• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 6487 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Twenty years after a pandemic radically transformed known civilization, infected humans run amuck and survivors kill one another for sustenance and weapons - literally whatever they can get their hands on. Joel, a salty survivor, is hired to smuggle a fourteen-year-old girl, Ellie, out of aTwenty years after a pandemic radically transformed known civilization, infected humans run amuck and survivors kill one another for sustenance and weapons - literally whatever they can get their hands on. Joel, a salty survivor, is hired to smuggle a fourteen-year-old girl, Ellie, out of a rough military quarantine, but what begins as a simple job quickly turns into a brutal journey across the country. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 98
  2. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Jun 5, 2013
    100
    A masterpiece, that breaks the self imposed barriers of gaming narrative and ensnares the player with intelligent gameplay and brilliant A.I. Anyone wanting to tackle the same themes will have to be compared to Naughty Dog's work in the future, and it won't be pretty.
  2. Jun 7, 2013
    100
    Naughty Dog has proven itself again as one of the most accomplished development teams in the world. With The Last of Us they have given us a consistent and interesting world that is supported by practically all of its game mechanics. From the rich complex combat system to the sublime sound design, this game immerses the player in one of the most visceral plots in this generation. Maybe the AI could have been better, but, overall, this game proves how far the craftsmanship of making video games has come.
  3. As a game, The Last of Us will occasionally falter. Imperfect underwater mechanics and careless friendly AI that insists on blocking your path or causing unnecessary firefights can irk, but they are very minor niggles and should be treated as such. Because as an experience, The Last of Us is powerful, emotionally draining and absolutely one of the finest games of this generation. [August 2013, p70]
  4. Jun 5, 2013
    97
    The Last of Us is a really different game, mixing traditional adventure, survival, action, stealth and constant exploration. The resources are most important. The best graphics on PlayStation 3 are back in the hands of Naughty Dog, also the atmosphere, and two unrepeatable and unforgettable characters. Overwhelming.
  5. Jun 5, 2013
    95
    With The Last of Us developer Naughty Dog switches from the easy entertainment that is Uncharted, to the more serious stuff. Despite their differences, both games prove to be of unprecedented high levels of quality, from a studio that controls their ability to create games into the smallest detail. Thanks to its unique pace and adult story The Last of Us has become an experience that has no equal.
  6. Jul 10, 2013
    90
    The Last of Us merges very good gameplay with a peerless story and unequaled production values. While it just misses transcendent status you won't find very many games that are more worth the investment of your time.
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    60
    There is no risk of failure in a game like this. There is only the risk of having the play the same section yet again. In a survival game, that’s anathema. A survival game without meaningful death isn’t a survival game. It’s just a game.

See all 98 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    A thrilling and unforgetable game. Both main characters are like people you know in real life and you care about them. Everyone should tryA thrilling and unforgetable game. Both main characters are like people you know in real life and you care about them. Everyone should try this 'experience' since it is so much more than a mere video game. Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I don't know what I can really say about this game without giving anything away, but I will tell you that it is easily in the top ten gamesI don't know what I can really say about this game without giving anything away, but I will tell you that it is easily in the top ten games that I've played, and I've played a lot of good games, also the characters of Joel and Ellie are absolutely brilliant, I think Ellie has such an amazing premise, and Joel seems to have been affected by the infection in quite a realistic way. The only bad thing I can say about this game is that as good as it is, I don't think it's for everybody, some people might be put off by the atmosphere and violence within the game, while some will love it for the same reason.

    If you're thinking of buying this game, then I recommend buying it.
    Expand
  3. May 28, 2014
    10
    I have a feeling that this game will live on as Half Life 2 has.
    The graphics are incredible, gameplay is very smooth at most times and the
    I have a feeling that this game will live on as Half Life 2 has.
    The graphics are incredible, gameplay is very smooth at most times and the storyline is outright incredible. A must buy for any PS3 owner.
    Expand
  4. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    Right after finishing the game, I started questioning myself: If this that I've played is called "Game", Then what the hell I've been playingRight after finishing the game, I started questioning myself: If this that I've played is called "Game", Then what the hell I've been playing for the last 10 years???? Expand
  5. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    In a market that is filled with bland, repetitive and copy paste type games, it's nice to own a game that dares to be different. While someIn a market that is filled with bland, repetitive and copy paste type games, it's nice to own a game that dares to be different. While some things might seem obvious, a lot of stuff is not. Most people will miss a lot of the fine details that are present within the game. Such as the many hidden Easter eggs and lore.
    Even characters will have their own surprises. Naughty dog does Survival horror justice, it depicts it's idea on how a post Apocalyptic world would look like, and does a good job doing so.

    From start to finish you get to learn about the world, you get to know the characters and watch them grow as individuals. To me It was way more than a mere cinematic experience with gameplay elements. I felt a connection with the characters, I put myself in their shoes and asked myself what I would have done in certain situations. This is the first game since Bioshock 1 ("Would you kindly" message) that has tested my morals, my basic instincts/impulses and made me question my own logic behind the decisions I've made. Towards the end of this game I felt so connected to the characters that I would literally put myself in harms way just to protect Ellie, even though I knew she was just an A.I I felt as if I needed to be there for her.

    One of the fun parts of this game is the way you struggle to get supplies, it's one of those games that "kinda forces" you to scavenge for resources or find those little treasures (not really necessary, but it does make your life easier). But it's not something that you will hate, it's not some tedious task. It's something that (at least in my experience) you will want to do, I spent hours on end, just looking around for pendants, comic books, health packs, crafting resources, tool kits, supplements and much more. I sat down reading notes, trying to learn as much as I could, always looking for clues as to what happened here, what happened to this family/person, trying to solve riddles such as why the world is the way it is, and I loved every second of it.

    I spent 16 hours on this game on my first run through, most people will also finish the game at around this time. For anyone rushing the game it may last 8-10 hours on normal difficulty, but in doing so you miss so much of the game. I recommend you take your time, search every little inch of the world and have fun doing so.

    The Last of Us may not be for everyone, but it's a game that gave me an awesome experience that I will not soon forget. I hope that you at least give the game a try, it might just be the best game you've played in a long time.
    Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2014
    9
    Do you remember how games made you feel when you were younger?

    The excitement of playing something really groundbreaking and original.
    Do you remember how games made you feel when you were younger?

    The excitement of playing something really groundbreaking and original. We'll this is it.
    You know straight away from the first time you take control of Sarah (Joel's daughter) that this is no ordinary game. What happens then is a roller coaster of gaming heaven. Think of everything that makes a good game, and the Last of Us has it!

    Graphics, gameplay, story, cut scenes, music, acting, AI and attention to detail. The fight scenes are in another league and are truly breathtaking, the violence and accuracy is that realistic you will be left laughing at how good it is.

    It seems the ps3 has finally been pushed to its graphical boundaries. This game could of easily been released on the ps4, in fact this game would have made me buy a Ps4.... In summary this is one of the best games I have ever played, and in my opinion the best game on the ps3.

    MacDo
    Expand
  7. Dec 1, 2013
    0
    The last of us is not just a game, it is also a masterpiece. Few producers can make a game with this graphics capability and great gamely.The last of us is not just a game, it is also a masterpiece. Few producers can make a game with this graphics capability and great gamely. However, I found the story weak point of the game. The story is almost the same as most stories of zombie games. While there zombie games with similar stories, I never will evaluate the game with a score of 10. Expand

See all 1649 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2013 Image
    Published: January 7, 2014
    The results are in! Find out which movies, TV shows, video games, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2013.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.