SOCOM: U.S. Navy SEALs Confrontation Image
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 223 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: SOCOM: Confrontation focuses on online play and the global community and clans that support it. With support for Tournaments, Clan Ladders, Leader Boards, this latest title in the multi-million unit selling franchise is exactly what SOCOM fans have been clamoring for. Additionally, players will be able to modify their appearance through facial and physical customization. A global-scale experience, SOCOM Confrontation gives players the opportunity to battle against the best and brightest from the U.S., Europe and Asia. SOCOM Confrontation deploys with five new North African themed maps, including a 32-player version of "Crossroads." Additional themed packs for SOCOM Confrontation will be made available for download via the Playstation Store. [Sony Computer Entertainment] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 64
  2. Negative: 6 out of 64
  1. A competent multiplayer FPS. The arenas are big, pretty and detailed. Too bad the vehicles have been dropped. [May 2009]
  2. Loads of customisation options and integrated clan support too. [May 2009, p.77]
  3. The slower pace is an acquired taste, but can make for ace games if you have the patience. [May 2009, p.78]
  4. If Slant Six is able to further solidify the game, and even expand on it with additional maps and content, it’s possible the score would be jump up a tick.
  5. For now, buy this to get the headset for Resistance 2 and come back to SOCOM in a couple months. Maybe it’ll be completed by then.
  6. 58
    It's been a mess. But growing pains aren't unusual for online games these days. These sorts of kinks get worked out in time, and there's no reason to doubt Confrontation's issues will be smoothed out in the process of a patch or two. But in the meantime, the game is available for purchase at retail and via download through the PlayStation Store, and you deserve to know what that game's like right now. [10/20/09]
  7. It feels a bit like kicking a puppy because many of the pop-in, lag, and graphical issues may be fixed with a promised update, but until then, I can only review what I have right now, not the game that might be. The only reason you should buy this game is for the headset pack-in. It’s everything SOCOM: Confrontation is not: pretty, functional, and fun.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 58
  2. Negative: 25 out of 58
  1. Jan 20, 2011
    10
    THIS GAME BLOWS...... No.

    Seriously.

    I'm a socom-er from way back - back when S1 first came out - save your money. This is bogus.
    Cheaters - holy **** HOLY **** Cheaters are worse now than ever. Save your money. Buy some dope - get high - you'll be better for it. Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    For a game that got a small budget(was announced that it had only a "PS2" budget) and was made by a developer with very little experience this game manages to capture the socom element near perfectly while the "true" developers of the franchise failed on every count in their latest attempt.

    The game lost some features in the franchise but added some new ones at the same time while also missing some socom elements while improving on other. And though it was originally riddled by bugs most were slowly patched and today it is the only game that offers a tactical shooter experience with a population to back it up. If the game were given the time and resources it could of surpassed the original socoms as these developer earnestly sought to make a true socom game.
    Expand
  3. Sep 4, 2012
    8
    Being a long-time SOCOM fan, I really love this game, other than the cheating and technical glitches. Sadly, it's best played with a bunch of your buddies, rather than logging into random games. I thought it was a great update, and was really looking forward to more from Slant Six, since the newer Zipper versions just weren't cutting it for me anymore. Expand
  4. May 7, 2011
    4
    Overall I didn't like this game, mainly because IT'S NOT SOCOM! It's more like the new fps, medal of honour, rainbow 6 las vegas. My ideal games would be like S1, S2 and the original Rainbow 6 on the PC. Can anyone tell me if anything like these exist on the PS3? Expand
  5. May 31, 2011
    2
    I never had a PS2,but always wanted to play the Socom games,as they look right up my street.So now i have a PS3,i was looking forward to finally being able to get in on Socom.How disappointed was i,when i found out that Socom-Confrontation was to be a 'Multiplayer only' game?!.. Theres 3 reasons why i dont like this game. 1.Its a multiplayer game only.I have an issue with ANY game that only has a multiplayer mode,as they are boring,repetitive,shallow,& rely on you having access to the internet & an internet connection to be able to actually play the thing.& when the games servers are shut down,or no-one is playing it anymore,what your left with,is an expensive paperweight.. 2.The game is very buggy & glitchy,is ropey graphically & doesnt play very well,& 3.This game has nothing in common with what Navy SEALS are actually about.. The very nature of Navy SEAL operations,like other Special Forces is about going in,accomplishing a specific mission objective,then getting out with as little 'Confrontation' as possible.Not lingering in the same area,in a sustained firefight,for no particular reason,Risking life & wasting precious ammo in a 'TEAM A versus TEAM B' fight! Dear oh Dear... Expand
  6. May 24, 2011
    2
    Wow. I dont know where to start regarding how bad this iteration of SOCOM Navy SEALs is. The only think I thought was neat and innovative was the proximity mic feature. They tried so hard to appease the players that complained about people ranking up but in that ruined the integrity of the game. Its all about online play. Nobody will join a custom room that is unranked. The idiot community is so hung up on rank and Slant Six set this up for failure. The launch delays, slow load up speeds, over the shoulder view, how the games are scored... I could go on. On the POSITIVE side it plays better than SOCOM 4!!!! Expand
  7. Dec 22, 2011
    0
    This game is poor Sony should have never let an outside dev develop Socom. This game really sunk the Socom franchise and now I don't know if it can be saved. Expand

See all 58 User Reviews