Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 370 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: TALES OF XILLIA draws players into the adventures of Jude Mathis, a medical student going to school in the capital city of Fennmont, and Milla Maxwell, a mysterious lady accompanied by four unseen beings. In a tale that can be lived from either Jude or Milla’s perspective, the two heroes’TALES OF XILLIA draws players into the adventures of Jude Mathis, a medical student going to school in the capital city of Fennmont, and Milla Maxwell, a mysterious lady accompanied by four unseen beings. In a tale that can be lived from either Jude or Milla’s perspective, the two heroes’ journeys fatefully intersect as they learn that the kingdom of Rashugal has been fatefully experimenting with a powerful device that has effectively been draining the world’s supply of mana. Faced with the knowledge that continued experiments would result in dangerous results, Milla and Jude join forces to restore peace to a dying world in a dangerous journey that will test their courage and convictions. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. Sep 23, 2013
    100
    Whether you have an intimate knowledge of the series like I do, or you’re part of a new generation of fans perplexed by which Tales title to begin with, you’d be doing yourself a great disservice if you didn’t pick this one up.
  2. Aug 6, 2013
    90
    Though it hews closely to the traditional ratio of exploration and critter killing, Tales of Xillia has more than enough unusual and refreshing elements to keep pushing you forward.
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    85
    Tales of Xillia is a JRPG with personality, capable, even two years after the Japanese release, to appear original and engaging where it matters most.
  4. 80
    What the game does do is bring together a compelling story full of interesting characters, vibrant worlds, and a combat system that is fun and fluid. The team behind the game didn’t just recycle the same old game, as the linking system adds a new and interesting dimension to the already phenomenal combat system.
  5. Aug 18, 2013
    80
    Xillia takes the familiar and blends it with exciting newness, and that’s what it does best. It’s the first must-play JRPG to release in a while, and the second couldn’t arrive soon enough.
  6. Aug 22, 2013
    74
    Tales of Xillia is most certainly a good game, but it's not the best the franchise has to offer. The scattershot story kept me from really enjoying the game, and I'm hoping the sequel can tell a more cohesive tale.
  7. Aug 28, 2013
    50
    It’s hard to find anything original in Tales of Xillia and I’ve seen its every element done better elsewhere. [CD-Action 10/2013, p.70]

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 72
  2. Negative: 4 out of 72
  1. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Tales of Xillia is one of the few games I have imported from Japan in my life, and it was totally worth it. The Tales franchise has had itsTales of Xillia is one of the few games I have imported from Japan in my life, and it was totally worth it. The Tales franchise has had its ups and downs, but Xillia is definitely the high point for the series when you think about visuals, systems, story and characters. The world of Rize Maxia is beautiful and vibrant, the characters are well detailed and pleasant, the battles are fast rewarding and better than ever thanks to the linking between couples of characters and the way you gain skills in a Sphere Grid makes that even more compelling than in previous games. Cities are a joy to see, and even normal fields are big and full of paths you can take.

    Xillia also has two different adventures depending on who you decide to play as in the beginning (Jude Mathis or Milla Maxwell), and even if the story doesn't change too much I felt more interested in a second run than in most other Japanese RPGs. Now that the game is in English, I think fans of RPG and Tales alike will end up loving it just as I did.
    Expand
  2. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    The Tales of series has been my favorite JRPG series since I played Symphonia on the Gamecube. Tales of Xillia is a worthy addition to theThe Tales of series has been my favorite JRPG series since I played Symphonia on the Gamecube. Tales of Xillia is a worthy addition to the series. The battle system is addictive you actually want to fight in battles a lot)! It's real time battles that give you complete control of your character! Of course if you don't feel like fighting, you can avoid battles (yep, no annoying random encounters that plaques many JRPGs)! You walk up to the enemy on the world map to start the fight. The only exception is story related battles (eg Boss Fights). Though you gotta fight some, otherwise you'll get your hide handed to you in boss fights! The cast of characters is one of the best in the series. The voice actors seem to be into their roles really well. Though the graphics aren't the best in gaming, they are still decent. I don't play games for the graphics, I play for the gameplay and the story (heck, I'll still play NES games)! While some critics have complained that the game is shorter then previous Tales, there are reasons for this. Since the world is more linear, you won't get lost as easily (a lot of time is spent trying to find where to go in older Tales and other JRPGs). Though there are still a few spots where you can end up a little lost. The Tales Series rivals Final Fantasy and Dragon Quest in Japan, but not quite as big in the US. The Tales series is underrated at times and I believe it deserves more attention. For me The Tales series is better then Final Fantasy (FF quit being any good after 10). I highly recommend buying this gem! $60 well spent in my opinion. Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    Absolutely stunning entry into the tales series. It's the same with every takes game, amazing characters, and a beautiful world. Which thisAbsolutely stunning entry into the tales series. It's the same with every takes game, amazing characters, and a beautiful world. Which this has the best of. Im loving it so far, best one since vesperia. Another successful tales game. Cant say I expected any less at all. Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2014
    9
    This was the game that revived the interest in the Tales series in Japan and, to a lesser extent, the US. The game tells the tale of JudeThis was the game that revived the interest in the Tales series in Japan and, to a lesser extent, the US. The game tells the tale of Jude Mathis and Millia Maxwell, with two branching storylines, depending on which character you choose to follow. While the majority of the game is the same, there are certain points that change depending on which character you started with. The story is great and, while the characters are nowhere near as good as they were in Vesperia, the cast does an admirable job telling the story, which is probably the best story in a Tales game in a long time. There are some things that that don't hold up well, including some of the voice acting (espcially Millia's VA who has a permanent lipse throughout the entire game), and the fact that it doesn't do a good job telling you where to go to move the story forward, at times. I got lost a couple of times trying to find the next point in the story and that should not happen in today's gaming world. Still, there's a reason why this game is lauded in the Tales series, as it's easily the best JRPG to come out in the US last year and something I highly recommend everyone play, especially with the release of Xillia 2 later this year. The Tales series is one of my favorite in gaming and I definitely did love this game. It's just not perfect like alot of people will make it out to be. Expand
  5. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    Tales of Xillia, like any of the previous entries in the series, is a truly great experience with a awesome blend of combat and RPG gameplayTales of Xillia, like any of the previous entries in the series, is a truly great experience with a awesome blend of combat and RPG gameplay interesting locales and well developed characters. Expand
  6. Jul 28, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a great game. The combat is fun and a real challenge in hard mode. I stopped playing for months so I put the combat to easy to finish the story for Xillia 2. The characters are good, not perfect though. Leia can get a little grating and her love interest with Jude wen't nowhere. Alvin was great, his conflict and betrayal were some of the best moments in the game, and his duel with Leia was really great as it showed a protective side to Leia that we hadn't seen, and her being shot by him was a shocker. Rowa just complained the whole way through about his age and I never really used him. Elise, Jude and Milla are all great though. I cared for Elise to much and wanted to know more about her and I quite liked the very underplayed love Jude had for Milla. But the ending of the game was crap. She just decided to be a god? Uh okay but at least they spared Gaius and Muzet instead of just killing them which allot of other JRPG's end up doing. The graphics are great and very anime which I adore. Not going to play Milla's story as I will save it for a second play through. Expand
  7. Sep 9, 2013
    2
    waited for this for ages, huge disappointment. This game is a mess. after playing tales of graces, the beginning of this game is utterlywaited for this for ages, huge disappointment. This game is a mess. after playing tales of graces, the beginning of this game is utterly boring. There is no reason to like any of these characters, they have little depth or introduction, no real relationships or life to speak of. the game is dank and gloomy and the music is depressing. the battle system is horrendous, the game throws so much information at you before giving you chance to learn or adapt. not long after I was told one thing, it would tell me something else, I got so far into the game and found I was basically floundering about mashing the buttons. looking in the menu, I found functions that I apparently had been told about but just did not remember. there are way too many enemies as well which makes this game not much more than a grind-fest. the environments are dull and repetitive. I don't have much more to say besides, I waited for this game and even pleaded with it to give me some reason to play. in the end I just switched it off. 5 hours of my life and £45 utterly wasted. Expand

See all 72 User Reviews