Star Trek The Video Game Image
Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of one of the greatest science-fiction heroes of TV and film -- Kirk and Spock – in STAR TREK, an original co-op gaming experience that builds on the Star Trek universe. Set in the 23rd Century world of the Star Trek reboot, this cover-based shooter inserts players in anAssume the role of one of the greatest science-fiction heroes of TV and film -- Kirk and Spock – in STAR TREK, an original co-op gaming experience that builds on the Star Trek universe. Set in the 23rd Century world of the Star Trek reboot, this cover-based shooter inserts players in an original story and action-based combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Star Trek Co-op Multiplayer Gamescom Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 27
  2. Negative: 14 out of 27
  1. CD-Action
    May 13, 2013
    60
    I had an impression Digital Extremes wants to make a deal. They pretend to have developed a great game (which they haven’t) and I was supposed to pretend I’m having great time (which I didn’t). [CD-Action 06/2013, p.54]
  2. May 30, 2013
    55
    In the end, it's almost exactly what you'd expect from a big-budget cash-in based on a big-budget summer blockbuster. Flashy, but ultimately soulless and empty.
  3. May 5, 2013
    52
    At it's current MSRP, Star Trek is destined to dock at the nearest starbase for good. However, if you really enjoy co-op third person games (who doesn't?), even if they aren't very good, you might circle back to this one later when the price is far, far lower.
  4. May 15, 2013
    46
    Star Trek: The Video Game tries to take advantage of the incoming release of the new Star Trek movie, offering an unfinished product that brings nothing new to the fans nor the third person action genre. It is a flawed product that any gamer can do without.
  5. Jun 5, 2013
    40
    Star Trek The Video Game just isn't very good.
  6. Apr 26, 2013
    40
    Digital Extremes clearly set out to develop a game that is more than a mere licensed cash-in, but Star Trek is a title with big problems, from camera issues to ropey cover and platforming mechanics.
  7. May 24, 2013
    25
    In every way a failure of intergalactic proportions. Skip this.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 28
  2. Negative: 19 out of 28
  1. Feb 26, 2016
    10
    Played this game in 2015. Playing on PC. I really did not see any bugs in the game. Just one in coop but nothing that should scare anyone. IfPlayed this game in 2015. Playing on PC. I really did not see any bugs in the game. Just one in coop but nothing that should scare anyone. If you love the movie, you will love the game. The game play is pretty good and you have different way (well 2 ways) of playing. Full force or stealth. Choose wisely. You can play as Spock or Kirk. But you have to play both to get all of the achievements. I put in 68 hours into the game and loved every moment of it.

    Again, I believe I was spared the issues other players had earlier. But I would urge them to play it again now that it's been out a couple of years.

    The bonus thing about this game, all the voice actors for the characters are the REAL actors in the movie!
    Expand
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    7
    I will be the first admit that I purchased this purely because I love Star Trek. While it is not the best and it does have it's problems, I'mI will be the first admit that I purchased this purely because I love Star Trek. While it is not the best and it does have it's problems, I'm having a lot of fun playing it. The banter between Kirk and Spock is fun. The combat mechanics do need improvement but they are workable. The story is definitely the strong point of the game. If you are a die hard Trek fan I would recommend it. If not I would rent or wait for it in the bargain bin. Expand
  3. Apr 23, 2013
    6
    Meh game. First the worst, the acting was uninspired. Sounded like Kirk was literally reading for the first time. The A.I. is good and awful,Meh game. First the worst, the acting was uninspired. Sounded like Kirk was literally reading for the first time. The A.I. is good and awful, some times a challenge some times just blankly staring at nothing. I do enjoy interacting in this universe but it is like a Michael Bay film all action no substance. Where's the challenging parts? The set pieces are poorly implemented and the gun mechanics leave me wanting for a smaller cross hair. This game should not be a full priced disk but a twenty dollar arcade download. Wished i rented. Expand
  4. Jul 10, 2013
    3
    Another awful movie licence game just to make money of it name. This game is bad, i mean really bad. The story is below average with noAnother awful movie licence game just to make money of it name. This game is bad, i mean really bad. The story is below average with no exploration. Star trek should be about exploring the galaxy for new life form or other amazing stuff but here its just about shooting aliens in the face. AI in this game is terrible teammate or enemy. Teammate AI is just stupid which can be fixable by playing with a friend which i highly recommend. There is multiplayer as well which is fun for an hour then it just boring. I can bash this game all day thats how bad it is. Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2013
    0
    Co-op mode doesn't work. I tried to join co-op 7 times and each time I waited at least 5 minutes to join, but all I got was waiting for hostCo-op mode doesn't work. I tried to join co-op 7 times and each time I waited at least 5 minutes to join, but all I got was waiting for host to reach check point) message. What Namco Bandai Inc.has done should be against the law. Who is in charge of protecting the consumer and is being done to discourage such terrible abuse. How many people lost 60. if you add it up thats a lot. Enjoy your filthy lucre Namco Bandai Inc. That isn,t a game you sold us, it's a poop sandwich with no bread." Expand
  6. May 13, 2013
    0
    Set phazers to SUCK! This game is buggy, graphically unimpressive, and has generic 3rd person shooter gameplay. Even the story is remarkablySet phazers to SUCK! This game is buggy, graphically unimpressive, and has generic 3rd person shooter gameplay. Even the story is remarkably bland. DO NOT BUY. Expand
  7. Apr 24, 2013
    0
    This game has so many bugs that anyone should have been embarrased to release it.
    Tossing the bugs aside, it's a very average game that
    This game has so many bugs that anyone should have been embarrased to release it.
    Tossing the bugs aside, it's a very average game that deserves a score around 5-6, but since people don't mind giving painfully buggy games a 10 i guess i don't mind giving it 0.
    Collapse

See all 28 User Reviews