User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2529 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is a really good game despite the few problem i found.No games are perfect and with a few patches,this game should be good to play.They work so hard to develop this game unlike cod mw3
  2. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    It is what it is. I am writing this after my 5th or so game ending bug. Infinite load screens, broken quests, and ugly overlapping sound issues about. It's not a BAD game, but it IS too large, way too buggy, and overall FEELS like Fallout 3 with a coat of fantasy paint (not the nicest coat I might add). Overall I got swept up in the hype and had to have it. As I finish writing this, I amIt is what it is. I am writing this after my 5th or so game ending bug. Infinite load screens, broken quests, and ugly overlapping sound issues about. It's not a BAD game, but it IS too large, way too buggy, and overall FEELS like Fallout 3 with a coat of fantasy paint (not the nicest coat I might add). Overall I got swept up in the hype and had to have it. As I finish writing this, I am going to pop Dark Souls back in and REALLY be transported to another world. I'm sure I will come back to Skyrim sometime, but right now, this is just SUB freaking PAR. Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    I have been a fan of the Elders Scrolls series since I played Morrowwind and its expansions on the original Xbox. I continued the series going into Oblivion with knowledge that bugs may be apparent due to the extensiveness of the quest and the amount of open world changes the game tries to keep track of, those issues where apparent in Morrowwind and not so much as Oblivion, but now we areI have been a fan of the Elders Scrolls series since I played Morrowwind and its expansions on the original Xbox. I continued the series going into Oblivion with knowledge that bugs may be apparent due to the extensiveness of the quest and the amount of open world changes the game tries to keep track of, those issues where apparent in Morrowwind and not so much as Oblivion, but now we are on to Skyrim the company's latest console attempt and by far the worse in terms of bugs. When the game runs perfectly it is a masterpiece that shines above its predecessors in every way and I recommend everyone plays this entry, because I know in my heart Bethesda will bring out a patch. Now to justify the reasons for playing this buggy journey are excellent combat controls (I'm not a fan of the new favorite system, but it works. I wish they would have let you map your selection to the D-pad instead.), massive amounts of quests, a beautiful open-world, great music score, and an excellent story (possible the best story so far in the series). Another thing to point out is the interactions with characters seem more approaching in this game, you feel like you want to speak to the NPC's. This is the perfect example of a Diamond in the Rough. Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Game of the year candidate. The few flaws, which are rather prevalent in this type of game, can be forgiven for all the things the game does well. Beautiful graphics, amazing music and a well written story make this a must have for anyone looking to go beyond the insipid boom-fests that most other games deliver.
  5. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Outstanding. I HATE rpgs... seriously, i can't stand them... but this game... wow. So much to do, so much to explore, and the game is freaking gorgeous!
  6. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    I actually didn't buy the game on release, i got talked into it by friends, i am not a big fan of rpgs which has it's base in first person... So i started the game and i was sure i was gonna hate it... However i have never in my 20 years of gaming been more pleasently surprised, the third person mode is actually playableand the game has beautiful surroundings, the choices in playstyle areI actually didn't buy the game on release, i got talked into it by friends, i am not a big fan of rpgs which has it's base in first person... So i started the game and i was sure i was gonna hate it... However i have never in my 20 years of gaming been more pleasently surprised, the third person mode is actually playableand the game has beautiful surroundings, the choices in playstyle are massive, it's the best game i have ever played, it have also turned me from a trophy junkie to a good game junkie.... Great work, music and everything Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Amazing! So much better than oblivion. A true masterpiece. Bethesda just keeps putting out some of the most amazing games. It will pull you in and take over your life. Thank you so much Bethesda.
  8. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Skyrim is an excellent game hidden under many game breaking bugs. Unfortunately due to the huge marketing behind the release date 11/11/11...the game was rushed in order to meet the date. Two weeks after the game comes out...Bethesda releases a useless patch which actually breaks the game further. I'm fed up of being a games tester for a company more interested in profit than theSkyrim is an excellent game hidden under many game breaking bugs. Unfortunately due to the huge marketing behind the release date 11/11/11...the game was rushed in order to meet the date. Two weeks after the game comes out...Bethesda releases a useless patch which actually breaks the game further. I'm fed up of being a games tester for a company more interested in profit than the satisfaction of it's customers. Head on over to the Bethesda forums to view the ongoing trouble across all three platforms. Expand
  9. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I never played any of the Elder Scrolls games before Skyrim, and I admit that I rushed into buying it the day it came out but I am really glad I did because it really is an amazing game. Sure, there are a few things that need to be fixed up but that can be expected with a new release. I highly recommend buying Skyrim, you wont regret it.
  10. Nov 24, 2011
    8
    The only reason I can't give this game a 10 is because every time I play for more than an hour the game starts freezing and lagging like CRAAAAZY. Very annoying. But other than that I am addicted to this game. It's not one of those games you can play for 3 hours a day and beat it and be done with it. You can play for hundreds of hours and still have missions to do in this game. This is myThe only reason I can't give this game a 10 is because every time I play for more than an hour the game starts freezing and lagging like CRAAAAZY. Very annoying. But other than that I am addicted to this game. It's not one of those games you can play for 3 hours a day and beat it and be done with it. You can play for hundreds of hours and still have missions to do in this game. This is my first Elder Scrolls game I bought but I will def be buying another. Great Job Expand
  11. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    I cannot praise this game enough! I really did not get on with Oblivion. It had a steep learning curve and came accross quite dull to me. In Skyrim they have simplified the gameplay, made the quests far more involving and exciting and generally improved the feel of the game. This is a huge leap forward in my opinion. I am not sure how people can say that this game has no substance. I cantI cannot praise this game enough! I really did not get on with Oblivion. It had a steep learning curve and came accross quite dull to me. In Skyrim they have simplified the gameplay, made the quests far more involving and exciting and generally improved the feel of the game. This is a huge leap forward in my opinion. I am not sure how people can say that this game has no substance. I cant stop playing and have now been playing for arounf 60 hours on quests alone! Amazing depth and dare I say I may even replay the game which is rare for me.

    Simply put...AMAZING!
    Expand
  12. Nov 29, 2011
    7
    This game is great it is huge and there soo many things for you to do that it can even overwhelming at times. However the major flaw in this game for this console is the frame rate. I do not remember oblivion having frame rate issues, and they are in actuality the same size. They have released the 1.02 patch that has improved the frame rate issues but has not eliminated them entirely. iThis game is great it is huge and there soo many things for you to do that it can even overwhelming at times. However the major flaw in this game for this console is the frame rate. I do not remember oblivion having frame rate issues, and they are in actuality the same size. They have released the 1.02 patch that has improved the frame rate issues but has not eliminated them entirely. i can tell you though that it is not nearly as bad as it was, and if Bethesda keeps working at it then I'm happy I guess. Although they really should of fixed this before releasing it, and none of the critic reviews ever mentioned frame rate issues which really pisses me off. Makes you think that some shady business is going on there. Expand
  13. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    I have spent around 80 hours in it, and have accomplished nothing of significance. I enjoy the beautiful sunset and sunrise like a goof. Read every damn book I can find. Cook everything I can muster. Talk to every single person, irrelevant or not. Work the mill, or the grain, not knowing what the hell it does. Why? Because this game lets me live and play exactly how I want too, and it isI have spent around 80 hours in it, and have accomplished nothing of significance. I enjoy the beautiful sunset and sunrise like a goof. Read every damn book I can find. Cook everything I can muster. Talk to every single person, irrelevant or not. Work the mill, or the grain, not knowing what the hell it does. Why? Because this game lets me live and play exactly how I want too, and it is near perfection in every category. Well, kinda buggy. But those are often funny haha BUY or DIE. Expand
  14. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. Great graphics and endless possibilities are to be found in this game. Might be tough to get through some quests but that's the fun part, you gotta think to get through. I do recommend!
  15. Nov 28, 2011
    6
    I purchased this game because i was looking forward to a good story with some solid fun gameplay. The whole dragon theme really drew me in. After spending about 10 hours with the game i must admit that i sold the game. I like the idea behind skyrim, the game however is just not fun to play. The graphics are below standard. The animations are stiff and jerky. The battles are stiff andI purchased this game because i was looking forward to a good story with some solid fun gameplay. The whole dragon theme really drew me in. After spending about 10 hours with the game i must admit that i sold the game. I like the idea behind skyrim, the game however is just not fun to play. The graphics are below standard. The animations are stiff and jerky. The battles are stiff and clumsy. I don't care that i have all this freedom to roam and side missions. The gameplay is simply too rigid and frustrating to enjoy. I played the mass effect games and finished both. This game might appeal to alot of gamers because of the freedom it gives gamers but if you want videogames to be fun to play while offering you freedom look elsewhere. Expand
  16. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    Skyrim, this is a game that will not let you live your life: you will be at work, thinking of this game, making out with your girl, Thinking of Skyrim. A beautifully crafted world, where you can almost smell the environment, If you do not own this game.. it is a must, not possible to just rent. I would give an in depth review, but there is no need.. because you just have to trust theSkyrim, this is a game that will not let you live your life: you will be at work, thinking of this game, making out with your girl, Thinking of Skyrim. A beautifully crafted world, where you can almost smell the environment, If you do not own this game.. it is a must, not possible to just rent. I would give an in depth review, but there is no need.. because you just have to trust the reviews on this one... Unless of course you don't like good games.. in that case, COD is the clear choice for you. Expand
  17. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    I'm giving Skyrim a big fat juicy 0 simply because even though the game is great and looks amazing it has one thing wrong with it and we all know what that is LAG. The lagis game destroying and Bethesda's 1.2 patch HAS NOT FIXED THE LAG. Most people are pinning this on large save files and memory leaks. However a Fallout 3 and Fallout New Vegas head developer has quoted that the chances ofI'm giving Skyrim a big fat juicy 0 simply because even though the game is great and looks amazing it has one thing wrong with it and we all know what that is LAG. The lagis game destroying and Bethesda's 1.2 patch HAS NOT FIXED THE LAG. Most people are pinning this on large save files and memory leaks. However a Fallout 3 and Fallout New Vegas head developer has quoted that the chances of the PS3 version being fixed is slim to none. Bethesda have frankly knowingly released a game that is fundamentally broken and until they fix the PS3's lag problem and have the game running silky smooth. Then the game is just not worth buying as you will never be able to enjoy it to its fullest extent. That is IF they bother to fix it. Expand
  18. Dec 5, 2011
    3
    Bethesda has created a beautiful world with Skyrim... but unfortunately, if you're playing the PS3 version, you won't be able to explore it. Skyrim on the PS3 is a completely BROKEN game. I can deal with minor visual anomalies and the odd crash here and there. But the problem with the PS3 version of Skyrim comes from it's strange file-saving system. As you progress in the game andBethesda has created a beautiful world with Skyrim... but unfortunately, if you're playing the PS3 version, you won't be able to explore it. Skyrim on the PS3 is a completely BROKEN game. I can deal with minor visual anomalies and the odd crash here and there. But the problem with the PS3 version of Skyrim comes from it's strange file-saving system. As you progress in the game and explore the world, your save file gets bigger. As the save file gets bigger, the bugs become more and more apparent until they take over your entire gameplay experience. Here's just a few of the reported bugs that I have also experienced myself:
    - SEVERE frame rate drops (we're talking slide show, here)
    - Game freezes and crashes that become more frequent as you progress
    - Dragons that will not attack - Questlines that can't be completed due to quest givers being completely bugged.

    These are just a few of the issues that the majority of PS3 players are experiencing. I wanted to love this game. I really did. I do love Bethesda games despite their bugs (which eventually do get fixed). But the conjecture here is that the PS3 just can't handle the engine that drives Skyrim, therefore, it may never be fixed. I, like many others, are short $60 and have a game sitting here that's no more useful than a place to set my drink.
    Expand
  19. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    This would be a great game if it wasn't for the bugs, the framerate issues and the way it basically collapses in on itself the more you play it. If it worked, I'd give it a ten. Right now I'm giving Bethesda a zero, because this thing needed a lot more time in the oven before it was done. Don't sell me a broken product and expect to get away with it.
  20. Dec 5, 2011
    1
    GAME IS BROKEN and 100 % GLITCHED - beware............(check skyrim bethesda forum for details).

    Game was unsuccessfully ported to PS3 which occurs in lags/freeze and graphics of N64 !
  21. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    This game is completely broken. With the patch, Bethesda only found a way to break it more. Never trusting these guys again with my money. Future Bethesda titles will be purchased months after release and used with 0% of the money going to them.
  22. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    This game is unfinished and now it's unplayable. I feel cheated for buying a sub-par product. The constants frame rate drops and the freezes rendered this game unplayable. If someday Bethesda fix this, I'll give it a better rating.
  23. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    "Pirate this game, don't buy it"

    Skyrim is probably one of the best games I've played in my 25+ years of gaming, certainly a strong contender for best game this generation, and without a doubt a 2011 GOTY winner. Unfortunately, that only applies when the game actually lets you play, which isn't the case the majority of the time once your file size has reached a certain limit, then the
    "Pirate this game, don't buy it"

    Skyrim is probably one of the best games I've played in my 25+ years of gaming, certainly a strong contender for best game this generation, and without a doubt a 2011 GOTY winner. Unfortunately, that only applies when the game actually lets you play, which isn't the case the majority of the time once your file size has reached a certain limit, then the game becomes a slide show as others have mentioned. With a game this ambitious you can expect there to be hiccups, but not of this magnitude, and what's most disappointing is how ignorant and unprofessional Bethesda has been in regards to these issues, and to their fans, the same fans who are the reason why great creative minds such as Todd Howard have a job that they love, something that most people are not fortunate enough to be blessed with, which poses the question. Does Todd Howard really love his job? is he truly as passionate as he's led us to believe? Because I for one would be ashamed to release such a mess and ask people to pay for it, then ignore their cries for help, unless of course my bottom line was dollar, which seems to be the case for Bethesda, such as musical talents who release some amazing work until their worth rises, then the hunger dies, the passion fades, and it just turns into a means to make another million. To anyone who is interested in buying this game, please reconsider, not only for the PS3 but for any platform. I'm against pirating, but I implore you to pirate this game, don't buy it. Steal from those who have stolen from so many of us and laughed all the way to the bank. Bethesda knew about these problems, they remained ignorant to them after many of their fans voiced their concerns, and continue to do so. Professional gaming sites such as IGN and EuroGamer have called you out Bethesda, and you are yet to respond. Because you simple don't care. There's a reason why Bethesda didn't ship out PS3 copies to review sites, instead forcing them to physically go to the store and purchase them on release day themselves. Because they knew the game was broken, but they didn't care. It's unfortunate really, makes me sad because games like this are a beacon of hope that the industry hasn't completely fallen victim to kinect like gimmicks and 60 dollar DLC packages. But after playing this game and seeing first hand how poorly it has been executed, it makes me realize that the gimmicks and rehashes aren't so bad after all, at you know that your getting a product that works.
    Expand
  24. Dec 6, 2011
    4
    Good graphics, good story, good sounds, big beautiful world to explore.. but that's pretty much it. That's why I give it a 4. This review is an honest one, and I'm not even taking into consideration the amount of game breaking bugs and frame rate issues this game has. The gameplay, combat system, level design, Artificial Intelligence and User Interface are all mediocre or average at best.Good graphics, good story, good sounds, big beautiful world to explore.. but that's pretty much it. That's why I give it a 4. This review is an honest one, and I'm not even taking into consideration the amount of game breaking bugs and frame rate issues this game has. The gameplay, combat system, level design, Artificial Intelligence and User Interface are all mediocre or average at best. I do not understand how such an average game can get scored 9 and 10 by supposedly professional and impartial reviewers. Especially when a game like New Vegas, who was much better than Skyrim in every possible way (except for graphics) was scored only 8. That doesn't make sense to me. Has the game industry really sunken so low, that we consider appearances and quantity more important than gameplay and quality? Now with all that said I will say that Skyrim is still fun to play.. when it works properly that is. That is why I strongly suggest you get it on Xbox360 or PC instead of PS3. But even then, I do not believe that this game deserves the title of GOTY. That is an absolute insult to all the other developers who designed much better games this year. Expand
  25. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Guys pay close attention to my comment.. I have proof of false advertisement by bethesda! If you read the back of the ps3 box it says it will play in 1080i.. Guess what? Its b.s ... Everyone try it for yourself! So this means you are stuck with 720p? Wrong again! They dumned down the graphics even more! Look at the items in your inventory such as plants,food items,herbs and u will noticeGuys pay close attention to my comment.. I have proof of false advertisement by bethesda! If you read the back of the ps3 box it says it will play in 1080i.. Guess what? Its b.s ... Everyone try it for yourself! So this means you are stuck with 720p? Wrong again! They dumned down the graphics even more! Look at the items in your inventory such as plants,food items,herbs and u will notice they look bigger and more pixelated! They are ""getto rigging"" the game!! Expand
  26. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    The PS3 version is completely unplayable. The patch actually made my game worse. Im about 150 hours into the game and it no longer works. Something needs to be done to help the people who bought the PS3 version. This is completely unacceptable. I would like my the game to be fixed, or I want a FULL refund.
  27. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Despite of the first GREAT hours inside the world of Skyrim, it soon became a torture, where I couldnt play in that awesome open world, swing my axe in glory. The lagfest started and made it unplayable. Instead of telling people not to buy, I would recommend waiting for at least 3 more patches before buying it. A game that should be GOTY became the most shameful frustration of the year.
  28. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Unfortunately this game is broken. Many people get horrendous game-breaking lag after about 40 hours into the game. Don't buy the PS3 version until they get it fixed or you will be wasting your money.
  29. Dec 7, 2011
    4
    Skyrim is a beautiful game, full of fantastic vista's and well voiced characters with depth and emotion. The UI is a joy, devoid of any distraction to the enjoyment of the game and the music carries you along on the adventures you'll have.

    Then you lag and stutter and eventually your beloved PS3 says enough is enough and crashes. Once you start having to check your HDD for errors after
    Skyrim is a beautiful game, full of fantastic vista's and well voiced characters with depth and emotion. The UI is a joy, devoid of any distraction to the enjoyment of the game and the music carries you along on the adventures you'll have.

    Then you lag and stutter and eventually your beloved PS3 says enough is enough and crashes. Once you start having to check your HDD for errors after playing the game, you quickly decide not to risk it and instead go play something else.

    Skyrim really should have been a 10 from me, but the issues surrounding the lag and broken quests which can so easily infect your save game meaning that 40 hrs of game play is down the drain means I simply cannot say it is fit for purpose.

    4 out of 10 is all I can give it and even then I think that is misleading, as you cannot complete the game nor explore most of it without encountering the issues noted above.
    Expand
  30. Dec 7, 2011
    6
    While I have not experienced the lag yet I have encountered numerous quest bugs that have left me wondering how this game made it past beta. I do not recommend purchasing this game for the Playstation 3.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jan 2, 2012
    97
    This is a game full of emotions for gamers who are willing to embrace it. A beautiful fantasy land that makes loading times a thing of the past and is full of surprises. Not only do you get a lot of variety in the locations, the gameplay offers a lot of different experiences as well. [December 2011, p.66]
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    90
    I enjoyed Skyrim and I look forward to the DLC that we know is inevitably coming. If we looked at this honestly, though, this game probably should have been pushed back a month or so for more polish. It needed it and it still does.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Dec 17, 2011
    100
    Skyrim is a gorgeous production that truly does justice to the words "roleplaying game." It doesn't just tell us a story, it gives us the chance to tell a story of our own. At its best, that's what an interactive art form should be all about. [Jan 2011, p.73]