User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 200 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 200
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    6
    I have always been a fan of the Tekken series and as cliche as this may sound, TTT was the best installment during it's time. Tekken Tag 2 brings back the tag team battle fun with a few extras that have been introduced in recent installments as well as new tag maneuvers such as great tags(specific manually input tag team combos that look good), tag grapples as well as tag bounds. CharacterI have always been a fan of the Tekken series and as cliche as this may sound, TTT was the best installment during it's time. Tekken Tag 2 brings back the tag team battle fun with a few extras that have been introduced in recent installments as well as new tag maneuvers such as great tags(specific manually input tag team combos that look good), tag grapples as well as tag bounds. Character customization is nothing spectacular but fun to use. The game as usual has a steep learning curve, the steepest out of all fighting games I have played but taking the time to practice will pay off when you're able to pull off those insane tag team juggles. Would I highly recommend? No, I say rent it first cause the steep learning curve can be a turn off for a lot of newcomers who are used to 2D fighters or games where button mashing can actually help you get a win. Tekken requires time and dedication, even a seasoned player can hop in and get owned if they're to arrogant and avoid learning the new mechanics. If you want a game that may test your limits in terms of skill and patience then yes, I recommend it. If you're not into the steepness save your money cause it will get old and repetitive quite fast. Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2012
    5
    The music is amazing. Customization is fun. More characters awesome but I still get bored playing after a while. The game does nothing new to the series...it's honestly getting old and I want something different. Tekken needs new inspiration for sure. I'm moving on to something else.
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    5
    Tekken is officially a one trick pony, its time for this franchise to grow up. This is the same exact game we gamers have been playing since the beginning of the series, and this game is where I noticed that this franchise is getting stale.Like there is nothing we all haven't seen before, just some new and old characters brought in to give the illusion of innovation.And the controls(unlikeTekken is officially a one trick pony, its time for this franchise to grow up. This is the same exact game we gamers have been playing since the beginning of the series, and this game is where I noticed that this franchise is getting stale.Like there is nothing we all haven't seen before, just some new and old characters brought in to give the illusion of innovation.And the controls(unlike Tekken 6) are very clunky and increasingly difficult for no reason. Don't get me started on the boss battle. Lord. And the stages and music aren't anywhere near as appealing as they were in the last games. Overall, good game, but very stale. (I only had fun with it for an hour) But nothing to see here folks. Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2012
    7
    I think a score of about 7-8 out of 10 is generally fair...

    The series has long been plagued now by very little innovation, some questionable AI and some appalling boss battles. It's nice to have such a large number of characters but for me this if anything is a step down from Tekken 6 which at least had its Force Mode. Whilst enjoyable the online mode is no better than on Tekken
    I think a score of about 7-8 out of 10 is generally fair...

    The series has long been plagued now by very little innovation, some questionable AI and some appalling boss battles.

    It's nice to have such a large number of characters but for me this if anything is a step down from Tekken 6 which at least had its Force Mode.

    Whilst enjoyable the online mode is no better than on Tekken 6 (apart from the ability to practice whilst waiting for an opponent) and this is much the story with the rest of the game.

    I've been a Tekken advocate since the beginning having owned all of the series apart from Tekken 4 (one quick go mad it clear that this was awful!) but seeing the series stagnating in such a way is making me consider some of Capcom's effort... Be careful Namco that more don't begin to feel this way...
    Expand
  5. Dec 12, 2012
    6
    Well, when it comes to review a fighting game like Tekken, it's necessary doing it from the casual point of view and the fighting gamer (as myself) point of view. For the casuals: You probably will have fun customizing your character, unlocking endings, messing around with some combos, playing versus with some friends, etc. Sooner or later you might want to jump online because there aren'tWell, when it comes to review a fighting game like Tekken, it's necessary doing it from the casual point of view and the fighting gamer (as myself) point of view. For the casuals: You probably will have fun customizing your character, unlocking endings, messing around with some combos, playing versus with some friends, etc. Sooner or later you might want to jump online because there aren't any casual mode to play (like Tekken bowl, ball, force, etc), also you can play with a friend in your home and also online which is a huge plus. The problem of jumping online in this game huge for a casual, first, the game has useless moves in high level play but are totally noob killers, like King lows (which in high level are crappy) 10hit string combos that also are useless in medium-high level play, useless strings, seeable lows like the one that Law has, which again, is totally a noob killer but barely useful in medium-high play and an army of noobs using that moves because of the lack of information that the game provides for the one who uses it and the one who tries to counter it. And what the games provide to let you know how to deal with that situations? An awful fighting lab mode and an awful practice mode without character tutorials, without framedata and poor information about how the okizeme works, how and what use to punish, the use of red life an rage management, so if you wanna get better be ready to spend lots of time in internet looking information about your character, strategies, and even framedata which in my opinion is something that the game should provide (even the strategy guide from prima is awful and a complete waste of money) Do i recommend this game?If you liked the old ones this isn't very different and the game is fun to play with friends nd the single character content may satisfy so I would say that, I kinda recommend it From the fighting gamer point of view: You doesn't miss anything special if you skip Tekken, the retardedness of this game is huge sometimes (im nnot here to complain, test it and see what i mean). First, there are mid crushers, thats the most stupid thing i've seen in a 3D fighting game, what is the point of implementing attacks that makes some mids whiff? dafuk?! i mean, if you throw a mid, you do it with the intention that it hits either they stand or crouch, it cn be sidesteped but thats normal, but if i take a move like Heihachi b4 a full circular-homing move and mid what is the point of making it whiff to some retarded move that goes so close to the ground that makes it whiff? it has no sense even full circulars mids in the range has a chance to whiff thats completely stupid. Broken moves like EWGF, hello im an i13 that leave you at minus 4 on block and i can mess up almost 3/4 of your life, yeah if you get hit is your fault but everybody gets hit sooner or later, even the best. Risk/reward completely broken, some random hopkicks can get you far, i mean, they are i15, and only -13 on block (slighty punisheable) leads to devastating combos, low crushes, makes the game a starter fest and something like throw the move in the right situaion thing rather than, be careful and better read your opponent. Huge rooster, if you are pro at other fighting game and want to go on tekken prepare to spend lots of hours learning like 50 match ups, learning the useless 10hit of everyone because no matter how good you are, if you dont know the string you will get hit, but if you know it you will be able to punish it. Of course if you come from VF or BB you will miss a lot of necessary information within the game, like framedata good tutorials etc Do I recommend this game? No Expand
  6. Sep 11, 2012
    5
    This game has one MAJOR flaw that has a definitive push factor greater than that of a steamroller. The game has a mode that acts as tutorial, but is designed as a "storymode" alternative. It attempts to teach the player the basics of the game through vigorous repetition. After two rounds of repetitively practicing a certain skill the player is put into a "boss round" (much like that of aThis game has one MAJOR flaw that has a definitive push factor greater than that of a steamroller. The game has a mode that acts as tutorial, but is designed as a "storymode" alternative. It attempts to teach the player the basics of the game through vigorous repetition. After two rounds of repetitively practicing a certain skill the player is put into a "boss round" (much like that of a story mode) and expected to perform under pressure whilst attempting to dodge a barrage of attacks and blocks. These boss rounds are generally very difficult for anyone who is not familiar with the fighting genera. Thus making it difficult to progress through the tutorial. Secondly this game mode is VITAL to the unlock of in-game content and not being able to progress can put a major damper on the experience of the game. Those lucky few who have the ability to disregard their frustrations and not set the game aside may yield a better experience, but It will take MANY attempts. Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Im a Tekken Fan and this by far didnt impress me....with what seems to be requirement of downloading more playable toons down to the lack lustered Tagging in and out system down to the final boss fight...this game is much harder. In that respect, hate the lack of Devil Kauzya, and Dr. B but maggically Tiger (only from Tekken 3 and only Eddie from the 70's) and some new Caysee? The Female verison of "King / Armor King" fighter style mixed with Julia...was disappointing.

    Fighting the Final Boss mob "Unknown" or as I call it the now Enranged "Jun" It seems Tekken Tag is going to make its one story line based around Unknown, and Jun to explain Jun missing appearance since Tekken 2. Tekken Tag 2 Updated and Graded Unknown giving a small story line to it as well. Unknown battle vs her is very hard...with Maggical Fists, and roots providing more damage pre combo there is still one more trick up the sleeve of Unknown, Its her maggical wind tunnle beat down that K.O.s any tagged in toon making it idealy a 1 on 1 match up in her favor. I think at this stage, the more we demand a reasonable final boss the harder Tekken final bosses become...I mean Devil in Tekken 2 wasnt bad, Tekken 3's wasnt as well but Tekken 6's Azazual Was a rare beat...Id like the creators to take it down to reality again and be reasonable with there final bosses and there tricks. I have more losses from the final boss then any other pair or solo in this game.

    The Tekken Team battle have been toyed around with, no long beat you oppt down and once ur on the final fight of the team battle reguardless of where your oppt health was when he tagged out he is granted a full health bar to make a magic come back as the last standing member of his team...something that was a turn off for me as I worked to get his health low, why should I have to do to twice over once he powers up as if it was solo anyhow? plus dont get me started on this Tekken Tag Rage system...

    The Rage system newly installed in Tekken 4 or so has a new meaning here in Tekken Tag...no long dose one need to be under 10% to trigger it....just get ur butt kicked until the taged out parnter Health bar triggers then tag in and make quick work of the bad guy your facing!

    Overall to many changes that didnt need to happen The Newly over powered Unknown is only the tip of it all...and how the Tekken Tags seem to be making a whole new story line of its own slow going but its own story line to explain what happened to Jun, and just guessing Who might be the new final boss in Tekken 7 that brings Jun back into the fold...Just a thought i may be wrong.
    Expand
  8. Sep 12, 2012
    5
    This is the first and last fighting game I'll buy from Namco Bandai Games, until they take that stick out of there *bleep*. DLC (online pass in this case) isn't acceptable with any fighting game hands down. This is ridiculous. There already a shortage of great SP content in fighting games, and now you want to throw in a online pass too boot? No, no, NO! And one of the biggest things I'veThis is the first and last fighting game I'll buy from Namco Bandai Games, until they take that stick out of there *bleep*. DLC (online pass in this case) isn't acceptable with any fighting game hands down. This is ridiculous. There already a shortage of great SP content in fighting games, and now you want to throw in a online pass too boot? No, no, NO! And one of the biggest things I've said sense Tekken 3, and that is, if they don't change the formula with the fighting mechanics, Tekken is going to end up like VF, which is no one but the hardcore are going to care. They need to make this game more flexible and accessible in order to survive these days, and this game is far from it. Oh they going o make the game more easier, and it's going to suck, yeah right! Look at MK and SF, seriously get over yourself elitist. This is nothing more but a bounce your opponent up, and destroy game, nothing more! You might as literally throw out throws, because there unless online now, and I just hate playing like this now. The OST is great, like all Tekken games, and the graphics/backgrounds are top notch. Overall this gets 5, which is split for me. I still like Tekken to some degree, but it needs to change. Even pro players are saying the same thing. It time for a change, and if it doesn't happen, Tekken will loss it's hype like VF. Expand
  9. Nov 25, 2013
    6
    It's a relatively awesome fighting game, a wealth of graphical details in arenas and characters. But still, compared to non-fighting games, there's just little to take away from it. No story mode. No varied mental challenges. In that way, it's stuck inside an old mechanic just like Call Of Duty. I couldn't get to the online part because the code for my second-hand game disc had alreadyIt's a relatively awesome fighting game, a wealth of graphical details in arenas and characters. But still, compared to non-fighting games, there's just little to take away from it. No story mode. No varied mental challenges. In that way, it's stuck inside an old mechanic just like Call Of Duty. I couldn't get to the online part because the code for my second-hand game disc had already been used. Still, this doesn't subtract from the score, which I still think is fair at "slightly above average game". I played through Arcade mode more than 20 times. I played fight lab. I tried survival mode and time attack. It never felt too interesting to learn the longer combos for a character, as there were so many characters in the first place to check out, so really it's almost a case of "too much content". The Arcade mode is not very long, and doesn't make sense at all. You're just thrown into battles all over the world and end up fighting a monster and possessed woman. Only nine battles, then you've completed the closest thing this game has to "quest" or "story". Then you can do that 50 times to watch short 10 second videos for every character, but I just think the novelty wears off fairly quickly. If you have four controllers and enthusiastic friends ready to play, then you can easily add two points to my score. Same thing if you're a fighting game enthusiast/aficionado. But this game is just not very compelling when seen next to all other games. Expand
  10. Dec 27, 2013
    7
    There is no deny that enormous playability exists in this game. The action is precise and combats are epic from start to end. Namco offered more than 50 characters each with unique sets of abilities (only a couple of replica characters), which is even more than it sounds because this game is SOO hard to learn! First of all u will need to remember the moves of ur character and know whatThere is no deny that enormous playability exists in this game. The action is precise and combats are epic from start to end. Namco offered more than 50 characters each with unique sets of abilities (only a couple of replica characters), which is even more than it sounds because this game is SOO hard to learn! First of all u will need to remember the moves of ur character and know what his/her strength and weakness is (every character has at least 80 moves most with about 100), but after that ur just getting started. U will need to develop ur own tactics, combo and other stuff it is almost like an RTS only that u only have a split second to make ur decision and execute it which is honestly pretty hard even with the easier characters. Its so hard I stopped playing after a while, which is a shame.
    If ur a big fan of the fighting genre ur gonna love this game but otherwise it will be less appealing
    Expand
  11. May 18, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Nov 4, 2012
    80
    TTT2 is a great game on its own merits, but the jury's out on how well it bodes for the state of fighting games.
  2. Oct 25, 2012
    80
    In some ways Tekken Tag Tournament 2 feels like a waypoint before the next REAL Tekken game. Still, there is a huge roster of fighters and the same tight technical gameplay that is the hallmark of the series. Series fans will be pleased.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 14, 2012
    87
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 acts as a brilliant compilation of all that has happened in Tekken over the years. The huge roster of familiar faces makes four player tag matches more fun than ever before. [Sept 2012]