Tales of Xillia 2 Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 235 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: TALES OF XILLIA 2 focuses on the events a year after the climactic end of TALES OF XILLIA. Players assume the role of Ludger Kresnik, a young man with a zest for cooking who lives with his older brother and cat, Rollo. On his way to his first day at work for a local cafeteria he runs intoTALES OF XILLIA 2 focuses on the events a year after the climactic end of TALES OF XILLIA. Players assume the role of Ludger Kresnik, a young man with a zest for cooking who lives with his older brother and cat, Rollo. On his way to his first day at work for a local cafeteria he runs into a young girl named Elle Marta and the two soon become involved in an accident that will change both of their lives forever. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Tales of Xillia 2 - Jude Mathis Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 59
  2. Negative: 3 out of 59
  1. 90
    Tales of Xillia 2 boasts a constant feeling of progression through the entire game, and though the leveling has a new, and somewhat particular, skill-based development, the complete RPG package can be found within this wholehearted sequel.
  2. Aug 24, 2014
    84
    I would recommend Tales of Xillia 2 to any Tales or JRPG fan.
  3. Aug 28, 2014
    80
    Several unnecessary complexities may hold the sequel back for some, but the strong story, engaging battle system, and brilliant character development should appeal to both casual and hardcore JRPG fans alike.
  4. Aug 18, 2014
    76
    While it’s lacking on the exploration end, Xillia 2 boasts a strong story component and combat system to deliver another solid RPG.
  5. Oct 1, 2014
    70
    A few tweaks short of the mark.
  6. Aug 22, 2014
    70
    Tales of Xillia 2 is better than the first episode, even if it takes too much stuff directly from it, which could be disappointing for the fans. Anyway the story is still interesting and the fighting system is really cool.
  7. Aug 18, 2014
    40
    It's a 20-hour game in a 50-hour package, bloated to hell and back by a design engineered to recycle content. If you're interested in playing an installment of the Tales series, you deserve much better than this.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Dec 16, 2014
    10
    To me, sequels of games are not as interesting as the first game.
    However, Tales of Xillia 2 beat down my expectation of "Wow, it's just
    To me, sequels of games are not as interesting as the first game.
    However, Tales of Xillia 2 beat down my expectation of "Wow, it's just another rip or something".
    I was expecting some cheesy follow-up story, but the story is far different from the first game.
    I really didn't like it at first, the quiet protagonist, then this hole money issue. But as I progressed further into the game, I laughed, I got annoyed, I got sad, and many tears were shed.
    I fell in love with the game on the second day I got it, and for the next three days I played it on all the free-time I had, and I can assure you, I cried at least 6 times throughout the game. Sometimes, I felt like I was the protagonist- speaking to the screen as if I was actually really there (Yeah sounds like a loser, and well I am trash so..). I had a lot of attachments to the characters throughout the game and I'll be happy to say that this game is probably my favorite game.
    Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2014
    10
    Whether you are a fan of the Tales of series or a JRPG fan in general, this is one of the best games in the genre available to PS3 and IWhether you are a fan of the Tales of series or a JRPG fan in general, this is one of the best games in the genre available to PS3 and I definitely recommended buying this game. Crazy fun combat, epic story and lovable characters are just some of the reasons why you should definitely pick up this fantastic sequel. Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2014
    10
    I am a big fan of "Tales of ..." series and I'm glad to see localized version of "Tales of Xillia 2", It`s a realy huge JRPG in its genre. II am a big fan of "Tales of ..." series and I'm glad to see localized version of "Tales of Xillia 2", It`s a realy huge JRPG in its genre. I recommend to all fans of Japanese games. It will give you many hours of interesting gameplay and exciting story. Expand
  4. Apr 2, 2015
    8
    May Contain Spoilers

    Tales of Xillia 2 is an amazing sequel. Plot - Fractured Dimensions now threaten the World of Elympios and the only
    May Contain Spoilers

    Tales of Xillia 2 is an amazing sequel.

    Plot - Fractured Dimensions now threaten the World of Elympios and the only one who can destroy them is our hero Ludger Will Kresnik a mostly silent protagonist who sometimes talks and sometimes doesn't. He has an ability known as Chromatus which allows him to destroy Dimensions. If you played Xillia 1 you will be familiar with the word Kresnik and what it means.

    My thoughts On Story - Interesting Satisfying & Entertaining.

    ~ Characters ~

    Ludger - He's pretty cool he owns a cat, can wield 3 weapons, owes a large debt, has an apartment and a crazy brother.

    Tsundere Milla - I'm happy to say that she is not the real Milla but she is kind of funny and entertaining. You'll meet and get the normal Milla later on.

    Alvin - Alvin is attempting to not be "A big fat liar" like he used to be. In my opinion Alvin is the same except he lies less in this game and he doesn't betray you like he did in the last one like a backstabbing bastard.

    Elize - Is exactly the same but now she's less shy.

    Rowen - Exactly the same.

    Leia - Exactly the same.

    Jude - Exactly the same.

    Gaius - He is surprisingly funny in this game. Gaius is still the same badass don't worry they didn't change him that much. But it is weird to see the antagonist become the protagonist especially someone as serious as Gaius its his seriousness that makes him funny in skits.

    Muzet - Muzet is no longer a crazy psychopath **** she's good now and I like that. Muzet is also hilarious and I love to see her in the skits. I always pictured Muzet as being the protagonist rather then the antagonist like in Xillia 1 so to me this fits perfectly.

    Nova - Some people think she's annoying but I like her. Nova is always happy and lively. People hate her because she's in charge of Ludger's huge debt and since she's such a happy little character it makes it seem like she's the one responsible for his debt but its actually Rideaux whose responsible for it. Nova is just doing her job Rideaux is the evil bastard who should get all the hate.

    Elle - Now I think she is annoying but sometimes she's a little cute and has a few moments here and there which makes her a tolerable and worthy character for the series.

    My Thoughts on Characters - Their amazing.

    Gameplay - The Gameplay is mostly the same as the 1st one but it they add alot of new things. The 1st is that Ludger can use 3 weapon types Swords Guns & Hammers which makes him the most fun to use. You also have the addition of 2 new characters Gaius & Muzet. The Lilium Orb has changed to the Allium Orb which is very different from the Lilium Orb however I'll let you find out from the game how it works. The 3rd thing is that Ludger can use Chromatus which is basically his trump card for difficult battles. When your in Chromatus Mode you are invincible and cannot be damaged by any attacks and you can perform large combos and use some amazing attacks.

    For other Gameplay related things. Ludger has a large debt to pay and unless he pays this debt he will be unable to travel to certain places which will halt the main story. To pay this debt you'll have to go on item searching missions kill certain monsters and go on Elite Monser Hunting Quests. Each character also has his/her own story which you can do on the sidelines while your paying your debt you also get money for doing some of these stories. 1 thing that might make people mad is that most of the areas in this game are the same from the 1st Xillia but there is some new areas in this game especially in Elympios. 1 thing I forgot to mention is that Ludger can make decisions based on interactions between characters and situational conflicts. It gives you the assumption that these decisions change the story however it does not until the end of the game where your decision can change the endings.

    My Thoughts on Gameplay - Love it Love it Love it, I sigh over a few disappointments but I still Love it.

    Audio - There is no Dual Audio like there was in Symphonia Chronicles but I don't think you need that because the dub of this game is great. If you liked the dub of Xillia 1 your feelings won't change for this one. There are a few reused tracks in this game and there are alot of new Tracks in this game and Motoi Sakuraba does not disappoint once again he makes an amazing OST.

    Graphics - Are exactly the same as Xillia 1.

    Replay Value - The meter broke that's how high the replay value is.

    Overall - If you loved Xillia 1 buy this right now. If you want to buy this game without having played Xillia 1 I strongly do not recommend it. Play Xillia 1 then play Xillia 2 so you can understand everything. There a few disappointments but overall the Pros outweigh the Cons which makes this yet another Tales Game Masterpiece.
    Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2016
    7
    Esta secuela es prácticamente lo mismo que la anterior, solo se jugaría para de alguna forma darle un final a la historia.
    Lo que si es lo
    Esta secuela es prácticamente lo mismo que la anterior, solo se jugaría para de alguna forma darle un final a la historia.
    Lo que si es lo peor de este juego es el maldito sistema de pago de tu deuda( si lo juegan entenderán) , ese punto es la contra mas grande del juego.
    Expand
  6. Sep 7, 2014
    6
    I am a faithful 'Tales of' fan and I seriously wanted to love this game.

    Xillia 1 came second to Symphonia in my books and I was hoping for
    I am a faithful 'Tales of' fan and I seriously wanted to love this game.

    Xillia 1 came second to Symphonia in my books and I was hoping for more of the same/better things with this. Unfortunately, I have to say that I found this game fairly average. I didn't find myself wanting to spend time with the characters as much as I did in the first one. My thought throughout the game was 'hurry up and finish already'. I think that is a shame because THERE IS a good amount of worthwhile content, but Xillia 2 is far too disjointed and bloated to enthusiastically recommend.
    Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2015
    0
    I am not a fan. My brothers and I played through the first one and I loved it and so logically we got the second one. And I mean, we knew itI am not a fan. My brothers and I played through the first one and I loved it and so logically we got the second one. And I mean, we knew it wasn't gonna be as good as the first one cause sequels rarely are but this....this is just....no es bueno. We have been playing for 72 hours, we are level 63, we've already maxed out abilities on 7 characters and we're only like half way through the game, at least that's what it seems like, and it's sooo boring. And annoying cause the creator decided they didn't want people having fun cause they changed things up in a way that's just irritating. Like the main character is locked on the party throughout the game, now combine that with the linked system, you can't change party members on the world map, now combine that with the fact that only Leia can steal, and the main character has a super mode that takes over the entire battle, now combine that with multiplayer....you see a pattern? These things, while probably 'meh' when playing solo become a huge irritation when playing in a group. And the game designers didn't stop there. Now take that already horrible mixture and throw in a bratty 8 year old that won't shut her freaking mouth, a freaking loan shark who calls you CONSTANTLY even in timed areas, and a main character who has the emotional complexity of a slug who never talks and you have to make decisions for and you have the **** sandwich that is this game. There are so many draw backs, if it weren't for the fact that I loved like 66% of the characters in the last game, Idda already bailed. Also, there are quests where your party is Ludger, a pair of characters and then a free character, the pairs are always the same, so you don't get the fun interactions you might get from Alvin and Elize, plus that would make more sense than sending both mages together. It's just...it's bad.
    Plus, just random complaint, why did the name the child Elle when we already have Elize who's nickname from Teepo was Ellie? That just seems like poor planning.
    Expand

See all 26 User Reviews