User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 7 out of 25

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 24, 2015
    8
    Tekken Hybrid
    2 Games for the price of 1
    Tekken Hybrid features 2 games, The first being Tekken Tag Tournament HD I’ve never played a tekken game before so I didn’t quite know what to expect. Topped with being a game initially released in 1999 and you have a skeptical reviewer going into a game not really expecting to have much fun, That being said, this is one of the most fun
    Tekken Hybrid
    2 Games for the price of 1
    Tekken Hybrid features 2 games, The first being Tekken Tag Tournament HD
    I’ve never played a tekken game before so I didn’t quite know what to expect.
    Topped with being a game initially released in 1999 and you have a skeptical reviewer going into a game not really expecting to have much fun,
    That being said, this is one of the most fun fighting games I’ve ever played.
    I was pleasantly surprised at how addictive such a simple game could be.
    Tekken Tag Tournament HD features 7 game modes and a theater mode.
    The star of the show is of course arcade mode where you pick a team and and test your skill at waves of enemies to get to the final unknown boss.
    This mode is paired with time attack where you can test your speed and timing.
    These 2 modes are highly addictive with trophies attached, I would’ve rather seen character unlocks as you progressed through arcade mode though.
    Im not sure if all characters were unlocked from the beginning in the original game, but they are here.
    Outside of trophies, there doesn’t feel like there is much to earn here.
    It all handed to you from the start.
    The good news though is that there is a large variety of characters and they all feel unique.
    With arcade there is a survival mode where you see how many teams you can take out in one sitting, team battle which can be up to an 8 vs 8 knock out round style battle
    versus mode which is basically free play, practice mode where you can learn different combos and get move timings down and finally tekken bowl.
    I found tekken bowl to be a very addictive game mode, but once you figure out the trick, it isn’t much fun anymore.
    Tekken HD is an overall great fighting game, however controls didn’t quite feel all too responsive to me.
    There was a bit of an annoying lag, and inputs not being read right.
    Not too much of a problem unless you are super competitive like I am, or are going after some frustrating no loss or time based trophies, then there is plenty reason enough to blame the game for losses.
    The other game included is Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Prologue if you want to call it a game
    this is more a demo with trophies
    there is no depth to this demo at all, there are only 4 characters to choose from, and these 4 characters are all that appear in the only mode available, arcade mode for 4 rounds
    Input does feel much more response in tag tournament 2, but from what I could see, the combat has been dumbed down far too much really taking out the joy I had in the original tag tournament.
    Its far easier to get grabs in the sequel.
    This section if the disc really is boring and wont pull you in like tekken tag tournament hd does
    Also featured is Tekken Blood Vengeance The film is an hour and a half long, Im not a movie review so cant say too much about it.
    Overall the tekken Hybrid collection isa great pick up if only for the HD remake of the original game.
    The other 2 add ons, not so much.
    For what it is
    Fighting game 7.5/10
    Overall 7.5/10
    Expand
  2. Aug 17, 2013
    7
    I have not been a Tekken fan for long (picked up Tekken 5 Dark Resurrection PSP a few years ago) and I have never played TTT when it originally came out, but I can say I am really enjoying it. I can't really compare to the original, but the graphics are surprisingly good given how old it is. The gameplay is a little clunky, and I often find it hard to chain combos, but it is solid enoughI have not been a Tekken fan for long (picked up Tekken 5 Dark Resurrection PSP a few years ago) and I have never played TTT when it originally came out, but I can say I am really enjoying it. I can't really compare to the original, but the graphics are surprisingly good given how old it is. The gameplay is a little clunky, and I often find it hard to chain combos, but it is solid enough to be enjoyable.
    The movie I was dreading due to horrible things I have heard about other Fighter movies, but I found it to be quite good. Not ground breaking, but fun to watch and helped me understand the Tekken lore a bit better, which I had trouble following before.

    Now, the Prologue to TTT2 was simply a glorified demo with trophies, I can't really review anything other than that, you're better to read a TTT2 review.
    Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    8
    one of the best fighting games remastered,a great movie with awesome graphics and a prologue for tekken tag 2 and all that for a cheap price,a must have for all the tekken fans out there
  4. Nov 26, 2012
    4
    There's really no need to get this considering that 1) the movie included with this is terrible and 2) for about the same price you can get Tekken Tag Tournament 2 which is far more superior to the original Tekken Tag Tournament even after it was given the HD polish. On the other hand you should get this if: 1) you are nostalgic for the original Tekken Tag Tournament which now plays betterThere's really no need to get this considering that 1) the movie included with this is terrible and 2) for about the same price you can get Tekken Tag Tournament 2 which is far more superior to the original Tekken Tag Tournament even after it was given the HD polish. On the other hand you should get this if: 1) you are nostalgic for the original Tekken Tag Tournament which now plays better thanks to the tighter controls of the Dualshock 3. 2) Your PS3 is not backwards compatible with PS2 games anymore, 3) if you're a fan of my son, Bryan Fury. Collapse
  5. Dec 22, 2011
    7
    its pretty good. obviously we all know what tekken tag is about, its the same game as 11 years ago but with a hd refresh nothing else is added, the tekken tag 2 demo is nice but short and not alot on offer and as for the movie i cant say iv watched it yet :/ , if your a trophy hunter then there are some easy trophies for you, other than that anything less that £20 is good forits pretty good. obviously we all know what tekken tag is about, its the same game as 11 years ago but with a hd refresh nothing else is added, the tekken tag 2 demo is nice but short and not alot on offer and as for the movie i cant say iv watched it yet :/ , if your a trophy hunter then there are some easy trophies for you, other than that anything less that £20 is good for it.. i payed £24 wich is £4 too much but its fun. Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2011
    7
    TEKKEN: BLOOD VENGEANCE was quite entertaining with some exhilarating fighting scenes, unfortunately, there wasn't enough fighting and the story bits felt a little contrived. TEKKEN TAG TOURNAMENT HD is a classic fighting game, reborn with HD graphics, the game looks and plays great, the problem is, it is a bare bones port, in this age it is almost unthinkable to release a fighting gameTEKKEN: BLOOD VENGEANCE was quite entertaining with some exhilarating fighting scenes, unfortunately, there wasn't enough fighting and the story bits felt a little contrived. TEKKEN TAG TOURNAMENT HD is a classic fighting game, reborn with HD graphics, the game looks and plays great, the problem is, it is a bare bones port, in this age it is almost unthinkable to release a fighting game without online support, but here it is. Lack of online support aside, the game is still a blast to play solo or with local multi-player, I especially love the ability to play through any mode on co-op. TEKKEN TAG 2 PROLOGUE is little more than a demo for next years game but its a nice added bonus nonetheless. The game features four key characters from Blood Vengeance and there's several different ending screens to unlock if you don't get too bored fighting the same four characters over and over. Despite is obvious lack of content (for obvious reasons) the game handles very well and I look forward to things to come. Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2011
    1
    A big disappointment.When i purchased a game i didn't Google it that what tekken hybrid actual is.I was thinking that it will be improved version of tekken 5 with some tekken 6 characters after watching its trailer and trailer which i saw was for tekken tag tournament prologue.But tekken hybrid actually is Remastered version of Tekken tag tournament 1(Actual game),Tekken tag tournament 2A big disappointment.When i purchased a game i didn't Google it that what tekken hybrid actual is.I was thinking that it will be improved version of tekken 5 with some tekken 6 characters after watching its trailer and trailer which i saw was for tekken tag tournament prologue.But tekken hybrid actually is Remastered version of Tekken tag tournament 1(Actual game),Tekken tag tournament 2 prologue and Tekken movie.I wasted 40$ on useless game(movie u can download from internet for free).Dont buy this game we have lots of other great games available in market to buy.Worse decision i have ever made on buying this game. Expand
  8. Nov 27, 2011
    3
    I feel that a 3 is very generous for this offering. First, we get a horrible movie that will certainly be available at bargain-bin prices in no time. Secondly, we get a half-assed "HD Update" of a game that most Tekken fans already own. This "HD" Tekken Tag hardly looks better than the original and offers no extras, namely a glaring lack of online functionality. Finally, we're presented aI feel that a 3 is very generous for this offering. First, we get a horrible movie that will certainly be available at bargain-bin prices in no time. Secondly, we get a half-assed "HD Update" of a game that most Tekken fans already own. This "HD" Tekken Tag hardly looks better than the original and offers no extras, namely a glaring lack of online functionality. Finally, we're presented a demo with a title slapped on it and a few trophies as justification.

    The real worth of this bundle? 10 dollars at most.
    Expand
  9. ZeV
    Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Great exclusive for the PlayStation3 ! The movie included in the Bluray is spectacular,the quality is awesome in pure HD glory ! For the games,Tekken Tag Tournament is brillantly revamped and remastered,it's a marvel for all fans of Tekken...For the Tekken Tag 2 Prologue,trophies are here,and this demo gives us a good vision of the future this game !

    In fact Tekken Hybrid is for all the
    Great exclusive for the PlayStation3 ! The movie included in the Bluray is spectacular,the quality is awesome in pure HD glory ! For the games,Tekken Tag Tournament is brillantly revamped and remastered,it's a marvel for all fans of Tekken...For the Tekken Tag 2 Prologue,trophies are here,and this demo gives us a good vision of the future this game !

    In fact Tekken Hybrid is for all the the Tekken fans ! A great product and cheap !
    Expand
  10. Nov 26, 2012
    0
    There's really no need to get this considering that 1) the movie included with this is terrible and 2) for about the same price you can get Tekken Tag Tournament 2 which is far more superior to the original Tekken Tag Tournament even after it was given the HD polish. On the other hand you should get this if: 1) you are nostalgic for the original Tekken Tag Tournament which now plays betterThere's really no need to get this considering that 1) the movie included with this is terrible and 2) for about the same price you can get Tekken Tag Tournament 2 which is far more superior to the original Tekken Tag Tournament even after it was given the HD polish. On the other hand you should get this if: 1) you are nostalgic for the original Tekken Tag Tournament which now plays better thanks to the tighter controls of the Dualshock 3. 2) Your PS3 is not backwards compatible with PS2 games anymore, 3) if you're a fan of my son, Bryan Fury. Collapse
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 51
  2. Negative: 8 out of 51
  1. Jun 29, 2012
    80
    Tekken Tag Tournament feels fresh and sharp, even over ten years later, but it's a pity that everything in the game comes unlocked as there's less incentive to play the full roster of characters in order to open up the hidden characters or Tekken Bowling, but there will be those (lazy) people pleased by Namco's choice. It can be easily picked up for under £20 now, so if you can't wait for TTT2 to arrive or you were a big fan of the original, it's definitely worth a look.
  2. Apr 12, 2012
    70
    Unlike the visuals, Tag Tournament's mechanics are still as polished and finely-tuned today as they were almost twelve years ago. [May 2012, p.70]
  3. Apr 10, 2012
    65
    TTT is only going to meet the needs of the hardcore fans who need something to keep them busy until TTT2 is released this Fall.