User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 128

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    This is everything that Tekken has been and has become. This is possibly the best fighting game all around. With an incredible character roster and highly improved online gameplay, you'll definitely enjoy it!
  2. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    I have been a fan of Tekken since Tekken 1 in the arcade. I have seen the games change over time, tekken 2 was considered extreme when it came out, so much new stuff, I remember hating it. I remember playing Tekken3 until I couldn't even see anymore, and my hands hurt for weeks. I am an absolute fan of Tekken, and the series. That being said, there also have been quite a few problems with some of the games in the series. It seems to indeed have a namco number curse, 4 was garbage, 6 was garbage, and 2 was questionable to some peopel ( I loved it ). Namco and Harada seem to always want to toy with tekken, and then bring it back to its roots in the next game.

    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING like tekken 6. Let me be clear, I am a fan of everything tekken and I did not really enjoy 6. It had some serious graphic problems in my opinion, something was wrong with the timing as well. It seemed to run really slow and lack the IMPACT of hitting someone that Tekken is known for. Tag2 definitely returns all of this to the series. Punching someone sounds like thunder again, and the sound all around I found to be extremely well done. It was one of the only times I've actually taken note of the soundtrack it was so good. Before going on too long, Tekken Tag 2 is absolutely amazing in my veteran opinion. I have played them all relentlessly, and I can honestly say that this probably is the pinnacle for tekken so far. The only tekkens in this league in my opinion are tekken 5, and tekken 3. Do not listen to the people who are writing negative reviews about this game. It features a complex system indeed that is very unforgiving to most people. If you are a series veteran, or are looking for a complex fighting game, Tekken will deliver, and the better you get at it.. (like any true fighting game).. the more fun it keeps becoming. Love it!
    Expand
  3. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    It's the best fighting game that have been ever made!! In comparison to Mortal Kombat that has been very very ridiculous in story and stupid game play, This game is superb! Item Moves is really the thing you can enjoy with! Huge set of costumes and advanced settings to set colors are the most interesting parts that makes this game really enjoying and you won't be tired playing it all night long!
    New characters such as Forest and Jun are fantastic and you'll enjoy playing them. Also if you have DLC characters you can experience more superb characters and great movements in this game!
    If you are a real fighter and enjoy fighting games, this game is the best choice for you!
    Expand
  4. Sep 11, 2012
    9
    This is the best **** fighter ever!!!!11111 seriously on every level there is nothing wrong with it. Mortal kombats good and so Is street fighter but tekken tag tournament 2 is the best fighter this generation. Better than tekken 3 better than 3rd strike it's in my top 3 best fighters ever. Tekken needs more releases its so good! Over 55 charecters a great online a cod elite stats thing which is amazing and tons of content with so much customization it's unmatched! Not being a fan boy just that damn good don't listen to the **** form ign and those quote professional review. Possible GOTY!!!!111 Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Perfection doesn't exist, but 10 on video game reviews means that it's "as close to perfection as you can get" in this genre... Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is f****** awesome and now one of my favorite fighting games ever. It looks great, plays great, sounds great, I have no complaint about it - really (maybe the last boss fight, a bit too difficult IMHO). I didn't like Tekken 6, Tekken Dark Resurrection was my favorite Tekken game. Thanks to Namco for another amazing Tekken experience! I know a polished game when I see one, and I'm glad Namco didn't screw us by removing 12 characters in order to sell additional DLC, unlike another "company" I won't name... Expand
  6. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    Tekken returns to the big screen again, and this time in Tag mode. It returns the rich depth of game-play and entertainment, but does it really apply to the mass. That depends if you are really able to spend a good amount of time to improve. All the necessary modes, features and functionality are there for main audience and it surely looks good. Just don't expect a Story Mode, as Tag doesn't have story, but surely provides ending movies and such eg. With the option to go Team or Solo, it gives both the hardcore and beginner players the option to choose what best for them. Practice mode has been improved, and even a advanced player like me feels it one of the best practice mode out there for fighting game. But fighting Lab is a fun little mode that surely takes the practice term into a whole new level. It is fun, bizarre and entertaining in a funky way, and surely advanced and veteran players will find it al-right for a mode for little time pass. But beginners and newcomers would find it bit difficult to advance into higher stages overtime, and surely my sibling had the same problem. It would be best to both give it a try on practice and as well fighting lab to expand your skills. But it also test your frustration and anger in some way if you have a short temper. However if you end up improving your skills and starts to play like intermediate or advanced players, you end up achieving what Harada-San and Namco team are expecting, improving your Tekken skills and having fun.

    There are still many reviewers saying that Tekken is the game over the years, surely the fundamental element is, however their are new features that has and been added into the each instalment, creating a better game-play experience for the players, be it Pro or Noobs, such examples are Tag Assaults. As a casual player, you shouldn't expect Tekken to be a easy going fighting game like other 2D fighters, but should rather think, "if I purchase this game, can I improve my skills and at the same time enjoy". What I can say is, "There is always a beginning for everything". I have seen players who played Tekken 6 as first timer since Tekken 3, and over short span of time (1-3 months) become intermediate/advanced players, knowing at least 10 characters well, and playing at the same level as me. I mean, I get provoked on those time, especially since my friend only recently started playing Tekken, and most of the time he nearly woops my *** in the game. Of course each time I or he loses, we improve over those times. Even now with TTT2, we felt some aspect of the game-play was completely new, and had to train together to horn our skills, and in the end can concluding to say that Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is best fighting game with pure fighting experience.

    Games like Uncharted, Call of Duty, Halo, Ratchet and Clank and Infamous can be considered as easy pick ups for beginners who just started playing video games, but with fighting game genre it surely gives you the times where you will need to sit down and think before you make your action.

    Beginners has Offline Mode like, Arcade, Ghost Battle, Survival, Time Attack, Practice and Fighting Lab to use for improving their skills before they can meet up with friends or Tekken mates online. And if you have siblings and few extra controllers, you can simply just enjoy the game with them on Vs Battle or Team Battle with Pair Play mode, allowing up to 4 players facing against each other, a classic way of having fun with your family or friends. For Advanced/Pro players like me, we got a reboots Online feature that surely hasn't disappointed in terms of lag or online glitch and makes the addition worthy. With the BEST customization on any fighting, even beating games like UNCHARTED 3 customization, which I Love, it surely takes your TTT2 experiences higher further. Arcade Mode with ending was like old school back with Tekken 2 and Tekken3, other a bit disappointment with not in-game cut scenes like in Tekken 5, early in the stages Stage 4. Of course there are with the boss characters, however was hoping if they had particular scenes with particular characters LAW and PAUL. Again it probably just me asking for too much fan service here and there. Another thing that kinda annoys me is that each time VS Battle ends, and if the players select Rematch, it takes us back to the character GC image screen and loads again, which wasn't in Tekken 6 for instance. In conclusion, there is options to adjust your difficulties and other features presented, which has became a standard thing in most games. The game is a solid experience for anyone who want to spend spend their time and money into the game, while for Veteran and other players who knows Tekken quite well will welcome this game with open arms. With Free DLC characters and content, this surely deserves a 10/10 from me, but from beginner perspective it should be a 9/10! Enjoy the game.
    Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    The game delivers. It's so much fun when you're playing multiplayer. With the absolutely crazy large number of characters, fast gameplay and great tagging system, it's somwhere else than Tekken 6. It's not that I hated Tekken 6 but I enjoyed Tekken 3 and 5 much more. But this game made me forget about those games. The only frustrating thing is that you have to play the Ghost battle over and over again to unlock costumes for characters. The ending movies are really funny, yet some of them are not so good. But more important thing is that you can play it online or with your friends for hours -> days -> weeks -> months and I guarantee you that you'll never get bored! Expand
  8. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    This is a collosal release for me for one reason: I haven't overly enjoyed Tekken since Tekken 3, Tekken 6 was good but it never blew me away. And I decided to get the strategy guide and try to get deep into this game the same way I got into Street Fighter 4 and Virtua Fighter 4 through 5 FS. And after hours and hours, I can safely say this is the fighting game I've been looking for for years and it stands tall with those others ones I just mentioned. I can finally leard more complicated combos because they're a little easier to pull off, but there's a lot more than that. You need to know this game to play it. It feels awkward if you don't play it right and rewarding if you do. I love MANY fighting games, but there were always 2 that stood way above the others, but now I can add this and have the great trifecta of Virtua Fighter-Street Fighter-Tekken. Expand
  9. Sep 26, 2012
    9
    All the characters since the very first game. They're even adding more later. The gameplay is still there and it's satisfying as usual. Going in customization mode and most of the time, there's no going back. The music is awesome as usual. Others point out about the graphics, it's understandable but whatever. It's a Tekken game and it's awesome.
  10. Sep 13, 2012
    10
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is everything that I hoped it would be. We've been delivered all of the characters, moves, modes, customization and jokes that we ever wanted. The game has amazing graphics with detailed characters and beautiful stages. The character endings look as stunning as Blood Vengeance. The soundtrack is catchy and the whole atmosphere is uplifting. Practice mode gives players more options than I could have imagined. Combined with the fight lab, it should be easy for veterans to get back into shape and for new players to understand the game. The game is super fun with friends whether you are teaming up to take on people online or having a 4 player battle offline. I've been a fan of the series since Tekken 3 so I had really high expectations for this game and I have to say that I'm fully satisfied. Thank you Namco Bandai Expand
  11. Oct 7, 2012
    10
    Positives: Load's of Characters, Excellent stage's and music, fighting is fast and fluid, menu's are well presented and easy to follow, Fight Lab is a very good tutorial mode, FREE DLC (always a positive), Large amount of customisation options for any character, is a very polished and is very addictive.
    Negatives: Can be Difficult at times (especially the final boss Unknown)
    Overall:
    This is an excellent game for any Tekken fan or any fighting game fan. Possibly THE BEST fighting game of this year and maybe even in recent years. Expand
  12. Sep 14, 2012
    10
    Absolutly instant classic. Some games trascends more far than critics or magazine scores speaks. Best tekken ever. Maybe are other with a" little" more graphics definition (VF5 is amazing), but the game inself, in this genre, not only is the most "big"; is more rich,more deeph, better control system and, definitivelly, more fun.
  13. Nov 12, 2012
    9
    If you are new to Tekken - it's better to skip it and wait for Tekken 7, of something. There is no story, no funny game modes, almost noting to keep you playing single. And controlling two characters at once may be a bit crazy for a new player.
    But for me it's a best tekken and one of the best fighting games for today. Everything there became better. Online is working almost perfect, tag
    combos is refreshing experience, graphics is great. May be art stile is a bit too glamourous - everything is too shiny and too glossy. And some arenas are distracting a little, but not as much as that epileptic fountains, or penguins in tekken 6.
    Nothing surprised me when I first launched the game. I don't said "Wow!", or something... There is nothing astonishing. But I keep playing, and playing, and playing it. It's over a hundred hours for now.
    Expand
  14. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    The only flaw i can see is that new comers will have a steep learning curve even with the fight lab tutorial. Practice mode however has been vastly improved since Tekken 6 to help new comers find a favorite fighter(s) and how they work which makes up for any fight lab issues. Veterans of the series will definitely wan't to pick this up, but casual players who don't have the time may want to start with Tekken 6 because the fighting mechanics are very similar or wait to see what Tekken 7 is like. Everything else like characters, online modes, offline modes and customization's are excellent. Been playing for over 10 years and recommend it to all. Expand
  15. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    This is a great addition to the tekken franchise tons of content out the box. Over 50 playable characters and modes like Fight Lab which is a tutorial mode that teaches the basics of the game, Tekken Tunes allows you to change music throughout the various menus and stages throughout the game and even gives you the options to use your own custom music from you computer/USB. You have the basic modes such as Arcade Battle, Ghost Battle, VS Battle,Team Battle, Time Attack ,Survival, Practice.The customize mode allows you to make your character look completely different. They've even announced 6 free dlc characters. Overall this game is excellent and worth the money namco has truley out done themselves with this game Expand
  16. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing. Tekken fans and fighting game fans in general will not be disappointed. I would have given this game a 10 if they had put in a 1 vs 1 game mode, You can choose to play solo or tag but the computer is random in being solo or tag. There are 49 characters to choose from unless you preordered the game from certain retailers, in that case you get an extra 4 characters. With a wide range of fighting styles and stages this game is so so good. Expand
  17. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    The game stays true to the Tekken spirit however it has a very steep learning curve and the Fight Lab mode is very stressful and annoying, the tag element however is great and a good way to master your favourite characters.
  18. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is one of the best fighters in the 8th generation of gaming. It includes a set of 50+ characters the most ever seen in a Tekken game and includes some of the more classic characters from yesteryear which were not available in the previous games but of the games back in the PSX era. With a improved online system, improved visuals, a plethora of music with remixes and the ability to import your own music, TTT2 is worth every single cent especially due to the fact that all of the "DLCs" are free. Expand
  19. Sep 23, 2013
    9
    Having played Tekken 6, i had fun, but i felt like it was very empty. The health bar was too small, making fights really short, and the graphics were very... bleugh. And not to metion those loading screens. But then TTT2 came along and WOW. It practically improved everything that COULD be improved. The fighting (for me anyway) was alot faster and smoother than it already was, and the graphics were PUMPED UP BRO! And the tag mechanic... Allowing you to use two different characters at the same time, what's not to love? Also some small combos were added, but they were awesome. There's loads more customizing, including the F**KING MUSIC IN THE STAGES! Oh and Combot is here! The CPU is really amped up, and can juggle you around like a ragdoll, so the game incourages you to experiment with combos and juggles to really just crush the opponent. My only major complaint about this game is the bigger characters. High attacks can't hit crouching characters, so why would you make the big ones look like they're standing, when they're crouching? YOUR KICK GOES RIGHT THROUGH THEIR SKIN MAN! Expand
  20. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    Awesome game! This game is awesome because it has a lot of variety. A lot of customizations, a lot of different characters to master and so much more! Sharp graphics and awesome gameplay! This game is almost perfect! I think this should be scored a bit higher than SSFIV because TTT2 has better gameplay and graphics. I'll be looking forward for Tekken 7!
  21. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    excellent fighting game especially when you're playing with a friend on the same screen, the music is really good, gets you pumped up for fighting, hard to find a bad thing in this game,
    If you like fighting games i recommend it.
  22. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    Huge character roster whit a immense variety of moves, great graphics,physics,it needs a lot of your life span to be dominated, if you have patience you be rewarded whit hundred of hours of fun
  23. Feb 15, 2014
    9
    This game will satisfy you with new characters and modes. Game play is nearly the same, just some combos changed a bit. But still it's quite entertaining, better than Tekken 6 for sure. 9 out of 10
  24. May 15, 2014
    9
    This is such a beautiful game. There are so many characters to choose from, so many combos to master and about 30 stages to fight at and they're all really well designed. I love the soundtrack too. There's no story mode (which is why I give it a 9 instead of 10) but other than that it's just perfect. This beats Mortal Kombat 9 in every aspect by a mile. Don't miss out on Tekken tag tournament 2
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Nov 4, 2012
    80
    TTT2 is a great game on its own merits, but the jury's out on how well it bodes for the state of fighting games.
  2. Oct 25, 2012
    80
    In some ways Tekken Tag Tournament 2 feels like a waypoint before the next REAL Tekken game. Still, there is a huge roster of fighters and the same tight technical gameplay that is the hallmark of the series. Series fans will be pleased.
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    87
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 acts as a brilliant compilation of all that has happened in Tekken over the years. The huge roster of familiar faces makes four player tag matches more fun than ever before. [Sept 2012]