Syndicate PlayStation 3

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 106 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 106
  2. Negative: 26 out of 106
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    7
    Very good shooting mechanics, the use of the cybernetic powers and blending that with gunfire leaves lots of ways to tackle situations. The AI is fairly robust also. The Campaign is very short but the story is solid with some great voice acting. If you are a fan of EDM you will like the soundtrack.

    The short campaign and linearity brings the score down, its a good game but it could have
    Very good shooting mechanics, the use of the cybernetic powers and blending that with gunfire leaves lots of ways to tackle situations. The AI is fairly robust also. The Campaign is very short but the story is solid with some great voice acting. If you are a fan of EDM you will like the soundtrack.

    The short campaign and linearity brings the score down, its a good game but it could have been a great game.
    Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2012
    5
    I can not do a full review of the solo campaign due to the game constantly freezing and locking up the ps3 every-time the game auto saves and sometimes even when the game is not saving. On-line the problem is still present intermittent graphics freezing while auto saving and when entering the next area of the map render syndicate for the most part unplayable in any enjoyable way in theI can not do a full review of the solo campaign due to the game constantly freezing and locking up the ps3 every-time the game auto saves and sometimes even when the game is not saving. On-line the problem is still present intermittent graphics freezing while auto saving and when entering the next area of the map render syndicate for the most part unplayable in any enjoyable way in the games present state. It is now two months after release and no attempt seems to have been made to patch these issues. Syndicate graphics are below average and look very dated. But the guns and upgrade paths are good and the enemies present a nice challenge. Its a shame because this game is a Good co-op game but the bugs spoil it making it no fun to play i can not recommend Syndicate and i will be returning it for a refund. Yet another title that seems to have been released unfinished or fully tested. The demo was great such a shame the same cannot be said about the full game. Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2013
    5
    Single player game is absolutely forgettable. Shallow characters with indecipherable motivations, alright but ultimately uninteresting story, and huge missed opportunities in gameplay. Using pseudo-quicktime events, you use hacking applications via an implanted biochip to manipulate both enemies and objects in the world. One early level features an operating room where you can hack theSingle player game is absolutely forgettable. Shallow characters with indecipherable motivations, alright but ultimately uninteresting story, and huge missed opportunities in gameplay. Using pseudo-quicktime events, you use hacking applications via an implanted biochip to manipulate both enemies and objects in the world. One early level features an operating room where you can hack the power supply of operating tables forcing them to retract thereby exposing the enemies hiding behind them. These moments are few and far between and sometimes scripted. There are only a few apps or powers to choose from throughout the story mode. Enemies are fairly generic but there are some challenges. Some enemies are invulnerable to damage until you hack their chip to lower their defenses. This makes timing and positioning hugely important. The game also features xray vision that also slows down time. Despite these cool powers and rare opportunities to interact with the environment in a meaningful way, the gameplay is standard fare FPS. Levels are cramped but the style is great. Most of that style is lost by the overdone bloom and outlandish lighting effects which sometimes impair the FPS gameplay. The co-op multiplayer is better than I expected but so few people are playing at this point. More powers to choose from than in singleplayer, working together is a must, and there's a good selection of challenging stock levels. Don't buy it for the story; buy it for the online co-op with friends. Expand
  4. May 24, 2012
    7
    I really like this game. I thought the campaign was alright. But the really good part of this game is the co-op. It's AWESOME. Once this game goes down to around 30 dollars GET IT.
  5. Sep 7, 2012
    7
    Według mnie ta gra jest fajna i można się przy niej dobrze bawić,ale czasami jest po prostu nudna.Miejscami żeby znaleźć urządzenie,które mamy zhakować (czytaj:nacisnąć odpowiedni przycisk na padzie) trzeba celować po całej lokacji.
    Muzyka jest dobra,są to przede wszystkim utwory elektroniczne (np. podczas walki
    Według mnie ta gra jest fajna i można się przy niej dobrze bawić,ale czasami jest po prostu nudna.Miejscami żeby znaleźć urządzenie,które mamy zhakować (czytaj:nacisnąć odpowiedni przycisk na padzie) trzeba celować po całej lokacji.
    Muzyka jest dobra,są to przede wszystkim utwory elektroniczne (np. podczas walki z pierwszym bossem usłyszymy fajny kawałek dubstepowy).
    Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2013
    7
    Story and Characters: Interesting story with a cool cyberpunk environment. Brian Cox voice character the best of the game. The others (including the lead) are kind of forgetful.
    Gameplay: When the original came out the isometric view was awesome and i think that this one would have gained if it where in a 3rd person view but that's just my opinion.
    Presentation: Great visuals although
    Story and Characters: Interesting story with a cool cyberpunk environment. Brian Cox voice character the best of the game. The others (including the lead) are kind of forgetful.
    Gameplay: When the original came out the isometric view was awesome and i think that this one would have gained if it where in a 3rd person view but that's just my opinion.
    Presentation: Great visuals although exaggerated light effects affecting the gameplay.
    Multiplayer: Interesting concept although i'd prefer competitive to cooperative.
    Expand
  7. Feb 5, 2013
    6
    The single player campaign is a serious mess, the game forces horrible boss fights on you at times and these should never be in a FPS. The story and characters are so forgettable you won't even remember the main characters name after finishing although the environments are suitably futuristic and interesting but ruined by the most overblown lighting effects in gaming. There are alsoThe single player campaign is a serious mess, the game forces horrible boss fights on you at times and these should never be in a FPS. The story and characters are so forgettable you won't even remember the main characters name after finishing although the environments are suitably futuristic and interesting but ruined by the most overblown lighting effects in gaming. There are also various visual glitches and my game crashed twice when playing through. However the multiplayer is actually very fun left 4 dead style teamwork focused shooter that I had alot of fun with. If you're interested in co-op shooters and you see this cheap then give it a go, but if you want a solid single player campaign then look elsewhere. Expand
  8. Jun 25, 2014
    7
    Don't get me wrong it's a fun game but comes across as a poor rip off of Deus ex.
    Story's kind of the same.
    You don't feel like your up grades do anything.
    Graphics are good.
    The weapons are good and unique.
    But end of the day you don't really feel like you had an impact in this games world.
  9. Nov 29, 2015
    5
    A decent game but tries to be too many things at once. I liked the idea of seeing enemies through walls (sort of reminded me of the special capabilities in the Fear series) Problem is the game keeps throwing all of these skills at you and the entire plot gets a bit convoluted. Not to mention the level design doesn't always make a lot of sense (some parts of the levels can be manipulatedA decent game but tries to be too many things at once. I liked the idea of seeing enemies through walls (sort of reminded me of the special capabilities in the Fear series) Problem is the game keeps throwing all of these skills at you and the entire plot gets a bit convoluted. Not to mention the level design doesn't always make a lot of sense (some parts of the levels can be manipulated for no apparent reason) Plus the controls in the game wasn't to my liking. Probaby best to rent this game. The multiplayer is good though. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 11, 2012
    90
    Right from the start, you feel like a demigod, dispatching enemies with ease thanks to an overpowered arsenal and a whole bunch of 'breaching' powers that let you slow time, enhance damage and decrease ouchies from incoming bullets. [April 2012, p65]
  2. Play UK
    Mar 28, 2012
    78
    No classic, but it's still easily one of the year's stronger shooters so far. [Issue#216, p.74]
  3. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Mar 21, 2012
    65
    Awful bosses, poor story, and unimaginative level design bury sexy guns and good looks. [Apr 2012, p.92]