• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jun 14, 2013
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 5613 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    I don't even know where to begin with this game... I've been an avid gamer for almost my entire life, and I consider myself quite fluent in the world of gaming. After beating this game, I can honestly say that it may take a spot in one of my top games of all time. At the bare minimum, it's one of the best games of this past decade. Over the past few years, I've played good games, but nothing compares to how well crafted The Last of Us is. Although the post apocalyptic trope is somewhat overused now a days, Naughty Dog has succeeded in using this theme to create a compelling, immersive, beautiful, story with The Last of Us. Although some game mechanics are somewhat faulty, I usually can forgive some misgivings for a good game and story, and all of this makes me completely forget the bad about this game (which really there isn't much). Naughty Dog created a story that does not glorify the main characters, but makes them human. Most games, movies, and TV create this sort of "hero" identity with their protagonist, which yes, you of course want to root for the main character, but at the same time we, as the audience, know that no one is perfect. I think this in itself was probably the most important facet of the game that made it so compelling, Joel and Ellie are VERY human. Naughty Dog brilliantly builds upon their relationship through the game to create not only a bond between the characters, but uses it as a catalyst for what ultimately happens at the end. Without spoiling anything, I will say that the ending of The Last of Us is definitely one of the most emotional, impactful, and compelling endings that I have ever played. This game will stick with me and I cannot help but think about how morally dense this game is. Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    I should start off by saying that this game is a stunning experience, and that Naughty Dog has yet again proven that they are one of the best Developers in the industry. The story is phenomenal, gripping and a joy to play through. The gameplay/combat is also quite fun, and fits good into both single-player and multiplayer. All though i must say that the multiplayer in this game is under developed, they could of done so much more with it and made it even better. But, that's not to say the multiplayer is bad, the multiplayer is fun, unique and gives the player more replay-ability. The game does have technical difficulties like all games, but none to the extent where it ruins the experience, so there is no need to worry about that. If you own a PS3, go and get this game as soon as you can. It is a must own. Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    This game is such a masterpiece. Naughty Dog should definitely teach how to produce a game. The gameplay, the story, the setting, everything is completely perfect. I really enjoyed playing this game, hopefully give it to my grand children to play. Do not listen to bad reviews, just buy this game and start playing. If you like survival and post-apocalyptic games, The Last of Us is just for you.
  4. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    Last of us should be considerd as art like metro last light .Excelent story not unique zombie game when you are full of ammo and shoot them in heads this disese realy excists but on insects so that mean it is not stupid zombie story .graphics and caracter animations best very realistic game It has some sad moments but only thing i dont like that the game is linear so when you complete it you dont have reason to get back and play it again.to bad it is only on ps3 Expand
  5. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    This game is already a classic. Not thanks to its gameplay, or its AI, because they both have a few flaws.
    But thanks to its storytelling, its voice acting, and its atmosphere.

    This game will take your breath away, and won't give it back to you until the end of the credits. You won't find any cliché in this game. The characters are incredibly human. The whole game, you'll ask yourself
    this question: "What would I do in this situation".

    The game's story is violent, mature, and quite depressing if you think about it.

    It is full of surprises, it is incredibly good, etc...

    To sum it up, as I said, it is a classic, no matter what some people say.

    Oh, and by the way, it is gorgeous.
    Don't hesitate, buy it. It's worth your money.

    The greatest game of this gen, along with Red Dead Redemption. 10/10
    Expand
  6. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    This game is the best zombie type game i've ever played! Naughty Dog sure did it again with their amazing games! I was stoked about this game when it first was released in stores. The emotions in this game are powerful. This is the finest game i've ever played. Can't wait if theres a sequel
  7. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us is easily the best game of this gaming generation. I do not say this statement lightly. I truly and sincerely believe that this game has set the standard for video games. Naughty Dog has once again created a masterpiece and have proven, once again, they know how to make games. The gripping story, amazing graphics, the characters, the dialogue, and the overall immersive experience create a memorable experience. The best game I have played in a long time. You will love this game to death. It is as close to perfect as possible. Expand
  8. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best games i ever played. The story is awesome also the characters are convincingly.
    You really care about joel and ellie. The graphic and the music and every thing else is fantastic.
    I want such games for other consoles so every gamer can play it.
  9. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    I knew this game was going to be special and was really excited for it, When I first saw a gameplay video of it and saw that IGN gave it a 10/10 I was thinking it can't be a perfect score, maybe close but not perfect. After playing it a few weeks after release, I now see why it was given so many perfect scores. I would personally rate it an 11/10 if I could.The Last of us is a masterpiece.It us does everything right, It's the first game I've played in my entire life where I can actually say that a game made me cry. This game just provokes your emotions and is hands down my Game of the year, probably my game of the generation. It has really set the bar for storytelling and future games and has possibly given us a sneak peak of future PS4 games. Bottomline, The Last of us isn't a game, it's an experience that everyone should see. It's crazy knowing that the last of us's story is just as complex as say a movie. Expand
  10. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    This game is in the top 3 best game I've ever played. The athmosphere is incredible. The characters are so attaching. Each moments of this game stay in your mind. This game is a Masterpiece to the beginning until the end. Ellie and Joel are the perfects characters for this game. The story is great but what makes this game unique is the relations between Ellie and Joel. The graphics are amazing...well this game is wonderfull. There's still annoying lags and AI are quite idiotic but the rest is awesome. Expand
  11. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    I finished playing this game yesterday and I can't stop thinking about how amazing it was playing through the story. First of all the story is brilliant, thrilling, exciting and even at times funny. The mechanics are extremely clever and makes the whole game-play much more realistic than what many people might be used to. Being depended on creating and upgrading different weapons by finding different tools and not to mention the interactions of the other characters makes it a overall a realistic gaming experience. The characters are genuine and likable especially Ellie and Joel -which makes you hope the adventure between them never stops. The art design and the graphics really do make a rare realistic environment of what would happen to cities if the systems went down, by showing the true beauty of nature. It's a clever contrast between all of the horrifying stuff you go through and becomes a sort of reminder of what's good and "human". The soundtracks are flawless. I remember entering the ending credits without even noticing the credits because of the amazing soundtracks that just bombed me with nostalgia from the wonderful journey I just finished. The online multiplayer experience is quite unique but extremely risky that takes time to get used to. Still The Last of Us is truly amazing and it might not only be the best game of the year, but also one of the best games ever created. What are you waiting for? Go buy it now! Expand
  12. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    This game is a big step on gaming in terms of how you can transmit a very good story and feel without abusing cutscenes. As a gamer who is not a big fan of horror games this one truly impressed me for the fact that it is a horror game without jump scares. This is one of the only games which have really put a big emphasis on how gun fights really are and that we don't have unlimited ammo and that bullets indeed mean something and that is a incredible feat. Just a well rounded game that is tons of fun. Expand
  13. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After seeing some incredible scores here on metacritic, I decided to remove the dust from my PS3, which I haven't used for about 1.5 years and give this game a try. And what can I say... best decision I made in a while. :-)

    [WARNING: Spoilers ahead!^^] I'm quite happy that I didn't watch any trailers/videos/screenshot before and also completely ignored the box dvd cover, because it led me (thinking I would go along with Joel and Sarah since this game was obviously about a man and a girl trying to survive in a post-zombie-apocalypse-scenario, as far as I could tell^^) to a complete state of shock, when Sarah died right at the beginning of the game.

    While recovering from this shock, the evolving story & brilliant cutscenes pulled me right into that game more than I could ever have imagined. Even though some parts (gameplay, graphics, etc.) reminded me on other games and movies (I am Legend, The Walking Dead, Uncharted,...), The Last of Us was/is a really unique masterpiece, which made me absolutely feel with the characters and kept me thrilled for almost 24 hour straight. I've been almost as busy with hoping/thinking/fearing about things that possibly might happen to one of the characters, as with actually "playing" the game to progress in the story.

    And even though it's been two days already since I finished the game, I just can not let go... I'm still thinking about the ending, the whole story, the characters... and it's really absurd: Fot the whole game I thought that Ellie and Joel would both die in the end... or at least one of them... but although they survived, I'm not really happy. Sony somehow managed to make me love them and I want to see more from Joel & Ellie and their future story. So I REALLY hope, there will be (a) sequel(s) or at least some DLCs that will make this possible.
    Expand
  14. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    This by far the best looking game and the best game i have ever seen and played my god i love it I love it so so much. This game is 10/10 all across love you play station and love you naughty dog
  15. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    The story is quite good but, in my opinion, the ending is sort of anti-climatic. But the way Naughty Dog designed the characters and their personalities and how they interact with each other is just amazing! And the gameplay... borderline perfect. The game doesn't feed you loot all the time, and you have to make up your mind quick if it's worth to shoot that clicker or if you just have to sneak by. But all and all, awesome game personally; top 5 games of all time. Expand
  16. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    If i could give more than 10, i would without hesitation. This game is phenomenal. The voice acting.. the story.. the game play. All perfect. I bought a PS3 despite having an Xbox and PC to play this and it was a great decision, this is what all games should aspire to be. You must play this game, at any cost.
  17. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    With its widespread perfection across gameplay mechanics, voice acting, and storytelling, Last of Us leaves its players in awe, contemplation, and satisfaction.
  18. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite game this generation and possibly my best game ever as it's storytelling is excellent, voice acting is superb, graphics are extremely good, and the characters are very well made.Get this game now it may become your favorite too
  19. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    I would have to say this is the most fantastic game I have ever played. Great graphics and the whole game feels real. Love the characters. I had split emotions throughout the game like my wanting to strangle some of the people, being terrified of those damn clickers, and where I cried several times. Overall a game that I am glad I spent my time on and will play once again soon.
  20. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. From beginning to end it had me on the edge of my seat. Everything about this game from the story to gameplay even multi-player. If you want to experience a great edge of your seat single player campaign this is the game for you. Visually this game has those little touches that makes everything you encounter believable. Great Experience.
  21. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    I will have to start out by saying that The Last of Us really does make the end of this Playstation 3 generation something to look back on how it started to where it is now. Naughty Dog is the creator of the "Uncharted" series, and also many other big Playstation games. But the reason i bring the "Uncharted" series up is that "Uncharted: Drake's Fortune" was made in November 2007...one year after the PS3 release date in 2006. So if you see how beautiful that game was in 2007 you can see in The Last of Us that Naughty Dog really knows how to push the PS3 to the limits graphics wise. Don't get me wrong, graphics aren't the biggest thing about this game but the game sure does look beautiful and its unique that we get to see one developer at the start of a console's generation and at the end of it. That's not what this is about though, so just take that in as you play this game.
    This game is a masterpiece by its design, story, and game play. When this game was first revealed at E3 with just a teaser trailer I had so much hope for this game based on its post-apocalyptic world also with Naughty Dog as its developer. Well I'm glad I did because the story I think is the best thing about this game because when you play as Joel for the first time in awhile in games you feel like the character, so whatever happens to him good or bad you feel as if its really happening. The game is so emotional you may even forget it's a video game sometimes because it also seems like this summer's best movie at the box office. As for the story, it's amazing but it's also amazing because you don't know what is going to happen and that is exactly why I can not tell you anything about the story. For gameplay this game plays like Uncharted which isn't a bad thing but there are other features in this game Uncharted will never have. There is a crafting system because throughout the game you will pick up items and you will need to use those items to craft weapons and med kits. Also this game has different ways to play. You can be stealthy in some parts of the game, where someone else may run and gun. It depends on how much ammo you were able to come across. For graphics it uses the PS3 to the max, it seems like, on everything possible. For now that is...

    Adam
    http://www.nerdlife.org/about.html
    Expand
  22. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    This Game is Phenomenal I Loved every Part of this Game though Few Glitches But they never ruined my Fun in the Game from the START and to the END you will get Those "FEELS" and it really will make you think that World is Real Joel Ellie Everyone. I Love This Game i thought about it after Days and Week after completing it and it will stay with me Forever Kudos to Naughty Dog
  23. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Best title Naughty Dog has yet released....... hoping for a sequel... My favorite PlayStation 3 game...One of THE BEST video games of the seventh-console generation that surpasses every standard in every way.
  24. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    This game is one of the finest games I've ever played, from the very strong beginning to the end, is proof that video games are getting better and better, and this game makes you feel what everybody is feeling, even better than movies. If you don't have this game, go to the nearest games shop and buy it, you won't regret it.
  25. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    This wasn't a game, this was an experience. I had not played the fist time, i wasn't using the ps3 thre by a year so i thought to watch a walkthrought on internet. I've never done such a more idiot thing in my life... however it was the best experience that i had with i video game, without giving any matter to the gameplay.
    this is the best game of all time, of the whole generation and
    there won't never be game like this in 20 years Expand
  26. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    Excellent combination of story and game. Great characters with professional voices. Diverse scenarios that are not easily predictable.( Avoid the spoilers if you can.)
    I do not play many games, but this is the best game I have played.
  27. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    I don't even know where to start with The Last of Us. From its brutal combat, amazingly immersive story and world, The Last of Us is superb. I was really disappointed when I realized that my nearest Gamestop wasn't having a midnight release for this game so I just picked it up the next day right when they opened. I rushed home slapped it in my PlayStation and started my journey. Let me tell you.. that journey won't be soon forgotten. I will admit the game isn't "flawless" it has some small bugs and glitches here and there but those can't and won't take you out of game and stop you from enjoying it. It has a pretty lengthy story, about 12-14 hours. Aside from that you have multiplayer. This multiplayer suits the game well, its tense, fun, and strategic. You pick a faction Hunter or Fireflies. Once you do that you embark on a 12 week adventure that has you trying to keep your clan safe and healthy. Occasionally there will be events that come up that have the chance to take out a certain percentage of your clan, it could vary from 25% to a brutal 100%. If you fail an event that happens to be 100% everybody dies and you are forced to restart. So overall The Last of Us is a title that YOU, as a PlayStation 3 owner, need to own. I give The Last of Us a 10 out 10 Expand
  28. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Where do I start?
    This game is phenomenal, expect to get attached to the characters from the very start until the very end.
    The last of us is set in a post-apocalypse world where a fungus infection has wiped out 60% of humanity.
    You play as Joel, a survivor who is on a journey with a girl called Ellie. The environment and atmosphere is truly amazing and you can actually feel the bond
    between the characters as you progress in the game. This game is by far the best game in this console generation, until GTA V comes out at least. Expand
  29. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    Worst game ever. Not worth playing even if you got it for free. Graphics are too good, it just makes no sense to have something this uncanny in a video game. The story line is too good, I felt uncomfortable being blown away. But worst of all, there is just way too much character development, why would I want to feel this kind of emotional connection to a 14 year old girl? It's just silly. Copy of CoD. Expand
  30. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Upon buying this game from what little I'd seen, through not wanting to ruin anything for myself, I was more excited than I'd been for any game in a while. This, and only a few other games that I've played have put me in a position of "Well, what do I do now?" after I've completed it. What this game brings to the table is none-other than the greatest story ever told on console, maybe you could push that to ever in gaming, it is certainly the best story ever told to me. One of only two games that's ever made me shed tears and the only game that's ever made me genuinely care for a character's wellbeing as if it were a real person. From a storytelling standpoint, it's phenomenal. I would urge anyone out there who even has the slightest bit of interest to pick this game up immediately. The positions it puts you in with the people you're placed with is brilliant to say the least.

    The story sounds like something you've heard before, but that couldn't be further from the truth in reality. I can't quite put into words the significance of the story in this to someone who would be considering this purchase or playthrough. It may be because there's nothing immediate to compare it to in gaming? I don't know, but something about this game is just touching, emotionally and mentally. The tale forces you to think about what could happen to Ellie if this or that went wrong, what could happen to every little object in the world and every person and city in the wake of what has happened in the game. It can bring about sadness, complete and utter heartbreak right through to light giggles (Ellie's dialogue is riddled with them) to outright outbursts of game-pausing laughter (also, mainly due to Ellie's dialogue). It can bring about fear and terror and hype as Joel forces his way to getting what he wants when he wants it when it comes to Ellie safety, the relationship develops beautifully between Ellie and Joel in a father-daughter way. The game will at some point during your playthrough, bring about every emotion you know of, I guarantee it.

    From a technical standpoint, it's easily the best looking game on the PS3, a label that seems to come stuck to Naughty Dog like a watermark recently. The lighting is perfect, the textures are excellent and the motions, physics and mechanics in the gameplay are second to none. Voice acting is like something stripped out of a Pixar movie, a dark, morbid Pixar movie to put it awkwardly accurately. Gameplay is smooth and fluid, the gunplay and combat is polished and creative, the weapons you can create and customise/improve are simple and easy to follow, yet superbly detailed. The cutscenes are something you'd expect from a story-based game of this level, if I told you I was surprised by the motion-capture technology used in this game and the beauty of the cutscenes, I'd be lying. Just because I expected them, doesn't mean they don't amaze me. The world looks stunning as well alongside playing brilliantly, obstacles occasionally difficult to follow, yet it keeps the same mechanics so as to keep the gameplay familiar and non-too confusing, but you can make of this what you wish. Back to the main point, the world and the environments look amazing, sublimely crafted and thought up, aesthetically, it's perfect.

    The one gripe I have about the game on a serious note, is how the AI interacts with your partner(s). It doesn't, not when in sneaky-sneaky mode anyway. You could be hiding from Hunters, Runners, Clickers, Soldiers and all of a sudden, your buddy is standing in the middle of the hallway in plain sight of the bad guy, and yet they don't acknowledge their existence. While this doesn't happen often at all, it almost certainly will at some point. On a less serious gripe, the game ends too early and for me leaves too much out for me to be perfectly satisfied. You seem to jump from one place to another without taking into account this really important place that you'd have to go to first, places that could've been added to the story to add even more to the game. But then one could make the argument about whether this would make the game tedious and boring through having too much content in the game. But, that's just what I'd have liked to see.

    Overall, the game is perfect. I'm afraid to say that it's better than Red Dead Redemption or The Walking Dead, but for me, I think it's worthy of that title on a personal note. Full 10/10.
    Expand
  31. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    Naughty Dog doesn't make trash. In SCE the are best. Irrefutable proof- The Last of Us. TLoU is perfect game. I don't know what to say else. You should buy PS3 for it.
  32. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    Let me start by prefacing this to say I don't believe this game is perfect. It has it's flaws, but giving it a perfect score doesn't mean that it's perfect, rather that I just couldn't add anything else to it, within reason, to make it even better.

    This game has a superb story, as long as you like apocalyptic games. It is appropriate for the setting and is not as predictable as many
    imply. It's not simply a rehash of a zombie game.

    It has about the best graphics you can find on a PS3 game. Some people complain about it having no 1080p support, but that's irrelevant. Getting it to render at a higher resolution than 720p would mean losing detail given that rendering power is limited. Environments are lifelike and they look like an art masterpiece.

    Animation is beautifully done, as well as voice acting. They match like you couldn't believe it. You'll feel like the characters are real.

    Game-play is completely appropriate to the setting, it feels and behaves like the person handling the gun isn't a gun expert, and it should feel like that, even if it can feel frustrating some times. It feels intended, especially considering the amount of thought that went into the other areas.

    I could go on and on regarding the other aspects. However, in the end this game isn't about providing the best mechanics or game-play you can find, there are other games for that. It's about delivering a best-in-class cinematic experience, and if you can accept that, this will probably be one of the best games you've ever played.

    I bought a PS3 for this game, and this game only, and I'm keeping it to be able to relive this experience in the future.
    Expand
  33. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    The game is the best zombie game I've played The game is simply amazing There are few bad things about it thought Since everyone else is hailing this game i'll point out some of the flaws The Multiplayer can be fun but there are some balance issues. The single player is mostly awesome but there are few sections that can be a bit boring and there are some parts which are impossible to not get detected The ending is I'll just shut up than Well no game is flawless so 10 Expand
  34. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    Easily my favourite game and my game of the year for this year and also my third favourite game of all time just getting bumped out by the walking dead and skyrim
  35. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    The storyline for this game is amazing and I loved it! The multilayer is ok but, not the best, it needs zombies it's a damn ZOMBIE GAME for crying out loud!!!!!
  36. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    By the time I had put down the controller, I felt a degree of satisfaction I haven't gotten from a game in a long time.

    Naughty Dog's "The Last of Us" was released as a PlayStation 3 exclusive back in spring 2013, but I would have believed it if someone told me it came out today. The game looks beautiful, and does a great job in appearing almost realistic. The cinematics are an ever
    further step, with amazing facial designs and lighting effects. These characters really do come to life. The environments are well designed, with a lot of attention to detail. Every nook and cranny is fully explore-able, and often has a goody or two in the form of resources, collectibles, and notes. It's clear that a lot of love and care went into this game. Even without anything to pick up, exploring the areas in it of itself is exciting. Walking into a side room to find a skeleton cowering in the corner puts dark images in your head. Writings on the walls and destruction of objects continue to add to the ambiance. The anticipation and dread of finding out what's on the other side of a door is enough to send shivers down your spine.

    The enemies are well designed too. Seeing a man with his head split in half while he hobbles towards you is horrifying too say the least. Alerting a horde of them by mistake is frightening, and the panic they cause you is genuine. Thankfully, no two zombies look the same. They all have different clothes, and more importantly, differently mangled and distorted bodies. Most notable is the head, which could still look normal and intact, or it could be a disgusting mess of fungus and blood. It's a very big relief , since fighting the same enemy over and over again can be a major drag. The human enemies look great as well, but they just can't compare to the sight of a clicker running right at you.

    My first impressions of the game, however, were not that great. Without a doubt, the weakest part of The Last of Us is the mechanics. During the first hour or two, that becomes very apparent.There are some great moments when you feel really tense and excited, but those don't come until much later. Shooting is not the smoothest, especially since the early gun is not very good. However, it does improve, and you continue to find more weapons, which helps to freshen up the combat and keep it from feeling repetitive. It also took a while for me to get the hang of the stealth system, and I often found myself wishing it was more like Hitman's. I really was not hooked during the opening hours. I wasn't having fun going down these very linear segments with what I felt was a broken stealth system. After all, why even bother sneaking when you can just rush the enemy and beat them down? I also didn't see what made this game so special. It seemed like just another zombie apocalypse game, which I am pretty sick of these days. Luckily, the game finally picked up once you started to meet more characters and the game opened up a little bit. The levels themselves are still linear, but there's plenty of extra space to explore, which is one of the game's greatest strengths. The stealth also grew on me quite substantially, and never really caused me much problem afterwards.

    It's pretty obvious that the narrative is the high point of the game. The voice actors deserve credit because they all did a fantastic job. It was a movie-like quality performance by each one, especially Troy Baker as Joel. The story really was what made me keep playing. I wanted to see more of the world, read about what happened to the previous inhabitants, and learn more about the outbreak. On the surface, yes, it is just another clichéd zombie story that we've all heard a million times. But as you dive deeper, you see that Naughty Dog does so much more with it. They know exactly how to make you feel the characters's pain, and they don't pull their punches. It's truly some of the greatest writing in a video game.

    My final point is about the experience as a whole. Some people might argue that it is more of a movie than a game, and even that simply watching the cutscenes provides the same experience. They could not be more wrong. The only real way to fully enjoy The Last of Us is by playing it. A movie equivalent would not be the same. By playing it, you are enabled to create a special connection to the characters, one that cannot be replicated by simply watching alone. The game may be presentation heavy, but it is still a game at it's core.

    In short, The Last of Us is a phenomenal game that really should be played by anyone who can. I went in with expectations that it would be overrated, but it really is something special. Do not hesitate to pick this one up.
    Expand
  37. Aug 31, 2013
    6
    seriously? the universal praise on this is baffling. great story and visuals crippled by cheap play mechanic one hit kills. no thank you. keep your boxy, repetitive environments. this is little more than pac man hiding under layers of sheen (stunted, grim, cliched post apocalyptic sheen)
  38. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    Naughty Dog makes good games. Really good games. The Last of Us premise sounded fairly basic, and not something I usually go for: post-apocalyptic zombies vs regular people. Of course, they had a new twist--the zombies were victims of a fungal brain infection. Still not enough I would likely have tried it ... Except these are the people who made the Uncharted games.

    Graphics:
    Gorgeous.
    A dirty, post-apocalyptic world never looked so good. Seriously, the shadows and reflections are stunning.

    Story:
    Let's just say I was still thinking about the ending days later. The characters are fully realized, with unique and compelling personalities, true to themselves. Both protagonists have moments when you might not even like them, but you always kind of love them. You feel them. Especially, Ellie, who is surprisingly sassy.

    Gameplay:
    Heavy focus on stealth, with plenty of combat and a few environmental puzzles, though nothing as deep as Uncharted. Everything performs so smoothly the control scheme disappears. You can almost forget you're playing a game.

    Because resources like ammo are scarce, you're always trying to deal with or avoid enemies in quiet ways without alerting them. Like silent takedowns, which are a real pleasure, and take just long enough to make you nervous someone's buddy will spot you doing it.

    There are also some upgrades available, both to your character, and even more fun, to your individual weapons. You can increase the clip capacity, reload speed, and so forth. A system that carries over into Newgame +, which I actually tried out a bit just to continue enjoying the enhancement system.

    Overall 10/10
    Expand
  39. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    I'd say this game is a masterpiece, and I'd accept the critique. But I won't. This isn't a game. It's an experience.
    The Last of Us is out of this world. Number one ever. My favorite game of all times. It's just so incredible. I can't put my feelings into words.
  40. Sep 22, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really don't understand why this game gets so much praise, sure it's fun, but the characters and especially the ending is just so stupid! Sure, I get what's going on in the story, but it's all been said before, it's a zombie apocalypse, nothing special.
    As for the characters, I hated them all, Joel was boring, Ellie was close to make me care about her, but didn't really pull at any of my heartstrings.
    And now the part that gives the game such a low score: The ending.
    Okay, after killing thousands of innocent people, Joel gets Ellie (who is immune to the virus) to the Fireflies (the people who are working on a cure), when he realizes that giving Ellie to the Fireflies will end up killing her for the sake of humanity, he grabs an assault rifle and kills everyone in the hospital, and when the leader of the Fireflies tries to make him reason, he pulls a pistol out nowhere and shoots her! Why?! When they give you plenty of choices during the game, why don't we get a choice here?! I wanted to save humanity, but nope, the developers tried their best to make an unappealing story for me.
    And the very end is either a cliffhanger or doesn't make sense, because Joel asks Ellie to never speak of what happened, and end on Ellie saying "yes". So Joel got away with killing a bunch of innocent people? How stupid is that?!
    While I can see why people like this game, it's just not for me, call me a hipster, but it won't change the fact that I think this game was only average.
    Expand
  41. Sep 27, 2013
    7
    Was top contender for GOTY until gta 5 crushed it's hopes. Just unlucky timing ND. And honestly the story isn't anything new. Father loses his daughter, grows colder, finds another little girl, cold to her at first, grows attached to her, eventually sees her as his own... Basically a polished God of War 3 relationship between Kratos and Pandora. Js
  42. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    Sensational !......I just created an account to give my feedback on this game. I will rather describe this in few words than a long review.
    Sensational/ Outstanding/ master of masterpieces/ Amazing Awesome.
  43. Dec 18, 2013
    6
    Is the Last of Us a good game? No, it's a fantastic game. Graphics are good, gameplay is good and cinemathics are even better. So why do I rate it a six?
    Because I continue to have new bugs popping up, which is not normal for a game which is out for more than half a year.
    At 50% of the game, I got a black screen that didn't move on after the initial "the last of us" startup screen. After
    4 retries and a playstation software update it worked again. At 60% of the game, a cinematic didn't work properly so had to skip it. At 85% of the game new cinematic that didn't work properly and crashed my ps3. After restart I could only get past it after skipping the movie. Shortly after, new cinematic which didn't work and since than after starting up the game it halts at either 0 or 15% of the game being loaded. So now again online to find a fix for it, real bummer cus the game is for the rest superb. Expand
  44. Oct 22, 2013
    7
    A good game, but probably would've made a better movie...
    Not a lot of detail needs to go into the pros and cons of this one.
    PROS:
    +The story. The story is at par in my opinion as one of the greatest stories ever told by a video game.
    +The characters. The main characters are real; they are morally questionable but overall lovable, and the villains are hateful disgusting people who you
    wish nothing but ill will upon.
    CONS:
    -Rather predictable; you know who is going to die the second you lay eyes on the poor sucker.
    -Doesn't tell you where to go so you'll be stumbling in the dark for longer than you should.
    -Some points can seem repetitive like a lot of story only games.
    Expand
  45. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Moving story, amazing soundtrack, fantastic graphics and a real feel for what your characters are going through. Naughty Dog have delivered the very best for PS3. A must have!
  46. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    An extremely gorgeous, impressive, emotional, action-filled story. It has a lot of weapons, a really varied scenery, a very good gameplay and oustanding graphics. The multiplayer is really enjoyable. The two main characters, Joel and Ellie have a really huge contrast and a really good dynamic. I love the scenes in which Ellie would just say you to anyone she found and Joel would just smash everyone onto the floor. Every moment that wasn´t just action-filled was full of conversations between the protagonists. I think I´ve said it all. Why won´t you buy the game already???!!!! Expand
  47. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    As with many reviewers on Metacritic I must start by saying that this is easily the best game I have ever played in my 30+ years of gaming. Never before have I been swept off my feet by a game and taken on an intense, emotional and visually stunning journey. I have played many great games over the years, but when a game can touch you to the extent that a week after finishing it I find that it is still on my mind, well, I reckon that is saying something. The VA and MC is in my humble opinion, second to none. The gameplay and tactics are awesome and the game, to it's credit, really doesn't give you much in the way of items in order to upgrade weapons and health, you really do have to scavenge and use what you find very wisely. I think also that being the father of two daughters not all that much older than Ellie really added to the emotional aspect of the game, in fact, I'm not ashamed to say that this bloody game made me cry on more than a few occasions and it has had the same effect on both my daughters, probably because they mean so much to me and they are so awesome that I can relate to Joel's emotional pain throughout the game. I can't really say much more than that without giving away too much info, needles to say, if there is one game that everyone should at least give a go it's The Last Of Us. Personally, I feel it craps on GTA though at the same same time they are completely different types of game but just based on their metascore, TLOU is deserving of a higher score, but that's just me, GTA is still an excellent game. Expand
  48. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Really good game...this game is a must play! I have never written a review about games but for this game I make no exception. If you haven't played this game you never played before.
  49. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Graphics: Updated engine, looks realistic, and on the level of Uncharted, but character models look better. Uncharted has the water advantage in some areas, and others it’s the same. 10.

    Sound: Amazing professional voice acting, sounds/themes are perfect and match with the gameplay. 10.

    Gameplay: The game is a survival game with stealth elements, and shooting portions, and
    overall the game is intense. It’s hard to aim making it more realistic, but you can upgrade you’re stats with supplements. There are items you can craft such as health kits, grenades, upgrade melee weapon, bow, etc. You must make use of your supplies as you progress through the game, and you must search houses, garages, everywhere to ensure you get everything(optional but if you don’t you may have a hard time further in the game). It’s a linear experience, but one of the best experienced, alongside the Uncharted series. For a survival game it’s one of the best I have ever played. 10.

    Story: The game has a major impact at the start which no game has ever had. After the game is a little bit slow building up the storyline, 2 hours later for the story to progress. Amazing moments in the middle, and near the end of the game, but I felt that while Naughty Dog didn’t leave a cliff hanger ending, they purposely left room to continue this New IP. 10.

    Replay Value: The single player can range up to 20 hours, and there’s a multiplayer. The multiplayer consists of a lot of stealth, it’s a good add-on, and I didn’t give it much time but I still enjoyed it. 10.

    Overall Score: 10 out of 10.
    Expand
  50. Dec 31, 2013
    6
    The Last of Us fails as a game. Now now, that may not be bad. It just means that I dont care for it at all as a gaming experience. I am new to gaming and have a very black and white approach to games. All that I ask is to have some fun in this interactive experience.

    There are sections in the last of us, where you will be thrown so many enemies that you will feel overwhelmed and that is
    what the creators want you to feel. What they do not want you to do is try to fight them off and they impose that by making the enemies invincible in those moments. They will fall, appear dead, and then get back up again and again for no reason other than to tell you that you are not supposed to fight them in this scene and that you should run instead.

    This is MENTAL. Especially for a cinematic game which does not want to take you out of the immersion. If I cant fight them, then why not just have a cutscene of Joel getting into the car as soon as he was able to instead of having to realize it for myself. It’s like the game also wants to be a game and not just a movie you can experience playing. But it messes up by doing so. This is one example of many instances where you feel forced to certain actions, limiting your options and your control over what you do. During a stealth segment, the game can decide to have your accompanying npcs either talk loudly, walk around or even worse shooting at the creatures. Talking loudly and walking around will throw you out of the immersion instantly but it’s not as bad as when the NPCs decide to shoot because the game will actually react to that and enemy attention will be drawn. Did I mention these enemies kill you instantly? Just great. The checkpoint system is also very flawed and frustrating. It can save right before one of those instant kill enemies notice you and everytime you load up the game, you die again and again, forcing you to restart the section.
    I am dragging, but what I mean to say is that in a game that prioritizes story, making it overly difficult and having purposeful glitches and NPCs not concerned with the environment, just keeps adding distance between you and the game. It isn’t fun to play in that sense and the great story can’t be enjoyed as much. This is very much unlike Walking Dead, which has a similar story and environment but has the gameplay be simple for one to follow the story as closely as possible with no frustrations.

    I had no interest in playing the game after about 10 hours of playing it. I felt no reward from playing it, no fun. I dreaded every encounter because I knew it was just there for it to be called a game (because a movie about this would be unoriginal in this day and age, especially with Cormac McArtney's The Road). So I went on youtube and looked at someone else beating the game at the end. The combat was boring but I got the resolution of the ending and I preferred it this way because the guy playing was a pro and I didn’t have to worry about dying at every turn just to get to the end. I literally had more enjoyment from watching this play out as a video than playing it. That, my friend, does not make it a game in my book.
    Expand
  51. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    This game is rich in character depth, story, gameplay, graphics, voice acting and fun.
    It's challenging where it needs to be, beautiful where it needs to be and dark where it can be. With compelling characters, an interesting premise and a jaw dropping story this game is a must play.
  52. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    Un juego increíble, la trama te enganchará desde el primer minuto hasta el último, el modo historia dura mas de 15 horas, con una jugabilidad excepcional, te enganchará, va mas allá de lo que prometía, el doblaje esta genial, los gráficos son excelentes, los escenarios tan inmensos para poder indagar de casa en casa, para poder investigar, descubrir, tiene momentos de mucha tensión y mas de una vez te llevarás algún susto, una vez mas los creadores de Uncharted vuelven a sorprenderme con un juego exquisito y que pone el broche de oro al catalogo de Playstation 3, compra obligada, juego fascinante, totalmente recomendado. No te arrepentirás. Expand
  53. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    I honestly cannot think of the words to describe this amazing horror survival adventure. This is by far one of my favorite games of all time, I have run through the story 5 times, and it never gets old, the stealth mechanics in TLOU are great, the graphics are the best out of any PS3 game I have ever played imo. this game is revolutionary and a great buy, the story is very unique and touching, you almost instantly fall in love with joel and ellie! highly recommend this game to anyone. Oh, and the multiplayer is very addictive, and i loved that just as much as the story, 4v4 makes it so stealth is needed to get good which i personally love. keep it up naughty dog! Expand
  54. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    Playing this game I got the same feeling as playing Half-Life 2(HL being in my top 3).
    Sure the game had some technical issues but story wise it was perfect; fun game play, one of the most enjoyable stealth time game. I think that I would like to have the possibility to move the bodys.
    The weapons have a very good feeling and the melee attacks the best I ever experienced. I got a very
    satisfying feeling when I could use successfully the bow and a shiv attack. Expand
  55. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    i had mixed emotions buying this game, was it going to be like some other games being overrated and completely thank god it wasn't, in fact this game lived up to all the rants and even went beyond. its story telling was brilliant and even left me with emotional scars which may never heal...(spoiler) and that was in the first 15 minutes of the game. everything else that follows is just a masterpiece that has to be witnessed by all.
    10/10 would 100% recommend
    Expand
  56. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    By far, the best game of this generation. The Last Of Us provides a gripping story with very realistic and likable characters.
    One really thing that really sets The Last Of Us apart from Naughty Dogs past creations, is The Last Of Us Use of grotesque violence. But is enjoyable and satisfying every step of the way.

    Anyways, shut up, take out your wallet, and buy this game!
  57. Dec 17, 2013
    7
    I'm one of those people who got TLOU expecting a masterpiece to be remembered for years, but found myself unable to connect to the Feelings so many others seem to have. It's not a bad game, but it's far from "the best game ever", as some call it. Let me explain.

    The prologue (the first playable sequence) showed a lot of promise. The story was very well presented, there were interactable
    objects all over the house that told me a bit more about the characters,and there were some calm, emotionally touching moments followed by the very exciting intro to the "Zombie apocalypse" scenario.

    Sadly, the intro was the best part of the game. The story then very abruptly changed to a point in time 20 years later with little explanation of what happened in the meantime, and the story "evolved" to a rather predictable relay race from one zombie-infested location to the next. Maybe others didn't find it as predictable, but I've watched and played a lot of zombie apocalypse scenarios since they became popular (the reason Ellie is special and needs to be saved has been done before, as well), and once you understand that the designers intend for you to keep sneaking or shooting your way past more and more clusters of infected with little to no meaningful human interaction in between, it's hard to be drawn in emotionally.

    There were no more interactive objects apart from occasional notes to pick up and read. Other characters can't be talked to apart from strictly scripted and linear FMVs (and in those, you can't even choose what answer you want to give), all those other survivors in the first location are just background decoration. The secondary main character remains a stranger for the most part, and you can't make any meaningful decisions that influence the story. The game is extremely linear. I had expected something more along the lines of The Walking Dead (by Telltale), whose story is 10 times more emotionally touching and exciting with the difficult decisions it forces you to make. Rather than just excuses to send more hordes of zombies at you at the next stop of the pre-determined relay race.

    I'm someone who cries very easily, even when reading books, but I absolutely cannot relate to the people who claim The Last of Us made them cry. There just wasn't enough story in between the linear zombie human soldier mashing for me to care about the characters.

    As for the gameplay, it isn't bad, but both the sneaking and melee shooting have been done better, by far. Enemies don't see you behind knee-high boxes, in full daylight, when they are one meter away, and the friendly NPCs with their awkward pathing run right into hordes of opponents (while you are carefully sneaking around) without being noticed. That is, if they're not blocking your way. Some help they are! Sneaking generally works well, but after the xth large group of clickers spread over multiple rooms it gets dull, it's not a challenge, just takes a long time because you need to move very slowly. Ammo is too limited for shooting to be a permanent alternative, so you're forced to sneak. Melee isn't always an alternative either, as clickers will grab and instakill you if you don't kill them with the first melee hit. Deus Ex Human Revoution shows how sneaking and shooting can blend together well in a single game (and how to make sneaking fun), the same isn't true here.

    The graphics are decent. Nothing world-shaking as some would have you believe, the FMVs are however very well done, with facial expressions that come close to Heavy Rain's quality.

    In a nutshell:

    -Story has been done MUCH better (The Walking Dead, Deus Ex HR, Heavy Rain etc). Extremely linear, no meaningful decisions, only a few randomly scattered notes to read apart from fully scripted FMVs.
    -Sneaking was done better by the Thief series 10+ years ago, as well as others
    -Shooter friends will be disappointed by the lack of ammo and forced to sneak
    -Gameplay gets very repetitive, very small number of different infected and the same 2 or so types of human soldiers.

    I'd like to mention something that was truly "great" but nothing comes to mind. It's not a bad game, it was fun, though without any chair-gripping excitement or truly memorable moments. I'd recommend it at a reduced price, without high expectations.
    Expand
  58. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    This is the best game I ever played on PS3. Great atmosphere and some incredible voice acting. The scene with the giraffes is one I will always remember. If you have a PS3, this game is a must-play!
  59. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    Well. It's great game. Must have for every Ps3 owner. Plot is just great Joel and Ellie are most holding in memory characters ever created. Naughty Dog can make awesome games
  60. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    The Last Of Us is not just the best PS3 Game it is the best game ever made
    The Game Has Amazing Story beautiful Graphics it is the easiest 10 i have ever given a game
  61. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    This game is primarily a story telling device, it's about the atmosphere and character interactions. Is it survival horror? Well you're never afraid to die, you're not going to be set back very far. You do have to conserve ammo a little bit and it really helps your enjoyment of the game if you approach situations strategically; while you can pretty much run and gun it you won't find this way of playing very fun. Remember, this isn't Call of Duty, it isn't a shooting gallery and as long as you don't play it like it is you should have a great experience with this game.

    My only criticism is that there isn't enough variety in the scrap you can salvage and utilise, there's surely only so many pairs of broken scissors in the world? And that's it, that's all the criticism I have.
    Expand
  62. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A game that has outstanding depth and character development, along with a fantastic story, questionable decisions, and towards the end, an almost seemingly unethical turn around for the entire game. Just to point out, I have used the spoilers disclaimer, and I rarely use it; this review does contain some pretty big spoilers, so just in case you disputed the disclaimer, please bear that in mind.

    So, to start with, the game opens with an incredibly emotional scenario; starting off as Joel's daughter, you end up caught in an escalating event, an incredibly dramatic set up for the entire story. Passing through the town, and into the city, the game throws some incredibly elaborate (and some rather subtle) set pieces that truly drag you deep into the catastrophe. This immersion is something which should be plentiful nowadays, unfortunately isn't. It really shows how far Naughty Dog have come since their debut with Crash Bandicoot. The intro makes you think, and feel, as though you are truly there.

    The game itself is set twenty years later, beginning in a tight quarantine zone. Throughout the game, you will experience a plethora of various environments; cityscapes, suburbs, sewers, city outskirts and forests, and small towns. Whilst the most commonplace is downtown cities, the game definitely mixes it up with varied and beautifully detailed areas, which definitely keep the game fresh.

    Throughout the game, Joel and Ellie (a young girl who seems to hold the key to immunity to the disease) develop in ways I personally rarely see in games, with exception to Spec Ops; The Line. Several decisions they make could be questioned on their necessity, and towards the end, Joel becomes something almost barbaric. This character development should be noted, as it begins to blur the line as to who the bad guys REALLY are. At the end of the game, Joel makes probably the most controversial decision in the entire game; killing those that could be considered the saviours of mankind, all to protect Ellie. Whether this move could be considered good or evil is far from difficult, and leaves the player thinking hard, long after the game is over.

    In terms of gameplay, the survival aspects are fantastic, the combat brutal (bullet shots FEEL like bullet shots, each taking a huge impact on the player), and overall, keeps you on the edge at all times. Expect to die a lot, but also to feel satisfied should you make it through. This game is not for the faint of heart, but giving you the option of either stealth or guns blazing is something which can involve a far greater range of audience. Expect, however, to have to perform both, as supplies are scarce, and complete stealth throughout the entire game is expected only of true gaming ninjas. Prepare to put up a fight.

    Overall, the game is fantastic and diverse, with occasional break points, where you are free to just wander around and take in each environment, gathering supplies for further confrontation. Combat is, of course, plentiful, and this game suits those looking for both a good story, and a game that provides decent stealth and survival aspects on the side. Should those meet your needs, buy this game. It's far beyond worth it. I haven't yet touched multiplayer, but in the singleplayer alone, this game is well deserving of a 10/10.

    Naughty Dog have done it again.
    Expand
  63. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a game this is. From start to finish this game grips and excites you. It's all about survival you can't help but get right into the storyline as the characters are just average normal people it's so easy to relate to them and put yourself in that situation.

    The graphics, the locations, the backdrop, the noises, the music has all been carefully put together and is totally in sync with each other. The atmosphere is frightening with strange noises or footsteps echoing around the corner.

    No negatives at all to speak of (wish the storyline lasted longer as it is so good is the only thing). This game is close to perfection and totally unique. Easily the game of the year and just as easily in my top 10 of all time games as it is so different from the standard RPG/FPS/Adventure games out there. Ignore the handful of negative comments about tiny irrelevant details. THIS GAME IS AWESOME

    Bravo Naughty Dog 9.5/10
    Expand
  64. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    Naughty Bear's Left 4 Dead 3 is a stellar game that should get attention from every video game fanatic. You fight your way through necromorphs and the rebel alliance along with your AI partner Ellen Page,
  65. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    This,this game is a masterpiece. I don't care what you think otherwise but this 50$ or £40 is the best you'll spend/or would spend in 2013/2014 Naughty Dog outdid themselves with this, it is even better than a classic for the PS one 'Crash Bandicoot'.Although the start is very hard to swallow with the slowness and the death of his daughter,but that over comes itself with the bondage that him and Ellie grow over the course of this magnificent game. The detail here is mind blowing it pushes the PS3 to the limit,i'm glad i chose this console over the XBOX 360 becuase even though if i had an XBOX 360 i would go out my way and buy a PS3 and this game,and i would play it over and over,but i have already done that and i saved some money also.All pf this was based on the Single Player,now onto the MP or what it's called in the menu 'Factions'.This game wouldn't need that game mode,it would still get those 10/10's 5/5's and 100./100's but with that stealth/survivor mode it makes the game so more fun and adds much replay value.In that mode you start with nearly nothing and it makes you open little red tool boxes with the tools part and crafting materials so you can help your team win.You going have to choose between the rebellion side and the Firefly side which are mentioned in the single player and Joel must help the firefly leader to deliver a 'Package'.But in here you don't come close to do stuff like that,you have your own 'clan' that you must need to feed and expand by doing good in your matches and then you collect 'food' to make sure your survivors are healthy well fed and not hungry.

    If you are wanting to buy this masterpiece of a game i recommend doing it now,this moment,run.
    And if you have an XBOX buy a ps3 and this game or buy the game and go to a friend that has a ps3 push him out the way and play it.
    Expand
  66. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    I'm going to start this review by making a bold statement. The Last of Us is the best PlayStation 3 game you will ever play. The timing of this game's release, a few months before the PlayStation 4 is no co-incidence. The PS3 has had a good run, but developers have finally reached the limit with the quality of gaming they can produce, but what a way to finish.

    The Last of Us is set in
    the U.S.A. after the cordyceps infection has ravaged the human race, turning humans into vicious, aggressive, almost rabid-like creatures. The game follows the story of Joel, as he attempts to smuggle Ellie, who is immune to the disease, across the country to safety, with plenty of surprises on the way (I'm being deliberately vague to avoid spoilers). The plot almost resembles a movie script rather than a video game; you'll understand if you've played the game. The ending (again without giving away any plot details) brilliantly leaves the plot open for a sequel; Sony also recently registered domain names relating to The Last of Us 2 and The Last of Us 3 read into that what you will.

    Whilst technically a linear game, The Last of Us is probably as close to an open-world game as a linear can be; exploration, strategy and resources play a key part in the game. The combat system in The Last of Us is probably as a real a combat experience as you will get on a video game. Much like real-life, resources are very limited and weapons are very powerful. You can't simply hide from enemies and wait for your health to regenerate, instead the player must use health packs, which can be either acquired or created by the player using resources.

    The player can use a variety of firearms in the game, ranging from pistols, to shotguns, to hunting rifles. As ammunition is hard to come by, as in reality, players are often better off using melee weapons, such as baseball bats and planks of wood. Both firearms and melee weapons can be upgraded using parts (a resource which can be found).

    Resources are one of the most important aspects of The Last of Us, the player can use them as weapons, ammunition, to distract enemies, replenish their health, upgrade weapons or to access certain areas. Resources such as health packs can also be created by crafting raw materials collected by the player.

    The player also has the ability to upgrade weapons using collectable tools, and the opportunity to upgrade their character by collecting bottles of pills.

    Whilst it's clear that Naughty Dog focused on the single-play, they have included a multiplayer element as well. Like other Naughty Dog games, it's relatively poor compared to the single-player, but The Last of Us' multiplayer, known as Factions, is a good attempt. The multiplayer takes place in the same environment as the game. Players choose one of two Factions, Fireflies (in yellow) and Hunters (in blue). There are no special abilities which are unique to any faction. The player leads a clan of survivors through 12 weeks, gathering supplies in order to advance the clan. Each match counts as one day, and supplies must be gathered to supply the clan; if the necessary supplies aren't gathered then clan members will begin to get hungry, get ill or die. Clan members can then be healed by reaching the required numbers of supplies. The Factions game mode can also be linked to Facebook.

    To sum it up, The Last of Us will be, in my opinion, the best PS3 exclusive you will ever play, and possibly the best game you'll ever play on PS3 (the only real game that could compete with it is Grand Theft Auto V). The plot will keep you entertained for hours, and probably more.
    Expand
  67. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    My favourite single player game of all time.

    The story was incredibly addictive, made me never want to put my controller down, and like a good book, I found myself thinking about the characters when I wasn't playing it.

    If you play one game in your lifetime, make it this game.
  68. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    This is the best game I have played in the last gen of games, it was creepy and scary at times and it looked fantastic, naughty dog really out did themselves in this game, hope there next game/franchise if even better. If that is at all possible.
  69. Jan 15, 2014
    8
    It's true, in my opinion, that it doesn't live up to the hype. But that doesn't stop it from being a complete pleasure to play. I would have awarded it more points, but the story (whilst being very strong) didn't resonate with me on the emotional level I really wanted. Yet stunning visuals and fun gameplay easily make it one of the best games of 2013
  70. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    This is the best game ever made since Final Fantasy VII IMO. This should be GOTY and this is top 5 game of all time in my top 10 list !!!. GTA V is overrated and this game is way better.
  71. Jan 16, 2014
    10
    Not for the faint of heart. This is the kind of game that is so dark, gritty and uncompromisingly brutal, that you are probably gonna want to take a shower. I don't know how I didn't play this sooner. The Last of Us features, in my opinion, the most engrossing story in the history of video games. Everything about the game is heart-wrenching. You feel the pain, sadness, and utter despair through every moment.

    The combat is fantastic and is an example for all 3rd person shooters. Fantastic mechanics, good cover system, and endless possibilities in terms of taking on enemies. The gameplay feels so natural, it is often panic-inducing.

    As if the story isn't worth the price tag, the multiplayer is endlessly entertaining. Unlike run-of-the-mill multiplayer experiences (COD for example), this requires teamwork and smart use of resources. It can be a little overwhelming at first. It has a pretty steep learning curve, but after getting acquainted with the single player, it becomes second nature. I tend to burnout on games after 10 hours or so, but The Last of Us is an exception.

    Graphics are A+. Can't say anything more.

    If you enjoy intense gaming experiences and want something that will stick with you, play this NOW.
    Expand
  72. Jan 21, 2014
    7
    An absolutely amazing game from what little I've been able to play. Only reason it didn't get a 10 was the fact that after getting around 25% of the way thru the game started glitchung and then would crash and have literally spent more time trying to fox that then playing the game on its own.
  73. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    Mine think its the best game ever my life what i have ever played, i have played in pc many years, now i got ps3 and when i get hands on The Last Of Us its just looks phenomenal, it's masterpiece. I finished game two days ago and in end i realized, how can be game that awesome all if this game is so perfect and beautiful. Mine think its yes the best game ever, seriously.

    NaughtyDog has
    made excellent work agin. I thinking do purchase Post-Pandemic Edition or Survival Edition, probably Survival one. If this game self even cost 300€ i will definitely buy that without think about that. Thants are mine rating of that game.

    Also i have allready pre-orded Left Behind SP DLC, cannot wait when 14 come :P
    So now if i see rating overall that game ign/gamespot/eurogamer all give max points.

    The Last Of Us - Masterpiece Art of game.
    Expand
  74. Feb 9, 2014
    7
    The game is good. It’s not the most amazing thing on the planet, it’s not revolutionary; it’s just good. The story is great and the gameplay is well thought out, however, I do not see what the big deal is and how it deserves to be deemed a masterpiece.
  75. Feb 14, 2014
    2
    This game combines all of the worst elements of the 1980 zombie movies with the more irritating aspects of Uncharted. In terms of cinema, it is stunning (here the score not being zero.) In terms of game play, this is not a game for those not versed in run-and-gun tripe. The combat, even at easier levels totally gets in the way of the story line (what there is of it) and thereby discourages all but the most hard core combat fanatics.

    All I can say is: "NAUGHTY, NAUGHTY DOG!"

    I bought this on PSN and sure wish I had my money back so I could use it to search for something else as pleasurable as the Uncharted series. Those I enjoyed. This, however, marks my split from the Naugthy Dog family. They are going to have to do something unbelievable to ever get another dime out of me.
    Expand
  76. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    One of the best PS3 games I have ever played. The graphics, voice acting, plot, and the relationship between Joel and Ellie made this a game that has stuck with me well after completion. There were several moments that completely took me by surprise, but I don't want to list them here due to spoilers. The only complaint with the game is that the partner AI was sometimes a little buggy. But there are so many great things about this game that somewhat glitchy AI is not too significant.

    Overall, I highly recommend this game to any PS3 owner. One of the best games of the generation indeed.
    Expand
  77. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    To put it simply, if they did a re-release of this game on the PS4, i'd buy it again full price and buy a PS4 in the process even though i played through this game 6 times and done achievement runs.

    This game is not without its flaws, the auto-save system isn't the best, there really isn't anyone playing the multilayer, and as a mainly PC gamer i found the lack of AA annoying (but i
    guess that's most console games).. but even with the flaws the experience I've had with this game is possibly one of the best.

    if you have not played this, it is definitely worth checking out as i think its one of the (if not the) best games on last gen consoles.
    Expand
  78. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    10/10 This is my favorite game ever, the game play is stellar, with the crafting and challenging stealth give you satisfaction when you finally make it through a part.

    The visuals are intense, contrasting from the gloomiest lows to the most beautiful outdoor parts.

    While the Playstation's ancient hardware leaves much to be desired, this game makes the best of it. With the help of
    some tricks Naughty Dog was able to maintain a mainly solid 30FPS at 720p. Unfortunately with that said the noisy PS3 can sometimes be a bother.

    The story is where this game just leaves everything else behind, everything, ever, this game is an epic of a scale no other game even gets close to. Character so human with real reactions and no superpowers, it is a nice change to see.
    Expand
  79. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    Personally I think journey is the best game ever but TLoU comes second and still gets a 10. There were some flaws in the game - invisible sniper anyone???? and there were so many instances where i lost immersion, like ellie and the clickers and how in the ending the game got super hard... ND you should know better!!!!

    But my goodness if you werent moved by this game you have a heart of
    stone. I cried more in the game than in the last harry potter book! People who say games are only for kids or to waste time are stoopid! and should play this game cause they'll realize their backwards views are wrong.

    Now i want ND to make a new ip every four years i'm sick of stupid sequels. People read masterpiece books so shouldn't people play masterpiece games over and over???? Think about it.

    But anyway obvious goty and snobs who say "OMG isn't on PC" dont deserve to play this masterpiece.
    Expand
  80. Feb 22, 2014
    8
    Very good game, however, it is overrated. It's just not quite the 10/10 , game of the generation people say it is. The game play is good, for what it is (slow paced, survival gameplay), but taking a time out to look for a ladder, or pausing to use "listening mode" while sneaking really took me out of the game, and hurt the immersion. The game's story is also nothing special. Although presented well (fantastic voice acting and narrative, and some of the most beautiful cut scenes I've ever) seen) the story is predictable, and the ending was abrupt. Joel and Ellie though, we're fantastic characters, and there was emotion in latter parts of the game. The aesthetics are amazing. The game has the looks of a next-gen game, is backed by a great soundtrack, and as I said before, is presented EXTREMELY well through cut scenes and voice acting the likes of which could give a dialogue-heavy game like Mass Effect could contend with. All this said, I would give this game a 7/10, but this game has other trick up it's sleeve, offering one of the most enjoyable multiplayers I've ever played. A 4v4 versus match is set up, offering 3 modes. A TDM, a no re-spawn TDM, and a mode called "Interrogation," where you must execute enemies to gain info on their lockbox location, which you then must open. The latter is the most enjoyable mode. It is essentially a refined Uncharted 3 multiplayer, with survival aspects and a two-sided story line. This boosts my review to an 8/10. My final word: A GotY nominee, but I would not hand it the award. Expand
  81. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    The Last Of Us is a true gaming marvel. It achieves the pinnacle of story telling along with a fantastic combat system. The game may have a few bugs, like when you're sneaking around infected or hunters, your companions might walk right in front of them or run around the place and not get detected.

    I believe this game is at it's best when Joel an Ellie are battling with hunters and
    covering on another. A moment that made me smile was when I was out of ammo in my guns, Ellie shouted out "Hey, a**hole!" and then threw a brick at him allowing me to run at him and smash his head against the wall.

    Naughty Dog have really outdone themselves once again. Even with Uncharted, I got bored of the combat eventually, because it just felt like I was being forced through these repetitive combat sequences to get to the next cut scene. But with The Last Of Us, I didn't feel this was whatsoever. I enjoyed the combat system because it felt fluid and realistic. Every punch of your fist or smack of a metal pipe felt like it had weight to it. I especially liked how after getting shot or hit in the face, Joel's nose or other part of his face might be bleeding.

    Each combat (or stealth) sequence also felt unique. Different areas allow for different strategies, will I go up on that balcony and get a vantage point, or will I just sneak by and avoid a confrontation entirely. These are the choices that give this game a feeling of originality.

    The Last Of Us is one of the defining game of every generation, it blends immersive combat with a truly great story about a middle aged man and a teenage girl crossing the United States of America which has been desolated by an infection.
    Expand
  82. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    GOOD: great and engaging story, good characters, plays out like a movie, superb first impressions, beautiful and lush environments, very hard, makes you feel cautious throughout the entire game, excellent crafting system, awesome guns and equipment, you have the need to use everything which makes you feel like nothing in the game is useless, have to find equipment because resources are scarce, Ellie is a good partner, got to play as Ellie, fun multiplayer in which you also have to be cautious, one of the creepiest boss battles ever, and a nice ending

    BAD: capped at 720P, I did not have the need to get every single collectible

    FINAL VERDICT: Games like this makes people think why we need a new console generation every 7 years. The Last Of Us is easily the best Sony exclusive ever made and one of the top 10 best games ever.
    Worth $60 dollars and worth buying a PS3 just to play it. This game should be played by everyone single gamer.
    Expand
  83. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    It's hard to find words that can describe this game, but all i can say is wow. This game is pure brilliant and by far the best game that i have ever played. If you are thinking of getting this game - do. I can't recommend it enough and you will not regret buying it.
  84. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    What hasn't been said about this game that hasn't already been said. This game is a masterpiece, a stroke of pure genius from Naughty Dog. From the story to the multiplayer, there is no excuse not to play this game. Its a force of nature. The story is unforgivingly tragic and straight forward, unlike most games on the market. The performances are Oscar worthy and deserve nearly all the praise it's been getting. The multiplayer is fantastic and is a breath of fresh air for Battlefield or CoD fans. If you own a PS3, there is no reason that you shouldn't buy this game, it's a masterpiece. Expand
  85. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    Perfection doesn't exist. The Last Of Us on PS3 shouldn't exist either. What sorcery is this? How is the PS3 able to have this jewel in its crown? Naughty Dog used dark magic on the PS1 to create the Crash Bandicoot games, and again on the PS3 to create Uncharted 2, but this game... it's the equivalent of Nintendo's Super Mario Galaxy 2 on the Wii, a game that shouldn't exist on that system, but it does. Expand
  86. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Naughty Dog did it again. They created an awesome game with an awesome storyline, awesome movements, awesome and scary enemies and of course awesome scenarios and graphics. This game is the best.
  87. Mar 28, 2014
    10
    Easily the best game of 2013. The story is one of the most emotional ones out there, the graphics are amazing and the fact it's running on old hardware is also amazing. The multiplayer is good which you usually in single-player based games there bad. If you don't own a ps3 this is a good reason to get one.
  88. Jan 19, 2014
    9
    Never have I completed an interactive experience such as this one. An incredibly beautifully created game with intense, solid, brutal gameplay, and a narrative that grips and keeps moving you along in a way that I've never had before. Fantastic acting and dynamic interactions. The character movement may feel a bit clunky compared to other current titles, but it's a small thing to overlook when considering the overall masterpiece that this gem really is. A greatly satisfying and thought-provoking journey. Expand
  89. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    Excellent and good game, but I expect more of this and the reason that the ads suggest you do so!
    We hope to be next to be much better by adil khojah from saudi arabiya
  90. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    It's the cohesiveness that astonishes The best script and cut scenes in computer games meets extremely polished gameplay and stunning set pieces all held together with pitch perfect pacing to create something that looks like an amazing movie yet still feels like a amazing game.
    Computer games aren't meant to be swimming around your head days after you complete them but this one did.
    Computer games shouldn't leve you open mouthed in awe but this one did. Computer games aren't meant to make you cry but this one did. Enough said. Expand
  91. Feb 17, 2014
    9
    even though this game is EXTREMELY overrated, i still think "The Last of Us" is a pretty great game. my hugest issue with the game is that unlike every other stealth game there is no failsafe. once you've been spotted, there is no way out of "alert mode". besides that complaint, everything else i have to say about this game is praise. the story is excellent, the gameplay can be quite scary at times, the game can be brutally difficult if you don't play wisely, the graphics are better than most ps4 games out right now and even the multiplayer is really fun Expand
  92. Sep 18, 2013
    9
    This is my first review for metacritic. And there's no better game to start off with.

    If the Last of Us isn't game of the year, demand a recount. This is one of the most enjoyable games for the PS3. The story, although often rehashed with the premise of surviving a zombie ridden world, TLOU provides a great story. Joel, is paired up with Ellie, a young girl who seems to be the key to
    ending or at least surpress the spread of zombies. Ellie is immune, and a group called the Fireflies wants to get a hold of Ellie. That's all I'll say for now. The presentation or visuals, gritty, dark, perfect. You really get that feeling of wanting to survive. The sound, music fits right in with what's happening on screen, the voice acting is great. The clickers are as creepy as they look. I dare anyone to play this on their sound system at night, late night. The combat is where it shines. You are limited in ammunition and weapons in general. I really felt the need to move around and make sure my shots count. There's an excellent crafting system as well. You get to craft shivs), bombs, smoke bombs, and molotovs. The enemies, a rebel group of hunters, the aforementioned fireflies, and the zombies, which are called clickers. They come in different versions depending on how long someone has been infected. This might be my only real gripe about the game. There were many variations of clickers but I felt as if there should have been more. It's minor. Once you complete the game, you have the option to try it again on harder difficulties. I'm on new game plus.

    And then there's the online. This is a breath of fresh air! Warning, if you're a COD gamer, the online is not for you. The online is much slower paced and incorporates the crafting system found in the single player. Nicely done. Teamwork is the main key to the online. In one mode, supply raid, each team has 20 reinforcements or tickets. When a player dies, a reinforcement is used. The team that runs out of reinforcements loses. There's also a no supply raid (no respawn) mode and an interrogation mode. The downside is there are only 3 modes but there's much potential to have more. Interrogation was the new mode added recently.

    If you're looking for a great adventure/survival game, The Last of Us is the game to play.
    Expand
  93. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    The greatest game of this generation. We dive into this universe in awe and full emotion capacity. The Last Of Us portrays its message clearly and gives us an experience that we may never get again (unless Naughty Dog tops it off with a sequel, which is not impossible btw, hehe.) But hey, I have never played a video game as spectacular as this. I can emphasize with the story and the way it invites us to enter its universe is really marvelous. An unforgettable video game, it still resonates to this day in my mind. Expand
  94. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    Recipe for one of the greatest games ever. 1part Resident Evil, 1 part Metal Gear Solid, 1 part Far Cry 3. These are the 3 games that came to mind when playing, "The Last of Us". Whomever was responsible for RE 5 and 6, should be ashamed of themselves after playing this game. This is how Survival horror should be done. I wouldn't be surprised if future developers copy the formula for this game. It is a thrilling roller coaster ride of feelings and emotions while playing. It is my first game in which the narrative actually made me uncomfortable during CG scenes. How the developers blended survival horror with stealth was genius. When enemies are alerted, the game actually sounds off with the same alert you hear when playing Metal Gear. It makes me wonder, if they had to liscense that from Konami. Ammo? Yes, there is ammo, and health kits, and craftable items. However, these items are scarce, and when you do come across them. BUCKLE UP!! because your going for a gut wrenching, intense ride of gameplay that you've never experienced. The Uncharted simuarities are here as well. The Graphics, cut scenes, and even some light platforming elements brought Uncharted to mind. The slight visual cues of where to go next we're a nice touch and typical of naughty dog games. My comparison to Far Cry 3 is small, but it was there. Every time you run into a group of enemies, there is a strategy you can formulate to take them all down in your most efficient way possible. Some encounters, you don't even have to fight if you choose the stealthiest path. Good luck with that. Why? because when you encounter your first human enemy, you will be terrified. You will panic and probably try to Call of Duty them to death, and you will lose. Then you will have your first run in with an infected, and the same thing will happen. At some point you will hide behind cover for awhile and hope they just go away. But they won't. You will have to engage at some point and attempt to dispatch them, while your mouth fills with vomit from the constant stress and anxiety you will experience. There is down time. During these moments, things will appear tranquill and serene. You will ask questions of the world created by Naughty Dog. How can post apocolypto be some pretty and f'd up at the same time? After your nerves are racked, there will be moments of, "why is the game prompting me to pick up this weapon?" why is there unlimited ammo for a moment? "OH! so you can kick my ass some more......" End scene, and some down time before they mind F you some more. Unbelieveable. Anyone that owns a PS3 should purchase this game. I personally loved it and hated it at the same time. I am not a fan of stealth games like Metal Gear, Splinter Cell and some of my worst moments of Assassins Creed games. It makes me want to go back and try those games again. I feel like i've just been sent to Survival Horror, Stealth bootcamp. The great part is, the game does a great job of building you up and ripping you down. In it's finale, you will have a variety of killing devices at you diposal. I guarantee you won't use them. Because the game sucks? NO!! because by the time you arrive at the finish line, it's crucibal, you will be a seasoned killing machine, that relys on cunning tactics and stealth to get through. You will feel empowered, like a predator stalking it's prey. Your enemies will fear you, and you will be numb with emotion. All the items in your inventory are there to tease the weak. Those that decide to Rambo their way through the end, will have missed out on what makes it great. Which is why the game punishes you for using that type of strategy. It can be done, but it will be a harder path. Those indaviduals that can stay calm and focus their emotions will get most of what this world is all about. It took me 2 weeks to beat this game. Partly because of my disdain for games like this and also becuase it terrified me. Anymore than 45- 60 min a sitting was all I could stomach. I was petrified of what was waiting for me around every corner. I thought this game was great. It was made for everybody and nobody at the same time. Most people play video games to have fun and let loose. This game is not fun. Not in the way that your used to anyway. Gamers that love this stuff, will......have fun...most of us will be all screwed up and distraught after playing. The thing is, this sort of game has been done before. Just not quite like this. It has a genre unto its own. The Last of Us really does reinvent the wheel to some extent. The reason why it messes with you, is because the experiences it delivers are new and fresh. The same infected zombie that freaked you in the early parts of the game, will still freak you out in the end. The game doesn't give you a chance to be comfortable with your surroundings. Im giving it a ten only because it blew my mind. How could I not. I've been a gamer for 30+ years, and never has a game nocked my nitz off like "The Last of Us". Expand
  95. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    While this game has a great storyline, great acting and great single player although extremely linear...Naughty Dog failed to provide decent multi-player which has the same tired feel of the COD games levelling up rubbish. Totally unbalanced until you level up past a certain point. This alone will make most newcomers to the multi-player game not want to bother. Also, while I'm sure there will be DLC with new modes...its basically Team Death match.

    All in all just rent the game and enjoy it that way...instead of selling it in a couple of weeks.
    Expand
  96. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    It's a Naughty Dog game, does anything else really need to be said? Expect excellence because this game will gut punch you out of your seat from the very opening scene, and never let you go.
  97. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    I have always said that my favourite games of all time are Zelda OoT, Resident Evil, Metal Gear Solid and Final Fantasy (8&10) as they are great childhood memories, however this game is now in my top 5 games I have played... Ever! I prefer Playstation however I have been more of a 360 gamer apart from PS3 exclusives (although PS4 seems to have sorted things out for online chat etc) but no matter what your preferred console is ANY bad review for this game is just retarded and a joke on you for wasting your time. Naughty Dog amazed me with Uncharted but TLOU is better, honestly this game is just pure epic and is better then ANY game I have played in the last 10 years. Some people on here say Bioshock was better, I was a massive fan of Bioshock 1 but I actually sold Bioshock Infinite without even getting half way through the game. Anyway if you still reading reviews on this (I know I'm a bit late to write a review but I've been playing the game) just go out and buy it! I rate MGS incredibly high in my best games ever list and TLOU I actually prefer over MGS4. Don't know what else to say but a massive thank you to the whole team at Naughty Dog, I will be playing this game for years to come and buying old consoles in 10 years time to play it again. Masterpiece and its up there with the best games of all time for me. Brilliant Game!! Expand
  98. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    I'm about 75% through this game right now and it's been a blast so far. The visuals, environments, and character models are gorgeous. The post apocalyptic world/zombie theme has been done over and over again, but the characters and their struggles in this game more than make up for it. The gameplay is very much Uncharted, but less action heavy and more stealthy, as you really have to have a good strategy to take down enemies in this game. The Last of Us is kind of a miss mash of open world, third person action, stealth, and shooter all in one. This game is definitely not a mindless shooter though, you need to strategize and actually think about how to proceed with certain situations in the game. The only complaints I have about the game is the confusing weapons menu system, having to "create" health packs and hold up R1 to use it, and the fact that some can somehow survive multiple shotgun blasts...A solid 9/10 though. Expand
  99. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    Yeah it's a 10. This game will really put you through it. The characters are best that I've ever come across in a video game and it isn't even close. The world design is brilliant and exactly what I would imagine in a post human environment. The story is also top notch and the developers really put their own unique stamp on the genre it really did seem plausible. The Uncharted games were more lighthearted and fun (and also super great) but the Last of Us really reaches another level of immersion and gritty realism that I didn't think was possible with video games. It's something you just have to experience.

    Naughty Dog is head and shoulders above other game design companies and I can't wait to see what they do for PS4. I will buy all of their games for years to come.
    Expand
  100. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    Best Game of 2013. Gameplay, story, graphics, characters design... every single thing.
    The only thing i didnt like of it was its soundtrack, pretty lame work by Santaolalla, as always.
  101. Jul 12, 2013
    0
    I entered the game with mixed feelings as I mostly just enjoy multiplayer competitive games and not single player mode. The game is a must have for any ps3 owner. Somehow it just captures the emotions and struggles faced by the two main characters as well as the others you have quick encounters with. Most games fail in this regard where I do not care even a bit about their past and just want to skip the dialogue to finish the game.

    This game makes you afraid of pressing the skip button by accident. Seriously.

    *Note have not played the multiplayer
    Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 98
  2. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Sep 16, 2013
    97
    Flawless in its ambition and almost perfect in its execution. A brave and remarkable game quite unlike any other.
  2. Sep 10, 2013
    80
    The Last of Us is a great action-adventure game that manages to capture the feeling of post-apocalypse and survival. The story is alright but way too manipulative and borrows heavily from other, better, material. Still the segmented survival gameplay and the amazing audiovisual production makes the game an experience everybody should check out.
  3. Despite the breakneck pace of the prologue, it takes quite a while for The Last of Us to pick up some speed again. However, once the cold harsh winter arrives, the action (and story) ramps up. So much so, it puts most Hollywood productions to shame. [July 2013, p.76]