Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. It’s a pity the backtracking mars an otherwise clever title. [March 2013, p78]
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    40
    To its credit, The Cave has amusing writing and a neat visual style – but charm alone cannot make up for its many technical flaws.
  3. Mar 21, 2013
    71
    It's not as good as other Double Fine efforts like Stacking and Costume Quest, but there's enough character and intrigue in The Cave to see you past the iffy platforming and sometimes dull puzzles. [Issue#229, p.79]
  4. You will have to finish the game three times if you want to see all seven themed levels. Which is not a problem on its own, except that you have to play through the same common levels and puzzles each time you start a new game. [March 2013, p.90]
  5. Mar 5, 2013
    75
    For offbeat humour aficionados and brain flexing enthusiasts. [CD-Action 03/2013, p.72]
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    80
    The Cave is a unique title, difficult to categorize. All who's looking for something different and original do not let themselves miss the opportunity to enjoy the atmosphere of least Double Fine game.
  7. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    The Cave is a videogame like no other: it can transmit the unique flavor of Ron Gilbert's and Double Fine's creativity in a way so apparent that you could even feel it when the console is turned off. An authorial workpiece that attempts to restore and innovate an old, classic genre and, for once, is able to live up to expectations.
  8. Feb 8, 2013
    80
    I can forgive the little issues, though, because of what all is done obviously right: engaging NPCs who both help and hinder the tasks of each puzzle, the stylized world, the voice-overs of both the NPCs and the Cave itself, and the $15 price point. The voice-overs and plays on words, especially in the Time-Traveler's section, had me laughing out loud, and the voices themselves are surprisingly fitting. A single playthrough might not be very long, but be prepared to keep playing… you're gonna. And you'll enjoy it!
  9. Feb 8, 2013
    60
    Good 2D platform/puzzle games are scarce nowadays and it almost looked like Double Fine had that part covered. Almost. False advertising made us think that we would be drooling over this game, while now all we do is cry over it. Admitted: the Monkey Island-ish humour is still hilarious and in coop play we had a few laughs over stupid things, but that’s not enough to make up for the high hopes we had, that now lie in ashes.
  10. 75
    A graphic adventure game that has triple-A humor but lacks the substance to be an ever-lasting gem. Great for a single run through or to enjoy a laugh with friends, but once the laughs die down so does the game. Only lovers of the genre will keep coming back for thirds and fourths.
  11. Jan 31, 2013
    70
    While The Cave doesn't succeed as a pure platformer, it certainly makes up for that with charm and humor The character specific areas are great and somewhat manages to undermine the fact that the main tasks have to be repeated three times for you to see everything the game has to offer.
  12. Living up to its developer's name, this puzzler is double fine value at £9.99. Just be warned that its own see-saw of fun counterbalances every five belly laughs with a mildly exasperating headache.
  13. Jan 28, 2013
    72
    Upon entering The Cave, we will face some original and very difficult puzzles. Although they can become repetitive, some of the most complicated challenges that are present in this place will require us to use the cunning of all seven characters available. We will get through a number of characteristic levels, realizing how they are plot-connected with each of our singular adventurers.
  14. Jan 28, 2013
    60
    The script and puzzles are quite good, but this is not the brilliant return from Ron Gilbert that we expected.
  15. Jan 28, 2013
    80
    The Cave may not be enough to restore adventure games to their former glory, but its clever storytelling, even smarter puzzles, and enchanting art style make it an escapade absolutely worth taking. Despite the occasionally tedious platforming, this is a satisfying experience – and one that you won't forget in a hurry.
  16. Jan 25, 2013
    62
    The Cave tries to reinvent something that didn't need reinvention. Whenever it yields a smile or a chuckle with its sadistic sense of light-hearted humor, it slips right back into drudgery by being devoid of meaningful traversal mechanics. The Cave is not a bad game, but it fails to execute on its initial promise by creating an unnecessary tug-of-war between outdated and stale puzzle-platforming and a delightfully twisted sense of humor.
  17. Jan 25, 2013
    60
    Think of it as a modern-day underground refresh of Maniac Mansion with the wit of Guybrush Threepwood's adventures (with a much smaller inventory) and you're probably not too far off.
  18. Jan 25, 2013
    74
    Despite its flaws, The Cave is a unique experience that explores a genre that few other games on the market dare to touch.
  19. Jan 25, 2013
    81
    A fun, challenging, well constructed puzzle-based adventure that occasionally drags due to tedious backtracking. The story isn't anything special, either, and some puzzles are goofy to the point of being obscure. But most challenges are extremely well designed and implemented, the attractiveness of the pleasing visual presentation, and the uniqueness of the seven characters makes this game well worth your time.
  20. Jan 24, 2013
    70
    It's a Ron Gilbert Game, without any doubt. The Cave has his irony and his typical gameplay, but it doesn't set a new standard for adventure games. Is it sufficient? For us, it is.
  21. Jan 22, 2013
    78
    That cooperative vibe echoes the way many players first encountered the genre – a group of friends gathered around a screen, laughing at the crazy solutions required to slip past a perplexing blocked path. In replicating that novel experience, The Cave succeeds.
  22. Jan 22, 2013
    82
    The Cave is a great adventure with a narrator who knows the fine arts of black humor. If you like that and some nice adventure puzzles The Cave is the right game for you.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 25, 2013
    7
    The Cave is a great game and everyone that had a chance to play classic adventure games back in th 80s will immediately get it. It's part platforming, part puzzle solving, filled with dark (sometimes witty) humor. There are 7 characters, each with an unique perk and exclusive level. But I confess I was expecting (much) more. With such pedigree (I mean, this these guys are part of gaming royalty), I expected the Cave to deliver much more. By the end, I did not feel that much compelled to give another playthrough and, honestly, felt kind of disapointed with how the events are concluded. It felt lose, like something was missing. They should patch it, I don't know, give a free DLC or something. The Cave is not a complete game in my honest opinion. It's almost there... but not THERE yet. Full Review »
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    6
    A charming, but frustrating game. The great thing about this game is its dark humor mixed with the cuteness of the cartoony atmosphere. The narrator is my favorite part of the game. The thing that messes up the flow of the game is the constant frustration and backtracking of the puzzles. Its a game best played in short bursts. I also had to restart the game twice because of glitches. Its really a disappointment that the game doesn't play as well as it could have. Instead of a fun escape, it becomes a grueling frustrating experience that makes you want to smash your controller against the floor Full Review »
  3. Jun 30, 2013
    7
    It's a good game but there are parts of it that are definitely frustrating. I would have liked even minor cutscenes in comparison to having just pictures to tell the story but I suppose it's a very simple game in the end. Worth playing if you can get it cheap. It's good but not great. You must like platformers and puzzle games to love this game. Otherwise, you will hate it or get bored easily. Full Review »