User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2099 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 11, 2011
    3
    I'm not that far into the game, maybe 12 hours or so. The only problem I have had so far is the game freezing quite a bit on me. I don't doubt the problems others are having with the ps3 version, as I have that version too. I'm not playing the game anymore until I know that the majority of the problems are fixed since my game kept freezing and causing me to do a hard reset. If these problems are not rectified, I will no longer support this company with my money. Expand
  2. Feb 13, 2012
    3
    Could be cool if it didn't look so horrible. Fortunately got it from Gamefly so only wasted some time and no real money. Will try the PC version hoping the graphic quality is at least 10,000 times better. Other than graphic concerns, this is the first oblivion I've played and I'm so far not too into the play-style. It's a bit chunky and difficult to maneuver the player and the camera. Disappointed after all the hype :/ Expand
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    3
    I enjoy this game greatly. sadly let down by the lag due to the PS3. i enjoyed the story lines and quests and equipment you could get. i enjoy seeing the elder scrolls series carry on and i play each game and enjoy them to each of their own merits.

    my score does not reflect how i feel about this game just simply the console it is on i have pruchased this on pc and hopefully any of you
    reading this will too.

    i was talking about trading this in, thought give it one more chance. got out of a town rode a horse a little ways out got off it, Crashed! next trip game shop cashed in got swtor
    Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    A game that is broken = 0, selling a game that does not work is dishonourable and inexcusable whether the game is actually bad or good. If there are problems like this you simply delay and fix them or you don't release it at all! There goes all the respect. DON'T BYE IT.
  5. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    This game is amazing... for the first 15 hours. Then it starts to lag so badly that you can't even play it, even with the patch all it does is lag lag lag lag lag ................l....a.....g...g.....LA....gG. A broken game doesn't deserve anything higher than a zero.
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    1
    Skyrim is such an amazing game but fatally flawed by the constant LAG that is going on after a few hours of play. I absolutely love Skyrim and find it almost as addictive as Oblivion, but I can't bring myself to give it a perfect score due to the unplayability. The constant restarting of my system just to get the game to stop lagging is absolutely inexcusable it leaves me to believe that Bethesda did not test this game at all as so they've repeated with other games they release now, patch later. This trend by Bethesda releasing broken games needs to stop, As I did not know I was beta testing their full release titles. I'll also complain that the menus suck. They're terrible. Why change them from Oblivion. There was nothing wrong with them in oblivion, instead we have this stupid wheel that doesn't work half of the time and a world map that is just stupid to look at. I constantly find myself having to search around the world map screen for the arrow to my next objective, only to notice that it hasn't actually popped up causing me to leave and reenter the menu screen. The Perk menu is a joke. It's so sloppily made, I understand they tried making it look cool but WOW. It's a pain to navigate and look at what perks you may want to get. Removing the quest log is another thing I don't like. I feel like there isn't much back story to minor quests anymore because this is gone. Again one of the things that made Oblivion great. Botched. What's positive: The landscapes are amazing. I can wander around the world aimlessly and just consistently be amazed by bethesda's work at making scenery so nice. The dungeons have also taken a huge, huge, huge step forward from Oblivion. These dungeons actually don't look and feel exactly the same anymore. Again, Well done. Music is great too. Very serene feeling exploring through the wilderness and mountains of Skyrim, much like in Oblivion. Skyrim is by far the buggiest game of the year, if it had no problems. I'd say it's one of the best. Guess I'll play Modern warfare 3 until a patch. Expand
  7. Jan 20, 2014
    4
    Most overated game ever.

    NPCs were dull and wooden, i felt no empathy for any of them. Their dialogue was repetitive and boring.. definitely need to hire more voice actors next time. Their actions were repetitive and unrealistic, my biggest complaint about this game is constantly being brought back to reality by poor AI programming. The beautiful graphics & design ( yes this is an
    amazing game to look at) that immersed you into this fantasy world were undone by the inane robots that moved and slided about the place like thunderbird puppets.

    The storylines were lack lustre.. I just didn't care. Sometimes less is more Bethesda, dont cram so much in and sharpen your core themes. This game had huge potential but was executed averagely.
    Expand
  8. Nov 19, 2011
    0
    Been playing for several days, about 10 hours in. For a first few hours everything seemed to be good, but then eventually I started to get really bored. I feel that Skyrim lacks the kind of magic that was in Oblivion for example. Also, while all the critics universally praised music in Skyrim, I think that Oblivion had much better and more beautiful music. Skyrim sounds doesn't evoke emotions in me as Oblivion did.

    And the main complaint I have is that the game has too little differences and improvements from Oblivion, I honestly expected much more. It's almost like MW2 and MW3. Yes, the map is new, but all other things are pretty much the same. Gameplay got Old, imo, staying the same as 5 years ago.

    Quests are mostly boring: go there, bring that, talk to him, kill dragon, learn the word, repeat x 100. When I look back on other Bethesda games, I come to conclusion that Fallout 3 is the best game they made. Skyrim gets 7 from me.
    Expand
  9. Nov 17, 2011
    0
    There is a good game in here somewhere, it's a shame there are too many bugs to see it. Dont wait for patches either, Bethesda/Obsidian/Zenimax have never patched a PS3 game to the point it was as playable as the 360 or PC version.

    Huge dissapointment, wont be buying from Bethesda/Obsidian/Zenimax again.
  10. Feb 19, 2012
    3
    Honestly, to me this game is best summed up with a common proverb-like phrase "quantity over quality? Or Quality over quantity?". That is what signifies Skyrim. At it's core, Skyrim is an RPG with an immense world and TONS of gameplay opportunities with countless sidequests and stuff to do. However, as gamers we care more for entertainment. And entertainment does not always reflect on how much content a game has. The fact of the matter is, all of skyrim's sidequests, main quests, and factions fall short. They're just not that great. I mean, it gets you to play the game but it's not all that fulfilling. You'll notice this when you reflect back on your experience. I found myself in the game rushing through quests JUST so I could get them over with. And then I paused, why am I doing this if I'm not having fun? It almost became a chore. The gameplay is repetitive, and many of the dungeons look the same. The story is quite awful, but the characters are OK and the voices are good. The main quest was a BIG disappointment for me, as it never riveted me at all. The ending was like "is this really it? THAT was the final boss?". Overall, the quests are just numblingly boring and the rewards are decent. In terms of leveling your character, i guess that can add some amusement but it's entirely useless. By the time you get to lvl 25 or 30. Nothing can kill you other than dragons. Sure get better armor, but what for? The presentation was decent, but games like RDR with just a big a world, have MUCH better presentation and less cartoony fat like characters. Also the game is littered with bugs and glitches, horrible framerate, and a save problem. Overall, Skyrim has a lot of content, but none of it is really worth a mention. Games like Uncharted, God of War, can be beat in 10-15 hours, but are a much more FUN and thrilling experience. Something worth your TIME. For me I got bored at lvl 30 and had no ambition on continuing. I prefer games like RDR with better story line, good content, and a cleaner free roam with better presentation. Quality > quantity. I would give this game a 5, judging SOLELY based on the content itself. But including the unprofessionalism of Bethesda releasing a defected products, knowing FULL well of its problems, I give it a 3. Expand
  11. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    DON'T buy this game. It's broken, flawed, buggy and badly designed. it WILL run at 10 FPS after you play half the game and it WILL make your console crash, risking corruption of all your data.

    The game itself is like Oblivion but refined and made barely prettier, but that doesn't matter when you can't play the game you bought.
  12. Dec 9, 2011
    0
    GAMING SCANDAL OF THE YEAR. This is up their with Activisions release of the shocking Atari 2600 title E.T!

    Bethesda took all of our money to fuel development costs for other systems. Beware, Skyrim is BROKEN and all we are hearing is HOT AIR. NEVER BUY BETHESDA AGAIN!!!

    If it worked, it would be a 9/10. But it doesn't.
  13. Dec 29, 2011
    0
    Horrible and disapointing game. Skyrim is everything Elder Scrolls fans did not want. Its smaller,stripped,mainstreamed,buggy and ugly game. If this is the new direction of Elder Scrolls then this serie is dead for me. It certainly won my FOTY(Fail of the year) award this year.
  14. Nov 14, 2011
    4
    Initially I was very excited & was ready to make Skyrim my all time favourite game. As time went on however, I became more & more disillusioned. The good - world looks awesome, up to a point ( the bad below); defeating your 1st dragon feels awesome; character customisation allows you to create the character you want; soooo much you can choose to do.
    The bad - combat is as bad as morrowind
    & oblivion, with no lock on it's too hit & miss; creatures in the world do not stand out enough & you often can't see anyone/even when the hud is saying you've been detected; after playing for a while the darker textures started to strobe like lightning! in towns, often 2 or 3 characters will be speaking to you at once, often repeating same dialogue ova & ova (particularly annoying wen trying to follow 1 quest conversation in the middle of it all); often the quests you are given just get you killed, & with no indication as to what's appropriate for your character's level it can get very frustrating.
    My biggest beef however is, once again, I can't play the character I want. I want to be a hunter, sneaking up on animals & taking them down with a single bowshot. This can work if you see the creature 1st. However, in caves & dungeons or where there's multiple enemies such a opcharacter gets swarmed & killed too easily. Ditto, sneaking around hunting. Too often I ran into a bear or saber tooth tiger & was killed in seconds.
    Too many of the problems that plagued Oblivion remain. I hope they get it right next time.
    Expand
  15. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    Game is Broken

    For the first 2 days of playing, I was thinking "wow this game is awesome". I was even flirting with the possibility that I liked the game more than Morrowind which is one of my favorite games of all time. Unfortunately as the hours went by and the save grew larger and larger and the lag crept in and the broken quests added up.... you get the point. The game is BROKEN, it
    becomes a slide show, you can't finish quests and I'm talking main storyline quests not miscellaneous junk. It's sad this game was released on 11/11/11 only because of greed. I mean that date was so cool it didn't matter that the game was BROKEN. Bethesda knew it too, they didn't even send out PS3 copies for review. Disgusting. I hope it can be fixed but as of now it's BROKEN. Expand
  16. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Great game, broken engine, not playable = 0 Points from me.

    Very disappointing. Cant remember such a huge flaw. The game itself = 9

    Also the PAL versions, except the UK version, do have a glitched trophy (Master criminal).
    The statistic showing the bounty for each hold is completly absent from the statistics menu.
  17. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    PROS: everything that isn't broken is superbly crafted. The main storyline, the side quests, the UI, even the simplistic combat--which if described to me, I would surely assume to be jejune and not worth my time--is actually very satisfying. Bethesda gets a standing ovation. With the exception of maybe Red Dead, I've never been so engrossed in the fixed narrative of an open-world game. Usually I have to be stripped of freedom to enjoy a well-crafted story (e.g. uncharted) but Bethesda gives you the best of both worlds. Bravo! Definitely worth full-price...but with an asterisk* *CONS: the game is broken. I got to 6MB bug free. More frequent bugs after 8MB and ater 11MB, it became unplayable. If you play games for the story (whether crafted by you in an open-world or supplied by a fixed narrative) you won't be able to finish this game and enjoy the fruits of your labor. I've wasted at least 3 hours replaying parts due to crashes/freezes and another 1-2 hrs due to retarded frame-rates (literally retarded not the juvenile malapropism). What makes this more frustrating is that to fix the frame rate issues, it's recommended that you disable auto-saves. So my choices are either unplayable frame-rates or constant disruptive manual saves multiple times an hour, or replaying 30-60min sections due to crashes. I only have 45-90min every evening to either watch TV, surf the net or play games. To have the majority of that time be wasted is quite frustrating. What's that Einstein quotation about insanity? Doing the same thing over and over but expecting different results? Yeah... this game made me crazy. But I'm afraid I have to return to the world of the sane; I sadly won't be able to finish this fantastic game. Maybe in a few years, I'll pick up the GOTY edition for 20 bucks used and finish it but right now, I can't imagine anyone with a career, family-- your every day person with a life--being able to deal with the game-breaking technological deficiencies. RECOMMENDATION: buy it for the PC if you are lucky to have the specs to play it. DO NOT BUY on PS3 unless you are un(der)employed, sick and quarantined with nothing to do, or are on an extended vacation that you'd like to spend replaying sections of a game but never finishing. For those who want numbered scores: without game-breaking bugs: 10/10. With bugs: 0/10. Since the PS3 has bugs...I sadly have to give it a zero as I've wasted about 30hrs... Expand
  18. Dec 19, 2011
    0
    The most broken game ive ever seen on a ps3. This has the potential to be a great game but its so riddled with game breaking bugs and terrible performance. My minimum requirement for game is that it should be at least playable until the end regardless of small issues along the way. If you are considering buying this game please go to bethesda skyrim forums first and just see the pain which your are about to embark in. Very very poor. Expand
  19. Dec 12, 2011
    0
    I'm sorry and I truly hate to do this. This was one of the best games I've truly ever played until everything fell apart before my very eyes. My first 50 hours or so were some of the most complete bliss I've ever had playing a game, but then it started to get worse and worse on my system. Also yeah, the update made my game worse... I can't believe how awfully this was handled, it's embarrassing honestly. Don't buy this game for PS3 or for any system honestly. Don't support them for making products with this kind of complete lack of care. I want my money back honestly... Expand
  20. Dec 6, 2011
    4
    At the time I'm writing this review, the PS3 copy is borderline broken. While you can enjoy the rich, epic experience that is Skyrim for the first dozen or so hours of gameplay, eventually you're going to run into the dreaded FPS lag glitch that is plaguing all PS3 owners. Bethesda have still not fixed this problem and until they do fix it, which is not looking like anytime in the near future, this game is pretty much impossible to recommend to anyone who is thinking of buying it on this console. You expect a fair amount of bugs and glitches with a large, open world RPG such as this, but the type of bug that reduces your framerate to single digits after 30 minutes of playtime is something that just isn't acceptable. It's a damn shame too because this is a game you're going to LOVE spending time with, but after a few hours deep in, your console is going to punish you for it.

    If these problems didn't exist, this game is worth easily a 9 or a 10 and some people claim they've never run into these problems. But all the talk of it crashing hard drives and causing constant lock ups will pretty quickly remind you that you're playing russian roulette with your system. So if you're like me you're probably going to end up trading your copy in for the PC or 360 version, which isn't without its fair share of problems, but isn't going to make mince of your processor.

    Here's hoping Bethesda fix the problem soon, before they earn more negative reviews.
    Expand
  21. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    I can't review a game I can't even play. 50 hours in and the game becomes a slideshow. http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/digitalfoundry-vs-ps3-skyrim-lag

    Avoid this version at all costs.
  22. Dec 6, 2011
    3
    5 years. 5 years I have been waiting for this game. Oblivion had a few bugs here and there but nothing that couldn't be ignored when thinking about the scale of the game; after all, it WAS the Game of the Year in 2006. Back then I would've thought the very idea of giving the sequel to such a stroke of genius less than 9/10 to be laughable. However, here I sit, with my near-enough unplayable copy of Skyrim in my hand. I will give anyone considering buying this product for the PS3 a warning: DO NOT. If you're thinking that we are just being melodramatic and whiny, you sure have a shock in store for yourself when you foolishly decide to play this game for a sustained period of time. Bethesda has always been awful when it comes to Playstation but this is just ridiculous. If it doesn't lessen it's obvious favouritism soon then I can guarantee it will lose itself an awful lot of consumers. I don't see how they couldn't have forseen this glaring, major flaw in their product. Patches have been promised, however, which I pray fix the issue; if not, Bethesda has no way to redeem themselves and I, for one, will have simply had enough. We have put up with these 'issues' for a long time and now I no longer have the faith to defend the game, or the developer. Fix the problem. Expand
  23. Jul 28, 2013
    2
    Game seemed unfinished and lazily thought out. Quests were short and easy, and the the lack of customization made game boring. I wanted a full rpg experience but didn't get one. Oblivion content wise was better.
  24. Dec 31, 2011
    0
    Average game ruined by game-breaking glitches. It's disgusting to believe Bethesda released this game knowing full well it wasn't even playable. Any positive reviews (especially those giving 10/10) given by critics are more than likely on the Bethesda payroll and to never be trusted for game reviews ever again. Play Fallout, same game, less bugs/glitches.
  25. Jan 28, 2012
    3
    How Skyrim got such high ratings in Playstation magazines is well beyond me. While this game is no doubt filled with a great amount of content and offers hundreds of hours of gameplay, you'd probably won't however be able to experience them seeing how this game is full of bugs, has TERRIBLE framerates, and freezes every 15 minutes once you've played pass 60-80 hours into the game. The game has potential. If you're playing it on the PC pr the 360, this is (if not the best game) among the best of 2011 and I'll gladly give it a 9 or 10. Sadly, seeing how the patches and updates have failed to fix the problems found on the PS3 version, Skyrim (PS3) may very well be among the worst... Bethesda, get your s*** together!! Expand
  26. Jan 19, 2012
    0
    This game is simply broken. The bugs render the game unplayable at parts. The fps drop to nearly zero at different points. For a detailed explanation of why this occurs see digital fondry verus Skyrim lag. I am sad to see this poor of a port in this day and age.
  27. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    AVOID UNTIL FIXED!! Too many bugs and game breaking issues (at Dec '11). Shame because it would be awesome if it worked :-( Hoping for a fix otherwise £40 down the drain...
  28. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Shame on you Bethesda ! It's broken on PS3 and you don't care ? I'll wait to see Skyrim under 5$ to buy it on PC ! That's all you will get from me .
  29. Jan 5, 2012
    0
    A complete buggy broken down mess. From falling through the ground into limbo, to trying to complete a quest where all you need to do is talk to someone and the game wont read the quest as completed which alternately ruins the game and forces you to start over in hope that it doesn't happen again! >:( . Get the PC version and be done with it.
  30. Dec 4, 2011
    0
    For those of you who are addicted to trophy hunting, the difficulty level of the game doesn't affect the trophies, so you can play it dead easy, and still get all of them. There's a vast world to explore making it rather addictive. Quests / battles very doable, not too hard, not retardedly easy either... However... this game has some serious flaws, which get REALLY ANNOYING after some time.... Such as... Main quest is really really short. Sometimes in battles a dragon pops up (if you're lucky your enemies die by the dragon's attack, if unlucky both the dragon and the other enemies aggro on you). If you hit a member of your team during a number of quests (not all), they turn their aggression on you. This is especially retarded for mages since they just run into your attack while casting and turn aggressive. >_< The stamina of your horses run out even faster than your own, which completely ruins the point of riding on a horse. Not faster. If you're in battle and you surrender, your horse / companion will keep on fighting. (just annoying) After about 20 hours of game time the game starts to lag so badly it's damn near impossible to play the game (happens either straight away or after 30 minutes or so), and there's not much you seem to be able to do about it. (this is the main reason I'm grading it low, a game you can't play due to fps lags isn't really a fun one. Next to the lagging, sometimes the game crashes during a loading screen or freezes while you're running around, the fps lag can actually freeze up your entire console. In some cases I can exit the game using my controller, in some cases I can press the on/off button on my console, and in some cases I have to cut the power off of my ps3 and plugging the cord back in. Most annoying thing really. Also, the update for this game supposedly fixing bugs, makes the game act worse rather than better.... Quest bugs leading to it being impossible to finish quests, while you're hoping you have a recent previous save game from before the dungeon (which in most cases you don't). I'm sure I haven't named all minuses yet, but this is about enough really. It's a fun game, a LOT of gameplay, but the bugs and glitches and mistakes, and lags and freezes, and crashes, and everything else really take the edge off. Expand
  31. Dec 15, 2011
    0
    I tried to play Skyrim at a leisurely pace and really explore it, but at 90 hours played and 13 mb save file the game is completely unplayable anymore, it starts lagging after 10 minutes and it freezes the whole console after 20, which cannot be good for the hardware either... I'm scared to touch it now, and I wish I had finished the main quest at least and been done with it. Do NOT buy this for the PS3, you will regret it. Either rent it and fast forward through the main quest before your game breaks (which is rather pointless) or avoid it altogether. And no, Bethesda will not fix this, so don't even bother wait for fixes. Every single game they released for the PS3 has been broken and NEVER fixed, the same thing will happen again. How many times must they cheat us out of our money until we realize that? Well, it was the last time for me, that's for sure. Expand
  32. Dec 30, 2011
    0
    When I heard it for the first time, I couldn't believe it. But I went to my friend's house and tried Skyrim on PS3, I loaded his save and was shocked by how laggy the game actually was.In fact, it went almost over the point of being playable. If you have a choice, make sure NOT to buy Skyrim for PS3
  33. Nov 12, 2011
    4
    Definitely the disappointment of the year, Skyrim is essentially Fallout 3 with dragons and swords. The entire UI - from button layout (triangle is JUMP, select is "wait how long?"), down to the O button calling up your PIP Boy (er, in this case it's just your menu - which works exactly the same way and is even in THE SAME FONT AS FALLOUT 3 - is all pulled from Oblivion & Bethesda's post-apocalyptic title from 2008. What's worse, the graphics have not improved from Fallout 3's slow-loading textures and chintzy facial-animations. Truly, I was shocked given how much buzz had been generated about this game... shocked, followed by a feeling of being ripped-off as I'd spent full-price on this dud. Granted, I've only played the first several hours... so it could be that the plot gets amazing in the later levels; but I don't think I'm going to be able to put up with much more of the glitches, cheesy script and sad character animations. For example, the grizzly bear in the beginning of the game? Well, it doesn't so much "walk" as it does "float in a weird circle" without moving its legs entirely. Me and my mates were sitting with out jaws dropped... this is the last time I trust Bethesda on their word. Then again, all the reviews seemed to be so glowing and favorable.... I must admit it makes me wonder how much advertising has had to do with influencing these undeserved scores.Here's the thing, if I were a little kid who only was able to get like 3 games a year from mom and dad, yeah, I think I'd probably dig this game a lot more (and be super-defensive about it sucking, thereby giving it a 10 on Metacritic), because it's huge and in that sense, worth one's money. But I'm an adult. I buy pretty much every new game I want, which is at least a few a month. I bought Rage. I bought Dark Souls. Having had those recent experiences (not to mention Uncharted 3 and Arkham City), Skyrim just feels super-antiquated and, well... sad. It's just a sad, sad title. You know what hurt the most? My roommate who doesn't even play video games was able to casually walk past me whilst playing Skyrim and immediately assessed it's mediocrity. "What's that... that's not your new game is it?" he said. Yes, yeah... that's Skyrim. "Eew, really? It looks like Fallout." I **** you not... even the uninitiated can smell the fecal pile that is Skyrim's tiredness. I'm just glad I can at least trade in Skyrim for the bulk of my money in time for Saints Row III. So much for a weekend learning Dragon Shouts. :-( Here's a shout for you "SKYRIM SUCKS!"â Expand
  34. Nov 25, 2011
    2
    Such an amazing game ruined by all of its bugs ,the ps3 owners were once again let down,the game lags so badly that you can't even play the game.Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
  35. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    Skyrim brings 'all flash no substance' to an entirely new level. Somehow people are impressed by having giant sub-par looking landscapes and tons of NPC's even if it substitutes an actually decent combat system, or basically any gameplay mechanic that's even remotely challenging or polished.

    If a game based around conflict doesn't have a good combat system, it has nothing. Plain and
    simple. Bethesda opted for a big world instead of a well designed one, and that's what they got. I'd rather play several better smaller games then waste my time playing one bad big one. Expand
  36. Dec 9, 2013
    4
    Skyrim on the PS3 is held back by its technical issues. At launch Skyrim was unplayable for a lot of PS3 users, but most reviews didn't take this into account since the lag only kicked in after several hours of play.

    Patch 1.9 took care of some of the performance issues a year later but many are still there, including stuttering and low framerates in some areas. There's not much point
    in creating a huge world full of interesting quests if technical issues make it unplayable.

    Bethesda said before release that the PS3 version was "getting lots of attention" and that the old issues had been fixed because it was running on a new engine. Looking back on it now it doesn't seem like this was true. Hopefully Bethesda will take more care with their future games on PS3 and PS4.
    Expand
  37. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    I'm giving this game 1 star. Bethesda intentionally shipped a broken version of the game on PS3 and I would bet at this moment they have no idea of how to address the issue. The issue is lag. After a period of time playing the game and your save file size starts to exceed 7mb, The game will start lagging so bad that it becomes impossible to play. I have played this game today and it has crashed 7 times. Everyone who is having these problems with Skyrim on thier PS3 should be trading their games in to keep Bethesda from taking money from customers and selling them a broken product. Expand
  38. Dec 10, 2011
    0
    As a faulty product that does not work, I can't give it anything above 0.

    After about 50 hours into a playthrough, my save file is about 12mb, and the game is unplayable. The slightest bit of action causes a crash. Walking past someone causes a crash. Just walking down a quiet road causes huge framerate issues, I'm talking below 5 frames per second.

    Something has to be done, some kind of
    legal action has to take place. Expand
  39. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    I am unable to continue playing after reaching only level 4, this is unbearable to play and not worth any time spend on it, being unable to play after playing a few hours should not be allowed in this time and age...

    worthless game
  40. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Bought this game at full price, but it's unplayable due to crappy framerates, freezes and bugs. It does not worth a single penny of yours! DO NOT buy this game! It's going to kill your PS3! Wait until it's fixed or you will be regret! Recommend you guys just torrent the game, Bethesda does not deserve any money you spend. They did not pay for game testers but instead they have those players who paid $60+ to test the game, so they can save more money and patch the game later .which Is unacceptable and unforgiving Expand
  41. Nov 11, 2011
    4
    Another incomplete game for mature gamers on pc's. The ui and textures are messy. It feels like this stuff can't possibly take long to resolve, but hey, I'm not a programmer. And yes, if a review uses the word streamlined regarding the level-up system, you can pretty much translate as "dumbed down for marketing" -If you catch my drift. Thanks gaming industry, for the 3 highly praised flaming turds we've received this year on pc. Not gonna lump this in with bf and mw because I love the sandbox style and it's really similar to oblivion, but the bugs and UI need serious fixing. It's really unnerving to feel like you've been had on your platform, and that's all I've gotten the past two months. Collapse
  42. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    I hesitate to give the game a zero, but I feel it's the only way to help make our frustrated voices heard. The game is broken and should have never been released on the PS3. My brother owns the xbox 360 version, and with nearly the same amount of hours played, it runs amazingly better than mine. I have long load/save times, intense framerate drops, and constant freezes. For the first bunch of hours I played, the game was fantastic, but if a game is ultimately broken, I fail to see reason to award it any points. Expand
  43. Jan 14, 2012
    0
    I would just like to update my review. It was a decent game till after I out in 24hours and a bug messed everything up. The game began to fall apart. Boring game. It is a regression of the TES series.
  44. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    Bethesda if you ever read these reviews you should be ashamed. This game is broken on the PS3. I expected a few bugs on all systems, but really even BEFORE patch 1.2 this game was busted on the PS3. The ps3 has some texture loading issues, and broken quest just like the other 2 versions, but here is what makes the PS3 version different, get a save game file that's between 9 and 16 megs, and what do you know its pretty much unplayable due to horrific lag. Also thanks to patch 1.2 magic resistance is broken WTF? Then you com out on your own site and talk about the memory (RAM) issues with tthe PS3.....so why not delay that version and fix it, or not release it at all on the PS3! You think that you are the only ones that don't want to work on Christmas? Most of us have to, and this game is broken, for the PS3. You should work on it until its fixed, but I guess you are better than that eh bethesda? I own the 360 version, and rented the PS3 version just to see how bad it was and I AGREE 100% WITH EVERYTHING PS3 USERS ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT!

    On the PS3 the graphics are inferior, even with out texture issues, the lag gets awful for most with a decent sized save file. Just remember who WON'T be buying your games on PS3 next time you release a game on that platform, all the users that you (Bethesda) burned wont! I give the PS3 version of this game a 0. ITS JUNK DON'T BUY IT!
    Expand
  45. Nov 17, 2011
    0
    This game, like any other bethesda games, just suck!

    I try hard to understand HOW this game can have all this hype. I mean, take a look at the game. Just doesn't go with the flow. I think 90% of the players like just because most like it. It cant be good because ITS NOT. Its all broken, physics sux, textures, graphics, story... all extremely bad!

    I feel like Im playing a 1997 PC game
    from a bad game maker. If I could, I would give -10. I dont give this bad score unless the game REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY deserves. Congratulations Skyrim! Expand
  46. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    It was buggy right from the start. character creation menu, remember that? Took forever to respond. Then it got laggier and laggier. **** you Bethesda. That Howard Todd is a lying piece of ****
  47. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Giving it a 0 because Bethesda released a broken game on the Sony platform and appears to have gave little effort in optimizing their "NEW" engine on the PS3. Seems to me that it's the same old engine with no optimizations for the PS3's architecture and they released a broken game with issues that are so blatantly obvious that you have to wonder how these issues got past testing.
  48. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Despite the universal acclaim coming from all the usual gaming websites, this game is not as amazing as they would have you believe. We shouldn't be surprised really considering these sites get their revenue from advertising the very games they are reviewing (what a surprise, the game in the ad banner next to this review is getting a 9.5/10!!!). This game is broken. Glitches, like being hit and flying through the air and into some weird black boxy computer-land is, I presume, not part of the elder-scrolls story. Others, like NPCs having what look to be epileptic fits while they talk to a wall (instead of you), are completely ridiculous and show a lack of polish. It is sad to think that game-makers like Bethusda spend so much money on advertising when they could have instead channelled the funds into having programmers put together a game which doesn't look half-finished. If you have to buy this, then get it on PC where hopefully it will be fixed up with mods and/or patches. In the meantime, avoid.â Expand
  49. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    I played the game and thought to myself it was amazing until it got repetitive, the quests are pretty much the same and once you pass the story there is really nothing to do, you barley see a dragon and once you get 20 dragon souls that's it, it is very easy to level up and that's without all the glitches that help you level up, absolute garbage,this is not worth the $60,this game gets boring after an hour,same old same old,it also gets broken along the way, do NOT get it.. Expand
  50. Nov 27, 2011
    0
    this game is made for people with no friends, its a PC **** game that has invaded the consoles. people say with pride I've been play for 800 hours I'm on my 9billionth guest. get a life. the game is broken i needs a patch, why release a unfinished game.
  51. Nov 12, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don´t have fill to beat Lord of rings war in north, is so weak,but deserve be bought for many fans and pepole that don´t know the serie,in the right way, i think that i´ll try to finish the game,that appear be so big. Expand
  52. Nov 12, 2011
    2
    The atmosphere of the game and the open worldedness is everything you'd expect when getting a Elder Scrolls game. However for PC players, like myself, its a dissappointing console port. Bethesda didn't even optimize the menus for keyboard and mouse. I was hoping for more of a morrowind feel and got worse the oblivion feel. Even the graphics were really poor in my opinion obviously made for 3 year old hardware like in consoles. Its not horrible as far a games go however PC gamers will proberbly have to wait for mods to fix a game mad without thought to the PC Expand
  53. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    ps Maybe they should have a warning on the box "This game is still under construction"

    This industry needs regulating. What other industy could get away with fleecing several million people with a duff product?

    Let me tell you that this game is **** up, slow and glitchy. Bethesda are known for creating buggy games and it continues here for the PS3.
  54. Dec 28, 2011
    0
    Such a shame. I love the game and hate the problems. I'm having a problem with the framerate, the framerate is so low that I could trip over it, making it unplayable. PS3 version of the game is broken. Anyone who is thinking about buying, DO NOT BUY!
  55. Jan 10, 2012
    2
    Sadly my previous review must drop from mixed to negative, this game just doesnt stack up against other TES games (Morrowind) this game just isnt what it should be,short story, non-immersive gameplay, worse bugs than morrowind, and HORRIBLE voice actors! The first time I played Morrowind, yeah it was hard, but it really stood out and i put 300+ hours into it, I tried this game, I REALLY wanted to like it I really did, but this game is just too awful to get anything else, its overall a bad game! Expand
  56. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    Game is broken. Do not buy this until or if they fix the issues plaguing the ps3 version of this game.

    I have completely lost trust in Bethesda for pushing this game out the door with this many flaws. Unplayable lag and stutter. Playstation crashes. Very upset with Bethesda.
  57. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    Do a search for PS3 and skyrim and youll see that its a horribly broken mess on this console. bethesda doesnt seem to care because all the good press means its still selling hand over fist and there is no money to be made in patching the game.
  58. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Until this game is fixed it deserves nothing more than a 0 as it isn't fit for release or consumption by the public, PS3 owners should boycott Bethesda until they start releasing products that are done.
  59. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Skyrim is an excellent game hidden under many game breaking bugs. Unfortunately due to the huge marketing behind the release date 11/11/11...the game was rushed in order to meet the date. Two weeks after the game comes out...Bethesda releases a useless patch which actually breaks the game further. I'm fed up of being a games tester for a company more interested in profit than the satisfaction of it's customers. Head on over to the Bethesda forums to view the ongoing trouble across all three platforms. Expand
  60. Nov 21, 2011
    2
    Best and worst time with a game. Skyrim is an amazing game but I want to single out the PS3 version. I don't have a PC or an Xbox 360 so I was forced to try this version. It started off pretty well with very little problems. About 10 hours in with a 6mb save file, things started to go sour. I started to experience crazy amounts of lag that ruined game play. I implore anybody to get another version if they can. DO NOT BUY THE PS3 VERSION (or wait to see if it can be fixed). In addition to the lag problem, the ps3 version also has the worst visuals of the 3 platforms. This wasn't a big deal to me but it's worth noting for the people that care. Expand
  61. Nov 22, 2011
    0
    If you had asked me last week what I thought of Skyrim, you would have gotten glowing praise. It's a game that could very well have been game of the year, however... much like the Gothic games on PC, Skyrim is riddled with game-breaking bugs. On the PS3 it's particularly bad, considering that currently the game-save lag bug that made Fallout 3 and Fallout 3 New Las Vegas practically unplayable on the PS3 has reared its ugly head in Skyrim. Bethesda has yet to acknowledge the issue in all three games, and much like an ostrich has rather buried its head in the sand. As a frequent contributor on the Bethesda forums, I know first hand how Bethesda ignores our concerns, and I am sceptical that a fix will be found for the PS3 version of the game. The patch 1.2 that's bound to hit our shores next MAY in fact deal with this issue, however chances are Bethesda is scrambling, and hoping that the media will eventually ignore this issue.

    My recommendation to fellow PS3 gamers, if you can, get a second hand copy of the game (for xbox 360), that way Bethesda will not profit from the sale, but do not reward them with buying a new retail copy. In my opinion, what should be a game that showcases their hardwork and the PS3, becomes a glorified coster.
    Expand
  62. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    This game is broken on ps3 , why would you buy a broken game. go to the major gaming websites and see for yourself, after 6 mb of file size the game is unplayable.

    the proper score to a broken game is a BIG FAT ZEROOOOOOO
  63. Nov 22, 2011
    0
    The game is broken,the lag is destroying the whole experience.Despite the fact that maybe a good game i'll never see it because after some long play hours the games just gets too lagy and in the end it stops responding...What i have to write in a review after this?To talk about the NPCs and the absolutely hot graphics?How would i propose another game to look for it when he could never really enjoy them.I am very disappointed of all these mess and the announced patch don't give me a glimpse of hope.I can accept some bugs but no unplayability after 30+ hours of gaming.The game is worthy of only a 0. Expand
  64. J3W
    Nov 22, 2011
    1
    After your save game reaches 6mb+ which seems to occur after about 30-40 hours of play time in most cases, the game suffers from unplayable frame rate issues. This youtube video shows a goos example:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MhsCUiursoE
  65. Dec 25, 2011
    0
    If you are buying this for PS3, this gets a 0. Full of framerate lag and crashes.

    If you are buying this for the 360, this gets a 9.5, GOTY.

    If you are buying this for the PC, it gets a 10 thanks to the mods, which make Skyrim the definite GOTY.
  66. Nov 24, 2011
    0
    This is such a fantastic game... at first. The lag is unbearable around 25+ hours in.
    If this was any other game I would give it a second chance, but seeing as Bethesda are
    reluctant to even acknowledge the problem I am giving it a big fat zero.
    Shame, so much potential.
  67. Nov 28, 2011
    0
    When I first started playing this game I was immediately in love with it. The graphics were amazing and I was totally enjoying the medieval world. Well, I can safely say that I probably will not be playing this game again. The game has a major Lag issue where as you progress through the game the PS3 cannot handle the amount of information that the game is trying to get processed. So, basically about half way through the game it will start lagging and getting kind of buggy. After about 3/4 through the game it will start having major issues like freezing. Now I cannot even get through the final mission because it keeps freezing repeatedly. This is extremely frustrating and completely ruins the game for me. Whats the point in playing a broken game that you cannot even finish. Also, some people play that the fault lies with the PS3 since it doesn't have enough RAM but, if you think about it the developers should have taken that fact into account with porting to the PS3 and compensated but removing some of the unnecessary features like remembering every little animal that you kill. Terrible disappointment. Do Not Buy For PS3! Expand
  68. Dec 9, 2011
    0
    Would be decent without the damn lag bug, really, just fix it. It can't be that difficult. I'm not even really that far into the game either. I would give it a 9/10 if it were fixed but this is just annoying.
  69. Dec 1, 2011
    0
    I would have given this game at least an 8 if it wasn't plagued by bugs and lag. The game is beautiful, quests are interesting, tons of content, and while the combat may be stale, repetitive, and ultimately devoid of strategy, it's not the focus of the game anyways. Sounds like it should be a joy to play, right? Not for PS3 users. The lag is so bad at times that I can hardly move. The game turns into a slideshow whenever I try to run through whiterun or use my horse on the world map. Put half a dozen enemies on the screen and my character is teleporting all over the place. The craptastic framerate literally sucks every ounce of enjoyment out of the game for me. The lag pops up no matter what I'm doing, whether it be dragon hunting, exploration, or just hanging out at the thieve's guild.

    Instead of thinking about the game's positive points, I'm stuck thinking about stutters, freezes, online updates that somehow manage make the game even buggier and how Bethesda scammed me out of $60. Meanwhile, Bethesda has been quiet, saying nothing about the game-breaking lag and downplaying the other issues. Never falling for the Bethesda hype again. Fool me once...
    Expand
  70. Apr 1, 2014
    3
    The main reason I give it this score is that I feel it's been done so many times before. It's a very generic game. nothing to new here from my perspective. Same rush to the top, boring quests not a single person I know of actually cares to listen too, and most people ignoring other players until they need them. Might as well be a single player game for the first 20 hours... Oh. I don't need to mention bugs as many already have. ;-(

    The biggest gripe I have with this game, as with almost ALL MMO's is is takes to bloody long to get to max level! Over 200 hours which is crazy! Why make it such a grind? There is no reason for this and I, as many others do not have this amount of time to spend on getting one character to level 50. I'd personally like to have a few at max one day to test different classes. I'd suggest for future developers around 50 hours is more than enough time to dedicate to one character, more than enough time to be rewarded with having your character be as strong as they can be. This reason alone takes off 5 points for me.
    Expand
  71. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    I'm giving Skyrim a big fat juicy 0 simply because even though the game is great and looks amazing it has one thing wrong with it and we all know what that is LAG. The lagis game destroying and Bethesda's 1.2 patch HAS NOT FIXED THE LAG. Most people are pinning this on large save files and memory leaks. However a Fallout 3 and Fallout New Vegas head developer has quoted that the chances of the PS3 version being fixed is slim to none. Bethesda have frankly knowingly released a game that is fundamentally broken and until they fix the PS3's lag problem and have the game running silky smooth. Then the game is just not worth buying as you will never be able to enjoy it to its fullest extent. That is IF they bother to fix it. Expand
  72. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    this game is broken... it lags and un-playable after all the effort i i put into it... i cant beleive they would let this happen... dont expect much this game is prolly worth 20 bucks tops... and thats being generous. dont buy it new, or youu will be sorry you gave the company that ripped you off thier money.
  73. Dec 7, 2011
    1
    this game is a masterpiece if not for the game breaking bugs!!
    damn it!! enjoyed this game so much, but after my save file reached 6 mb+
    the game became unplayable, it was like playing a slideshow game...sux...
  74. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Currently, it's just a version of the game full of game-breaking bugs and glitches that will hinder your experience and make you wish for a refund.

    I'll update the score if ever they release a proper version that fully works!
  75. Dec 5, 2011
    1
    It's a good game, but it's full of bugs and glitches on PS3. Broken quests, lag problems, inconsistencies, and much more. Moreover the core engine hasn't changes so much since the previous Elder's Scrolls, which is a game of several years ago. I expected more from Skyrim. Again, could still be fun, if and when they patch it.
  76. Dec 5, 2011
    3
    Skyrim is another iteration of the never-ending Bethesda circus.

    While a completely epic game in terms of scope and story, the PS3-version is riddled with bugs, ranging from "slightly annoying" bugs like spell effects never going away causing adverse reactions from NPC instances, "this is bad" bugs like glitched out dragons never landing and/or flying backwards and - fresh off the 1.2
    patch - the complete nullification of magic resistances and finally "this is completely game breaking" bugs like the classic lag and subsequent hard crash whenever you have explored too much.

    It is literally impossible to play for more than 30 minutes after you have explored enough things to fill the cache, and it's a coin toss over whether it'll degrade "nicely" with increased stuttering (down to 1-2 fps), just crashing hard at a random point (prompting a system reboot and a file system check) or a failure to load a new area (the 40 second load screens just never end).

    While I could write about how much there is to do and how fun it is, the truth is that the PS3 is simply not playable the way it's supposed to be played, and should be avoided like the plague.
    Expand
  77. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    To say that I'm disappointed by the PS3 version is an understatement & what angers me even more is the fact the Bethesda chose to release this faulty product knowing it was defective. Do not trust the high scores (at least for the PS3 version). Very much broken for the PS3, avoid at all costs. You have been warned!
  78. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    This game is just full of bugs.You cannot complete quests because there bugged.The framerate after your save file gets large makes the game unplayable.Yet another bugged released game by bugthesda.I got this one ps3 and would recommend that no one else buys this game.
  79. Dec 5, 2011
    3
    Bethesda has created a beautiful world with Skyrim... but unfortunately, if you're playing the PS3 version, you won't be able to explore it. Skyrim on the PS3 is a completely BROKEN game. I can deal with minor visual anomalies and the odd crash here and there. But the problem with the PS3 version of Skyrim comes from it's strange file-saving system. As you progress in the game and explore the world, your save file gets bigger. As the save file gets bigger, the bugs become more and more apparent until they take over your entire gameplay experience. Here's just a few of the reported bugs that I have also experienced myself:
    - SEVERE frame rate drops (we're talking slide show, here)
    - Game freezes and crashes that become more frequent as you progress
    - Dragons that will not attack - Questlines that can't be completed due to quest givers being completely bugged.

    These are just a few of the issues that the majority of PS3 players are experiencing. I wanted to love this game. I really did. I do love Bethesda games despite their bugs (which eventually do get fixed). But the conjecture here is that the PS3 just can't handle the engine that drives Skyrim, therefore, it may never be fixed. I, like many others, are short $60 and have a game sitting here that's no more useful than a place to set my drink.
    Expand
  80. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    My score might surprise you? Don't get me wrong, the game is epic and what I did play was some of the best fun I've had all year so why the low score?

    It's simple. The game is "broken". This isn't something Bethesda can fix either, only delay. It's like this:

    Basically the longer you play overall, the worst the framerates become. So say you have played the game for 40 hours, that's
    enough time to have explored most of the major cities, done a few side quests etc What happens is that all those places you've visited, all those people you've helped, killed, talked to are all stored in your save file. This is how the engine that powers the game works and is why it cannot be fixed.

    So what happens is when you've done all these things, your memory is taken up as soon as you load up the game and very little is left for the Playstation 3 system to process the things it is supposed to.

    Thus the framerates get progressively worse the more you play it. The sad part is that Bethesda are aware of this and never once showed us PS3 footage of the game. They also claim they didn't know about this problem despite the fact it has shown up in their previous titles, Fallout 3 and New Vegas.

    They tricked many users by claiming the engine was remade but these symptons suggest they stuck with the Gamebryo style of game engine thus this problem remains.

    So basically to sum this up. The product is broken and Bethesda can only delay the effects of the problem by lowering the graphics, disabling certain functions, deleting certain meshes. Soon DLC will be coming out and that will make it worse as it will add a new file called an .ESP which will contain new data, meshes, textures, sounds etc that will take up even more memory thus making the main game even worse.

    I'm truly sad that Bethesda have done this and I will not be purchasing any future titles from them until they get their act together.
    Expand
  81. GWB
    Dec 5, 2011
    0
    This game is a 10 for the first 20 hrs. then your save file becomes so large that it affects the performance of your ps3 and all the game breaking bugs and lag issues come to the surface. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME NEW! wait until the bugs are fixed (I still have faith that they will be) and the price drops.
  82. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    over 50% of the quests are bugged making most unplayable,
    the more u play the game the more it lags till eventually becomes un-playable. and what makes it worse is bethesda are failing to acknowledge this game breaking flaw. all those who suffered bad lag in fallout should know this game is worse and happens alot earlier
  83. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    This game had been released with large amounts of glitches and bugs, none as more transparent as the the PS3's LAG rendering the game basically unplayable and to add insult to injury Bethesda continues to ignore the plight of the PS3 Community at resolving this issue. Really hard to believe that Bethesda cares more about putting money in the pockets then they do about fixing there broken games.
  84. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Unplayable laggy mess of a game! Do not buy this game in it´s current state! It all seemed promising at first and I loved the first few hours of the game, thought it was going to be my GOTY, well silly me. After a few hours the game suffered from horrible framerate issues that caused the game to be unplayable. I hope Bethesda get sued............. fuc*ers
  85. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    One of the worst game release bugs I have ever seen with the PS3 framerate issues. I have lost complete faith in Bethesda. What a huge disappointment.
  86. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    This game has alot of potential but it is hopelessly bugged and unplayable on the PS3 at this time. SKYRIM for PS3 is broken and should not be sold in it's current state. A full recall and refund is needed for this title on this platform.
  87. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    I would have given this a 9 or maybe a 10..... if it would have been a playable game. PS3 version is unplayable and therefore broken. There should be a recall.
  88. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    This game should be a masterpiece. Brilliant concept, improvements over the previous elder scrolls game, oblivion, and the ambitious goals of a game of this size and depth all should have led to a game of the year award. Too bad this game is broken. Game breaking lag, complete lockup during saving and zoning, quest bugs that are irreversible, thus ruining the entire quest chain permanently....these are some of the issues plaguing the ps3 version of skyrim. Dragons flying backwards, or never attacking at all. Corrupted save files costing literally hours of replay. This game was not fit for release, but bethesda picked their release day so far in advance and spent millions in advertising, they couldn't see delaying the game. Well shame on them, because six months from now when this game is finally working properly, they could have won the loyalty of every person who buys this on ps3. Instead, pride and greed interrupted their good sense, and will probably cost them a fortune in the long run. This should have been game of the year. Instead, its an "also ran". And bethesda, if we were ok with less than 10 frames per second, we would still be playing our rpg's with pen and paper Expand
  89. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Bethesda done it again. Make a great game? No, make a bugged game. Releasing, knowingly from the past a big title like this with the dreaded performance issue is a disgrace. Stay away from PS3 version until gets really fixed. Or you will lose 60+ saves like me and other users due to the game breaking bugs, game saves corrupting and performance issues.
  90. Dec 5, 2011
    1
    Sorry for you PS3 users, looks like Skyrim has the most problems on that system. Other folks are having issues as well, but PS3 has the worst. Wait til this buggy game is fixed in about 6 months before purchasing. Great game, horrible customer service. Boooooo Bethesda.
  91. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    To those who continue to think this page is being flooded by trolls: On the 5th of December, this page was linked on the forums for the hundreds (and possibly thousands) of PS3 users who are fed up with Bethesda's attitude towards releasing games (releasing a buggy game knowing full well it was buggy with the intention of 'fixing it later' instead of delaying the release to fix everything they could). The problems being flooded here are not trolls, but frustrated gamers who cannot enjoy this fantastic game due to a huge lag problem that makes the game unplayable. I personally am about 43 hours in, and the lag only really kicks in cities and during dragon fights. I dread to think what it will be like at 60 hours. But I am also quest locked, unable to complete the main storyline, and thus the reason for my 0. Expand
  92. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    I check Metacritic all the time and use it extensively, but I have never felt it necessary to sign up, rate, or review a game until now. As you can see above, I have given Skyrim a rating of 0 for the PS3 version. This is not because the game is terrible, which it actually is on PS3, but because Bethesda sold PS3 users a game that is irreparably broken. I'm not talking about all of the patching issues, though those are certainly a shame. I'm talking about the unavoidable framerate issues. Now, I'm generally a huge Bethesda fan. Both Morrowind and Oblivion are two of my favorite games of all time and I have played the both of them for at least 100 hours each. I love Skyrim too, just not the PS3 version, which has no redeeming qualities whatsoever. I have an Xbox 360, a PS3, and a gaming computer and I chose, above all those other platforms, to buy/play the game on the PS3. I have since had to play the PC version, which is fantastic, but it was not my first choice.

    Bottom line: I find it absolutely deplorable that Bethesda would release a game in such a state without first warning potential buyers of the problems that they will inevitably face.
    Expand
  93. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    While the advertised game is extremely promising, it is clear that this version is simply unplayable for a majority of customers, with crippling slowdown affecting most players after 50 or 60 hours, which is just a fraction of the time needed to see everything this game offers. In short, it is pretty much broken, despite Bethesda lying before release and saying it ran equally to the other versions. Also, their performance as a company is completely disgusting, refusing to give any advice about refunds and allowing the product to continue to be sold despite being well aware of the above. Expand
  94. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    This would be a great game if it wasn't for the bugs, the framerate issues and the way it basically collapses in on itself the more you play it. If it worked, I'd give it a ten. Right now I'm giving Bethesda a zero, because this thing needed a lot more time in the oven before it was done. Don't sell me a broken product and expect to get away with it.
  95. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Giving it a ZERO (to off set the 10s so it drops to an average 5 ) as it breaks after your save file passes 5mb size barrier. Frame drops to ZERO at times. Not being able to use the autosave feature with fear of total PS3 lockup and possible hard drive data corrupts and save file corruptions. This game is an EPIC failure on Bethesda's part. They say it has new graphic engine, more like old engine upgraded. Telling us this is a huge open world game is not excuse. They should have waited to release it when they figured out how to correct the LAG issue on the PS3. Now with a save file hitting 9mb the lag/frame rate issue is getting annoying and almost get sea sick watching the screen. When the 1st patch comes out 1 week after release to address performance issues on the PS3 they already knew it was no good. That was most likely the reason none of the reviewers got advanced copies of the PS3 version and only PC/Xbox as they have access to larger memory pool so issues do not show up as quickly. Bethesda did not expect to see gamers hitting the limits this early. From this past weeks announcement

    "After the holidays, weâ
    Expand
  96. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    The game itself would be fun, but the massive overdose of glitches make it practically unplayable. In my time playing it the sound went out, it would freeze up, a dragon actually flew around backwards in a circle and away from me when I'd try to attack it and the framerate was atrocious.
  97. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    The game is unplayable. Constant bugs and repeat crashes. It's sad the gaming industry and community have allowed this become an acceptable practice. this game will surely pick up Game of the Year awards by sites who have been paid off in advertising dollars.
  98. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Only Rating it down because of the framerate and quest bugs. Head to the PS3 tech support forums and check out the civil war going on there. Bethesda is not responding fast enough. A lot of features are bugged, like display cases, mannequins, houses, dragons, magic resistance, etc. This game should have not passed QC testing. I would give it a 10.
  99. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    This game is completely broken on the ps3. The game will slowly wither away the more you play it, until it becomes absolutely unplayable. The lag starts around the 30 hour mark and gets progressively worse. If you must have this game, wait until it's patched and buy it used. Do not support faulty products.
  100. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Broken game, don't buy it. Bethesda knew the game wasn't going to work when they released it. People have reported this game burning out their ps3.
  101. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Another incomplete game for mature gamers on pc's. The ui and textures are messy. It feels like this stuff can't possibly take long to resolve, but hey, I'm not a programmer. And yes, if a review uses the word streamlined regarding the level-up system, you can pretty much translate as "dumbed down for marketing" -If you catch my drift. Thanks gaming industry, for the 3 highly praised flaming turds we've received this year on pc. Not gonna lump this in with bf and mw because I love the sandbox style and it's really similar to oblivion, but the bugs and UI need serious fixing. It's really unnerving to feel like you've been had on your platform, and that's all I've gotten the past two months. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. This is a game full of emotions for gamers who are willing to embrace it. A beautiful fantasy land that makes loading times a thing of the past and is full of surprises. Not only do you get a lot of variety in the locations, the gameplay offers a lot of different experiences as well. [December 2011, p.66]
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    90
    I enjoyed Skyrim and I look forward to the DLC that we know is inevitably coming. If we looked at this honestly, though, this game probably should have been pushed back a month or so for more polish. It needed it and it still does.
  3. Skyrim is a gorgeous production that truly does justice to the words "roleplaying game." It doesn't just tell us a story, it gives us the chance to tell a story of our own. At its best, that's what an interactive art form should be all about. [Jan 2011, p.73]