Sniper: Ghost Warrior PlayStation 3

Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 17
  2. Negative: 6 out of 17
Buy On
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 19, 2011
    70
    Although the art of sniping has transformed into a game quite nicely, the other aspects don't compliment the fine mechanics of long distance shooting. Superhuman AI is the biggest issue, because green-dressed soldiers with x-ray vision mixed in green jungle make it almost impossible to stay alive. [June 2011]
  2. Dec 14, 2011
    69
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior is a game suitable only for fans of the genre. It's a perfect product for people who love calm and strategic shooter, but it is tedious and frustrating for those who do not love him.
  3. Jun 27, 2011
    69
    In the end, Sniper: Ghost Warrior is unfortunately a mediocre first person shooter strategy game that attempts to breach the world of realism with its no frills action and realistic content.
  4. May 16, 2011
    65
    This is a more than decent game, with great ideas and concepts, which are not executed that well. It has an attractive scheme, more than decent visuals and interesting concepts which would have turned it into a great game, if only it had been put together better.
  5. Aug 15, 2011
    60
    Going into Sniper: Ghost Warrior with fairly low expectations, you may find yourself pleasantly surprised. Despite some of the heavy-handed mechanics and under-developed online portion there is still an enjoyable experience to be had.
  6. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jun 19, 2011
    60
    If it was actually a budget game, rather than just feeling like one, it would be more strongly recommended. [July 2011, p.100]
  7. Jun 1, 2011
    60
    As a low budget game Sniper is quite enjoyable, but keep in mind that many action games published this year (or last, for that matter) are much better.
  8. Jul 12, 2011
    59
    This version has some improvements compared with the Xbox 360 version, but it isn't really a great game. The sniping part of the game is perfect, but the AI, the graphics, the audio and movement aren't really good. The game can be fun to play, but that's only because of the sniper rifles.
  9. Jul 9, 2011
    50
    It's certainly budget in its lack of polish and its brevity (even with the additional PS3-specific missions added it totaled to barely five hours), so if you really, really have a hard-on for sniping you'll be able to wring some fun from this, but you'll have to swallow some crap along the way.
  10. Jun 15, 2011
    50
    The PlayStation 3-version of Sniper: Ghost Warrior should've been in stores the day the Xbox 360- and PC-versions were released. A lot of points that were criticized have been adjusted and this edition also contains more content. This doesn't make it a good product, however. It's still a shallow game that'll give you a few hours of fun, tops.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 5 out of 6
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    4
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior is a game plagued by faults, some small and relatively forgettable, and others much larger which seriously interfereSniper: Ghost Warrior is a game plagued by faults, some small and relatively forgettable, and others much larger which seriously interfere with gameplay. Probably the biggest, not to mention most annoying, fault is the Save Checkpoints. These appear very frequently. While some may think that this is a good feature, I do not, for this reason- every single time you reach a new Checkpoint the game freezes for about 3-5 seconds. This really interferes with your fun, as it drags you out of the game and interrupts what can, occasionally, be a gripping sequence of events. Next, is the barrage of invisible barriers/walls that you will find within the game. These appear in what seem to be random locations and often stop you from reaching that perfect sniping spot that you can see. I find it hard to believe that this highly trained Sniper cannot somehow climb over a small rock. When you hear the word 'sniper', what words come to mind? Covert, silent, stealthy? No, according to this game, words and phrases like 'all guns blazing' and 'open fire' are what sniping is all about. You can definitely see that the Devs behind SGW have taken a page out of Infinity Wards books. The hectic mix and sudden change between silent and stealthy to loud and action filled works for the CoD franchise but not for Sniper Ghost Warrior. Lastly, one of the most minor, yet still irritating, faults is the amount of bad spelling and grammar and subtitles not matching with the actual dialogue. For example, during the first section of the game, the words 'don't let your target see you' or spoken but 'don't let your pray see you' is shown on subtitles. Yes, this is a very small issue and easily ignorable, but I thought it warranted a mention. All in all, Sniper Ghost Warrior had it in it to be a fantastic, stealthy game, but it falls short in so many areas. The constant interruptions from Checkpoint freezes to the disappointing, 2006 graphics make this game a chore to play, or as I should say, work through. Full Review »
  2. Oct 9, 2016
    7
    Sniper Ghost Warrior had a lot of potential. There were moments when the game was truly satisfying. The game is quite linear however and atSniper Ghost Warrior had a lot of potential. There were moments when the game was truly satisfying. The game is quite linear however and at times forces the player to do exactly as their told or the game penalizes them severely by all enemies in the area knowing precisely where the player is on the map. The quality of the maps is okay at best. I enjoy making my own maps with the Far Cry 4 map editor on my Xbox 360 and then playing through the missions I invented. Thing is, I am at best, an amateur map-maker and the mistakes I make are found on these levels made by professionals. Rocks float in mid air, ground in a tent blocks the back entrance half way up the door, Build foundations are floating a couple inches off the ground and ladders magically are absorbed partly into rock as though the rock is slowly devouring it! These are the kinds of mistakes I make with my map editor - it should NOT be the kind made by professionals. I am a big fan of sniping games (Sniper Elite V2, Sniper Elite 3 for example) and I would like to think I am forgiving of genres I enjoy. Sniper Ghost Warrior however has a LOT of mistakes in it that were never fixed that should have been done so. The PS3 version came out 1 year after the Xbox 360 version and still it appears like it was rushed out the door. I picked the game up for $5 so I am not too concerned about getting my money's worth. I would give the game a 6.5/10. Full Review »
  3. Oct 20, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Sniper Ghost warrior is just Atrocious! The story revolves around Sergeant Tyler, Private Cole Anderson and El Tejon. The whole story is based around a general named General Vasquez, who overthrows some fictional Democratic country and these men i mentioned above, pretty much have to go in and Assasinate him. The Characters in the game got no personality and are very genertic! The story is pretty poor and generic as well. Now what about the gameplay, graphics, etc? Well the graphics are very bad and the texures are very blury. This game has some of the worst screen tearing that i have seen in a video game, if not the worst. The sniping in this game is pretty sub par and comepletely unrealistic. Sometimes its hard to see because of the bluryness and texures pop ups. Enemy AI is some of the worst this generation. They run into walls, they walk around in a jerkey, scripted fashion. They sometimes continue to talk, even when their dead. If you try to sneak up on one of them, they pretty much know automaticaly your there and you die very easily, so the knife is absolutely useless. They run around in circles at times and when alerted, they mindless look around in the open in a crouch position, waiting to get shot by your sniper bullet. Oh, they can also see you from a couple of miles away, as if their eyes have binoculars or something. And last but not the least is the ending, lets just say, worst ending ever in a video game! Zero effort was placed into the ending, of a very bad video game. Multiplayer is pretty bad and is not very enjoyable. It's lacking in modes and depth.

    You must have extreame patience to play this garbage! Stay away!
    Full Review »