User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 133 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 133

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 25, 2013
    6
    It's a relatively awesome fighting game, a wealth of graphical details in arenas and characters. But still, compared to non-fighting games, there's just little to take away from it. No story mode. No varied mental challenges. In that way, it's stuck inside an old mechanic just like Call Of Duty. I couldn't get to the online part because the code for my second-hand game disc had already been used. Still, this doesn't subtract from the score, which I still think is fair at "slightly above average game". I played through Arcade mode more than 20 times. I played fight lab. I tried survival mode and time attack. It never felt too interesting to learn the longer combos for a character, as there were so many characters in the first place to check out, so really it's almost a case of "too much content". The Arcade mode is not very long, and doesn't make sense at all. You're just thrown into battles all over the world and end up fighting a monster and possessed woman. Only nine battles, then you've completed the closest thing this game has to "quest" or "story". Then you can do that 50 times to watch short 10 second videos for every character, but I just think the novelty wears off fairly quickly. If you have four controllers and enthusiastic friends ready to play, then you can easily add two points to my score. Same thing if you're a fighting game enthusiast/aficionado. But this game is just not very compelling when seen next to all other games. Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    This is a collosal release for me for one reason: I haven't overly enjoyed Tekken since Tekken 3, Tekken 6 was good but it never blew me away. And I decided to get the strategy guide and try to get deep into this game the same way I got into Street Fighter 4 and Virtua Fighter 4 through 5 FS. And after hours and hours, I can safely say this is the fighting game I've been looking for for years and it stands tall with those others ones I just mentioned. I can finally leard more complicated combos because they're a little easier to pull off, but there's a lot more than that. You need to know this game to play it. It feels awkward if you don't play it right and rewarding if you do. I love MANY fighting games, but there were always 2 that stood way above the others, but now I can add this and have the great trifecta of Virtua Fighter-Street Fighter-Tekken. Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is one of the best fighters in the 8th generation of gaming. It includes a set of 50+ characters the most ever seen in a Tekken game and includes some of the more classic characters from yesteryear which were not available in the previous games but of the games back in the PSX era. With a improved online system, improved visuals, a plethora of music with remixes and the ability to import your own music, TTT2 is worth every single cent especially due to the fact that all of the "DLCs" are free. Expand
  4. May 12, 2013
    8
    This game is a tekken fans wet dream, every character that I can ever remember is included in the roster (50+), add to that some good customization options, good story mode, great fight mechanics, and you've got TTT2. I personally haven't encountered any lag or slow down online but overall the game does suffer long load times (even after it installs nearly 6 gigs onto your HD). The graphics are by far the best ever in a Tekken game and the music is good too (you can also customize the soundtrack). This game has everything you could want in a fighting game and tons of modes and replayability. If you like Tekken than this game is a must have. If you don't like Tekken, this game probably won't win you over. Definitely my favorite fighter out at this time. Expand
  5. Sep 14, 2012
    8
    Tekken tag tournament 2 includes a roster of 49 fighters from the start. as far as im aware there are no hidden un-lockable characters in this release. The other fighters like Kunimitsu and snoop dog background stages are pre-order-dlc to be made available later. Tag 2 contains all the usual modes, Arcade mode,survival mode,time attack mode,team attack mode,Ghost mode and the new com-bot mode which is an interesting twist on a tutorial masquerading as a mini story mode were you learn new moves using a bot and then unlock or add to the bots move set creating you're own bot style this mode is a bit different and interesting. but does not make up for the lack of a decent story mode and mini games, we will have to wait for tekken 7 for those. Saying that Tag 2 is the fans tekken the amount of characters, modes, customisations will keep you playing for months. online is ranked -unranked with a team score option if you join a team thru the namco website. join a team should be an option within the game. without having to sign up to an external website. you can play Tag or solo. tag has new tag combos which look great and feel good when you do the moves the graphics look great and everything runs smoothly without any frame-rate issues. Even online a red no bar connection gave me a reasonable playable match with no slowdown in the match. Although you can adjust the music playing in the background it does say that this may cause frame-rate sow down issues. but if you stick with the default music there are no issues. online now sends you into a practice arena while the server searches for a match but there is no visible icon of how the search is going. suddenly announcing a new challenger awaits. An icon spinner in a top corner would help things. For customizing your characters you now get ten slots per character so you can have ten variations of each character which is great. you can even snapshot your own in-game character pictures for your intro pics. Over-all Tag 2 is a pinnacle in the tekken crown. Tekken 7 will have to be fantastic to beat it. Namco-Bandai have produced a great game and will probably be the best seen on this generations consoles. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2013
    7
    Wonderful graphics, biggest roster, free dlc. Are great. But the customization was bad. Some of the clothes dont even fit to the characters. They focused way too much for equiping stupid things like rail guns, knives. Funny first, annoying later. The biggest problem that i had was that during 2 player quick rematch option. The game loads again. Its so annoying, i just want to get back into the game. Tekken 6 had long loading screens but at least its quick rematch was without any delay. Thats why i cant give this game more than 7.5 Expand
  7. Sep 20, 2012
    5
    Tekken is officially a one trick pony, its time for this franchise to grow up. This is the same exact game we gamers have been playing since the beginning of the series, and this game is where I noticed that this franchise is getting stale.Like there is nothing we all haven't seen before, just some new and old characters brought in to give the illusion of innovation.And the controls(unlike Tekken 6) are very clunky and increasingly difficult for no reason. Don't get me started on the boss battle. Lord. And the stages and music aren't anywhere near as appealing as they were in the last games. Overall, good game, but very stale. (I only had fun with it for an hour) But nothing to see here folks. Expand
  8. Aug 2, 2013
    8
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 8/10..........................................................................................................................
  9. Feb 15, 2014
    9
    This game will satisfy you with new characters and modes. Game play is nearly the same, just some combos changed a bit. But still it's quite entertaining, better than Tekken 6 for sure. 9 out of 10
  10. Mar 10, 2013
    8
    I just got this game and I find the game to be extremely fun. There are some small problems that really annoy me though, like the game's accessibility and a couple of other small things. The game seems to be very hard on newcomers, since this is the first Tekken game that I've played, it's extremely difficult for me. That doesn't make the game bad though, since lots of fighting games are like that, but this one just seems a bit harder than other ones that I've played. I was also annoyed that it's easy for your opponents to back you into a corner and just knock you out without any trouble. It's also the same thing with juggling, you can be at full health and literally be juggled to death. These things aren't things that happen in every single match though, but they are very annoying. All flaws aside, I find this game to be very fun to play and I would recommend it to someone who likes fighting games. Expand
  11. Dec 27, 2013
    7
    There is no deny that enormous playability exists in this game. The action is precise and combats are epic from start to end. Namco offered more than 50 characters each with unique sets of abilities (only a couple of replica characters), which is even more than it sounds because this game is SOO hard to learn! First of all u will need to remember the moves of ur character and know what his/her strength and weakness is (every character has at least 80 moves most with about 100), but after that ur just getting started. U will need to develop ur own tactics, combo and other stuff it is almost like an RTS only that u only have a split second to make ur decision and execute it which is honestly pretty hard even with the easier characters. Its so hard I stopped playing after a while, which is a shame.
    If ur a big fan of the fighting genre ur gonna love this game but otherwise it will be less appealing
    Expand
  12. Sep 12, 2012
    5
    This is the first and last fighting game I'll buy from Namco Bandai Games, until they take that stick out of there *bleep*. DLC (online pass in this case) isn't acceptable with any fighting game hands down. This is ridiculous. There already a shortage of great SP content in fighting games, and now you want to throw in a online pass too boot? No, no, NO! And one of the biggest things I've said sense Tekken 3, and that is, if they don't change the formula with the fighting mechanics, Tekken is going to end up like VF, which is no one but the hardcore are going to care. They need to make this game more flexible and accessible in order to survive these days, and this game is far from it. Oh they going o make the game more easier, and it's going to suck, yeah right! Look at MK and SF, seriously get over yourself elitist. This is nothing more but a bounce your opponent up, and destroy game, nothing more! You might as literally throw out throws, because there unless online now, and I just hate playing like this now. The OST is great, like all Tekken games, and the graphics/backgrounds are top notch. Overall this gets 5, which is split for me. I still like Tekken to some degree, but it needs to change. Even pro players are saying the same thing. It time for a change, and if it doesn't happen, Tekken will loss it's hype like VF. Expand
  13. May 15, 2014
    9
    This is such a beautiful game. There are so many characters to choose from, so many combos to master and about 30 stages to fight at and they're all really well designed. I love the soundtrack too. There's no story mode (which is why I give it a 9 instead of 10) but other than that it's just perfect. This beats Mortal Kombat 9 in every aspect by a mile. Don't miss out on Tekken tag tournament 2
  14. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing. Tekken fans and fighting game fans in general will not be disappointed. I would have given this game a 10 if they had put in a 1 vs 1 game mode, You can choose to play solo or tag but the computer is random in being solo or tag. There are 49 characters to choose from unless you preordered the game from certain retailers, in that case you get an extra 4 characters. With a wide range of fighting styles and stages this game is so so good. Collapse
  15. Sep 23, 2013
    9
    Having played Tekken 6, i had fun, but i felt like it was very empty. The health bar was too small, making fights really short, and the graphics were very... bleugh. And not to metion those loading screens. But then TTT2 came along and WOW. It practically improved everything that COULD be improved. The fighting (for me anyway) was alot faster and smoother than it already was, and the graphics were PUMPED UP BRO! And the tag mechanic... Allowing you to use two different characters at the same time, what's not to love? Also some small combos were added, but they were awesome. There's loads more customizing, including the F**KING MUSIC IN THE STAGES! Oh and Combot is here! The CPU is really amped up, and can juggle you around like a ragdoll, so the game incourages you to experiment with combos and juggles to really just crush the opponent. My only major complaint about this game is the bigger characters. High attacks can't hit crouching characters, so why would you make the big ones look like they're standing, when they're crouching? YOUR KICK GOES RIGHT THROUGH THEIR SKIN MAN! Expand
  16. Nov 12, 2012
    9
    If you are new to Tekken - it's better to skip it and wait for Tekken 7, of something. There is no story, no funny game modes, almost noting to keep you playing single. And controlling two characters at once may be a bit crazy for a new player.
    But for me it's a best tekken and one of the best fighting games for today. Everything there became better. Online is working almost perfect, tag
    combos is refreshing experience, graphics is great. May be art stile is a bit too glamourous - everything is too shiny and too glossy. And some arenas are distracting a little, but not as much as that epileptic fountains, or penguins in tekken 6.
    Nothing surprised me when I first launched the game. I don't said "Wow!", or something... There is nothing astonishing. But I keep playing, and playing, and playing it. It's over a hundred hours for now.
    Expand
  17. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    This is everything that Tekken has been and has become. This is possibly the best fighting game all around. With an incredible character roster and highly improved online gameplay, you'll definitely enjoy it!
  18. Dec 12, 2012
    6
    Well, when it comes to review a fighting game like Tekken, it's necessary doing it from the casual point of view and the fighting gamer (as myself) point of view. For the casuals: You probably will have fun customizing your character, unlocking endings, messing around with some combos, playing versus with some friends, etc. Sooner or later you might want to jump online because there aren't any casual mode to play (like Tekken bowl, ball, force, etc), also you can play with a friend in your home and also online which is a huge plus. The problem of jumping online in this game huge for a casual, first, the game has useless moves in high level play but are totally noob killers, like King lows (which in high level are crappy) 10hit string combos that also are useless in medium-high level play, useless strings, seeable lows like the one that Law has, which again, is totally a noob killer but barely useful in medium-high play and an army of noobs using that moves because of the lack of information that the game provides for the one who uses it and the one who tries to counter it. And what the games provide to let you know how to deal with that situations? An awful fighting lab mode and an awful practice mode without character tutorials, without framedata and poor information about how the okizeme works, how and what use to punish, the use of red life an rage management, so if you wanna get better be ready to spend lots of time in internet looking information about your character, strategies, and even framedata which in my opinion is something that the game should provide (even the strategy guide from prima is awful and a complete waste of money) Do i recommend this game?If you liked the old ones this isn't very different and the game is fun to play with friends nd the single character content may satisfy so I would say that, I kinda recommend it From the fighting gamer point of view: You doesn't miss anything special if you skip Tekken, the retardedness of this game is huge sometimes (im nnot here to complain, test it and see what i mean). First, there are mid crushers, thats the most stupid thing i've seen in a 3D fighting game, what is the point of implementing attacks that makes some mids whiff? dafuk?! i mean, if you throw a mid, you do it with the intention that it hits either they stand or crouch, it cn be sidesteped but thats normal, but if i take a move like Heihachi b4 a full circular-homing move and mid what is the point of making it whiff to some retarded move that goes so close to the ground that makes it whiff? it has no sense even full circulars mids in the range has a chance to whiff thats completely stupid. Broken moves like EWGF, hello im an i13 that leave you at minus 4 on block and i can mess up almost 3/4 of your life, yeah if you get hit is your fault but everybody gets hit sooner or later, even the best. Risk/reward completely broken, some random hopkicks can get you far, i mean, they are i15, and only -13 on block (slighty punisheable) leads to devastating combos, low crushes, makes the game a starter fest and something like throw the move in the right situaion thing rather than, be careful and better read your opponent. Huge rooster, if you are pro at other fighting game and want to go on tekken prepare to spend lots of hours learning like 50 match ups, learning the useless 10hit of everyone because no matter how good you are, if you dont know the string you will get hit, but if you know it you will be able to punish it. Of course if you come from VF or BB you will miss a lot of necessary information within the game, like framedata good tutorials etc Do I recommend this game? No Expand
  19. Nov 30, 2012
    0
    Did you like Tekken 6? Well.. I definitely didn't like it. I wanted something more like Tekken 2 or Tekken 3. Well then they come out with Tournament 2... you expect alot and that's why you are reading this right now. I swear.... xD :.. OMG... ahahahhahahahahhaha.... this is Tekken 6 but instead of you vs the computer it's you and A PARTNER vs the computer... Or else it's the saaaaaaaaaaaaaaame as Tekken 6. This SUCKS! This is Tekken. It's big.. why the heck are they doing this if the fans didn't like Tekken 6? Why the FACK screw this project totally up? It could just be an add-on. It's like getting a knife through my heart.. for real :D Normally I can't talk like this when I'm playing Tekken but this is just TOO much. I hope we will get a TOTALLY DIFFERENT NEW TEAM to develope the next Tekken 7. Get it... this new style isn't fun. Give what we liked. Give Tekken 3. Don't start from scratch and give us something totally new which we didn't even like in the beginning. Don't make the Fable 2 and Fable 3 mistake just as Microsoft did. Come back with Fable 1 because we liked THAT game. We liked Assassins Creed 3 because it was similar with their past series. What the heck are you doing?!!! Expand
  20. Mar 19, 2013
    6
    I have always been a fan of the Tekken series and as cliche as this may sound, TTT was the best installment during it's time. Tekken Tag 2 brings back the tag team battle fun with a few extras that have been introduced in recent installments as well as new tag maneuvers such as great tags(specific manually input tag team combos that look good), tag grapples as well as tag bounds. Character customization is nothing spectacular but fun to use. The game as usual has a steep learning curve, the steepest out of all fighting games I have played but taking the time to practice will pay off when you're able to pull off those insane tag team juggles. Would I highly recommend? No, I say rent it first cause the steep learning curve can be a turn off for a lot of newcomers who are used to 2D fighters or games where button mashing can actually help you get a win. Tekken requires time and dedication, even a seasoned player can hop in and get owned if they're to arrogant and avoid learning the new mechanics. If you want a game that may test your limits in terms of skill and patience then yes, I recommend it. If you're not into the steepness save your money cause it will get old and repetitive quite fast. Expand
  21. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Perfection doesn't exist, but 10 on video game reviews means that it's "as close to perfection as you can get" in this genre... Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is f****** awesome and now one of my favorite fighting games ever. It looks great, plays great, sounds great, I have no complaint about it - really (maybe the last boss fight, a bit too difficult IMHO). I didn't like Tekken 6, Tekken Dark Resurrection was my favorite Tekken game. Thanks to Namco for another amazing Tekken experience! I know a polished game when I see one, and I'm glad Namco didn't screw us by removing 12 characters in order to sell additional DLC, unlike another "company" I won't name... Expand
  22. Sep 24, 2012
    8
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is a great fighting game. The mechanics have never been smoother and the fighting system has a great flow. It does it's best to please both new and old players, but the learning curve is a bit steep. However, once you get a hold of things, the game feels so natural compared to other fighting games. It's great to see characters return like Jun and Kunimitsu, and Fight Lab does a good job of introducing new players to the game. The graphics have been improved a lot, and stuff like dust and whater stick to characters. Since it is Tag Tournament it is a non canon game, so the game doesn't deliver a story mode, which is a little sad, but Scenario mode in Tekken 6 wasn't enjoyable either. Online gameplay and customization has also been improved. It met my expectations, but didn't exceed or surprise me too much. Expand
  23. Sep 26, 2012
    9
    All the characters since the very first game. They're even adding more later. The gameplay is still there and it's satisfying as usual. Going in customization mode and most of the time, there's no going back. The music is awesome as usual. Others point out about the graphics, it's understandable but whatever. It's a Tekken game and it's awesome.
  24. Oct 7, 2012
    10
    Positives: Load's of Characters, Excellent stage's and music, fighting is fast and fluid, menu's are well presented and easy to follow, Fight Lab is a very good tutorial mode, FREE DLC (always a positive), Large amount of customisation options for any character, is a very polished and is very addictive.
    Negatives: Can be Difficult at times (especially the final boss Unknown)
    Overall:
    This is an excellent game for any Tekken fan or any fighting game fan. Possibly THE BEST fighting game of this year and maybe even in recent years. Expand
  25. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    The game stays true to the Tekken spirit however it has a very steep learning curve and the Fight Lab mode is very stressful and annoying, the tag element however is great and a good way to master your favourite characters.
  26. Sep 21, 2012
    5
    The music is amazing. Customization is fun. More characters awesome but I still get bored playing after a while. The game does nothing new to the series...it's honestly getting old and I want something different. Tekken needs new inspiration for sure. I'm moving on to something else.
  27. Aug 19, 2013
    8
    I've always loved Tekken, since playing on Tekken 2 on my fathers PlayStation 1 many moons ago and Tekken Tag Tournament 2 was no exception. The graphics just keep getting better and better as each game comes out, I also like how you can customize your characters. One downside to the game is, that all of the characters are unlocked. I used to love going through the Arcade Mode and unlocking the new charcters, finding out who unlocks who, watching there ending videos, then doing the whole arcade with the new unlocked fighters to see there videos and seeing if they unlock new fighters. Now the only reason I do the Arcade Mode is to unlock the ending videos, which, lets be honest gets boring. Online multiplayer is fun, looking at different players customized characters, like, Heihachi Mishima with long hair or a samurai's helmet or Prototype Jack with nothing on lol. The original Characters are still in, like, Heihachi Mishima, King, Paul Phoenix, Kazuya Mishima, Nina Williams etc. As well as some new characters too. With the biggest Roster to date of 60, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 gets a rating of 8/10

    -AG-
    Expand
  28. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    Huge character roster whit a immense variety of moves, great graphics,physics,it needs a lot of your life span to be dominated, if you have patience you be rewarded whit hundred of hours of fun
  29. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    The game delivers. It's so much fun when you're playing multiplayer. With the absolutely crazy large number of characters, fast gameplay and great tagging system, it's somwhere else than Tekken 6. It's not that I hated Tekken 6 but I enjoyed Tekken 3 and 5 much more. But this game made me forget about those games. The only frustrating thing is that you have to play the Ghost battle over and over again to unlock costumes for characters. The ending movies are really funny, yet some of them are not so good. But more important thing is that you can play it online or with your friends for hours -> days -> weeks -> months and I guarantee you that you'll never get bored! Expand
  30. Sep 14, 2012
    10
    Absolutly instant classic. Some games trascends more far than critics or magazine scores speaks. Best tekken ever. Maybe are other with a" little" more graphics definition (VF5 is amazing), but the game inself, in this genre, not only is the most "big"; is more rich,more deeph, better control system and, definitivelly, more fun.
  31. Apr 22, 2013
    8
    If I was just following my love for Tekken, I'd give TTT2 a 10, but I'll be reviewing it in consideration of the general population. That said, it's a very well-rounded game that will give you many hours of fun, provided that you are willing to sit down and learn the mechanics. It's not for everyone, but it's excellent in what it delivers.
  32. Sep 11, 2012
    9
    This is the best **** fighter ever!!!!11111 seriously on every level there is nothing wrong with it. Mortal kombats good and so Is street fighter but tekken tag tournament 2 is the best fighter this generation. Better than tekken 3 better than 3rd strike it's in my top 3 best fighters ever. Tekken needs more releases its so good! Over 55 charecters a great online a cod elite stats thing which is amazing and tons of content with so much customization it's unmatched! Not being a fan boy just that damn good don't listen to the **** form ign and those quote professional review. Possible GOTY!!!!111 Expand
  33. Sep 11, 2012
    5
    This game has one MAJOR flaw that has a definitive push factor greater than that of a steamroller. The game has a mode that acts as tutorial, but is designed as a "storymode" alternative. It attempts to teach the player the basics of the game through vigorous repetition. After two rounds of repetitively practicing a certain skill the player is put into a "boss round" (much like that of a story mode) and expected to perform under pressure whilst attempting to dodge a barrage of attacks and blocks. These boss rounds are generally very difficult for anyone who is not familiar with the fighting genera. Thus making it difficult to progress through the tutorial. Secondly this game mode is VITAL to the unlock of in-game content and not being able to progress can put a major damper on the experience of the game. Those lucky few who have the ability to disregard their frustrations and not set the game aside may yield a better experience, but It will take MANY attempts. Expand
  34. Sep 13, 2012
    10
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is everything that I hoped it would be. We've been delivered all of the characters, moves, modes, customization and jokes that we ever wanted. The game has amazing graphics with detailed characters and beautiful stages. The character endings look as stunning as Blood Vengeance. The soundtrack is catchy and the whole atmosphere is uplifting. Practice mode gives players more options than I could have imagined. Combined with the fight lab, it should be easy for veterans to get back into shape and for new players to understand the game. The game is super fun with friends whether you are teaming up to take on people online or having a 4 player battle offline. I've been a fan of the series since Tekken 3 so I had really high expectations for this game and I have to say that I'm fully satisfied. Thank you Namco Bandai Expand
  35. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    The only flaw i can see is that new comers will have a steep learning curve even with the fight lab tutorial. Practice mode however has been vastly improved since Tekken 6 to help new comers find a favorite fighter(s) and how they work which makes up for any fight lab issues. Veterans of the series will definitely wan't to pick this up, but casual players who don't have the time may want to start with Tekken 6 because the fighting mechanics are very similar or wait to see what Tekken 7 is like. Everything else like characters, online modes, offline modes and customization's are excellent. Been playing for over 10 years and recommend it to all. Expand
  36. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    It's the best fighting game that have been ever made!! In comparison to Mortal Kombat that has been very very ridiculous in story and stupid game play, This game is superb! Item Moves is really the thing you can enjoy with! Huge set of costumes and advanced settings to set colors are the most interesting parts that makes this game really enjoying and you won't be tired playing it all night long!
    New characters such as Forest and Jun are fantastic and you'll enjoy playing them. Also if you have DLC characters you can experience more superb characters and great movements in this game!
    If you are a real fighter and enjoy fighting games, this game is the best choice for you!
    Expand
  37. Oct 3, 2012
    7
    I think a score of about 7-8 out of 10 is generally fair... The series has long been plagued now by very little innovation, some questionable AI and some appalling boss battles. It's nice to have such a large number of characters but for me this if anything is a step down from Tekken 6 which at least had its Force Mode. Whilst enjoyable the online mode is no better than on Tekken 6 (apart from the ability to practice whilst waiting for an opponent) and this is much the story with the rest of the game.

    I've been a Tekken advocate since the beginning having owned all of the series apart from Tekken 4 (one quick go mad it clear that this was awful!) but seeing the series stagnating in such a way is making me consider some of Capcom's effort... Be careful Namco that more don't begin to feel this way...
    Expand
  38. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    After being disapointed with Tekken 6, I was waiting for TTT2 to get my tekken fix for this gen, and trust me it was worth all the wait and the hype


    Presentation- The menus are good looking and easy to navigate. In TTT2 you will find the biggest roster in any Tekken game to date consisting of almost 60 characters (series veterans and some new ones like Slim Bob and jaycee, who is the
    alter-ego of Julia). Some characters are essentially clones of other ones but that is not a bad thing. I also love the pre-fight intro scenes where fighters taunt each others or drop their signature one-liners.

    Graphics- A major step up from tekken 6's "last gen" graphics. The animation is top notch and I was particularly impressed that fighters can get wet or dirty if the stage has mud/water etc. In comparison with other fighting games only SCV has the upper hand in the graphics department

    Sound- I loved the fact that now all fighters speak in their native language which makes the game a ton more realistic and immersive. The sound effects during a fight are very well done as well. I'm not a big fan of this game's OST but it's a good thing that they let you import your own songs through the game. Also, if you're feeling nostalgic you can buy past tekken games OSTs for a price at the PS Store

    Gameplay- Let's begin with game modes first...Compared to your average current gen fighter TTT2 offers a good deal of single player content (it's not Mortal Kombat though), but the absence of a pure 1vs1 mode like the previous installment is a major turn off for me, also using ghosts (customized characters) in arcade mode makes the game seem a little goofy at times. I also enjoyed Fight Lab (the game's main tutorial/story mode) although it's very short and can be completed in less than 4 hours...Gameplay wise TTT2 is a great step forward from T6's mishaps concerning the rage system and god-tier characters. The tag mechanics are not very easy to get into but once you get familiar with them you will realize the game's true potential and you will have a lot of fun combining different characters and unlocking new combos!

    Online- Maybe it's my connection but I am really having a hard time finding a match, and when I finally get into one there is lag which prohibits any kind of techincal play. The majority of players you will encounters are your typical fighting game rent-a-combo clowns and move spammers, so It's better to play private matches with your friends. Lasting Appeal- With a roster of 60 characters, respectable single player content and online (if it works for you) you'll be spending a lot of time with TTT2. Get Ready for the Next Battle!

    The Verdict
    +Huge Roster
    +Impressive graphics and animation
    +Classic Tekken top-notch gameplay enhanced with innovative tag-mechanics
    -Online is inconsistent
    -Game feels goofy and non-serious at times due to the silly looking ghosts that appear in arcade and other modes

    8/10
    Expand
  39. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    excellent fighting game especially when you're playing with a friend on the same screen, the music is really good, gets you pumped up for fighting, hard to find a bad thing in this game,
    If you like fighting games i recommend it.
  40. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    Tekken returns to the big screen again, and this time in Tag mode. It returns the rich depth of game-play and entertainment, but does it really apply to the mass. That depends if you are really able to spend a good amount of time to improve. All the necessary modes, features and functionality are there for main audience and it surely looks good. Just don't expect a Story Mode, as Tag doesn't have story, but surely provides ending movies and such eg. With the option to go Team or Solo, it gives both the hardcore and beginner players the option to choose what best for them. Practice mode has been improved, and even a advanced player like me feels it one of the best practice mode out there for fighting game. But fighting Lab is a fun little mode that surely takes the practice term into a whole new level. It is fun, bizarre and entertaining in a funky way, and surely advanced and veteran players will find it al-right for a mode for little time pass. But beginners and newcomers would find it bit difficult to advance into higher stages overtime, and surely my sibling had the same problem. It would be best to both give it a try on practice and as well fighting lab to expand your skills. But it also test your frustration and anger in some way if you have a short temper. However if you end up improving your skills and starts to play like intermediate or advanced players, you end up achieving what Harada-San and Namco team are expecting, improving your Tekken skills and having fun.

    There are still many reviewers saying that Tekken is the game over the years, surely the fundamental element is, however their are new features that has and been added into the each instalment, creating a better game-play experience for the players, be it Pro or Noobs, such examples are Tag Assaults. As a casual player, you shouldn't expect Tekken to be a easy going fighting game like other 2D fighters, but should rather think, "if I purchase this game, can I improve my skills and at the same time enjoy". What I can say is, "There is always a beginning for everything". I have seen players who played Tekken 6 as first timer since Tekken 3, and over short span of time (1-3 months) become intermediate/advanced players, knowing at least 10 characters well, and playing at the same level as me. I mean, I get provoked on those time, especially since my friend only recently started playing Tekken, and most of the time he nearly woops my *** in the game. Of course each time I or he loses, we improve over those times. Even now with TTT2, we felt some aspect of the game-play was completely new, and had to train together to horn our skills, and in the end can concluding to say that Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is best fighting game with pure fighting experience.

    Games like Uncharted, Call of Duty, Halo, Ratchet and Clank and Infamous can be considered as easy pick ups for beginners who just started playing video games, but with fighting game genre it surely gives you the times where you will need to sit down and think before you make your action.

    Beginners has Offline Mode like, Arcade, Ghost Battle, Survival, Time Attack, Practice and Fighting Lab to use for improving their skills before they can meet up with friends or Tekken mates online. And if you have siblings and few extra controllers, you can simply just enjoy the game with them on Vs Battle or Team Battle with Pair Play mode, allowing up to 4 players facing against each other, a classic way of having fun with your family or friends. For Advanced/Pro players like me, we got a reboots Online feature that surely hasn't disappointed in terms of lag or online glitch and makes the addition worthy. With the BEST customization on any fighting, even beating games like UNCHARTED 3 customization, which I Love, it surely takes your TTT2 experiences higher further. Arcade Mode with ending was like old school back with Tekken 2 and Tekken3, other a bit disappointment with not in-game cut scenes like in Tekken 5, early in the stages Stage 4. Of course there are with the boss characters, however was hoping if they had particular scenes with particular characters LAW and PAUL. Again it probably just me asking for too much fan service here and there. Another thing that kinda annoys me is that each time VS Battle ends, and if the players select Rematch, it takes us back to the character GC image screen and loads again, which wasn't in Tekken 6 for instance. In conclusion, there is options to adjust your difficulties and other features presented, which has became a standard thing in most games. The game is a solid experience for anyone who want to spend spend their time and money into the game, while for Veteran and other players who knows Tekken quite well will welcome this game with open arms. With Free DLC characters and content, this surely deserves a 10/10 from me, but from beginner perspective it should be a 9/10! Enjoy the game.
    Expand
  41. Sep 12, 2012
    8
    If your looking for a solid & fun 3D fighter then look no further! Tekken Tag 2 provides players with a large roster to choose from, large stages to fight in and, in my opinion a catchy sound track. The game does have a steep learning curve and is not just a casual/simple fighting game that you can pick up an play. However, if you like fighting games then don't let that fact deter you from enjoying a solid game. While the online resources for this game are small, they are growing rapidly. When playing online against other people, I have encountered little to no latency. This game can be boiled down into one word, FUN. Expand
  42. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    I have been a fan of Tekken since Tekken 1 in the arcade. I have seen the games change over time, tekken 2 was considered extreme when it came out, so much new stuff, I remember hating it. I remember playing Tekken3 until I couldn't even see anymore, and my hands hurt for weeks. I am an absolute fan of Tekken, and the series. That being said, there also have been quite a few problems with some of the games in the series. It seems to indeed have a namco number curse, 4 was garbage, 6 was garbage, and 2 was questionable to some peopel ( I loved it ). Namco and Harada seem to always want to toy with tekken, and then bring it back to its roots in the next game.

    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING like tekken 6. Let me be clear, I am a fan of everything tekken and I did not really enjoy 6. It had some serious graphic problems in my opinion, something was wrong with the timing as well. It seemed to run really slow and lack the IMPACT of hitting someone that Tekken is known for. Tag2 definitely returns all of this to the series. Punching someone sounds like thunder again, and the sound all around I found to be extremely well done. It was one of the only times I've actually taken note of the soundtrack it was so good. Before going on too long, Tekken Tag 2 is absolutely amazing in my veteran opinion. I have played them all relentlessly, and I can honestly say that this probably is the pinnacle for tekken so far. The only tekkens in this league in my opinion are tekken 5, and tekken 3. Do not listen to the people who are writing negative reviews about this game. It features a complex system indeed that is very unforgiving to most people. If you are a series veteran, or are looking for a complex fighting game, Tekken will deliver, and the better you get at it.. (like any true fighting game).. the more fun it keeps becoming. Love it!
    Expand
  43. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    This is a great addition to the tekken franchise tons of content out the box. Over 50 playable characters and modes like Fight Lab which is a tutorial mode that teaches the basics of the game, Tekken Tunes allows you to change music throughout the various menus and stages throughout the game and even gives you the options to use your own custom music from you computer/USB. You have the basic modes such as Arcade Battle, Ghost Battle, VS Battle,Team Battle, Time Attack ,Survival, Practice.The customize mode allows you to make your character look completely different. They've even announced 6 free dlc characters. Overall this game is excellent and worth the money namco has truley out done themselves with this game Expand
  44. Sep 28, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Im a Tekken Fan and this by far didnt impress me....with what seems to be requirement of downloading more playable toons down to the lack lustered Tagging in and out system down to the final boss fight...this game is much harder. In that respect, hate the lack of Devil Kauzya, and Dr. B but maggically Tiger (only from Tekken 3 and only Eddie from the 70's) and some new Caysee? The Female verison of "King / Armor King" fighter style mixed with Julia...was disappointing.

    Fighting the Final Boss mob "Unknown" or as I call it the now Enranged "Jun" It seems Tekken Tag is going to make its one story line based around Unknown, and Jun to explain Jun missing appearance since Tekken 2. Tekken Tag 2 Updated and Graded Unknown giving a small story line to it as well. Unknown battle vs her is very hard...with Maggical Fists, and roots providing more damage pre combo there is still one more trick up the sleeve of Unknown, Its her maggical wind tunnle beat down that K.O.s any tagged in toon making it idealy a 1 on 1 match up in her favor. I think at this stage, the more we demand a reasonable final boss the harder Tekken final bosses become...I mean Devil in Tekken 2 wasnt bad, Tekken 3's wasnt as well but Tekken 6's Azazual Was a rare beat...Id like the creators to take it down to reality again and be reasonable with there final bosses and there tricks. I have more losses from the final boss then any other pair or solo in this game.

    The Tekken Team battle have been toyed around with, no long beat you oppt down and once ur on the final fight of the team battle reguardless of where your oppt health was when he tagged out he is granted a full health bar to make a magic come back as the last standing member of his team...something that was a turn off for me as I worked to get his health low, why should I have to do to twice over once he powers up as if it was solo anyhow? plus dont get me started on this Tekken Tag Rage system...

    The Rage system newly installed in Tekken 4 or so has a new meaning here in Tekken Tag...no long dose one need to be under 10% to trigger it....just get ur butt kicked until the taged out parnter Health bar triggers then tag in and make quick work of the bad guy your facing!

    Overall to many changes that didnt need to happen The Newly over powered Unknown is only the tip of it all...and how the Tekken Tags seem to be making a whole new story line of its own slow going but its own story line to explain what happened to Jun, and just guessing Who might be the new final boss in Tekken 7 that brings Jun back into the fold...Just a thought i may be wrong.
    Expand
  45. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    Awesome game! This game is awesome because it has a lot of variety. A lot of customizations, a lot of different characters to master and so much more! Sharp graphics and awesome gameplay! This game is almost perfect! I think this should be scored a bit higher than SSFIV because TTT2 has better gameplay and graphics. I'll be looking forward for Tekken 7!
  46. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    Tekken Tag 2 offers a huge roster of characters and its the most complete of the series since tekken 5.
    Graphics were made from scratch and characters look more bright and detailed than ever.
    Lots of offline modes which ables you to play tag or solo and a much improved online experiece.
    The tag mechanics deliver a great diversity of how the characters combine their combos and interact
    with each other and to help you with this there is a tutorial mode called fight lab.
    Another new feature is tekken tunes that allows you to costumize Menu and stage BGM.
    Customize mode returns as well and bigger than ever with tons of items including ones as shotguns, hammers or birthday cakes that are usable in battle.

    Tekken tag tournament is not the best of the series but is better than tekken 6 and one of the best fighters this gen.
    Expand
  47. Oct 16, 2012
    0
    This game is amazing. Tekken fans and fighting game fans in general will not be disappointed. I would have given this game a 10 if they had put in a 1 vs 1 game mode, You can choose to play solo or tag but the computer is random in being solo or tag. There are 49 characters to choose from unless you preordered the game from certain retailers, in that case you get an extra 4 characters. With a wide range of fighting styles and stages this game is so so good. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Nov 4, 2012
    80
    TTT2 is a great game on its own merits, but the jury's out on how well it bodes for the state of fighting games.
  2. Oct 25, 2012
    80
    In some ways Tekken Tag Tournament 2 feels like a waypoint before the next REAL Tekken game. Still, there is a huge roster of fighters and the same tight technical gameplay that is the hallmark of the series. Series fans will be pleased.
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    87
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 acts as a brilliant compilation of all that has happened in Tekken over the years. The huge roster of familiar faces makes four player tag matches more fun than ever before. [Sept 2012]