The Saboteur PlayStation 3

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 115
  2. Negative: 3 out of 115
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MattS
    Jan 7, 2010
    8
    i like that the game doesn't make you automatically stealthy, you have to actually be stealthy. sneaking into a nazi camp while disguised and systematically taking out the towers, sniper nests, spotlights and more to clear the area is great fun. i actually enjoy the story as well and thought it would be much more cheesy then i was led to believe. for a ww2 themed game, i like the i like that the game doesn't make you automatically stealthy, you have to actually be stealthy. sneaking into a nazi camp while disguised and systematically taking out the towers, sniper nests, spotlights and more to clear the area is great fun. i actually enjoy the story as well and thought it would be much more cheesy then i was led to believe. for a ww2 themed game, i like the pacing and love the art style which gives it a cold schindler's list feel in occupied areas. Expand
  2. Aug 31, 2010
    10
    The Saboteur is set during World War 2, in Paris, France. In the game you play as Sean Devlin, an Irish man who likes to drink and he also has a way with women. The story starts off when a man called Luc asks you to join the French resistance, who fight against the Naziâ
  3. GC
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    I admit there are flaws with The Saboteur, but even so I love it! I've played it through once already, and I'm now on my second time round. I keep finding new things to do, and I keep reeling from the sheer beauty of the WWII version of Paris rendered in the game. Oh, and it's great fun too!
  4. MartinW
    Jan 16, 2010
    9
    Slag it all you want, this is an impressive free roaming third person shooter. On my keep list.
  5. PeteD
    Jan 2, 2010
    8
    the game takes the best from a lot of games around the glboe and mixes it up nicely, from GTA´s freeroaming, to Red Faction´s mindless and purposeless (although absurdly amusing), Destruction of all the works of man... or nazi for that matter. unfortunately the game does not manage to capture the climbing and general usage of this aspect, like assasins creed II does. the fact the game takes the best from a lot of games around the glboe and mixes it up nicely, from GTA´s freeroaming, to Red Faction´s mindless and purposeless (although absurdly amusing), Destruction of all the works of man... or nazi for that matter. unfortunately the game does not manage to capture the climbing and general usage of this aspect, like assasins creed II does. the fact that sean devlin is a bullet sponge, and nazies arent is a rather clumsy aspect, like the fact that an SS commando has the brain and tactical skill as a child with downs syndrome. the artstyle is terrific, boobs are always nice, and the music is stellar (although i wonder why most of the artists on the radio are from the modern ages. also a few more songs would be nice. all in all, the game is great, but lacks the last oumph to make it fantastic, some more ambition and pandemic would have hit it right on the nail. Expand
  6. JamesD
    Jan 23, 2010
    7
    The Saboteur is a classic example of a 7/10 game. Whilst it does an excellent job with the action and the style of the open world, not to mention its numerous cliches and stereotyped characters (which gives some good personality to the game) The Saboteur feels like the same experience that we've seen from Mercs 2 and Red Faction Guerilla. There is a fair bit to complain about but The Saboteur is a classic example of a 7/10 game. Whilst it does an excellent job with the action and the style of the open world, not to mention its numerous cliches and stereotyped characters (which gives some good personality to the game) The Saboteur feels like the same experience that we've seen from Mercs 2 and Red Faction Guerilla. There is a fair bit to complain about but what's left is a thoroughly solid and greatly enjoyable experiences which pushes no boundaries and fails to innovate. Expand
  7. WojciechG
    Dec 20, 2009
    9
    I was waiting for this title and when I bought it and play first 30 minutes I felt disappointment. This negative feeling was related to the lack of smoothness of controls and movement restrictions (for example pretty difficult climbing). I think this feeling was caused by fact I just completed Infamous that offers much more superior handling. But after 2 hours of play I began to be I was waiting for this title and when I bought it and play first 30 minutes I felt disappointment. This negative feeling was related to the lack of smoothness of controls and movement restrictions (for example pretty difficult climbing). I think this feeling was caused by fact I just completed Infamous that offers much more superior handling. But after 2 hours of play I began to be seduced by the Saboteur. Storyline, complexity and realism of the world of occupied Paris, level of details, cars handling, music and overall atmosphere makes this game one of the best I ever played. Out of any mayn sandbox games I own this one I rank equally to GTA4, but I like to climate much more of the Saboteur. I like Mercenaries 2 that also was gathering my appreciation after long time of play to collect all the trophies, but Saboteur shows that Pandemic considered very seriously the feedback f the gamers from Merc 2 and eliminated the weak points from Saboteur. The Saboteur is the must have for any WW2 and sandbox action adventure games fans. I hope there will be sequel to this title. Expand
  8. tkte
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best sand-box game on the ps3!. The art graphics give the game a fresh feel. The drinving around town is great....once you get the racing cars. The stealth elements, whilst simplistic, works in some of the missions. Overall, a great single player with with good replay value.
  9. WesM
    Dec 8, 2009
    8
    Reviewers are way too harsh on this game. It's nothing innovative, but it's a very inspired and fun game, and a huge, huge improvement over Mercenaries 2.
  10. navisb
    Dec 8, 2009
    9
    great game with a rare atmosphere. it's the best gta-like i've ever played with something similar with the universe of "mafia'
  11. DanielW
    Dec 13, 2009
    9
    The game has a old black and white cinema mixed feel with a modern twist which makes it appealing to people who want a enjoyable story. The game play is average and the controls could be improved but are on par with most games. The game is very enjoyable and a lot of fun. Overall I would recommend it to anyone who isn't wrapped up in only flavor of the month games.
  12. JP
    Dec 18, 2009
    8
    this game is really fun. i love blowing up crap and killing nazis its a great game!!
  13. mavenmaven
    Dec 19, 2009
    8
    if u like blowing crap up this is your game. its great!!
  14. RichardB
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    I am also sick of AC2 and Uncharted getting higher scores than Saboteur essentially they are blockbuster movies like Indiana Jones whereas this is a very good low budget B movie Sure, I played and enjoyed AC2 but it isn't better than the saboteur...in fact, it's boring and so is Uncharted for the final few hours plus the monsters are stupid GTA 4 was good too but massively I am also sick of AC2 and Uncharted getting higher scores than Saboteur essentially they are blockbuster movies like Indiana Jones whereas this is a very good low budget B movie Sure, I played and enjoyed AC2 but it isn't better than the saboteur...in fact, it's boring and so is Uncharted for the final few hours plus the monsters are stupid GTA 4 was good too but massively over-hyped, i am told GTA 3 was much better so saboteur wins for me, i finished the game, completed the side missions then started the game again because i liked it so much so 10 out of 10 Expand
  15. DS
    Dec 15, 2009
    8
    Some have said that it's a pale copy of "Godfather", GTA and Assassin's Creed ... maybe ... Can those people just explain why each game must be compare to another ??? When i play a game i personnaly search for fun !! With the Saboteur, i love the atmosphere, I love the freedom taken with the historical fact, I like the quiet side of the hero, his disrespect displayed. It seems Some have said that it's a pale copy of "Godfather", GTA and Assassin's Creed ... maybe ... Can those people just explain why each game must be compare to another ??? When i play a game i personnaly search for fun !! With the Saboteur, i love the atmosphere, I love the freedom taken with the historical fact, I like the quiet side of the hero, his disrespect displayed. It seems that for the reviewers, the graphics are inseparable feature of a good title, for short, GTA is a big shit and Assassin's Creed is the most fun games that has emerged ! II have not tried to analyze this game in order to find errors, inconsistencies or glitches, I've just played. Like everyone, I have seen some erratic behavior and a weak AI, but I still loved and nothing has altered my pleasure. Pity that demo is not available! Expand
  16. CamT
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    I really liked this game. It is a free roamer in which you kill nazis. Its got innovative things, like how the city is in black and white if the Nazis control it, and in color if its de-nazi-fied. I really don't understand why it got such harsh reviews. Its a good game, definitely worth a rent. I haven't ran into any glitches. I wish reviews were based more on how the game is I really liked this game. It is a free roamer in which you kill nazis. Its got innovative things, like how the city is in black and white if the Nazis control it, and in color if its de-nazi-fied. I really don't understand why it got such harsh reviews. Its a good game, definitely worth a rent. I haven't ran into any glitches. I wish reviews were based more on how the game is instead of the company behind them. The graphics in this game are good, but the aren't as good as assassins creed II. Not like that should matter, in my opinion, its got more replayablility than ACII. I played AC about half way through the campaign and got bored. This games got many different things to do, from stealing cars, killing strippers, blowing up buildings, or blowing up flying baloons. Anyway, i gave it a 10 because of its playability and storyline. I hate how so blind some critics are. If this game came out 2 years ago, it woulda been a best seller, but now everyone is pushing for graphics over gameplay. Expand
  17. Apr 17, 2011
    9
    This is a huge, open world game set in WWII Paris. The main character is a very likable Irish race car driver turned resistance fighter. Gameplay consists of driving around Paris and the surrounding countryside, planting bombs on various Nazi installations, and engaging in plenty of shootouts. Unlike some open world games, there's a gigantic amount of stuff to do here, with your primaryThis is a huge, open world game set in WWII Paris. The main character is a very likable Irish race car driver turned resistance fighter. Gameplay consists of driving around Paris and the surrounding countryside, planting bombs on various Nazi installations, and engaging in plenty of shootouts. Unlike some open world games, there's a gigantic amount of stuff to do here, with your primary story, secondary missions, and well over 1,000 free roam targets to destroy. You can also collect plenty of vehicles to drive, from race cars to tanks, and acquiring new weapons and other things adds a nice RPG aspect to it as well. I also loved the theme music in the game, it really game it an authentic '40s atmosphere. Overall a fantastic game. Expand
  18. Mar 7, 2013
    8
    Somewhat underrated game. GTA clone set in Nazi occupied Paris. You play an Irish race car driver turned French Resistance fighter seeking revenge. Interesting personal story, interesting characters, but their voice acting, except for the main character, is pretty bad. Dialogue is pretty good, though. Unique graphical direction where Nazi occupied Paris is rendered in black and white.Somewhat underrated game. GTA clone set in Nazi occupied Paris. You play an Irish race car driver turned French Resistance fighter seeking revenge. Interesting personal story, interesting characters, but their voice acting, except for the main character, is pretty bad. Dialogue is pretty good, though. Unique graphical direction where Nazi occupied Paris is rendered in black and white. As you complete missions and destroy Nazi targets, color returns to portions of the city which lessens the amount of soldiers on the streets and makes it easier to get away when in trouble. Getting away when in trouble, especially when in a vehicle, is super hard as troops are all over the street. Sometimes I had to travel to an extreme opposite side of the map just to escape when under a high alarm level. Since there is no fast travel, I then had to drive all the way back across to trigger the next mission. Stealth is difficult and rewarding, but it's so much easier to take the guns blazing approach. Controls with the sticks on PS3 felt off. I adjusted the sensitivity for a while and things still didn't feel right. This game succeeds in the hit and run style combat a la Red Faction: Guerilla. Missions allow you to bust in the doors shooting, turn a fixed gun on your target, sabotage a car and ram it into enemies, or sneak across rooftops disguised as a Nazi. The side missions are varied and interesting, but there isn't much to do outside the main story. Frankly, I'm glad there aren't a plethora of half hearted mini games like other open world games. The weapons and vehicles are fun, the city layout is well designed and varied, the countryside is also interesting, there's a lot to blow up and see, and the game is a decent length. Once it's done though, you'll have little reason to keep playing unless you want to grind for achievements. Expand
  19. Apr 4, 2014
    6
    When I picked this title up, I expected to find a middle of the road game with some innovative mechanics (given how underrated others seem to think this game is). However, the only two things I really enjoyed about this game was the music and the color effect that co-occurs with freeing districts.

    Otherwise, the mediocre gameplay feels unusually stale largely consisting of driving out
    When I picked this title up, I expected to find a middle of the road game with some innovative mechanics (given how underrated others seem to think this game is). However, the only two things I really enjoyed about this game was the music and the color effect that co-occurs with freeing districts.

    Otherwise, the mediocre gameplay feels unusually stale largely consisting of driving out of the red circle, pressing triangle to place explosive hear to blow this object up for the resistance, drive to this point on the map, etc. The game has stealth mechanics and they are terribly implemented. The combat largely consists of shooting out from cover and is nothing to be praised as fun nor innovative. The story was boring and characters often felt like cardboard cutouts.

    As someone who went into this expecting quite a bit from a studio I have always adored, I found this to be very disappointing. I found myself constantly wishing for this game to be more like Just Cause 2, as I tried to force myself to continue on to the next mission. This is one title that definitely has not been underrated, in my opinion.
    Expand
  20. Jun 14, 2012
    5
    The one thing that came to my mind with the 20 hours I spent with the saboteur was unfinished. Everything in this game down to the a.i. just says that Pandemic studio needed more time to complete this game. For the most part the story is o.k. for a video game. A simple revenge tale. What makes the game so interesting is the art direction the choose to take. The map starts black and whiteThe one thing that came to my mind with the 20 hours I spent with the saboteur was unfinished. Everything in this game down to the a.i. just says that Pandemic studio needed more time to complete this game. For the most part the story is o.k. for a video game. A simple revenge tale. What makes the game so interesting is the art direction the choose to take. The map starts black and white much like how Frank Miller's Sin CIty. As you give the resistance more hope by doing missions the game world turns into color. That's all that's really good with the game. The missions are repetitive. The final stages are the cliche take out alot of enemies (even know you could have gone through the game to this point with just sneaking) the game makes you take out alot of enemies towards the end. Thats also another complaint the stealth is so bad. They want you to pick up a uniform and be disguised but the only problem is that it doesn't work. You cant be in the radius of other soldiers while your in the disguise then whats the point of having the option. A truly worthless part of the game. A mediocre effort all in all. I really wish they would have had more time to play test it. Expand
  21. Sep 5, 2010
    6
    Not especially bad, but not that good either. Disappointing more than anything. It feels unfinished, and there are so many glitches and little annoyances - like the underdeveloped stealth mode and the tedium of climbing buildings. I played it through, more out of sheer bloody-mindedness than anything else.
  22. ChristopherW
    Dec 16, 2009
    6
    It's sad to see that such a promising game didn't quite make it. Honestly what it came down to was that the game just wasn't polished in any way. It felt like no one went back and got rid of all the annoying bugs, and no one fine tuned the incredibly bad enemy AI. Honestly, we all know why this game wasn't polished before release, if Pandemic hadn't been disbanded It's sad to see that such a promising game didn't quite make it. Honestly what it came down to was that the game just wasn't polished in any way. It felt like no one went back and got rid of all the annoying bugs, and no one fine tuned the incredibly bad enemy AI. Honestly, we all know why this game wasn't polished before release, if Pandemic hadn't been disbanded they would have probably pushed the games release back a few months to fix this issues and make this a truly great game. It's sad to see EA ruin another great game, but EA will be EA. Expand
  23. RobR
    Dec 8, 2009
    6
    It is fun, but there is just something missing. The game feels unpolished. It is fun, but you find yourself laughing at the stupid glitches, horrible AI, and inconsistency.
  24. May 18, 2012
    5
    ehh. this game was just boring imo. I mean it's playable, but I just didn't have the drive after a few hours of gameplay, but that's just my opinion.
  25. Mar 10, 2013
    7
    Saboteur is sort of GTA meets Assassins Creed which is to say that lacks originality. That doesn´t mean it's not a good game. "Au contraire". The formula works pretty well and the time setting in WW2 occupied Paris is excellent. The storyline is not great but interesting enough. The historical period makes the story pretty easy too. The hero works against the nazis and the rest is verySaboteur is sort of GTA meets Assassins Creed which is to say that lacks originality. That doesn´t mean it's not a good game. "Au contraire". The formula works pretty well and the time setting in WW2 occupied Paris is excellent. The storyline is not great but interesting enough. The historical period makes the story pretty easy too. The hero works against the nazis and the rest is very predictible. The only negative is the overwhelmong amount of freeplay events. About 1.000!!! After a while it becomes way too repetitive. Still a must!!! Expand
  26. JalexD
    Dec 9, 2009
    6
    I'm really very curious to see what the reviews are like for this game once they all come in. This title sounded extremely promising when I first heard about it, but the actual execution is a great fall from it's potential. Not only that, but the gameplay is nearly identical to the 'Godfather' games, only with a much stronger emphasis on climbing and mass destruction. I'm really very curious to see what the reviews are like for this game once they all come in. This title sounded extremely promising when I first heard about it, but the actual execution is a great fall from it's potential. Not only that, but the gameplay is nearly identical to the 'Godfather' games, only with a much stronger emphasis on climbing and mass destruction. And in my opinion, the 'Godfather' games are actually superior. The story, voice acting, atmosphere are all mediocre at best and oftentimes sub-par. This mostly stems from the developers apparent desire to turn a story about Nazi-occupied Paris into a Steven Seagal film. These elements make up a mostly bland experience, but I still give it a slightly above-average score for the times when it does get close to it's potential. Expand
  27. FPSMaster
    Jan 19, 2010
    7
    I knew I was making a mistake buying this, but I let my boredom, love of Pandemic's first release (Full Spectrum Warrior) & my sadness of this being their final game get the best of me. The game doesn't do anything terribly wrong, but it doesn't excell at anything either. Graphics are extremely outdated just like their earlier Mercenaries 2. The controls are clunky. The I knew I was making a mistake buying this, but I let my boredom, love of Pandemic's first release (Full Spectrum Warrior) & my sadness of this being their final game get the best of me. The game doesn't do anything terribly wrong, but it doesn't excell at anything either. Graphics are extremely outdated just like their earlier Mercenaries 2. The controls are clunky. The climbing is slow & maddening. The driving is awful & handles very poorly. The missions are your standard Mercenaries missions with only a WW2 twist differentiating them. The film noir look is unique but makes everything too dark to appreciate it. Overall, this is just Mercenaries 2 in a different time period & it's just as outdated, half-assed & disappointing. This was Pandemic's last game & they went out with a fizzle. They're always remembered for Mercenaries & Battlefront, but I'll remember them for their first & most original, unique & best game that has always been universally ignored by the masses, Full Spectrum Warrior. RIP Expand
  28. BillPaxton
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    The Saboteur lets me go all Inglourious Basterd on dem Nazis in a Sin City environment. GTA eat your heart out.
  29. GarlA
    Dec 11, 2009
    8
    I, like many other games am annoyed. Annoyed that a game like Assassin's Creed II has been given a pass by most reviewers. Whereas a game like this does not. AC2 provides the same boring, repetitive gameplay, more repetitive tasks than the last, and this somehow justifies the swollen perfect scores the original received. The bold truth of it, is that The Saboteur does everything ACII I, like many other games am annoyed. Annoyed that a game like Assassin's Creed II has been given a pass by most reviewers. Whereas a game like this does not. AC2 provides the same boring, repetitive gameplay, more repetitive tasks than the last, and this somehow justifies the swollen perfect scores the original received. The bold truth of it, is that The Saboteur does everything ACII does, but better, except on one point (the most important for reviewers): Graphics. The missions are more varied, there's more free targets that provide their own challenges (How are you going to blow up that guard tower without being spotted? What about the propaganda speakers on the side of that building).The story and characters are actually interesting, and happily (for me), the main story doesn't take long to complete. You see Saboteur lets you be your own man: What kind of saboteur would ignore half the free targets, just to concentrate on the main missions? Ask the reviewers who gave it less than a 7. Climbing is more rewarding. ACII does all the work for you, so whilst it looks fantastic, nothing beats the reward in making your way to the top of a building, and scampering along the roof-tops to your target. Or planning your escape along the zip-line-like telephone wires. Stealth and escape are also big parts of the game. I haven't been so into stealth and costume change since the original Hitman. It's exciting! As is escaping, by ducking into a brothel, or simply kissing a girl after going around a corner. I touched on graphics earlier. And whilst outright it's no where near as good looking as ACII, that only extends so far. Character models are much more detailed than AC, and the stylish Black and White (indicating a Nazi-strong area) visuals help put asside any graphic fidelity issues. Coupling he visual style is the music, and ambient sound. You're in Paris in the 40's, and it's beautiful. I've given this an 8, because unlike the majority of people reviewing ACII, I am neither 12, or have only played the game for a couple of hours (after which the boredom and remorse of being tricked by Ubisoft again, sets in), and I believe in a true 1-10 scale. The game has it's flaws, but you can work with them, and it;s by no means perfect. I will be playing this game long into 2010, ages after I'm done with other open world games. Expand
  30. OranguDan
    Dec 12, 2009
    9
    It may not do things as well as other AAA titles but what it does do is allow you to kill Nazis in droves and in imaginative ways. What more could you want? If you wanna real giggle then see what happens when TNT meets the local farm animals ;o)
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. The characters are interesting, and so the story is more rewarding than you would imagine. Yes, there are some control issues, but they aren't terrible enough to disregard the game.
  2. Pandemic delivers one of their best efforts, offering an experience that innovates both the sandbox and WWII genres. It’s not without its flaws, but its slick action, cinematic style, and colorful characters rise above its shortcomings.
  3. Pandemic's effort is commendable, but The Saboteur feels like it had a saboteur of its own lurking in the code. No matter how many times I came back to The Saboteur, or how badly I wanted to love the game, the unrefined gameplay became less, and less tolerable.