Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 122 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of one of the greatest science-fiction heroes of TV and film -- Kirk and Spock – in STAR TREK, an original co-op gaming experience that builds on the Star Trek universe. Set in the 23rd Century world of the Star Trek reboot, this cover-based shooter inserts players in anAssume the role of one of the greatest science-fiction heroes of TV and film -- Kirk and Spock – in STAR TREK, an original co-op gaming experience that builds on the Star Trek universe. Set in the 23rd Century world of the Star Trek reboot, this cover-based shooter inserts players in an original story and action-based combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 27
  2. Negative: 14 out of 27
  1. May 13, 2013
    60
    I had an impression Digital Extremes wants to make a deal. They pretend to have developed a great game (which they haven’t) and I was supposed to pretend I’m having great time (which I didn’t). [CD-Action 06/2013, p.54]
  2. May 30, 2013
    55
    In the end, it's almost exactly what you'd expect from a big-budget cash-in based on a big-budget summer blockbuster. Flashy, but ultimately soulless and empty.
  3. May 5, 2013
    52
    At it's current MSRP, Star Trek is destined to dock at the nearest starbase for good. However, if you really enjoy co-op third person games (who doesn't?), even if they aren't very good, you might circle back to this one later when the price is far, far lower.
  4. May 15, 2013
    46
    Star Trek: The Video Game tries to take advantage of the incoming release of the new Star Trek movie, offering an unfinished product that brings nothing new to the fans nor the third person action genre. It is a flawed product that any gamer can do without.
  5. Jun 5, 2013
    40
    Star Trek The Video Game just isn't very good.
  6. Apr 26, 2013
    40
    Digital Extremes clearly set out to develop a game that is more than a mere licensed cash-in, but Star Trek is a title with big problems, from camera issues to ropey cover and platforming mechanics.
  7. May 24, 2013
    25
    In every way a failure of intergalactic proportions. Skip this.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 33
  2. Negative: 21 out of 33
  1. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    The game has issues that's a fact. The graphics can get a little dodgy and a bug or two will get ya on occasion, but i love this game. I thinkThe game has issues that's a fact. The graphics can get a little dodgy and a bug or two will get ya on occasion, but i love this game. I think its imperative that the game be played as it was intended, as co op. Not with some stranger but a friend. It greatly amplifies the experience. Great story, fun game and stellar voice work. I almost wish Star Trek wasn't such a beloved franchise, maybe then butt hurt fan boys and former high school jocks who think anything with star in the title is meant only for nerds would give it half a chance. Your loss. Bottom line a fun game. Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    I actually like this game. Im not one of those trolls that make up a fake review or some account made by some random developer or publisher. II actually like this game. Im not one of those trolls that make up a fake review or some account made by some random developer or publisher. I actually give this game a 7.5 but decided to do it a 7 on Metacritic because even though I think it is a good game, it isnt worth the $60 asking price, its more like $20-30 if you wanna buy it. That is because the campaign is relatively short (Took me about 8 hours). I suppose if you're a hardcore trekie and you enjoy the new movie series then $60 will be a fair price to you, but if you are just a casual fan of Star Trek or 3rd person shooters I would wait for a price drop.

    First of all, most of the pro reviewers exaggerated the issues with the game. Yes, there are some clipping issues and bugs, but they are overblown. None of the bugs affect your ability to play the game. So I do mark down some for it but not much since its more of a polishing issue than something that affects the gameplay. There is a notable exception to this though, I did encounter a bug that inverted the directions of my left analog stick that seemed to be triggered by getting rammed by one of the big Gorn creatures, and it lasts a few seconds. I am unsure if this is a bug or perhaps intentional design to make the impact of getting hit seem more significant, since this bug only happens in these very specific instances, and other heavy impacts like explosions do not cause it. Its not a crippling bug when looking at the game as a whole because you only fight big Gorn bosses a few times in the game, they are not a regular enemy.

    One of the complaint I hear about a lot is the AI is bad. This isnt true at all. My AI partner has been pretty helpful in firefights and has saved my hide numerous times. As far as the AI teleporting, this only happened to me one time, which was on the last mission. The last mission seemed to be more buggy than the rest of them in general so I hope they patch it quick.

    The terrible animations only apply to cutscenes and such, the actual in game animation for combat/movement sequences is actually very good. The cutscene animations being bad particularly happens when characters are stationary and mostly affect Kirk and Spock (who should be the most animated characters honestly) because most of the other characters are animated well with a few exceptions.

    The graphics are pretty good. There are some instances of low res textures, but the engine is technically sound with great draw distance, no pop in or screen tearing, a consistent framerate with no slowdowns, and some pretty visual effects such as in the opening mission with the bright sun in the background and nice reflection effects.

    The sound design is very well done, the sound effects sound like they they do from the series, the actual actors lend a hand for the voiceovers and do a good job in portraying their characters, and the game has a mix of music from the movies as well as some original scores, and the score is very good.

    The gameplay is 3rd person like Gears of War, but its not a bro-op shooter where you just shoot and shoot some more with some turret sequences to spice it up. This game has a LOT of variety in the gameplay from platforming, puzzle solving, the tricorder (Which can also help in combat scenarios), exploration, stealth, drop sequences like the 2009 movie, and even a segment with commanding the enterprise, AND NO TURRET BITS!

    It is done pretty well overall with all of these bits, if I did have to pick a weak point with these extra bits it would be the platforming because the controls are a little wonky with this. It wasn't an insurmountable obstacle but a lot of my non combat deaths were from trying to manage some of the platforming sequences.

    The game also has something called Commendations, which you may see come up once-twice per mission, basically rewarding you for playing a specific way. Fortunately this game doesnt fall into a trap of FORCING you to play a specific way or have to retry like a lot of games do. For instance, if you dont want to use your phaser on stun, explore different routes, or use stealth to avoid detection, you dont have to and the game wont make you restart a segment if you fail to do this. These commendations are setup to have the player play a little more intelligently, like you are a Starfleet Officer as opposed to a gun toting grunt. They are optional but they do help you to unlock additional experience for unlocking things.

    You can use experience to unlock upgrades to your tricorder and phaser. It would have been nice to utilize it to upgrade the other weapons as well, but I can see why they chose the phaser only since you generally always have it.

    The story is very solid and is well presented like in the movies. And the combat is good, shooting and cover mechanics work well and you snap to cover and get off it easily. And the phaser and tricorder can be very useful in combat, as you can use the stun setting to allow melee kills on enemies.

    I do recommend this
    Expand
  3. Apr 25, 2013
    6
    While there are a few real snags in the game, I really enjoyed it. This captures the feel of the JJ Abrams Star Trek universe from set piecesWhile there are a few real snags in the game, I really enjoyed it. This captures the feel of the JJ Abrams Star Trek universe from set pieces to storyline and character banter. Though the graphics are dated, I can easily look past that for the art direction (running animations, however, are terrible. NO one runs like that.) I think my biggest graphical disappointment is how Scotty looks like a mongoloid. Gunplay is surprisingly tight, and I enjoy swapping for dropped weapons that add a bit more strategy to a firefight.

    Where the game does falter is in execution. Much of the fantastic voice acting and aforementioned banter is marred by poor mixing, making it sound as though the actors are speaking into a tin can. Some of the controls are poorly implemented, specifically when being carried by your AI partner and when laying down on the ground. Never should a game make you fight the controls.

    Absolutely unforgiveable, however, is the complete lack of clipping detection. I should not be able to walk through or stand on the exact same place as my partner, either AI or friend-controlled. I also feel there was very little quality control done on scripting for your AI partner in solo mode. All too often, Spock would stand somewhere in the level and not follow me to a door I needed opened, or he would jump directly into enemy eyesight on stealth sections. It was not enough to keep me from wanting to complete the game, but it can be frustrating in a few parts.

    These technical issues do enough to lower the score from what I would otherwise consider a great game. If you enjoy the Star Trek franchise, this is certainly worth a rent. A purchase may depend on your ability to play co-op with a friend as it removes many of the AI-companion foibles.
    Expand
  4. May 19, 2013
    3
    As a concerned gamer, came to Metacritic to research this Star Trek game. To my dismay, I discovered numerous accusations andAs a concerned gamer, came to Metacritic to research this Star Trek game. To my dismay, I discovered numerous accusations and counter-accusations. Some, on the one hand, claimed that the game developers had made fake metacritic profiles and were giving the game high scores that it didn't come close to deserving; on the other hand, some refiews seemed to indicate that the majority if the people who had reviewed the game were a bunch of haters who were unfairly maligning a truly wonderful game.
    After checking the game out for myself and playing it, I do not know if either of those accusations is true, but I DO know that Star Trek the Video Game is an appalling, poorly-executed mess. In the interest of being fair to the game, I will ignore how the Star Trek canon has been butchered by the game and recent movies and treat this as a new IP. In many ways, I think it would have been much better if this were the case.

    The graphics range from early original XBOX quality in some places to almost superb in others, and this division can sometimes be found in the onscreen in the same cutscene. Quality differences aside, however, they are for the most part bland and forgettable. There are exceptions, but they're just that- exceptions.

    The characters themselves feel lifeless, and often AI controlled characters (especially Spock, in my time with the game) will exhibit pathfinding issues and try to walk through an obstruction for thirty seconds or so. Conversely, I found that Kirk was able walk right through Spock as if he were a hologram. Whenever I entered a turbolift (and managed to find the right spot to press the square button) the other characters would do a strange little running dance. It was quite comical, but very mechanical and unrelistic. The voice acting was dull and unispired and the plot was unconvincing.

    Every now and then, however, there was a bright spot, like a ray of sun emerging briefly from behind a dark cloud. Such a moment occured in an early cutscene where Kirk and Spock are playing chess while discusing Kirk's predictibility and are called away in the middle of the game. Spock is winning, of course, and I was thinking to myself, more in feelings than in words: "well, if this is Kirk, and he doesn't concede, he'd cheat." Sure enough, no sooner than the thought popped into my head, Kirk sneaks back and quickly changes the position of a single piece. Its a very juvenile scene, and the old Kirk never would have gotten away with it if the original Spock were around, but it nevertheless does a wonderful job of capturing the "doesn't believe in losing" spirit that Kirk possesses. If only the rest of the game could live up to that moment.

    The gameplay itself bears a superficial resemblance to Mass Effect, but without any of Mass Effect's depth (both in and out of combat). This isn't necessarily a bad thing in itself, but in this case it feels like the game simply lacks poluish. The aiming controls work well and the weaponry itself is largely believable, and in one place I noted a tiny bit of detructible cover, but actually moving around didn't work quite so well. I found myself backing out of cover at inopportune times, entirely by accident, and then when I actually wanted to get out from behind whatever Kirk had found to protect him, my character seemed very reluctant to comply, as if he had decided on his own to stay where it was safe.

    There were several gameplay anomalies I noticed during my time with first two levels. The first deals with the 'cover' issue above. Because Kirk refused to leave cover when I wanted him to, in frustration I decided I'd get an early start, and this led to the discovery that I could safely leave cover at times I should not be able to due to environmental hazards. This discovery made things easier. Secondly, I can report that, as I had read elsewhere, weapons can indeed be fired while the onscreen reloading graphics are still playing. It must be that advanced Vulcan technology. Third, I discovered that dodging often made Kirk temporarily invincible. This may be intentional, but its hard to take the game seriously when an enemy does a charge attack right through your character and you take no damage because the evasive animation had started. Other times, however, Kirk did take damage while dodging, as if some noticed at the last minute and took a half-hearted stab at fixing it at the last minute.

    The music was decent -no complaints, that is- but forgettable. That's about all there is to say concerning it.

    On a final note, I have to say that I liked being able to scan things with my tricorder to earn points to upgrade my devices. It was most satisfying to upgrade my phaser to fire fully automatic.

    Now, we come to the last and most important detail: Did I enjoy playing it? I actually did, sort of. Will you? I doubt it.
    Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2013
    0
    Co-op mode doesn't work. I tried to join co-op 7 times and each time I waited at least 5 minutes to join, but all I got was waiting for hostCo-op mode doesn't work. I tried to join co-op 7 times and each time I waited at least 5 minutes to join, but all I got was waiting for host to reach check point) message. What Namco Bandai Inc.has done should be against the law. Who is in charge of protecting the consumer and is being done to discourage such terrible abuse. How many people lost 60. if you add it up thats a lot. Enjoy your filthy lucre Namco Bandai Inc. That isn,t a game you sold us, it's a poop sandwich with no bread." Expand
  6. May 13, 2013
    0
    Set phazers to SUCK! This game is buggy, graphically unimpressive, and has generic 3rd person shooter gameplay. Even the story is remarkablySet phazers to SUCK! This game is buggy, graphically unimpressive, and has generic 3rd person shooter gameplay. Even the story is remarkably bland. DO NOT BUY. Collapse
  7. Apr 24, 2013
    0
    This game has so many bugs that anyone should have been embarrased to release it.
    Tossing the bugs aside, it's a very average game that
    This game has so many bugs that anyone should have been embarrased to release it.
    Tossing the bugs aside, it's a very average game that deserves a score around 5-6, but since people don't mind giving painfully buggy games a 10 i guess i don't mind giving it 0.
    Expand

See all 33 User Reviews