User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2564 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    This game consists of an excellent blu-ray,LAG,lag,bugs,freezes,lag,bugs,freezes and lag and lag,lag,lag,lag and lag.Did i tell you that skyrim has lag?LAG.DO NOT BUY THIS GAME
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME.DO NOT LISTEN TO LIES.LAG problems are still very serious,there conastt freezes after your save hits 6-10 MB and after that you cant continuw playing.This game deserves a 0 at the present state
  3. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY! Game was released with too many issues to count. Can potentially cause corrupted data in hard-drives due to freezing and crashing, thus killing the PS3 system. Quests can NOT be completed due to dialogue not triggering. Framerate is the equivalent of a Powerpoint presentation.
  4. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Great game untill the lag and freezing kicks in. This game has put my PS3 in to recovering corrupt files mode several times a day. I won't let Skyrim anywhere near my PS3 untill it's fixed, if it's ever fixed...
  5. Dec 30, 2011
    0
    Fantastic, really genuinely great, right up until the point when it comes unstuck and becomes unplayably bugged. Don't believe the "professional" reviews, which are all of the X360 build (excepting one single publication which gave the PS3 version 7/10). Wait for the patches that fix the game and then buy it used; you'll save yourself stress, time and money.
  6. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    Fix all the bugs and lagging. Then we'll talk -__- i was so excited for this game to...dissapointing. I wish Bethesda actually realeased a half way decent game with a few bugs...but this. The game would probably be amazing aside from the never ending list of problems. Why release a game thats nowhere ready to be played?
  7. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    This game is broken broken and broken.You cant enjoy it.Full of lag,freeze and serious bugs.Stay away from it till gets fixed.DO not buy this game,it worths a 0.It's unplayable.Ps3 tips by Beth don't work.Needs fixing
  8. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    this game suks.it lags and freezes as hell.It doesn't worth a 10.It worths a zero.lags and freezes after your save file hits 5 mb.it's not worth buy it.Do not buy this game.
  9. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    DONT BUY THIS GAME!!! the game is broken, after you reach 6 mb in save file the game starts to lagg, after 8 mb you cant do nothing because the lag is so bad you cant play the game. the devopers dont even give us aswers and the historial of games is a mess. if you are thinking in buying this , DONT DO IT
  10. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    Third broken game in a row for PS3, with no apparent intention of getting it fixed.
    Here's a wonderful 0 for all my wasted time.

    If you can't port to PS3 then DON'T dear Bethesda! I' m really sick of beta testing your products for you...
  11. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    According to manu sites Beth didn't send PS3 review copies to the reviewers.It's absurd that this game got released.It's unfinished,it's buggy,it's laggy and freezes constantly after some play hours.DO NOT BUY THIS GAME.
  12. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    This game will become unplayable after your save game file reaches around 6 MB, and they refuse to properly address the problem. It's broken and will be sustain being broken..Skyrim could be great but lag and freezes,took an arrown in its knee...
  13. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    Bethesda sold PS3 users a game that is irreparably broken. I'm not talking about all of the patching issues, though those are certainly a shame. I'm talking about the unavoidable framerate issues. Now, I'm generally a huge Bethesda fan. Both Morrowind and Oblivion are two of my favorite games of all time and I have played both of them.I love Skyrim too,but PS3 version is unpalayable...
  14. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    PLAY AT YOUR OWN RISK. If you happen to own a system that's been under heavy use, this game may acceleratte the degrading rate of its components especifically the Hard Drive Disc, since it has a mandatory installation and relies heavily on it to play. And as your game file size increases so it's the the workload on the HDD (which is a mechanical device with moving parts that deterioratePLAY AT YOUR OWN RISK. If you happen to own a system that's been under heavy use, this game may acceleratte the degrading rate of its components especifically the Hard Drive Disc, since it has a mandatory installation and relies heavily on it to play. And as your game file size increases so it's the the workload on the HDD (which is a mechanical device with moving parts that deteriorate over time) shortening considerably the life time of your system. Already said it has a beautiful artistic content, visuals and sounds that really have you immersed in the game's word, WHEN IT and IF it works. Because for the first hours you will be allowed to experience a virtual reality that feels like a dream only to be abruptly woke up but the technical issues that this software has. At it's core is a generic RPG with dull voice acting that fail to transmit the feeling that the rest of it's world has to offer,that really brings down the amazing talent of the artists in visual and sound departments. Repetitive fetch quest system it feels like you're doing tha same thing over and over again when you're not following the Main Quest line. The PS3 version has the most washed out look out of the three systems it was released for, half of the Npcs voice lines just go mute so must have subtitles turn on AT ALL TIMES... Rent it or buy on another plattform NOT ON PS3. Expand
  15. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    i have never been so sad with a game like i am now with skyrim. i am no longer able to play the game without my ps3 crushing. its a shame to take our 60â
  16. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    Total disaster...After a period of time playing the game,your save file size starts to exceed some MB,the game starts lagging as tutrtle that becomes unplayable to continue playing.I have played this game since the release and it has crashed so many times....
  17. Dec 6, 2011
    3
    Skyrim has everything to be a good game, a really good game. But there are many problems. The lags, the poor textures (on PS3), broken quests, dumb backwards flying dragons, broken magic resistance system. This game is not finished, they released an unfinished game for the symbolic date 11.11.11. Wait, don't buy it now, wait 6 months or a year, but don't buy it now, it's still a beta.Skyrim has everything to be a good game, a really good game. But there are many problems. The lags, the poor textures (on PS3), broken quests, dumb backwards flying dragons, broken magic resistance system. This game is not finished, they released an unfinished game for the symbolic date 11.11.11. Wait, don't buy it now, wait 6 months or a year, but don't buy it now, it's still a beta. We're doing free beta testing for Bethesda. We paid to do the beta testing ! Expand
  18. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    I'm an asian player, I've been playing Skyrim (my first western RPG btw) on ps3 since day 1, actually got a copy on Nov 10th in the Netherlands. As of this moment, 296hrs in, 15mb save file, I hate to say I love this game but can no longer bear the lagging issue. I said to myself multiple times during the playthrough that I was a tolerate person and I would be grateful if the developer wasI'm an asian player, I've been playing Skyrim (my first western RPG btw) on ps3 since day 1, actually got a copy on Nov 10th in the Netherlands. As of this moment, 296hrs in, 15mb save file, I hate to say I love this game but can no longer bear the lagging issue. I said to myself multiple times during the playthrough that I was a tolerate person and I would be grateful if the developer was able to fix the slideshow problem, however, their response is absurd even post patch1.2 (http://forums.bethsoft.com/index.php?/topic/1300559-skyrim-what-were-working-on/). Considering ridiculous time I put into the game, I feel I was cheated, it is not a finished product and its very likely i will never be. Most of time when I was playing Skyrim, rather than enjoying it I worried about losing my progress if the game freezes next minute or so, plus countlessly reboot my ps3 every 30 minutes in order to lessen the lagging issue for a short period of time. You know what I'm saying here, if you happen to be the lucky one who hasn't experienced the issue, I ensure that you will ...eventually...!

    There is an old saying in my country: If you can't get the job done, don't start it! I lost my faith in this game, and its developer - Bethesda. I know its not objective to give a game Zero score, but we are emotional beings, I want to make a point here and I wish my point has been well made - Bethesda doesn't deserve any respect from my Asian community. It is very sad how this will be ended, I'm sure Bethesda will throw us another patch and another and another, but don't insult my intelligence, you won't and won't be able to fix the problem. So, not another Euro, Dollar, Yen, Pound, Yuan...goes on!

    PS. When I say 'my Asian Community', I mean a large group of Asian gamers who bought Skyrim ps3 version, they are my friends live in the Netherlands. Word of mouth will spread across several continents even faster than you think, Bethesda!
    Expand
  19. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Well i really enjoyed this game for some time.But now after 5 minutes it gets laggy.No i have no money to buy a SSD.No patch 1.2 did not solve anything.This game is a mess.DO NOT BUY this game.It's a mess, a real mess
  20. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    Game is pretty decent until it breaks. This exact same thing happened in New Vegas. After a certain point the game becomes a little laggy. Then it gets worse. Then it gets painful to even attempt playing due to horrible framerate issues. If you are crazy enough to continue further, you'll eventually be rewarded with a completely unplayable game and may even damage your PS3. DONT BUY THIS GAME!
  21. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    After my save game data reach 10mb, the game was so laggy that became unplayable (0 to 5fps). After some research on net I discovered that other games from Bethesda had the EXACT SAME ISSUE (Morrowind - Xbox, Fallout 3 - PS3, Fallout New Vegas - PS3, Oblivion - PS3), but with Skyrim is very, very worst. I've also found that the Xbox and PC version have the same problem, but (because it hasAfter my save game data reach 10mb, the game was so laggy that became unplayable (0 to 5fps). After some research on net I discovered that other games from Bethesda had the EXACT SAME ISSUE (Morrowind - Xbox, Fallout 3 - PS3, Fallout New Vegas - PS3, Oblivion - PS3), but with Skyrim is very, very worst. I've also found that the Xbox and PC version have the same problem, but (because it has more RAM available) it takes much longer to happen. So, how a big company like Bethesda release a broken game that has an issue that happened many years before in their previous games? My advice to all people that want to buy Skyrim, is: DO NOT BUY IT. At least until Bethesda fix this lag issue. Bethesda already launch a patch to suppose fix that (apparently they remove some content, see the videos on web), but the problem persists. Unfortunately, probably Bethesda never fix that like they didn't fix FONV, so all I can do is warning the people to not buy it and get frustrated. Expand
  22. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    What does New Vegas AND Skyrim have in common? Well, I ALMOST pre-ordered both, BUT DIDNT! Hahahhahaaa (Mandark laugh). What does Skyrim and the show the Exterminators have in common? BUhhhhhhhGS! Shame on you Bethesda. Theres a reason why ign didnt get a copy of skyrim for ps3 right away...you know what you did.
  23. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    "The next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. " well that would be the case but unfortunately lags,serious bugs and freezings keep this game from being a must....
  24. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    Do not purchase ths game at the moment due to current issues at Patch 1.2
    Always thought Todd Howard has got very big headed of late and comes across very smug. If this attitude is prevalent at Behesda then no wonder they are arrogant enough to release a game that clearly should been tested more before release. Again mighty $ talks. Bethesda are going the same way as Bioware are. They are
    Do not purchase ths game at the moment due to current issues at Patch 1.2
    Always thought Todd Howard has got very big headed of late and comes across very smug. If this attitude is prevalent at Behesda then no wonder they are arrogant enough to release a game that clearly should been tested more before release. Again mighty $ talks. Bethesda are going the same way as Bioware are. They are changing who they were as companies in pursuit of bigger market share. Nothing wrong with that but don't drop he quality along the way. If it wasn't for the loyal fans who support and buy your products then you wouldn't have your cushy jobs. If I produced this sort of quality then I deserved to be fired
    Expand
  25. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    Game is pretty decent until it breaks. This exact same thing happened in New Vegas. After a certain point the game becomes a little laggy. Then it gets worse. Then it gets painful to even attempt playing due to horrible framerate issues. If you are crazy enough to continue further, you'll eventually be rewarded with a completely unplayable game and may even damage your PS3 in the process.Game is pretty decent until it breaks. This exact same thing happened in New Vegas. After a certain point the game becomes a little laggy. Then it gets worse. Then it gets painful to even attempt playing due to horrible framerate issues. If you are crazy enough to continue further, you'll eventually be rewarded with a completely unplayable game and may even damage your PS3 in the process.

    If a video game should ever be recalled it is this mess. There is little doubt Bethesda knew this issues that plagued its games in the past was around and released the product anyways.
    Expand
  26. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    THIS GAME IS BROKEN DO NOT BUY THIS GAME.It's an awesome game but why,why,why to has so many bugs and lags???WHY No fixes,no patches are going to face these problems.It will remain broken...
  27. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    This game is bad,unplayable.Freezes and lags cover it all.DO NOT BUY THIS game.I repeat do not buy this game.After 20 hours it gets laggy as hell.The freezes can ruin your console.
  28. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    While no game is perfect, Skyrim is about as broken a game as you can get. The lag issues are not isolated, it will eventually happen to everyone, it all depends on how much change occurs in your game world. When it comes down to it, DON'T buy it for PS3, OR XBOX for that matter (Some people are starting to report lag issues on it as well),
  29. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    Patch 1.3 didn't save face.The problems keep coming.I would stay away from the ps3 version the game is unplayable after awhile and patch 1.2 isn't nothing but a bandaid work for a while but as soon as my file got around the 13 to 14mb mark. The lag was back and worse than be for the patch and also there are freeze's and hard lock's and no magic resistance after 1.2. The game was hyped asPatch 1.3 didn't save face.The problems keep coming.I would stay away from the ps3 version the game is unplayable after awhile and patch 1.2 isn't nothing but a bandaid work for a while but as soon as my file got around the 13 to 14mb mark. The lag was back and worse than be for the patch and also there are freeze's and hard lock's and no magic resistance after 1.2. The game was hyped as you could play hundred's of hours on a single playthrough but sadly you wont get this satisfaction on ps3. They are saying the dlc for skyrim will be massive but this will just make the lag worse so I would have never bought this game if I knew what I know now. Hopfully this will save some one the headache and disappointment i have been through. Expand
  30. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    Currently, it's just a version of the game full of game-breaking bugs and glitches that will hinder your experience and make you wish for a refund. I'll update the score if ever they release a proper version that fully works!
  31. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    This game was amazing for the little time it worked. If you plan on playing it for more then the main story line Do Not Buy Skyrim! By the time I hit 25hours I had massive lag after every 30mins. Probably less like 20mins. I sucked it up because we was promised a patch. By the time I hit 50 hours like 1000 resets later. I gave up all hope for this game. The freeze ups will kill your ps3This game was amazing for the little time it worked. If you plan on playing it for more then the main story line Do Not Buy Skyrim! By the time I hit 25hours I had massive lag after every 30mins. Probably less like 20mins. I sucked it up because we was promised a patch. By the time I hit 50 hours like 1000 resets later. I gave up all hope for this game. The freeze ups will kill your ps3 system. And gameplay is very stressful. Not to mention it corrupts data for alot of people. Get on youtube type Skyrim Ps3 Lag. Expand
  32. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    This game started out amazing, but its technical issues have made it almost unplayable. I only say almost because I could probably play it if I completely turned my playstation off and then turned it back on to load. Needless to say this is ridiculous and prevents any kind of immersion or getting comfortable. Ignoring these problems, the game is unplayable because there is no guaranteeThis game started out amazing, but its technical issues have made it almost unplayable. I only say almost because I could probably play it if I completely turned my playstation off and then turned it back on to load. Needless to say this is ridiculous and prevents any kind of immersion or getting comfortable. Ignoring these problems, the game is unplayable because there is no guarantee that it will not freeze and require a hard reset even if i stop every thirty minutes. This cannot be good for my PS3 so I am uncomfortable playing it. Aside from the major frame rate and crashing problems, there are tons of broken quests, items that won't leave inventory (and thus are permanent weight), horses disappear forever (even unique ones), etc. Bethesda seems to say the earliest any of these smaller problems will be fixed is January, but they have been silent about any prospect of fixing the serious problems. If you have more than one platform DO NOT play it on PS3, if you only have PS3 don't buy this until GOTY comes out and even then I would check to see if the problems are fixed (skeptical) first. It is really a shame because it had so much potential, but releasing this game like this without any warning or acknowledgment of its fatal problems is inexcusable and completely irresponsible. Expand
  33. Dec 7, 2011
    1
    The game was great at first, but then the lag set in and made it unplayable. It's a problem that has occurred in several of Bethesda's games, and yet they neglected to fix it again. Once again their patches fix nothing and the game is simply broken. Please save your money.
  34. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    GAME IS BROKEN!!!!You hear me Beth???GAME IS BROKEN.The patch and the tips dont do a thing.I loved the snow,i loved the mamoths but i can't go on playing anymore :(.It lags and after some minutes freezes completely.
  35. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    Don't but this game yet! Game is broken, I've got 160 hrs into the game and most of it was due to stupid lags and bugs, not due to enjoyment. Bethesda beefed up Fallout Engine and renamed it to Creation Engine, bollocks.
  36. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    I really wished all these Bethesda fan boys would stop giving the game 10's. The game is B-R-O-K-E-N on PS3, okay? Go rate the XBOX or PC version if you can't stand to see your precious game dropping to the score it deserves on THIS platform, which happens to be the PS3. Schmocks!
  37. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    I can't review a game I can't even play. 50 hours in and the game becomes a slideshow. http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/digitalfoundry-vs-ps3-skyrim-lag

    Avoid this version at all costs.
  38. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    ps Maybe they should have a warning on the box "This game is still under construction"

    This industry needs regulating. What other industy could get away with fleecing several million people with a duff product?

    Let me tell you that this game is **** up, slow and glitchy. Bethesda are known for creating buggy games and it continues here for the PS3.
  39. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    I didn'tknow that mamoth can fly...That LAG can kill a game...that a dragon can go backwards like helicopter...That coldness comes from the freezes of PS3 and not Skyrim weather...
  40. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    DONT BUY THIS GAME!!! the game is broken, after you reach 6 mb in save file the game starts to lagg, after 8 mb you cant do nothing because the lag is so bad you cant play the game. the devopers dont even give us aswers and the historial of games is a mess. if you are thinking in buying this , DONT DO IT
  41. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS game.This game is just full of bugs.You cannot complete quests because there bugged.The framerate after your save file gets large makes the game unplayable.Yet another bugged released game by bugthesda.I got this one ps3 and would recommend that no one else buys this game
  42. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    Super awesome game, no seriously, quite easily best game ever from bethesda......but unfortunately broken due to memory leak issue or whatever it is. Once you reach a certain save file size it just takes a poop, for me it was 11mb to be completely unplayable on that profile. When they fix this broken game I will fix my broken score.
  43. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    While it's no doubt that the fundamental game-play of Skyrim is amazing, the issues revolving around it make the game absolutely disgusting. You'll go from astonished to disappointed as your game becomes more and more unplayable. While no game is perfect, Skyrim is about as broken a game as you can get. The lag issues are not isolated, it will eventually happen to everyone, it all dependsWhile it's no doubt that the fundamental game-play of Skyrim is amazing, the issues revolving around it make the game absolutely disgusting. You'll go from astonished to disappointed as your game becomes more and more unplayable. While no game is perfect, Skyrim is about as broken a game as you can get. The lag issues are not isolated, it will eventually happen to everyone, it all depends on how much change occurs in your game world. When it comes down to it, DON'T buy it for PS3, OR XBOX for that matter (Some people are starting to report lag issues on it as well), PC is the only possible "stable" version through it's myriad of community mods. Don't listen to the reviews, a broken game is what you'll get, and you'll feel cheated after doing so. Expand
  44. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    This game is a crap.DO NOT BUY this game.There are so many problems in the version of ps3 and Beth talks about PC modding.They won't fix PS3 version.Lag and freezes will remain...
  45. Dec 7, 2011
    1
    I had high hopes for this one after playing Fallout 3 and New Vegas, but it disappoints again. This is strike 3 and they need to answer for it. This game will become unplayable after your save game file reaches around 6 MB, and they refuse to properly address the problem. It's broken and will remain broken. Don't buy it.
  46. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    ** COMPLETELY BROKEN ON THE PS3 *To those who continue to think this page is being flooded by trolls: On the 5th of December, this page was linked on the forums for the hundreds (and possibly thousands) of PS3 users who are fed up with Bethesda's attitude towards releasing games (releasing a buggy game knowing full well it was buggy with the intention of 'fixing it later' instead of** COMPLETELY BROKEN ON THE PS3 *To those who continue to think this page is being flooded by trolls: On the 5th of December, this page was linked on the forums for the hundreds (and possibly thousands) of PS3 users who are fed up with Bethesda's attitude towards releasing games (releasing a buggy game knowing full well it was buggy with the intention of 'fixing it later' instead of delaying the release to fix everything they could)...it's BROKEN Expand
  47. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    The game is broken. They rushed it out the door with too many bugs and performance issues for this to be considered a finished product. The performance degradation is unavoidable and will hit everyone once they have used up the system's memory limitations. This is not the system's fault but rather the developers fault for not working to increase compatibility with the console beforeThe game is broken. They rushed it out the door with too many bugs and performance issues for this to be considered a finished product. The performance degradation is unavoidable and will hit everyone once they have used up the system's memory limitations. This is not the system's fault but rather the developers fault for not working to increase compatibility with the console before release. They were aware of the problems when they sold us the game. This has been nothing more than an unethical and most likely illegal money grab. The only way you could have fun with this game is if you enjoy being bamboozled. Expand
  48. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    game is broken with lag, does not work after your save file gets around 7-10 megs. My game keeps freezing up to 2-4 seconds every time I change a spell, check loot, or go to menu. It makes everything take FOREVER. And that's not actually that bad when you consider most of the peoples problems.
  49. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    It's broken. Do not buy this game on the Playstation 3 until it is fixed (and we can only hope that it will be). The frame rate sinks to incredibly terrible numbers and it becomes essentially impossible to play once your save game reaches 10mb or so, which usually happens within anywhere from 60-100 hours.
  50. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    This game is a crap.DO NOT BUY this game.This game doesnt deserve the reviews.PS3 copy is broken and laggy as hell.Freezes and lags all the time.Beth lies to us.Come to the forums to talk about it and tell your problems.This thing is unplayable.
  51. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. This game should have never been released and is full of bugs. Bethesda should be sued for trying to get away with this. My money would of been better off with the suites on Wall Street. Really Bethesda how with a conscious mind could have you done this. Fvcking greed, so how do you feel now. You guys are the terrorists of the gaming world. I'm done with you.
  52. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    This game had so much potential, but alas, it was all wasted due to poor optimization for the PS3. If you want to play this game, buy it for the Xbox or PC, it works fine on those platforms, but if you only have a PS3, go stare at a microwave instead (this will be much more entertaining than trying to play this game at 10 frames per second and waiting through 2 minute load screens afterThis game had so much potential, but alas, it was all wasted due to poor optimization for the PS3. If you want to play this game, buy it for the Xbox or PC, it works fine on those platforms, but if you only have a PS3, go stare at a microwave instead (this will be much more entertaining than trying to play this game at 10 frames per second and waiting through 2 minute load screens after every minute of gameplay). I returned the PS3 copy for a PC one, and I haven't looked back. Expand
  53. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    ***Skyrim becomes unplayable on PS3 after a certain amount of time, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME ON PS3***

    This game becomes unplayable after your save reaches a certain size. What hurts the most is that this punishes the players who spend the most time on this game by making it unplayable. I wanted to love this game. It was beautiful. It was epic. It was breathtaking. Unfortunately the only
    ***Skyrim becomes unplayable on PS3 after a certain amount of time, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME ON PS3***

    This game becomes unplayable after your save reaches a certain size. What hurts the most is that this punishes the players who spend the most time on this game by making it unplayable.

    I wanted to love this game. It was beautiful. It was epic. It was breathtaking. Unfortunately the only breath it takes now is roars of rage from my lungs through constant crashing and fear of burnout on my 1 month old ps3. Because of the way it was designed, Skyrim slowly degrades until it no longer works. Lag, slowdown of frame rate, 10 minute load screens, disappearing NPCs and near constant crashes are only the tip of the ice burg of what this game becomes at the 40+ hour mark.

    Any game that becomes unplayable because of developer fault deserves a score of 0. For shame to Bethesda for releasing a broken game. You can't play it, you can't enjoy it, it becomes a blank disc.
    Expand
  54. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    They obviously have not learned anything from New Vegas... After a while the game becomes utterly unplayable. My savefile is now around 9mb, and the lag is terrible... Just did the Azura quest, and the framerate inside Ilinalta's Deep was ridiculus.. i guess 10-15 fps.. And when dragons attac it is more like watching powerpoint slides! Waste of 40£
  55. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    The ROCK SAYS that Bethesda better fix this broken game or he is going to shove it up their ROODY POO CANDY A$$

    Seriously though, the game is broken. If you do not believe me or the countless others who are complaining, then you haven't either 1. played long enough or 2. experienced enough content. Once your save file reaches a certain size (typically around 9mb with 40+ hrs invested),
    The ROCK SAYS that Bethesda better fix this broken game or he is going to shove it up their ROODY POO CANDY A$$

    Seriously though, the game is broken. If you do not believe me or the countless others who are complaining, then you haven't either 1. played long enough or 2. experienced enough content. Once your save file reaches a certain size (typically around 9mb with 40+ hrs invested), you will experience lag that ruins the experience. We have the power to make Bethesda fix this, so sign up and review if you haven't.
    Expand
  56. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    Well things could be differnent for Skyrim if it didn't have so many bugs and glitches,so many lags and freezes.Unfortunately that's not the case,Skyrim is not a bad game,it's a broken game and that's more depressing...
  57. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    I stopped by GameStop and asked if the game is fixed on ps3 since it was the only platform I have, and the GameStop guy told me he did not run into lag issue YET after the patch, so, I thought bugthesda had fixed it and dropped $60 bucks on this game. I spent three days playing only and guess what....I cannot play anymore after about 30 hrs invested in. I am a sad puppy now, and justI stopped by GameStop and asked if the game is fixed on ps3 since it was the only platform I have, and the GameStop guy told me he did not run into lag issue YET after the patch, so, I thought bugthesda had fixed it and dropped $60 bucks on this game. I spent three days playing only and guess what....I cannot play anymore after about 30 hrs invested in. I am a sad puppy now, and just wish people don't have to go through this experience hence the 0 score. I WILL try to get a refund from bethesda, if I can't get it, I am not going to support this company's game in the future. Learn from blizzard, or other games. Expand
  58. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Do not buy this game. It's appears to be a great game, but it is broken and before you get near the end of the game it is lagging very badly. Bethseda have provided little support or answers or indication that they will fix it. If fixed, would be a great game. But in it's current form, you'd be better off not buying it and ending up frustrated as I have.
  59. Dec 6, 2011
    1
    Don't let the MetaCritic's "critics" fool you into buying this game !!! It does not deserve a 93 score !!!
    There are huge technical/programming problems that disable this game for many PS3 owners. Bethesda withheld the PS3 reviewer copies, to delay the truth until they could sell as many of the broken games as they could. I feel MetaCritic is ignoring the horrible technical issue in their
    Don't let the MetaCritic's "critics" fool you into buying this game !!! It does not deserve a 93 score !!!
    There are huge technical/programming problems that disable this game for many PS3 owners. Bethesda withheld the PS3 reviewer copies, to delay the truth until they could sell as many of the broken games as they could. I feel MetaCritic is ignoring the horrible technical issue in their score. If the PS3 version did not have these lethal software problems, it would easily deserve the 93 score. The patches have been ineffective and Bethesda does not appear to be forthcoming with real solutions, or to be willing to take responsibility for the consumer deception that has occurred. It could have been an awesome gaming experience if Bethesda had done their jobs well.
    Expand
  60. Dec 8, 2011
    2
    To start with I have played over 100 hours of this game. It is fun, creative, and ambitious. Unfortunately this game is broken on the PS3. There are serious lag problems with large save files, which Bethesda has no idea of how to fix. The game crashes at multiple points, it has become less about exploring the world and more about walking a mine field trying not to crash it. This gameTo start with I have played over 100 hours of this game. It is fun, creative, and ambitious. Unfortunately this game is broken on the PS3. There are serious lag problems with large save files, which Bethesda has no idea of how to fix. The game crashes at multiple points, it has become less about exploring the world and more about walking a mine field trying not to crash it. This game should never have been released, in this state. Bethesda has completely lost all of my confidence for releasing this game as is. I refuse to believe that their QA dept missed these bugs, they are to easy to reproduce. So that means Bethesda knowingly released a broken game. I am torn in two about this game, its an enjoyable ride, but once you get deep into it, it loses all the fun. Expand
  61. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Products are not meant to be sold with the intention of 'making it better in the long run'. Either a game is suitable for public use, or it needs more time in development and testing. The video games industry is the only place in the world where a product can be sold incomplete or faulty, with the caveat 'it's ok, we'll patch it'. For a while now, people have accepted this to be the case,Products are not meant to be sold with the intention of 'making it better in the long run'. Either a game is suitable for public use, or it needs more time in development and testing. The video games industry is the only place in the world where a product can be sold incomplete or faulty, with the caveat 'it's ok, we'll patch it'. For a while now, people have accepted this to be the case, minor errors can be amended and tightened, that's fine. Skyrim, for me, and it would seem a massive percentage (and let's say it's just 30%, although I believe it to be higher, but that is still unacceptable) gets to a point where it is near unplayable, or completely so. My copy is currently sat on the floor in a box following a rage quit, and I'll not be playing it again until it is fixed.

    Were the game to run perfectly, it would almost certainly be a 10 (from my early experiences, and my Fallout style occasional glitching early on). It doesn't run perfectly. It doesn't actually run. If I were to sell someone a blank blu-ray and tell them it's the greatest game ever, but they can't play it until I've patched it, it would warrant a score of zero and no more. Skyrim for me is completely unplayable, and for that reason, I am giving it a zero.
    Expand
  62. Dec 9, 2011
    0
    This game will become unplayable after your save game file reaches around 6 MB, and they refuse to properly address the problem. It's broken and will be sustain being broken. Don't buy it.Skyrim could be great but lag and freezs killed it...
  63. Dec 11, 2011
    3
    I'm not that far into the game, maybe 12 hours or so. The only problem I have had so far is the game freezing quite a bit on me. I don't doubt the problems others are having with the ps3 version, as I have that version too. I'm not playing the game anymore until I know that the majority of the problems are fixed since my game kept freezing and causing me to do a hard reset. If theseI'm not that far into the game, maybe 12 hours or so. The only problem I have had so far is the game freezing quite a bit on me. I don't doubt the problems others are having with the ps3 version, as I have that version too. I'm not playing the game anymore until I know that the majority of the problems are fixed since my game kept freezing and causing me to do a hard reset. If these problems are not rectified, I will no longer support this company with my money. Expand
  64. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Giving it a ZERO (to off set the 10s so it drops to an average 5 ) as it breaks after your save file passes 5mb size barrier. Frame drops to ZERO at times. Not being able to use the autosave feature with fear of total PS3 lockup and possible hard drive data corrupts and save file corruptions. This game is an EPIC failure on Bethesda's part. They say it has new graphic engine, more like oldGiving it a ZERO (to off set the 10s so it drops to an average 5 ) as it breaks after your save file passes 5mb size barrier. Frame drops to ZERO at times. Not being able to use the autosave feature with fear of total PS3 lockup and possible hard drive data corrupts and save file corruptions. This game is an EPIC failure on Bethesda's part. They say it has new graphic engine, more like old engine upgraded. Telling us this is a huge open world game is not excuse. They should have waited to release it when they figured out how to correct the LAG issue on the PS3. Now with a save file hitting 9mb the lag/frame rate issue is getting annoying and almost get sea sick watching the screen. When the 1st patch comes out 1 week after release to address performance issues on the PS3 they already knew it was no good. That was most likely the reason none of the reviewers got advanced copies of the PS3 version and only PC/Xbox as they have access to larger memory pool so issues do not show up as quickly. Bethesda did not expect to see gamers hitting the limits this early. From this past weeks announcement

    "After the holidays, weâ
    Expand
  65. Dec 5, 2011
    3
    Skyrim has been getting nominations for game of the year, I think this could be true on the pc and xbox 360, but it definitely cannot be true for the ps3. The game has a lot going for it: an absolutely huge world that is populated by a ton of npcs with the ability to do almost anything, a huge number of quests, nice graphics, and the ability to customize your character in so manySkyrim has been getting nominations for game of the year, I think this could be true on the pc and xbox 360, but it definitely cannot be true for the ps3. The game has a lot going for it: an absolutely huge world that is populated by a ton of npcs with the ability to do almost anything, a huge number of quests, nice graphics, and the ability to customize your character in so many different ways. However, the poor implementation of the game on the ps3 really hurts its enjoyment. During the first week of play, the game froze my ps3 7 times, sometimes to the point where even the power button was unresponsive and I had to unplug the power cord to get the ps3 to reset. I don't recall any of my other games ever causing the ps3 to freeze. In addition, for a game that is meant to be played a long time (100+ hours if you are thorough), it has an absolutely debilitating feature - more and more framerate drops the longer you play. It gets bad to the point of getting 2-5 frames per second. Patch 1.2 was supposed to fix this according to Bethesda, and after downloading it, the game ran silky smooth again in sharp contrast to the frequent stuttering I was playing with before. However, after 2-3 hours of play, the framerate drops began again. The solution is supposed to be to quit and restart the game! What kind of video game is designed that you have to quit and restart the game every 2 hours?! And Bethesda seems to have known about this absolutely horrendous fault with Skyrim before releasing it. I've read on video game sites like IGN.com that Bethesda sent them xbox 360 and pc versions of the game for review, but would require the magazine to purchase the ps3 version if they wanted to play it. Considering the number of people who have experienced this problem (75% according to a poll on ign.com), it would be absolutely ridiculous to believe that Bethesda didn't know about this problem before releasing it for purchase on the ps3.

    The other annoying feature is the very long load times. Everytime you enter another area or fast travel to another location, you have to sit through a long load screen. For example, if I want to sell the loot I've collected in a dungeon, I travel to one of the cities and visit the smith, the general goods store, and the alchemy store to sell the different items. This is the sequence of events: 1) fast travel to a large city (wait through long load screen), 2) enter the smith shop (wait through long load screen), 3) sell loot, 4) exit the smith shop (wait through long load screen), 5) enter the general goods store (wait through long load screen), 6) sell loot, 7) exit the general goods store (wait through long load screen), 8) enter the alchemy shop (wait through long load screen), 9) sell loot, 10) exit the alchemy shop (wait through long load screen), 11) fast travel to my destination (wait through long load screen). It has gotten to the point where I no longer pick up loot when I go through dungeons just to avoid having to go to shops to avoid waiting through long load screens. I can understand a long load screen when entering a city because of the size of the area, all the different buildings, and all the different npcs walking around it, but why the heck does it take so long when I enter a small single-room cabin?

    I really enjoyed playing Oblivion and Fallout 3 on the pc. Both games ran great. I wasn't expecting this mess playing Skyrim on the ps3. It sounds like Skyrim has its problems on the xbox 360 and the pc, but they seem to be much more minor compared to the ps3. I think if you have a very good pc, the best experience will probably be on that platform. Avoid getting Skyrim for the ps3. Final score 3/10.
    Expand
  66. Dec 6, 2011
    1
    I really hate giving this game such a bad score. It certainly has many good aspects but the lagging, freezing and certain quest glitches cause major headaches. At first everything ran smoothly but over time the game started to have minor moments of slowdown and infrequent freezes. Unfortunately those minor issues became much bigger and more frequent the longer I played. I had theI really hate giving this game such a bad score. It certainly has many good aspects but the lagging, freezing and certain quest glitches cause major headaches. At first everything ran smoothly but over time the game started to have minor moments of slowdown and infrequent freezes. Unfortunately those minor issues became much bigger and more frequent the longer I played. I had the exact same issue with Fallout 3 GOTY. It started out great, but many hours later I was freezing every 5 minutes. I also have Skyrim on the xbox as well. While it also has some problems,especially glitched quests, it runs much better than the ps3 version.

    I find it hard to believe Bethesda was not aware of the many problems on the ps3 before release. Either they didn't test the game properly, or they knew and just didn't care. It is a bummer because this is one of my favorite games when it decides to work. The only reason I give this game a 1 instead of a 0 is the amazing music. Jeremy Soule did a wonderful job and deserves praise. That is about the only thing I can praise until Bethesda fixes the many problems.
    Expand
  67. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Out of all the ps3 games I have ever owned this has giving me the most anger, to which I feel the only score that can be represents it is 0.......how can the multiple other games that are released on the ps3 platform work so flawless (yes I know its a big open world) but surly this should have been tested before release and be found all the game breaking bugs (my ps3 has frozen up on moreOut of all the ps3 games I have ever owned this has giving me the most anger, to which I feel the only score that can be represents it is 0.......how can the multiple other games that are released on the ps3 platform work so flawless (yes I know its a big open world) but surly this should have been tested before release and be found all the game breaking bugs (my ps3 has frozen up on more than 10 occasion's in the past 2 weeks) the quest's are bugged that the user could get so far into the game and not progress any further...the framrate drop (from what it began very smooth) to a jerky mess...excuse the next paragraph but caps lock is needed...ahem HOW CAN A PUBLISHER/DEVELOPER RELEASE WHAT IS CLEARLY A *&^&^%$$ PIECE OF %^$$£@$ IS THEIR NOT TESTER'S FOR THIS???? HOW DO SO MANY GAME SITES AND MAGAZINES GIVE SO HIGH SCORES????WHO IS PAYING WHO HERE????.....deep breath.......Their is no denying that the game (when it works) is great but to give it anything higher than a 0 would be misleading to give something that is broken anything higher....which this game is clearly....now i must go and chase that backward flying dragon ffs grrrrrrrrrr Expand
  68. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS game.This game is just full of bugs.You cannot complete quests because there bugged.The framerate after your save file gets large makes the game unplayable.Yet another bugged released game by bugthesda.I got this one ps3 and would recommend that no one else buys this game.
  69. Dec 7, 2011
    2
    This game is brilliant. The design, the atmosphere... It's amazing. Easily one of the best games this generation. But it seems that I bought it on the wrong system. I can understand a couple day one hiccups, but seriously Bethesda? This is ridiculous. I have had to restart the game twice now simply because a game breaking bug would happen during the main quest line, rendering completion ofThis game is brilliant. The design, the atmosphere... It's amazing. Easily one of the best games this generation. But it seems that I bought it on the wrong system. I can understand a couple day one hiccups, but seriously Bethesda? This is ridiculous. I have had to restart the game twice now simply because a game breaking bug would happen during the main quest line, rendering completion of the story impossible. That, coupled with the amount of time I have stared at a blank screen while resetting my ps3 because Skyrim froze is just the tip of the iceberg. Sound cutting out, textures vanishing, saves getting corrupt, this version has it all. Even then, if I turn a blind eye to the fact that the ps3 version obviously wasn't tested enough (show me a Bethesda rep who says otherwise and I'll show you a liar) the worst part is that you released it knowing full well about these issues. I mean, why else would you not send out ps3 review copies to popular review sites? I think that is worse then the game being so broken, but I digress....

    I hope that you see this user rating and read these reviews, and happen across mine. You already have my money for this game, and the only reason I am holding onto the unplayable frustration that is Skyrim is because I know the masterpiece it can be with the proper steps taken to improve it. I was looking forward to Prey 2, but I will not be purchasing it now. I know I alone will not make a difference, but I can only hope that my fellow gamers and I can send a message to all developers out there who think this is okay, in hopes of bettering the industry we all love.
    Expand
  70. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    It was buggy right from the start. character creation menu, remember that? Took forever to respond. Then it got laggier and laggier. **** you Bethesda. That Howard Todd is a lying piece of ****
  71. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    I can't believe I'm giving a score of 0 to such an amazing game. Yes, Skyrim is amazing. It's huge and immersive and incredibly fun to play....or at least it was incredibly fun to play up until I hit 55 hours and couldn't even leave Whiterun because of the lag. I'm always prepared for glitches and bugs with a game as vast as Skyrim and I don't generally complain but the game is straight upI can't believe I'm giving a score of 0 to such an amazing game. Yes, Skyrim is amazing. It's huge and immersive and incredibly fun to play....or at least it was incredibly fun to play up until I hit 55 hours and couldn't even leave Whiterun because of the lag. I'm always prepared for glitches and bugs with a game as vast as Skyrim and I don't generally complain but the game is straight up UNPLAYABLE. Watching a slideshow is not my idea of entertainment and I am incredibly disappointed as I was not even close to finished. Imagine my surprise when I find hundreds of PS3 owners in the same boat and find out that Bethesda has released an unfinished game fully aware of the problems. I feel pretty insulted. Expand
  72. Dec 6, 2011
    2
    This game would be so much fun but unfortunately it is broken on PS3 and unplayable after a while. Screw you Bathesda for knowingly releasing a full-price AAA game that gets unplayable after a certain amount of time. I will never buy a game of yours for more than 15$ again. I had the same issues wuth Fallout 3 and Fallout NV and tried to ignore it because the I liked the games - but thisThis game would be so much fun but unfortunately it is broken on PS3 and unplayable after a while. Screw you Bathesda for knowingly releasing a full-price AAA game that gets unplayable after a certain amount of time. I will never buy a game of yours for more than 15$ again. I had the same issues wuth Fallout 3 and Fallout NV and tried to ignore it because the I liked the games - but this time it is just too much. Expand
  73. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    It's disappointing. I really want to like this game, but it is simply too broken to be considered game of the year. Do yourselves a favor and stay away from the PS3 version.
  74. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    Despite this being an excellent game, IT IS NOT PLAYABLE ON THE PS3 (after you hit around 6-8mb) save file. And when you hit 6-8mb you probably haven't even experienced half of it yet! Something needs to be done.
  75. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    What started out as a beautiful game turned into a horrible mess. There are too many quest-breaking bugs, glitches, and performance issues such as huge framerate drops, lag, and unresponsive menu interface. Avoid the PS3 version (or the game altogether) until they come out with a patch that actually fixes these issues, unless you want to spend $60+ to beta-test an unpolished game.
  76. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    As others had mentioned earlier, I also suggests people "NOT TO BUY THE PS3 version". The game has the potential to be a masterpiece but it turns out to be a game that full of bugs, glitches, laggy and many more issues. I decided to return the game back to the retailer and got my money back. For those people who are experiencing the same problems, please return the broken game back to theAs others had mentioned earlier, I also suggests people "NOT TO BUY THE PS3 version". The game has the potential to be a masterpiece but it turns out to be a game that full of bugs, glitches, laggy and many more issues. I decided to return the game back to the retailer and got my money back. For those people who are experiencing the same problems, please return the broken game back to the retailer or wherever you got this game from. Let the retailer deal with the Publisher/developer and the retailer may even decided to take game off the shelves. Expand
  77. Dec 5, 2011
    1
    I am writing this because I love video games, and need to bring to light a problem with a game I was looking forward to like nothing else. It is a real shame that a game with as much hype and obvious potential as skyrim was let down by the ridiculous lag issues that plague it. On the PC and Xbox this 'masterpiece' of a game runs fine... and don't get me wrong, it does look like aI am writing this because I love video games, and need to bring to light a problem with a game I was looking forward to like nothing else. It is a real shame that a game with as much hype and obvious potential as skyrim was let down by the ridiculous lag issues that plague it. On the PC and Xbox this 'masterpiece' of a game runs fine... and don't get me wrong, it does look like a masterpiece. However they have truly shafted us PS3 players by not tuning the game's lag issues to an acceptable standard - play with a character for any reasonable amount of time and get your save area in the 5MB+ region, and you will be subjected to something more akin to a PowerPoint slide show than the 30fps game you were promised. The game becomes an agonizing, infuriating, unplayable mess. This is no exaggeration. Google DigitalFoundry (a performance analysis site) along with Skyrim and the evidence is all there, captured on video.
    We, the consumers, deserve some integrity from the developers. They cannot be allowed to get away with ripping countless thousands of people off like this. If you haven't bought this game yet, please hear our appeal, and show Bethesda that we deserve fit-for-purpose products by holding off buying this game. If you have bought it, please help bring to light the problems countless gamers just like you are experiencing by writing honest reviews, posting on forums, sending emails to Bethesda. This is already reaching mainstream news, and you can help get this game fixed and give us PS3 gamers, who have done nothing wrong but happen to use this console instead of Xbox or PC, the game we paid for and deserved.
    Expand
  78. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Let me make one thing clear... this game is actually incredible. Maybe one of the best games I've EVER played... so why am I giving it a 0 you may ask... because it's incredible, UNTIL you can't play it anymore due to the most horrible lag EVER in any game ever released!! You have to see it to believe it. You would be horrified to watch it drop to barely 1-2 frames per second... and that'sLet me make one thing clear... this game is actually incredible. Maybe one of the best games I've EVER played... so why am I giving it a 0 you may ask... because it's incredible, UNTIL you can't play it anymore due to the most horrible lag EVER in any game ever released!! You have to see it to believe it. You would be horrified to watch it drop to barely 1-2 frames per second... and that's when it's not just freezing up overall for many seconds at a time! It's obvious Bethesda knew there were problems with the PS3 version (which is why they only released PC and 360 copies for review) but didn't care and released it anyway so they wouldn't hurt their profits. I'm still blown away. Something should be done legally against this company for the FRAUD that was committed here, and that is exactly what it is. Even IGN is calling them out now on this. And it's so sad too... because before you hit the problem, it is truly an incredible game. But one minute playing a true Game of the Year candidate, only to have it turn into an unplayable piece of trash is something I never thought I would have witnessed! Expand
  79. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    A masterpiece, unfortunately as seems to be normal these days the PS3 version is a complete mess. Want to play it, but the experience is just too frustrating with appalling lag, game breaking bugs. Hopefully it will get fixed but i wont hold my breath. Would be 10/10, in the current state its 0/10 and AVOID IT.
  80. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Sigh, what to say about this game? Buried in there is perhaps one of the greatest RPGs in history. Unfortunately, in its current state you'll never get to experience it. To say the game is glitchy is an understatement of epic proportions. It freezes, quests are broken, houses pop up, dragons fly backwards, and that's not even mentioning the largest issue. The game cannot handle systemSigh, what to say about this game? Buried in there is perhaps one of the greatest RPGs in history. Unfortunately, in its current state you'll never get to experience it. To say the game is glitchy is an understatement of epic proportions. It freezes, quests are broken, houses pop up, dragons fly backwards, and that's not even mentioning the largest issue. The game cannot handle system memory properly, and so rapidly grinds to a shuttering halt. Your frame rate will drop down to literally 0 fps at times. It becomes unplayable. Completely and totally unplayable. To add insult to injury, Bethesda the developers give little to no communication and insist that somehow "most" players do not experience this. I have yet to find a single person I know on this platform who can play the game. It really should be recalled. Do yourself a favor, stay away, and spend your money on any number of other worthy games. Such a complete and total shame. Expand
  81. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    The truth is that Bethesda rushed this game to all hell, and let a massive memory leak bug disallow further progress for an RPG fan who loves to explore. And there's dozens of bugs that have been overlooked, but Bethesda doesn't care. They got their damn money off of us PS3 players without consideration of letting us play comfortably.
    I will admit this is Oblvion 2.0, its a ton of fun and
    The truth is that Bethesda rushed this game to all hell, and let a massive memory leak bug disallow further progress for an RPG fan who loves to explore. And there's dozens of bugs that have been overlooked, but Bethesda doesn't care. They got their damn money off of us PS3 players without consideration of letting us play comfortably.
    I will admit this is Oblvion 2.0, its a ton of fun and the leveling system actually feels like a leveling system, but what good is a game promising over 300 hours of content when passing 50 hours presents game breaking bugs.
    Shame on you Bethesda, and please dismiss Pete Hines, he speaks and tries to "debunk" facts with his behind.
    Expand
  82. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    This game is just full of bugs.You cannot complete quests because there bugged.The framerate after your save file gets large makes the game unplayable.Yet another bugged released game by bugthesda.I got this one ps3 and would recommend that no one else buys this game.
  83. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    I would give this game a 10, but my game due to the file size bug has become unplayable for me, i can play for quite some time if i turn ALL autosaving off, which is just right down frustrating to do, saving after i open every door and sell every little item is rediculous.... especially with no quick save function, i cant even have more than 1 save file for my playthrough.... if i do theI would give this game a 10, but my game due to the file size bug has become unplayable for me, i can play for quite some time if i turn ALL autosaving off, which is just right down frustrating to do, saving after i open every door and sell every little item is rediculous.... especially with no quick save function, i cant even have more than 1 save file for my playthrough.... if i do the game crashes and forces me to do a hard restart which we all know can be damaging to your console system as well. As it is.... unplayable = 0 score. Expand
  84. Dec 8, 2011
    3
    The game is very buggy all round and it has major lag if you invest any amount of time at all into it, which you will end up doing if you do buy it! A shame because otherwise its a fantastic game, get it for pc or 360, or better yet wait until the problems are hopefully fixed and pick it up second hand nice and cheap!
  85. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    This game is broken.DO NOT BUY this game.LAGS FREEZES,it can ruin your ps3 and mess up your HDD.DO NOT buy this game until bethesda fix it and according to this http://www.reddit.com/r/skyrim/comments/mza05/skyrim_ps3_framerate_fallout_new_vegas_developer/ it won't be fixed...
  86. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    This game is broken so baddly that you cant finish it, main quest broken, side quests broken, and whats most importent extreme lags that looks likeslide shows. First time in my gameing history i want my money back.
  87. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    Great game made unplayable due to lag, not fit for release. Beth should have held back the ps3 version and their handling of the situation has been very poor. Feel somewhat cheated. should have known better after playing FO3 GOTY
  88. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    With all my heart I WANT to give this game a 10 but that qould in all honesty be cheating people out of hard earned money. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME it is bugged plagued with quest issues up and down and all over Skyrim from Riften to Solitude and it will ruin quest chains as a vital npc refuses to acknowledge you and you have to sit on your ass waiting for Bugthesda to sluggishly andWith all my heart I WANT to give this game a 10 but that qould in all honesty be cheating people out of hard earned money. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME it is bugged plagued with quest issues up and down and all over Skyrim from Riften to Solitude and it will ruin quest chains as a vital npc refuses to acknowledge you and you have to sit on your ass waiting for Bugthesda to sluggishly and uncaringly churn out a patch that in all honesty WON'T fix the problem.
    Now for the best part the FPS issues as you playthrough this land of should-be-wonder your save file goes up bit by bit leading to eventual FPS drops to 10-15 or even as bad as 8-0 and COMPLETELY FREEZING the game by the time your 60 hours in or have a file of around 5.5(not that large). Restarting over and over again just to have the issue return after around 30 minutes. Fun fact this issue was brought up by Bethesda and apparently 'resolved' in patch 1.2 which actually made this game EVEN BUGGIER and in some cases led the FPS cuts to get worse for some uses at a even shorter time of a 2.5mb file and 20 hours in which is completely unacceptable for a game of this standing and scope.
    TL;DR 0-10 hours: :D 10-25 hours :) 25-50 hours D:< 50+: your in blind rage
    Expand
  89. Dec 9, 2011
    0
    Don't buy this game for PS3! Bethesda's track record on PS3 titles was horrible, and this one isn't any better. If they can't make a technically sound game on the Playstation 3 console, they shouldn't release one. It's unfortunate, because the game itself is great under the technical mess that is their game engine. The first few hours are great, but once your game file gets to a certainDon't buy this game for PS3! Bethesda's track record on PS3 titles was horrible, and this one isn't any better. If they can't make a technically sound game on the Playstation 3 console, they shouldn't release one. It's unfortunate, because the game itself is great under the technical mess that is their game engine. The first few hours are great, but once your game file gets to a certain size it begans to stutter and freeze to the point that it becomes unbearable. Keep in mind that I haven't even mentioned the multitude of gameplay glitches and bugs - there are people who can't even complete the main quest! Don't pay for a broken game, otherwise they will keep putting them out. Expand
  90. Dec 9, 2011
    0
    Skyrim has everything to be a good game, a really good game. But there are many problems. After my save game data reach 10mb, the game was so laggy that became unplayable.DO NOT BUY SKYRIM.It's broken...
  91. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    This game is broken.DO NOT BUY this game.LAGS FREEZES,it can ruin your ps3 and mess up your HDD.DO NOT buy this game until bethesda fix it and according to this http://www.reddit.com/r/skyrim/comments/mza05/skyrim_ps3_framerate_fallout_new_vegas_developer/ it won't be fixed...
  92. Dec 6, 2011
    3
    5 years. 5 years I have been waiting for this game. Oblivion had a few bugs here and there but nothing that couldn't be ignored when thinking about the scale of the game; after all, it WAS the Game of the Year in 2006. Back then I would've thought the very idea of giving the sequel to such a stroke of genius less than 9/10 to be laughable. However, here I sit, with my near-enough5 years. 5 years I have been waiting for this game. Oblivion had a few bugs here and there but nothing that couldn't be ignored when thinking about the scale of the game; after all, it WAS the Game of the Year in 2006. Back then I would've thought the very idea of giving the sequel to such a stroke of genius less than 9/10 to be laughable. However, here I sit, with my near-enough unplayable copy of Skyrim in my hand. I will give anyone considering buying this product for the PS3 a warning: DO NOT. If you're thinking that we are just being melodramatic and whiny, you sure have a shock in store for yourself when you foolishly decide to play this game for a sustained period of time. Bethesda has always been awful when it comes to Playstation but this is just ridiculous. If it doesn't lessen it's obvious favouritism soon then I can guarantee it will lose itself an awful lot of consumers. I don't see how they couldn't have forseen this glaring, major flaw in their product. Patches have been promised, however, which I pray fix the issue; if not, Bethesda has no way to redeem themselves and I, for one, will have simply had enough. We have put up with these 'issues' for a long time and now I no longer have the faith to defend the game, or the developer. Fix the problem. Expand
  93. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Skyrim is an excellent game hidden under many game breaking bugs. Unfortunately due to the huge marketing behind the release date 11/11/11...the game was rushed in order to meet the date. Two weeks after the game comes out...Bethesda releases a useless patch which actually breaks the game further. I'm fed up of being a games tester for a company more interested in profit than theSkyrim is an excellent game hidden under many game breaking bugs. Unfortunately due to the huge marketing behind the release date 11/11/11...the game was rushed in order to meet the date. Two weeks after the game comes out...Bethesda releases a useless patch which actually breaks the game further. I'm fed up of being a games tester for a company more interested in profit than the satisfaction of it's customers. Head on over to the Bethesda forums to view the ongoing trouble across all three platforms. Expand
  94. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    This would be a great game if it wasn't for the bugs, the framerate issues and the way it basically collapses in on itself the more you play it. If it worked, I'd give it a ten. Right now I'm giving Bethesda a zero, because this thing needed a lot more time in the oven before it was done. Don't sell me a broken product and expect to get away with it.
  95. Dec 5, 2011
    1
    This game is absolutely incredible. The graphics and beautiful vistas will blow your mind, as will the decapitations and sweet victory that follows creatively slaying a Dragon. That being said; the game is a disaster. It's unplayable with lag, and it's now becoming clear (thanks to a head dev at Obsidian(new Vegas)), that the game is eventually breaking for everybody, due to it beingThis game is absolutely incredible. The graphics and beautiful vistas will blow your mind, as will the decapitations and sweet victory that follows creatively slaying a Dragon. That being said; the game is a disaster. It's unplayable with lag, and it's now becoming clear (thanks to a head dev at Obsidian(new Vegas)), that the game is eventually breaking for everybody, due to it being neglected by Bethesda(big surprise there.). My advice: Don't buy it, but save up money for it. The moment people report it's fixed, go buy it, and prepare to lose countless nights questing. Expand
  96. Dec 6, 2011
    4
    Good graphics, good story, good sounds, big beautiful world to explore.. but that's pretty much it. That's why I give it a 4. This review is an honest one, and I'm not even taking into consideration the amount of game breaking bugs and frame rate issues this game has. The gameplay, combat system, level design, Artificial Intelligence and User Interface are all mediocre or average at best.Good graphics, good story, good sounds, big beautiful world to explore.. but that's pretty much it. That's why I give it a 4. This review is an honest one, and I'm not even taking into consideration the amount of game breaking bugs and frame rate issues this game has. The gameplay, combat system, level design, Artificial Intelligence and User Interface are all mediocre or average at best. I do not understand how such an average game can get scored 9 and 10 by supposedly professional and impartial reviewers. Especially when a game like New Vegas, who was much better than Skyrim in every possible way (except for graphics) was scored only 8. That doesn't make sense to me. Has the game industry really sunken so low, that we consider appearances and quantity more important than gameplay and quality? Now with all that said I will say that Skyrim is still fun to play.. when it works properly that is. That is why I strongly suggest you get it on Xbox360 or PC instead of PS3. But even then, I do not believe that this game deserves the title of GOTY. That is an absolute insult to all the other developers who designed much better games this year. Expand
  97. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!!! At least until they actually have it fixed.
    Only giving game a zero for down-voting purposes(Because it needs to be). Has the potential to be one of the greatest games ever made. Loved the first 60 hours or so of it. The problem is after you invest so much time into the game, it becomes unplayable. Some people say that they can play through the lag. This is false!
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!!! At least until they actually have it fixed.
    Only giving game a zero for down-voting purposes(Because it needs to be). Has the potential to be one of the greatest games ever made. Loved the first 60 hours or so of it. The problem is after you invest so much time into the game, it becomes unplayable. Some people say that they can play through the lag. This is false! Sure you could play through it, but it is seriously so laggy that it makes your eyes hurt. I quit playing 2 weeks ago in the hopes that the patch would fix the problem, but sadly it didn't. Now Bethesda has nothing to say as to whether or not the game is even fixable. So Don't buy this game until you are sure it works properly.
    Expand
  98. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is completely broken , at first everything looks fine, but after a while this lagfest and stutterfest takes over and never looks back. Do not buy this game, the people at BEthesda should be ashamed of this fiasco and scam/ Expand
  99. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    This game is nearly unplayable for me on the PS3, I must first address that the lag is inexcusable especially for them having known of this issue since at least 2008 when Fallout 3 was out, to release in this state is simply lazy and dishonest to their user base.

    The games story is shallow, the plot involves very little actual player choice nor any consequences. I found the guilds equally
    This game is nearly unplayable for me on the PS3, I must first address that the lag is inexcusable especially for them having known of this issue since at least 2008 when Fallout 3 was out, to release in this state is simply lazy and dishonest to their user base.

    The games story is shallow, the plot involves very little actual player choice nor any consequences. I found the guilds equally shallow... From the perspective of one who plays the elder scrolls games, and PnP RPGs usually as a thief rogue character, they have included a "Thieves Guild" my problem with this guild in Skyrim is that it contains 2 quests of actually thievery and 10 dungeon crawling hack and slash quests. They are generic uninteresting and reflect on just how lazily this game was written.
    Expand
  100. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Game is a NIGHTMARE on the PS3. Starts out fine but after awhile BOOM! Lag city. We're talking slideshow people. If you manage to deal with that sooner or later you'll get hard lock on loads, when you wait, or sometimes for no reason at all. If it hard locks enough you may end up corrupting your HDD.

    If THAT isn't bad enough there are countless quests that are glitchy, some to the
    Game is a NIGHTMARE on the PS3. Starts out fine but after awhile BOOM! Lag city. We're talking slideshow people. If you manage to deal with that sooner or later you'll get hard lock on loads, when you wait, or sometimes for no reason at all. If it hard locks enough you may end up corrupting your HDD.

    If THAT isn't bad enough there are countless quests that are glitchy, some to the point that you can't even complete them. Also a ton of minor bugs, like home items (weapons racks, bookshelves, etc.) that don't work or cause items to fall into a black hole. My advice: DO NOT buy this game. If you already have it, shelf it until it gets fixed, assuming it ever does.
    Expand
  101. Dec 1, 2011
    0
    I would have given this game at least an 8 if it wasn't plagued by bugs and lag. The game is beautiful, quests are interesting, tons of content, and while the combat may be stale, repetitive, and ultimately devoid of strategy, it's not the focus of the game anyways. Sounds like it should be a joy to play, right? Not for PS3 users. The lag is so bad at times that I can hardly move.I would have given this game at least an 8 if it wasn't plagued by bugs and lag. The game is beautiful, quests are interesting, tons of content, and while the combat may be stale, repetitive, and ultimately devoid of strategy, it's not the focus of the game anyways. Sounds like it should be a joy to play, right? Not for PS3 users. The lag is so bad at times that I can hardly move. The game turns into a slideshow whenever I try to run through whiterun or use my horse on the world map. Put half a dozen enemies on the screen and my character is teleporting all over the place. The craptastic framerate literally sucks every ounce of enjoyment out of the game for me. The lag pops up no matter what I'm doing, whether it be dragon hunting, exploration, or just hanging out at the thieve's guild.

    Instead of thinking about the game's positive points, I'm stuck thinking about stutters, freezes, online updates that somehow manage make the game even buggier and how Bethesda scammed me out of $60. Meanwhile, Bethesda has been quiet, saying nothing about the game-breaking lag and downplaying the other issues. Never falling for the Bethesda hype again. Fool me once...
    Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jan 2, 2012
    97
    This is a game full of emotions for gamers who are willing to embrace it. A beautiful fantasy land that makes loading times a thing of the past and is full of surprises. Not only do you get a lot of variety in the locations, the gameplay offers a lot of different experiences as well. [December 2011, p.66]
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    90
    I enjoyed Skyrim and I look forward to the DLC that we know is inevitably coming. If we looked at this honestly, though, this game probably should have been pushed back a month or so for more polish. It needed it and it still does.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Dec 17, 2011
    100
    Skyrim is a gorgeous production that truly does justice to the words "roleplaying game." It doesn't just tell us a story, it gives us the chance to tell a story of our own. At its best, that's what an interactive art form should be all about. [Jan 2011, p.73]