Spider-Man 3 PlayStation 3

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 41
  2. Negative: 5 out of 41
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 30, 2015
    6
    Eh... solid at its best. I can't say there are parts really fun, such as the free roaming and the final battle (which is complicated as f*ck but it's still a whole lot of fun). The problems with the game is the audio and the characters interaction. They don't feel real or in any way consistent. However, if you love Spider-Man and love a solid sandbox game, then I think you'll enjoy this.Eh... solid at its best. I can't say there are parts really fun, such as the free roaming and the final battle (which is complicated as f*ck but it's still a whole lot of fun). The problems with the game is the audio and the characters interaction. They don't feel real or in any way consistent. However, if you love Spider-Man and love a solid sandbox game, then I think you'll enjoy this. Just don't buy this with high expectations. Expand
  2. May 25, 2015
    6
    Good game has very good graphics, but has a good gameplay, and features an open map qeu has until quite something to explore, as well as having some missions that are well challenging.
  3. May 15, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  4. May 31, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers. This was my first game on the PS3. Having enjoyed the movie in third grade, I couldn't wait to play this game. It was the first few times I've played it, but as I got older I started to notice flaws. There were some levels that didn't like and that I didn't feel like playing such as the Mad Bomber missions. But the boss battles were pretty fun, such as the New Goblin battle. I would not say this game is as bad as the critics say it is. Collapse
  5. Jun 29, 2012
    6
    I'm not an idiot, I know what games are as a standard. Spiderman 3 boasts an impressive open world and a large amount of challenges within the open world which will keep you playing for a good while. Unfortunately the games games story is the only thing holding it back from the comic book game we all want. It takes lots of different pieces of story and mashes them together to make aI'm not an idiot, I know what games are as a standard. Spiderman 3 boasts an impressive open world and a large amount of challenges within the open world which will keep you playing for a good while. Unfortunately the games games story is the only thing holding it back from the comic book game we all want. It takes lots of different pieces of story and mashes them together to make a inconsistent pile of poo. The gameplay can be good but eventually becomes a repetitive mess. If you're going to go out and buy this. Free roaming is where the fun is. Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    If theres one thing I can say about Spiderman 3, its that its one of the greatest movie games ever. It is signifigantly underrated. Unlike the Superman Returns game, you can explore this large open world and play missions whenever you want. Theres a larger amont of content and the graphics are even better. The controls are also very responsive.
  7. lannyD.
    Jan 30, 2010
    5
    This game does not feature a lot of parts that the movie does.Short game length.The missions are somewhat good some missions have nothing to with any of the movies.The graphics are on and off.It would be better if they better combat moves better missions and more action.It is good and bad.
  8. Bret
    Oct 13, 2007
    9
    I just got a Ps3 for my birthday and my wife picked up this game for me. At first I was worried due to all the bad reviews, but after playing it I was very pleased. This game is total fun. Just one more example where I should largely ignore the 'official' reviews. I am not sure why it gets bashed soo badly, it's a solid game, well worth your money and a lot of fun.
  9. SinthuC.
    Aug 26, 2007
    1
    This game has the worst PS3 graphics ever seen, sure it may be better than the PS2 and Wii, but as i said worst PS3 graphics ever. The people seem very lifeless and the character models are very rusty. The game is pretty mush a button bashing game and other thing is that none of the Ten storyline are not any good and does not make any sences. The camera angle in this game can be poor at This game has the worst PS3 graphics ever seen, sure it may be better than the PS2 and Wii, but as i said worst PS3 graphics ever. The people seem very lifeless and the character models are very rusty. The game is pretty mush a button bashing game and other thing is that none of the Ten storyline are not any good and does not make any sences. The camera angle in this game can be poor at times as well. This game Feels unfinish and is worst buying nor renting. Expand
  10. ClarkeA.
    Jun 25, 2007
    2
    The Spiderman character looks washed out. The main characters in the game look freakish. All the cars are the same model and citizens don't speak. I guess that's because they disappear into thin air at times. The combat system is ruined by the frustrating button mashing sequences. Activision stocks went down by 5% after this game was released for a reason...the game stinks. The Spiderman character looks washed out. The main characters in the game look freakish. All the cars are the same model and citizens don't speak. I guess that's because they disappear into thin air at times. The combat system is ruined by the frustrating button mashing sequences. Activision stocks went down by 5% after this game was released for a reason...the game stinks. It's one of those games that tries to do too much and gets virtually nothing right. Even renting this game is a waste of money. Not worthy of the bargain bin. Expand
  11. StevieB.
    Jun 2, 2007
    8
    This game isnt great but it is very good. it has great graphics, 10 great storylines, great button mashing sequences, great side missions and an imense free-flowing city. but i cant help but feel that there is something missing. when playing the game it doesnt feel solid and i am also angry at the fact that there are no scenes from the film as rewards. but dont let my review stop you from This game isnt great but it is very good. it has great graphics, 10 great storylines, great button mashing sequences, great side missions and an imense free-flowing city. but i cant help but feel that there is something missing. when playing the game it doesnt feel solid and i am also angry at the fact that there are no scenes from the film as rewards. but dont let my review stop you from getting it as i am only listing the bad points. you will be missing out if you dont get it!!! Expand
  12. KalebF.
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    This is spider-man 2 totally revamped. Now better than ever. The game has totally been tweaked and corrected from the previous franchise and now it is the diffnitive spiderman game. A little frame rates but you can hardly notice. The stories are better and the game is longer what else can you want! Perfection? yeah right just get the game and try it out for yourself. It even better than This is spider-man 2 totally revamped. Now better than ever. The game has totally been tweaked and corrected from the previous franchise and now it is the diffnitive spiderman game. A little frame rates but you can hardly notice. The stories are better and the game is longer what else can you want! Perfection? yeah right just get the game and try it out for yourself. It even better than the movie considering that thier is more plot. Expand
  13. FreddyL.
    May 26, 2007
    9
    Critics are being really tough on this game. It's not perfect, but it is still a fantastic addition to the Spider-Man game franchise. It is the best of the series, without a doubt. The city looks fabulous and the graphics are great. The only problems are the frame-rate (although you get used to it and it doesn't bother after a while) and the camera movement (it gets kind of Critics are being really tough on this game. It's not perfect, but it is still a fantastic addition to the Spider-Man game franchise. It is the best of the series, without a doubt. The city looks fabulous and the graphics are great. The only problems are the frame-rate (although you get used to it and it doesn't bother after a while) and the camera movement (it gets kind of irritating , but nothing to cry about). Even Tobey does a better job of voicing Spidey than he did in the first two games. Expand
  14. Venom
    May 22, 2007
    10
    This game is in different ways such as combat web swinging and slingshotting, but the things that arent so great are the camera veiw but other than that this game is worth buying
  15. PaulM.
    May 7, 2007
    10
    Think Grand Theft Auto meets Spiderman and you have Spiderman 3. The mission are NOT boring. they vary and some are difficult. The detail, control and graphics are top notch.. I play and average of 4 hours per day. This is one of the best games I have ever played. 10|10.
  16. TheHorn
    May 7, 2007
    9
    Critics sure know how to boil my pan of beans lol. Let my start by saying that i thoughtg spiderman 2 was a fantasic game nd probably the best spidey game to date.... well spidey 3 beats it hands down in everyway. The graphocs arnt moind blowing but you can tell they have a next gen shine to them. The gameplay is still there but has ben tweaked to make it even more satisfying.... and the Critics sure know how to boil my pan of beans lol. Let my start by saying that i thoughtg spiderman 2 was a fantasic game nd probably the best spidey game to date.... well spidey 3 beats it hands down in everyway. The graphocs arnt moind blowing but you can tell they have a next gen shine to them. The gameplay is still there but has ben tweaked to make it even more satisfying.... and the the web swinging is just yummy :) Ignore the critics who only have the bad things to say about games these days and pick this one up. We swinging around new york at night is breathtaking . Go get em tiger ! hehe Expand
  17. Warmonger
    May 5, 2007
    9
    Great game (The collector's Edition) but it's far from perfect! (what is?) the action is intense, and the graphics, inspite of what some may say.. are very nice!, sure the missions can get a bit tedious and the camera angles a little hairy at times but this game is definitely a lot of fun!! The view of downtown Manhattan from the air, is truly breathtaking!! it's a blast Great game (The collector's Edition) but it's far from perfect! (what is?) the action is intense, and the graphics, inspite of what some may say.. are very nice!, sure the missions can get a bit tedious and the camera angles a little hairy at times but this game is definitely a lot of fun!! The view of downtown Manhattan from the air, is truly breathtaking!! it's a blast just to swing around the city trying to find all of the tokens but that's not what this game is all about, it"s all of the extras that really make it shine! a lot of thought and hard work was put into it...and it shows! This is quite simply... the best Spiderman game that I've ever played . Expand
  18. JeffA.
    May 5, 2007
    8
    Any review under 80 is complete rubbish. Spiderman, the villians right down to the people walking on the streets look great. The buildings also have a lot of detail. The cars unfortunately all have the same skin. They just have different paint jobs. As far as controls go, they are tight. The audio is what you would expect except for the fact that civilians don't generally talk to Any review under 80 is complete rubbish. Spiderman, the villians right down to the people walking on the streets look great. The buildings also have a lot of detail. The cars unfortunately all have the same skin. They just have different paint jobs. As far as controls go, they are tight. The audio is what you would expect except for the fact that civilians don't generally talk to Spiderman. This is a must have game for any Spiderman fan. This game isn't a perfect 100 but it certainly isn't 50 or 60 like some reviews are scoring it. Overall a really good game where you do what a Spider does. Expand
  19. PaulP.
    May 5, 2007
    8
    The gam eis what you would expect from a SM game. the city looks great spidys moves are fluid. The filler missions are more entertaining. I have seen a few issues with collision detection, but other than that nothing major. The flaws are a result of rushing a title out to meet a movie release.
  20. May 31, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers. This was my first game on the PS3. Having enjoyed the movie in third grade, I couldn't wait to play this game. It was the first few times I've played it, but as I got older I started to notice flaws. There were some levels that didn't like and that I didn't feel like playing such as the Mad Bomber missions. But the boss battles were pretty fun, such as the New Goblin battle. I would not say this game is as bad as the critics say it is. Collapse
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 33
  2. Negative: 5 out of 33
  1. 85
    The best thing about playing Spider-Man 3? Without a doubt, the web slinging. Thanks to a tight control scheme and great level design, slinging around the virtual city is one of the game's great thrills.
  2. 60
    Other than nailing what web-swinging should feel like, this game is a bust...Combat is brainless button-mashing, the bosses are frustrating and cheap, the visuals aren't worthy of your PS3, and although the random crimes aren't the same events over and over, they definitely reuse the same ideas.
  3. 60
    Right out of the gate, Spider-Man 3 is going to smack you in the face with some of the worst next-gen graphics you have ever seen.