Sonic Unleashed PlayStation 3

Sonic Unleashed Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 129 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Having been broken apart by the evil Dr. Eggman, it's up to Sonic to put the pieces of the world back together again by retrieving the power of the chaos emeralds! In doing so, Sonic finds himself in a race against time and faced with an unusual situation that challenge hims in ways neverHaving been broken apart by the evil Dr. Eggman, it's up to Sonic to put the pieces of the world back together again by retrieving the power of the chaos emeralds! In doing so, Sonic finds himself in a race against time and faced with an unusual situation that challenge hims in ways never before seen. Both day and night play different, yet important, roles in Sonic's newest quest... as the sun sets, a new adventure awakens. By completing a wide variety of action-packed stages, spanning the seven broken continents of the world, gamers unleash Sonic’s amazing abilities to save the world, and himself! In addition to running at high speeds, which is highlighted in four new speed mechanics, combat fighting now becomes possible. New combat, movement, functional abilities and platforming are introduced to offer increased depth and variety. Sonic Unleashed offers a re-defined experience for fans and newcomers of the franchise alike by combing picturesque & detailed scenery, an expansive world with multiple paths to choose from and dynamic viewpoints for an immersive and renewed gaming atmosphere. Along with seamless 3D to classic 2D camera transitions, the game is built on a powerful, new proprietary "Hedgehog Engine," which introduces impressive lighting abilities and new technology tailor made for Sonic’s new speed capabilities. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 24
  2. Negative: 8 out of 24
  1. To be quite frank, Sonic Unleashed is half great game, and half unnecessarily unleashed. The Sonic levels are extremely fun and bring back the memories of yesteryear, and the night-time levels will leave players wondering why Sonic Team continues to torture their fans by continuing to add pointless things to prolong good gameplay.
  2. It is not the most awaited experience for a tri-dimensional Sonic but this chapter will leave the fans pretty satisfied and convinced that the formula for a more organic and complete game is one or two blocks away.
  3. If Sonic Unleashed is a good game or not has to be decided by you. If you are patient, you can have lots of fun with this title. If you tend to be a bit choleric or just want to relax while playing there is no necessity to buy it.
  4. The Sonic-team has succeeded in developing an improvement upon the last Sonic-game on the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360. Even then, Sonic Unleashed is a flawed game. The Hedgehog-levels are fast and fun, while the Werehog-levels offer a bit of a change to the classic Sonic-gameplay, although, unfortunately, it often comes down to mindless button bashing. Unleashed shows that Sonic isn’t dead and buried yet, but still leaves a lot to be desired.
  5. There are things about Sonic Unleashed that reminded me of how great this franchise could be when done right. It’s just a shame those parts weren’t the true focus of the game.
  6. 45
    Sonic Unleashed has made me bipolar. In the daytime, I'm happy – almost too happy. And at night I become angry and irritable, frustrated and impossible to be around. [Ed: Nice, Hilary. Backwards much?]
  7. Terrible level design, unresponsive controls, and a poor camera are just the beginning of the problems in this awful adventure.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 49
  2. Negative: 3 out of 49
  1. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm a long time Sonic fan, since Genesis, and I absolutely LOVE this game. It's alarming to see so many giving it so little credit, and highlighting their woes about certain aspects. Personally I had a fun time playing as Sonic the Werehog, but more than that, the speed levels are utterly incredible. Spectacularly crafted, graphically too. Couldn't be more pleased with the outcome![2] 10 for that one Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2015
    10
    Most people hate this game because of the werehog, i'm not a big fan of the gameplay but still the game is great, the story is the best for aMost people hate this game because of the werehog, i'm not a big fan of the gameplay but still the game is great, the story is the best for a Sonic game, my favorite game of Sonic Expand
  3. Jun 23, 2016
    10
    sonic unleashed is best ps3 game ever, after amazing game sonic 06, sonic turned into a werehog, and dark gaia is awakened, it's up to sonicsonic unleashed is best ps3 game ever, after amazing game sonic 06, sonic turned into a werehog, and dark gaia is awakened, it's up to sonic and his friend chip to defeat dark gaia and his minions. Get sonic unleashed. Expand
  4. JimT
    Dec 31, 2008
    8
    This game is pretty great. If people could just get over the stupid "OMGZ WEREHOG!!??" mentality they'd realize that even the werehog This game is pretty great. If people could just get over the stupid "OMGZ WEREHOG!!??" mentality they'd realize that even the werehog portions of the game is a good, challenging platformer. The Daytime levels are perfect and amazing. So amazing day levels + rewarding and fun night levels = Good game. Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2014
    8
    I believe this is the most underrated sonic game ever and it makes me rage when classic and adventure sonic purist pair this game with 06.I believe this is the most underrated sonic game ever and it makes me rage when classic and adventure sonic purist pair this game with 06. first I don't blame people for not liking it but this really isn't a poorly made game. the day time stages do indeed lack platforming and could use some more pathways but things like enemy placement and structure and focus is still done well and I can forgive the lack of pathways and platfroming since this the first time sonic team is doing the rush formula in 3d, the werehog sections while bad on some parts only really suffer from long levels both werehog and hedgehog control fine enough but hedgehog sonic could have better control when not boosting like in generations. In terms of overall gameplay the main problem is the longevity in werehog stages and the difficulty spike once you get past chu-nan in day time stages.Now to story and presentation, first off the graphics are perfect except for the slowdown especially in adabat day time stages, though i heard this game was suppose to be on the pc so that's forgivable. the soundtack is some of sonic's best with it's diversity like sa1 but not quite as memorable. The voice acting is great, and another thing i hate how sonic fanboys give jason griffith so much **** and even though he wasn't too good in other games, here everyone and even tails' and amy's voice actors were quite good.The story is the best I got out of any sonic game, mainly about how things like dark gaia were explained well and the character interactions, mainly sonic and chip, were amazing and I love how they characterized sonic in this game like how he has sonic's attitude but he's somewhat mature and cares about others like I see the guy who been through the experience of adventure 1,2 and heroes and even though I'm okay with the new comedic route sonic is doing now i like this version of sonic much better. Plus I like how the story has a lot tension but is still lighthearted and not to serious like sa2 shadow the hedgehog or sonic 06. and even though people think 06 story is better because it's more complex and dark, one it was still constructed poorly, had bad writing, a lot of plot holes and characters acting like idiots ( like how silver trusts a evil looking guy with no mouth and a name that is an alias for the devil that he doesn't even know until it's too late). and two it's too serious for sonic because that wasn't the tone that was made for him since his premise is an over glorified version of the roadrunner cartoons( fast blue creature runs into hi-jinks with a genius who wants him dead) comparing these two stories is like comparing a burnt filet mignon to a very well made blt. And some people complained about how the werehog doesn't make sense when actually I never heard the argument about how the laser is shooting an energy that's the same as dark gaia's(which makes sense since they're the same color and would waking up dark gaia with its own energy makes sense also and eggman does seem capable to produce dark gaia energy since he claimed to have ''fed,'' dark gaia and also created a device that could attract dark gaia spawns) and so if the chaos emeralds' energy was converted into dark gaia energy when sonic whas still holding them then it makes since why sonic's the werehog. So that's the review, this is my second favorite sonic game next to generations and colors is 3rd. Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2014
    7
    There are some things that are pretty awesome like combat system and speed, others are boring story and dialogues. This is not one of the bestThere are some things that are pretty awesome like combat system and speed, others are boring story and dialogues. This is not one of the best Sega's game. Expand
  7. Apr 5, 2015
    2
    Is it bad? YES. Does it earn your time? NO. So disappointed. Too much boring unnecessary stuff, too goofy, too childish, too dumb, levels justIs it bad? YES. Does it earn your time? NO. So disappointed. Too much boring unnecessary stuff, too goofy, too childish, too dumb, levels just doesn't feel right. Generations are 10 times better. I wonder: is it possible that Sonic 06 is even worse? Expand

See all 49 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.