User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 130 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 130

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 25, 2013
    6
    It's a relatively awesome fighting game, a wealth of graphical details in arenas and characters. But still, compared to non-fighting games, there's just little to take away from it. No story mode. No varied mental challenges. In that way, it's stuck inside an old mechanic just like Call Of Duty. I couldn't get to the online part because the code for my second-hand game disc had already been used. Still, this doesn't subtract from the score, which I still think is fair at "slightly above average game". I played through Arcade mode more than 20 times. I played fight lab. I tried survival mode and time attack. It never felt too interesting to learn the longer combos for a character, as there were so many characters in the first place to check out, so really it's almost a case of "too much content". The Arcade mode is not very long, and doesn't make sense at all. You're just thrown into battles all over the world and end up fighting a monster and possessed woman. Only nine battles, then you've completed the closest thing this game has to "quest" or "story". Then you can do that 50 times to watch short 10 second videos for every character, but I just think the novelty wears off fairly quickly. If you have four controllers and enthusiastic friends ready to play, then you can easily add two points to my score. Same thing if you're a fighting game enthusiast/aficionado. But this game is just not very compelling when seen next to all other games. Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    This is a collosal release for me for one reason: I haven't overly enjoyed Tekken since Tekken 3, Tekken 6 was good but it never blew me away. And I decided to get the strategy guide and try to get deep into this game the same way I got into Street Fighter 4 and Virtua Fighter 4 through 5 FS. And after hours and hours, I can safely say this is the fighting game I've been looking for for years and it stands tall with those others ones I just mentioned. I can finally leard more complicated combos because they're a little easier to pull off, but there's a lot more than that. You need to know this game to play it. It feels awkward if you don't play it right and rewarding if you do. I love MANY fighting games, but there were always 2 that stood way above the others, but now I can add this and have the great trifecta of Virtua Fighter-Street Fighter-Tekken. Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is one of the best fighters in the 8th generation of gaming. It includes a set of 50+ characters the most ever seen in a Tekken game and includes some of the more classic characters from yesteryear which were not available in the previous games but of the games back in the PSX era. With a improved online system, improved visuals, a plethora of music with remixes and the ability to import your own music, TTT2 is worth every single cent especially due to the fact that all of the "DLCs" are free. Expand
  4. May 12, 2013
    8
    This game is a tekken fans wet dream, every character that I can ever remember is included in the roster (50+), add to that some good customization options, good story mode, great fight mechanics, and you've got TTT2. I personally haven't encountered any lag or slow down online but overall the game does suffer long load times (even after it installs nearly 6 gigs onto your HD). The graphics are by far the best ever in a Tekken game and the music is good too (you can also customize the soundtrack). This game has everything you could want in a fighting game and tons of modes and replayability. If you like Tekken than this game is a must have. If you don't like Tekken, this game probably won't win you over. Definitely my favorite fighter out at this time. Expand
  5. Sep 14, 2012
    8
    Tekken tag tournament 2 includes a roster of 49 fighters from the start. as far as im aware there are no hidden un-lockable characters in this release. The other fighters like Kunimitsu and snoop dog background stages are pre-order-dlc to be made available later. Tag 2 contains all the usual modes, Arcade mode,survival mode,time attack mode,team attack mode,Ghost mode and the new com-bot mode which is an interesting twist on a tutorial masquerading as a mini story mode were you learn new moves using a bot and then unlock or add to the bots move set creating you're own bot style this mode is a bit different and interesting. but does not make up for the lack of a decent story mode and mini games, we will have to wait for tekken 7 for those. Saying that Tag 2 is the fans tekken the amount of characters, modes, customisations will keep you playing for months. online is ranked -unranked with a team score option if you join a team thru the namco website. join a team should be an option within the game. without having to sign up to an external website. you can play Tag or solo. tag has new tag combos which look great and feel good when you do the moves the graphics look great and everything runs smoothly without any frame-rate issues. Even online a red no bar connection gave me a reasonable playable match with no slowdown in the match. Although you can adjust the music playing in the background it does say that this may cause frame-rate sow down issues. but if you stick with the default music there are no issues. online now sends you into a practice arena while the server searches for a match but there is no visible icon of how the search is going. suddenly announcing a new challenger awaits. An icon spinner in a top corner would help things. For customizing your characters you now get ten slots per character so you can have ten variations of each character which is great. you can even snapshot your own in-game character pictures for your intro pics. Over-all Tag 2 is a pinnacle in the tekken crown. Tekken 7 will have to be fantastic to beat it. Namco-Bandai have produced a great game and will probably be the best seen on this generations consoles. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2013
    7
    Wonderful graphics, biggest roster, free dlc. Are great. But the customization was bad. Some of the clothes dont even fit to the characters. They focused way too much for equiping stupid things like rail guns, knives. Funny first, annoying later. The biggest problem that i had was that during 2 player quick rematch option. The game loads again. Its so annoying, i just want to get back into the game. Tekken 6 had long loading screens but at least its quick rematch was without any delay. Thats why i cant give this game more than 7.5 Expand
  7. Sep 20, 2012
    5
    Tekken is officially a one trick pony, its time for this franchise to grow up. This is the same exact game we gamers have been playing since the beginning of the series, and this game is where I noticed that this franchise is getting stale.Like there is nothing we all haven't seen before, just some new and old characters brought in to give the illusion of innovation.And the controls(unlike Tekken 6) are very clunky and increasingly difficult for no reason. Don't get me started on the boss battle. Lord. And the stages and music aren't anywhere near as appealing as they were in the last games. Overall, good game, but very stale. (I only had fun with it for an hour) But nothing to see here folks. Expand
  8. Aug 2, 2013
    8
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 8/10..........................................................................................................................
  9. Feb 15, 2014
    9
    This game will satisfy you with new characters and modes. Game play is nearly the same, just some combos changed a bit. But still it's quite entertaining, better than Tekken 6 for sure. 9 out of 10
  10. Mar 10, 2013
    8
    I just got this game and I find the game to be extremely fun. There are some small problems that really annoy me though, like the game's accessibility and a couple of other small things. The game seems to be very hard on newcomers, since this is the first Tekken game that I've played, it's extremely difficult for me. That doesn't make the game bad though, since lots of fighting games are like that, but this one just seems a bit harder than other ones that I've played. I was also annoyed that it's easy for your opponents to back you into a corner and just knock you out without any trouble. It's also the same thing with juggling, you can be at full health and literally be juggled to death. These things aren't things that happen in every single match though, but they are very annoying. All flaws aside, I find this game to be very fun to play and I would recommend it to someone who likes fighting games. Expand
  11. Dec 27, 2013
    7
    There is no deny that enormous playability exists in this game. The action is precise and combats are epic from start to end. Namco offered more than 50 characters each with unique sets of abilities (only a couple of replica characters), which is even more than it sounds because this game is SOO hard to learn! First of all u will need to remember the moves of ur character and know what his/her strength and weakness is (every character has at least 80 moves most with about 100), but after that ur just getting started. U will need to develop ur own tactics, combo and other stuff it is almost like an RTS only that u only have a split second to make ur decision and execute it which is honestly pretty hard even with the easier characters. Its so hard I stopped playing after a while, which is a shame.
    If ur a big fan of the fighting genre ur gonna love this game but otherwise it will be less appealing
    Expand
  12. Sep 12, 2012
    5
    This is the first and last fighting game I'll buy from Namco Bandai Games, until they take that stick out of there *bleep*. DLC (online pass in this case) isn't acceptable with any fighting game hands down. This is ridiculous. There already a shortage of great SP content in fighting games, and now you want to throw in a online pass too boot? No, no, NO! And one of the biggest things I've said sense Tekken 3, and that is, if they don't change the formula with the fighting mechanics, Tekken is going to end up like VF, which is no one but the hardcore are going to care. They need to make this game more flexible and accessible in order to survive these days, and this game is far from it. Oh they going o make the game more easier, and it's going to suck, yeah right! Look at MK and SF, seriously get over yourself elitist. This is nothing more but a bounce your opponent up, and destroy game, nothing more! You might as literally throw out throws, because there unless online now, and I just hate playing like this now. The OST is great, like all Tekken games, and the graphics/backgrounds are top notch. Overall this gets 5, which is split for me. I still like Tekken to some degree, but it needs to change. Even pro players are saying the same thing. It time for a change, and if it doesn't happen, Tekken will loss it's hype like VF. Expand
  13. May 15, 2014
    9
    This is such a beautiful game. There are so many characters to choose from, so many combos to master and about 30 stages to fight at and they're all really well designed. I love the soundtrack too. There's no story mode (which is why I give it a 9 instead of 10) but other than that it's just perfect. This beats Mortal Kombat 9 in every aspect by a mile. Don't miss out on Tekken tag tournament 2
  14. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing. Tekken fans and fighting game fans in general will not be disappointed. I would have given this game a 10 if they had put in a 1 vs 1 game mode, You can choose to play solo or tag but the computer is random in being solo or tag. There are 49 characters to choose from unless you preordered the game from certain retailers, in that case you get an extra 4 characters. With a wide range of fighting styles and stages this game is so so good. Expand
  15. Sep 23, 2013
    9
    Having played Tekken 6, i had fun, but i felt like it was very empty. The health bar was too small, making fights really short, and the graphics were very... bleugh. And not to metion those loading screens. But then TTT2 came along and WOW. It practically improved everything that COULD be improved. The fighting (for me anyway) was alot faster and smoother than it already was, and the graphics were PUMPED UP BRO! And the tag mechanic... Allowing you to use two different characters at the same time, what's not to love? Also some small combos were added, but they were awesome. There's loads more customizing, including the F**KING MUSIC IN THE STAGES! Oh and Combot is here! The CPU is really amped up, and can juggle you around like a ragdoll, so the game incourages you to experiment with combos and juggles to really just crush the opponent. My only major complaint about this game is the bigger characters. High attacks can't hit crouching characters, so why would you make the big ones look like they're standing, when they're crouching? YOUR KICK GOES RIGHT THROUGH THEIR SKIN MAN! Expand
  16. Nov 12, 2012
    9
    If you are new to Tekken - it's better to skip it and wait for Tekken 7, of something. There is no story, no funny game modes, almost noting to keep you playing single. And controlling two characters at once may be a bit crazy for a new player.
    But for me it's a best tekken and one of the best fighting games for today. Everything there became better. Online is working almost perfect, tag
    combos is refreshing experience, graphics is great. May be art stile is a bit too glamourous - everything is too shiny and too glossy. And some arenas are distracting a little, but not as much as that epileptic fountains, or penguins in tekken 6.
    Nothing surprised me when I first launched the game. I don't said "Wow!", or something... There is nothing astonishing. But I keep playing, and playing, and playing it. It's over a hundred hours for now.
    Expand
  17. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    This is everything that Tekken has been and has become. This is possibly the best fighting game all around. With an incredible character roster and highly improved online gameplay, you'll definitely enjoy it!
  18. Dec 12, 2012
    6
    Well, when it comes to review a fighting game like Tekken, it's necessary doing it from the casual point of view and the fighting gamer (as myself) point of view. For the casuals: You probably will have fun customizing your character, unlocking endings, messing around with some combos, playing versus with some friends, etc. Sooner or later you might want to jump online because there aren't any casual mode to play (like Tekken bowl, ball, force, etc), also you can play with a friend in your home and also online which is a huge plus. The problem of jumping online in this game huge for a casual, first, the game has useless moves in high level play but are totally noob killers, like King lows (which in high level are crappy) 10hit string combos that also are useless in medium-high level play, useless strings, seeable lows like the one that Law has, which again, is totally a noob killer but barely useful in medium-high play and an army of noobs using that moves because of the lack of information that the game provides for the one who uses it and the one who tries to counter it. And what the games provide to let you know how to deal with that situations? An awful fighting lab mode and an awful practice mode without character tutorials, without framedata and poor information about how the okizeme works, how and what use to punish, the use of red life an rage management, so if you wanna get better be ready to spend lots of time in internet looking information about your character, strategies, and even framedata which in my opinion is something that the game should provide (even the strategy guide from prima is awful and a complete waste of money) Do i recommend this game?If you liked the old ones this isn't very different and the game is fun to play with friends nd the single character content may satisfy so I would say that, I kinda recommend it From the fighting gamer point of view: You doesn't miss anything special if you skip Tekken, the retardedness of this game is huge sometimes (im nnot here to complain, test it and see what i mean). First, there are mid crushers, thats the most stupid thing i've seen in a 3D fighting game, what is the point of implementing attacks that makes some mids whiff? dafuk?! i mean, if you throw a mid, you do it with the intention that it hits either they stand or crouch, it cn be sidesteped but thats normal, but if i take a move like Heihachi b4 a full circular-homing move and mid what is the point of making it whiff to some retarded move that goes so close to the ground that makes it whiff? it has no sense even full circulars mids in the range has a chance to whiff thats completely stupid. Broken moves like EWGF, hello im an i13 that leave you at minus 4 on block and i can mess up almost 3/4 of your life, yeah if you get hit is your fault but everybody gets hit sooner or later, even the best. Risk/reward completely broken, some random hopkicks can get you far, i mean, they are i15, and only -13 on block (slighty punisheable) leads to devastating combos, low crushes, makes the game a starter fest and something like throw the move in the right situaion thing rather than, be careful and better read your opponent. Huge rooster, if you are pro at other fighting game and want to go on tekken prepare to spend lots of hours learning like 50 match ups, learning the useless 10hit of everyone because no matter how good you are, if you dont know the string you will get hit, but if you know it you will be able to punish it. Of course if you come from VF or BB you will miss a lot of necessary information within the game, like framedata good tutorials etc Do I recommend this game? No Expand
  19. Nov 30, 2012
    0
    Did you like Tekken 6? Well.. I definitely didn't like it. I wanted something more like Tekken 2 or Tekken 3. Well then they come out with Tournament 2... you expect alot and that's why you are reading this right now. I swear.... xD :.. OMG... ahahahhahahahahhaha.... this is Tekken 6 but instead of you vs the computer it's you and A PARTNER vs the computer... Or else it's the saaaaaaaaaaaaaaame as Tekken 6. This SUCKS! This is Tekken. It's big.. why the heck are they doing this if the fans didn't like Tekken 6? Why the FACK screw this project totally up? It could just be an add-on. It's like getting a knife through my heart.. for real :D Normally I can't talk like this when I'm playing Tekken but this is just TOO much. I hope we will get a TOTALLY DIFFERENT NEW TEAM to develope the next Tekken 7. Get it... this new style isn't fun. Give what we liked. Give Tekken 3. Don't start from scratch and give us something totally new which we didn't even like in the beginning. Don't make the Fable 2 and Fable 3 mistake just as Microsoft did. Come back with Fable 1 because we liked THAT game. We liked Assassins Creed 3 because it was similar with their past series. What the heck are you doing?!!! Expand
  20. Mar 19, 2013
    6
    I have always been a fan of the Tekken series and as cliche as this may sound, TTT was the best installment during it's time. Tekken Tag 2 brings back the tag team battle fun with a few extras that have been introduced in recent installments as well as new tag maneuvers such as great tags(specific manually input tag team combos that look good), tag grapples as well as tag bounds. Character customization is nothing spectacular but fun to use. The game as usual has a steep learning curve, the steepest out of all fighting games I have played but taking the time to practice will pay off when you're able to pull off those insane tag team juggles. Would I highly recommend? No, I say rent it first cause the steep learning curve can be a turn off for a lot of newcomers who are used to 2D fighters or games where button mashing can actually help you get a win. Tekken requires time and dedication, even a seasoned player can hop in and get owned if they're to arrogant and avoid learning the new mechanics. If you want a game that may test your limits in terms of skill and patience then yes, I recommend it. If you're not into the steepness save your money cause it will get old and repetitive quite fast. Expand
  21. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Perfection doesn't exist, but 10 on video game reviews means that it's "as close to perfection as you can get" in this genre... Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is f****** awesome and now one of my favorite fighting games ever. It looks great, plays great, sounds great, I have no complaint about it - really (maybe the last boss fight, a bit too difficult IMHO). I didn't like Tekken 6, Tekken Dark Resurrection was my favorite Tekken game. Thanks to Namco for another amazing Tekken experience! I know a polished game when I see one, and I'm glad Namco didn't screw us by removing 12 characters in order to sell additional DLC, unlike another "company" I won't name... Expand
  22. Sep 24, 2012
    8
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is a great fighting game. The mechanics have never been smoother and the fighting system has a great flow. It does it's best to please both new and old players, but the learning curve is a bit steep. However, once you get a hold of things, the game feels so natural compared to other fighting games. It's great to see characters return like Jun and Kunimitsu, and Fight Lab does a good job of introducing new players to the game. The graphics have been improved a lot, and stuff like dust and whater stick to characters. Since it is Tag Tournament it is a non canon game, so the game doesn't deliver a story mode, which is a little sad, but Scenario mode in Tekken 6 wasn't enjoyable either. Online gameplay and customization has also been improved. It met my expectations, but didn't exceed or surprise me too much. Expand
  23. Sep 26, 2012
    9
    All the characters since the very first game. They're even adding more later. The gameplay is still there and it's satisfying as usual. Going in customization mode and most of the time, there's no going back. The music is awesome as usual. Others point out about the graphics, it's understandable but whatever. It's a Tekken game and it's awesome.
  24. Oct 7, 2012
    10
    Positives: Load's of Characters, Excellent stage's and music, fighting is fast and fluid, menu's are well presented and easy to follow, Fight Lab is a very good tutorial mode, FREE DLC (always a positive), Large amount of customisation options for any character, is a very polished and is very addictive.
    Negatives: Can be Difficult at times (especially the final boss Unknown)
    Overall:
    This is an excellent game for any Tekken fan or any fighting game fan. Possibly THE BEST fighting game of this year and maybe even in recent years. Expand
  25. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    The game stays true to the Tekken spirit however it has a very steep learning curve and the Fight Lab mode is very stressful and annoying, the tag element however is great and a good way to master your favourite characters.
  26. Sep 21, 2012
    5
    The music is amazing. Customization is fun. More characters awesome but I still get bored playing after a while. The game does nothing new to the series...it's honestly getting old and I want something different. Tekken needs new inspiration for sure. I'm moving on to something else.
  27. Aug 19, 2013
    8
    I've always loved Tekken, since playing on Tekken 2 on my fathers PlayStation 1 many moons ago and Tekken Tag Tournament 2 was no exception. The graphics just keep getting better and better as each game comes out, I also like how you can customize your characters. One downside to the game is, that all of the characters are unlocked. I used to love going through the Arcade Mode and unlocking the new charcters, finding out who unlocks who, watching there ending videos, then doing the whole arcade with the new unlocked fighters to see there videos and seeing if they unlock new fighters. Now the only reason I do the Arcade Mode is to unlock the ending videos, which, lets be honest gets boring. Online multiplayer is fun, looking at different players customized characters, like, Heihachi Mishima with long hair or a samurai's helmet or Prototype Jack with nothing on lol. The original Characters are still in, like, Heihachi Mishima, King, Paul Phoenix, Kazuya Mishima, Nina Williams etc. As well as some new characters too. With the biggest Roster to date of 60, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 gets a rating of 8/10

    -AG-
    Expand
  28. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    Huge character roster whit a immense variety of moves, great graphics,physics,it needs a lot of your life span to be dominated, if you have patience you be rewarded whit hundred of hours of fun
  29. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    The game delivers. It's so much fun when you're playing multiplayer. With the absolutely crazy large number of characters, fast gameplay and great tagging system, it's somwhere else than Tekken 6. It's not that I hated Tekken 6 but I enjoyed Tekken 3 and 5 much more. But this game made me forget about those games. The only frustrating thing is that you have to play the Ghost battle over and over again to unlock costumes for characters. The ending movies are really funny, yet some of them are not so good. But more important thing is that you can play it online or with your friends for hours -> days -> weeks -> months and I guarantee you that you'll never get bored! Expand
  30. Sep 14, 2012
    10
    Absolutly instant classic. Some games trascends more far than critics or magazine scores speaks. Best tekken ever. Maybe are other with a" little" more graphics definition (VF5 is amazing), but the game inself, in this genre, not only is the most "big"; is more rich,more deeph, better control system and, definitivelly, more fun.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Nov 4, 2012
    80
    TTT2 is a great game on its own merits, but the jury's out on how well it bodes for the state of fighting games.
  2. Oct 25, 2012
    80
    In some ways Tekken Tag Tournament 2 feels like a waypoint before the next REAL Tekken game. Still, there is a huge roster of fighters and the same tight technical gameplay that is the hallmark of the series. Series fans will be pleased.
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    87
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 acts as a brilliant compilation of all that has happened in Tekken over the years. The huge roster of familiar faces makes four player tag matches more fun than ever before. [Sept 2012]