Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Thankfully, Sega's made some tweaks to its Sonic 4-mula that manage to both advance the platforming while bringing the 'feel' of things closer in line with the series' halycon days on the Mega Drive. [June 2012, p 81]
  2. May 14, 2012
    80
    It´s best not to question the relevance of Sonic in the world of modern gaming, but as a retro-flashback as well as a strong representative of its genre, this is a convincing game.
  3. Jun 6, 2012
    75
    If you turn off the annoying music, you will find the joy of a classical 2D Sonic. There is nothing new, however it makes fun and in some moments, you can feel the atmosphere of oldschool 2D sonics.
  4. Sonic games have always worked best at top speed. Unfortunately, for Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode II, commitment to that joyous speed is severely lacking. [July, p.79]
  5. May 29, 2012
    70
    In the end, Sonic 4 Episode II is probably the best Sonic game in awhile that combines retro gaming with 21st century next-gen console mechanics. Although the title is a little on the repetitive side, there's enough fun to keep most gamers going and just when things start to become repetitive, the game fortunately ends in time.
  6. May 22, 2012
    70
    All in all, Episode II was a definite progression from Episode I. The bite-sized series updates aren't totally where they need to be, but they're getting there. With a little more focus on speed, fluidity, and a 'back to basics' attitude, SEGA will have a winner on their hands that will be almost as cherished as their best work of art to date.
  7. May 18, 2012
    70
    Sonic 4: Episode II is good - not great, not very good, just good. Its physics are better than the first game and the broad nods to past games will please fans, but the music is a disappointment and the combo moves limit the flowing momentum that would have nudged it into "very good" territory.
  8. Episode II is certainly not a bad game, just a little bit uninspired. It also doesn't help that Team Sonic consistently breaks up the (fast) pacing of the game, resulting in quite some frustration. Less frustrating and even fun are the bonus levels who look like they've been hauled over from Sonic 2.[July 2012, p.92]
  9. May 22, 2012
    67
    If you found no redeeming qualities whatsoever in Episode 1, then you'll probably be pretty underwhelmed on what Episode 2 manages to deliver, but if you got some enjoyment out of the previous entry then I think you'll find this second act worth your time.
  10. Jun 19, 2012
    66
    What we all deserve is a solid, faithful, and fun Sonic the Hedgehog game. While Episode 2 is closer to this than Episode 1, there is still a way to go. Let's just hope that the Hedgehog still has the legs.
  11. May 24, 2012
    65
    Sonic the Hedgehog 4, once more, has not been the true second coming of your hero.
  12. May 16, 2012
    64
    It's 2D Sonic, with brand new zones, seven half-pipe bonus stages, and a Metal Sonic story for those who purchased Episode I. Not bad for fifteen bucks.
  13. Jul 2, 2012
    60
    Polished and zippy, but having to give up control in any game is a sign that all isn't well. Sorry Sonic, time to retire. [Aug 2012, p.103]
  14. By far the biggest problem here is how Sonic himself handles. [July 2012, p.106]
  15. May 22, 2012
    60
    A solid though unremarkable continuation of the long-running formula.
  16. May 19, 2012
    60
    Sonic 4 Episode II feels at times dangerously close to being a great Sonic game, but there are elements throughout that let it down and leave you feeling distinctly underwhelmed. The Homing Attack is far, far more of a hindrance than an aid of any sort, and whilst the presentation is good you don't really get the feeling of a classic Sonic game with Episode II.
  17. May 29, 2012
    50
    With 13 levels, 7 bonus round incarnations, and 5 boss fights, Sonic 4 Episode 2 can be easily played through in a single sitting,and doesn't take much longer if you're really looking for completion. It doesn't so much give that feeling of nostalgia, as much as it reminds you of what the series used to be, and for me, how much I'd rather play Sonic 2 again; especially when the first three entries in the series can be purchased (along with a host of other Genesis classics) in compilations like Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection for the same price as-or less than-this $15 episode.
  18. May 17, 2012
    50
    Playing Sonic 4: Episode II co-op is like returning to your favorite family vacation destination as an adult and bringing along a friend. You point at the broken attractions and try to convince them how good things used to be, but no amount of nostalgia can change the fact that the powers that be have let your beloved memory deteriorate.
  19. Jul 10, 2012
    40
    Don't bother. [Issue#220, p.79]
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. May 16, 2012
    9
    Sonic 4: Episode 2 is absolutely awesome. In terms of a good review, it was inevitable that the first episode would get praise for being theSonic 4: Episode 2 is absolutely awesome. In terms of a good review, it was inevitable that the first episode would get praise for being the first of its kind. So with episode 2, expectations were high for me, especially considering the 2 year wait I had to endure. Nevertheless though, I believe the controls, graphics, and gameplay have been drastically improved. The addition of Tails is truly marvelous as I am now less prone to dying in bottomless pits. I like that Sonic Team kept the controls simple, while still adding new abilities that combine tails and his unique abilities. Even though the controls aren't exactly what the genesis controls are, I can see that a lot of work went into making it like the old genesis games. And hey, after all the bad Sonic games that have come out over the years, I think any Sonic fan will smile when they get their hands on this one. My biggest complaint, is probably the lack of rewards. Unlike episode 1 (which was also lacking in rewards btw), there is virtually no preview of whats to come in next episode after the credits roll. I think my biggest compliment to this game is how creative the bosses are. The bosses, and the levels, feel very new and fresh. The special stages, while frustrating at times, are very fun. I also have to mention the music; As always, its pretty awesome and I think anyone who has played Big the cat's first stage and Sonic CD will hear some solid music references to past games. Overall, this is a fantastic addition to the Sonic 4 saga, and I hope to see episode 3 very soon...hopefully less than 2 years from now... Full Review »
  2. May 17, 2012
    8
    Sonic 4 Episode 2 isn't as good as Sega promised but it is a good game. Sonic Team needs more ambition and has to do a fine tuning in SonicSonic 4 Episode 2 isn't as good as Sega promised but it is a good game. Sonic Team needs more ambition and has to do a fine tuning in Sonic games. Coop with a friend as Tails is fun. Full Review »
  3. May 15, 2012
    5
    Although there was made improvements (Such as graphics and plot), Sonic 4 Episode Two shamefully brings more of the same disappointmentAlthough there was made improvements (Such as graphics and plot), Sonic 4 Episode Two shamefully brings more of the same disappointment brought by his antecessor. Not only with physics this time. About physics, they were fixed in some points, but later it was revealed that there are scripted speed occurring on the game, again getting to ruin your fun. Tails was another broken promise by SEGA, they didn't bring him back: they brought Tails as a game gimmick, the worst treatment a character on the Sonic series could ever receive. This is summed up with the horrendous music, the same style was brought back from Episode One. So, it turns out that the game has turned to a sad example of DIMPS' abilities and SEGA's incompetence. Full Review »