Sonic the Hedgehog PlayStation 3

User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 172
  2. Negative: 99 out of 172
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ryant
    Mar 1, 2008
    7
    Good game but suggestion to sega, continue with shadows style in Shadow the Hedgehog, add weapons, cursing and make it cool again.
  2. Apr 4, 2011
    6
    Ok ok I admit that the game is ugly but I liked it, and much, even if actually has many flaws including
    often slow
    bad audio
    bad video bad gameplay
    and a minute to load on a mission equally poor and slow. .. but I liked the game and if it deserves a sufficiency
  3. Nov 17, 2012
    5
    Darn it! I fought this game looked good! But it's not too great, because of..... The slow down is infuriating, it horribly breaks up the whole game, it would be a lot more fluent and fast-paced if it was fixed. The hub-world is super-boring and badly designed, you don't get enough information on how to get to the next level and you get stuck in it for hours, also the slow down is extra-badDarn it! I fought this game looked good! But it's not too great, because of..... The slow down is infuriating, it horribly breaks up the whole game, it would be a lot more fluent and fast-paced if it was fixed. The hub-world is super-boring and badly designed, you don't get enough information on how to get to the next level and you get stuck in it for hours, also the slow down is extra-bad when you're in it, Sonic games are best when they have either a small and simple hub-world or no hub-world at all, it annoyingly breaks up the proper experience of the game, the levels. The extra characters that you sometimes play as are not good, they have sucky abilities and are nothing on the main characters. The level design is kinda hard to get through and would be better if it was simpler. The pace of the game is extremely slow for a Sonic games, especially when playing as Amy, she runs at like, 1 mile an hour! The puzzles on the Silver levels could be good but are badly done. The vehicles in the Shadow levels are pointless and hardly turn up. A couple of the bosses are the most infuriating and rubbish bosses I've ever come across, for example: Shadow vs. Silver, and Sonic vs. Silver. The last level is horrifyingly awful. But there are good things about the game..... The story line is interesting and well-written. The cut-scenes are cool, especially the CGI ones. The controls work pretty well. The sonic levels are actually pretty good (they'd be a heck of a lot better if the slow down was gone and if it was more fast-paced, well, the same goes for every character's levels...). Some of the bosses are great. The menus work well. The whole feel of the game is good. That's about it. To conclude: this game was a huge disappointment which is sometimes a pain to play, Sega could of made it loads better if they just revised it and fixed a lot of things, all we'd have to do is wait for a year or two. Total score: 4.9/10. Expand
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    5
    It's not the worst Sonic game. For Sonic's story, Radical Train and a couple of other levels were fun, but some of the levels on Sonic's story sucked. For Shadow's story, same as Sonic's. And for Silver, he was the worse. I gave it a 5 because, look at the negative reviews, and because some of the levels were good.
  5. Jan 2, 2014
    5
    Sonic the Hedgehog for the PS3 is a decent game. The story is really lame, yes, but it had nice ideas, such as time travel, something that was planned to be in Sonic 2, and that would actually work if it was like it was supposed to be in Sonic 2, but it wasn't. The gameplay is solid, but there is a lot of problems, such as dying due a programming mistake, on the first level. Most of theSonic the Hedgehog for the PS3 is a decent game. The story is really lame, yes, but it had nice ideas, such as time travel, something that was planned to be in Sonic 2, and that would actually work if it was like it was supposed to be in Sonic 2, but it wasn't. The gameplay is solid, but there is a lot of problems, such as dying due a programming mistake, on the first level. Most of the time, the game play works for the main characters, but there is a lot of problems with the other characters such as Knuckles, which would cause many glitches while playing as him. The stages are detailed and they have nice designs, but like said earlier, the game have a lot of glitches making those levels unplayable at some points. The soundtrack is amazing, the main theme His World is pretty dang awesome and the final boss themes are actually pretty great. Overall, this could be a good game if Sega didn't rushed it, Sonic the Hedgehog for PS3 is a decent game, with or without glitches with some fun parts. The most fun part of the game is to laugh at the horrible plot with millions of plot holes. Expand
  6. sdc
    Apr 3, 2015
    7
    Underrated as all hell. This game has LOTS of qualities. A good enough story, a very swell presentation level, and of course, the gameplay is great. Worth the price nowadays.
  7. Jan 10, 2016
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Had a lot of fun with this game but it was far from a perfect experience. The large variety of playable characters and styles is great with the exception of Amy who I feel was a little lacking in abilities compared to others. Graphics are pretty good but shadow shading is a bit too noticeable at times. Frame rate is not consistent on certain stages (mostly Kingdom Valley and Aquatic Base from my experience). I think the relationship between Sonic and Elise could have been more interesting if Amy were thrown into the mix. If this game were given more development time I am certain that this would have been a great game. Expand
  8. Dec 24, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game really wasn't that bad, especially with the *spoilers* Fight with what is essentially god in the end. A bit half ***ed yes but still pretty epic. I loved Silver and the reappearance of blaze. The glitches were plentiful but aren't they in every game? There hilarious too, i loved the loop-d-loop floor is the ceiling glitch. Could have gone without the girl-on-hedgehog though. I really wish they'd bring back mephiles though. In my opinion he was the best villain in the series. Eggman's got that vague plan for world domination by making everyone explode from laughing at his stupidity and egg shaped *** and his monsters are ok but mephiles literally KILLED sonic. Usual villians rarely even get close but mephilies looks at sonic, and just shoves a crystal through sonic's chest while everyone playing puts on there best "oh ****" face. The game was bad but forgivable because of the deadline, and i hope one day SEGA remakes it into a none rushed version. Expand
  9. Feb 12, 2015
    6
    Sonic The Hedgehog, dubbed "Sonic 06" is a game that was rushed to release to celebrate Sonic's 15th anniversary. Sadly, because of this, its great ambition was missed and has sadly made its way into the gaming hall of shame. But what did I think of this game?

    Starting off, the gameplay has a poor sense of control. Physics are non-existent here and characters move at a mix of either
    Sonic The Hedgehog, dubbed "Sonic 06" is a game that was rushed to release to celebrate Sonic's 15th anniversary. Sadly, because of this, its great ambition was missed and has sadly made its way into the gaming hall of shame. But what did I think of this game?

    Starting off, the gameplay has a poor sense of control. Physics are non-existent here and characters move at a mix of either fairly fast or agonisingly slow paces that can lead to some of the game's greatest problems. All, save for Sonic and Blaze control at a very slow and awkward pace, which is usually accompanied by a poor flight/air mechanic that - if used correctly can increase the player's travel speed. Otherwise this makes the gameplay painful in terms of a Sonic experience control-wise. Since the game defies physics, expect a lot of awkward oddities and glitches that will or will not mess up the game, due to the game's rushed development, the coding also lacks its polish and though some glitches can be seen as funny, many will more than likely annoy the player into rage-quitting. That is if you can find the levels to get into as the hub-world is so gigantic, bland and maze-like that finding your way is about as easy as opening that darn pickle jar and even when you know your way around, it's still bound to take you a fair period of time to get there and all the while being quite boring with the music as your only substance.

    On the plus side of things, the level designs are rather decent and arguably some of them are quite fun and enjoyable... Once you get the hang of it, at least... Many levels follow some cool fun set-pieces and level gimmicks that add some diversity to areas you're playing in. Many times this can be seen as a rollercoaster ride, and can leave a pleasant memorable impact in some cases.

    The music is probably the best part about the game as this game sports an awesome and fairly diverse soundtrack that suits every level well and a few are almost bound to stick with you for some time or put a (sub-conscious) smile on your face. It all in all is great to listen to.

    The visuals are mostly poor and beta-y. save for the CG. Most levels look like they were done in a hurry, fittingly enough though as the game itself was rushed, but that does not excuse shoddy work. Models lacking in a lot of categories, an example being that they barely have mouths, you'll see them only so appear in cutscenes many times, not helped by their lack of facial emotions, and how their characters look so poorly animated and in many ways lifeless. In the CG however, it can look very cinematic and awesome in its own right, the game doesn't hold back in its CG department for presentation.

    The story is one that I could ramble about for a while so I'll make it simple. Don't think about this story. The story is filled with so many problems, plot-holes, and poor logic that it makes it near impossible to make sense out of. The main thing with this story is you can kind of make some sense out of it if you don't think too hard about it. Like Sword Art Online in a sense, if you think deeply about this story, you're only going to make it hard on yourself, and you can't be blamed for it, but at the same time it's good to keep that in mind. But I digress. The story is filled with a lot of serious moments and action that does occasionally make you feel like you're watching a movie of sorts, and does well to get your excited and may satisfy you in one way or another.

    All in all, Sonic 06 is just guilty pleasure worthy, some, namely Sonic fans may like it. However this is not one of the best Sonic games to choose from, anything but, but I would say if you can find it cheap and/or are curious, it may be worth checking out. It's not good, but it can still be enjoyed in some ways.
    Expand
  10. Aug 21, 2015
    5
    This game is badly broken with so many bad controls and glitches but it does offer some good ideas. The story was ok but it did get very complicated to the point it was almost nonsense.
  11. Aug 1, 2016
    5
    It's the bast gam of all time! Sanic is so so so so so so so so FFFFAST! The game is so amazing! It's epic!
    I play is every day! I love it! YEEEEEEEEE!!!! Play it! You wont regret it! This is not SONIC '06! It''s sonic '07!
    It's a diffrent gam!
  12. Aug 1, 2016
    6
    this game had more potencial than sonic boom, but it was not exploited at all.. but i think is a regular game, i like gameplay and the graphics are regular for that time... i have the game for ps3 so when i played it my first impression was: SEGA!!!!! YOU RUINED A GAME WITH POTENCIAL!!!!
  13. Sep 22, 2016
    5
    not the most enjoyable sonic game but its definetly not his worst silver is not a good addition to this game he is the worst part about it althought i like sonics gem powers they are really useful
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 13 out of 17
  1. Game Informer
    68
    In the end, Sonic nuts will love it. Everyone else should stay away.
  2. Sonic the Hedgehog may share its name with the Genesis original, but this game is even more broken than most of the other recent Sonic games have been.
  3. If you're willing to withstand the constant onslaught of glaring issues regarding the control, you might be able to revel in some of those aforementioned highlights, but it won't last. In the end, you'll find yourself wishing for the good ol' 16-bit days.