Spartacus Legends PlayStation 3

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 49
  2. Negative: 15 out of 49

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    If you love the Spartacus show then you are going to love this game. It lets you build up multiple characters to make them the gladiator you want them to be. SO many different armors and weapons make this game worth it. The graphics are really good.. not GREAT but good. You can go to different arenas, fight legendary fighters and more. Everyone is complaining about freezing and allIf you love the Spartacus show then you are going to love this game. It lets you build up multiple characters to make them the gladiator you want them to be. SO many different armors and weapons make this game worth it. The graphics are really good.. not GREAT but good. You can go to different arenas, fight legendary fighters and more. Everyone is complaining about freezing and all that.. but that happened on the first day when it was buggy. They have patched the game and it works great. Also, who cares if it does freeze once in awhile. ITS FREE! Its worth it to check out and as I said before.. if you loved the show there is no way in hell you are going to not like this game. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2013
    9
    i signed up just now because of the false advertisement of this game... i will be here ALOT more to critique new titles which deserve recognition and honest responses. Spartacus holds true to the series and with the rogue-like gameplay, brings the score to an easy 9.0
    Do yourselves a favor and don't pay mind to the angry children giving these low scores. sure, the game was buggy at first,
    i signed up just now because of the false advertisement of this game... i will be here ALOT more to critique new titles which deserve recognition and honest responses. Spartacus holds true to the series and with the rogue-like gameplay, brings the score to an easy 9.0
    Do yourselves a favor and don't pay mind to the angry children giving these low scores. sure, the game was buggy at first, but as a mature human being those bugs will obviously get patched as they have. such critics should be banned for scoring so low, especially when peoples careers are at stake.
    Try the game for yourself. ciao.
    Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    Not sure why this is getting bad reviews. This is a technical and rewarding gladiator experience and unless something drastically changes, this is definitely worth trying out.
  4. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    i only got to play spartacus yesterday...and i honetly think that people gave this game a low score for nothing...the game is rather good, i enjoyd every moment of it...just like the series itself
  5. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    Spartacus Legends is a free-to-play licensed game based on a TV show; in other words, it has all the ingredients you'd need to make the blandest, cheapest attempt to cash in on a franchise. But Legends isn't what you'd expect.

    You play a lanista--the manager of a ludus, or group of gladiators. You recruit fighters and manage their careers, but you also take direct control of them in
    Spartacus Legends is a free-to-play licensed game based on a TV show; in other words, it has all the ingredients you'd need to make the blandest, cheapest attempt to cash in on a franchise. But Legends isn't what you'd expect.

    You play a lanista--the manager of a ludus, or group of gladiators. You recruit fighters and manage their careers, but you also take direct control of them in actual matches--this is a fighting game, not a sports manager sim. The game's atmosphere is especially remarkable--everything from the music to the UI to the loading screen tips succeds in evoking the raw, brutal feel of the game's raw, brutal setting.

    The most important element, and the one most would expect to suck, is the actual combat. Astoundingly, Legends has a deep, fun, and addictive fighting system. There are eight different fighting styles, each with their strengths and weaknesses and combos. Unlike in most AAA fighters, button mashing is utterly useless--you've got to actually get good at the fighting system to win.

    On a less cheery note, the game falls apart online. The lag is sometimes barely noticeable, but often is severe enough to make the game practically unplayable. Additionally, you're penalized whenever a fight ends by disconnection--even when the other player (or the game's own servers) is at fault. These problems may very well be fixed completely, but I'm not holding my breath. Still, the game is mainly focused on single player, so these problems aren't as catastrophic as I might be making them sound.

    So the game is good--but what about microtransactions? The game may be free-to-play, but it's a shining example of how F2P can be done right. Microtransactions take the form of gold, a buyable currency that allows you to get items before you're at the normal level required to buy them. With a few minor exceptions, gold doesn't get you exclusive stuff, instead offering a shortcut to stuff you could have gotten through the the time-honored method of chopping people's heads off for a few hundred screaming fans.

    Even if you do use gold, you can only skip forward two or three levels--you're not getting endgame gear at level one. And for those few things that are only available with gold, the game gives you a few gold pieces each time you level up--not much at all, but enough to get a few of those bonuses. Gold is reasonably priced, but if you want to ignore the microtransactions entirely and just play the game for free, you can do so without feeling like you're playing a demo version of the game.

    This is an F2P licensed game with next to zero marketing, so it's more or less guaranteed not to get much atention. The surprising part is that that's actually a bad thing.
    Expand
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Sep 27, 2013
    55
    You know what we like? Combat that isn't half bad and not having to pay for our games. So us and Spartacus Legends should have been a match made in heaven. Want to know what we do not like? Grinding. And there is plenty of it in this otherwise acceptable game. [September p.91]
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Sep 8, 2013
    30
    God knows why you’d want to invest in this crap, however. A match consists of mashing triangle to overcome an uninspired selection of bland nobodies. Thumbs down, we say. [October 2013, p83]
  3. Aug 16, 2013
    50
    As a free-to-play experiment, it’s fairly successful. When you download Spartacus Legends you get the full package, not just a few morsels of gameplay, with the rest locked behind a pay-wall. In some ways this is one the game’s biggest strengths but it still fails to dispel a number of its other issues.