, the story could've been a lot stronger, especially the main villain. He isn't a terrible villain, but we know little about him 'til the end, and his final fight sucks in comparison to the rest in the game. Lastly, Carmelita doesn't look the way I think she should and Penelope's storyline is disappointing for many reasons. However, like I've shown with my score, the game's goodness far outweighs the flaws and is an incredible deal at $40. Expand
  28. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    As a huge fan of the series' previous instalments I have been eagerly awaiting this game's release. Its justified too, because Sly's PS3 debut is as beautifully designed and giddyingly fun to play as the PS2 games, now sporting brilliant life-like textures and some seriously fun game play. This game won't be to all tastes but yet I am out of this game' target audience and I LOVE it regardless. Every ancestor and villain has a solid personality and is well designed. The only thing I can say I HATED was the boss battles, and its the only obstacle in the way of this scoring a perfect 10. They are annoyingly repetitive, and are a great shame as on PS2 the boss fights were one of the best bits. But Thieves in Time is enough to convince me that Sanzaru can do now wrong with the license, and if Sucker Punch doesn't want to return to this series (really looking unlikely) then, with a few tweaks to the gaming mechanics, this game is a great reason why we need even more Sly, possibly next-gen. Roll on Sly 5. Expand
  29. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    I have felt forced to become a metacritic member because critic scores are more and more off as time passes. I am going to try to be objective and not passionate in my reviews. This game deserves an 80 of some kind because it is a high quality game. In terms of graphics it is beautiful, the voice acting and music is great, it has no major issues with the notable exception of long load times that are incomprehensible. Other than that it is a very enjoyable platforming and entertaining ride from start to finish with plenty of things to collect in the levels. It is not true that the game does nothing new. It takes the best aspects of the past three games and combines them in an interesting way. The story is intriguing and the abilities of each outfit and that of some of the new playable characters are unique and new for the series. The game is enjoyable and even has some replay value. Now, it must be said that the game feels like a Saturday morning cartoon and especially whenever Bentley is around. Other than that, the choice is yours. Here is one of the few platforming games of this generation (there's few, other than Mario Galaxy, to be found) and is very well done. If you like platforming games with a sense of exploration then you will enjoy this game. Expand
  30. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    Beautifully Crafted, with attention to all the small details. Multiple worlds to explore and collect in and a fantastic story line! Definitely my Game Of The Year!
  31. Mar 7, 2013
    9
    I love the series and this was an excellent addition to it as well, it was fun and full of surprises. The only thing that I didn't like is that the loading screens taking up to 30 seconds between missions making the game less tolerable. Other than that I love the game
  32. Mar 3, 2013
    9
    Have you ever wanted to reply the days of old, when platforming, creative stories and lovable characters dominated the market? Sanzaru has created what feels like a true blast from the past experience, taking a bold step to say no to demands of modern gamers, and instead embraced the idea of giving fans EXACTLY what they wanted. The environments are gorgeous, with massive sizes, very well hidden treasure, bottle, and mask locations, and a soundtrack that fits the environments perfectly. The new graphics have allowed for clean and vibrant locations. The dialogue is funny, and the story, with it's take on meeting ancestors and traveling in time, is very capable of being engaging and memorable, and is kept fresh with clever mini games, funny references and Easter Eggs, adorable cut-scenes made up of well made animations, and the boss battles, which are, gasp, are actually challenging and fun. The only complaint from me, is that it is SHORT. Each location will barely have enough missions to last more than a few hours. This is more than fixed with many secrets to find, as well as the large price reduction to $40. The return of Sly and his Gang are sure to bring nostalgic feelings to anyone who enjoyed the past games, and bring back the classic platformer genras creativity and lighthearted feel in a market saturated with dark stories and shooters on every corner. Expand
  33. Mar 3, 2013
    8
    SLY COOPER: THIEVES IN TIME REVIEW It has been 7 years since Sly 3: Honor Among Thieves and over a year since The Sly Collection (review coming soon). I was (and still am) a Sly cooper fan, I played the original trilogy when I was young when they came out, and I was one of the first people to pre order this game, I had a pre order of this game that ended up taking a year and a half to get to the door. So now it’s here and I’ve played the storyline and what do I think of it? I think this game is very good. It’s not the best out of Sly Cooper (Sly 2), but it is a welcome return to this series. This proves that a franchise and a beloved Playstation fan favorite that keeps to its original formula and not stray away could succeed. The gameplay is (minus some hacking parts) fantastic due to how faithful yet updated it is to the original trilogy (specifically Sly 2). It’s hard not to smile when the three original characters (and Carmelita) first appear in the game. The visuals in the cutscenes are also strikingly faithful yet updated to the original trilogy. One thing I always loved in a Sly Cooper game was the plot twists and turns. Sadly, there isn’t that any major surprising twists (except one in the middle of the game which I rather not spoil). I like how the plot itself finds ways of expanding how many characters you play without it jumping the shark. I love that you play as Sly’s ancestors. I am glad to say that there are moments that made me chuckle in the game; I am also glad to tell that there are some good and clever references to previous games. Unfortunately, I was constantly distracted with 1 flaw, the dialogue; granted this is rated E 10 and up, but still, either the dialogue wasn’t great or the delivery wasn’t, both alternate throughout the game. The ending wasn’t that surprising (considering that this is the fourth Sly Cooper game). Other than that, the game is very good; the game proves that with enough care, respect, and enthusiasm for a property such as Sly Cooper, you could make a very good game as a reward for such a long wait.

    Grade: Very Good
    Numerical Grade: 8
    Overview: In short, Sly Cooper 4 is worth the long wait, the gameplay and overall game is very good. It proves that a series, whose last game was a year before the Playstation 3, can still be successful. For Sly Cooper fans, buy it. You’ll be satisfied; for newcomers, Buy The Sly Collection and buy this game an enjoy a month at least of playing 4 awesome games.
    Expand
  34. Mar 3, 2013
    9
    Let me say this game is terribly underrated. The mechanics are great, voice acting is superb, the story is well done, and the characters and humor are some of the most likeable, ever. The visuals are also gorgeous: while the art style and colors are unbeatable, I was expecting maybe slightly more detailed and advanced visuals from a ps3 Sly (ie fur physics, etc).
    So, everyone, go buy this
    game. IT'S ONLY FORTY EFFING DOLLARS FOR PS3 AND VITA COMBINED! Do you need any excuse not to buy this?
    One of the only ps2 style games left in this gen and onward. Please support games like this.
    Expand
  35. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    Been playing this game with my kids, there are very few products that I can play with my children and we can both enjoy and feel challenged and have genuine fun playing. There are very few high quality products on the market like this. If you have kids and want something you can play and enjoy together, this might be one of the best games on the market.
  36. Feb 23, 2013
    1
    This game is complete garbage. and its getting 9's and 10's for no reason. most of the accounts that gave this game a review were all made on the same day and only reviewed this game. this game is crap. between broken AI and half asses levels i cant stand it. look i made this account just to point out the strange nature of the positive reviews but you know what? it. this game is not what the old sly game use to be. and by the way the worst final boss battle in history of gaming. so don't buy this if you are new to sly. if you loved sly like i did, you will most likely have to buy it, and be disappointed. YOU LOSE GOOD DAY SIR! Expand
  37. Feb 23, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I previously gave this game a 7/10 and here are my reasons for lowering it. I said I liked the mechanics of the game and it does have fun gameplay, but this game has some really annoying flaws, first off this game is too easy. I don't even have to sneak around due to the dumb AI who forget you existed after being out of their reach for 5 seconds. the enemies don't even alert other guards. so the roaming around isn't as fun as it could be. but the bottles and treasures are very fun to hunt for I enjoyed that. However here is another flaw that made the game worse than it could be. the textures and buildings are repeated so often it seems they just copied and pasted them, for example the Arabia level, please go play that and see what i mean. the levels don't have many landmarks so i often end up lost (the exception is the prehistoric level) basically the levels are dry and repetitive. here's another good thing. the missions are very well done, although very easy (the exception the archery challenge in medieval England). i find most of the missions fun but it can be repetitive. the black knight boss battle (Penelope)is very fun and had to retry it once. and that is another con the boss battles are a breeze the final boss battle is just hitting triangle square circle and X, the worst part of the final boss battle is you have too much time to hit the buttons, plus if you accidentally hit a wrong button it still lets you try to hit the correct one. just really disappointing how lame the combat is the enemies and bosses totally blow. this game is not all bad but it seemed lazy. i want a sequel that is not as easy please make another one and make it good. final verdict is a 4/10 but that does not mean you can't enjoy some of the fun missions, and cool cooper ancestors. so go ahead and get this game and make your own opinion. enjoy. Expand
  38. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    It's Sly Cooper, right to the heart, and it's perfect in that way! Those who have already played the serie will find all that make these games great and a little more, it's full of new and incredible characters, with each one with it's own personality and moves, new places to explore (and believe me they are beautiful) and some of the most incredible cutscene to come to life in this generation, beautiful and fun to watch. This is an incredible platform game, for those who love the genre wait no longer! Expand
  39. Feb 20, 2013
    4
    What is with this installment of Sly Cooper? It's as if it's been made for a six year old child. I admit I'm only barely into it but I'm already considering trading it in because I can't see me spending too many more hours being held by the hand through a series of absurdly simplistic and boring missions only to end in a crazy, monotonous, suddenly completely difficult boss battle. It really shows that Sucker Punch was not involved this time around. There are way too many cut scenes and all the enemies are completely stupid with no AI whatsoever. If you aren't standing directly in the yellow circle caused by the lamp they are holding they don't know you're there even if you're jumping up and down smashing things making all sorts of noise. I hope this gets better and I can come back here and edit this review with some more favorable comments, but having played the previous three installments with much enjoyment, I'm really sensing a dud here. Expand
  40. Feb 19, 2013
    8
    When i first heard that sanzaru games was developing this game and not suker punch i was a little worried that it wouldnt be that great, but i was proved wrong this is a great game but there is a few things that arent so great like how they walk around talking to them and the things that they say just doesnt sound like somthing they would say in the first 3 but that is somthing that can be ignored. but all in all sanzaru games did an asome job with this game. Expand
  41. Feb 15, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is a very welcome addition to the Sly Cooper franchise. As Sanzaru pushed for when it was first announced, "it looks like Sly, it feels like Sly." From the ancestors each of whom have a different personality to the story itself which takes twists at every corner Thieves in Time is a game that every fan of Sly Cooper needs to play. There's just no other way to put it.

    This, of course, is not a perfect game; while it comes very close, there were a couple of things it could have done without. Spark Runner (the motion-controlled hacking) does not belong here. It's extremely clunky and can really aggravate players. Also, QTEs (press X when it says to press X) should not have been in this game. They were overused, especially when the final boss was almost nothing except QTEs. Finally and this is just a personal gripe, I suppose I don't like how they made Penelope a traitor.

    Now, all of that said, there was WAAAYYYYYY more good in this game than bad, and I will be playing Thieves in Time for a long time afterward. I, for one, welcome our new Sly Cooper developer. Well played, Sanzaru, well played.
    Expand
  42. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    By far this is my second favorite in the series. Sly 2 will always have a special place in my heart due to nostalgia. But this game has it all. So many collectibles, great dialogue, great story, and charming characters. The graphics look absolutely amazing. Keep it up Sanzaru! I expect another fantastic game from you!
  43. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    Wonderful game for fans of the series (who will appreciate the plethora of nods and callbacks to the originals), and newcomers who enjoy platforming. Sanzaru Games, a relatively unknown developer, managed to make a better Sly game than the studio that created it.
  44. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is a long awaited entry to the Sly Cooper series. It is a very unique title in today's gaming market. Most of the "hot titles" are First Person Shooters, but this is far from it. That is a very good thing. Video games are viewed negatively in the media, and the only reason for that is the recent downpour of violent First Person Shooters. Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is technically violent, the ESRB describes it well as cartoon violence, but it shows that you don't need any blood or gore to make a great game. The graphics are simple yet elegant. They are detailed and colorful, but they are wonderfully cartoony. It is an excellent representative of what the PS3 is capable of. The 2-D cut scenes are very detailed and help explain the story nicely. The soundtrack adds emotion to the game as well, making it even more enjoyable. Now to the actual game-play. The controls of Sly, Bentley, and Murray are true to the original series, and to those who haven't played the original trilogy, the controls are simple and easy to pick up and play. The included ancestors of Sly and costumes that Sly wears add variation to the game-play and they don't change things too much to need long tutorials for the new control schemes. Along with witty dialogue, great voice acting, and multiple pop culture references, the story, continuing from Sly 3, is interesting, and it has many twists and turns and unexpected surprises. The boss fights are simple, but fun turn based fights. The whole game, boss fights included, is not very difficult. I've seen games so difficult that they make you want to give up playing, and I've seen games so easy that they bore you. this game is neither of those games. The game's lack of difficulty is made up for by it's varied game-play. There are Bentley's hacking mini-games, many different characters, and many collectibles. The collectibles alone take time and dedication to get, especially if you don't use the Vita version of the game, which is included with the PS3 game, with it's AR Treasures mode which helps you detect collectibles, and the collectibles add re-playability. If you are a trophy hunter, this game delivers, with its interesting and some difficult trophies that also add to re-playability. Overall, this game is a diamond in the rough. If you stumbled upon this review and you don't know whether or not to buy this game, do it. You won't regret it, especially since the price is only $40.00 compared to many other games priced at $60.00, and this game even includes the Vita version which is priced at $30.00! Expand
  45. Feb 10, 2013
    9
    Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time mark the continuation of the Sly Cooper franchise, when we thought it had ended all the way back in 2005. Although the game has its notable flaws, Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is a worthy addition to the Sly Cooper franchise, even if it doesn’t hit the soaring high notes that Sly 2 managed to hit.
    The gameplay in Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time is very standard for
    a Sly Cooper game. There’s your regular thieving, platforming, tailing, and recon missions scattered throughout the game at an insanely brisk pace. Playing the missions and levels in this game feels right at home, and the spot-on controls definitely helps this out. As the game progresses, the upgrades you get for each character make them much more fun to play as, as the gameplay becomes more “thiefy” and fast-paced. The biggest issue I had with the overall gameplay was the uselessness of certain characters. Although I’m not going to spoil how this happens, Carmelita joins the gang at some point in the game. However, her character is BARELY utilized outside of the first time you see her! Why go through the trouble of adding in her character if there’s no usefulness to her character? Costumes make an appearance again in Thieves in Time, and, most of them are very useful and fun, with the exception of one. But, doubling back to old levels to steal hidden treasures using your costumes is very rewarding and fun.
    The overarching story in Thieves in Time is great. The story feels like a more epic tale than previous adventures, with much more at stake than ever before. However, the story takes a while to build up to the rapidness of the finale. This is a common complaint among most Sly Cooper fans for all the games, that they start off slow, and then build up to the grand finale. I wouldn’t criticize Sanzaru for this, however, because this is a Sly Cooper staple. They didn’t fix it, but they didn’t make it worse. Moving on with the story, it becomes apparent that Sanzaru wanted certain gameplay elements thrown in the game, but then fit a story to work around these elements. Within each episode, missions are thrown at you which have no real direction. There’s barely a reasonable explanation for a lot of missions, and there isn’t that feeling of building up to a giant heist like there was in the previous games. The stories within each level get somewhat confusing, and only serves to have certain types of gameplay.
    Now, let’s talk about graphics. This game is truly a masterpiece in every single sensory way. The music is absolutely incredible, and the graphics are crisp, fluid, and downright amazing. The animations are also the best I’ve ever seen, almost rivaling Pixar’s fluidity in their animations. The way the characters express themselves is incredibly engaging, and SO much character and life is poured into each and every character. Truly, the best part about Thieves in Time is the way the characters act around each other. Although I thought it would be annoying, the characters frequently talk to each other throughout the game, similar to the way Drake and Elena banter back and forth in the Uncharted series. Like Uncharted, Thieves in Time’s characters feel completely natural. I genuinely feel like these characters live in their own world outside of the game. Everything about Theives in Time’s presentation is outstanding, and there’s absolutely nothing wrong with anything. Even the cutscenes, which have gotten a lot of criticism from the hardcore Sly Cooper fanbase, are impressive to say the least. There’s so much life injected into each character, and when they feel sad, you do too. A game hasn't had an impact on me emotionally since the last half of Uncharted 3.
    That’s truly a testament to the outstanding voicework and animations by Sanzaru and the entire cast. It’s truly magnificent.
    Lastly, let’s talk about the replay ability of Thieves in Time. It’s huge. I played the story of the game through its entirety in about four days, playing about four hours each night. That’s a total of a 16 hour campaign, and I had only unlocked under 40% of safes, treasures, bottles, trophies, and masks. Now, I’m going back and solving the costume puzzles Sanzaru has cleverly splattered through the game, and it’s incredibly rewarding.
    Overall, Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time isn’t perfect. And that’s okay. Sly’s back, he’s fun, and it’s a good game overall. While it didn’t manage to surpass the perfection that is Sly 2: Band of Thieves, Sanzaru managed to meet the standard of gameplay of Sly 3: Honor Among Thieves, without being better or worse. There’s much fun to be had here, but if you go into it thinking it will be perfection, you may feel disappointed.
    Expand
  46. Feb 10, 2013
    9
    I loved all of the sly cooper series and was looking forward to the next instalment. I was worried. I wanted something fresh, smooth, and yet still similar to the original series. The game delivered on every level. In all honesty this game is very much like the others, same basic premise. However, despite all of the similarities this game still feels fresh, new, and offers a great experience. During the gameplay i have also encountered some difficulties. When you find yourself being attacked by the enemies you do not have a great variety of attacks to chose from which makes the combat a bit stiff and unfulfilling. What it lacks in combat it makes up for in stealth takedowns, this component is both fun and rewarding. The other problems are small but they are distracting at times. Overall Sanzaru has done a great job bringing a fresh new game to an old series. I hope for another sly cooper but also think that the costume idea does not show very much potential to cross over to future games in the series. overall great game, would definitly recommend it. Expand
  47. Feb 10, 2013
    6
    The game is well made, perfect blend of all the great Cooper games, but it does get boring after a couple of hours and the childish tone doesn't allow me to take the game too seriously.
  48. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    I'll put it simply. If you enjoyed the other Sly Cooper games, you will really enjoy the new one. The graphics are great, the characters are funny as always and it feels just like the older games which is exactly how I wanted it to feel. My only complaint is the way the characters will interact with things in the environment, sometimes Sly won't go to the right place when you hit the circle button, but it never really punishes you. Expand
  49. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    You know, I've waited 7 years for Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time, and all I can say, is that I now know that every minute was worth the wait. Thank you Sanzaru Games for picking up a series that was thought to be abandoned, but was brought back to life, bigger and better than ever. I am speechless with how amazing this game has turned out and I am so happy, for a lack of a better word, with what I just experienced. I would've never dreamed that it could be possible but guys have proven yourselves beyond belief. Bravo! Thank you for making this 7 dream come true and exceeding my expectations. Expand
  50. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    This review is from a guy who isn't a "hardcore" fan of the series, so to say. I have played Sly 2 and 3 and those two games were pretty good I must say. The voice acting is very good and the characters and their connections to other characters are very well done in those 2 games. Thieves in Time is no difference. The voice acting is marvelous and the characters look spectacular. The art style is different from the last 3 games, but it gives a nice new touch to the game. The fighting mechanics are pretty simple, but enjoyable. It's always fun engaging in combat when you play as Carmelita or Sly, for example. Althou, I think Sly has the most unique play style. Murray and Carmelita feel a bit genereic, but they're still pretty damn fun to play as. The ancestors of Sly are pretty much the same as Sly is, with a few extra moves and whatnot, but they are still funny to play as. The animations and graphics look good, and the cel shaded graphics really do their job. I actually think the cartoonish style fits these games a lot more than some crazy Call of Duty graphics. The music is also extremely good. The composer of this game is a "god", so to say. The music is outstanding! The story is well written and chronological. There aren't many loop holes or some bizarre things, which makes the story a solid package. There are a few rants too. The loading screens. They're pretty long and a bit frustrating. But, they load the whole world at one shot so I quess that's the price you have to pay. The camera is alright, but it can a bit annoying at times. All in all, this game is very solid and entertaining. A little break from those gory shooters doesn't hurt you. Give this game a shot. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  51. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    7 years after Sly Cooper 3, the master thief is back again. This game is so awesome, just like the 3 others. Sanzaru Games has done a great job. Buy this game, and hopefully we'll have another Sly game
  52. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    This is an outstanding game! I really thought this game was going to be a horrible game because of Sanzaru taking charge ,but once I played the game it reassured me this was going to be a fun ride. The boss fights are fun and are different in many ways. The 3 hacking mini games will give some variety to the game and don't over welcome their stay. There is a lot of replay value with tons of collectables if that's what you're looking for. The cell-shaded graphics make the locations look absolutely beautiful. I highly recommend getting this game as it is a bang for your buck for $40.00 cash! Expand
  53. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    It's almost unnatural to have so much fun from a kids game. Reminds me so much about good old Playstation 1 days with Crash collecting apples and Spyro collecting diamonds)))
    The main goal of the game is to make you feel fun while playing it. You may criticize it for having a strange plot, not brilliant voice acting, but the gameplay is solid and, frankly, that's the only thing you'll
    want from a cartoonish stealth game) Expand
  54. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Classic Sly. The gameplay, the characters, the charm-- nothing has changed. It's nice to see that Sony is keeping up with their best platformer franchise in a time when Crash, Jak, and Ratchet have been somewhat forgone. If you loved Sly 2 and 3 as I did, then this game is for you. Highly recommended for fans of platformer, stealth, and open-world gameplay.
  55. Feb 6, 2013
    9
    This is Gabe N

    Welcome to Sly Cooper Thieves In Time

    After years in development, hopefully it was worth the wait.

    And my favorites class is the Sly

    Thanks, and have fun!
  56. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Sly and the gang is back! This has filled a hole in the genre left for over 5 years. It brings back the classic stealth game play and humor much loved by fans and absolutely blew the doors off the visuals. Sly has never looked or played so good. I hope that this is just the beginning of the franchise coming back to us gamers.
  57. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    Sly is back and better then ever. The best one yet and the vita version is nearly identical to the ps3 version. Reviewers hating on this game saying its not innovative.You don't need to change what is fun, because most of the time you when you try to change a game you screw it up. I applaud you Sanzaru you definitely know how to make a good game.
  58. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    First off, I made this account purely to review this amazing game. Now before I actually start the review I'd like to get this off my chest. Many "game journalists" have been complaining about the game stating that it's not innovative enough and it doesn't progress the franchise forward. That is complete bull. There hasn't been ANY games in the Sly Cooper Franchise for 8 years. When there hasn't been a new game for so long, all fans want is just another entry in the series. If this were a yearly or bi-yearly such as Call of Duty or Assassin's Creed then I would completely understand the criticism. A new developer gets the reins and crafts a game that completely captures the soul and essence of the original three. Literally everything that made the originals so great has returned. And I couldn't be happier as a long-time fan. It has the same core concepts, charming humor, tight controls, wonderful artstyle and fantastic stealth platforming you can expect. The combat is not very good, but this is a stealth game so you aren't supposed to be fighting anybody anyways. You're able to get out of alert very quickly and easily. The fact that this game cost 40$ is just the cherry on top. So many collectibles allows for hours upon hours of fun and enjoyment. Cartoonish animations and graphics will make this game age like fine wine. The long loading times and minor ticks prevent this game from being a 10 out of 10, though. I suggest this game to anyone that enjoys platformers, stealth games, or adventure games. Don't be put-off by this seemingly childish game. I haven't had this much fun with any videogame since Super Mario Galaxy. Expand
  59. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    This is positively one of the top two Sly Cooper games EVER made. Though there are some things that may be bothersome at the beginning, you quickly get over them. The ancestors are all individual personalities, the story is, though slightly cliche, very well presented, and the writing makes you laugh (in a positive way) at every turn.

    This game is definitely a worthy successor of the
    original Sly Cooper series. Expand
  60. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    If you liked the old games, you will love the game. The game is true to the series in all aspects. The charm of the characters carry this game. The gameplay is fun and really brings back old-school sly. The ancestors and costumes bring some new things and its great.
  61. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    Honestly i never understood why critics always gave the sly games low scores like 7s or low 8s compare to jak or ratchet and clank the same thing goes with the new entry thieves in time. Its honestly a outstanding game with tons of stuff to do and really brings me back to the old sly 2 days.
  62. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. It was worth waiting for sure. This game is a masterpiece. It was worth waiting for sure. This game is a masterpiece. It was worth waiting for sure.
  63. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    At its core, the Sly Cooper games are platformers, but the last few installments have strayed towards action-adventure. And Sky Cooper: Thieves in Time captures that perfectly. Developer Sanzaru Games didn't develop the original three PS2 Sly games, but they definitely know what they are doing. From the beautiful cel shaded graphics to the fluid animations, Sly Cooper is a PS3/Vita title that deserves more credit than it receives. Along with Jak and Ratchet, Sly was part of Sony's "Big 3" of gaming during the PS2 days. Of those three, Sly was probably the most deservent of a sequel, and now after his eight year absence from the gaming scene, he is getting one that is worthy of Sucker Punch's originals. And with a cliffhanging ending, this may not be the last time we see Sly Cooper, the master thief, in action. Collapse
  64. Feb 5, 2013
    0
    At its core, the Sly Cooper games are platformers, but the last few installments have strayed towards action-adventure. And Sky Cooper: Thieves in Time captures that perfectly. Developer Sanzaru Games didn't develop the original three PS2 Sly games, but they definitely know what they are doing. From the beautiful cel shaded graphics to the fluid animations, Sly Cooper is a PS3/Vita title that deserves more credit than it receives. Along with Jak and Ratchet, Sly was part of Sony's "Big 3" of gaming during the PS2 days. Of those three, Sly was probably the most deservent of a sequel, and now after his eight year absence from the gaming scene, he is getting one that is worthy of Sucker Punch's originals. And with a cliffhanging ending, this may not be the last time we see Sly Cooper, the master thief, in action. Collapse
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    60
    Sly is back and we applaud that, kind of. The game is outdated, too simple and too childish. It’s a good deal that you can buy the PS3 and Vita version for the same price, so that offers twice the amount of fun.
  2. The return of Sly Cooper not only signals the return of a classic franchise, but also the return of a classic, almost forgotten genre: the 3D-platformer. Fans can rejoice, because it feels like Sly never truly left the building. [April 2013, p.71]
  3. Apr 13, 2013
    81
    Sly hits the current generation with charm, variety and humour in spades. An excellent return. [May 2013, p.80]