Tales of Graces f PlayStation 3

Tales of Graces f Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 341 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this newest title, the feelings such as "preserving one's faith", "saving their precious ones" and the destiny of raising the storm between three countries which form the setting, are portrayed. The PS3 version shows the story more in depth having many new elementsIn this newest title, the feelings such as "preserving one's faith", "saving their precious ones" and the destiny of raising the storm between three countries which form the setting, are portrayed. The PS3 version shows the story more in depth having many new elements including a "Lineage to the Future Episode" where a new tale after the main story is told. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Apr 5, 2012
    91
    Overall, ToGf is a fun RPG with an absolute ton of things to do through the game.
  2. Sep 14, 2012
    88
    The real-time battles offer countless variations, you enjoy a lot of freedom. The monumental story about the power of true friendship delivers memorable moments full of humour and drama. One of the best role-playing experiences on the PS3.
  3. Mar 23, 2012
    85
    It is heads and shoulders above all of the other JRPGs to release this year and may be one of the best on the PS3. There are things that could have been better but otherwise it's solid. Plus it gives you incentive to play through the whole game again.
  4. Apr 16, 2012
    80
    Tales of Graces f is a by-the-numbers JRPG with a top-notch battle system.
  5. Aug 31, 2012
    77
    Rote it may be in many regards, but an involving, tactical and – most importantly – welcome battle system makes Tales Of Graces f stand out from the me-too crowd of JRPGs. Imperfect, certainly not for everyone, but good fun.
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    70
    Even though Tales of Graces F doesn't deliver anything new to the genre, it conveys a nostalgic experience with its high recognition value.
  7. Apr 4, 2012
    50
    Despite its engaging combat, Tales of Graces f fails to distinguish itself from so many other JRPGs that have the exact same elements and handle them much better.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 80
  2. Negative: 3 out of 80
  1. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Tales of Graces is a fantastic RPG. With a story, characterization, new battle system, and soundtrack of the highest quality, this game surelyTales of Graces is a fantastic RPG. With a story, characterization, new battle system, and soundtrack of the highest quality, this game surely has a place in the Tales series while bringing completely new content to the genre. This series has always been known for its characterization, and its ability to make you care about these characters in the 50-100 hour quests. The new and improved battle system is completely unmatched by any other Tales game before it, as well as most RPGs in my opinion. Real time RPG batles can become very repetitious and usually resort to button mashing, and this can be said for past Tales games as well, but Tales of Graces introduces a much more involved and complex system that calls for precise timing and strategy, as well as having to know the skill trees, strengths and weaknesses of the character you choose. It reminds me a little of Dark Souls's "avoid/block and strike" combat, just not quite as difficult. I thought the decision to begin the game and story in childhood and then advance to adulthood hours later, was brilliant, because it gives the story a strong foundation in which all the important events are tied to. This time-advancing element is rarely seen in games and the way it was incorporated in Tales of Graces is perfect. I understand Tales of Graces, or the Tales series itself isn't everyone's cup of tea, but if you appreciate/are a fan of JRPGs, anime, or both, please do yourself a favor and consider getting this game (or watch clips from youtube to learn more about it). I would love to see this game sell well so we can get other Japanese Tales games that unfortunately don't make their way over here. Expand
  2. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    the battle system once you understand the mechanics it's very addictive. Even though this is a wii port the graphics still are very enjoyablethe battle system once you understand the mechanics it's very addictive. Even though this is a wii port the graphics still are very enjoyable to the eyes....the fluid of the battle system looks great. The characters so far have their share of good and bad....but that comes with the territory of every rpg.....you will have great, good and bad characters. The music is forgettable, why won't they use more score pieces from GO Shiina is just mind boggling. Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    I was a bit put off by the apparent focus on friendship, but Tales of Graces f has really surprised me thanks to its mix of intrigues, war andI was a bit put off by the apparent focus on friendship, but Tales of Graces f has really surprised me thanks to its mix of intrigues, war and good character development. The world is vibrant and interesting to explore, the battle system is far deeper than the previous entries and the customization using titles is fantastic. I have already clocked 15 hours in less than two days, and I can't wait to see more and to have more localized Tales games! Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    Hands down : If your a big fan of J-RPG , this is your game, fast action packed, with lots of combo's. Sure it may have some down sides likeHands down : If your a big fan of J-RPG , this is your game, fast action packed, with lots of combo's. Sure it may have some down sides like cartoon-ish graphics and linear gameplay, but its fun overall, and depending how long you play everyday , it will last a very long time if you play only about 4-5 hours a day. If your like me and wasted 3 whole days completing the game, just to beat it well there is a bonus for you! There is a New Game plus where you can start the game over again with bonus's such as 10x exp ! Face monsters you never faced before , go into a bonus dungeon! Combat is just like any other tales game from the starting from the play station 2 series and gamecube series to present. Check it out , Tales of symphonia, Tales of Legendia , all great games , the mechanics and all skits have been voiced over so basically everything is voiced , of course not everything is voiced. The battle system is fast action packed! As soon as you hit a monster , Bang! a monster appears before and becomes hostile towards you , you will be made to fight or escape it, but it is reccomended you fight every monster you see. There is a cooking and materialization system, cooking in battle, eating before battle , while in battle, finding rare materials, then the costumes and Mystics artes, are amazing, bright lights colors, its all amazing. The sound , the sound can be a bit repetetive, but it is amazing. There is a amazing co-oooooooop system! 4 players can play along with you and its even more fun to play with friends than going solo. If you like this game, you might like other J-RPG's Like the White Knight Chronicles. Graphics- 9
    Sound- 8
    Gameplay-10
    Mechanics- 10
    Keeps ya going? Hell yeah!
    Expand
  5. Mar 18, 2012
    8
    The game follows the typical JRPG story style and cliches, but that isn't really a bad thing. The battle system is extremely deep--with aThe game follows the typical JRPG story style and cliches, but that isn't really a bad thing. The battle system is extremely deep--with a little bit of a learning curve--and the gameplay is really where Graces shines. The characters and setting are still appealing, however, and the overall presentation (menus, graphic overhaul, extras) is really well done. It's one of the few games out that I don't regret paying $60 for, because I feel like I actually got my money's worth with all the hours I put into this. Plus, it has replay value out the whazoo, so it's just a great game for any RPG fan. Expand
  6. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    I've been looking at the written user reviews that people have posted for this game and I'm disgusted how people can call them self's fans ofI've been looking at the written user reviews that people have posted for this game and I'm disgusted how people can call them self's fans of the series then give a game like tails of graces f a score of 5 and below. The truth is most people who give the game these low ratings simply mustn't have played the game I had since some even say that there's no world to roam around in and also that monsters don't spawn unless you go into a town and back out into an area. Well just let me say that these are all lies, there's a massive world that ranges from forestry and sandy areas to places in the snowy mountains granted that it's not the best freedom since there's pathways you must follow but the worlds there and also in regards to the issue where people say you need to move from place to place for monsters to spawn, this is also not true and there's even items you can take that makes monsters spawn in even faster.

    Anyways enough about other peoples reviews, I've decided to give this particular tails game an 8. Why you ask? Well firstly the game has an amazing and complex battle system that consists of spending cc points on either A arts 'Physical attacks' or B arts 'magical attacks' the more attacks you combine the more cc you'll need to chain them together. Your weapon your character currently has equipped determines the range off cc points your character can currently use during a battle and by consistently attacking your enemy and not getting hit you'll increase the amount of cc you can spend but also by getting attacked you can lose cc points. Guarding and dodging Is also vital in tails of graces f since guarding reduces the damage you take and causes you to regain your used up cc points quicker where as dodging can help you avoid attacks all together.

    During every battle there's one final bar on the left side of the screen that's split into two different sides and fills with blue for your team and red for the enemy. Once your bar has filled by chaining attacks and avoiding damage your hole team gains a short period of time where all attacks are free and can be consistently used for maximum damage. While your attacking during this phase you will also see a bar fill and a number continue to rise as you keep filling the bar by doing combinations of attacks. For each amount you currently have you can execute a special attack that does massive amounts of damage to your enemy.

    Now on the other hand if the enemy's bar is filled they will gain there own personal buffs for a while such as not being able to be interrupted and increased damage this system causes you to have to consistently swap your tactics as it can cause you to easily win from a currently loosing battle or vice versa.

    Finally once you finish each battle you'll be rewarded with XP which is used for levelling but also SP which ranks up your currently selected title. Yes I said title, throughout the game you'll unlock several titles from things like progressing through the game, buying and selling items, performing specific combos in battles the list goes on and on. The thing is these titles each have 5 ability's that once unlocked in stages by getting SP are yours forever so by consistently equipping and learning ability's from titles you can make your character your own and in my opinion is a great way to learn new ability's.

    Now that I've finally got the combat system out the way ill go onto talking about the characters and there progression throughout the game which in my opinion is really well done. Hopefully without spoiling anything all I can say is that your party starts out consisting of a children who all have there own personality's and traits ranging from bravery, constant paranoia and love for another that turn into fully grown knights and healers with a thrown in lively engineer that are willing to do anything to save there home.

    In regards to the story I would say that indeed it does start of fairly slow, but the reason for this is because it's mainly introducing your main characters and there personality's and once your into the 2nd and 3rd chapters it's changed completely.

    I wish I could talk more about the story but I really don't want to give away anything since there's to many spoilers all I can say is that it involves a king, a giant but friendly monster that's suffering from an infestation and a loyal knight that wants nothing but the best for his friends.

    Presentation wise the games quite solid. The menu's are vibrant, polished and easy to navigate and for a WII port the graphic's of the game are nicely done if only a little rough around the edges. The skits in the game are often and are constantly unlocked by achieving certain outcomes or by interacting with certain things so don't expect to see them all through out your first play through.
    Expand
  7. Oct 27, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. worst tales game out of them all. I have played all of the tales games that have been made. mostly in part due to the fans that patched some for English that allowed me to play the older ones. but this one is hands down the worst of all the tales of games,first off. the prelude is unbearably long its only even semi playable because of sophie, without her the fights would be impossible to play. next, the new fighting system, its CRAP the limitations placed on you because of the title system on learning arts, and how few arts there are in the game. it makes it the less user friendly fighting systems in any tales game, and the fact that you cant set the arts you want, all this games fighting system is, is button mashing, grant it most of the others are as well, but with manual they make it so its less of a button masher game. next the title system. how the titles are done in this game, they give you stats and skill in this game LEVELING DOSE NOT. if you put on a title for a costume you lose a chunk of your stats because of that. next the map. if you have ever played any of the tales games after the ps2 (tales of the abyss mostly) you know how the ma system should be, and they compactly diverged from that, made it a comp linear map, you cant fast travel tell you are pretty much done with the game so that makes doing side quests completely unbearable. THE ONLY plus this game has is the awesome fighting style that asbell learns when he grows up. its ONLY worth a play to play it once for the story, it is NOT worth the time to replay it like all the other tales of games, play it once then never again. im trying it again now that i have forgotten the story and i still hate it. but ive beaten the newist tales of game that was released (Tales of xillia 2) and i want to play a older one without hooking up a older system. this game is a HUGE **** up in the tales of series and needs to be forgotten NOW Expand

See all 80 User Reviews