• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: May 2, 2007
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ibeetle
    May 12, 2007
    8
    The first hour I was afraid I found my self agreeing with the reviews. The second hour I found this to be a surprisingly fun title with graphics that do not include ripping someone's head off. As far as the PS3 hate from the mainstream reviewers; I don't know where it comes from. If this game had been released for the Wii it would have gotten 10 out of 10 from every reviewer. The first hour I was afraid I found my self agreeing with the reviews. The second hour I found this to be a surprisingly fun title with graphics that do not include ripping someone's head off. As far as the PS3 hate from the mainstream reviewers; I don't know where it comes from. If this game had been released for the Wii it would have gotten 10 out of 10 from every reviewer. This is why I do not read review magazines or websites for the reviews. Expand
  2. DionysusJ.
    May 4, 2007
    7
    I don't know what kind of chip these so-called "professional" reviewers have on their shoulders, but it seems like all they do is complain about the most insignificant things with every nex-gen title that is released. Super Rub-a-Dub is not a AAA title by any means, but it is certainly not a 2.9/10 game either. And it seems to me that most of these reviewers got frustrated with the I don't know what kind of chip these so-called "professional" reviewers have on their shoulders, but it seems like all they do is complain about the most insignificant things with every nex-gen title that is released. Super Rub-a-Dub is not a AAA title by any means, but it is certainly not a 2.9/10 game either. And it seems to me that most of these reviewers got frustrated with the first few levels of the game and decided to blame the sixaxis controls for their poor performance. In actuality, the motion controls are incredibly responsive and have a great deal of precision; and the level design never fails to entertain. Now, sometimes the controls can feel a little too sensitive, but the duck is never out of the player's control. As for being too frustrating...It's a puzzle-game! I could see if poor design was causing the frustration, but once you pass the initial learning curve the game's level of frustration is completely up to you. Ultimately, the truth is simply this: If this game was on the Nintendo Wii...it would be receiving 8's and 9's from every reviewer and his dog. So go and pay the $6.00 already, you won't be disappointed. Expand
  3. CharlieW.
    Aug 26, 2007
    9
    In my opinion, the only problem with this game is that it's on the wrong console... this game belongs on the Wii. It's a fun and easy to play, but challenging enough in the harder levels to be fun for more serious gamers. But as I said... it's just on the wrong system. PS3 owners are on the whole more hard-core gamers and simply need more depth than running a duck around a In my opinion, the only problem with this game is that it's on the wrong console... this game belongs on the Wii. It's a fun and easy to play, but challenging enough in the harder levels to be fun for more serious gamers. But as I said... it's just on the wrong system. PS3 owners are on the whole more hard-core gamers and simply need more depth than running a duck around a tub, while Wii gamers are your more every-day play a game to kill some time and have fun-types, which is exactly what this game is. My wife loves it, and it's the only game on PS3 that she has any interest in, but can play Mario Party, Rayman and Warioware on Wii all day long, to name a few. From what I can read, this game used to cost more than the $3 I paid for it. I can see saying that it might not be worth $6, but at $3... heck, I spend more at Taco Bell and I don't enjoy that purchase as much as I have this one. My only serious complaint is that it's a bit short. I would have been a lot better if you could unlock different duck types, or if there was a level editor to create levels to challenge your friends with. But again, at $3... who can complain? Expand
  4. Sammy
    May 9, 2007
    7
    What's with all the hate? While I'm no die hard Rub-A-Dub player, my sister bought this game and it can be wildly entertaining. IGN criticized on the SIXAXIS controls as being frustrating and nearly impossible. I disagree, tilting the tub with the controller feels natural and responsive. I don't like the way jumps are handled, however, as they can be unpredictable. With 60 What's with all the hate? While I'm no die hard Rub-A-Dub player, my sister bought this game and it can be wildly entertaining. IGN criticized on the SIXAXIS controls as being frustrating and nearly impossible. I disagree, tilting the tub with the controller feels natural and responsive. I don't like the way jumps are handled, however, as they can be unpredictable. With 60 puzzles and a solid amount of enjoyment, this game is well worth it's budget price. Expand
  5. ToddHuebner
    Dec 1, 2008
    9
    I rate it a nine based on what its taget audience is, and its affordable price. This game aims for the adult casual gamer and the under 10 year old groups. For the casual crowd this game is a quick play with very little load time to start or between levels. Although the task of collecting the duckies seems straight forward there is an element of stategy involved too if you want toI rate it a nine based on what its taget audience is, and its affordable price. This game aims for the adult casual gamer and the under 10 year old groups. For the casual crowd this game is a quick play with very little load time to start or between levels. Although the task of collecting the duckies seems straight forward there is an element of stategy involved too if you want to compete for online rankings. The inclusion of online replays for the top scores for each level is also nice so new strategies can be tried and so you can marvel at the dexterity of other players and the sensitivity of the controller. For the kids its a cute game to pass back and forth and the first 20 or so levels have a gradual enough learning curve that kids can master the game. I see alot of the pro critics site a lack of control my thought is that these folks have never really investigated the physics of an object floating in water. Anyway the game accomplishes its goals with flying colors it's critics who quacked in the head Expand
  6. Limanima
    Nov 5, 2007
    7
    This magazines that review games, should review their methods of reviewing games.
    This type of games are not supposed to compete with blockbuster games like Halo 3 or MGS. And you know what? Small children like to play too. They are the reason why video games exist in the first place.
    I tried the game and I think it is fun to play. I might even buy the complete version of it. The menu
    This magazines that review games, should review their methods of reviewing games.
    This type of games are not supposed to compete with blockbuster games like Halo 3 or MGS. And you know what? Small children like to play too. They are the reason why video games exist in the first place.
    I tried the game and I think it is fun to play. I might even buy the complete version of it. The menu design, presentation of the game and gameplay, suggests that it is for children.
    Reviewing this game with the target audience in mind (children) is the correct thing to do. A positive review should be given in this case.
    Expand
  7. Ps3beat
    Apr 20, 2007
    9
    Really nice Sixaxis Game without blood, pain and other horrible stuff for kids
  8. Luiggi
    May 20, 2007
    8
    Well I liked it, I play it with my nephew and he can't get enough. addicting game.
  9. RobbejanV.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    It's the perfect party game here, my friends love the game.
  10. FrankC.
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    Great game, with pletny of addictive style. First couple of games will make you curse the sixaxis, however a few more tries and you'll see just how sweet and responsive the controls really are.
  11. IanI.
    May 10, 2007
    8
    I agree with Dionysus, its purly the current trend of sony bashing IMO but who knows. Bottom line is if this was realesed as a full price $50-60 game...yeah its a 2.9 or whatever they are giving it. But for a $6.99 its an amazing title. The sixaxis works great here it isn't "unresponsive" but you need to be gentle with it, you can't whip it around like a steering wheel or you I agree with Dionysus, its purly the current trend of sony bashing IMO but who knows. Bottom line is if this was realesed as a full price $50-60 game...yeah its a 2.9 or whatever they are giving it. But for a $6.99 its an amazing title. The sixaxis works great here it isn't "unresponsive" but you need to be gentle with it, you can't whip it around like a steering wheel or you will fall off the edge, you need to use it slowly at times so that you don't pick up speed (something that is not a flaw, but what makes the game possible, the sixaxis is capable of the small ajustments and thats what you need to do). This is worth 6.99 and then some. A great download, certainly I would prefer this more than gauntlet 2. Expand
  12. JosephF.
    Jun 12, 2007
    3
    Don't trust any review that uses words such as "quacktacular". The games a bore.
  13. LeonLai
    Mar 19, 2008
    10
    I totally agree this game is in the wrong console. I'm very impressed with the successful SIXAXIS demonstration. There is no Wii games can compete with in the motion sensor feature. The game is simple and fun to play. The online ranking is the most interesting feature (true for all Sony's mini game) which keep me continue to play and move up on the ranking list. This is aI totally agree this game is in the wrong console. I'm very impressed with the successful SIXAXIS demonstration. There is no Wii games can compete with in the motion sensor feature. The game is simple and fun to play. The online ranking is the most interesting feature (true for all Sony's mini game) which keep me continue to play and move up on the ranking list. This is a must feature for all future games. Expand
  14. May 31, 2012
    7
    Everyone has a valid opinion, but I wonder if the reviewers that gave this a negative score missed the point a bit. It's not so much a game as a time passer, and in that regard it's great fun. The controls are responsive, the graphics and sound OK, and it's very simple to get to grips with. Plus it's only a couple of quid - stop moaning and lighten up!
  15. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    This game is good even Khalil agrees and he hates most games!A quacktacular giggle from start to finish combined with surprisingly valid puzzles make for what is being touted as the best game ever made by many in the office
Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 5 out of 13
  1. 83
    A quacktacular giggle from start to finish combined with surprisingly valid puzzles make for what is being touted as the best game ever made by many in the office. [Issue #151, p.67]
  2. The 40 levels are deliberately built to be played in fast bursts against the clock for the kudos of scoring high on the online scoreboard, but none are challenging or interesting enough to keep you going back. [May 2007, p.103]
  3. A brilliant nugget of arcade puzzle gaming that is hard to put down and well worth its budget price. However, it is a little lacking in substance and, despite its next-gen gloss, feels a lot like a homebrewed internet shareware title.