User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 52
  2. Negative: 34 out of 52

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 5, 2010
    4
    the game takes all of 4-5 hours to finish even on the hard mode which feels more like easy mode . the story is super simple save some guys who are taken prisoner by skynet ... thats it . no plot twists , no new info to add to the terminator saga , no innovative gameplay , nada. its a bare bones action game that is barely functional at best . the cover system works ok , the wepon selection is very poor . enemy varity is basicaly 4 differnt machines you will fight and no boss fights. this game is a rental at best and thats only if you are a die hard terminator fan or are a trophy junky and want a quik 100% . otherwise stay away from this game you could play much much better games then this. Expand
  2. Sep 17, 2011
    2
    Don't even play this game, it is awful. For starters, it's graphics are choppy and look awful, it's too easy, the A.I. is terrible, and a lot more issue that i can't discuss like collision problems. Another reason why you don't want to play this is because it is way too short; takes about 4-5 hours to beat. Hands down, this has got to be the worst of the Terminator games ever made, this folks is why developer GRIN shut down, because of awful games like this. Expand
  3. Jan 24, 2012
    1
    The only redeeming reason for anyone to purchase, rent or even take the game for free is for the trophies. Just complete the campaign on co-op in hardest difficulty (which is easy and unlocked from the start) and you'll get 12 Golds and a Platinum in about 5 hours. There is absolutely nothing in this game which makes it, in any way, even worth calling it a game. There's no multiplayer or other additional content other than the campaign. No collectibles or challeneges or anything. Graphics suck, characters suck, story sucks, sound sucks, environments suck, enemies? Well, there's only 3 types of enemies and about 4 weapons. Aside from taking down the flying aerostats, the weapons are completely useless on the other two enemies. Grenades do much more damage. Everything from AI to story to gameplay and controls is just completely flawed even if it was a free game don't take it unlesss you care about trophies. Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2013
    2
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! thats the best advice that i can give. This game is terrible from start to finish. There are 3 types of enemies across all 9 levels, and its true, a very short game, i completed the game on hard in 3 1/2 hours. Good job i only paid £7 for it! Repetitive, boring, boring, boring, repetitive and boring! The slightly good point is the cover system and how you can flank the enemy, but thats it, no upgrades, no character development, nothing. Not really worth the easy Platinum trophy, as it was such a chore to play. Expand
  5. Jul 10, 2013
    2
    This game will be in my top 5 worst games I have payed. The campaign length is 4 hours, omg 4 fkn hours and thats it no multiplayer or co-op. The story and characters are just terrible. There are 3 types of enemies with awful AI.
  6. Sep 14, 2013
    2
    Damn is this game good.... good at being a complete waste of time! Good at being an insult to every Terminator fan across the globe! Let me start by saying that I am a HUGE Terminator fan, I love the first 2 movies, I even enjoyed the third one but the fourth movie was admittedly pretty boring and overall a letdown so I didn't really have high expectations for it's video game counterpart. But I didn't imagine it could ever be this bad. First of all the game takes literally 3 hours to beat, on your first time, in the hardest difficulty. I found someone on YouTube complete it in 58 MINUTES!! Second, there is no variation in the enemies! You just fight the same four enemies over and over again, it's just SHOOT THE WASPS! SHOOT THE SPIDERS! SHOOT SOME WASPS! OH GOD, MORE SPIDERS! SHOOT THAT T-600! SHOOT THE SKIN-JOB! MORE WASPS AND SPIDERS! Also the whole game is linear, there is NO exploration and NO collectables whatsoever so you can't even lengthen the game by trying to get all of the collectables. Third, the AI is atrocious, your teammates are 100% useless and enemies just stand around waiting to be blown up! Fourth, the cursor for your weapon is too big! It's hard to shoot those annoying drifting wasps with a cursor that's bigger than them because there is NO accuracy! Fifth: the voice acting in this game couldn't be worse, the actors knew this game was rubbish and didn't even want to put effort into their performances. And finally the graphics are old, bland and just downright ugly! The character models are laughable and the animations look like they were designed by a 4 year old. The only redeeming factors is that this game does have the memorable Terminator theme tune (which is BAD ASS) and the atmosphere can sometimes feel like the Terminator universe but trust me, this is not very often and these factors don't make up for what a terrible game this is. Also there is NO ONLINE MULTIPLAYER! A mode of Terminators vs Resistance would be AWESOME! Why didn't they do it?! There is co-op for campaign which makes the game slightly more bearable but it only shortens the play time of the game even further! Overall this game should've been so much more. I'm still waiting for a GOOD Terminator game. Expand
  7. Mar 25, 2012
    4
    This is bad game, simple. But if you are a trophy hunter you will get a very easy platinum trophy from this game (4-6 hours to complete on hard difficulty) The only part that you may enjoy on this game may be the final parts, they just have more action, although the frame rate can significantly drop on these final battles. So, if you are looking for a new game for your collection avoid this, unless you can buy it for 3 dollars or less (no online pass for this game). Expand
  8. Aug 16, 2013
    0
    The absolute worst game I have ever played. The only reason to torture yourself with this poo compressed to a Blu-Ray disc is if you're hard up for some quick gold trophies. Otherwise, avoid at all costs.
  9. Nov 24, 2012
    0
    Drink two cups of vodka in half a minute. Smoke 10 cigarettes with marihuana. 30 minutes later, sit in front of your computer. Here you have Terminator Salvation, one of the worst games I have ever played in my life. Oh my god, only 4 different weapons in all the history. The easiest platinum in history. In easy mode, you can finish the game in 2 hours, I don´t know if it´s with videos or not. 3 kinds of enemies I counted. I prefer to thing that this game was all a joke... Expand
  10. Jul 6, 2014
    2
    You pay 60 dollars for this in 2009. Then play 2-3 hours story alone or co-op, and that's it. No multiplayer, the story is just shooting and escaping from the city. Oh, and it have 4 diifferent difficulties WOW...No worth to buy this game now or never. Just DON'T!
  11. Aug 20, 2013
    4
    terrible game even with co op no variety in weapons at all terrible graphics and no story and it would only take 3 hours to finish do not play this game
  12. Nov 23, 2013
    3
    I played this game for the fairly easy platinum trophy, and that would be the only reason I would ever recommend this game. Some parts of some missions are based on luck (especially the vehicule-missions), and it's sometimes really frustrating. Story is worthless.
  13. Feb 23, 2014
    0
    This is a terrible game, almost as bad as the **** movie it's based on, the cutscenes are **** the voice acting is **** the graphics are **** the game is just broken just like every other movie based game, you should rather play the Arcade version, that at least is some fun.
  14. Sep 25, 2014
    0
    You will need salvation if you play this game, ITS ABSOLUTE RUBBISH. there is one level on this that must of been made with someone who has no knowledge of video games, its honesty just so awful. 0/10
  15. Sep 25, 2014
    0
    Abomination of a video game, whoever made this must be a bit dumb and i hope they got sacked, complete rubbish. id rather play alien colonial marines....
  16. Sep 25, 2014
    0
    ABSOLUTE GARBAGEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEe
  17. Sep 25, 2014
    0
    fOR THE sake of your sanity, do not - i repeat do not buy this game. Not even as a gift, please imagine you never saw this page, forget this game exists. I wish i could do a Men In Black moment right now just so i know you wont ever have to experience this pain.
  18. Sep 25, 2014
    0
    Terminator Salavation - where do i start........it throws you in at the deep end, you have no idea whats going on, the graphics are pathetic, the game is pathetic, the voice acting is pathetic, the enemies are pathetic, the story is pathetic, you get what the idea....
  19. Sep 25, 2014
    0
    I would rather go take a **** in my toilet, then proceed to put my head into the **** and flush than ever ever ever play this game again..........................
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 41
  2. Negative: 25 out of 41
  1. 63
    While Terminator Salvation has some good ideas and is fun at times, it lacks any replayability. And more importantly, it lacks the star of the film, which is a rather curious omission.
  2. With its lean plot, unimposing terminators, and stilted replay value, Terminator Salvation doesn't have a whole lot going for it. It's also so unbelievably short that the price of entry simply can't be justified.
  3. This bare-bones movie tie-in is like a machine with synthetic rubber skin: it's not fooling anyone and you should stay away from it.