Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 367 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: TALES OF XILLIA draws players into the adventures of Jude Mathis, a medical student going to school in the capital city of Fennmont, and Milla Maxwell, a mysterious lady accompanied by four unseen beings. In a tale that can be lived from either Jude or Milla’s perspective, the two heroes’ journeys fatefully intersect as they learn that the kingdom of Rashugal has been fatefully experimenting with a powerful device that has effectively been draining the world’s supply of mana. Faced with the knowledge that continued experiments would result in dangerous results, Milla and Jude join forces to restore peace to a dying world in a dangerous journey that will test their courage and convictions. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. Sep 23, 2013
    100
    Whether you have an intimate knowledge of the series like I do, or you’re part of a new generation of fans perplexed by which Tales title to begin with, you’d be doing yourself a great disservice if you didn’t pick this one up.
  2. Aug 6, 2013
    90
    Though it hews closely to the traditional ratio of exploration and critter killing, Tales of Xillia has more than enough unusual and refreshing elements to keep pushing you forward.
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    85
    Tales of Xillia is a JRPG with personality, capable, even two years after the Japanese release, to appear original and engaging where it matters most.
  4. 80
    What the game does do is bring together a compelling story full of interesting characters, vibrant worlds, and a combat system that is fun and fluid. The team behind the game didn’t just recycle the same old game, as the linking system adds a new and interesting dimension to the already phenomenal combat system.
  5. Aug 18, 2013
    80
    Xillia takes the familiar and blends it with exciting newness, and that’s what it does best. It’s the first must-play JRPG to release in a while, and the second couldn’t arrive soon enough.
  6. Aug 22, 2013
    74
    Tales of Xillia is most certainly a good game, but it's not the best the franchise has to offer. The scattershot story kept me from really enjoying the game, and I'm hoping the sequel can tell a more cohesive tale.
  7. Aug 28, 2013
    50
    It’s hard to find anything original in Tales of Xillia and I’ve seen its every element done better elsewhere. [CD-Action 10/2013, p.70]

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 71
  2. Negative: 3 out of 71
  1. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Tales of Xillia is one of the few games I have imported from Japan in my life, and it was totally worth it. The Tales franchise has had its ups and downs, but Xillia is definitely the high point for the series when you think about visuals, systems, story and characters. The world of Rize Maxia is beautiful and vibrant, the characters are well detailed and pleasant, the battles are fast rewarding and better than ever thanks to the linking between couples of characters and the way you gain skills in a Sphere Grid makes that even more compelling than in previous games. Cities are a joy to see, and even normal fields are big and full of paths you can take.

    Xillia also has two different adventures depending on who you decide to play as in the beginning (Jude Mathis or Milla Maxwell), and even if the story doesn't change too much I felt more interested in a second run than in most other Japanese RPGs. Now that the game is in English, I think fans of RPG and Tales alike will end up loving it just as I did.
    Expand
  2. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    i'm not usually amazed by games from the tales series. i disliked dawn of a new world,. and thought graces F and vesperia were alright. this game is by far the best tales game, that i've played. the music is good, gameplay is fun, and the story is great albiet a little confusing at times Expand
  3. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    excellent, brilliant, wonderfull, is a great game of the tales. s one of the few games I have imported from Japan in my life, and it was totally worth it. The Tales franchise has had its ups and downs, but Xillia is definitely the high point for the series when you think about visuals, systems, story and characters. nice job Collapse
  4. Jul 1, 2014
    9
    The game is awesome. Excellent fight system, beautiful places, many side quest. This game will give you many hours if you play it in hard mode. I gave a 9 just for one reason: You will see the same kind of monster along the game with different skin and/or size. Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    The best "overworld" outer areas) exploration and marauding/searching for items of ANY Tales so far (and one of the best exploration and looting of any "group" J-RPG,... better than the last FF's, DQ's or other such J-RPG's.., only Xenoblade is superior)..., and being able to "turn and tilt" the camera in-game freely, makes a big diffrence comparde to previous Tales...

    The characters and (a few) dialoges are also among the best of any J-RPG... (the "main" engl. sychros are fitting....), the story has it's moments (and "twists")...

    Sure, there's room for improvement (the action starts of slow and is imo overall too simple, the side-quets could have more importance ect...), but Tales of Xillia is among the BEST (group) J-RPGs out there and deserves more than tha meta of about 7.8/10

    imo it deserves a good 8.5/10 (not as epic as Xenoblade, but imo one of the "closest too Xenobalde" J-RPGs today...)
    Expand
  6. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    First of all I would like to say this game is freakin' awesome! It is so good I can't wait for Tales of Xillia 2 to come out. With that out the way I can begin this review. Story: The story is amazing and truly something you wouldn't expect. It can be kinda predictable at times, but beyond the that the story is solid and well thought out. The character development is some the best I have seen in any game. This game takes all the good and cool characters' personalities from all the other Tales games and makes them fresh and new. And don't even get me started on the development these characters undergo. During the final fight you can see how every single party member has changed and it just adds on to the epicness that is the ending. Plus both Jude and Milla have quite different storylines which are both worth playing through. The game has a lot of sidequests and events that go off from the mainstory. It even has some quite humorous moments riddle in throughout the game. So overall the story was amazingly well executed. Gameplay: Now the combat isn't hugely different from the other Tales game, but needless to say it is still pretty fun and enjoyable. I loved the return of the old skill system and the skill tree is amazing! Plus the whole switching of characters that are off the battlefield is extremely cool and well done. The overworld isn't the greatest and could have been more opened up and needed a little bit more variety. The difficulty isn't extremely hard, but there will be a few boss battles that take extra 2 or 3 tries, unless you play on hard or unknown. But all that said the gameplay is still fun and rarely get's boring. Music/Graphics: The music in the game is great and really sets the mood for the adventure. Graphic wise it could use some improvements, but it came out originally in 2011 so it can be forgiven, plus graphics don't really make a game that much better or worse in any circumstance. Overall the music and graphics are great and work well for the game and everybody's gotta love those animated cutscenes. Improvements: The game has made many improvements over Tales of Graces F. Story wise and gameplay are a great deal better in Tales of Xillia. The leveling systems is more complex, more character development, a lot more sidequests, cutscenes are better, and the new mechanic of linking artes is amazing. There are many more improvements, but I won't get into those or we'd be here all day. Negatives: Now there aren't many negatives about the game besides two. 1. The games mainstoryline feels shorter in comparison to the other by about 5-10 hours. I beat the game in about 37 hours with half the sidequests completed. Tales of Graces F is 50 hours long, but it has extra 10 hours of gameplay due to DLC. Overall it isn't a huge difference, but I really wanted an extra 3 hours. Though if you count both Jude and Milla's story it's about a total of about 74 hours so ya. 2. This ones a bit more nitpicky, but when your allies die in say a boss fight and you don't revive them they don't gain XP. This can become annoying, because in my game Rowan died during a boss battle and fell two levels behind everyone. This made him less useful in the final battle. In the end of the day though Tales of Xillia is probably my 2nd favorite Tales game and my favorite game of 2013. It is fun, addicting, and well worth the money. 10/10. Expand
  7. Sep 9, 2013
    2
    waited for this for ages, huge disappointment. This game is a mess. after playing tales of graces, the beginning of this game is utterly boring. There is no reason to like any of these characters, they have little depth or introduction, no real relationships or life to speak of. the game is dank and gloomy and the music is depressing. the battle system is horrendous, the game throws so much information at you before giving you chance to learn or adapt. not long after I was told one thing, it would tell me something else, I got so far into the game and found I was basically floundering about mashing the buttons. looking in the menu, I found functions that I apparently had been told about but just did not remember. there are way too many enemies as well which makes this game not much more than a grind-fest. the environments are dull and repetitive. I don't have much more to say besides, I waited for this game and even pleaded with it to give me some reason to play. in the end I just switched it off. 5 hours of my life and £45 utterly wasted. Expand

See all 71 User Reviews