• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jun 14, 2013
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 98
  2. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    Its unrivaled presentation in particular sets the bar even higher than the Uncharted trilogy already did, and its writing, voice acting and layered gameplay combine to create what is very easily the game to beat for Game of the Year 2013.
  2. Jun 5, 2013
    80
    Despite the many small problems in combat, there's an undeniable tension. Vanquishing a horde of attackers is challenging, so you must fight intelligently.
  3. 100
    In an industry where big, epic, and huge are the normal, it is refreshing to see the importance of the little things. In fact, I believe this is The Last of Us’ strongest suit. You will play this game and feel the overwhelming storyline, like the characters, and, after you have let it all soak in, some of your favorite moments will be the small things; the things you didn’t have your hand held through.
  4. Jun 5, 2013
    95
    The Last of Us is a deeply felt, shockingly violent game that questions what we're willing to sacrifice and, more disturbingly, what we're willing to do so save the ones we love. The conclusion offers no easy answers. You won't forget it.
  5. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    The Last of Us is a deeply impressive demonstration of how it can and should be done. It starts out safe but ends brave; it has heart and grit, and it hangs together beautifully. And it's a real video game, too. An elegy for a dying world, The Last of Us is also a beacon of hope for its genre.
  6. Jun 17, 2013
    93
    The Last of Us is a must-play title for any PS3 owner who's not squeamish about violence and depressing subject matter. It has flaws, but they don't detract from the overall experience, and at worst, the game could use a little more interaction.
  7. Jun 14, 2013
    100
    The game hits all the right notes and proves that Naughty Dog really knows how to design interesting, gorgeous and enjoyable games.
  8. Jun 6, 2013
    100
    In atmosphere and narrative, Naughty Dog knows few barriers, and turning their talent and craftsmanship to such haunting and profound subject matter will ensure that the developer is poised to continue its dominance as a premier auteur development studio well into the next generation of console hardware.
  9. Jun 25, 2013
    95
    Thrilling survival horror with brutal combat, rich characters and stunning environments. [Aug 2013, p.57]
  10. Jun 5, 2013
    97
    The Last of Us is a step forward for Naughty Dog in terms of narration, story and gameplay, maybe the last big shot for PlayStation 3 and a fine example of a "cinematic game" melted into a great gameplay. A must buy for every serious gamer.
  11. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    Its storytelling is peerless, as affecting and multi-layered as it is grounded, underplayed and real. In terms of everything the modern action game has strived to be, The Last of Us is the full-stop at the end of the sentence, leaving no more to be said. Until next-gen. If this is our starting point for that, then the next five to ten years could be truly amazing.
  12. Jun 18, 2013
    100
    It effectively closes out this generation on a high note while simultaneously raising expectations for gaming storylines and their presentation in the next console generation.
  13. Jun 5, 2013
    98
    This is the most ambitious project Naughty Dog has made so far. It's not a new genre, but it mixes up some of them to bring something unique. It's got nothing to do with Uncharted apart from the look some images may show, but still is one of the best games on PlayStation 3.
  14. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    Naughty Dog has delivered the most riveting, emotionally resonant story-driven epic of this console generation. At times it’s easy to feel like big-budget development has too much on the line to allow stubbornly artful ideas to flourish, but then a game like The Last Of Us emerges through the crumbled blacktop like a climbing vine, green as a burnished emerald.
  15. Jun 14, 2013
    95
    The Last of Us is a testament to game design. Naughty Dog continues to perfect their craft at immersive storytelling, while still delivering one amazing game to play.
  16. Jun 5, 2013
    90
    It’s the relationships that really make The Last Of Us. It’s a technical marvel, a true triple-A with best-in-show production values, but it’s the beautiful combination of performance and story that elevates it clearly above the competition.
  17. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    Ultimately, I defy anyone not to be moved when it comes to its conclusion and the huge questions it asks of both the player and the characters themselves – any game that achieves such a goal deserves high-praise. The Last of Us succeeds in the same way as the best movies do, challenging you more than you'll ever expect, demanding that you think and discuss it weeks after it resolves. The fact I had the urge to pick it up again almost instantly is just added acclaim it has more than earned.
  18. Jun 5, 2013
    97
    Plenty of action and horror, Naughty Dog's post-apocalyptic tale is an amazing game.
  19. Jul 11, 2013
    95
    If you have a PlayStation 3 there is no reason why you shouldn't buy this game (unless you are not old enough of course). The story is incredible, the gameplay is fun, and the graphics and sound are amazing. Naughty Dog had a lot to live up to with the release, but they have delivered in spades. I just hope we don't have to wait too long for a sequel. This game is everything you were hoping for, and more. Go get it!
  20. Jun 10, 2013
    90
    Like the fungus that infected its deformed inhabitants, The Last of Us is not an enjoyable thing to experience. It’s depressing, exhausting and even disturbing. But , contrary to everything I tell myself, it’s something I won’t soon forget.
  21. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    A masterpiece, that breaks the self imposed barriers of gaming narrative and ensnares the player with intelligent gameplay and brilliant A.I. Anyone wanting to tackle the same themes will have to be compared to Naughty Dog's work in the future, and it won't be pretty.
  22. Jun 5, 2013
    95
    The Last of Us spells the magnum opus for Naughty Dog on the PlayStation 3, offering us a unique experience that easily eclipses anything else we’ve seen on the system. This game is easily a contender for adventure game of the year.
  23. Jul 10, 2013
    100
    The Last of Us is a sobering conclusion to Naughty Dog’s relationship with the PlayStation 3. It is the studio’s finest game to date, marrying gameplay and fiction better than any of the Uncharted games. It’s sometimes haunting, sometimes beautiful, but more than anything else it feels real, and both you and Joel are very much vulnerable to it.
  24. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    It cannot be said enough, however, that Naughty Dog's new best creation is complete, and when I say complete, I mean it to pay the highest of compliments. I do not want more from The Last of Us: I do not need more. As the last line was uttered and the credits ushered in the close, I was done. The Last of Us had achieved everything it needed to achieve in order to provide me with everything I wanted...And it ended perfectly.
  25. Sep 16, 2013
    97
    Flawless in its ambition and almost perfect in its execution. A brave and remarkable game quite unlike any other.
  26. Jun 13, 2013
    95
    The world is full of one trick AAA games, so any big title that manages to shake up the clear-cut genre barriers should be considered a welcome exception. For all intents and purposes, The Last of Us is a breakthrough title. It's enjoyable as a full-on shooter, a stealth game, an action adventure and a stat-building RPG. It's about as good as it gets for the current console generation. [June 2013]
  27. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    The Last of Us brings you into a world where people die without grace, and explains to you the beauty of the extinction. It's strong, unique, brutal and, ultimately, unforgettable.
  28. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    Despite a few issues, The Last of Us represents at the same time the complete maturity of the PlayStation 3 hardware and, above all, the perfect fusion between gameplay and narrative. Naughty Dog has created a masterpiece that will be a milestone in the video games evolution.
  29. Jun 5, 2013
    90
    In the developer of The Last of Us, Naughty Dog, we find the king of action-adventurers more and more. Its last game brings us storytelling that is as endearing and emotional as it gets. A definite must-play for every gamer worldwide.
  30. Jun 5, 2013
    95
    With The Last of Us developer Naughty Dog switches from the easy entertainment that is Uncharted, to the more serious stuff. Despite their differences, both games prove to be of unprecedented high levels of quality, from a studio that controls their ability to create games into the smallest detail. Thanks to its unique pace and adult story The Last of Us has become an experience that has no equal.
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 6242 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I don't know what I can really say about this game without giving anything away, but I will tell you that it is easily in the top ten games that I've played, and I've played a lot of good games, also the characters of Joel and Ellie are absolutely brilliant, I think Ellie has such an amazing premise, and Joel seems to have been affected by the infection in quite a realistic way. The only bad thing I can say about this game is that as good as it is, I don't think it's for everybody, some people might be put off by the atmosphere and violence within the game, while some will love it for the same reason.

    If you're thinking of buying this game, then I recommend buying it.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    This game truly is phenomenal. Naughty Dog proves yet again why they are the kings of the PS3, and arguably gaming in general. The Last of Us gets everything right. The environments, the atmosphere, the gameplay, the storyline, the characters, the graphics. Everything. I really can't say enough how amazing this game truly ended up being. Full Review »
  3. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us is one of the best games I have ever played. Imagine Uncharted 2/3, that looks better, sounds better, has more engaging characters and a more emotional plot.
    Imagine that with combat which encourages not just multiple playthroughs to try a different strategy, but reloading checkpoints to get your first strategy just right. But that doesn't really do it justice.
    If you are looking for a brand new and unique experience, this isn't perfect, but you should play it anyway. If you are looking for one of the best experiences to be found in gaming, you should definitely play The Last of Us.
    Full Review »