• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Nightmare Queen has broken the ancient pact with mankind and threatens to cover the land in eternal night. As a young sorcerer's apprentice, it's your task to master the arcane arts and drive back the Queen's foul minions. Using the PlayStation Move controller, Sorcery puts the wand in your hand, letting you conjure powerful magic as you brave the deep dark of the Faerie Kingdoms. Experience a world of magic and wonder steeped in Irish folklore tradition. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 52
  2. Negative: 2 out of 52
  1. May 21, 2012
    88
    The best Move game available, and one of the best motion game experiences on any platform I've experienced.
  2. May 25, 2012
    80
    It is not the ultimate PlayStation Move, but it makes great use of its possibilities in an adventure oriented to traditional users. One of the first Move games that can appeal to hardcore players.
  3. Jun 20, 2012
    78
    Sorcery is maybe the first PlayStation Move game that core gamer can enjoy. The game offers nice graphics and a very good gameplay. Only the camera control is poor.
  4. May 21, 2012
    70
    Sorcery is truly a game for people who want to get the most out of their PlayStation Move peripherals. And if it's just that you want, you'll no doubt love the eight or so hours of gameplay on offer. If you're more interested in a deep, magical experience then you might feel somewhat short changed – throw away the motion controls and you're left with a good, though not brilliant, and quite linear romp through this mythological, magical world.
  5. Jun 4, 2012
    70
    PlayStation Move has struggled to find defining software that justifies its existence, but Sorcery represents the most ambitious attempt yet. Its seamless integration of natural motion controls makes it the best example of Move's potential to date, and while the campaign lacks replay value, it's still worth experiencing if you want to put Sony's underutilised wand to use.
  6. Jun 19, 2012
    60
    The controls are not only responsive, but they show a subtlety we don't normally see in motion-controlled games. It's just too bad that what could've been a fun, magical romp is deflated by generic fantasy tropes and equally uninspired visuals and sounds.
  7. Jun 2, 2012
    45
    Aggravating combat overwhelms the elements that could have made Sorcery enjoyable.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. May 23, 2012
    10
    It's a really pretty game with interesting enemies and a solid story.There's a really satisfying KAPOW for each spell with the Move that a normal button press doesn't quite achieve. The story is completely classic. Arching acrane bolts and lightning traps are really fun and the polymorph potions are awesome. Each boss actually makes you think about what to do with your magic. Easily worth the 40 bucks. Expand
  2. May 23, 2012
    10
    Sorcery is a beautiful game; crafting, fighting and magic, what more can a person ask for? The environments and characters are fantastic, the game play is super fun, and the story holds my attention as I progress through each level. I finally have a good reason to own a PlayStation Move. Expand
  3. May 23, 2012
    10
    I'm now a proud Move owner who has the best PSMove game ever made. The controls are as good as they can possibly be. The game isn't on rails, there are tons of areas to explore off the main path with treasure to find and puzzles to solve. The Boss fights are challenging and the higher difficulty settings make you really pay attention to how you use your spells. And just because the game is short doesn't mean you you don't have reasons to play it again; there are lots of achievements and alchemy recipies to try.

    I think the small number of negative reviews have been a result of not knowing how to use the controller. You don't have to "repeatedly pretend you are hitting a nail with a hammer", although if you want to play that way and be bored you can. I have a lot more fun swinging the wand sideways - like trying to skip a stone across water - to get my magic missiles to curve around stuff that enemies are hiding behind.

    Also, if you have been playing Wii games then you are probably at a loss for how the Move actually works... it's WAY more accurate and sensitive to how you hold it. If you want to shoot magic bolts up high, you actually have to AIM HIGH. Shaking it around like a rattle will get you nowhere, the game takes actual SKILL, which is a rare thing for games these days.

    The one drawback is that there is no multiplayer or co-op, but I guess that was never in the cards to begin with and you can't fault a developer for focusing on doing one thing well. And since I can't give it a 9.5, I guess I'll have to round up. :)
    Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2013
    9
    Just got this and its a fantastic game. The move integration is great, but the camera is a bit iffy, But this is easily overcome. Graphines are good and i highly recommend it. Expand
  5. May 23, 2012
    8
    The best Move game available on the console. Although when you really think about it, it's not much of an accolade to have hanging from your chest. Despite the obvious lack of quality Move titles I found enough reasons to 'borrow' my girlfriends Move for the week. Sorcery is a simple title. You play a sorcerer's apprentice by the name of Finn in a world greatly inspired by Irish mythology, the kind of thing that was stuffed down into my bedtime stories as a child in rural Ireland. The plot is simple, it weaves an interesting reason to keep playing. But that's not why we're here. How does the game cope with the Move? Surprisingly well actually. It's one of the few games which feels very responsive and in tune with the game, rather than just relying on the 'wag for your dear little life' approach. Aim is important, the ideas and motions behind the spells and powers are relatable to the actions performed in the game. But while offering quite a few powers and options for combat, you'll quickly fall into the trap of becoming too comfortable with maybe two or three particular powers and then proceed to neglect some of the later spells. Still, despite the issues and the limitations Sorcery succeeds in becoming the best reason to own a Move. So far at least. Expand
  6. May 25, 2012
    8
    The game isn't perfect. Alchemy and the puzzle elements are pretty simple and never evolve. But if you can look past that there's a charming game. The controls work well. Learning new spells and combining them keeps things fun and fresh. The decision to change the art direction to have more of a Celtic theme was a good one. The world, music, and illustrated cutscenes benefit from it. This is easily the best game for the Move and a step in bridging the gap between Move titles and traditional games. Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2012
    0
    I gave the game ZERO OF 10 because it is the exploitation of the FANS PS3 ! I've got the MOVE, but do not want to Play it with a MOVE !!!! Do everything by force has become now!!!??? CAPCOM company that is sick and you need to Change my administration off ...! Expand

See all 13 User Reviews