Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With a roster featuring over 30 hand-drawn fighters, a number of detailed stages bursting with life, over a half dozen play modes, a refined fighting engine built for speed and complete with new moves and supers, a vastly improved Online mode, and a host of other additions, tweaks, and enhancements, THE KING OF FIGHTERS XIII represents a rebirth for one of gaming's longest tenured franchises and one of the most popular fighting brands ever. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Dec 2, 2011
    92
    King of Fighters XIII is clearly SNK Playmore's attempt to make good on the disappointing KoF XII and succeeds wonderfully. The offline modes are plentiful and fun, while online is actually handled pretty well. It's lean on bells and whistles but delivers a pretty smooth experience.
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    90
    Story mode might not bring much to the table, and the lack of proper tutorials might make this game a little bit intimidating to some but with tight gameplay mechanics, a ton of content to keep you busy for a long time and a working online mode, this game easily obtains its "must-play" status for all fans of fighting games in general.
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    85
    The King of Fighters XIII has multiple offline modes, balanced mechanics, improved online system and all that one KOF must have. It's a great fighting game, not for everyone, but good contender for Blazblue and Super Street Fighter IV.
  4. Nov 30, 2011
    80
    Raw and beautiful Versus Fighting, here it is! KoF XIII gives its pride back to the series. But it sacrifices some accessibility in favor of this new richness, even though it includes some tutorial modes that are well-crafted. But if you have time and motivation to spare in order to dive into it, this episode is a really good one, even though it still doesn't come near a Blazblue or SFIV in terms of online play.
  5. Nov 22, 2011
    78
    Overall, King of Fighters XIII is a very fun game to play.
  6. Nov 22, 2011
    75
    The King of Fighters XIII offers a phenomenal fighting game experience you won't find in many newer fighting games, and while the learning curve might be steep, the time and effort you put into it won't be obliterated by mindless mashing of uppercuts or ridiculous comeback mechanics. If you want to be the King of Fighters, you have to earn it.
  7. As solid as the combat is, there are numerous contemporaries that offer as much challenge and fun with much more visual flair, and without horrendous loading times.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    King of Fighters XIII is probably the best 2d fighting experience you can have in the current generation, and one of the best 2d fighters ever created. Not only has the overall package been extremely improved in both quantity and quality, with tons of modes, new characters, beautiful stages that will remind you of the best SNK games on NeoGeo, new systems that actually add a lot of depth to the game (drive cancel, extra versions of special and desperation moves, and many other things) but the game has also a good netcode that, so far, hasn't let me down a single time. KoF13 has already been a favorite in the competitive scene for some time, and it's likely to gather a decent following in order to build a sizeable community in the future. The 4 CD soundtrack provided by Atlus USA surely helps to improve the value of an already exceptional game. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    i loved kof98um and 2002um, but 13 seems to be far better because of its new systems... the ex moves are really a big improvement, and the neomax move are really satisfying when you manage to pull them off during an actual fight. movesets are also far more expanded compared to kof12, and the story mode is packed with old characters like heidern or vanessa and brings the story of ash crimson to closure. to my surprise, the online mode worked very well in my experience, especially with people with at least 3 connection bars. it's not blazblue level, but it's definitely on par with super street fighter 4 ae or mvc3. Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    while i was burned by kof12's lack of contents and poor online, i must say that kof13 is really different, to the point of being completely different both regarding gameplay and available modes. if kof12 had practically nothing aside from arcade, versus and practice, here we have a great story mode with multiple paths, a nice arcade mode with dialogues between matches, versus, time attack, survival, tutorial, training, missions, a great color edit mode and a competent online mode that is surely on par with most other beat'em ups.

    the new features, like special versions of moves and supers are also welcome additions, and i think anyone remotely interest in this genre should buy this gem asap
    Collapse
  4. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    Are you kidding me? I feel like I could just sit there and play this forever because the characters and balance just keep me glued to the tv. It's more than the sum of it's parts, and much better than 12, although that was kinda fun too. There's something 'friendly' about this game. Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2013
    9
    KOF XII is the best of its series. A lot of characters, modes and unlockeables.

    It is not for begginers and dont gget yyourrself impressed
    with the 100% combo hit from the traillers and demonstrations. Most of them are not for human, but can give you an idea of how complex the combos can be worked.

    The online game is somewhat acceptable, and the option to record helps you study where you failed. Of course you cannot download other's battles, that would be a good feature to study even more the game.
    Expand
  6. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    The king of fighters was always a well known and beloved fighting series, starting in 1994. As an snk fan since long forgotten times, these series always had a special place in my fighting spirit. And saying that kof XIII is a bad game is to fail to understand these beloved series.
    Kof XIII is a big inprovement over kof XII, the fighting system is well tweaked and the characters animations and stages look AMAZING!
    the story mode is easy to follow to who really follow the story from previous kof, leaving the new and not-so-interested players a little confused whith all the fuss around the characters, but its a great addition no doubt about it! To those saying this game has cheap bosses, please, tell me that the other fighting games dont have them! if you do... well god help your ability of judgement!

    the online is still a little laggy, but who can say better from all the other online fighters? its a common headache for all, some a little better, some way worse.

    Whith a ton of addictions, the great new stages, a pile of new characters, new and improved (and fun) playability, kof is an excellent choice to al the kof fans and the pixel punching fans in general!

    I give it an 8, the same i give to ssf4, has the same online issues and we have to understand its 2 very different games, the choice is up to you and your taste!
    Expand
  7. Dec 10, 2012
    5
    Given that this is a full retail game from 2011, I'd be lying if I said it isn't laughably pathetic. Those graphics are simply unnacceptable. I know it's a fighting game and graphics don't matter, but at least SOME effort would have been nice. The original Street Fighter 2 is better looking, and SSFIITHD is by far better looking. Characters in this game have zero detail and the stages don't look great either. Although there is a tutorial, the commands in the tutorial and trials mode could not have been any less clear. Not only do you have to sit down and sketch the shape of the stick movement, but also each move is not clearly indicated, since they're all on one line rather than a line for each move (like on Street Fighter IV). All the standard modes you'd expect from a fighting game are here; arcade mode, multiplayer, local versus, time attack, trials). However, the quality of these is very low compared to Street Fighter IV. Everything about this game feels low budget and certainly not high quality. The characters lack variety and a fair few are obvious copies of Street Fighter characters like El Fuerte, Dan, Ryu, Ken, Yang, C. Viper, Hugo and Gen. What sets this game apart is not characters, quality or game modes. It's the 3v3 rather than 1v1 but still two players, but each has 3 characters. The game is fairly easy to pick and play, especially compared to more technical fighting games. However, the controls and command list are aweful because they are so unclear on how to perform each move. The tutorial is horrible too. However, as a very very very cheap aracde game (if not a couple of quid, certainly free) it's not bad for getting trophies or achievements. I struggle to take this game seriously even if it was an aracde game for less than £8. As a full game, it's a joke, if not an obvious troll of a fighting game. It's satisfying to play even against the AI and it's not a complicated game at all, but the overall quality lets it down hugely. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews