User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 223 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 223
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 20, 2011
    10
    THIS GAME BLOWS...... No.

    Seriously.

    I'm a socom-er from way back - back when S1 first came out - save your money. This is bogus. Cheaters - holy **** HOLY **** Cheaters are worse now than ever. Save your money. Buy some dope - get high - you'll be better for it.
  2. TylerH
    Oct 19, 2008
    9
    I gave it a 9 because the game is one of the best tactical shooters I have ever played. Only thing I have played that comes close to this game is Ghost Recon(s), Operation Flashpoint, Americas Army(s) and Arma. So If you like those games you should love this. Awesome graphics, amazingly effective/clear chat system, great weapons. That is not to excuse the lag/disconnects that have been I gave it a 9 because the game is one of the best tactical shooters I have ever played. Only thing I have played that comes close to this game is Ghost Recon(s), Operation Flashpoint, Americas Army(s) and Arma. So If you like those games you should love this. Awesome graphics, amazingly effective/clear chat system, great weapons. That is not to excuse the lag/disconnects that have been happening, but it is the first week... and I know those will be fixed. Other than that they need to fix the motion control leaning and scopes and this will be the best tactical game II've ever played. Expand
  3. JF.
    Oct 21, 2008
    8
    Graphics 7.5/10 - Huge maps are nice to look at it but lack overall up close detail Sounds 9/10 - Wow, the best gun sounds I've ever heard, and great in game chat. Controls 8/10 - They do the job, but some things take some getting used to. Overall the game is fun and addicting but it has lots of problems. Basically the game right now should be a BETA. They are promising patches soon Graphics 7.5/10 - Huge maps are nice to look at it but lack overall up close detail Sounds 9/10 - Wow, the best gun sounds I've ever heard, and great in game chat. Controls 8/10 - They do the job, but some things take some getting used to. Overall the game is fun and addicting but it has lots of problems. Basically the game right now should be a BETA. They are promising patches soon and we can only hope they fix everything so this game can reach it's true potential. This game has the potential to be a 9. But it's not there yet. For $40 it's worth waiting on to see if it improves. The $60 version comes with a great headset and is more worth the money if you don't have one. Expand
  4. CoreyC.
    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    To early to rate it accurately. This game has serious top end potential. I think the major reason for the low rating is the fact that they had to release it to work out the server issues. 57 out of 100 is ridiculous and inaccurate if right now. This game will be rated 90+ in the future.
  5. DevinG.
    Oct 22, 2008
    9
    Since launch servers have been so much better to play on and the amazing experience that is SOCOM Confrontation is slowly starting to show itself. Ignore the bad reviews. Games running pretty good and the patch this week will make it so much better. This game will grow.
  6. BobP.
    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    First off the server issues are sony related not Slant Six. That being said Sony is hard at work fixing said issues so give slant and socom a break and submit reviews once the servers are running 100%. Playing the game with optimal servers is a blast and I'm hoping that all these reviews get revised once this happens as this game deserves better as do the slant six employees who have First off the server issues are sony related not Slant Six. That being said Sony is hard at work fixing said issues so give slant and socom a break and submit reviews once the servers are running 100%. Playing the game with optimal servers is a blast and I'm hoping that all these reviews get revised once this happens as this game deserves better as do the slant six employees who have bled for this game. Expand
  7. JedG
    Oct 23, 2008
    8
    If you love COD 4 but crave something with more brains headaches, SOCOM: Confrontation has got you covered. This game is incredible if you give it time. Everything people have written about regarding the lengthy install(s), the server debacles, the game freezes, the clunky menu and unintuitive game controls is true. However, the servers are pretty reliable now after a week and once you If you love COD 4 but crave something with more brains headaches, SOCOM: Confrontation has got you covered. This game is incredible if you give it time. Everything people have written about regarding the lengthy install(s), the server debacles, the game freezes, the clunky menu and unintuitive game controls is true. However, the servers are pretty reliable now after a week and once you get into a game and spend some time learning the controls, gameplay and your own style, you'll see how much depth there is to levels, and how intense the gunfights can be. That's why we play games, right? Because they're fun. Expand
  8. JohnnyV.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    most reviews out at the moment are based on the server issues, and the few bugs here and there. IMO this is not the right way to rate a game and they should, like Gametrailers does, wait until at least a few more bugs are fixed so that they can review the game properly. This is just unfair if you ask me, it's a really good game, if you look over the bugs.
  9. DanM
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    This brings me back to the SOCOM 2 days. The reviewers were absolutely ignorant because once the technical bugs get worked out in the first few weeks, the game can really be seen for what it is. And this one is a heck of a lot of fun as it is the first shooter where teamwork is absolutely essential to winning. The graphics are good, the level design is great, and the gameplay is wicked This brings me back to the SOCOM 2 days. The reviewers were absolutely ignorant because once the technical bugs get worked out in the first few weeks, the game can really be seen for what it is. And this one is a heck of a lot of fun as it is the first shooter where teamwork is absolutely essential to winning. The graphics are good, the level design is great, and the gameplay is wicked fun. A must have! Expand
  10. BattleX
    Oct 28, 2008
    9
    Excellent graphics and the same great gameplay that made Socom what it is today. The chat works really well and the maps are well designed as usual. Lots of server problems which will be fixed ASAP and a patch will be coming out soon to fix some gameplay issues. After the game is fixed there is no doubt that this will be one of the best online experiences of any next-gen console. I'm Excellent graphics and the same great gameplay that made Socom what it is today. The chat works really well and the maps are well designed as usual. Lots of server problems which will be fixed ASAP and a patch will be coming out soon to fix some gameplay issues. After the game is fixed there is no doubt that this will be one of the best online experiences of any next-gen console. I'm basing my vote on news from Sony that the problems will be fixed by the end of the first week of November. Expand
  11. DanielB.
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    Great socom game, I've played every socom released and the controls are better than ever. I've not run into any issues that other are complaining about, sure there is some lag but its a multiplayer game that was released less than a month ago. There will be some issues but not for long. Great game, great matches no need to pass this one up.
  12. ArthorF.
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    Week one issues are gone. Most reviews are from a really shitty week for SOCOM. Game runs beautifully now, hella fun. Only issue is some pop-in to be honest. But the gameplay is top notch, as you'd normally expect from a SOCOM game.
  13. EddieR.
    Nov 1, 2008
    8
    Hesitantly bought this game due to mediocre reviews, but as it turned out i was pleasantly surprised with how fun it is. Personally the only problem I've faced is some online lag and the occasional stat tracking problem. Another bonus has been the Mic that came with the game, works beautifully.
  14. SamuelW.
    Nov 1, 2008
    9
    Bought hoping all the negative reviews were wrong, and i was correct in my assumption. I think I depends on each individuals experience with the game. I've had no trouble with freezing or joining game. The only problem I've had is the internet lag every once and a while. I honestly enjoy this game...and the included headset is amazing.
  15. IvanY.
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    Wow this game is perfect everything has been fixed already it works perfectly and it plays great. A must have for any online shooter fan or SOCOM 2 fanatic like me [aFg] Ivan. LoL... Buy this game you will be hooked is addictive it has great must play maps. The graphics are jaw dropping amazing. No other game can beat this. All this bad reviews are from idiotic stupid reviewers the game Wow this game is perfect everything has been fixed already it works perfectly and it plays great. A must have for any online shooter fan or SOCOM 2 fanatic like me [aFg] Ivan. LoL... Buy this game you will be hooked is addictive it has great must play maps. The graphics are jaw dropping amazing. No other game can beat this. All this bad reviews are from idiotic stupid reviewers the game is free of any flaws don't believe this crappy reviews the game is fine buy it and you won't ever regret it. Expand
  16. JamesM.
    Nov 4, 2008
    9
    Putting the Single Player component aside, I don't feel this game is in too bad of shape. There are deifinitely clear issues reguarding the games performance. However, as a whole I have thouroughly enjoyed the game after patches. I personally don't understand why there is so much emphasis on the SP portion of the game. Warhawk received muchg more favorable reviews from sources Putting the Single Player component aside, I don't feel this game is in too bad of shape. There are deifinitely clear issues reguarding the games performance. However, as a whole I have thouroughly enjoyed the game after patches. I personally don't understand why there is so much emphasis on the SP portion of the game. Warhawk received muchg more favorable reviews from sources (despite lacking Single player). SOCOM was advertised as an online only product. The reviews seem to show a little personal emotion bleeding through. Due to the lack of SP which has been there in all previous installments. Based on this how are these reviews from the major websites and magazines unbiased? Expand
  17. Spooty89
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    I didn't pick this game up right away. I had been reading the reviews for it and, as I'm sure you know, they were unanimously terrible. So I waited and, just a few days ago, I checked the official website to see if they had fixed the issues that reviewers had addressed in their initial reviews. Surely enough they had released a patch which cleared up all the prominent issues, so I didn't pick this game up right away. I had been reading the reviews for it and, as I'm sure you know, they were unanimously terrible. So I waited and, just a few days ago, I checked the official website to see if they had fixed the issues that reviewers had addressed in their initial reviews. Surely enough they had released a patch which cleared up all the prominent issues, so I picked the game up. Let me tell you, I'm glad I did. This game isn't for everyone, I'll give it that. You can't rush in guns blazing and expect to last very long. You need to have good teamwork. I personally like this change from the typical console shooter. The levels are very well done and allow you to play the game the way you want to. Whether you favor a sniper or a sub-machine gun in your hands, there are always places for you to do your own thing on each map. The different game modes aren't anything new (team deathmatch, escort, capture the flag, etc.) but that doesn't mean that they aren't still fun. Plus, when you only have one life to work with each round, the tension adds a completely new level of excitement. Obviously, none of this would matter if the game didn't control well. Thankfully the controls are spot on and, if you die, you can rest assured that it isn't the game's fault, it's yours. Basically what I'm saying is that, if you liked Socom II or you're simply looking for a fun new experience, you should disregard the initial reviews of this game. They don't do the game justice for where it stands today. Go to EB Games and get a used copy. If you like it, great. If you don't like it, return it. Hope to see you online. Expand
  18. LarsF.
    Jan 15, 2009
    9
    The game that was promised on the back of the box was not the game we received on day 1 of release. Yet now, a few months later we have an update via online for this title and it is truly something to behold. I feel if you have been a SOCOM fan since PS2 then you will find this game to be right up your alley. If you are coming from COD4 though you may be in for some major difficulties as The game that was promised on the back of the box was not the game we received on day 1 of release. Yet now, a few months later we have an update via online for this title and it is truly something to behold. I feel if you have been a SOCOM fan since PS2 then you will find this game to be right up your alley. If you are coming from COD4 though you may be in for some major difficulties as you learn to play this different style of shooter. It is a tactical shooter in which you must use teamwork and basic communication to complete your teams mission objective. The best thing to do is search a room nearest your region. US West for Los Angeles - and then go into a medley room w/ either 32 or 16 players. You will cycle through the game modes and maps and it is a very fun and entertaining shooter experience. Must have for next gen systems. Expand
  19. JohnDoe
    Mar 3, 2009
    10
    SOCOM: Confrontation is the best socom game ever, not just on the PS3. I enjoy it realism and somtimes fast paced, and somtimes more tactical games. Having to use stradegy and teamwork to overcome the opponent is AMAZING! The graphics are brilliant, there are some pop-ins you might see, but what doesn't? The character customization is fantastic. The weapon are desent, but there could SOCOM: Confrontation is the best socom game ever, not just on the PS3. I enjoy it realism and somtimes fast paced, and somtimes more tactical games. Having to use stradegy and teamwork to overcome the opponent is AMAZING! The graphics are brilliant, there are some pop-ins you might see, but what doesn't? The character customization is fantastic. The weapon are desent, but there could be more selection. The maps are great and with bringing back 3 classics, what more could a socom fan want? all the bugs have been fixed, except for some glitches in the game that people can do, but thats why you have the vote option. Bottam line is this is the most addicting and best SOCOM game i have ever play, much better than Call of Duty 4. (trust me I have them both) So stop reading and get this game! Expand
  20. BaileyR
    Mar 15, 2009
    10
    I love this game.i have a little secret for every one.go to map fallen or fallen large(i recommend fallen large).be the mercs and go over to the waterfall.cross over the waterfalland down the stairs.jump on the rail at the bottom.theres a fence on the right.while on the rail.you have to jump over the fence and then climb the rocks.you can go all around the map.please if you are going to I love this game.i have a little secret for every one.go to map fallen or fallen large(i recommend fallen large).be the mercs and go over to the waterfall.cross over the waterfalland down the stairs.jump on the rail at the bottom.theres a fence on the right.while on the rail.you have to jump over the fence and then climb the rocks.you can go all around the map.please if you are going to do this use a sniper. I've seen people up there with machine guns and they die in like a second. Don't lay by anybody cause you both will die.be careful because the other team try to snipe you to so hide.i hope you try this trick out. Expand
  21. SocomNutter
    Mar 28, 2009
    10
    The first day you play this you will probably despise everything about it. Wake up the next morning, all you can think about is SOCOM. Due to the wide range of weaponry, clever customization and incredibly layed out maps, SOCOM: Confrontation will earn its place in your collection over time. Don't reject it after the first day, learn to love. Oh and one more thing. You can't The first day you play this you will probably despise everything about it. Wake up the next morning, all you can think about is SOCOM. Due to the wide range of weaponry, clever customization and incredibly layed out maps, SOCOM: Confrontation will earn its place in your collection over time. Don't reject it after the first day, learn to love. Oh and one more thing. You can't just run in with an AK-47 and expect an all out slaughterfest going your way. You will get mutilated by a storm of bullets from the opposing team. Team is a vital part of SOCOM and is the Key to overpowering the other team. This is the game that keeps on giving 10/10. Expand
  22. AlexC
    Jul 21, 2009
    8
    If you are considering buying this, let me warn you. The network in which you connect to play is INCONSISTENT. Being able to stay connected is rare. With that said, if you can stay connected... this game is great. The graphics are borderline last generation, but the gameplay is fantastic. Now, if only I can stay connected. @#$@%@#%
  23. EoinF
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    Fantastic, with all the patches they've fixed this up good, with a good headset and skill with 3rd person shooters, this game is great to play with mates, teamwork is vital in this, unlike Call Of Duty: Mediocre Warfare 2, without teamwork you'll fall easily. 9/10 for great gameplay, definite reccomended for SOCOM fans
  24. ChaseL
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    This is a game where the first time play, you will say ''what the heck do i do!?'' After that you will be a true full blooded SEAL. I love it and suggest you get it if you want a change from Modern Warfare 2. P.S. you can get this game used for around $15
  25. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    For a game that got a small budget(was announced that it had only a "PS2" budget) and was made by a developer with very little experience this game manages to capture the socom element near perfectly while the "true" developers of the franchise failed on every count in their latest attempt.

    The game lost some features in the franchise but added some new ones at the same time while also
    For a game that got a small budget(was announced that it had only a "PS2" budget) and was made by a developer with very little experience this game manages to capture the socom element near perfectly while the "true" developers of the franchise failed on every count in their latest attempt.

    The game lost some features in the franchise but added some new ones at the same time while also missing some socom elements while improving on other. And though it was originally riddled by bugs most were slowly patched and today it is the only game that offers a tactical shooter experience with a population to back it up. If the game were given the time and resources it could of surpassed the original socoms as these developer earnestly sought to make a true socom game.
    Expand
  26. Sep 4, 2012
    8
    Being a long-time SOCOM fan, I really love this game, other than the cheating and technical glitches. Sadly, it's best played with a bunch of your buddies, rather than logging into random games. I thought it was a great update, and was really looking forward to more from Slant Six, since the newer Zipper versions just weren't cutting it for me anymore.
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 64
  2. Negative: 6 out of 64
  1. 58
    It's been a mess. But growing pains aren't unusual for online games these days. These sorts of kinks get worked out in time, and there's no reason to doubt Confrontation's issues will be smoothed out in the process of a patch or two. But in the meantime, the game is available for purchase at retail and via download through the PlayStation Store, and you deserve to know what that game's like right now. [10/20/09]
  2. SOCOM has always catered to the hardcore and Confrontation is no different in this regard. Slant Six has done an admirable job updating the formula of past games, but the decision to wipe the single-player slate clean and the copious amounts of bugs are standout problems.
  3. Despite an arsenal of moves, the process of switching between weapons is labored and will most certainly result in your demise. The lack of a dedicated single player campaign mode hurts as well. Worst of all, Confrontation includes a ridiculous amount of technical bugs.