Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [=> Please see the Vita page for additional Sound Shapes reviews - the game is available on both platforms.] Play, Compose and Share in a unique take on the classic sidescrolling platformer where your actions make the music. With equal parts musical instrument and game, Sound Shapes gives [=> Please see the Vita page for additional Sound Shapes reviews - the game is available on both platforms.] Play, Compose and Share in a unique take on the classic sidescrolling platformer where your actions make the music. With equal parts musical instrument and game, Sound Shapes gives everyone the ability to make music. Set different shapes into the world to make musical notes and trigger sounds through your actions. Upload your levels for others to download and remix on their own. Sound Shapes creates an ever-changing musical community for everyone to enjoy on the go. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Oct 27, 2012
    90
    Sound Shapes is a charming and beautiful platformer based on music and rhythm. Your goal is to collect notes and build on the song playing in the background. All the levels have a different look, with a team of graphic artists and performers combining their talents to make something truly enjoyable and unique.
  2. Aug 29, 2012
    90
    A brilliantly conceived and well executed platformer, with enough aesthetically, musically and socially pleasing innovations to warrant a purchase.
  3. Aug 28, 2012
    90
    With the exception of quirky platforming physics, there's nothing to not like in Sound Shapes. Fantastic pre-made levels and a profound level editor make the game a great value as well. Whether you're academically interested in the more experimental line of games on the PSN or you just want a unique and enjoyable platformer, you can't go wrong with Sound Shapes.
  4. Sep 29, 2012
    90
    A beautifully detailed experience. [Nov 2012, p.105]
  5. Sep 19, 2012
    85
    Sound Shapes is a refreshing change of style and pace for the PSN. Although not perfect it does a lot of things that have not been seen (or heard) before and should be commended for doing so. Add to this a small price tag and cross-play features and you have a great package that no PS3 owner should ignore.
  6. Sep 18, 2012
    80
    Come for the excellent aesthetic design. Stay for the endless fun and frustration of chipping away at those best times. [Oct 2012, p.57]
  7. The platforming gameplay itself is simple, but in conjunction with the lovely art style and excellent soundtrack, there are times when Sound Shapes becomes a genuine joy. [Oct 2012, p.119]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. May 25, 2013
    9
    Sound Shapes is probably one of the most imaginative platformers that I've played in a while. It takes music and makes you go through levelsSound Shapes is probably one of the most imaginative platformers that I've played in a while. It takes music and makes you go through levels collecting notes to make more music, everything in the game adds to the music. It's obviously pleasant to listen to being a game that's based almost entirely around music. Some levels were really hard, though. I wouldn't say that they were just hard in terms of completing them, but in terms of completing them 100%. I did die numerous times, so this is pretty challenging for people who like to get 100%. I did like how it was a challenge though, games nowadays are relatively easier than they used to be. If you want it to be really hard, play the death mode. It's another mode for the game that applies to all levels, the level is replaced by a single one challenge of getting a certain amount of notes within a set time period. These are most certainly not easy, there's always obstacles that will try to stop you from succeeding. I should mention that you can't unlock this mode until you've beaten all of the main levels. The levels are also infinite, there's a ton that are user generated. There's a lot of items that you can use to customize your own levels to make it truly unique, you unlock new items to use in the level editor by completing the main levels. This is a great 2D platformer for people who are fans of the genre and people who like music. It's a truly unique and great concept for a game and it succeeds. If you're going to download this game, I would highly recommend that you play with headphones. Collapse
  2. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    great game, played on the vita, then cloud synced my save to get 2 platinums.
    it had some great tunes, but a few were annoying. the death
    great game, played on the vita, then cloud synced my save to get 2 platinums.
    it had some great tunes, but a few were annoying. the death mode levels weren't too bad, just a few were frustrating. i love these creative downloadable games...in the same class as journey & papo & yo for me.
    Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    Game is a platformer that's a lot of fun. Great music and neat art styles work very well together. Death mode and Community levels add a goodGame is a platformer that's a lot of fun. Great music and neat art styles work very well together. Death mode and Community levels add a good amount of replay value. If you buy it you can play it on your Vita on the go which is a nice bonus. Highly recommended it, good job on the developer. Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2013
    8
    While not quite as amazing on PS3 as it is on Vita, Sound Shapes is still a great music-based platformer. The fact that you get the VitaWhile not quite as amazing on PS3 as it is on Vita, Sound Shapes is still a great music-based platformer. The fact that you get the Vita version for free when grabbing the game for PS3 (and vice versa), only adds to the experience. While on handheld, Sound Shapes gets a 9 out of 10 for me, on PS3, it's more like an an 8.5. Either way, I highly recommend giving Sound Shapes a crack. I really doubt you'll regret it. Expand
  5. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    The game of Sound Shapes is a slasher. It’s a puzzle-slash-music-slash-art-slash-platformer-esque game that put’s you in the place of anThe game of Sound Shapes is a slasher. It’s a puzzle-slash-music-slash-art-slash-platformer-esque game that put’s you in the place of an ambiguous blob who sticks and rolls along through colorfully crafted surfaces making music wherever it goes. What draws you in are it’s personal visuals but what keeps you sucked in are the albums you play through. With contributors such as Beck and Deadmau5 you can expect an experience given by no other. Sound Shapes is also cross-buy/cross-play so it’s a no-brainer investment for $15 on the Playstation Store. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    Beautiful but frustrating and sometimes stupid, Sound Shapes rely on a strong community and truly amazing visuals. While Beat School isBeautiful but frustrating and sometimes stupid, Sound Shapes rely on a strong community and truly amazing visuals. While Beat School is fantastic, Death Mode is a disaster Expand