• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jun 14, 2013
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 6319 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    I only played some of the story mode but so far it's great. I mean there are flawed moments. How can every story be perfect? I say this is almost perfect and as for multiplayer. I'll say it's like anything I've played so far. Sure it's another shooter but the the whole crafting thing makes it fun and the upgrades on the spot adds a spice to it. I've been playing more of the multiplayer but don't get me wrong, the story mode is already epic. In the beginning of it, right off the bat, it's awesome. Naughty Dog has done it again! Expand
  2. Xon
    Mar 16, 2014
    9
    Truly an extraordinary game. An incredible work of art. The game might falter here and there, but this doesn't detract from a game that sets out - and achieves - to create an immaculately immersive world with characters that have real presence who elicit an emotional response. I wish there were more games like this, but it is "one of a kind".
  3. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    Excellent gaming experience, and I hope they don't explore Ellie's and Joel's relationship in any post ending DLC because the ending was phenomenal. Very slight texture problems in the distance but I don't blame Naughty Dog its still beautiful
  4. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    Ok where to begin! The story line is pretty awesome, my only complain was the ending (not going to give any spoilers) I personally did not fully agree with how the game ended but it makes sense overall so its not going to affect the score. I played through the game fully twice on Hard and Survivor and both times were equally as fun which is very rare to find in a game but as with Uncharted, Naughty Dog hit it out of the park. Now to the reason I didn't give it a perfect 10. While I do think the multiplayer has fun and great potential to be great I expected a "horde" mode or some sorta infected/zombie related situation but there is nothing. This pretty much defeats a large portion of the game's focus which is this out break. Beyond that the game was fantastic in almost every way I could imagine possible! Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    Naughty dog has outdone themselves again. The story draws you in to loving characters based on how human their flaws are and has a distinct Cohen brothers style of ending that makes you think about the characters and how nuanced they are. All of this is built on top of a sturdy foundation of stealth gameplay and a great leveling system. It's broken into 4 chapters that all have the emotional impact to stand on their own. Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This is the best game i have ever played. The story and characters are simply sensational. The relationship between Joel and Ellie is simply amazing and is on another level compared to other games. The story is gripping and makes you so emotionally involved. I cried about 7 times throughout this game because it simply made me care for everyone in the game. The gameplay is absolutely solid and fits the game perfectly. This is the best game of this generation and naughty dog have set a very high standard that i think will be near impossible to match Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us is the best game on the PS3, and one of the best games I have ever played. The gameplay is unique/challenging, the characters are lovable and the story is poignant. While the game is violent, it's never gratuitous out of the blue, the violence makes sense in the world Naughty Dog created.

    The gameplay practically requires treading carefully through levels. This is
    something I love in games. This, coupled with limited ammo/health while throwing in a slew of infected enemies, provides a genuinely nerve racking experience. If you got shot, you feel Joel's pain. When you have 3 bullets and numerous enemies surrounding your position, you have to out-think/out-maneuver the enemies by using the environment to your advantage.

    The graphics are superb. It's the best looking game on PS3 no question about it. The Sound is amazing as well, from the music to the enemies, everything is top notch. One of the infected, aptly known as "Clickers" use echolocation to hunt humans. While they are blind, their keen sense of sound allows them to track your location with the slightest movement. When this happens, they make a terrifying clicking sound to alert other infected nearby. It is genuinely terrifying when this happens.

    All in all, it is a terrific game that I would recommend to most people. With that said, this game isn't for everyone. For one, if you like action adventure games where you are supplied with countless weapons, armor and ammo, The Last of Us isn't for you. If you are offended by mature violence, themes and language, The Last of Us isn't for. If however, you can handle the mature themes, this game is a MUST PLAY. It's a Masterpiece, plain and simple.
    Expand
  8. Apr 5, 2014
    9
    The Last of Us is a gorgeous and thrilling game with a superb story and great game mechanics. The graphics are stunning and the characters are very memorable and unique. In terms of gameplay mechanics, it plays like Uncharted without a cover system or a climbing system and much more brutal melee mechanics. It also has a superb multiplayer mode and a New Game+ mode to keep you playing after you finish the 12+ hour campaign. If you have a PS3, you MUST buy this game. Expand
  9. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    This game is great. It's enjoyable, has a fantastic storyline, and is packed full of emotion and grit.
    The ingame relationship between Joel and Ellie is well made, and shows how they fight for survival against the frightning zombies.While the game does offer some new groundbreaking features, it can get a little bit repetitive.

    The enemies are really well made. Everything from the
    bandits to the zombies look and feel real. During the Clicker scenes, you can't help feeling scared while you're crawling along the floor with clicking in your ear. The game is very emotional, and all the cutscenes are amazing.

    But this game does have some cons. As mentioned by some people, enemies do not react to your team mates (Ellie for example). Especially with Bill, he runs like a bloody elephant, and nothing detects him. But if you screw up one tiny bit, the Clickers'll get you. Also, the shooting mechanics are a bit frustrating. To veteran PS3 players, it's a walk in the park, but me (who is new to consoles), it is difficult aiming a pistol.

    (Kudos to the people who designed, animated and created the Clickers. Those are some funky as enemies, and one of the greatest zombie types of all time.)

    Regarding crafting, what can I say? You scavenge parts and use them to craft items, upgrade your weapons and make Joel be able to shoot faster etc. There is a lot of loot lying around, and you can't be too picky in this time of apocalypse...

    All I can say is, get this game. It is an emotional rollercoaster!
    Expand
  10. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    Not playing this game any more makes me sad. It's one of those, like when House finished. It's all
    About the characters, you really care about them. Compared to PC gaming the graphics aren't amazing (needs a little anti aliasing) but it's so beautiful. Makes me want to live in post zombie apocalypse America.
  11. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    I entered the game with mixed feelings as I mostly just enjoy multiplayer competitive games and not single player mode. The game is a must have for any ps3 owner. Somehow it just captures the emotions and struggles faced by the two main characters as well as the others you have quick encounters with. Most games fail in this regard where I do not care even a bit about their past and just want to skip the dialogue to finish the game.

    This game makes you afraid of pressing the skip button by accident. Seriously.

    *Note have not played the multiplayer
    Expand
  12. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I play computer games less and less these days so games have to be truly good for me to fully complete them. The last of us is one of those games, fantastic graphics, gripping story line and natural game play. It is everything resident evil 6 should have been. Hopefully this is the future of computer games.
  13. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    simply a wonderful game to end the generation. The characters are well developed, the world that has been created is interesting and bleak, the combat is intense and enjoyable and the overall tone and emotion of the game is something that is completely unique. There are moments within this game that truly must be experienced. it is a shame it is on only on the playstation as every deserves to play this wonderful game. Expand
  14. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    A literal masterpiece. I've never had a video game make me experience emotions like this. I literally shed tears in the first 15 minutes of the game. Simply amazing.
  15. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    This game is very detailed it's outstanding. You have to play the game correctly (something Tom Chick at quarter to three obviously didn't do) which means intelligently. Sometimes you will have no choice but to stealth around the enemy with a solid stealth system and at other times stealth isn't an option and you have to smartly use every resource available to survive encounters. The game isn't hard if your smart about encounters with enemys, it can be repetitive but it firmly sets it in reality. One section of the game see's you getting a car, another see's you escaping a city, they're all sensible goals which ground the last of us in reality. The story is sweet and touching but the ending took me a while of thinking to properly appreciate it.

    But I would be lying if I didn't say the highlights of the last of us are in the story and fighting. The true highlight is exploring the world, some people say the last of us is very linear but the areas you can explore are big and full of hidden rooms and areas with loads of detail. At one point you have to walk down a street but you can enter two of the houses with multiple floors and rooms that feel lived in. I found a note from a 12 year old who over heard his parents speaking about family deaths and had to release his dog into the wild. it was sweet and when I walked downstairs I found Ellie and one of our companions playing darts and talking. It was a touching moment and the game is full of loads of moments like this as long as you look for it. If you run straight through you'll run out of ammo, die regulary, and finish the game to soon and call the game overhyped.

    Overall 10/10 this game is special and extremly well made, you need to play this game to experience it
    Expand
  16. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Do you want to play a game where your jaw drops every single time you enter a room? Where each moment of gameplay is exciting and terrifying? Where the story drives it so hard that you can't stop playing no matter the circumstances? The Last of Us delivers on all fronts, a driven story and game from beginning to end. Buy this. Never look back. Only play the story from beginning to the gut wrenching final moments. Expand
  17. Jul 8, 2013
    9
    Almost 100% total awesome.

    Just the random gun play and Ellie running all over the shop when you're sneaking lets it down.

    Here's to 150 characters.
  18. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    Story: 9.7 out of 10 Graphics: 10 out of 10 Gameplay: 9 out of 10 Fun: 9.5 out of 10 Controls: 10 out of 10 Ease to Learn: 9.5 out of 10
    Multiplayer: 8 out of 10
    Length: 8.5 out of 10
    Re-play: 9 out of 10
    Audio: 10 out of 10
    Bugs/Glitches: barely any
  19. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    Abandon hope all ye who shall enter here!! That's certainly the theme here and as I'm concerned,its a good thing! The Last Of Us is made by the very talented team known as Naughty Dog and if your familiar with the uncharted series,you would only expect the best when it came storytelling and they DO NOT disappoint! So lets start off with the good points of this game shall we! Graphics: Incredible!! Naughty Dog pushes the ps3 to its limits,even out doing uncharted 3 with detailed area's beautiful water and smoke effects,fires,ruined buildings etc!! Sound: its average at best until you reach the clickers,their odd sounds will surely be unsettling when you enter dark rooms or new area's. Game mechanics: average at best,controls are tight and responsive and the duck and cover mechanic is very similar to the uncharted series right down to the hand to hand combat but certain weapons like bats, 2 x 4's and shiv's make the fighting a tad more interesting. Story: again its a average at best as its your standard run of the mill zombie apocalypse story where your character must fight to survive who then,meets someone who's immune to the virus and must now create cure to save humanity....the last of us almost never treads new ground as many games and movie's has all too often shown us the dangers of a zombie apocalypse,so why is the last of us worth playing if my review sounds kinda negative save for the graphics? Easy, Joel and ellie!! Although they follow your typical, guy who lost his daughter and refuses to love another child/ ellie,who's your spunky yet average stereotype foul mouth lovable teen, I found it hard NOT to like them as they struggled to form a working relationship. This is where naughty dog took an average,by the numbers story and somehow turn it into a masterpiece! Now the bad points: Enemies: 100% of the time the enemies WILL NOT ATTACK whoever your with if they don't see you first!! It sucks the "survival" aspect and belief right out of game and the player along with it for that matter which ruins the experience. Shiv's can only be used once(or three times if you have three) which i find odd,if you kill a clicker with a shiv( best option people) it magically disappears even when using it too unlock special doors filled with precious resources,but i guess they didn't want players spamming it.Ammo: while its not ABUNDANT its more than enough to get by on since joel has many weapons to use to dispatch his would be dispatchers like the bow,shotgun,sniper rifle,sawed off shotgun and about three hand guns,couple that with the (preferred)option of stealth kills and your basically a god until you play with ellie who gets far less ammo and weapons. Other than those complaints,this average game goes far beyond the limits of other zombies apocalypse games and delivers something truly special. Pick this game up and add it to the list of impressive games that's exclusive to the ps3's library,you won't regret it! 9 out of 10 Expand
  20. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    Very good game by a very good game company the story is great and the gameplay doesn't disappoint. It is terrific. You can't say enough about the game. It is as good as it gets.
  21. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. best game ever, this is playstation 3 best game, naughty dog is reaaly good in making games, just like the uncharted series, joel and eliie make a really good team on his adventure, the game have some moments that are really exciting and they have many suspense scene Expand
  22. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us made me play into an environment that I never seen before. A survival-horror video game with so much complexity among the characters, the story line, the powerful emotions, the intense game play for survival, and the amazing graphics for I could say that I want to play it more often at least on how the game was meant to end up being. It's one of the best games of the PlayStation generation; therefore making it another masterpiece created by Naughty Dog. Mainly, I focused on the tense feelings of the two main characters in which how they were able to survive their journey across the post-apocalyptic United States from beginning to end, showing steps through affection they have between each other. That made me cry, but also made my heart filled with joy... Expand
  23. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    One of the few games I played that went beyond the conventional norms of a video games. I played too many games when it's just cut scenes follow by a wave a npc to take down follow buy more cut scenes and repeat. Games where the shooting mechanic just becomes generic, where no real challenge presents itself other than waves and waves of npc to take down. The Last of Us breaks this mold by engrossing me in a epic story with acting (and yes I say acting because that's what if feels like when I watch these living breathing believable characters) worthy of an Oscar. The cut scenes grips me the moment the game begins; and I have to say the introduction engross me so much that for a few moments I truly felt I was in the world of the game. The time when you take control of the character to fend off npc felt real. And there we're many times that I felt a real sense of danger, whether if its from the fungal zombies or the non infected hunting you down. At the end of the day the Last of Us engrossed my in a story that I only thought a movies can do. It really set the bar high for other games and makes me wonder why aren't more games like the Last of Us and less like the generic shooters that lacks substance in the story and character development department that plague this industry? Hopefully other games developers can take note from the Last of Us and understand that great story telling is no longer just in the realms of novels or movies, but it can be implemented into a video game as well. Expand
  24. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us is arguably one of the best titles of this generation. Naughty Dog goes full throttle and delivers their most brutal game yet. This is an experience that will follow you for years to come. If you have ever wanted a reason to purchase a PS3, now is the time. Sony adds another masterpiece to their exclusive collection.
  25. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    Naughty Dog is one of the few game developing companys that I absolutely trust as theey have proven themselves time after time over the years. This game was something refreshing and the first to get me to complete a game in 2 sittings for 16 hours worht of play. The story is fantastic and the game mechanics are solid. The multiplayer worried me that it would be a gimmik but bo no, it fit and actually felt like part of the story. If you are a fan of great storys, voice acting, zombie apocalypse and great gameplay mechanics then this will give you everything you want and also replayablilty.
    Masterpiece class game.
    Expand
  26. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    I loved "The Last of Us" so much that I didn't want it to end, and yet, I couldn't wait to replay
    it. What a testament! It reminded me of the early "Resident Evil" and "Dead Space" games
    with their emphasis on strategy, limited resources, and palpable fear of the unknown.Despite
    some dumb human enemies, the art direction, pacing, story, and EMOTIONAL impact are
    exceptional.Truly a
    memorable experience that resonates. Expand
  27. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    This is about as good as it gets or is going to get for gaming, at least this generation. It's amazing. Its well written, immersive and fun to play. The game sets a dark tone early and never stops only taking breaks that surprise you and then remind you just how dark it is. Easily my game of the year and I recommend buying it if you enjoy survival horror, theatrical games, third person shooters, or fun. Expand
  28. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    I think that The last of us is the most brilliant, intelligent, amazing, mature and emotional adventure of the ps360 generation. The better goodbye to PS3.
  29. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    One word, MATERPIECE! This is the most beautiful game that I have played in a long time. The gameplay, graphics, voice acting, and overall flow of the game are spot on which is typical for the best developers in the business Naughty Dog. They truly outdid themselves with this one and I cant wait to see what they will do next for the ps4! Any gamer owes it to themselves to experience one of if not the best game of this console genration. Expand
  30. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    I have been waiting for a long time to play this game (being a big fan of previous games by Naughty Dog) and they have not let me down. The story is engulfing, the characters believable, the action very tense, the atmosphere wonderfully grimy and best of al, the gameplay is a great mix between stealth, action, some small puzzle-like things and a bit of RPG thrown in.

    I give it a 9,
    because the AI could still be improved upon.

    What I don't understand is how some people can give this game a "0" I understand the game is maybe not everybody's cup of tea, but giving it a "0" is the worst insult you can give this game. I wonder if these people also give "0" to The Godfather or Shawshank Redemption? Just trashing a game because others like it?
    Expand
  31. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    Pros:
    Great graphics
    Great characters
    Decent story
    Ellie

    Cons:
    It's a bit short
    Not really challenging

    Overall this game is a masterpiece, I still can't believe PS 3 was able to handle those graphics
  32. Sep 12, 2014
    10
    Simply put, the best game ever made. Should be at the top of the list, GTAV, although a good game, should be second as it lacks a lot of stuff GTAIV had, Rockstar are MP benders and sold the SP short.
    The Last of Us was a defining moment in gaming and Naughty Dog are the kings of storytelling
  33. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    If you have a PS3. Do yourself a favor and buy this game new. Please support ND so they can continue on making games like this. Next stop, Beyond Two Souls
  34. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    By far the best game I have ever played Naughty Dog have produced the game of the generation. Even though I am usually a PC gamer I found the graphics stunning and the game runs very smoothly. From the dramatic opening to the very end about 12 hours later I was never bored. The character design is incredible and the way Joel and Ellie interact with each other throughout the game is fantastic. I have put in over 150 hours now and have done 7 playthroughs and have never had more fun playing a game. The negatives to this game are so little it's not worth mentioning and I can safely say that you won't regret spending money on this. Expand
  35. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    First of all this is not Uncharted. This was better than Uncharted for me and I loved Uncharted especially 2. But what stood out to me was the story. This is one of the best stories this year and it's ironic that only a handful of people will get to experience it (Note that I'm comparing this game mostly to movies i've watched this year because games don't even compare). The story is so good because of how it is told, the characters, the music, the hundreds of subtleties. The gameplay is excellent as well and is extremely fun. But what stood out to me was the "realness" and believablity of this world and story and how everything is told plus the characters and violence. It all fit together beautifully even though this is not a shiny happy world. In fin, there really isn't anything wrong with this game except that fact that it had to inevitably end sometime. I just wish more people, who weren't gamers, could experience this story because a lot of people who love movies and books are really missing out and a lot of gamers as well like xbox owners and even some ps3 owners. The only way you might not like this game is if you really hate post apocalyptic setting. Expand
  36. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    This game is possibly one of the greatest this generation. After feeling a little underwhelmed with the previous uncharted game, I was beginning to suspect a possible decline in Naughty Dogs ability to create truly fantastic games after making them for so long. Even the great kings must fall, but alas not today.

    The Last of Us is an absolute marvel and truly a wonderful, yet dreary
    experience. The combat feels like a fight for survival, whenever you startle an infected or alert a guard, panic sets in and you realize that you have less than enough resources to finish the job. The overall sense of dread throughout might seem as though it would cause some serious burnout late in the game, but Naughty dog manages to keep it interesting all the way through.
    The story is wonderful, though I won't say anything about it to avoid spoiling anything, but it never misses a beat.
    The graphics are possible the greatest on any console at the moment (excluding PC) and the art direction really helps with worn down cities taken over by vegetation.
    unfortunately there are some AI issues in the game, but these are generally few and far between.
    '
    The surprise of the whole package though is the multi-player, seamlessly integrating all of the tactics and resource management that has been learnt in the single player game. I can say that a few times my heart has picked up when it's down to a 1 v 1 and I have only one bullet left, but when you pull through and kick the other guy/gals ass, there is a great sense of relief. The down side is that there are only two mode, but they are both equally as entertaining.

    Naught Dog has once again stepped their game up and sent the PS3 out with a last Hoora!
    Expand
  37. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    This is the most amazing game i have ever played. Though looking forward to GTA V, this game will definitely be my second favorite game of all time. A little taste for PS4 and great graphics!! The story line is second to none. It's GREAT! It deserves full marks. It's not everyday you get a great game you could actually play, over and over again. Congrats Naughty Dog!
  38. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    It's probably the most detailed game I've ever seen, design and level wise, and with that it's also one of the most immersive games I've played since Half life 2. But personally for me, it's also the single best AAA survival horror game in recent years.
    This game deserves all the praise it gets.
  39. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    Fantastic game, story, graphics; only one major flaw. Hordes and hordes of bandits. I often found myself wondering: if life is so difficult to survive in after the apocalypse then why are these so many damned bandits willing to throw away their hard-earned lives to gain absolutely nothing by killing the death tornado that is our main protagonist? It seriously killed immersion around the halfway mark. In fact it gets to the point where if you see a happy glimmer you know for sure it will up in less than 5 minutes. A particular level has you racing past what seems like HUNDREDS of men firing guns and chasing after you in a BARREN waste of a frozen mountain village with barely any food about. Where are they getting so many bullets? Why would they deem to waste them? Even if they are eating people how on earth would they be healthy enough to chase me? Where are the women? A tarnish on an otherwise great game. Expand
  40. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    Really good game. I still think Uncharted 2 is better, but it's reeeaaallllyy close. I'm not going to write a book on this, but I want to give it a 9. Great job Naughty Dog!
  41. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Easily one of the best games I have ever played. Naughty Dog has maintained it's firm lead as my favorite developer around. No spoilers, promise.

    The Last of Us is a post apocalyptic masterpiece. You play the game through the eyes of Joel, a hardened survivor who has seen too much for one person. Joel is not a hero and he's not a good person. He's simply a survivor. As you play through
    the game you will begin to relate with Joel and understand how he became the way he is. One of the greatest triumphs of this game is putting you in the survival first mindset.

    While secondary to the incredible story, cutscenes, and characterization, the gameplay of The Last of Us is fantastic. The game allows you the freedom to choose how to approach almost every engagement. The combat is gruesome and realistic, and only serves to engage you in the action more. The realism of choking an enemy to death reminds you that you are not just choking some random villain, this is just another person trying to survive. The game provides a fantastic illusion of existing in a real world, despite the fact that it is a linear game.

    I can't possibly end my review without mentioning the graphics. They are stunningly good. I did not think that current generation games would look any better than Uncharted 3, but they have improved their graphics again. While most of the sights you will see will be ruined cities, they all look absolutely fantastic thanks to the fantastic texture quality Naughty Dog stuffed in the game.

    Gameplay:
    9 out of 10
    Story:
    10 out of 10
    Graphics:
    10 out of 10
    Sound:
    10 out of 10
    Expand
  42. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    This is why I will always own a PlayStation in my house. I am a pc gamer for the most part. This game felt just as good as a pc game. Didn't look as good but since the PS3 is limited so must be the game but that doesn't matter. Naughty Dog shows just how far they can push that limitation and still get an amazing looking game. I wish Naughty Dog would develop one game for the pc. They are always key to detail and love to do the most with what they have. As for the story. The Story for the most part is the best I have seen for a game. It has some cliche and predictable moments but so does every game or movie in this genre. AI interactions in the game are both good and bad. Sometimes they can be flawless and realistic while other times they will just be your mindless AI patrolling. But that element does sometimes make you get comfortable with a situation that you should be on high alert with. There was a few deaths I had were the AI had grabbed me from about 10 feet away. While annoying it just made me approach the situation differently and fixed the problem. I do give one tip to those of you who have not got it yet and are reading this review. Use ammo sparingly otherwise when you really need it. Its gone. Also thank you Naughty Dog for a great game. For those of you who are still on the borderline about this game go to you tube and watch the first 20 minutes of game-play. Expand
  43. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    This game was a masterpiece. The gameplay was fun, and the limited ammo made you adjust the way you play the game. The stealth was a good option to have, and is very effective. The character's and the story was the star of the game, all the character's had emotions that you can relate with; it felt like a real post apocalyptic world. My only complaints in this game were that the A.I was overrated, and I would've prefered more infected enemies than human enemies. But yeah if your expecting a dead rising type game, you would be disappointed, I would even go as far as say this game is slow paced in a good way; but it was worth it at the end. It was like a rollercoaster of action, emotion, suspense, fear, drama, etc. I actually didn't want this game to end, and not a lot of games can do that with me. Expand
  44. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    An absolutely stunning game, start to finish. It reinvents 3rd person survival-horror in such an amazing way, where you actually feel for the characters and care about what happens to them on their journey. Not to mention an insanely entertaining and unique multiplayer. Very worth while.
  45. Aug 9, 2014
    10
    I've been a PC gamer for the majority of my life and I really wanted to try this game out. I just never wanted to spend the money on a console (ps3). During the release of the PS4, it made sense to hop on board, due to the amount of exclusives that Sony has. This is by far one of the best single-player games I've ever played in my lifetime. This is up there with Half-Life (insert all the expansions), Half-Life 2, Bioshock, and many others. Expand
  46. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    This is what other games should aspire to be, the graphics were really amazing and detailed, by far the best console graphics I have seen, the gameplay is really tense and intuitive, and the best part is that gameplay is non linear, you can go in guns blazing, use stealth takedowns or even pass through an area without killing anyone and it also encourages exploration to find supplies since ammunition is really scarce, and the mix of sometimes having to fight humans and other times having to fight infected really mixes things up and you will have to constantly change your tactics, the crafting was also great because everything you craft is performed in real time so you won't have to pause the game so the inmersion is never broken, but as good as the gameplay is the story is what the game was all about to me, the story is intriguing and unpredictable, characters all have their own little backstory and all are very well developed, especially Joel and Ellie and how their relation was constantly evoling throughout the game, in short words this game is a masterpiece and by far my number 1 best game of all time, so you should definitely give it a go, trust me, you won't regret it. Expand
  47. Sep 8, 2013
    9
    One of my favorite games this gen. I wish that I can give this a 10 but I can't. I honestly don't like the multiplayer, It's filled with campers. The single player however is amazing! Fantastic graphics, great gameplay, great characters, great story, beautiful voice acting. I like both Ellie and Joel. I can't wait to see what Naughty Dog has in store for us next gen :D
  48. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game lived up to my expectations and was great! The story isn't original or impressive in anyway, but the characters and gameplay is what makes up for it. However... Joel became very selfish towards the ending and made me begin to dislike him and made me feel bad that Ellie trusts him because she doesn't know what he did. My only real complaint with this game is the ending. The ending is horrible. It abruptly cuts off with nothing happening but Joel saying "I Swear" after Ellie confronts him about if he has lied to her. I felt bad for Joel at the start of this game, but after watching that ending it really made me dislike him... that and the fact that the ending was just stupid. A great game, but a terrible ending. Expand
  49. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Visually engaging, and with a plot-line that deserves the good reviews, the Last of Us has the same style that Naughty Dog has been bringing to its fans with Uncharted. Being worth the 2 year (or more) development time, the experience is the zombie stuff you always see in these kinds of shooter games, but with some added preservatives (lawl) and an eye for detail, the developers have kept putting in a reason to keep people attached to the game. Expand
  50. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    This is a 10/10. Very well done in all aspects. Well except for few glitches like when directing light to a person it doesn't draw a shadow :).
    Nice story, not a brand new one though. Similar to I'm a legend. Except there are many survivors who divided into groups and fighting each others for resources and surviving.
    The story elements are well connected. Ellie definitely sweet companion
    during this journey.
    From gameplay point of view. I loved it. I got a full screen with almost no HUD elements (not needed really). HUD elements only appears when required like when get shot, hit or healing.
    Upgrade system is cool. And I also loved the side stories found in collectable notes.
    Graphics are awesome. the world look fantastic and well designed.
    This is 10/10
    Expand
  51. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    There is just no words to describe how awesome TLOU is, I mean the graphics are breathtaking and the story is very original and the characters have to be one of the most memorable out there, the sound effects are brilliant. TLOU is easily the best game i've played this year so far, but I'll have to play GTA V as well to see if it's as good as TLOU or better. Im going to go a bit higher than it says. I give TLOU 9.5/10 Expand
  52. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    Is a beautiful looking game with an incredible campaign, the multi-player was nice but really needed some more modes as its clearly focused towards the campaign; which there's nothing wrong with as it was brilliant but a few new modes and maps would have been ideal.

    Other than that, well recommended.
  53. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    This game was quite possibly the greatest game I have ever played, firstly it was a gorgeous game, I caught myself several times just admiring the scenery Naughty Dog created. As soon as I beat the game I did not want to put the controller down, in fact, I didn't. I started a second run through, and that's a first for me.
  54. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    The last of us has the most spectacular single player campaign on the ps3 console, no if, buts or maybes.
    The detail and Obvious effort put into the last of us raises the bar for competing console games, and my standards as a gamer.
    The last of us really show's what these 5 year old consoles are still capable of.
    I won't give much detail on the game itself, so no spoilers, I'll simply
    state that it's amazing, and worth your time.
    Multiplayer In the last of us is done very well, the only real down fall is the community it's self, partially due to the way kills work, people will constantly take your kills, hang behind you so you weaken the enemy and then pounce once you've left the rooms safer, this can be very frustrating at times, there are also only two modes, but they are very good modes.
    This is a game that cannot be missed, even if you rarely buy a game, let the last of us be that game!.
    Expand
  55. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    No matter what anyone says, The Last of Us is truly one of the best games that I have ever played. Everything in the game is amazing, from the in game graphics, to the cutscenes, and the gameplay, everything feels right, and it makes the game that much better. Usually I dont give games a 10/10, because there is always something that bothers me. But The Last of Us is one of the games that surprised me the whole time. There was nothing wrong with the game, and it shows. Everything is polished, and I loved how often little things struck me. When Joel and Ellie are just walking, and then they start having a conversation, it really made the game feel alive. This game is one of the few games in my opinion that is completly deserving of all the 10/10's it got, and the hype for this amazing game was very right. It is one of the best games I have ever played, and if you want an experience, and perhaps PS3's best game, then look no further then The Last of Us. Expand
  56. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    I don't understand the low scores some people have given to this game at all. IMO it is one of the best, if not THE best game I've ever played. I was so caught up in the story that I cried more than once. Yeah, some of the puzzle type things are repetitive - like finding pallets - but the story, the characters, the environments and the fighting more than make up for it - besides you don't have a lot to work with after 20 years of a violent plague almost wiping out mankind. I liked finding ammo and things to craft with and, for me anyway, I found the sneaking and fighting very challenging on the Normal setting. I'm an avid 60 year old gamer and I'm not out to prove I can beat the game on super hard mode, I don't try for all the trophies and I'm not a trolling fan boy - I enjoy a good game with a great story and this game has it!!! In spades!! I'm on my 3rd go round and cannot stop playing it. The characters and the things they go through are so realistic. The voice acting is phenomenal and the other sounds in the environment are extremely realistic. The infected enemies are scary as **** and the human enemies are sometimes worse! It was very satisfying whacking the crap out of them with a melee weapon. I found the controls pretty easy once you got used to them. I did have to die a few times in some places but I always managed to figure out different strategies for killing all enemies and getting all loot.
    This game kept me interested all the way through and more - not like the disappointing Watch Dogs where I was bored to death after a few chapters - The Last of US is definitely worth your money and I can't wait for the upcoming movie I heard about. Joel and Ellie get my vote for the best voiced and best written characters in any video game ever made!!
    Expand
  57. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    Ok I've reviewed this game three times this is the last. People saying no stealth because of wall hack. Have any of you tried it on Survivor difficulty this is how this game was meant to be played. There is No listen mode and this makes it a real and scary survival horror game and this IS GOTY and yes I do have and love GTA5 but this is a fantastic masterpiece and it shows PS4 will crush Xbox1 because all of Sonys latest exclusives are looking next gen already. But anyways get this game story is perfect and with single player DLC it will be epic again. Multiplayer is better than most and the season pass price of 20$ isn't as bad as some of these money grab games I'll be happy to pay 20$ for some moe last of us content. I have the new multiplayer map pack and they are great. See you later but Get This Game Now if you haven't. Its the Best!! Expand
  58. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    This game left me with chills.
    I have played many single player games and none have been as good as this. There were points in this game where I wanted to cry. The dark themes in this game are enough to make anyone's jaw drop and you feel it is your duty to defend Ellie at all costs.
    Even when you know what you are doing is wrong, you do it without question because you build such a
    strong attachment to her.
    I recommend this game to anyone who sin't black.
    Expand
  59. Jan 30, 2014
    10
    Naughty Dog proved itself again as the best game studio. Its production, the Last of Us inherits the studio's specialties: solid gameplay, satisfying platformer, interesting dialogues and most importantly, amazing characters. The protagonists, Joel and Ellie, are easily among the best written characters in all video games and you will, after playing this game, feel attached with them and genuinely care about them. I don't know if it is possible to not like Joel and Ellie but I am in love with them.
    Set in the post-apocalyptic US, Joel and Ellie must journey across the country in search of a group. In this world an unknown pandemic has ravaged mankind, transforming infected into half-human-half-fungus undead. What sets the Last of Us different from all other zombie games is that the infected here are also blind and therefore by moving quietly it is possible to avoid conflict at all. Ammo and healing supplies are limited (there is no stomping corpses to reveal supplies here), so stealth is always the better option. When combat is the only way to go, the Last of Us becomes a solid third person shooter almost identical to the Uncharted series.
    The world in the Last of Us is vibrant and believable. As is all post-apocalyptic worlds, the world goes into chaos and survival is dependent on oneself: only the fittest survives. There is no hero or antagonist in the Last of Us; only survivors. In fact, Joel is so ruthless against other survivors standing in his way that you might feel that he is, in a sense, the villain.
    However no game is perfect--not even the Last of Us. Supplies for tools feel a little bit too plentiful. For example nail bombs should have been valuable weapons that are only used in the most desperate times, but they are in fact so common in the world that I found my backpack too full to carry yet even more of them. In the same sense weapons are also too powerful for a game like this: your arsenal isn't limited at all; you will get a freaking flame thrower half way into the story. Also the ending is somewhat disappointing; I won't spoil anything for you, but I was disappointed.
    BUT--- with this ending it is possible for them to make a sequel. :DD As the Last of Us is so successful this is very likely to be the case--I cannot wait to see more of Joel and Ellie's journey.
    Expand
  60. Jan 20, 2014
    9
    GOOD THINGS:
    PLOT: I thought it very cliché, similar to I am the Legend and War of the Worlds, but the characters are very charismatics, and the narrative goes very well.
    GAMEPLAY: Very fun, either Stealth or TPS, both are perfect, making improvised weapons are cool, finding medicine and pieces to Level Up are very good made.
    Soundtrack: very sad, and absent in the most time.
  61. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    Wow, I don't even know what to say. I just finished playing and I'm speechless. I am really reluctant to give any game a 10 but this will be the first. This game is the total package. The game does not break immersion. For me total immersion consists of 4 absolutes. Graphics, story, gameplay and sound. For a last of a generation masterpiece this game has the best PS3 graphics bar none. The story has gut wrenching edge of your seat feel. The gameplay mechanics is way above average for a third person action game. And sound is outstanding from the voice over to the pop of your weapons. Do not move on the PS4 without play this game first. Expand
  62. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    OMG TO LAST OF US IS AMAZING!!! EVERYTHING IS AWESOME! except...
    the combat! it's total BS! this game demands you to use stealth! dont try to shoot everyone in the face because you cant! you are extremely underpowered against the others, especially soldiers and clickers are the most annoying thing about the game! that's the only thing that i didnt like about the game, apart from that its amazing!
  63. Aug 27, 2014
    9
    A great story which happens to be told in a video game format. Although the story overpowered the video game experience. Only for that it's not a 10 for me.
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: Perfect story and perfect balance between the two main characters. There's no good or bad here. Only hope and the need to survive
    PRESENTATION: Naughty Dog has used the PS3 like no other developer. When we think
    you can't see anything better than the Uncharted series they pull this off!
    GAMEPLAY: this is where i hoped to see a bit more of the video game experience. It's not totally balanced and you don't feel comfortable because of the scarce resources. I know it's meant to be this way but a little more action wouldn't harm the game.
    ONLINE: Played it a couple of times but it's not Naughty Dog forte.
    An experience that pushes video games to a different level. Absolutely mandatory.
    Expand
  64. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    The most important thing to remember about this game is that the gameplay isn't the focus. There are plenty of goofy, quirky Indie platformers out there that are more "fun" and have better gameplay. The game has great atmosphere, good storytelling, believable characters and a great soundtrack. All of those elements combined make it worth it. It's like a good book or a thought-provoking movie. It's a game that you can discuss with friends, on multiple levels, for hours.

    Is it perfect? No. It can be frustrating, tedious and at times glitchy. It has a low replay value because, well, you KNOW the story, you KNOW the characters, what else is there? But it's totally worth the price of the game for such a good story.
    Expand
  65. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    Last of us них.

    В Last of us Naughty Dog Uncharted, Last of us The Walking Dead: The Game интересный.


    Как внушительную(14-16 придуманно.
    Эмоциональная целом.
    Первые last of us half-life 2,но Naughty Dog The Walking Dead: The Game
    И ps3. 1 5 96/100, Half-life 2(пк) uncharted 2.
    Кароче
    Expand
  66. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    The Last Of Us is just the best game I ever played.The Story, is not only well written, but it makes you attach Joel and Ellie and to care about their fate in the game."The Last Of Us" delivers strong emotions that make you realize that you are a human and once with it comes hope, love and the desire for survival.
    THE LAST OF US is the reason I play Video Games...
  67. Sep 4, 2013
    9
    Amazing game, completed it three times when I have never played a game after completed it before.

    The only reason not to buy this game is if you are easily scared or do not like action games, otherwise go buy it now.

    I dropped a point for the rather run-of-the-mill multiplayer which for me is a complete waste of time, would have been better off making the game bigger (even though it
    is plenty big enough). Expand
  68. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    Everything about The Last of Us is intriguing. If you're going into this game thinking that this will be an Uncharted game with zombies don't bother. Also, if you're going into to this game you should know that you're entering into a game where there's barely any happy moments and violence around every corner.

    There's quite a few people who play this game and obviously don't get it. The
    Last of Us is a very character drive action-adventure, survival game. The gameplay is constantly an intense experience where you never really know what to expect. You could probably nitpick the crap out of the game because it's not perfect, no game is. My personal experience with the game was a special experience that no game has really delivered yet. The level of attachment you feel for these characters is just incredible. The Ai are smart, your resources within gameplay is sparse forcing you to make strategic decisions, and the story is fantastic.

    I'm not a huge multiplayer person so it was a huge shock when I got to the multiplayer and found out I really enjoy it! The multiplayey captures that intensity and gameplay experience the single player had. It is really fun.

    This game is the best game to do date (in my opinion) on the PlayStation 3. There's been a lot of great games over the years but I feel this is the perfect swan song for the PS3. By the end of if it you really feel for these characters, and it's one hell of a ride. The ending was pretty incredible also. The Last of Us really stretches your mind to think what is right and what is wrong.
    Expand
  69. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    The Last Of Us is one of the best games of 2013 and I really don't know what will be the Game Of The Year. I just finished Grand Theft Auto 5 and I played Bioshock Infinite. Those 3 games I loved the best games this year but The Last Of Us just stuck with me and got me emotionally attached. Do yourself a favor and get this game the gameplay is solid and you will connect with the characters.
  70. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    A gorgeous, meaningful, intense, scrumptious (yes, even the sound of rending flesh...is scrumptious, somehow LOL) game. Agreed, the AI is a little thick at times...but, the essence of the game, what makes it great, so far outshines any minor issues, it's hardly noticeable. My only beef with games of this nature is that replay value is low for me. Didn't like the MP that much and I tend not to play story driven games more than once. But, as far as a story game goes, this is one of the very best! Expand
  71. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    Wow. Great job ND. I am torn between letting this game stand alone and badly wanting a sequel just to continue to play in the world you created. Graphically awesome, characters awesome, loved the story, gameplay epic. Great audio and gun physics btw. I finished it last night and was left with such mixed emotions. Loved the way it wrapped up but felt sad that I was done. I don't play games again once I've finished them typically but I just might go back through for the Plus Mode. Ok, I'm not torn, please make a sequel!!!!!!! Expand
  72. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    This title affected me like a slow burn. I expected it to be at the very least decent, based on Naughty Dog's recent history with the PS3. Then I played through the opening section and I was absolutely stunned at what they had done with this medium. As the game added thematic components, characters, tweaks in game-play, and set pieces throughout its 15-hour campaign, I must admit to some confusion on my part. Certain moments were jarring, some were poignant and just right, and others still seemed overtly familiar. As the hours continued on in life after I had finished the game, I came to realize what had happened: Naughty Dog was two steps ahead of me in every way possible, right from the beginning. It's one of those rare works of art where the more one speculates on the events that have taken place, the more all of these things make total sense and seem inseparable from the overall vision. On this basis alone, "The Last of Us" must be one of (if not THE) most unpredictable games I've ever played. The relationship between Joel and Elle is never contrived, never played up or squeezed tight for emotion, yet also never abandoned nor underdeveloped it's one of the most realistic portrayals of a surrogate daughter/father scenario I've ever seen, anywhere in art. I honestly have no way to lengthily describe this game in any satisfying way, so here's some random appropriate adjectives: unflinching, brutal, heartfelt, passionate, understated, terrifying, complex, demanding, and, ultimately, masterful. The conclusion could very well haunt you for months (but not for any reasons presupposed at the beginning of the play-through). Expand
  73. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Yeah this game may not have the perfect and the funniest gameplay but it has a lot of challenge and you need a lot of strategy to beat this game. Some times it may be frustrating and your AI partners may be a pain in the ass for you but this game does everything it promises, a perfect crafted storyline, some good rpg elements and interesting weapons in a world of tension between infected, the military and the fireflies.
    From the beginning to the end i got glued to the story because it was so interesting. It may not deliver so many action that Uncharted delivered but it delivers a even better story, rich environments and strong enemies that won't be forgotten in some time. If you played this game from the beginning to the end you'll find some bugs and minor errors in combat but you will ignore that all because you will also find one of the best stories of this generation and one of the best post-apocalyptic game ever. You won't regret it, if you have a PS3 you need to get this game, because there ain't much games that reach this high in terms of storytelling in this platform.
    This is a must have for everyone that likes zombies, strategy and amazing and emotional stories.
    One more thing. If you played the other Naughty Dogs games and you already know that this studio never let you down just get this game and watch for yourself.

    This is one of the best games i played and i won't forget it and i still need to play it to get all the stuff and don't forget the multiplayer that also is good.
    Expand
  74. Aug 16, 2014
    10
    The only decent game I have played in a while and it's made for a relic. Imagine if this was built taking advantage of a high end PC. I gave a ten as compared to the other 99% of crappy games out there this comes out tops, a rather sad thing to say about the gaming industry.
  75. Oct 18, 2014
    9
    It is the so much acclaimed game for PS3. The game is an "action adventure" like Tomb Raider, or like the Uncharted series (indeed from the same software house).
    The adventure is pleasant, the game lasts an average time (about 12-15 hours), the story is well thought out and there is great graphics without any uncertainty. The setting is post-apocalyptic, the plot seems obvious but it is
    not. I say no more to not spoil the surprise.
    The music is pleasant, the game is never frustrating (if you can not go on is because you are using the wrong approach).
    But ... Well, I had very high expectations which were not supported by the game. Everyone talks about how this is the killer application for ps3. Sure it's nice, you spend funny moments and is the true "entertainment" (you are always asking yourself "how's it going forward"). But a masterpiece? I do not know, perhaps is because I come from the PC world where masterpieces are more numerous ...
    Some negative aspects? There are none, the initial loading is very long (even 3-4 minutes), but then the game does not load EVER, so you can end it up without ever even wait a few seconds. Great optimization and no bug. Well done Naughty Dog!
    Expand
  76. Jun 22, 2013
    9
    The Last of Us is an exciting and emotionally moving adventure show what human interaction could be like after a apocalypse. Naughty Dog has created a gem that while not without faults is still one of the most important games ever released for the PlayStation 3.

    You play as Joel who through the course of the game is escorting his companion Ellie to a certain destination. During the
    journey the relationship that grows between Joel and Ellie is both touching and haunting to behold. Without spoiling the story, parts of Joel's past affect the way he currently views life and this provides a window into seeing how humanity might react following years after a great tragedy or apocalypse. Bitterness abounds in Joel's life early on, and yet by the conclusion of the of the tale the player is so wrapped up within the story that they will share a great deal of care for Ellie in almost a fatherly role. Parts of these emotions might be strong enough to bring tears to your eyes. It happened to me.

    Graphics: The game succeeds in pushing the PS3 to new boundaries. It's obvious that this console generation is coming to a close, but Naughty Dog did a great job at showing the possible beauty and abandonment of a nation desolated by destruction. The animations are top notch and the character models (thank you Joel for having an amazing beard) are hype-realistic. I experienced a bit of pop in at times but nothing that caused major issues in my play-through.

    Gameplay: The Last of Us succeeds in making the player struggle to survive against the harsh virtual reality of a fallen world. You will face environmental challenges, mutated monsters, and bandits struggling to survive. Throughout the game you given a minimal supply of weaponry to just barely get you to the next encounter. More times than not you will try to rely on Joel's stealth and brute force to overcome situations. This is both brutal and desperate, making you feel like every move you make has weight. Gunplay feels similar to Uncharted but a bit less accurate further reminding you that Joel is a real human and not some super hero. Encounters with enemies can be tough, and you will die. The game doesn't penalize you for death and check points are frequent to the point where it almost relieves a bit of tension. Even though you will die, the game is fair. I completed my first play-through on hard and felt that it possibly made the experience more rewarding than if I had played on normal. This is up to personal choice in the end and either way you will have a great time.

    Sound: The Last of Us sounds great. Voice acting is well done and all the characters are believable during cut scenes and even during seemingly random dialog. Joel's voice makes it clear that he has had one hell of a life and that years of fighting for survival have taken a toll on his emotional and physical being. Ellie on the other hand has grown up in this world and shows spunky if not almost disturbing arrogance in the face of danger. Musically the game is strong, but doesn't leave any long lasting themes like you might find in Uncharted or Bioshock Infinite. Most of the game will be spent in silence which very accurately represents the forsaken empty world. During cut scenes, or other important events the sudden inclusion of music brings more weight than could ever be realized with a constant soundtrack.

    Possible Negatives: The only main negative point I could bring up the sheer number of times Joel must go find a ladder, trashcan, etc to prop open a door or gain access to the next area. This mechanic should have been thrown out in early design. I don't mind it every now and then but it did bother me enough to break me from the experience. I experienced one bug involving this that made me reload the game at one point. It's a minor complaint, but still matters. Some have argued that the game is too linear and would prefer a more "choose your own path/ending" scenario. To argue with this I would just take time to remind everyone that this game isn't about the players story. This is about Joel, and Joel may not make the same decisions you would. This is not a flaw, but a reminder that Naughty Dog has crafted a brilliant story and seeks to guide you through to the end. Accept this and you will have a blast.

    In summary, Naughty Dog has crafted a a brilliant emotional tale that touches the players hearts and yet brings ample excitement and adventure. While the game is not perfect it is something that will remembered fondly in years to come. For these reasons I highly recommend experiencing The Last of Us.
    Expand
  77. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Naughty Dog has made a masterpiece. The best game PS3 has delivered in the entire sventh generation, and one that will be remembered for years to come. It is truly that good. And I know some jealous people will describe this game as overrated without even playing it, as the same thing happened last year with Halo 4. Shh, don't listen to them! The Last of Us is not flawless but is pretty damn close, and that is enough to give it everlasting praise.
    The story, OMG! If you have a heart, and human feelings, and most importantly two eyes, two ears and a functioning brain, then you will love the story in this game. I never felt so many things, and I'm not talking only about TWD emotional post-depression, although there is definitely a hint of that. I am talking about anger, desperation, happiness and fear...and the worst fear of all. The fear of losing your loved ones. The voice acting is top-notch, and the graphics. They truly push the PS3 to the limit. They are insane.
    The gameplay is fitting, and really pairs with the pace of the game. It is intense, gritty and insanely violent. Stealth is king (Something we are not used to from the "Uncharted" games) as it is also being tactical, preservative and crafty. If you play in normal (Like me) you will find some challenge, though not overwhelming. It is at moments fun, at moments scary. It is just a good-old fashioned survival horror stealthy gameplay, and I enjoyed the hell out of it.
    Surprise! This game comes with an Online component which is, surprisingly good actually. It has the same gameplay mechanics from the campaign and the maps are thoughtfully designed. Of course it is not The Last of Us' main focus, but I am still playing it a lot, you know, after three entire playthroughs of the mind-blowing, excellent, five-star, supercalifragilisticexpialidocious campaign. Gotta love Ellie and her awful jokes!
    In the end, BUY THIS GAME! Do not own a PS3? Bro, I feel for you, because this game is one of the best games ever made, period. I am truly enthusiastic about this. There is just nothing else like it in the world.
    Expand
  78. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was a good game. meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. Expand
  79. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    I'll be honest. I do not like the Uncharted series at all. Naughty Dog had a lot to prove to me with this game and they succeeded greatly. Probably the best survival horror game since Resident Evil 4 for sure. The graphics are awesome, and you can see the emotion on Joel and Ellie's faces. The story is amazing, and kept me gripped the whole 12 hours. The gameplay is really fun, and focuses on resource management during combat situations which is incredibly fun with a layer of challenge as well. The only gripe I had was some checkpoints pissed me off. All in all though, great game and second to only BioShock Infinite for Game of the Year. Expand
  80. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    Pure perfection. Awesome graphics, good story and very amazing gameplay. The game can show a very fantastic atmosphere of survival in this epic story. Graphics make this beauty a lot better. One thing that can't allow me to make mark 10/10, is quite stupid AI and ending of game. A really don't want this game, this story to finish.
    Naughty Dog show all perfection of PlayStation 3.
  81. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    Graphics are spectacular, so yes you heard that millions of the times for this title, now on to the rest.

    I'm not a single player person at all, I actually despise it now since I've been spoiled with online coop etc, but I will say this is well worth your $60 just for the single player experience alone.
    Does the multiplayer hold it as well? Hell yes! It's very fun once you learn
    tactics and learn what you are doing as well!
    Definitely deserves the 10!
    Expand
  82. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    If you don't have a Playstation 3 yet, then this game is the reason to buy one. I need to write something more to have at least 150 characters. It's done.
  83. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    The Last of Us is the best post-apocalyptic game I've ever seen. The characters are well portrayed and look really alive. AI can be annoying sometimes, but it's insignificant compared to all the positive sides of this game.
  84. Apr 29, 2014
    9
    Story:
    I really enjoyed the story, It had great writing, voice acting, and body language. The game also does a great job at making me care for Joel and Ellie as the story progresses by giving me those slow moments where the two engage in dialogues. 10/10

    Gameplay:
    This game can get extremely intense if you play it stealthy. Even though stealth is optional, you're most likely going to
    be silent since ammo is scarce and the A.I can get really aggressive by charging, flanking, or suppressing you. One immersive braking mechanic is that the A.I won't attack your companions which isn't really annoying because imagine you're trying to sneak around, and Ellie accidently lures a clicker(infected) or bloater(super infected) to your location. I think it's a good idea for Naughty Dog to do this. You also need to explore to find parts needed to upgrade your weapons, supplements to boost your survival skills, and crafting items to build med kits and other useful stuff. 9/10

    Graphics: T.L.O.U contains some of the most gorgeous and detailed graphics I've ever seen on a console. The facial models look realistic, great lighting, excellent sound design, and the backgrounds look beautiful. 10/10

    Multiplayer: The multiplayer is really fun to play, but I do have some issues with it. First, instead of earning XP to level up, you have to gather supplies to help build your clan in order to unlock customization items. What this means is you have to do good in every match you're in in order to get supplies for your clan (you get most of your supplies from kills). This can be really hard when you have a clan of 70 because you're going to need around 70 to 80 supplies to keep your clan alive (which isn't easy). There are also only 2 game types which might limit replay value for some, and the game suffers from balancing issues bow almost being a 1-hit kill, smoke and shiv load outs, bombs, and more). 6/10

    Verdict:
    The Last of Us is one of my favorite games of 2013 and one of my favorite PS3 exclusives. Go buy it, I'm sure you'll enjoy it. Rating: 9. P.S. Thanks for reading my 1st review.
    Expand
  85. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    This is probably the best game I've ever played, the game himself is gorgeous, the characters are so deep, the end of the game is brilliant, the multiplayer is new and innovative!
  86. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    I don't think this is the absolute masterpiece game of this generation, but I do however believe that it is still an excellent game with a great story, gameplay, presentation and even multiplayer. The single player campaign contains probably developer Naughty Dog's best story they have ever produced. The characters Joel and Ellie are some of the most enjoyable, memorable and real in gaming. Everything in this world from the people to the environments to the weapons all feel real. It's obvious Naughty Dog put most of their time in making their world and characters as immersive and tangible as possible and they completely nail that aspect. The way people talk and interact, the open environment and the limitations on supplies just make this actually feel like a living and breathing world that could exist (not to mention that cordyceps which is the disease in the game actually exists). Easily the best part of the game is it's overall presentation with it's great story, solid script, superb characters, excellent voice acting, and an unmatched environments. The gameplay while not the highlight is still loads of fun. This game is absolutely brutal with excellent animations and sound effects to make each gun shot, punch, strangle, and melee weapon sound real and gritty. The crafting system works well and adds a layer of choice and strategy along with the nice variety of weapons. The game especially on higher difficulties completely limits your supplies, forcing you to play more defensively and since this is a survival game, that's the way it should be. This isn't call of duty, you have to approach each situation with care, stealth, strategy and a choice. Do you want to use your precious amo on this group of infected for a generally easier time which after doing so will allow you to scout for more supplies? or do you want to stealthily take down each one which can be more difficult but you'll preserve supplies and will be able scout the area for more supplies afterwards? or do you just want to bypass them completely at the cost of not being able to scout for supplies but you'll still keep what you have? The choice is yours really. Lastly the multiplayer isn't anything amazing but it manages to implement the single player mechanics into multiplayer quite smoothly. There's a heavy emphasis on teamwork which I really like and the crafting system works really well here too. All in all I spent a lot of time on the multiplayer and probably will continue, but it certainly isn't the selling point of the game. So in the end the last is definitely one of the best games I played in a long time but its not the best. The overall texture pop ups get real glaring and I have come across a few glitches that don't break the game but certainly hinder the experience. But with that aside this is a must own game that offers one of the best stories, characters, and environments in gaming. Along with solid gameplay and multiplayer, The Last of Us is easily one of the Playstation's best games and should be in every self respecting gamer's collection. Bravo Naughty Dog. Expand
  87. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    So far the game is nothing short of intense and immersive. The feeling of being out in the unknown puts this game at the lead in the genre because of how it is depicted. It is a tragic world. As for the game, it doesn't confine itself to the survival-horror formula by putting more flexibility in taking out enemies. Story-wise, the game goes for the emotions. The intro itself was a heart-breaker. The reason I proceeded to reviewing The Last of Us despite not having finished the game yet is because I've seen what I needed to see. It is one of those games that grabbed my attention throughout my game-time. Will possibly be one of the best games I played of all the video games I've played. Expand
  88. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    After 30 years of gaming, I have no problems putting this somewhere near the very top of any all-time greatest list. I generally don't go for the mainstream AAA titles, but this is an exception, and it is one game that absolutely deserves its praise. Believe the hype on this one, from beginning to end. For those that give it mediocre or low scores, you must just be either looking for attention, or, if you truly didn't enjoy this game, the most boring person on Earth. Expand
  89. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    When I first saw the demos for this game, I thought this would just be an interesting stealth/action shooter type videogame, like the Uncharted series before it, but when I was done, I got so much more out of it, there was a nice emotional bond clearly between the main characters Joel and Ellie, I can safely say this has been the best game so far of 2013 that I have played and I have a good feeling it will remain that way, definitely some good memories this will leave. Expand
  90. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    Every now and again, a game comes around that gets all kinds of critical acclaim. Many are naturally drawn to the game in hopes of seeing whether or not the game lives up to the massive amounts of hype that it gets. "The Last of Us" is one of those games, and I am proud to say that it lives up to that hype. Naughty Dog, the makers of the critically acclaimed "Uncharted" series and the cult favorite "Crash Bandicoot" series, doesn't pull any punches in this gritty, violent, post-apocalyptic thriller. The best way to describe the game is that it contains the exploration and action elements of the "Uncharted" series with the stealth and story-telling elements of the "Metal Gear Solid" series with the scrounging and weapon conservation elements of survival horror. The graphics are top-notch, the scenery is breathtaking, the storytelling and character development is very compelling, the combat is both satisfying and challenging (especially when you are just getting used to it), and the game just feels incredibly real, as a whole. Bottom line, it is a game that needs to be played in order to feel the full reach of all of its great elements. There are a few items in the game that can be nitpicked, but none of these are able to take away from this amazing experience in a significant way. It is certainly one of the best games of this gaming generation and is a great way to begin the closing out the PS3 era and bringing in the PS4 era. Unless you are into blowing up certain miniscule shortcomings into something that they are not and considering them abject failures worthy of a 0 or 1 rating on the game's part (which many user reviewers rating this game negatively seem to be doing here), you will certainly enjoy this game. If you have a PS3, buy this game. If you don't, this game could easily be worth getting your hands on one in order to play this game. Expand
  91. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    I really do not understand people that review this game and say, "nothing revolutionary game play wise." Yeah, well I haven't played a game that really truly has been "revolutionary". Of course game play gets repetitious, because that's what the game is. That's what every game is and if you enjoy how the game plays then enjoy it. I for one, greatly enjoyed the way this game moved and how it played. I found it to be very smooth and at the same time had some extremely brutal kills. I also enjoyed that I could either, sneak past enemies or take them on up front. The mixture of fighting other survivors and fighting infected was a good mix, and offered well in a variety of situations. It was very enjoyable to plan out my attacks and perhaps my defense.
    The story was exceptional, the cast was exceptional, and the setting was exceptional. I think it would've been awesome to be more open-world but no complaints here because the linear story path was awesome. I thought that the virus was interesting (especially since it's a real virus that occurs in nature) and I wish that was fleshed out more but everything made sense for the story.
    So story, game play, atmosphere, I thought it was all extremely well done and really hope NaughtyDog continues to expand upon this story.
    What surprised me the most is the multiplayer. Wow, I thought when I heard the game had online that it was going to be stupid. A bunch of Joels running around killing each other. Thankfully it is not that at all and actually quite entertaining especially when played with a buddy. Pick either Hunter or Firefly and build up your clan by doing well and winning matches. It's a cool way to divert from other games and shoot it out against others. Woot!
    My only issue with the game is your friendly AI, during parts where you are basically required to be stealthy they are chatting away and running around. The enemies do not react (which thank God they do not because a few parts would be atrocious) but I would've liked to see your friends (Ellie, etc.) to be more sneaky and really nail that creepy atmosphere of needing to be silent. Don't let that detract anybody though, this game is amazing and it deserves all the praise it's getting!
    Expand
  92. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    This game is purely outstanding and has one of the most realistic game playing feelings compared to other survival games. Amazing graphics, gameplay mechanics, voice acting and really has a similar Uncharted feel to it. I like how you can explore almost anywhere you please for items or ammo or collectibles and etc. Ellie is a cool partner to have along the way, but honestly she isn't as helpful as you would think in close combat situations, you are pretty much doing all the work, but hey thats what games are for right, it would be boring just to see your partner do everything. Plus there is the occasional glitch with surroundings and enemies every once in a while, for example I was sneaking up on an enemy aware of my presence, and when I got really close to him, he disappeared and was far behind me, I suggest the game might need an update. Ignore all of that, and you have an amazing story followed but many intense moments and an almost realistic looking plot line to follow it, The multiplayer is really creative, I think in opinion it has a Mass Effect feel with all the factions to go around it. Great game, highly recommended. Expand
  93. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    Just beat the game on normal and it took me about 16 hrs to do. I can see how this game received so many "perfect" scores but I can also understand how a little overhyped it is. The graphics are only decent due to the occasional frame rate drops and some areas that don't look as nice. The gameplay is awesome at times but again is hindered by frame rate issues sometimes. I really liked the overall presentation of the game and the great soundtrack. Although there were some sequences I really didn't enjoy playing I give this game a 9 because I support Naughty Dog for being outstanding game devs. I'm hoping for some interesting co op dlc but that probably won't happen. I haven't played mp yet but I will soon. Overall I think this game is yet another great AAA game from ND and I will most likely replay it until I get the plat. Expand
  94. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    I loved this game. It loved me back

    I turned into a monster and the game new that. It then lead into monster terrritory and released me.
    TGhed game was amazingly good this hoop is the worst
  95. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    Possibly one of the best and now my favourite game of this generation. I cannot fault it, the design, story, characters, music and of course the game play are all sublime, this game will go down as a classic for all the right reasons and i don't want to give anything away so i wont go into it but you really have to get this.
  96. Jan 30, 2014
    10
    I had very big expectations for this Naughty Dog project... AND I LOVED IT! This is without any doubt, one of the best games i've ever played!! The Single-Player campain is awesome and the story is amazing!! The graphics are beautiful! The Gameplay is great! And the multiplayer is pretty good, but not better than Uncharted though! And now After beating it i can easily say that this is the game with the best story i've ever played!! I think every ps3 owner should buy this game before upgarding to ps4! Thank you Naughty Dog! Expand
  97. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    wow what a great amazing game naughty dog did it again after the amazing uncharted and brought us The last of us first let's talk about the graphics the graphics in this game are up good they're so good best graphic ever on ps3 ,the lighting the shadows the way their mouth and body moves is so realistic you feel like they're real people ,The gameplay familiar?yes awesome yes, it is as if naughty dog wanted to tell capcom you didn't have to turn survival horror into action to succeed also the crafting in this game is awesome some games make it bad and makes you hate it but in this game it's easy and works really well the ammo is a bit rare in this game but you'll end up saving many ammo as the game urges you to play more stealth which by the end you'll be so good at it stealth kill in this game are amazing when you strangle someone the man tries to resist you'll feel like that's how strangling should be ,the story in this game is so damn good it has so many emotional dark and sad moments you'll ever see in a game and the ending believe me you'll never see it coming but after all that what naughty dog did really well in this game is the AI it so good although friendly AI can be bad at some moment bad the enemy's AI is so good for example i took one as a human shield but his friend shot him and killed to be able to kill me that's AI right there in the end i loved the character loved the story and loved the game play
    so is this an overrated game no believe me it deserves to be one of the finest games of this generation
    Expand
  98. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    This is an absolutely great game that grabs ahold of you from the opening scene and doesn't let go. Graphics are amazing, gameplay is polished and the soundtrack sets the tone for all of it. The only minor complaint I have is that "the infected" don't play a large enough role.
  99. Jun 29, 2014
    10
    why i'm actually dissapointed with some of the negative reviews, the last of us on hard is one of the most intense games i have ever played, i loved the stealth segments, the crafting system, the enemy ai,the horror feeling,the shooting and everything else that was simple top notch, there is nothing wrong with adding a cinematic feeling to a stellar gameplay experience, i swear that even without the story and the music i still would have love it, i guess that when something is so succesful it brings a lot of hate from jealous people,it becomes perfectly normal to hate great things, i really don't want to live in a cynic world where everything is considered overrated and meh Expand
  100. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    This is the best game I have played in a very long time. I really cared for the characters in this game. The voice work, graphics and attention to detail is amazing. The only reason that I do not give this game a perfect score is that the AI can be a little unintelligent.
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 98
  2. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Sep 16, 2013
    97
    Flawless in its ambition and almost perfect in its execution. A brave and remarkable game quite unlike any other.
  2. Sep 10, 2013
    80
    The Last of Us is a great action-adventure game that manages to capture the feeling of post-apocalypse and survival. The story is alright but way too manipulative and borrows heavily from other, better, material. Still the segmented survival gameplay and the amazing audiovisual production makes the game an experience everybody should check out.
  3. Despite the breakneck pace of the prologue, it takes quite a while for The Last of Us to pick up some speed again. However, once the cold harsh winter arrives, the action (and story) ramps up. So much so, it puts most Hollywood productions to shame. [July 2013, p.76]