Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With this official add-on for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, journey off the coast of Morrowind, to the island of Solstheim. Encounter new towns, dungeons, and quests, as you traverse the ash wastes and glacial valleys of this new land. Become more powerful with shouts that bend the will of your enemies and even tame dragons. Your fate, and the fate of Solstheim, hangs in the balance as you face off against your deadliest adversary - the first Dragonborn. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. After what seems ages, PS3 gamers can now finally get their hands on some downloadable content for Skyrim. And even if you missed Bethesda's sweet half priced deal, Dragonborn is still worth the purchase. [March 2013, p.88]
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    84
    Dragonborn is full of bugs and its biggest selling point is a major disappointment. But this expansion has so much to offer that it's still more than worth the asking price, and just what fans are looking for. [Issue#229, p.73]
  3. With an engaging main quest and a multitude of extra goodies to keep you entertained, Dragonborn justifies its price tag. If you’ve rinsed Skyrim’s dense main map – and let’s face it, you probably have: it’s now been a whopping 14 months since the game came out – this is a meaty, if long overdue, slice of additional adventuring to finally get stuck into.
  4. 80
    With its large new map, unique dungeons, and captivating story and side quests, Skyrim's Dragonborn feels far more like a complete expansion than basic add-on content. Familiar issues persist, and riding dragons isn't all that cool, but it's certainly great to play more Skyrim.
  5. Feb 20, 2013
    78
    Dragonborn is a solid welcome back party for Skyrim's PlayStation 3 audience. For a system that once struggled to run the game competently, Dragonborn is practically a technical showpiece. The only hitch is that it requires sustained interest Skyrim, a desire that may be tough muster for those who ended their terms with the game amicably. If you're not in that crowd, or maybe you took an elongated break, it’s hard to think of a better invitation to dive back in.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    We've already explored all of Skyrim, so now let's go back to the nostalgic island of Solstheim, so similar yet so different to how it appeared in Bloodmoon. Great new weapons, armour and shouts, as well as an amazing 3+ hour main quest. The characters are so much more advanced, and there is a lot of effort obviously put into it. In my opinion, better than Dawnguard Expand
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    I know it is a little "Late" for some PS3 Skyrim fans to join in on the DLC but I must say it exceeded my expectations. I feared that the Dragonborn DLC was going to be riddled with bugs freezes (Much like the add-ons for the Fallout games were on PS3) to the point where it was unplayable. To be perfectly honest, it runs as if it was part of the actual game. Now talking about the DLC iteself, it's is a lot of fun filled with new weapons, armor, tons of quests, and a huge map to boot. If you loved Skyrim and are trying to find reasons to get back into, Dragonborn is a great excuse. Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2013
    9
    Once again, the employees at Bethesda have shown themselves to be truly dedicated to the entertainment and satisfaction of their fans. Dragonborn is epic. Solstheim is very large and offers a refreshing change of pace from the Nordic society of mainland Skyrim, allowing the player to instead observe the now-struggling Dunmer culture of Solstheim. It's amazing to see the typical morrowin wildife including netches, silt striders, and giant mushroom houses all in full Skyrim HD. However, the true show-stopper in terms of visual appeal is Hermaeus Mora's realm of Apocrypha. This plane of Oblivion far outstrips the generic fire and brimstone of Mehrunes Dagon's Deadlands in every conceivable way. It's dark, threatening, beautifully designed, and completely filled with literally hundreds of well-written works of in-game literature that expand upon the series' lore and makes the world of Nirn feel alive like never before. The only gripe that holds this DLC back from true greatness is the dragon-riding. There's no gettin around it: the commercial highlight of this expansion is an unharacteristically lazy, clumsy, and poorly executed experience. Regardless, this DLC is truly fantastic and a worthy addition to the most expansive RPG in the industry. Expand
  4. Jun 25, 2014
    8
    I'm so happy that the dragonborn dlc came out a little while back I heard that there is a great story AWSOME shouts. But when I heard you can ride a dragon I was so freaked out . But the problem was that ps3 user waited so long that we can't Even control the dragon Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2013
    8
    I loved skyrim, but then again who doesn't It was a beautiful game with endless possibilities, however I found it hard to level up my character as well as stay intuned with the game when I finished all the main quests and joined all the guilds. I would go from town to town desperately trying to find a quest and that soon became boring, as did adventuring the lands for countless hours~What made it even worse was that xbox had new content with their dlc and pc had mods! However now that dragonborn is here I am able to do what I think we all love which is adventuring new lands and doing new quests! (Both of which there is in abundance in the game) Its a nice fairly large map with a lot of new things to do and see and it is super exciting, especially when u first arrive knowing there is a whole island out there to explore! So far I have had no glitches, and the graphics are just as good as those in skyrim! Overall its a wonderful and exciting add on that I advise you all to buy it now in its opening week while its still $9.99! Collapse
  6. Feb 27, 2013
    6
    I have been waiting and waiting and waiting and WAITING for the DLC for Skyrim on my ps3 and unfortunately I am hugely disappointed because there are so many god forsaken glitches. I jumped into the water and the game froze. I loaded several different files and they all yielded the same results, after i downloaded the Dragonborn DLC. I'm going to continue to try and work through the problem, because I know it's a great DLC package but for the ps3 version I think it deserves a lower score and needs work. Anyone else having problems? Expand
  7. Jul 1, 2014
    4
    The hype was real when trailers for this DLC came out. Everyone was pumped including me and then I got it. Downloaded it and was instantly disappointed when I noticed you could only really visit around what seems 30% of the island.

    With what you CAN get to are just places that have to do with the main quests in the DLC so there is no real exploring taking place.

    You can ride dragons... cool.

    Needless to say this DLC is disappointing. Overall, I would say Bethesda has mastered the craft of making mediocre DLC for Skyrim.
    Expand